Carbonite Server Reviews

57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Santhosh A O | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Carbonite - A friendly tool to handle your all backup operations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are using the Carbonite Server Backup to manage the customers' backup environment. It won't give the report module as expected, but apart from that we have enough options to explore the backup and restore technologies.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Easy to deploy the agent and configure the same.
  • User friendly.
  • Efficient and reliable.
  • Easy for freshers to explore.
  • Needs improvement in reporting section.
  • Needs DR environment.
  • Needs extra options to fetch the Vault data report and Retention report.
It is a very good tool and most reliable, efficient and user friendly so even freshers can easily understand. But it needs to be improved in Reporting section - need more information about reports in depth and detail. We need DR environment so that we can perform the DR activity whenever we want and perform and explore other things too. Stable environment and no doubt in configuration part.
Read Santhosh A O's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

A solid backup system, but could use a little help

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Carbonite server backup as or current backup solution for 6 servers. We are also using the desktop version for key players within the organization. The intention of bringing the products in is to have a safety net in a place other than Microsoft's built-in shadow copy system.
  • Backups
  • Installation of client
  • Reliability
  • The user interface is clunky.
  • Admin console is very slow.
It is well suited when backing up a small number of servers on a timed schedule.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Carbonite Backup has good versatility but has to include reporting which is the crucial part that is missing.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Carbonite Server Backup across the whole organization. We are using it to backup the VM, SQL, Oracle DB and Exchange server Backup. This has solved the problem of hardware utilization, as we store data in their cloud vault.
  • Granular restore for application and file level restore are very good and simple
  • Web central control is very simple and straight forward for configuration backup
  • Director server configuration is easy and simple to setup
  • The backup report really needs improvement. It is really pathetic, as it gives wrong information. It is not suitable for auditing.
  • The Exchange DAG backup should support instead of configuring each exchange server.
  • Cloud infrastructure supports a lot of AWS and Azure instances that are coming up.
This is suitable for VM infra and physical server backup. It offers application level backup and restore. However, it does not support DAG backup. It offers very good data management as you don't have to worry about the space utilized in the Cloud vault or Base vault. Not suitable for audit report, and it won't be available if there are any business needs that you failed. We have suffered in this section as we could not provide the reports to our audit team. We failed and the product itself failed. Not advanced compared with Veeam, Druva, and Acronis backups.
Read this authenticated review
Timika Hite | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2017

Carbonite EVault Backup and Disaster Recovery made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Carbonite Evault as our backup and disaster recovery system. It is being used as an organization-wide system. It addresses the need to have quick restores for those files that no one knows how they disappeared, while also addressing the need to have your data stored elsewhere in the event of an emergency.
  • Carbonite Evault allows for easy management of backups. Once the system is integrated there is minimal hands on time. The system is smart enough to email you if there is an issue to give you the opportunity to fix it before it becomes a larger issue.
  • Carbonite Evault does restores very well also. Our favorite restores are the BMR (Bare Metal Restores). This type of back up allows you to restore the entire server configuration to a brand new box.
  • Carbonite Evault does a good job of allowing you to schedule backups when it is convenient to you with little impact on your bandwith.
  • There is room for improvement on the notification of policy changes or the inability to support older hardware. We were left with several mission critical servers that no [longer] backed up without notice. The issue was resolved once we contacted support.
  • Another got you is the fact that if you need to do a granular restore for SQL or Exchange you need a special license and a special software installed on the server.
  • I would love to see Carbonite Evault provide a user conference with training. That way the newer users could come up to speed and the current users can become more comfortable modifying or resolving issues on their own.
Carbonite Evault is a very good backup and disaster recovery system. We have had no issues restoring when we have lost entire servers. You can also stay in compliance with your records policies and have the data deleted after specific time periods.
Read Timika Hite's full review
Brent Goedel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2017

Carbonite EVault will be the last backup you need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Carbonite EVault for our backup solution for our entire business as well as our cloud hosting clients.
  • The bare metal restore is the best I have seen from a product in a long time.
  • The backups are at the block level, after the initial seeding of backups the backups are quick because of the block level.
  • We have not found anything wrong with EVault at this time. Support and the product have worked great for us and our clients.
Carbonite EVault has worked well in the SMB environments that we manage.
Read Brent Goedel's full review
Eric Romaine | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2017

