Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Rubrik

Rubrik

Overview

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Backup with ease and innovation

9 out of 10
March 25, 2024
We are using Rubrik products for about 5 years now to backup our critical assets. We are highly virtualized and mostly backup VMs. We …
Continue reading

Rubrik just works...

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all of our on-prem MSSQL, Oracle, and DB2 databases from Cyber and Ransomware attacks as well as test/dev …
Continue reading

Rubrik Review

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
We use Rubrik for server and 365 backup across the whole organization. It helped us save time as it doesn't need to be constantly …
Continue reading

Amazing simplicity

10 out of 10
March 20, 2024
Incentivized
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is …
Continue reading

Rubrik

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
Incentivized
We are going to use it for cyber security and ransomware recovery. This will help us make faster recovery for our business and help …
Continue reading

Initial Thoughts!

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
We use Rubrik to back up our entire systems. We backup our physical servers and VMs which is about 30TB of data. We also use the …
Continue reading

Works great would purchase again.

10 out of 10
March 14, 2024
We primarily use Rubrik to back up SQL environments in Azure and VMware in our data center. The Native Azure backup was not giving us the …
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

Intuitive User Interface: Users have consistently praised Rubrik's intuitive user interface, with many reviewers stating that it is easy …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Retention options (136)
    9.4
    94%
  • Snapshots (135)
    9.3
    93%
  • Management dashboard (136)
    9.0
    90%
  • Platform support (133)
    8.7
    87%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

208 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft System Center?

Microsoft System Center Suite is a family of IT management software for network monitoring, updating and patching, endpoint protection with anti-malware, data protection and backup, ITIL- structured IT service management, remote administration and more. It is available in two editions: standard…

What is Veeam on IBM Cloud?

Veeam on IBM Cloud promises to provide continuous availability to enterprise clients through its combined and automated backup and recovery solution. Veeam is deployed in the user's IBM Cloud environment for: · Agentless image-based backups · Recovery of entire VMs, individual files,…

Return to navigation

Features

Data Center Backup

Data center backup tools send data to a secure storage location after encryption and de-duplication

9.1
Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is a cybersecurity company offering Zero Trust Data Security to help organizations achieve business resilience against cyberattacks, malicious insiders, and operational disruptions. Rubrik Security Cloud, built with a Zero Trust design and powered by machine learning, aims to deliver complete cyber resilience in a single platform across enterprise, cloud, and SaaS. Rubrik’s platform automates data policy management and enforcement, safeguards sensitive data, delivers data threat analytics and response, and orchestrates rapid cyber and operational recovery.

Key Features:
  • Comprehensive Cyber Resilience: Rubrik Security Cloud offers a holistic approach to fortify data against a diverse range of threats, ensuring protection for enterprises, cloud environments, and SaaS applications.
  • Automated Data Policy Management: The platform streamlines the management and enforcement of data policies, so that organizations can more efficiently control their data assets.
  • Data Threat Analytics and Response: Leveraging internal analytics capabilities, Rubrik Security Cloud detects and responds to data threats swiftly, in order to prevent potential breaches.
  • Operational Recovery Orchestration: In the event of a cyber incident or operational disruption, the platform orchestrates recovery processes, minimizing downtime and data loss.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features

  • Supported: Universal recovery
  • Supported: Instant recovery
  • Supported: Recovery verification
  • Supported: Business application protection
  • Supported: Multiple backup destinations
  • Supported: Incremental backup identification
  • Supported: Backup to the cloud
  • Supported: Deduplication and file compression
  • Supported: Snapshots
  • Supported: Flexible deployment
  • Supported: Management dashboard
  • Supported: Platform support
  • Supported: Retention options
  • Supported: Encryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Screenshot of Rubrik DashboardScreenshot of Data Threat AnalyticsScreenshot of Data Security PostureScreenshot of SLA Domain

Rubrik Video

Rubrik Security Cloud Overview

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesNA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Reviewers rate Encryption highest, with a score of 9.7.

The most common users of Rubrik are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)60%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)40%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(221)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Users commonly recommend the following about Rubrik:

Consider Rubrik as an option for backup solutions and try a proof of concept (POC) to experience its benefits. Users suggest that Rubrik is a complete and secure data management solution that is highly recommended.

Use Rubrik for customers who require frequent snapshots and a lower recovery point objective (RPO) granularity for restore. Reviewers believe that Rubrik is well-suited for these customers.

Integrate Rubrik as a backup product with existing automation systems due to its full-featured API. This allows for seamless integration and automation of backup processes. Additionally, when considering the cost of Rubrik, users suggest looking at the overall return on investment (ROI).

