DemandTools Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 108)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 02, 2020
min liu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by my department only. Actually, I am the only one using it daily. It is a great tool for data management and data maintenance. I use the modules Mass Impact, MassEffect, PowerGrid, Find/Report ID's, Single Table Dedupe, [and] Lead Conversion to manage the org data. It is easier to use without any coding and it much easier to view and make the updates simultaneously. The BulkBackup [was] just one click and majority got done. And scenarios help me work so efficiently.
  • PowerGrid can review and make the updates simultaneously.
  • Single Table Dedupe makes merg[ing] the records easy and can make updates at the same time.
  • BulkBackup [is] just one click, majority data got updated.
  • Scenarios save a lot of time for similar working load.
  • There are certain objects BulkBackup can not backup.
  • The backup file too large to open, it [would] be great if it [could] be split into a couple files that can be accessed without any special tool.
  • When query on child object, it [would] be great if we [could] update the data on parent object.

PowerGrid is the module I use daily. It can query data easily without coding and can be sorted or filtered which makes viewing data, making updates, or deleting data on the Canvas very user friendly. And it works for almost all the objects.

The scenarios save me a lot of time for the repeated work and is very user friendly too.

We bought the license of PeopleImport and DupeBlocker, but we have not actually started to use it. I have personally tried on both on sandbox. Because we have some integration data from [an] external data center, we need to get better understanding of the data movement before we can use them. Otherwise, it will just block some data in.
Read min liu's full review
November 24, 2020
Sarah Oden Fite | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Its being used by [our] department. We use it cleanse data in Informatica CC360 and Salesforce in support of Salesforce Operations
  • Updates records from CSV files
  • Deletes records with an ID (key)
  • Identifies Duplicates
  • Updates fields based on field matches
  • Joins objects based on field matches
  • I wish the Find ID reports didn't list the results in columns, but in rows below the match, or if it was at least an option. Like if it listed Match1 and Match1a, Match1b, Match1c. Sort of how the dedupe file has Masters and NonMasters.
I love DemandTools. It is the bread and butter of my everyday work. Things that used to take me all day, take me minutes now. Its a great tool!
We use it to compliment our Informatica CC360 operations. Where Informatica CC360 is automated, I use DemandTools to go back and conduct human analysis and cleanup.
Read Sarah Oden Fite's full review
November 20, 2020
Simon Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DemandTools is probably the most important time saving tool used by our Marketing Department to interact with our database (Salesforce). Not only does it save us a lot of time, but we are really empowered and incentivised to care about the quality of our data and given the tools to really optimise and drive maximum impact.
  • Our event management teams have really powerful tools to ensure delegates are cared for by ensuring the right people are always updated with the right information.
  • Our sales teams trust us to always delivery leads to them on time with the right information in the right places.
  • Our IT teams trust marketing to update and look after their data without the need for input and oversight, really speeding up the time and effort taken to perform updates.
  • The depth of tools is often missed as it is not clear what each section of the tool does. If the naming of the functions was improved users might realise and use a lot more of them.
  • The user interface can feel a bit tired at times and makes the tool more "scary" than it should be. A cleaner interface would make users more confident.
DemandTools is really good at providing users with a non-technical and immediate interface with Salesforce. The ability to check what you are doing and get real time results really improves user engagement.
I would say with DemandTools we are able to have only a single tool to manage that provides a variety of users with the functions they need to work with Salesforce. This has been great from an IT/security perspective, licensing and user training. By having such a great set of tools in one platform, we can maximise on training and knowledge sharing.
Read Simon Allen's full review
November 20, 2020
Tina Blankenship | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DemandTools is mostly used by our Marketing Department. DemandTools has significantly improved our internal process of converting leads to current client accounts. We're also able to use DemandTools to dedupe, as we see a lot of duplicates created by a lead using a generic email address in addition to their work email. Find/Report IDs is often used daily to bump our event lists up against our database to find existing leads/contacts.
  • DemandTools is an invaluable tool that will save you hours of valuable time daily.
  • DemandTools will help you dedupe leads/contacts by Name and Company name, rather than just by email address.
  • DemandTools matches fields extremely well, especially when using the Cleaned Account List feature that you can edit to include or exclude certain words in an account name, to make a better match.
  • The biggest con I've seen with using DemandTools has been the instability of the program itself, it has crashed/closed on me several times. Although, it hasn't happened in a while, so perhaps an update helped with that issue.
  • I'd like to see "First Two Words" as an option when trying to match a company name.
DemandTools is well suited for your needs in these areas:
1. Finding IDs or other fields that are missing on a list of leads you have.