Small Company Flexible Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our whole organization backing up just under 100GB of file, system state and database types data. Carbonite is installed on two older Microsoft based servers which serve domain and file system roles as well as a SQL Server. It is our industry standard to have disaster recovery methods in place which include file level to complete system recovery. We backup month end snapshots up to 10 years as well as a rolling 30 days.
  • Their web portal is easy to use to monitor server, check logs, restore or run an ad-hoc backup job.
  • Minimal problems, but when there is a problem, customer support is friendly and flexible in finding a solution. Contacting through their customer portal is convenient.
  • Competitive pricing for level of service provided.
  • It'd be nice if the customer portal and the Evault portal were integrated a little more smoothly.
  • An alert system when backups are not working, to email or even to Evault support would had been a nice feature. This was our fault for not monitoring more closely, but information was lost when our storage vault was moved and the IP address had to be updated. Backups were failing for about a month and only the portal logs were recording the failure.
In a regulated industry where backup recovery is essential and required, Carbonite provides a nice outsourced solution, reducing stress and overhead of most in-house solutions.

Bandwidth could be an issue with larger data companies, so an internet based solution would need to be analyzed from the trade-offs of cost and functionality.
Read Eric Romaine's full review
Russ Kruse | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

Carbonite EVault - a good product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Evault to backup our critical computer systems by taking nightly, weekly and monthly backups which are stored on disk, as well as replicating those same backups to an offsite datacenter for disaster recovery if needed.
  • Managing EVault backups with the director console as well as the software central console is pretty easy. Selecting servers to backup, editing the selections for each server and reviewing the detailed logs should any errors pop up is pretty straight forward.
  • Customer support via phone to EVault is pretty fast. Since the transition to Carbonite, wait time for support has dropped to a point where there is seldom any wait time.
  • Learning of a problem is typically done with email alerts, which I find very helpful. I don't have to look at logs every day searching for errors or failures. The emails notify me.
  • EVault has a process for restoring backed up servers to a different location than the original backup. This is really helpful in a DR situation where the original location may not be accessible.
  • The granular restore tool for exchange, which is needed to restore a specific email rather than an entire mailbox, is a bit combersome. I wish the tool was incorporated into the 'normal' restore features.
  • The inline replication process is very sensitive to available bandwidth. And if bandwidth between source and replication site becomes overused, inline replication fails and 'regular' replication takes its place. I wish inline replication was a bit less 'touchy' and would have a built in 'pause' to allow for the clearing of bandwidth before it fails over to 'regular' replication.
I've found EVault to be very scalable and reliable. Once a server is set up for backup via EVault, the process of accomplishing that backup is pretty automated and reliable.
Read Russ Kruse's full review
Kirk Phillips | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

Happy Camper

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
[It's] used to backup the whole organization's servers. It solves protecting data files and is part of the DR strategy.
  • It's easy to set up and backup.
  • Like the speed of full backups once the initial backup is complete. It compresses and only backs up changes but makes it easy to restore as it links all the files together.
  • Support is excellent - Easy to contact someone when I need help.
  • DR: Previously had to do a restore of over a TB of data from the cloud. They quickly recovered the data onto units and shipped them overnight and it was fairly easy to restore the data and get an email system back up and functional.
  • Would like to see better integration with the ON-Prem appliance and the cloud so I can backup less critical things like bare metal systems on-prem and then put the critical files in the cloud and not have to separate it as much.
  • It would be nice to have better aging of the data so older files could be put in slower/cheaper storage instead of just falling off a cliff once it's aged based on its retention.
Great for SMBs who have limited resources for backup but need a world class solution. Large companies are hesitant as they are not a big player and I've heard that their compression/deduplication is not as good as others. Some of the SMB on-prem units seemed cheap to me and not a world-class piece of hardware.
Read Kirk Phillips's full review
Joe Bayramyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

EVault Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EVault organization-wide to back up and store critical systems and data on local and off-site storage. It addresses quick backups as well as quick restore capabilities.
  • Backup of systems and applications (exchange, SQL)
  • Quick restore capability
  • Once the initial backup is completed, from then on it's differential backups only
  • Have the ability to easily copy schedules and configurations from one server to a new one
EVault is well suited for organizations with critical offisite backup strategy. In fac, EVault does not contain the encryption key, only the organization does, it a great security selling point.
Read Joe Bayramyan's full review
Jeff Lillian | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

