Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
370 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Shanna Baty | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Salesforce Lightning Platform (Formerly Salesforce App Cloud) is Modern Case Management Software for Your Law Firm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) in every department of our Company. Our call center uses it to complete legal intakes and qualify potential clients for different areas of law that we practice. If they are eligible (for one or more areas of practice), we create matters that we use to follow their cases through from start to finish. Our disability department has several sub-departments who use it for various reasons. Case management follows cases through from filing through getting awarded by SSA. Medical records use it to order, catalog, and store records. We have a personal injury and mass tort department that also uses it for case management. This keeps all records organized because we use "record types" to know which area of law each record applies to. There's also a taskbar and timeline so you can visually see where our clients are in their filing process and what tasks or steps need to be taken to move the case along.
  • Organizing records by type
  • Keeping notes organized
  • Following up on tasks and assigning/completing new tasks
  • Creating documents
  • Referring out clients to other law offices for areas that we don't practice
  • Managing case costs and expenses
  • Scheduling for hearings
  • More document friendly (we had to integrate box)
  • Stronger integration with five9 for documentation purposes
  • Adding call counters and automatic call logs
  • Dashboards updating in real-time
Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) has been fantastic when it comes to organizing and managing files and notes/documents. Its status bar in records gives you a visual idea of where your cases are and what steps need to be taken to move them along. The dashboard and reporting make it easy to know our case count, how many cases we accept/reject for any given time period if we have referred cases out AND who we have referred them out. It also makes keeping track of case cost very easy to manage.
Read Shanna Baty's full review
Jonathan Justin Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Welcome to Salesforce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce is the premiere CRM in use. The Lightning platform allows other apps to merge with SFDC and keep it as your single source of truth while expanding your company's capabilities with every external app on the market. This is the most capable sales platform on the planet and you will pay dearly for the privilege to use it. It is worth every dollar.
  • Integrations to extend Salesforce's capabilities.
  • Connects Salesforce back to where you do your work.
  • Converting from SFDC classic to Lightning takes some adjustment.
  • Some custom apps may not work in the old system.
For all large sales-based companies it is "the" platform. The cost and expertise needed to run and maintain the system goes up as you scale but you need at least a dedicated admin/developer just to run it. Once you start with customisations then you already need a team, or really expensive-to-use outside consultants. In a small 70-person company we probably spent one million dollars over 5 years on implementation and licensing. Once you get bigger the complexity goes up.