2. Deduping.
3. Pulling data that you need to bulk update, without having to export that data.
4. Reassigning leads, contacts and accounts.
5. Importing new leads or matching to existing and the ability to add them to a campaign in one click.
Merkle is a worldwide agency, so we have leads coming in from all corners of the world. I can save scenarios within DemandTools that allows me to quickly determine where these leads are located and easily assign them to that regional sales team.
When using PeopleImport, you're practically guaranteed to not insert a duplicate lead. I have found PeopleImport to be as valuable to our organization has DemandTools has been.
Read Tina Blankenship's full review
December 19, 2020
Bilal Comertpay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a solution to our phone system, Bolt, for Salesforce. By formatting the data in Salesforce, we were able to achieve meaningful comparisons between the inbound number and our customer base, allowing us to intelligently route calls to specific groups, salespeople or automated responses, transforming the experience from the customer's perspective.
  • Mass Updates of data to achieve a set goal
  • Formats existing data in mass to restructure the data for use with a particular system or software package
  • Formats changes as they come into salesforce on the fly so data integrity can be maintained
  • From my perspective, all seemed relatively straight forward.
  • Its the sort of tool you set and forget, after the initial setup, we rarely play with the pre-established rules, as other systems draw from this formatted data.
If you have unformatted data and wish to reshape it into clean and formatted data sets for other applications like mass mailouts, address comparisons for logistics or other similar applications, I can highly recommend this as a solution. Validity (the company we purchased this through) also should be noted here, our positive experience with the software is also a testament to the professionalism and experience offered by the team at validity, we were very satisfied with the results. So satisfied... I have taken the time to write this review as we were in a real difficult position before we found this offering.
As we needed an urgent and viable solution, demand tools was the clincher for us. However, we have interest in these other packages as we consistently are looking to improve our systems. Modular system like this can always be implemented in creative ways to solve complex issues. Ours is an example for such a solution.
Read Bilal Comertpay's full review
December 17, 2020
Mike Malone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a replacement and enhancement to the native Salesforce tools. DT is more powerful and easier to use. It is used by several departments. We definitely depend on it and have many, many JobBuilder batches using a whole variety of DTs.
  • Allows you to preview your changes before actually making them.
  • Help and training are really good and informative.
  • Would be nice to have Search ability in more areas. Sometimes you have to scroll thru hundreds of fields on multiple objects to find what you are looking for.
  • Sometimes when you want to change a condition, clicking on the condition brings up the condition and value, other times you have to scroll thru and find the field again which is frustrating.
I am fairly new to DT having only used it for about 9 months, but so far am impressed with the features and ability to update Salesforce.
We use at least 60% of the tools in the DT suite and often use them together to accomplish our needs. So far, have not found a case where we weren't able to do something we want to do.
DemandTools works great, but would be even better if some of the usability issues I've mentioned were addressed.
It's done everything we've needed it to do.
Read Mike Malone's full review
December 01, 2020
Raheel Alam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use DemandTools nearly every day as the Salesforce Administrator. I use Mass Effect and Mass Impact the most to help insert new records in bulk to mass edit records. We have done extensive rebuilding of our org over the past year and without the ability to update tens of thousands of records in bulk, it would have been nearly impossible.
  • More functional than DataLoader.
  • Easily make changes to thousands of records at a time.
  • Identify dupe accounts quickly and mass merge.
  • The UX is atrocious- like windows 95 bad. It needs help.
  • Needs a Mac version. I need to use a PC emulator to run the software.
  • Cloud based would be even better but I do understand the value of desktop based.
It's an incredibly powerful suite of tools that every Salesforce administrator needs to perform their job. If you need to clean 100s of thousands of records like we did, dedupe and mass merge, mass reassign after staff turnover or just backfill data to every record, DemandTools is more than well suited to meet your needs.
We use the entire Suite including DupeBlocker in our SFDC instance and PeopleImport. For DupeBlocker, it really helps to augment Salesforce's native dupe rules and can provide a little more filtering options to ensure reps are not creating net new when there is a potential dupe lying around. PeopleImport has been an incredible asset for us as well since we attend so many tradeshows and need to upload lists of thousands of attendees, it ensures we don't dupe across leads and contacts and handles campaign enrollment in a cinch.
Read Raheel Alam's full review
November 20, 2020
Sam Sweeney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allows us, as an operations team, to make large scale changes to Salesforce on the fly. We are a more agile company because of DemandTools. I would say we use DT on a daily basis to solve for data issues, append records, and manage territories.
  • Append data.
  • Organize territories.
  • Duplicate management.
  • SFDC campaign additions.
  • Use formulas in PowerGrid.
  • Pull campaigns into PowerGrid.
Pro:
- Any large scale changes to SFDC.