K.I.S.S. Keep It Simple Stupid

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[I] Have used EVault for 8+ years to backup multiple locations to local backup and central remote site for disaster recovery purposes. Setup has been simple and easy. Web Central Control has drastically reduced time and simplified reviewing backup completion. The entire product is logical and intuitive.
  • Product is very intuitive and logical. Do not need to spend a lot of time figuring out 15 different things to click on to complete a task.
  • Web Central Control removes the need to spend resources on tracking backups and if they were successful. One web page and 30 seconds will show a snapshot of the previous night.
  • The restore process is simple and has the ability to restore from one machine to another.
  • Only have one gripe and that is licensing. I have multiple locations and all use the same capacity license. When upgrading, need to call and have the license reset. No easy way to reset without call.
The product just woks. Hard to come up with specific scenarios other than need files backed up and restored.
Read Jeff Lillian's full review
Warren Tenney | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2017

Carbonite Server backup for small business

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small organization with a single server. We currently use Carbonite Server Backup to create full server offsite backup once per month.

  • Relatively easy to set up.
  • Very responsive support.
  • We tried creating a full server backup once per month with incremental backup daily. This proved unworkable over a standard DSL network connection. The full server backup would take approximately 3 days to upload to cloud and then the incrementals were temperamental, The software had to be reinstalled on several occasions after a failed backup.
  • We now run a full server backup once per month and use file backup for dailies. This is much more reliable and has reduced the time required to monitor and fix.
  • On the plus side, support was very helpful and good in getting things started again but the backups required constant attention.
Not well suited for situations without a high speed internet connection.
Read Warren Tenney's full review
Robb Glietz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2016

Carbonite the solutions maker

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using tape backup, and people forgot to change out the tapes on a regular basis. So looking for a solution Carbonite was perfect, for we could back it up to our local NAS and then have it backup to the cloud via automation. We receive emails each step of the way, so we always know what is going on. If something goes wrong we get a email and then we can fix it quickly and continue on.
  • Automatic emailing of static of backup or if problems happen.
  • Easy admin console to see how much drive space is available.
  • Easy to install.
  • The email system does not always send out emails on failures.
  • Have it do a retry on some backup operations when it fails.
In our case it was a perfect fit for not just our server backup, but we can log into a main console and check on backups on PC's thru out the company.
Read Robb Glietz's full review
Josh Yau, Ph.D. | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2017

Great tool for data backup and restore.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Carbonite Server Backup to back up our digital information across the whole company to the cloud. This backup is on daily basis to secure data from potential hardware failure due to natural or manmade incidents. The three backup protocols can be optimized for most the efficient and least cost plan.
  • Carbonite's technical support is very helpful. We received great support in a couple incidents, including backup plan configuration.
  • Backup setting can be customized to meet business needs, i.e., specifying folders or type of files for backup.
  • Data restore procedure is easy. Accidently deleted a file in a local server and it was easily identified in the cloud and restored to the server.
  • To me, Carbonite is only for server data backup. I was hoping for a cloud based database backend server or share folder, but I guess that's not what Carbonite is meant to be.
  • An administrator user should be able to manage files in their account at the Carbonite website.
Carbonite Server Backup is well suited for server data backup with the capability of specifying types of files to be excluded and specifying selected file folders to be included.
Read Josh Yau, Ph.D.'s full review
Danny Cockrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2016

Do you think you will ever need your backup?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Carbonite Server Backup across our entire organization. I needed backup of files that I could easily verify and let work through the night. I wanted to use a product that was easy to manage because my time is very limited but I know from experience that it is very important to everyone in our operation that we have a solid backup plan.
  • It is very easy to select shared network drives. If you have it mapped on your profile, it finds them just as you find them each day as you use the network drives.
  • Click and go!
  • The screen is very easy to understand.
  • I love how you can validate your backup.
  • I can do a quick restore to an external local hard drive to test my data being backed up.
  • I would love for Carbonite to backup my VMs from server 2012 R2 datacenter.
  • If a drive is not properly mapped, it won't let me browse to find it.
  • You must have your network drives mapped properly for it to find them for a backup.
It you are looking to backup locally on a machine or from a server, it is ideal. If you are limited on local storage for your backup, you can't use this efficiently to backup directly to the cloud unless you have major bandwidth at your disposal. Even then, if you are having issues, it is nice to have a local backup.
Read Danny Cockrell's full review
Janet Kowal | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2016

