SpyFu Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Kathryn Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

SpyFu for Marketing Help

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Helps our company choose the correct keywords for our campaigns
  • Shows us our competitors keywords
  • Gives us guidance for future campaigns
  • Can be confusing on how to choose the correct keywords based on their recommendations
  • Our industry is not listed on their google ads program helper which is disappointing
  • They send out to many emails regarding their services.
Read Kathryn Johnson's full review
George Louvis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

Why I love SpyFu and you will too.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gets info on competitor's websites. Simply putting in a domain name allows us to see what keywords they rank for organically, how much they spend on PPC and what their ads look like.
  • Finds the best keywords for our clients. By showing what keywords are going to cost, how many searches per month, etc. it allows us to plan budgets more accurately.
  • Obviously, not every website can be tracked. They add as many as they can, but sometimes a keyword or specific site just isn't being tracked yet.
Read George Louvis's full review
Frank Watson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

SpyFu comes through

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Paid keyword research.
  • Insights into organic keyword positions.
  • Recommendations of terms to concentrate attention.
  • Impact of brand terms.
  • Levels of impressions - local, national, global.
  • Exporting of competitor ad copy.
Read Frank Watson's full review
Ruben Diaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

SpyFu Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Shows Our Competitors in regards to PPC
  • Keyword Analysis
  • Doesn't differentiate between Google and other search engines.
  • Has no Bing Data
Read Ruben Diaz's full review
Austin Voigt | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Accessible and easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Affordable price point compared to other similar tools.
  • An easy-to-use interface that makes it accessible to most of our employees regardless of experience level.
  • Strong information for us to reference in our marketing research.
  • SpyFu's data could possibly be a little more specific; compared to some other similar platforms, it's slightly simplistic.
  • SpyFu could consider providing more competitor information outside of search, and delve into other platforms like social, as this data is becoming more widely available.
  • SpyFu's user interface - while easy to navigate - also takes away a lot of customizations and levers you might be able to pull in other platforms.
Read Austin Voigt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Straightforward competitive keyword tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provide competitive organic search data.
  • Allows you to identify organic keywords for future content creation.
  • As with any database, their keyword database has limits, so the data returned is relative to their database, not necessarily the full picture.
  • When SpyFu database or scoring chances, the data provided can spike, thus causing confusion among stakeholders, we're reporting to.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

SpyFu has given me the best value and insight for keyword and competitor research

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • SpyFu shows keyword search volumes and related keywords which I struggle to find elsewhere.
  • SpyFu shows details about any website's organic traffic.
  • I would like to be able to see keyword search volumes for more countries.
Read this authenticated review
Atilla Vekony | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Discover profitable keywords

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Discover profitable keywords.
  • Review competitor's well-performing ads.
  • Track your status on Google search results.
  • The best feature of Spyfu is called "Kombat," where you compare the keywords used by you and your competitors and can see which ones generate a lot of results for them, and which you're not currently using.
  • It is overwhelming first to navigate through all the available reports, but it's great that you can have a live orientation with one of their team members.
Read Atilla Vekony's full review
Max Milano | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

SpyFu is the spy that You Need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The best tool for keyword research based on close competitors.
  • The best tool for discovering what PPC strategy and budget your competitors are using.
  • You can also use it for ad copy ideas.
  • It would be great if it expanded to Facebook.
Read Max Milano's full review
Sylvia Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Frictionless, affordable, and badass competitor intelligence you can act on right now!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The domain overview is extremely helpful - for CEOs, this dashboard is exactly the kind of quick hit, at-a-glance experience they want to see.
  • Worst performing and top performing keywords for paid search - this is an invaluable tool to determine how to approach paid against a competitor.
  • To adwords to buy - this is obviously a wonderful bit of intelligence for testing, and for the most part, holds up in battle testing.
  • Reporting is terrible - meaning, the PDF feature does not lay out correctly.
Read Sylvia Flores's full review
Lee'Ann Burgess | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