Con:
- Minor inline changes are still probably easier in SFDC.
DupeBlocker in particular has changed the way our system works for the better. It is an integral part of our lead routing and territory management process. We could not function as an operations team without the ability to check for dupes in real time. Personally, it has reduced the time spent managing dupes by a considerable margin.
Read Sam Sweeney's full review
November 24, 2020
Ryan Bultman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Managing data cleanliness in salesforce.
  • Merging duplicates
  • Inserting/updating records seamlessly in mass
  • Reassigning record ownership in mass to handle sales territory changes
  • Compatible with mac OS
  • UX is a little dated
  • Process records faster
Keeping data clean and organized in Salesforce
Better quality data in salesforce
Read Ryan Bultman's full review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DemandTools is incredibly valuable to our organization. The Find/report IDs makes cross referencing our extensive database a breeze. Using Job builder we have been able to automate a ton of tasks that allow our business to function. I find single table dedupe to a very powerful tool for removing duplicates from our database. DemandTools greatly increases the speed with which we are able to get data properly into our system, and therefore how quickly we are able to act on it.
  • Easy to use
  • Powerful software
  • Built with user in mind
  • Searching for fields is inconsistent across the program- sometimes you have a search box, sometimes you can type the whole word to jump around and sometimes only the first letter, inconsistent between modules.
  • Although very easy to use once you have it down, there is a slight learning curve
DemandTools is well suited for almost any data task that would be preformed regularly. A very powerful combination is to pair these demand tools scenarios with job builder and automate away some tasks that may be manual today. DemandTools is great for making quick work of data uploads and edits.
We do not use dupeblocker/peopleimport
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our two main use cases are deduplication and find/report IDs. Until we have more a robust, automated deduplication processes with our external systems, we use the Dedupe tool to merge Salesforce accounts and contacts daily. As a company, we also acquire smaller financial firms with their own book of customers. Before we import a new list of contacts, we use the find/report IDs function to make sure none of the new contacts already exist in Salesforce.
  • Deduplication - easily run multiple match criteria in one pass.
  • Find/Report IDs - easily find existing records in Salesforce.
  • DupeBlocker - great compliment to Salesforce's (limited) duplication rules.
  • Interface/UI update needed.
  • More export functionality/options.
  • Reduce DupeBlocker key building times.
DemandTools is well suited for deduplication and find/report IDs. Until we have more a robust, automated deduplication processes with our external systems, we use the dedupe tool to merge Salesforce accounts and contacts daily. The more duplicates we have, the more potential bad data we have. As a company, we also acquire smaller financial firms with their own book of customers. Before we import a new list of contacts, we use the find/report IDs function to make sure none of the new contacts already exist in Salesforce. This is (1) easier than searching the database for each individual user, and (2) loading in a bunch of potential duplicates.
We use Single Table Dedupe on a daily basis to find an merge duplicate records. We use Find/Report ID's when we need to cross-reference records with a new client list waiting to be imported to prevent duplicates. We use DupeBlocker to enhance the customization of duplicate management due to Salesforce's limitations in that area.
Read this authenticated review
December 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The admins at our company currently use DemandTools to make updates to database and run de-duping scripts amongst other things. Also, the scheduled batch functionality that it provides helps us run batches at pre-determined time intervals and helps with data quality rectification.
  • De-duping scripts that allow you to filter data based on various criteria.
  • Make updates to data.
  • Scheduled batches for data updates.
  • Invoicing and renewals have been very painful. With the constant sales team iteration it becomes very difficult to get in touch with someone.
  • Help documentation is not very easily accessible.
  • Sometimes the filters that can be used for filtering data (especially date/time filters) are not very user friendly and flexible.
It is a very good ETL tool and provides a lot of configuration possibilities without the need to learn coding. Scheduled batches allow you to perform jobs that would usually require coding experience. The system does feel a bit archaic though and the steps to perform some of the batch updates do not offer the best user interface experience
Our business strategy allows very similar sounding companies to exist as individual entities, but if that were not the case DupeBlocker would greatly help in preventing dupes.
Read this authenticated review
December 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DemandTools is currently used in our Technology Department; however I am currently training our Admissions Department on how to leverage the tool.
Due to the nature and volume of contacts within our organization (millions), we mainly use demand tools as a de-duping tool. Our main focus is on contact, accounts, and opportunities but we also use it on the case object.
  • Easy to use.
  • Refined/detailed search capabilities.
  • Record capability.
  • Slow.
  • Finicky - tends to error out if computer is moved in slightest, or if you change windows.
  • Would like additional search filters - cross field comparison for example: comparing home phone number to cell phone number in order to find duplicates.
DemandTools is well suited for general de-duping. However, when items need to be filtered on a more granular level it tends to need additional resources. One of its limitations is cross comparison on fields.
It has helped us maintain the integrity of our data by helping us de-dupe contacts, accounts, opportunities, cases. PeopleImport has also greatly helped find duplicates, and import those that do not return a match.
Read this authenticated review
December 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DemandTools heavily in our department. It is a vital tool for removing duplicates, checking for incomplete records and just mass moving data. I use PowerGrid weekly, the flexibility to be able to drill down and pull in exactly the fields and filtered data I need is very powerful. In PowerGrid, I can easily visually scan the pared down data and change only those exact fields on individual records that I want, in a mass batch. I also recently started building out jobs in "Job Builder". I build out scenarios in Mass effect (For example: Opportunities missing an Amount) then I can "batch" those individual jobs into "scenarios" that I run on a daily basis to scrub and clean my data. It's a game changer for data integrity.