Carbonite works for us

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Carbonite Server Backup to back up our staff server, which includes the domain controller and most importantly, our share folders, where staff saves all of their files. It is used also to back up our financial software and employee payroll records.
  • It is easy to administer and monitor. We've set up automatic backups, which saves us a lot of time.
  • We have been able to retrieve accidentally deleted files, as well as a whole database, using the restore feature. This was invaluable.
  • I have also had to use the technical support and was impressed by how much time the technician spent with me to solve my problem.
  • At some point we had to update the software and it seemed a little difficult to do that. We had tech support help us, and I don't know if I would have been able to do it myself.
Our organization (library) is probably relatively small compared to other companies, so I don't know if my experience is typical. I feel that Carbonite is well suited for our situation and does exactly what we need, which is back up our data to the cloud so that it's more secure. We needed an off-site solution, and Carbonite worked well for us.
Read Janet Kowal's full review
Matt Cubbage | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2016

Carbonite better than Tape

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
carbonite is being used across the whole organization, it is backing up servers and databases. It solved our problem we had a few years ago when it was time to buy a new tape backup system and all the components needed to run the system. We find it easier and cheaper to have switched to carbonite. It also addresses our concerns on security and offsite access if something ever went wrong.
  • Document backup is the easiest and quickest.
  • These last couple of updates Carbonite released hyper-V backup capabilities which helped us out greatly.
  • Carbonite also lets one do independent backup of the servers if for some reason we also want specific programs backuped and still use the hyper v backup.
  • Great tech support, I reach out and they have worked daily with me till my problem was resolved.
  • I would like to see Carbonite run without being tied to Java updates.
  • Its been a while since I have done a restore but it was some what difficult and hairy finding certain particular files; not folders, they were easy.
  • The dashboard coloring for checking backup storage on the web is very difficult to read. I would prefer a bold black print.
Best use is in Hyper V backups, or file backups. I am always scared of the security encryption because if you lose it, as they inform you, they can not help you open it up, but that is also a good point if security is a great concern of yours.
Read Matt Cubbage's full review
Bill Casey, CTB | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2016

Inexpensive Reliability

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Carbonite Server Backup for all of our servers. This includes email, mobile, operating systems, and software. We have never had to obtain copies of our backups, of which, I am very grateful. Whenever our cloud backup is getting close to full. I receive an email alert to either purchase more space or cleanup our current backups. I use these alerts to keep our system backing up at optimal performance. Whenever I need technical support Carbonite is just a phone call away and any updates or problems are handled with relative ease and timeliness.

Before Carbonite, we had servers that used the old tape backup system. Each night we would have to make sure someone changed out the tapes and took them home, so as not to have them destroyed in either a fire or disaster. Carbonite Backup to the cloud has given me peace of mind knowing we are protected. I highly recommend anyone that is thinking about purchasing backup servers to give Carbonite a call first.
  • Technical Support
  • Reliability
  • Cost savings
  • Ease of use
  • Downloading updates
Carbonite Server Backup is well suited for small to mid-size companies that cannot afford expensive backup systems. Or that need a reliable service that comes with peace of mind knowing it is off site and totally secure from hackers.
Read Bill Casey, CTB's full review
MORRIS WATSON | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2016

Carbonite Server Backup Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a new (May 2015) retail flooring business. We had, and still have, many issues to solve and manage in our business. I have had them for backup on my system at home with no problems. Turning over the backup task to them took a task off my back. I still have plenty!!
  • Quick notification of potential problems with files.
  • Excellent support with issues/problems.
  • I only have 1, but it is very important to me: we are a small company - 4 people - and none of us have much computer knowledge. When issues arrive that require communication we need less "techie" talk and more plain English.
[It is well suited for] small companies with high daily activity that needs to be saved.
Read MORRIS WATSON's full review
Ellen Barnard | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2016

Straightforward and affordable backup service

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Carbonite backs up our point of sale server.
  • Pretty easy to set up.
  • Shows me what I am backing up and when something fails.
  • Communicates when my storage is reaching its limit.
  • Not as intuitive as I would like.
  • Poor instructions on how to set up backup set deletions which resulted in maxing out our server storage space.
Good for straightforward backup jobs of a single server with a pretty tech-savvy user. Not good for those who don't understand files or server setups.
Read Ellen Barnard's full review
Shea Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2014