I would not suggest it for nonprofits and early stage companies, but once you start to systemise your sales process and need to track leads-to ops and sales and renewals, get off of spreadsheets and get a real system.
Read Jonathan Justin Lewis's full review
Rhiannon Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Challenging implementation. Glitchy software.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Lightning is used by several departments at our company including Inside Sales, Enterprise Sales, Customer Success, and rarely Support. It is used by Sales Development Representatives and Account Executives to manage pipeline and communication during the sales process. It is used by Customer Success primarily as a reference for communication during the sales process and as a record of communication during the full life cycle of a customer.
  • Reporting and Dashboards are thorough and can show a wealth of important data to inform and scale processes. It's helpful in a high volume sales cycle to be able to quickly identify weak points in performance and productivity so that adjustments can be made.
  • Highly customizable. We are able to customize just about everything which allows us to track very specific things and in theory create better efficiency.
  • Parent/Child account hierarchy exists which is helpful.
  • Contact records can be associated with multiple accounts and opportunities. This, in theory, should minimize duplicates and mismanagement of contacts.
  • Console helps a lot with data nesting. Having a fairly comprehensive look at an account without searching through various tabs and sections speeds up an otherwise cumbersome platform.
  • There are very few aspects of this platform that are intuitive and user-friendly. Very rarely can information be found where you'd expect it and several pages with a thousand clicks are required to get just about anything done. It is very, very time-consuming! For a high volume, very short sales cycle this platform absolutely makes no sense. It is designed for something much more complex and concrete. Salesforce Lightning is completely impractical when contact information, opportunity details, notes, account owners, and so much more changes on a daily basis.
  • I mentioned it's great that contact records can be associated with multiple accounts but that also leads to all accounts for which the contact is associated being flagged as 'Duplicate'. Perhaps this is something that can be adjusted and customized at our company but so far it seems to be incredibly frustrating. The duplicate flagging seems to be all or nothing. Identical accounts are somehow not flagged while accounts that don't have a single detail in common are. A child account is flagged as the duplicate of a parent account. It's an untrustworthy process that leads to more work and poor data management. Hopefully, this can be addressed.
  • Activity logging is also very untrustworthy. Again, this may be something that is not set up properly at our company but makes for double the workload. When calls and emails do not log properly it leads to redundant and unnecessary communication between colleagues and customers alike or worse, wasted time spent on digging up the correspondence from another source such as Gmail or the Talkdesk website. Chatter and notes disappearing or not saving is equally problematic.
  • Very glitchy. Often times records will have to be entered twice because they did not save the first time. Pages need to be refreshed often. Tools sometimes just don't work. We receive error messages to 'contact your administrator' so often it's scary.
  • This ties into activities not logging but syncing with other platforms are often unreliable. Sometimes the Salesforce extension for Gmail works, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes Talkdesk syncs with Salesforce connector, sometimes it doesn't.
I can very easily see Salesforce being a valuable tool for more complex and longer sales cycles. If you're interacting with multiple contacts, departments, and tiers within a company this will give you the organization and powerful analytics you need. If you are working with the same contacts and accounts for long periods of time (sales cycles of several months or more) it might also be a good fit. Be ready to invest heavily is implementation and training from the very beginning. It is a complex tool that requires A LOT of thoughtful, careful, and thorough planning to be implemented successfully.

It is not well suited to industries that change rapidly, where your contacts might be completely different today than they were last week or the business you were working with has closed. It does not make sense for a company who's sales goals rely very much on the volume of contract value. You will simply spend too much time on data entry that will, in the end, be unreliable.



Read Rhiannon Thompson's full review
Sarah Meerschaert | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Salesforce - It's what Everyone Uses

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Salesforce as a CRM. Our customer success teams have ticketing systems and integration with other tools like JIRA. We keep track of projects there, contact persons, and industry details. It works well as a snapshot of information for employees who may not know a customer well. We also track customer specific development in cases here. And we take full advantage of the dashboard functionality and reports. We have several reports that are used on a daily basis by upper management to track sales progress, customer support efforts, and overall success of business lines. It's a good tool for pulling together complex information across the divisions of our company. We've had success building out functionality in the platform over time.
  • Customer Profiles
  • Linking to other applications
  • Reports
  • Saving your session
  • Easy to share pages
  • Intuitive design
Salesforce is a great tool for companies looking to collect data about their relationships with customers. It also scales well as your company grows. But it's not always easy to set up or use. You're going to need to keep your asks simple and you may want to consult with an expert to ensure you're setting up your custom instance in a way that you can modify over time.
Read Sarah Meerschaert's full review
Alexa Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Best CRM for your buck

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Lightning Platform is being used by the entire organization. The sales team, customer success, CEO, and marketing all use SFLP. We keep track of potential clients coming through the pipeline, current clients, as well as accounts we're going after and prospecting. It's where we track revenue, deals we've won, and categorize clients by vertical information.
  • It keeps track of all open opportunities.
  • It keeps track of all closed won opportunities.
  • We can track reasons why opportunities were lost.
  • Keeps track of who owns different accounts within Salesforce Lightning.
  • It can be a bit buggy at times, like randomly not letting you save or making you refresh the page or do the same action, and then it will save.
  • Bugs really are the main issue here. Otherwise it's great with reporting!
It's great for keeping track of leads your pursuing, accounts you own and want to go after, and opportunities in the pipeline to close. It lets you track how much they'll pay, upload contracts for the entire organization to see, suspected close date as well as where they are in the pipeline (these stages can be set by your organization for whatever makes sense, and how many steps to close you'll need). That's on the sales side. The marketing team uses it for data collection and what type of clients we're working with, why people have churned or closed lost (never won opportunities) as well as the Client success team for similar reasons (churn).
Read Alexa Terry's full review
Matthew Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