I had used "Data Loader" for many years to complete mass updates. It is a good tool, but Demand Tools does SO MUCH MORE. There was a small learning curve, but the library of short videos got me up and running within an hour. The online and scheduled classes are short, to the point, and very helpful in walking through each part of the application. I liked the short videos, because I tend to search for specific information when I need it. I don't want to watch an hour long video and try to retain all of that knowledge. I like the targeted modules - that allowed me to locate the specific piece of the application I was working with, and gave me the particulars for that.



  • Job Builder batches that allow you to run batches of updates for data integrity.
  • De-duplicating data for loading and to ensure we do not load redundant records.
  • Using PowerGrid like excel to drill and filter to particular record sets.
  • Support - The team is very helpful and will provide you with as many resources as you need to succeed.
  • The interface is a little basic.
  • More in tool help would be great (This has been steadily improving).
  • Quarterly or Annual updates on improvements and "What's New".
  1. We use this tool for cleaning and loading lists of Prospect data provided by vendors.
  2. I use this tool for "house-cleaning" and data integrity for key objects like Accounts and Opportunities, ensuring any missing data is reported so we can update those individual records (Like Territory, Region, Industry).
  3. I use PowerGrid for edits and mass moves of data (Change of Territory, change of record ownership).
  4. We use the tool to "Backfill" data when we make a change to a picklist or organizational data, like add or remove an industry.
  5. I use the job builder for batches of data cleaning that I used to run on a weekly basis. I have batched them in Job Builder and now they run daily.
We use all of the tools provided, daily. They are incredibly powerful and useful for keeping data up to date. We also have a lot of validations and processes that fail in Salesforce (for example: missing required data), these are quickly cleaned or identified using Job Builder. We also have a lot of movement within Sales (Realigning Territories, changes in headcount, blending of territories, dividing out of territories) - I could not do my job effectively and timely without these tools. Annual territory realignments, shifts in headcount, management realignments, Target Accounts - all of these "simple shifts" can require massive amounts of records being updated. All of this is quickly handled with DemandTools. As we near the year end, I know we will be in the tool heavily in the coming months, realigning our Sales Team, re-prioritizing and categorizing Accounts, Contacts and Opportunities. All of this is quickly accomplished with a few clicks.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using the Find / Report IDs module in preparation for a data migration into Salesforce. I'm a consultant for a large printing manufacturer and I'm currently working with the Channel Program team. We are sunsetting two legacy systems for them and migrating both Accounts and Contacts for both. The Find / Report IDs module enables me to locate existing records in our system using a series of complex matching scenarios. The reason this is extremely helpful for us is that it eliminates manually work of searching each Contact and Account to determine if there is an existing record in Salesforce to avoid creating duplicate records. We have hundreds of records so this is saving us days of work! I'm an avid user of DemandTools and recommend it to many companies I consult for!
  • Preparation for a data migration
  • De-duplication
  • Mass upserting records
  • The UI has not changed in the 9 years I've been using the system. Could make this more user friendly for beginners.
DemandTools is a great resource for everything from mass upserting records, matching a spreadsheet of records to existing records, and de-duplication of records (including any custom object). I tend to use the Data Loader when I'm executing simple mass inserts or exports instead of DemandTools.
At another company, I created dozens of MassImpact scenarios. I then scheduled these MassImpact scenarios to run automatically using the Windows Scheduler. This enabled us to keep our data clean and complete. I could use the website, email, and state to infer the country, thereby improving assignment of records by territory.
Read this authenticated review
November 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization integrates DemandTools with our CRM, Salesforce, to help promote data hygiene and to keep our records up to date. PeopleImport allows me to easily upload new contacts into my org's database and map data to all of our standard and custom fields. MassImpact scenarios work to update field values based on custom scenarios I've created, and Lead Conversion and De-Duplication scenarios ensure a high degree of data integrity to provide my end users with a streamlined experience, and less hassle for me as a CRM adminstrator.
  • Easily and quickly handles large data imports via spreadsheet.
  • Able to replicate frequently used scenarios to conduct regular data hygiene.
  • Updates are pushed to CRM quickly and effectively - never had a misstep!
  • User interface feels outdated.
  • Selections when processing certain actions not very intuitive.
