Pega Platform

Pega Platform

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.3 out of 100
Pega Platform

Overview

Recent Reviews

Pega Platform: Good to have

7 out of 10
September 13, 2021
Pega is a product that has the powerful toolset to build concrete CRM. we have switched from a complex system to Pega where we can build …
Continue reading

Good RPA tool

9 out of 10
August 20, 2021
Pega RPA helps to automate the finance operations and reduce the time-consuming manual processes by customer care employees. It is very …
Continue reading

Pega Platform is OK

5 out of 10
January 14, 2020
We use it to lay over an outdated system that our customer service agents use to support our customers as well as Pega Knowledge for …
Continue reading

Pega Platform

8 out of 10
February 05, 2019
We are using Pega as a CRM ticketing system to track customers interactions and document call center cases. It is being used across …
Continue reading

Awesome Platform

10 out of 10
September 05, 2018
We use Pega PRPC across the organization for various Workflow Processes, which include: Prior Authorizations, Claim Processing, Appeals & …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features

Business rules engine (63)

9.0
90%

Dashboards (61)

8.9
89%

Process designer (63)

8.5
85%

Standard reports (61)

8.0
80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Pega Platform, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Starter

$90.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Reporting & Analytics

8.3
83%

Process Engine

8.3
83%

Collaboration

8.0
80%

Content Management Capabilties

4.4
44%

Product Details

What is Pega Platform?

Pega allows you to build scalable, enterprise-grade CRM, Robotic Process Automation (RPA), BPM, Case Management, and AI apps, all on one unified platform.

According to the vendor, the Pega Platform transforms business stakeholders into citizen developers with a no code, visual app development experience, while empowering professional developers to architect applications with a model-driven approach in a low code environment. Pega aims to maximize productivity, re-use, and scale for the enterprise while delivering meaningful apps 6.4x faster, reducing development costs by 75% and driving ROI by 321%.

Pega Platform Features

Process Engine Features

  • Supported: Process designer
  • Supported: Process simulation
  • Supported: Business rules engine
  • Supported: SOA support
  • Supported: Process player
  • Supported: Form builder
  • Supported: Model execution

Collaboration Features

  • Supported: Social collaboration tools

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Additional Features

  • Supported: Application Development
  • Supported: Case Management
  • Supported: Cloud Decision Management
  • Supported: Intelligent Virtual Assistant
  • Supported: Mobility
  • Supported: Robotic Automation
  • Supported: Workforce Intelligence

Pega Platform Screenshots

Pega Platform Video

Pega Platform Downloadables

Pega Platform Integrations

  • Salesforce.com
  • SAP
  • Legacy System APIs
  • standards-based protocols (like SOAP
  • REST and more)

Pega Platform Competitors

Pega Platform Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesGlobal Support
Supported LanguagesAll major languages; localization available

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Pega Platform?

Pega Platform is a combined business process management and robotic process automation (RPA) platform with advanced workforce analytics from Pegasystems.

What is Pega Platform's best feature?

Reviewers rate Model execution highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Pega Platform?

The most common users of Pega Platform are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (202)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 72)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We develop applications for our customer for multiple domains like Insurance, Banking, Finance, Material Management etc... We can develop end to end application using Pega Platform. Pega Platform helps to develop the application quickly and deploy to the higher environment. We can easily manage the application versioning so that set of application be used to respective application and it be easily extended and enhanced.
  • Background processing
  • Casetype management
  • Reporting
  • Work delegation
  • API invocation
  • Specialization
  • Debugging of Java code if we write for custom requirement
Pega Platform has introduced the low code feature, using app studio seasonal and professional developer can develop application easily and quickly. The initial application can be build by Business analyst and product owner who has less knowledge of Pega Platform, further application can be enhanced/extended by professional developer. We can develop end to end application and promote to higher environment. Easily we can perform parallel development using branch.
If I compare the Pega Platform over any programming language then I will 10 out 10 because of fast development and deployment. Pega Platform provides set of OOTB rules which can be used to develop a new application as per the requirement. I would rate 10 out 10.
September 13, 2021