We Love Salesforce Lightning Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Lightning Platform is used across several verticals of my organization, including sales, sales operations, sales excellence, sales administration, marketing, operations, and customer support. It is used most importantly by the sales reps, account executives, and account managers, who use the tools available to accurately manage their pipelines and forecast upcoming deals.
  • Reporting dashboards.
  • Pipeline management.
  • Contact records.
  • Not entirely user-friendly and intuitive.
  • Sometimes glitchy when inputting a pending opportunity entry.
  • Synching with 3rd party applications is often glitchy.
Salesforce Lightning Platform is best suited for an organization in which the sales cycle is extended over a lengthy period of time. This is due to the fact that oftentimes, a potential deal can get lost throughout the sales cycle, in which case managing an accurate pipeline becomes difficult. Being able to follow the progress of a deal is vital information for forecasting revenue.
Read Matthew Bernstein's full review
Kristin Sours | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Salesforce has everything we need to manage our clients

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Salesforce across our entire organization but it's most heavily used in Client Support and Sales. For our client support team, Salesforce is crucial for keeping track of our client base, we store all their info, activities, emails, webinar attendance, etc. We also use cases to monitor our clients batch screenings/production and opportunities for renewals. Sales uses all of these components too but they heavily use leads to track all prospective clients that come in through webinars, flash classes, conferences and so on. My favorite thing that Salesforce does is allows us to easily report and track our quarterly and yearly progress to see if we are meeting our goals or not.
  • Reports and dashboards - I can build my own reports very easily to see upcoming renewals, first-year clients and so on. Then, I can create my own custom dashboard to track my favorite reports.
  • Opportunities and quotes - when I first started here we didn't use Opportunities for tracking renewals and upgrades. Now, it's easy to see what I'm working on and when ready I just add the products to a quote and it sends it to our billing for really fast invoice creation. It used to take me hours to do this and now it's seconds.
  • I love using activities - it keeps me organized and up to date on all my accounts that I manage. Plus, I can create future tasks so I don't forget to reach out.
  • I can send mass emails to any group of clients and I can create nice email templates with "placeholders" which allow me to use the first name of the main point of contact across hundreds of organizations. Again, this saves me lots of time.
  • With Lightning, the calendar is seriously lacking functionality. With Classic, I could schedule events across multiple people in my organization (something I have to do quite often). We cannot do this with Lightning and it's a big shortcoming. It caused such an issue for us that we stopped using events in SF and moved completely to Google Calendar for all work events.
  • Calendar and email sync with Google - again, this worked fine with Classic and then when we switched to Lightning it didn't.
  • Technical and client support - it's been frustrating dealing with support here. I've either had things messed up or just not resolved and a lot of times it takes a very long time to look into a small issue. It has made me reluctant to reach out again.
I think any large organization that has a sales and/or client support department would be well suited for using Salesforce. In terms of CRMs, it's user-friendly, customizable and ready to use "out of the box." I would recommend anyone using Salesforce for the first time to do plenty of training and/or do trail heads (SF's online training) because there are a lot of features that you might not use but it will make your life easier. Plus, it's better to use it right the first time, as opposed to having to clean up stuff down the road. I've found that non-profits aren't as well suited with SF but this isn't from personal experience.
Read Kristin Sours's full review
Fraser Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Salesforce Lightning - A shockingly good CRM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Lightning is used across the entire sales department, and in marketing a little also.