Overall, users recommend not being afraid to try Rubrik, emphasizing its ease of use and time-saving capabilities. They view it as a great investment that will save headaches in the long run. It is also recommended to use Rubrik as part of a two-system backup strategy for data protection. Before making a decision, it is advised to conduct a true comparison of costs and understand the long-term costs of all solutions.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-7 of 7)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Burhan Shakil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is the primary backup product we use. It is currently used to backup our virtual infrastructure running on VMWare. Our backup is stored on Rubrik Briks and also archived to S3 Storage. Overall the product is rock solid with great features. Other than our primary backup solution this is also major part of our DR Recovery plan. In case of disaster we can restore our VMs to AWS using Rubrik Cluster on AWS.
  • Direct Live backup of VMs using Native snapshot technology
  • Cloud Integration for Archiving of Data
  • Instant restore of VM using live mount on Rubrik Flash Storage
  • 0 day local retention of VMs. It keeps atleast one copy of VM on local brik
  • No way to assign a specific encryption key for a specific VM
  • Some Disk Consolidation and Deduplication issues.
It is perfect for taking backups of Virtualized environments. While it supports taking file share backups the process is not as intuitive as VM level backups. Legacy Systems: If your organization heavily relies on legacy systems that are not virtualized or cloud ready, Rubrik's strengths in modern IT environments may not be fully realized. Legacy Systems: If your organization heavily relies on legacy systems that are not virtualized or cloud-ready, Rubrik's strengths in modern IT environments may not be fully realized.
March 18, 2024

Initial Thoughts!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik to back up our entire systems. We backup our physical servers and VMs which is about 30TB of data. We also use the ransomware detection software in Rubrik to look for any abnormalities constantly. We appreciate the ZeroTrust policy so we know that no changes can be made by a single user or accidentally. Having Rubrik give us an all around piece of mind.
  • Bare Metal Backups
  • Ransomware Investigation
  • Support is amazing and fast response
  • File Anomaly Detection
  • So far, haven't ran into any issues
Rubrik has provided an all-encompassing backup solution for our organization. It has help us catch potential threats with the automatic file anomaly detection. Their level of support as been fast and very helpful. We haven't had Rubrik very long but we have been very happy with the seamless integration and support!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Rubrik to backup VMWare, Hyper-V, and remote office data. We are also using it to replicate our backups offsite to a remote location. It has allowed us to merge our backup products down and still get the same level of data backup.
  • Quick and easy recovery
  • Ease of use and administration
  • Cloud integrations (AWS, Azure)
  • Fantastic support
  • Currently, it has limited Bare Metal restore options.
  • GUI could use a redesign to incorporate some features better.
  • Better reporting functions.
Rubrik is well suited for any business that is running physical or virtual servers and want them backed up in an easy way. It provides features for enterprise customers that can be used in the small/medium business market. They are continuing to evolve the product portfolio with O365 backup, data classification, and more.
Ken Shade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using the Rubrik fabric to backup and restore as needed enterprise-wide and into the cloud. There are limits to the cloud integration but overall nothing works like Rubrik. I set up the product and pretty much do not touch it again until I need to.
  • Database Backup and Restoration on the Rubik Box
  • Google-like searching no matter where your targets are
  • Calling support is better than calling 911. Help comes much faster and everyone is a native English speaker
  • Bare Metal Restoration
  • Work within OpenStack Cloud
Any place where a cloud out or cloud on strategy is required. I would replace any current backup solution with this product and in any place data encryption at rest is required. Data compression is second to none.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Rubrik is being phased in to replace the current legacy tape backup system. The solution will backup all workloads including, NAS, VMWare, HyperV, Nutanix AHV & SQL. The legacy backup solution could not backup Nutanix AHV which is the current hypervisor of choice. By using Rubrik we have managed to bring backup times down from 23 hours to 30 mins.
  • Incremental forever
  • Backs up Nutanix AHV nativ3ly
  • Direct to cloud for backup.
  • RBAC needs some work
  • NAS backup is stil complicated
  • No bare metal support
Simple solution to implement. From box being delivered to backups occurring was a matter of days. The Rubrik product is very intuitive and allows us to focus on more than just 'will the backup finish before the next one starts'
We can now set an SLA and be worry free that the job will run with no complications.
René van den Bedem | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Rubrik is being used by our Engineering Department and we sell, design, implement and support it with our customers.
  • Fastest time to Market - literally takes minutes to install and setup (assuming your prerequisites are met)
  • A high rate of innovation - Rubrik has a very fast release cycle, new features come out regularly
  • Amazing support - very high NPS score, these guys care about their customers
  • New to the market - but these guys are just getting started
  • No support for non-x86 workloads
Perfect for x86 bare-metal, virtualized and cloud use-cases.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrk is a Backup and recovery software. It solves backing up our virtual infrastructure backup, SQL and Fileset backup for our current organization.

It provides great analytics of the data it protects. We have this deployment across the globe, with different variants of Rubrik implementation. Provides real time protection details across the globe.
  • It protects virtual infrastructure really well with a VSS consistent backup. The always on incremental protects the data seamlessly. We know when we want a full backup , however Rubrik decides when it should do a full backup based on various algorithms.
  • The SQL backup is an awesome feature witha live mount feature to read database without a restore in a quick and efficient manner
  • The NAS backup is another amazing feature that could be used to bring back the data seamlessly from cloud or on premises
  • Cloud On feature which solves our DR requirement in cloud is an amazing feature which solves a business use case to migrate an IT environment to the cloud faster
  • Bare metal recovery is not great. Rubrik should have an option to to help protect our physical infrastructure
  • Sharepoint, Oracle capability is still at par. Need to be availble sooner
  • The Nodes break often with the features on upgrades. Rubrik should be more careful when releasing patches.
For Any Virtual infrastructure this is a great product with a minimal presence of application.

Rubrik supports all VMs from VMWare, Hyper-v, Nutanix vm's. It also supports Linux Oracle backup (RmAN), Windows SQL servers and Sharepoint database based on single object recovery with Kroll. Our DR in the cloud is being evaluated with Rubrik as the product.
Return to navigation