I trust my critical data to eVault.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use eVault in two ways. The first way is to back up all of our company's internal data to our off-site location. The second way is by reselling eVault products and solutions to our customers.
It addresses the business problems of Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery for us and most of our customers.
  • The end-user experience is as simple and robust as I have ever seen from a backup solution. The end-user dashboard, should you choose to allow them access, is intuitive and granular.
  • eVault has the best bandwidth management I have experienced. The endpoint target is available for all operating systems and is intelligent and efficient using very low overhead. It includes data de-dupe and encryption while using very little system resources. Combine these features with bandwidth throttling and you can backup a large amount of data over any size wire.
  • eVault's deployment options will fit any budget and size environment. You can deploy using your own hardware, even. They really focus on providing the right solution for each customer instead of making each customer fit into their pre-determined box.
  • The eVault process is so thorough, sometimes a simple deployment can take much longer than a customer expects.
  • Their solutions in the past have been targeted to mid-sized to enterprise sized budgets. They now have solutions to fit the small business, but don't market them well.
A key question is, "how much critical data needs to be backed up?". A follow-up question might be, "what impact would it have on your business and reputation if you were to lose this data or take more than a few days to recover?"
If a company's data is not critical or valuable to the success of their business, then this is not a good solution.
Read Shea Taylor's full review
Christopher Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2014

eVault: A backup solution capable of supporting a large volume of Fortune 500 companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an IT services provider SunGard setup and supported eVault for multiple customers. It was setup and supported by my group, Availability Service, during my last year with SunGard. The product allowed us to provide an on-site and off-site backup solution for our customers which covered the most important applications (SQL / Exchange) and system types (Windows / Linux).
  • Initial training, setup, and configuration are all very well designed and easy to pick up.
  • Support was very responsive and helpful in all situations.
  • The product was much easier to use compared to other common backup solutions that were in use.
  • I really have no complaints.
Out of about 15 consumer level backup solutions and 3 professional level backup solutions I have used eVault was my favorite so far. I am in the process of getting my current company to switch to eVault from open source programs they are currently using.
Read Christopher Smith's full review
Lauren Fitzpatrick | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2014

Great recovery, not so great support

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
eVault is a server/data backup solution and hosted DR provider. The IT department will typically manage this product, but the impact of the product affects the entire organization.
  • eVault has perfected recovering your environment in the cloud during a disaster or simulated disaster. The process is quick and keeps all burden off the local IT department when it comes to recovering the systems and bringing them online.
  • Quick recovery of data/servers some localized issues such as missing files and/or corrupt servers.
  • Allows for all digital backups - no more tapes and costly secure storage!
  • In my opinion, support is terrible. It takes days for them to get back to you and then weeks to resolve issues. Problem is these are usually critical issues that need attention right away.
  • The virtual agent to backup VMs is impossible to install and once it is, it tends to have issues that cause the backups to fail. I now reboot my agent every 2 weeks to avoid issues.
  • Reporting is not good. You are unable to pull simple reports when you backup to an ERA. I needed a report to show status of jobs during a time period and was unable to produce that simple report without having to go into each job and manually download the log file.
It would be important to discuss SLA expectations, what form of back-up you are interested in as they each have different challenges. This product is best suited for smaller IT departments that don't have the manpower or physical location to host and maintain a backup solution.
Read Lauren Fitzpatrick's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

EVault's ease-of-use works for us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EVault is being used for backing up our ERP system data, in addition to our tape backup process. It is our primary disaster recovery method, through our contract with Sungard. Backups are written to a local server at our site, then replicated to the EVault site. Most of the individual file restores that I need to do are done using the EVault backups, which saves me a lot of time loading/unloading backup tapes.
  • Able to back up production files while in use
  • Easy process for restoring individual files
  • Very reliable software - does not require much attention
  • Because of our contract with Sungard, we cannot contact EVault support directly when needed
  • Haven't had any success restoring spooled files

For a disaster recovery process of restoring your system at a remote site, EVault makes that process easy and way faster than my previous experiences with rebuilding a system on a different system.

Every time I am asked to restore a file from a backup, if a copy from the last week is acceptable, using EVault is by far the easiest and quickest way to restore a file.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2017

EVault - A cloud backup solution that delivers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across a significant part of the business - offers a cloud backup solution for company servers and data. It offers a fast, efficient way of safeguarding data and also offers a disaster recovery process. It works well with virtualized server recovery and also file level security. Data is migrated and replicated from localized vaults in data centers to satellite vaults offering cloud storage.
  • Speedy backups - once one time full backup has completed then only differentials are backed up
  • Excellent telephone support - resolution ratio good
  • Virtualization server backup very good
  • Issue with backing up VMware 6.5 - waiting for patches
  • Reports could be improved - usage reporting is often confusing
  • EVault server agents can sometimes be difficult to install
  • Excellent for virtual server backup/restore
  • Speed of backups is good
  • Technical support - telephone support is very good
  • Can handle SAP SQL backups well
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2017