Pega Platform: Good to have

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pega is a product that has the powerful toolset to build concrete CRM. we have switched from a complex system to Pega where we can build and automate the process that focuses our customers on all various digital channels. PEGA provides digital engagement and AI that adding key functionalities and capabilities around the process of automation.
  • Building environment tool itself so i can build large application less than a month.
  • Powerful and easy to peruse your career, if you don't have a computer science background.
  • Easy to maintain and quick update on version and patches.
  • its provides a less code if you have trouble writing code.
  • Sometime facing challenges post updating of patches.
  • Improvement needed in reporting capabilities.
  • complex solution both users and some part handled by the IT team.
  • It's very hard to find resources in pega.
Suited for:
CRM and automated tool.
Data modeling
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using in my project Pega RPA for integration purposes to interact external systems easily. There are a lot of benefits to give solutions to business problems. Pega has a lot of features which will speed up solution for rapid development, especially case management and rules are playing key roles in Pega.
  • Case management
  • Rules
  • Integration
  • Debugging tools needs to be user friendly
  • Process view can be better when compared to other apps
  • Integration GUI needs to improve
Telecom sector and banking sector. I had worked on these sectors and it is well suited. In these two sectors business complexity is high and changes need to done very quickly.
August 20, 2021

Good RPA tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pega RPA helps to automate the finance operations and reduce the time-consuming manual processes by customer care employees. It is very easy to monitor the RPA execution and take timely corrective action when required. It is also very good in displaying consolidated data reports to give clear insights to leadership and stakeholders.
  • It has an excellent process automation platform.
  • The reporting feature is very good.
  • It has connectors and translators to connect with other applications fairly easily
  • The setup process is bit complex and requires training.
  • Does not have good data scrapping abilities
Pega [RPA] is good to address a specific business function requirement with not too many bots or automation processes. It takes time and effort to set it up. Though once done, it is very easy to configure and use. One should also run a POC to verify if this product meets the scalability requirements.
January 14, 2020

