The Okta Identity Cloud

The Okta Identity Cloud

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
The Okta Identity Cloud

Overview

Recent Reviews

Simple, Powerful and Secure

10 out of 10
March 09, 2022
We are using Auth0 for our customer user management. One of the best user management services I used, with great documentation and amazing …
Continue reading

Work well, easy to use

8 out of 10
January 08, 2022
OKTA, allows for the efficient configuration of SAML 2.0 connections with vendor websites. This is fast becoming a core security feature, …
Continue reading

Great Identity Platform

8 out of 10
November 05, 2021
We use it to SSO to all our internal applications. Apps are added by IT as they see fit and then assigned to users. The SSO is convenient …
Continue reading

In the sweet spot

8 out of 10
October 29, 2021
It is used by our department. It acts as an authentication layer for our APIs. It is extremely easy to use and quite intuitive. We may be …
Continue reading

Good IAM

8 out of 10
October 12, 2021
We were using an in-house SSO product but were facing a system availability issue which got resolved with Auth0
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Relationship 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Value 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2022

Popular Features

View all 7 features

ID Management Single-Sign On (SSO) (121)

9.1
91%

Multi-Factor Authentication (112)

9.0
90%

ID-Management Access Control (116)

8.8
88%

Password Management (111)

8.7
87%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of The Okta Identity Cloud, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Single Sign on

$2.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Multi Factor Authentication

$3.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Single Sign on Adaptive

$5.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Identity Management

8.7
87%

Product Details

What is The Okta Identity Cloud?

Okta is an independent identity provider. The Okta Identity Cloud enables organizations to securely connect the right people to the right technologies at the right time. With more than 7,000 pre-built integrations to applications and infrastructure providers, Okta aims to provide simple and secure access to people and organizations everywhere, giving them the confidence to reach their full potential. The vendor boasts more than 13,050 organizations, including JetBlue, Nordstrom, Siemens, Slack, Takeda, Teach for America, and Twilio, as users of Okta to help protect the identities of their workforces and customers.

The Okta Identity Cloud Features

Identity Management Features

  • Supported: ID-Management Access Control
  • Supported: ID Management Single-Sign On (SSO)
  • Supported: Multi-Factor Authentication
  • Supported: Password Management
  • Supported: Account Provisioning and De-provisioning
  • Supported: ID Management Workflow Automation
  • Supported: ID Risk Management

The Okta Identity Cloud Video

Okta - Secure Your End Users with Our Identity Cloud

The Okta Identity Cloud Integrations

  • Okta Integration Network

The Okta Identity Cloud Competitors

The Okta Identity Cloud Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is The Okta Identity Cloud?

Okta is an enterprise grade identity management service, built in the cloud. IT can manage access across any application, person or device. Whether the people are employees, partners or customers or whether the applications are in the cloud, on premises or on a mobile device, Okta helps IT become more secure and maintain compliance. The Okta service provides directory services, single sign-on, authentication, provisioning, workflow, and built in reporting. ment systems.

How much does The Okta Identity Cloud cost?

The Okta Identity Cloud starts at $0.

What is The Okta Identity Cloud's best feature?

Reviewers rate ID Management Single-Sign On (SSO) highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses The Okta Identity Cloud?

The most common users of The Okta Identity Cloud are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (449)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 167)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Okta is a bit like the Kleenex of the Single Sign On / Identity world, it's well documented and widely supported.
  • Okta's ecosystem is very mature and highly available.
  • Okta is generally easily understood by end users.
  • Support, period. Support is the one area where Okta really needs to up their game. When I decide to open a support ticket it's because I've read the documentation and have hit a point where I'm stuck and when I receive a response referencing some documentation, it's infuriating. It's actually quite a bit beyond infuriating and I've brought it up with Okta support managers and even upgraded our support level, but I still feel as if Okta's default is to deflect and try to close tickets. It's easily among the worst support and Professional Services experiences I've ever encountered.
January 08, 2022

Work well, easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Okta provides us a one-stop Sign in for all of our business needs.
  • Okta is a very useful platform for managing all the users or employees in an organization for user provisioning within the org for access management and also externally.
  • Okta is such a simple SSO system, and I love when my work organizations use it. The ability to have a hub of all my frequently used tools, plus one login for all of them, takes a lot of mental load off me as an employee.
  • I have some troubles using Okta on my mobile device, especially because my current company uses two-factor authentication measures. That's ok though, it actually helps me disconnect a bit more from work!
  • SCIM configuration is a quite bit confusing compared to the SAML configuration with Okta. It would be very helpful if things become easy to configure with a few clicks and feed correct information.
Christer Geberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The powerful feature is that we can define roles and grant permissions to our users and employees to access applications at various granularity levels.
  • For important applications, we can easily specify a higher level of security with this robust solution.
  • We can stay focused on our main business, it quickly integrates authentication and authorization for online, mobile, and legacy apps.
  • If you talk about their customer support they are very friendly and helpful.
  • The only disadvantage is that it provides less support for disaster data recovery if we lose our data accidentally.
  • Its ease of usability is its great strength.
November 11, 2021

I am shocked with Okta

Robert Knowles | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Single sign on across multiple cloud providers
  • Provides API for easy integration into application authentication
  • Access Gateway
  • Easier setup
  • Better documentation for setup
  • Clear path and explanation for implementing in a multi cloud environment
October 29, 2021

In the sweet spot

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Clean UI
  • Effective security
  • Good help
  • Comprehensive protection
  • Better documentation
  • Feature advertising
  • Would like to see internal architecture blogs to understand how it works.
  • Expand out of the security space into more services.
October 12, 2021

Good IAM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • System Availability
  • Better User/tenant Management Dashboard
  • Easy to integrate
  • More Custom UI
  • Better log searching
  • More detailed error messaging when SSO connections fail
  • Downtime
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Integration with different identity providers
  • Libraries and SDKs for different technologies
  • Support via forums and dedicated post-sales teams
  • Add documentation and examples on libraries and SDKs
  • Add functionality to the Universal Login that can help to customize its graphic styles
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Organizes products and tools in one place. This is especially helpful if you forget the name of a program.
  • Makes it easy to log into all your top tools - just log into [The Okta Identity Cloud] once a day.
  • It's secure.
  • [In my experience] the need to routinely update my password is really obnoxious. First off, my password gets more obscure every time, and second, it logs me out of [The Okta Identity Cloud] on other devices. Meaning my Google Calendar notifications on my phone completely stop until I remember to log in to everything on my phone again.
  • I [dislike] the constant notifications to log in. I don't need [The Okta Identity Cloud] every day, so it's not relevant. For example, I may need access to Jira on Monday, so I log in to [The Okta Identity Cloud]. But I may go Tuesday without needing access to any tools, so the constant reminder to log in for the day [I feel] is irritating. I'd like to at least be able to hit ignore.
  • I imagine losing your phone is a headache. It's one thing to walk into another room of the house to retrieve my phone (which is intentionally not in my office). It would be another to not have my phone entirely. It would be great to verify security [in] another way, such as email.