  • Occasionally lead, contact, and account matching steps do not work correctly.
DemandTools is great for large imports or updates to data in our CRM. I would not recommend it to somebody without training them first on what they'd like to accomplish, as I don't feel like I have really grasped the extent of it's capabilities even after 3 years of using the platform. One can become confused about making the right selections every so often in the processing steps, and it's easier to fall back into using saved scenarios that others have created.

With that said, if your data import or update need is relatively straightforward, there's no more efficient way to accomplish your task than with DemandTools.
PeopleImport has been incredibly useful for adding new contacts to our database. Our sales team is constantly sending me lists of prospective clients, and PeopleImport scenarios allow me to easily create new contacts, and update existing ones with new information on the spreadsheet to tag them to our sales campaigns.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly used by the Database Management Team to load and clean information.
The IT team also uses it with JobBuilder to synchronize data between Salesforce objects, export data regularly and also integrate data exported from other applications.
  • Scenarios can be saved and reused.
  • Possibility to configure the number of records treated by a batch or use bulk Api.
  • Compliant with Salesforce security.
  • Group several scenarios with JobBuilder to execute multi-steps processes.
  • User friendly.
  • Cannot schedule a JobBuilder scenario. I have to execute them manually every morning.
  • Include PeopleImport in JobBuilder.
  • Use joker in criteria.
Very useful to get the 18 recordID from any object.
Create contact with the direct account in one shot if they do not exist.
Mass update of selected records to clean the database.
PeopleImport, Lead conversion and single Table Dedup prevent from having duplicates that is very important for an organization managing members. PowerGrid and MassImpact help us making data uniform and maintaining data consistent. And MassEffect helps for synchronisation between systems.
Automation is key when you have a huge database.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [DemandTools] to match contacts from external lists to our current database
and organization in Salesforce. It helps highlight existing contacts or
acknowledging ones that need to be created and managed differently. it
is helpful in that regard. I think other departments use it differently
for deduping records, creating leads, other means, etc. but I use it
mostly for matching external lists from spreadsheets sent from other
departments looking to have reports made and then using those reports to
send major email communications to. It is pretty easy to use,
especially once you load in scenarios that you can reference later. It helps manage
data, that's probably it's greatest business solution being offered.
  • Ease of use
  • Saving Scenarios
  • Quick Access
  • Simple
  • Old interface
  • Clunky design
It works really well and quickly once you have everything set up and ready to go. It helps a lot when we're matching alumni/donor information with our current database to make sure that everything lines up correctly. It doesn't really help (our office at least) with identifying existing members any better.
This isn't something that my office and department is using that much, so I cannot really speak on that point. I know other offices and departments use it for de-duping data and things like that. There is some data hygiene being done, too, just again, not really in my purview.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Demandtools and the Single Table Dedupe Tool helps us to find and merge duplicate contacts in our CRM system. For a NGO like us it is especially important that we have have a well managed and clean database. Besides the standard Salesforce Matching and DeDuplication rules we find DemandTools a valuable addition to our data management process.
  • Matching contacts based on custom criteria
  • Wide range of filters
  • Very fast matching and dedupe compared to other similar products
  • It takes some time to get used to all of the options and settings
  • Can be a bit complicated or overwhelming to start with
Compared to other products that we have tested, DemandTools was a lot faster than the others. This was an important feature for us.
For now we have focused on the single table dedupe tool, but we are now looking at the other capabilities of the tools that we have access to.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using DT for over 7 years now, used it in my previous org then recommended it for my current org too.
It is being used by various departments IT, Sales Operations & to some extent by Marketing too.
DemandTools addresses multiple data issues for our org like- duplicity, inconsistency, bulk merging, lead conversion, ownership reassignment etc. It is the most robust tool when it comes to deduplication of data.
  • Deduplication.
  • Mass merging.
  • Lead conversion.
  • Ownership reassignment.
  • Bulk backup.
  • Mass impacting.
  • DupeBlocker for SF Lightning.
  • More details on error or success logs.
  • EmailVerify feature to be provided as complimentary.
Well suited for:
1) Deduplication.
2) Mass Merging.
3) Mass impacting the data.
4)) Lead conversion.