We used to use the classic version of the platform but after a few kinks with lightning were ironed out we have grown to love it. The improved user interface, greater functionality, and more accessible information have greatly helped our sales.

It is, of course, a CRM that we used to track and manage accounts, contacts, and opportunities, among others.
  • A huge amount of data in one place that is easy to access and track.
  • Integrates with many other applications to enhance user experience and life. For example Gmail - all emails are tracked and stored within the appropriate contact.
  • Flexible reporting makes spotting trends, in our markets/segments, etc., a breeze.
  • It can be a little slow, but given a large amount of data this can be expected.
  • Some of the integrations that update themselves life can cause salesforce pages to crash. For example, if you send an email and then want to edit the same account, you will be asked to refresh the page as "changes were made".
  • Searching can be tricky as it doesn't allow for spelling mistakes. You have to know exactly what you are looking for which can make searching for tricky names difficult.
Excels at tracking and managing customer and prospect information. From the Sales Development Reps (SDRs) side of things, they can easily manage a large volume of accounts with tasks and views in order to manage their outreach.
As all the call and email activities are tracked it is very easy to see what is going on with a customer or prospect and understand what stage of the sales cycle they are in, or what we need to do in terms of the next steps.
SDRs can also use integrations to personalize their outreach, making them more efficient.
Read Fraser Murphy's full review
Jordan Chen | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Good platform, but it isn't for me

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used to integrate email contacts of both prospects and clients alike. It is used to track emails that are sent out to be able to also track activity for each account that we have inputted into Salesforce. It's primarily used by both my team, client services, as well as our sales teams to track their outreach.
  • It's a useful tool since we already use Salesforce for our regular client data so it just makes sense that it would integrate with our email.
  • It doesn't always sync/work that well. When I try to input a new contact, it sometimes doesn't work.
  • I never actually know if I'm logged in/out, there's no way of knowing if your data is actually being saved.
It's good for companies that use Salesforce as their main platform for keeping track of their customers. It is a great two in one so if a company doesn't want to pay for multiple vendors, it might be easiest to just integrate lightning. It is also a lot easier than having to use the Salesforce BCC link in every email.
Read Jordan Chen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Salesforce - A must for any sales organization who takes themselves and their customers seriously!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SLP as the backbone of our entire sales cycle. All other programs that different teams use are fully integrated with SF thereby providing a seamless experience across the organization.
We are able to track the progress of accounts, contacts, and leads from the marketing stage/nurturing right through to after sales service.
  • Integrates with other programs I use.
  • Stores info in a coherent manner.
  • Could work on more integrations possibly LinkedIn.
  • Sometimes mapping is not seamless and there are glitches.
Well suited to track an opportunity from inception across the entire sales process until closure and after sales.
Less suited for specific parts of the sales cycle, e.g. marketing and sales dev.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Lightning Fast With Thunderous Analytics!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Lightning is used by our Sales Development, Account Executive, Account Management, and other Managerial teams. It allows us to organize all leads and accounts in one space. This gives full insight into all conversations had with the client from the moment they are a prospect until the very end (though hopefully there is no end once they are a client). In a business where turn over happens relatively frequently, it keeps our Sales Development Representatives in the loop so that they can continue engaging clients thoughtfully even if the previous SDR has left or been promoted. It also allows for easy communication between Customer Success associates and Account Executives on the off chance that any issues arise.
  • Organization.
  • Analytics.
  • Ease of use.
  • Integrating marketing initiatives.
  • Creating specific search reports.
  • Customization of fields.
It is well suited for larger companies. My company has over 10,000 business clients and tenfold of that, minimum, in the pipeline for outreach. If your business is just starting out then Salesforce Lightning may not be the right fit for you, as there will be a lot of information that may not be worth the cost of the platform. There needs to be someone dedicated to customizing the platform for your needs, which may be an unwise use of funds for the smaller startups.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Salesforce Lightning & Sales Console Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Lightning is used by our entire organization. This is key in managing clients and accounts in an environment where all employees are able to view account status and additional details regarding an account as multiple individuals tend to work in an account. All data is stored in the platform and is great to access on the go as well.
  • Customization views based on your role at the organization (i.e. sales console).
  • Seamless reporting within the platform.
  • The functionality of being able to link out to other platforms we use straight from a record.
  • The Lightning view tends to take far longer to load than classic.
  • Getting up to speed on Salesforce language can be difficult. There are resources out there to assist.
  • Managing events in Lightning seems to be more difficult than classic.
I enjoy being able to customize the view type in Salesforce Lightning. I use the 'Sales Console' view which allows me to have multiple tables open at once when working with many different accounts in a day. This also allows me to see all of the important data at a quick glance as opposed to having to scroll through pages of data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