Pega Platform is OK

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to lay over an outdated system that our customer service agents use to support our customers as well as Pega Knowledge for articles for agents to have access to information within the system they are supporting. We only use it in CS, other departments are not using it yet.
  • Knowledge Articles
  • Task Oriented
  • Slow
  • Training
Good for customer service to use instead of DOS like black screens, but bad for trying to train customer service (no sandbox environment, at least for us) since they can’t “completely” perform a task prior to going to a live environment. The knowledge is fairly good, except you can’t search the body of an article which is weird.
It’s very slow sometimes, but that may be our servers. Also the Knowledge Library needs some work - again, not sure if it’s our setup or what- but I’m unable to search the body of an article for content, so I have to be very intentional with tagging, but it’s not ideal.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pega across our department to address a workforce management automation issue that we had. Previously, my team was manually assigning field technicians to work requests that we received for our data centres. Pega is now helping us automate that assignment, and also choose the best resource for the job based on logic we have inputted.
  • Pega platform allows us to build a totally customizable UI
  • Pega allows us to build logic that replaces decisioning, removing a lot of manul touch
  • Pega has proven relatively simple to intergrate other tools with because of its open API
  • I wanted my technician appointments visualized in a calendar, chronologically, and in a way that they could drag and drop appointments in order to manage their time.
  • Pega's filtering capability on custom dashboards is very limited. When one of my agents does a custom search, and then opens a ticket from the results, when they go back to the results, all of the results have dissapeared and they have to search again. We should be able to click 'back' and have the results saved.
I think Pega is an excellent platform for any transactional, repeatable task that is currently managed manually by agents needing to be automated.
Whenever we have run into issues with our implementation, Pega seems to be readily available to support with a solution or provide direction. We have also made use of Pega Professional Services as an add on to our current integrator services and it has sped up much of our implementation on particular applications.
John Silva, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pega Platform to create a unified decision hub to centralize all marketing decisions to trigger all campaigns and channel interactions. We are also currently replacing our legacy CRM with Pega CRM. Our goal is to eliminate silos to provide a unified customer engagement platform so our business interacts with customers in a relevant and contextualized fashion.
  • Adaptive analytics - Pega platform allows you to feed data from all your interactions into their interaction history so it learns from past behavior and it starts predicting the best course of action.
  • Pega BPM - Business process management engine allows you to specify various business rules on a WYSIWYG way so you can visually understand all the process flow.
  • Pega provides a robust list of use cases on their website where you can learn how other companies implemented the platform and the pitfalls they overcame. Very helpful to also attend their user conference, PegaWorld.
  • Pega is a very robust platform but it requires lots of technical help to set it up. It would be helpful if Pega created business templates with best practices to follow, based on all their industry experience.
  • Pega academy is a great resource but only available for clients. I wish this resource was available for those on the evaluation phase so they can learn more about what next-best-action marketing is.
  • Pega is a low-code platform which doesn't excite most of the developers as they normally love to develop in new and exciting languages. I wish Pega helped facilitate the transition for developers to low code platform. It's a culture change not always easy to accomplish.
Pega may be very helpful if your company wants to move beyond just marketing automation and into integrating marketing with all internal processes. In our company we see marketing as more than just branding and advertising, but really as a way to facilitate great customer experiences. Pega works well if you share this vision. If you're only looking for a platform to run your advertising and campaigns than Pega may be too much for you.
Pega is a great platform but you must be careful to choose an implementation partner that works well with your company culture. Our first implementation partner was not a good fit and we struggled through the first round of deployment until we find two other partners (one for Marketing and another for CRM) who truly understood and worked well with our company.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pega Platform is used for one of our client applications, which is related to banking. This platform is mostly used for creating web-based applications in an organization where companies have a process flow. The case management feature in Pega is used for problems like raising service requests in call centres, monitoring and auto resolution of those cases in a defined SLA. This also supports automated processing that does not need manual intervention.
  • Case management feature
  • Browser-based applications. You don't need any software installation on the machine to access Pega
  • Background processing of the process flows
  • Well defined intuitive out of the box UI available which needs less customization
  • Supports both front end and backend applications
  • None
Well suited for handling customer queries via service requests (which are called cases). These cases can be viewed/ worked upon at multiple stages by multiple teams before resolutions in Pega Platform.
Pega has a strong codebase with a lot of features available out of the box for almost every domain. It also has multiple frameworks that can support any organization's IT needs.
rahul garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pega RPA has been used for a few years and the response is positive, it was started from one department and later on, it has been used in different verticals. It is very good in RDA(robot desktop automation) as well as RPA (robotics process automation), As of now, all the carried projects are related to manual processes automation which reduced man-hours and operation costs.
  • Pega RPA has translators for specific platforms which makes it easy to integrate and automate. For example, .Net translators helps to interrogate applications based on .Net platform.
  • "Wait for Create" feature is not available in any other RPA tool, which is handy during RPA workflows.
  • Pega RPA has special features for Pega application which makes it a preferred RPA tool for them.
  • Pega RPA doesn't have centralized control room which is available in other RPA tools. It should be there for the centralized control of bots.
  • Pega RPA should have better help documents and tutorials. Help.Openspan.com doesn't contain enough examples to understand the product. This will ease the lives of developers.
  • It should have better recording and data scrapping features which are present in other RPA tools like UIPath, AA, and Blueprism.
It is not suited for centralized bot deployments. If several bots need to be deployed, then it will be difficult to manage and control. Programmers have to create custom code components to collect log files, health files, etc. On the other hand, it is best suited for an application which takes a random time to load, works in Windows MDI, or in parallel programming.
sasya malireddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Pega Platform for case management and app development in our department. We provide solutions to our business needs using the Pega Platform. Our apps are built using the Pega platform and features. It addresses problems like employee management, which reduces a lot of the man hours that are put into carrying out the business.
  • Case Management
  • Easily configurable User Interface
  • Invoking Service APIs
  • SR's Hotfixes
  • Data management
  • Designer studio latencies
Pega Platform will specifically come in handy and will be very useful if your business needs are to be dealing with a lot of data collection, in considerably large data completion forms. It is less appropriate in fulfilling some complex business needs like invoking APIs that are hosted by an external server. Or if the business needs to have a lot of mobile development.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The purpose of the project is to automate the Wire Processing process in the Advisor Desktop and Front Office Wire Initiation system (FWI) applications. A Wire request is received from the Advisor desktop’s “FWI- Bot queue,” the virtual analyst will then pick the request from this queue and key in the wire in FWI system following the business logic corresponding to the wire type.
  • It is good working on Pega robotics. It makes work easier and simple. It is easy to automate work using Pega robotics' automation.
  • Good support of custom code so you can extend functionality.
  • Automation of desktop or web application.
I am using Pega to automate our desktop or web application. This is the perfect platform to scale the work on demand. The average developer can extend the functionality.
February 05, 2019