Less appropriate for:
1) Large data volume.
2) Where detailed error log is required.

I recommended to use DupeBlocker along with [DemandTools] to prevent the creation of duplicates into the system as a proactive approach which proved to be really helpful and efficient. DupeBlocker is easy to customize and is extremely user friendly. I would recommend this tool as an extension to DemandTools (which is used for identifying and merging of duplicates). These two when used hand in hand can result in minimal or almost no duplicates in your CRM system thus making data more effective to be used for sales.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DemandTools to modify Salesforce Data in bulk.
The functionality is theoretically great. Unfortunately, we get a LOT of timeouts errors so many of our jobs have to be run over and over to get finalized results.

For duplicate checking, it would be better if you could write more detailed logic as to what values in each record can be kept. Right now, it is all or nothing.

Some of its data cleaning tools are pretty cool - address/phone checks. The ability to clean up capitalizations, etc.
  • Lots of data cleansing features.
  • The ability to modify data in bulk with easy to use filters.
  • The ability to save schemas (filters/objects/changes).
  • Slow.
  • Timeouts.
It has lots of cools features that would be great if they worked all the time.
Haven't found a better solution yet...
DemandTools extra features sound great, but don't really work for us.
The dupeblock needs better AI.
We use another tool for importing.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Demandtools to upload and validate information in our Marketing and Sales Opps departments. It's mainly used to update the status on accounts and contacts, upload leads to campaigns, or mass delete contacts or accounts created by mistake.
  • Mass lead convert.
  • Updating account statuses.
  • Updating contact statuses.
  • Setup can be a little confusing for scenarios. It's a lot of moving parts.
  • PeopleImport can be clunky sometimes. If you mess up even 1 thing in one spreadsheet you have to start over reimport and do all your scenarios again. You might not know this until you're at the point of trying to upload.
If you need to upload more than a list of a dozen or so contacts or update more than a few dozen records it's appropriate. If you're unsure about the integrity of the data you're changing en masse it's less appropriate.
We have benefited greatly from a time saving prospective and from preventing duplicates. Duplicates still happen, but it's mainly from the source of information being used (different email or web addresses for the same contact or company, etc.). Data is only ever as good as its source.
Read this authenticated review
November 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DemandTools is being used in several ways at iCIMS:
  • Auto-Converting Leads on a scheduled basis.
  • Re-assigning Lead Ownership on a scheduled basis.
  • Used by Data Steward team to format/normalize data.
  • Used by Data Steward team to insert/update data.
These use cases of DemandTools cleanse the data within the iCIMS Salesforce instance on an ongoing basis.
  • DemandTools has a lot of options to clean data within Salesforce, perfect for anyone in charge of data.
  • Job Builder allows you to easily schedule regular intervals of jobs to be run on an ongoing basis for continuous functionality in several environments, which allows for the same experience across production and sandbox instances.
  • MassImpact is a great tool to format data for phone/address/names of records in Salesforce, and more.
  • DemandTools can sometimes crash if the metadata has changed in an environment, and the log in session does not immediately recognize the data. This particularly occurs when moving a scenario file from one instance of a running DemandTools to another.
  • DemandTools can be a bit heavy on the PC, which makes sense because it is a robust application. Not sure if anything can be done to minimize PC usage.
  • Allow for email notifications in Job Builder if a scheduled job crashes or stops running.
DemandTools is best suited for merging and auto converting duplicate Accounts, Contacts, Leads. Accounts/Contacts/Leads use native Salesforce merging functionality, and DemandTools takes advantage of that for processing.