My Salesforce Lightning Platform - All In One CRM and MORE!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Lightning has been a tool covering a lot of problems. The highest of those priorities is tracking sales opportunities from the first time we engage to if we win the opportunity as a new client or not. This includes many attributes such as possible revenue, needed resources, etc. The second part of the tool we use the most is a repository of sorts, everything from the contract to meeting notes, to passwords and more.
  • Contract repository
  • Meeting notes and action items
  • Mobile version is lacking a tad
  • Slight learning curve
If you're an agency and need an all in one CRM that will track all sales, contacts and the results of those this is a great choice. Not only can it do all that and more, it can help support those wins after the sale on a day to day basis.
Read this authenticated review
Hayden Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

SFAC is Wonderful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce and the app functionality is being used by our developers, SE, and sales ops organizations extensively. The creation of integrations, dashboards, and more have been used to create more accountability and transparency within our organization. Aside from those pain points being resolved, it also helps our executive and management teams stay on the same page in regards to progress in various areas.
  • The creation of integrations, dashboards, and more have been used to create more accountability and transparency within our organization.
  • It also helps our executive and management teams stay on the same page in regards to progress in quota attainment and more.
  • Having the flexibility to create and customize our instance internally and externally is a huge win here.
  • Training and access to non-admins seems very limited and hard to find.
  • Resources are hard to locate at times.
  • Escalation paths when problems arise are unclear to lower-level users and others receiving the finished products.
It helps bring mobile, social, and other cloud platforms together into one place. This enhances the CRM experience enormously. It is especially helpful for developers and product owners working with SFDC and Salesforce Lightning/Heroku.
Read Hayden Anderson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Salesforce App Cloud as seen from Sales

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce App Cloud is used primarily to allow our developers the ability to build a solution easily when primary application users find a need. It's primarily used by in-house development/product teams in synergy with certain members of sales in order to roll out new applications. The primary issue it addresses is providing the base framework needed for developers to do just that...develop.
  • Opens communication/Transparency
  • Provides framework for development
  • Connects dots between mobile and web based application
  • Some features are quite difficult to use. Need additional resources to manage.
  • Very pricey, as are all things Salesforce. Hard for startups/emerging companies to justify.
  • Playing off the first con, support can be hard to come by from Salesforce.
Salesforce App Cloud is well suited to larger companies with a solid development team. If you are a smaller company with less skilled developers the learning curve or potential that can be realized from using this product may be wasted. Innovation. If this word describes your business and the above points are not an issue this is for you.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

SalesForce as a PaaS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization utilizes SalesForce in tandem with FinancialForce to manage multiple verticals: Sales, Vendor Management, and Financial Management (AP, AR).
  • User-friendly out of the box.
  • Easy to manage users and user access.
  • Trailblazer is a great resource for both new users and experienced users wanting to try/add new functionality.
  • Every console requires a new license.
  • SF licenses are expensive.
  • Trying to convert Skuid to Lightning is dangerously complex.
Salesforce is a great PaaS for start-ups or smaller firms as it's easy to stand-up and has multiple basic applications needed for every business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