Pega Platform

Ammar Aldaffaie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pega as a CRM ticketing system to track customers interactions and document call center cases. It is being used across multiple departments. It is very good at documenting customer's calls, addressing customer's inquiries, and transferring cases between departments. It is also good for building a workflow for multi-step cases, like opening a bank account or any other scenario where multiple steps are needed.
  • It has very good potential to be customized to fit your needs.
  • Browser base so it can run on any computer with a browser only. No installation needed.
  • Java base but no coding required for the most part except some advanced things that might require some coding.
  • Easy to update when a new version becomes available as long you do not have a lot of customization and you try to utilize the out of the box features.
  • Pega uses so much new jargon that you need to learn. For example, Harness.
  • So many drill-downs: every time you need to create something you end up with 5 tabs to drill-down.
  • For example, if you are adding a property with a when rule you keep drilling down to create everything and it can get a little more difficult to keep track of where you are.
  • It can be customized to do anything you need and it is difficult and not recommend.
If you need a good CRM for your customer service team to track customers interactions and you like to manage it without coding, it is a perfect option. It is very good for any case with multiple steps. For example, a bank, health insurance company, or auto insurance quote application.
September 05, 2018

Awesome Platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pega PRPC across the organization for various Workflow Processes, which include: Prior Authorizations, Claim Processing, Appeals & Grievance Processing, and a few Call Center applications.
  • Workflow
  • SLA
  • Reduced Time to Market
  • Integrations like SMS and Push notifications
Simple and powerful platform to build Workflows with SLAs, Access Control and Correspondences and what not... :)
David A. Herrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Pega platform across the whole organization to provide Business solutions to our clients. Pega is our main Process Management System to solve our client's requirements.
  • Decisioning. Pega exceeds expectations to provide solutions to complex business requirements and integration.
  • Scalability. Pega is designed to support any size of process management and can quickly grow and adapt for future business needs.
  • Rapid Change. Pega solves the problem of implementing a new requirement in an existing system. System Architects can add, remove or change any type of process on the go.
  • Pega is so big and complex that implementing a rather easy requirement can be overwhelming .
  • Pega requires a lot of knowledge to implement any kind of requirement. There are several levels of certifications in order to properly use the tool.
  • Some basic programming knowledge is not enough to learn to use Pega. Some features even go against general programming rules.
Pega is perfect to implement Process Management for any kind of company, by using each process as a case type, they all can be managed in one single system. This eliminates the need to maintain several systems in parallel.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Pega Platform for its Robotic Process Automation functionality. We've been using it since early 2015 and have found great value in the robotic process automation platform. We have used both the fully automated robotic process automation "Bots" as well as the robotic "desktop" automation bots that work along side a human for completing their tasks. We use the RPA solutions primarily within our customer service department at this time.
  • Great flexibility in creating a UI for Robotic Desktop Automation solutions.
  • Web services are able to be used in conjunction with the RPA solutions.
  • Process Recording and automatic code generation is a very nice feature as well.
  • RPA marketing likes to say that traditional developers are not needed to "code" RPA solutions. This is not true for Pega RPA. A coding background is really needed to work on advanced automations.
  • The pricing / licensing model for RPA bots does not compete well with some competitors.