EVault for small/medium businesses

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EVault is used for backups for our entire company. It backs up physical Windows, SQL databases, IBM i, and VMware virtual machines. We replicate the backups to our secondary datacenter. It allows us to consolidate one one backup platform and eliminate manual intervention of rotating tapes or other media.
  • Multi-platform backup.
  • Hardware agnostic.
  • Length of time for backups to complete because it never has to run a full backup after the first one.
  • Support is generally helpful.
  • Flexible replication topologies.
  • Backup management portal is difficult to manage for hardware/OS upgrades. Not all agents are supported in it either.
  • New product support - vSphere 6.5 is still not supported and doesn't work.
  • Scheduling backups are too time-consuming compared to other products.
  • Finding the log file from email alerts is almost impossible. Log file names on the Director are too generic and no identifier in the name.
  • VMware backups provide no way of centrally showing what VMs are backed up. You have to use the notes of the backup job and manually check each VM.
  • Overall product management is complex. Many different components that work together but there can be 3 or 4 places to check for problems.
  • Backup reporting is there but requires yet another component to be installed.
  • Deduplication only on a per job level.
EVault works well in small companies where the rate of change with servers and backups is low. Medium and large companies will probably be better off with a more proven platform that offers enterprise features like global deduplication and centralized management. The cost is relatively low and you don't have to buy proprietary hardware.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (7)
8.3
Live recovery (8)
8.2
Recovery verification (7)
7.9
Business application protection (12)
7.8
Multiple backup destinations (13)
7.8
Incremental backup identification (17)
8.4
Backup to the cloud (18)
9.5
Deduplication and file compression (12)
7.6
Snapshots (9)
6.3
Flexible deployment (9)
7.9
Management dashboard (9)
7.5
Platform support (10)
7.5
Retention options (11)
7.7
Encryption (11)
8.5

About Carbonite Server

Carbonite Server (also replacing the former EVault products acquired from Seagate in 2016) is a full backup and discovery solution. Designed to recover anything from a single file to an entire system with the click of a button, Carbonite Server users can protect virtually any type of file on both physical and virtual servers, NAS, SAN and external hard drives. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution assures that users without an IT department and those that are the IT department can rest easy knowing their data is safe. According to the vendor, Carbonite Server is easy to configure and schedule automatic backups (full, incremental and differential) that require zero user interaction. Users can choose local, cloud or hybrid backup targets.

Carbonite Server Features

Data Center Backup Features
Does not have featureUniversal recovery
Does not have featureLive recovery
Does not have featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Does not have featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Does not have featureFlexible deployment
Does not have featureManagement dashboard
Does not have featurePlatform support
Does not have featureRetention options
Does not have featureEncryption
Additional Features
Has featureHybrid Cloud: Ability to store and back up data to the cloud and/or locally.
Has featureHot Backup: Backups occur automatically after you set policies with no disruption to normal workflow
Has featureImage Backup & Bare Metal Restore (BMR): Restore to new, existing or dissimilar hardware from bare metal with no OS or other software installation required
Has featureHyper-V Image Backup: Complete snapshot protection with full backup capability
Has featureExchange Online Backup: Mailbox-level backup of Exchange Online mail and calendars and cross-user data restore between local Exchange and Office 365
Has featureScheduling & Management: Perform full, incremental or differential backups for more efficient, more frequent backups and more relevant recovery points
Has featureSecurity & Compliance: Provides 128-bit encryption and Transport Layer Security (TLS) by default, with a 256-bit private key encryption option; supports FERPA, GLBA and HIPAA compliance.
Has featureDedicated Support: Call, email or chat with our U.S.-based business support team 7 days a week. With our free valet install, a Carbonite business team member will install and optimize Carbonite Server Backup for your business at no extra charge.

Carbonite Server Screenshots

Carbonite Server Integrations

Hyper-V, Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, MailStore, Microsoft Exchange Online, Microsoft Sharepoint, Oracle

Carbonite Server Competitors

Acronis Cyber Backup, IDrive, Carbonite Safe (formerly Mozy), StorageCraft

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Trial and paying customers have access to our valet install free of charge. Call and speak to a specialist who can remotely connect to your machine to ensure it's installed and configured correctly to protect your critical data.

Carbonite Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Carbonite Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, German