A great app solution for Salesforce

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for some of our custom development and deployment of code to our Salesforce organizations. As we are moving from the Ant Migration tool, this has allowed us to move some of our code solutions to a app based model and allows us to modularize our customization.
  • Works like an app environment
  • Allows us to use third-party apps alongside our custom apps
  • Allows us to share our apps with other organizations that we work with
  • There are limits to how the apps can be developed that require some creative thinking/workarounds
  • You are still constrained with standard Salesforce features
  • It can be slow to correct if you have issues with a release, as you have to wait and go through the SFDC lifecycle
If you are familiar with Salesforce then App Cloud is a great solution for you to install solutions that fit your needs or to build a custom solution. Salesforce App Cloud excels in the variety and the ease of installation of the apps that it has available to the majority of users.
Read this authenticated review
Pradeep Bele | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Salesforce Lightning a top CRM product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We provide the support for Salesforce Lightning and build lightning application according to business needs. It has been used across the organisation, overriding the existing salesforce functionality using lightning components.
  • Its component based framework.
  • It support for rapid application development.
  • It is a very light weight application.
  • Most of the features are supported in classic view but not in lightning view, so Salesforce should look into this.
  • It is very user friendly so I don't think is much to improve, as Salesforce is continuously adding features and more functionality.
Salesforce Lightning has light weight applications so the performance is very high, also the customer interaction is on a more timely basis, so it is very well suited for business usages.

I guess when the organisation is financially strong they should go for Salesforce Lightning as the licensing cost is much higher compared to the other CRM applications.
Read Pradeep Bele's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

Don't Take a Nap on This App

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used the App Cloud to access the AppExchange and download and install many apps that connected to our Sales and Service Cloud instances. We also used the Force.com platform to build some custom visual force pages as well as code some Apex triggers and classes to meet our desired results.
  • Always available
  • Easy to use
  • Scalability
  • Could be less expensive
  • More training material
  • Salesforce account managers could suggest different apps
The Salesforce App Cloud was well suited when it came to installing new packages (apps) to help our environment accomplish things that traditional Salesforce Sales and Service Cloud couldn't accomplish. There are so many apps though, it's less appropriate to install everything a user sees. It's important to vet what modules from the App Cloud you can use.
Read this authenticated review
Treacy Seeley | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2018

Your own personal developer team to help you do your job!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Salesforce App cloud to manage our direct and programmatic business, as well as manage lead generation for direct and self-service business. It is flexible enough to support all of our lines of business. It addresses the needs to manage all the lines of business, and yet be able to effectively report on them combined and separately for Finance and Executive Management.
  • Flexibility to expand Salesforce in any way that you want, specifically for your business purposes
  • Lots of free and low cost items to try out.
  • simple integration with all aspects of salesforce, no need to research if this App will play well with the rest of your org
  • There is so much, sometimes it's hard to find what you're looking for
  • Also, it's hard to know what else could help that is out there
  • Sometimes it's hard to get ahold of the developers for particular apps
Salesforce App Cloud is well suited for an Admin or Principal users who need more functionality in their Salesforce set-up, but don't want to spend a lot of money. It also has good tool just to review or assess the effectiveness of your Salesforce set up.

It is less appropriate if you have a large business issue that probably would require a custom solution.
Read Treacy Seeley's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2018

Powerful enterprise solution - Not for everyone

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We evaluated Salesforce App Cloud when beginning development of several mobile applications ~1 year ago. In the end, we decided not to use Salesforce although it was quite powerful. Our needs were not "enterprise" enough to justify the cost and overhead of Salesforce, so we moved on.
  • Integration with other Salesforce products
  • Powerful enterprise development platform for mobile and desktop
  • PaaS solution for deployment
  • Expensive
  • Hard to use
  • Overkill for non-enterprise use cases
For enterprise customers already using Salesforce, App Cloud is a viable solution to develop and deploy for both mobile and desktop. For non-enterprise customers with limited need for integrating multiple Salesforce solutions, App Cloud might be a bit too much. Ultimately, you can chat with a Salesforce expert to discuss your needs and you can probably evaluate App Cloud for free.
Read this authenticated review
Laveena Bachani | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2017