Pega RPA is well suited for situations where you want to design a single UI that will allow agents to work in one place rather than having to manipulate data in many different environments, over and over again. For example, if you have SAP, Siebel and Salesforce, you can create a UI that allows your agent to work within that single UI vs. having to Alt Tab between all three applications.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company almost exclusively develops in Pega, we have over a dozen teams working with many different clients. Pega as a platform aims to address work flow and business process management, and for the most part, this is what we build. We build web apps that streamline and automate business processes and Pega as a developer tool is relatively easy to get into but has a lot of power and complexity once you get into it. Because of the relative ease for us developers, apps can be built quickly and fine tuned based on the customers needs and team sizes can be kept to a handful of developers.
  • Quick development time. Much of the Pega "rules" are easy to configure and implement.
  • Visually friendly and modern. Much of the UI/UX elements in the system are continuously supported and updated, giving a nice feel to the apps.
  • Many of the configurations and rules Pega gives to the developers can also be delegated to business users. The organization and structure of the client's business can easily be adapted in the Pega platform.
  • Not all software is bug-free and Pega is no exception. Notable problems arise when upgrading between versions of already existing apps. Pega does its best to support apps but can be slow to respond.
  • Small circle of users. Pega is a niche technology and much of its methods and functions strictly apply to Pega itself. There are not nearly as many resources to refer to compared to some of the bigger name technologies.
  • Often restricted to the platform. Many of Pega "rules" are restricted, as there are approved "guardrails" Pega wishes developers to stay within. Clients may want one thing but Pega may not support it and it can be difficult navigating around the limitations Pega itself puts in place for these.
Pega is great for corporate web apps when a certain work flow or process can be improved through automation or a more stream lined process. It can handle forms and documents really well, integrates well with many different services (including other Pega apps), can handle very complex work flows and logic to basic things like user permissions and notifications. I would say it is less suited for small business needs. I would also say it is not that great at handling media or very interactive screens such as video (something I have personally never seen done).
August 21, 2018

Why Pega Platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pega Platform in our Healthcare department, and we are working on making use of Pega across the organization. We use Pega Platform for addressing customer orders, to make a new order, or to manage/cancel/modify their orders through Pega Platform. We also use Pega's Customer Service application for dealing with patients.
  • Pega is a codeless application which helps us spend less time in development and more time focusing on business
  • CPM framework: They should improve it by making it more simple
We had a business request where the user wanted the functionality to be ready in 2 weeks. We were able to deliver that functionality with the help of Pega. Pega did it well!
August 14, 2018

Pega Power

Dishank Vishnoi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organisation we are using Pega Platform in one department which is AES i.e Application Engineering Services. We have built an application on Pega for insurance domain basically used for handling premiums and claims for London Market.

Earlier it was all paper work and complex processes which Brokers had to undergo for processing premiums and claims but with Pega application coming into the picture all these are processes are simplified and automated.
  • The big advantage is we don't have to have to build the system from the scratch like any conventional programming.
  • Case Life Cycle Management - which allows any business user to capture and process the full scope of work in their operations, be it document handling, approvals, decision making, etc. These tasks can all be built into a process flow to automate as much as possible.
  • Design-once, deploy-anywhere user interface-saves a lot of effort.
  • Less coding, adopts changes and quick developments.
  • Should focus on improving the search engine on PDN training.
  • Very costly tool for small scale companies.
  • Pega’s Strategic Apps, CoBrowse and OpenSpan offerings appeal to mid-market customers, but Pega is not aggressively promoting Pega 7 and Pega Express as stand-alone iBPMS platforms to the mid-market
A business friendly toolkit for defining applications. Unlike traditional BPM tools, there are much less complicated, technical syntax to handle in modelling processes and hardly any hard-coded programming. A well-trained business user can be trusted to create a business application from the PegaSystems BPM framework if desired.
August 14, 2018