SpyFu is a must-have for businesses!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to navigate. The user interface is pretty straightforward and easy to use.
  • Projects: Create projects for your own company or for clients you are managing to track your efforts.
  • Insights on ad spend, keywords and impression share.
  • Price - I was a user for several years and trying out another platform, I canceled and was quickly offered the same platform I had used for years at half the price.
  • I know the ad spend for Google Adwords is estimated - It would be helpful if it was a little more accurate - maybe not a doable feature of SpyFu, but would be helpful.
Read Lee'Ann Burgess's full review
Sharon A. Dawson, DTM | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2018

Get competitive data easily with SpyFu

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Compare ranking versus competitor sites
  • Look up keywords relevant to site
  • See PPC ads
  • Get traffic data on competitor sites without needed their Google Analytics access
  • Would be nice to do more customization to the competitive ranking graph
Read Sharon A. Dawson, DTM's full review
Johnny Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Spyfu Usage Benefits

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Excellent at KW usage, costs, & recommendations.
  • Traffic estimates are helpful for showing how effective a general marketing plan pushes traffic in relation to competition.
  • Backlink tracking is nice to use for third-party proof of link sharing.
  • Estimates could be more accurate.
  • KW groupings could be broken down further in the SEM overview with costs & click frequency.
  • Sometimes data does not transfer from one tab to another when reviewing a particular domain.
Read Johnny Norris's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

A Comprehensive Competitive Analysis in One Place

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Showing exactly what keywords our competitors are targeting, shows which ones we should target ourselves.
  • When determining a marketing budget for a new project, we are able to project how much SEO would cost based on what our competitors are doing.
  • Looking at what the competitors have in their backlinks helps us with optimizing our own website and landing pages.
  • Some of the smaller websites that don't receive much traffic are often hard to complete competitive analyses for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

An SEO competitive analysis tool that drives action

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Extensive amounts of competitor data
  • Touches on both paid and organic search opportunities
  • Easy graphs to help illustrate competitive landscape
  • Since this tool scrapes millions of keywords listings it does take some manual filtering via Excel to get to what is truly going on.
  • It would be nice if they expanded into social as well to be able to have an all-in-one tool
  • A themes breakdown would help to eliminate the need for manual sorting and filtering
Read this authenticated review
Rachel Hensley | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2018

SpyFu the best on competitor analysis.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gives you the most popular Ads for each month.
  • Shows you the keywords your competitors are using.
  • Spyfu will show you an estimate of what they believe your competitor is spending and this number is always low. They should evaluate the keyword prices more to give a more relevant estimate.
  • Free version only gives you around 20 keywords for each competitor. I wish it was larger.
  • Must sign in to see any SpyFu information even for the free version. This is a new thing and I liked it better when it was anonymous for free.
Read Rachel Hensley's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (36)
8.9
Backlink management (27)
6.7
SERP ranking tracking (29)
7.4
Page grader (20)
5.8
Competitive analysis (35)
9.2
Site audit / diagnostics (23)
7.0
Site recommendations (20)
7.0
Task management (15)
5.1
Local SEO (23)
6.9
Social SEO (21)
5.6
Mobile SEO (22)
6.5
Global SEO (24)
8.0
Multi-domain support (19)
7.1
Integration with web analytics tools (13)
6.2

About SpyFu

SpyFu is the eponymous SEO and PPC research platform from the company in Scottsdale, Arizona focused on "spying" on competitors, or basically using their behaviors to refine your own through keyword and content analysis, and backlink poaching. This positional search engine optimization and paid listings management platform touts the ability to lower costs and raise rankings via a Kombat-oriented approach... basically a cute way of saying "it makes comparisons" of how well your site does in niche keyword areas vis-a-vis rival actors in the same or contiguous marketing space.

Published pricing starts at $79 per month with the Basic plan, for Google, Yahoo & Bing research, 6 years of historical access, unlimited access to SpyFu's tools, but somewhat limited access to leads and domain contacts keyword rank tracking. The $139 Professional plan gives full access to UK data and doubles the rank tracking of keywords from 400 to 800, and provides custom branded (white label) reports and API access. the $999 Agency plan gives team access (10 user logins) and unlimited tracking and reporting capabilities.

Categories:  SEO

SpyFu Competitors

SpyFu Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No