DemandTools can handle custom objects, but there is no standard Salesforce merge for custom objects. This allows for a bit more of a manual approach to "de-duping" these records, as DemandTools handles all of the processing.
We have DupeBlocker and DemandTools, so there have been additional benefits.

DupeBlocker helps do what DemandTools does, in a more real-time scenario. It would be nice if DupeBlocker could handle more than 1 record at a time, but that's where DemandTools can compliment DupeBlocker when using them together.

PeopleImport is also helpful in importing people to de-dupe data.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage DemandTools to perform bulk data operations like de-duplication, mass update, and mass reassignment. Our sales operations team makes extensive use of the tool because it has much more customization and functionality compared to other tools. We use it to dedupe our lead and contact databases to make sure our marketing automation syncs accurately and correctly notifies the correct party. We also use it to deduplicate our accounts and sometimes leverage it to merge records that don't have native merging available in SFDC. Also, since it has the ability to pull in fields from related objects, we can easily manipulate our data to stay organized.
  • DemandTools is highly customizable around different scenarios based on different business needs.
  • DemandTools' record merging and mass conversion tools closely align with our data strategy.
  • The ability to save and load custom scenarios makes configuration super easy.
  • Being a PC-only local client makes it unavailable to our users on different OSs.
  • The interface needs an update.
  • Build functionality to allow for different job sizes when not in batch mode.
If you have large volumes of complex data, DemandTools is definitely a must-have. If you can accomplish what you need to just using tools like DataLoader, you can stay with that. The moment you have a need to deduplicate your data, this is where DemandTools really shines because the dedupe utilities are very easy to use and configure.
DemandTools has been central to our efforts to maintain a clean marketing database. Since we're easily able to collapse duplicate records in a preconfigured job, we can focus on delivering operational reports without having to manually massage the data offline in spreadsheets. Our DemandTools users have also migrated away from DataLoader since it doesn't have the nearly the number of features DemandTools has.
Read this authenticated review
August 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DemandTools mainly for the deduplication tools available. Our team that manages SF uses it but also we have trained other users in certain departments to use the suite for deduplication and file loading.
  • Standard deduplication
  • Data cleanup
  • Advanced deduplication with subsets of data, filtering, and reparenting.
  • Easy file imports for users.
  • Interface is clunky
  • Interface is outdated
  • Centralizing rules across the campus is not as easy to maintain. Users have to be aware.
  • There are no good tools to schedule jobs and run automatically.
DemandTools has been able to meet almost all of our needs for deduplication and I think that's where it shines the most. Where the tool failed was typically where we had data that was unusable.
We haven't used PeopleImport or DupeBlocker since we have other tools and processes baked into our systems integration.
Read this authenticated review

What is DemandTools?

DemandTools is a data cleansing software product offered by Validity. It aims to help organizations deal with the challenges of keeping their database clean of duplicates and incomplete information.

The vendor says Validity DemandTools is a tool set designed to work on even the most massive CRM data sets. It addresses data deduplication, normalization, standardization, comparison, deletion, and email verification, as well as import and export.

The vendor offers data quality consultations, which can be scheduled at the Validity website.

DemandTools Video

DemandTools from Validity Overview

DemandTools Competitors

Cloudingo, RingLead DMS Cleanse, Experian Data Quality (QAS)

DemandTools Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

DemandTools Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

DemandTools Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No