Best of both worlds-Salesforce1 and Mobile SDK!!!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mobile App Development.
  • Powerful Low-Code Platform with metadata
  • Less expensive
  • All the mobile resource integration for easy development
  • Too many features on one platform
  • Less flexibility in terms of UI
  • Very limited with Salesforce1
First time offered, Salesforce SDK with Salesforce1 provides best of both worlds, Easy to build the application. One of the most important flexibility it provides is to choose between Salesforce1 and Salesforce SDK. If you want to build mobile applications, Everything that has been provided with Salesforce App cloud already existed. But with Salesforce App cloud everything is provided under one umbrella.
Read Laveena Bachani's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2018

App Cloud Pros and Cons

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to create customized solutions inside the Salesforce CRM to address business processes that were being handled poorly, through emails back and forth. The platform is very easy and intuitive, so it doesn't take weeks to create an app. As a matter of fact, a simple app can be built and deployed in a few minutes.
  • No coding experience required
  • Intuitive
  • Salesforce "look and feel"
  • Easy to deploy
  • For the creation of simple apps the number of fields that can be created is limited
  • No possibility to create text-free fields with unlimite characters
  • Layout necessarily has to be according the Salesforce standards
It is highly appropriate to address business processes that are not being handled in an automatized way. Once the process and the necessary fields are mapped, it is very easy to build and deploy the application.

It is not appropriate for very sophisticated business needs that need a tailor made solutions. Also, keep in mind that in order to use the app, you will need to acquire a Salesforce license for each user.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2015

Salesforce1 PaaS dominates the market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are an ISV on the Salesforce1 platform, providing a native AppExchange solution focusing on the Mid-Market and Enterprise.
  • Rapid Development and Implementation
  • Flexible infrastructure, access to data via APIs
  • Secure, Scalable, inherently Social
  • Vibrant community
  • Improved scale in reporting
Salesforce has done a great job of providing a suite of app clouds to get the job done with the right tool. Understanding where/how to use Visualforce/Apex, Heroku, Wave, etc for the right project is important as you kick off your project.
Read this authenticated review

Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (23)
7.2
Scalability (21)
8.7
Platform management overhead (20)
7.2
Workflow engine capability (21)
8.2
Platform access control (22)
7.7
Services-enabled integration (23)
8.0
Development environment creation (20)
8.1
Development environment replication (19)
8.2
Issue monitoring and notification (21)
7.9
Issue recovery (21)
7.3
Upgrades and platform fixes (23)
8.0

About Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud)

Salesforce Platform is designed for building and deploying scalable cloud applications with managed hardware provisioning and app stacks. It provides out-of-the-box tools and services to automate business processes, integrate with external apps, and provide responsive layouts and more.

With the Salesforce Platform and Heroku users can deploy, run, and manage apps written in open languages like Ruby, Java, PHP and more. Deploy code via git and Salesforce Platform automatically builds and runs the application so developers can focus on delivering engaging apps for their own users. In addition, Heroku Enterprise provides collaboration functionality, additional control features, and enterprise grade support.

With Lightning on the Salesforce Platform, developers can also quickly deliver innovative apps with an interactive UX by using reusable building blocks including maps, calendars, buttons, and number entry forms. And, with the Salesforce Lightning Design System, every developer has a how-to guide and code for building beautiful apps.

The Salesforce AppExchange is a proven ecosystem of apps, with millions of installs and thousands of customer reviews to help Salesforce users find the best match for their business. Whether developers are looking for applications to accelerate internal implementations or looking to grow their business by selling apps or components to other customers, the AppExchange can assist with that.


Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Integrations

Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Competitors

Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No