Pega Review

Narayana Sastry Yanamandra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My recent project is about Human Resource management applications, allocation of resources into projects, current status of resources, project current status, and how efficiently we used resource through out the financial quarter.
  • Exceptional handling/fools-proof code for faster results
  • Built-in reports
  • Faster building of code modules which can be built separately and joined together
  • SMA, tracer, clipboard tools which make the debugging process much easier
  • Easy building of User Interface
  • Advanced shapes like email and work object status auto updations
  • Multiple records of data retrieval from the DB causes slowness
  • AES built in reports or customization of those reports are limited
  • Expensive
  • Limited out of the box functionalities
  • Special UI components addressing is difficult
Less time, robust code situations, good performance.
August 10, 2018

Pega platfrom

Sundeepthi Namana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization we as system architects configure the application to resolve the problem. We configure application assets such as UI forms, automated decisions and correspondence. Then we review the application with business for approvals.
  • Versioning: We can create a new version of a rule whenever case behavior needs to change. Pega maintains a history of changes to a rule, allowing system architects to review the change history and undo changes if needed. Since each rule describes a specific case behavior, the rest of the case is unaffected. For example, a system architect updates a UI form with instructions and removes a critical field. You can review the history of the form and revert back to the version before the changes were made, without changing other rules in the application.
  • Delegation: We can delegate rules to business users to allow business users to update case behavior as business conditions change. The business user updates the delegated rule, while other parts of the application remain unchanged. For example, expense reports that total USD25 or less are approved automatically. You create a rule to test whether an expense report totals USD25 or less and delegate the rule to the Accounting department. The Accounting department can then update the rule to increase the threshold for automatic approval increases to USD50, without submitting a change request for the application.
  • Reuse: We can reuse rules whenever an application needs to incorporate existing case behavior. Otherwise, you must reconfigure the behavior every time the behavior is needed. For example, you create a UI form to collect policyholder information for auto insurance claims. You can then reuse this UI form for property insurance claims and marine insurance claims.
  • N/A
Build a Banking Application where customers can check for loan, insurance status based on the loan numbers provided. Customers register with bank, login to the portal and search for the loan status. Create a portal for applying loan / insurance claim which is routed to manager for approval upon successful background verification. Once approved, email customers for notification. Invalid applications go to false claims table for rejection. Also create a portal for banking payments to other banks for existing customers via NEFT/IMPS
August 10, 2018

Build for change :)

Sushant Balur | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pega Platform is in the Automation team to automate the data center operations and budget management and tracking before data center-upscale/downscale requests.
  • Workflow management. Easy development and maintenance of customer processes
  • Integration. Readily available adapters to connect to commonly used systems.
  • Time to Market from initiation phase.
  • Solution frameworks available for specific industry needs, and can be tailored to meet custom requirements
  • B2C engagements
  • AI, ML
  • Easy development of very high end UI
Process intensive systems can best use Pega. If there is a process, there can be Pega :)
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pega platform is used as a development tool to deliver BPM software in our organization. It is used in one SBU not in the whole organization. It is used to develop solutions related to domains such as Healthcare, Insurance Banking and Finance. In addition, it is used to build fleet management system and logistics related system.

Following Pega Best practices and having Pega expertise benefits in developing large scale software solutions in long term. This toll can manage large data sets with reports, It encourages developer to build with the end product in mind. Performance issue handling, Exceptions handling and even including comments is monitored at development time.

There are in built frameworks in Pega platform that provides the ability to develop and deliver solutions faster. Developing UIs in Pega is easy. Developer need to drag and drop inbuilt Pega layouts and can apply necessary CSS and styles using Pega skin. So, UIs can be customized to meet customer needs. These responsive UIs are easily accessible from mobile, tab and desktop with minimum and/or no configuration.

  • Reusability
  • Pega’s Situational layer cake architecture is capable of organizing application to suit enterprise needs. An enterprise can have a complex organization structure located around the globe. Because of Situational layer cake architecture reusing common policies and procedures is easy while allowing for differences between products, regions, channels and customer segments.Whereas with some application development platforms, separate copies of the application should be created to suite different business context.
  • Faster application delivery
  • With Pega developers can reuse common policies and procedures, replicate functions and industry specific frameworks and utilize pega UI elements to develop applications. IT is easy to deploy.Therefore developers are capable of delivering application earlier compared to some application development platforms. Pega reduces time taken to deliver an outcome.
  • Pega upgrades
  • Pega platform is upddated to adapt and work with latest technologies.
  • Proprietary users support and maintain Pega platform continuously. Pega customer support is always willing to enhance product support.
  • Need more learning materials. For Beginners who have previous programming experience with another language takes more time to learn.
  • If the developer is met with an issue in pega platform , they have to rely on Pega supporting team to fix it.
  • Customization is available but is not encouraged. Pega does not support faults that occur in customized solutions.
Pega plaform is well suited for large enterprise application development. Pega provides powerful capabilities in implementing security. It is used in Banking, healthcare and Insurance domains. So many banks all over the world are using Pega to develop their applications.Healthcare and insurance corporations also benefit similarly.
Developing attractive UIs is difficult in Pega.
August 10, 2018

Pega platform review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pega across our departments primarily to support internal operations. It works well to automate business processes with it's workflow capability.
  • Workflow and case management
  • Integration and services
  • Customer Service for healthcare
  • Data management
  • Reporting
  • Workforce intelligence
CRM Sales Automation Appeals and Grievances
Nagendran Arumugam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pega platform is used to build customer care applications which are used by customer care agents. Agents use the applications to file claims for customers and service them. It is used to capture all the details from the customers about their issues and tag it to the claims.

The application manages end to end life cycle of claims.

We have multiple applications built in Peg, for claims management and fraud management.
  • Pega is a Business Process Management tool. It can be used to manage the business flows, and enables us to quickly build end to end applications . It can also be integrated with legacy systems.
  • It can be used to automate lots of manual tasks, by using its back end agents features. It can also get updates from other systems and process claims without any manual intervention
  • Pega has out of the box reporting and dashboards which can be used to manage the metrics.
  • Pega has to come up with ways to integrate with cloud, which is ubiquitous now. The tools should change to adapt it.
  • Pega has to improve in providing detailed documentation for all its features. There is very little documentations on some features like high availability.
  • Pega has to come up with ways to implement A/B testing. In the current world there is no time to deploy and rollback.
Pega is well Suited for
  • Building business process applications which have assignments, routing and escalations.
  • Best suited for customer care applications.

Less suited for
  • applications which have the system of records in some other system (ie) For claims application the claims details has to be in pega, if the info has to be fetched from some other system it makes the application slow.
July 31, 2018

Pega the Way to go

David Burnham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by different agencies for specific applications. It addresses licensing, purchase, payments and communication routing.
  • Easy to configure and implement out of the box solutions
  • The built-in functionality is amazing
  • Code sharing and reuse is built into the product
  • Inheritance is two-directional allowing for reuse
  • Better access to the database for hosted solutions
  • Lower cost for smaller applications and businesses
  • The upgrade can be easier
  • Provide guardrails when code will prevent upgrades
It is very well suited for the workflow process and implementing business process across companies. It is not well suited for transaction-based processing.