Spryker Cloud Commerce OS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
38 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 19, 2021
Marc Dassler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Solving the digital challenge it is key to be fast and agile to address the business needs. The fast implementation of Spryker and integration in our system landscape allowed us to deliver an early digital market experience with limit time and cost effort.


  • Straight headless / API first approach
  • Clean modular architecture
  • Provide more change management for teams working with legacy systems
Due to the modular architecture, Spryker allows a fast start in dismantling legacy ecommerce solution and integration in existing IT landscapes. The clean headless approach and the modular backend is key for a fast, smooth and inexpensive for integration in existing IT landscapes, since adapting to business needs is key for success.
Enabling our partner network to work with a modern ecommerce solution
Fantastic responsiveness, great support and strong documentation and
The fast implementation of Spryker and integration in our system landscape allowed us to deliver an early digital market experience with limit time and cost effort.
Read Marc Dassler's full review
December 21, 2020
Jan Stöckel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spryker is used by a large part of the organization. It is used to sell projects. It is deeply integrated with back-end systems such as SAP, ERP, and Salesforce. The advantages of Spryker are the numerous business capabilities that enable a quick start.
  • Separation between front-end and back-end
  • Headless approach and very flexible [when] used by front-end
  • Packaged business capabilities.
  • Ready integration with third-party systems.
  • Global footprint, especially in China.
  • Improvements by the PaaS model.
Spryker is very well suited for mapping digital business models with transactions and a high flexibility towards front-end and business model requirements. The reason is the Packaged Business Capabilities, which enable a flexible implementation.
We have implemented a live chat function. In addition, our platform has been opened up to partner companies that now offer complementary products and services to our range. This enables us to achieve a on-stop-shopping approach for our industry.
We regularly have very good contact with our partner manager, who provides direct contacts in the individual departments. Sometimes, however, it takes time to identify the right person for a topic.
We extended the B2B frontend as part of the projects and were able to build on a very user-friendly design there. In addition, the Spryker backend also offers very good usability and the daily work with the system is a pleasure.
Read Jan Stöckel's full review
December 21, 2020
Janine Poser | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spryker Commerce Cloud OS is being used by a large part of our organization. We solve problems of our Customers especially in B2B and Unified Commerce Sector. In particular, we are pushing for a very customer-centric approach and deep integrations into existing infrastructures. Especially the packaged business capabilities brings a high modularity and flexibility and this is what our customers need to be competitive and Spryker delivers.
  • Packaged business capabilities.
  • Headless approach.
  • Separation between front-end and back-end.
  • High flexibility and modularity.
  • API-first.
  • Integration with third-party systems.
  • Global footprint.
  • Improvements in PaaS.
Whenever a client wants to build a sophisticated digital business model that fits into existing infrastructures and requires high flexibility in the front-end, Spryker is a good choice. We see many use cases in the B2B and unified commerce sector.

It is oversized for off-the-shelf e-commerce.
We delivered Live Chat functionalities and moreover we implement marketplace functionalities to deliver a one-stop shop experience.
Moreover we have a deep integration of SAP ERP.
They are very quick to grab and are available at short notice. In the case of individual third-party integrations, however, smaller bugs are only responded to with a long delay.
Very user-friendly interface that we use very often and complement with other systems such as CMS and PIM
Read Janine Poser's full review
December 20, 2020
Moritz Jung | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are an integrator for Spryker Cloud Commerce OS, and work with the system for more than 2 years now, to provide our clients a solid, stable and extendable platform for their E-Business. My personal involvement is focused on transforming complex B2B-sales models into an online platform, to connect our clients with their clients.
  • Extendable - you can extend the core functionalities to every business need.
  • Scalable - the technical implementation supports a highly scalable system approach.
  • Adjustable - besides implementing new functionalities the core functionalities can be adjusted to the business needs.
  • Up-to-date - compared to other E-Business solutions, the technological foundation of Spryker is growing, with the technological development and implementations [which] are kept up-to-date with quarterly releases.
  • Content - content administration is not a strong part of Spryker, although it improved over the years. I still see room for improvement in the world of bigger CMS systems being able to also do "commerce".
  • Backoffice-usability - for non-technical users the first few days, weeks and month[s] can be full of surprises. An extended documentation, or more intuitive handling on the backoffice could serve every party on Spryker.
  • Off-the-shelf internationalization - Spryker right now comes with an initial data set in English and German, which is for a German based company already a pretty stable starting point. Extension on the base data for Europe-wide used countries would be very helpful - French, Italian, Polish, Russian, etc.
From my experience, I categorise client businesses right now in two groups, Spryker-ready and "just not suitable". These two categories are based on the technical background which come with the clients business. If the business seems to be very simple on the outside, but has a lot of technical dependencies, connections and input resources, I would instantly go for Spryker as the architecture and way to implement "data driven" projects - is just supporting the way of consuming "endless endpoints," and present them in a simple way for the clients' customer to pursue the E-business.

On the other hand, projects which have no big technical background but a more complex, or "fancier" presentation, I would recommend a simpler and easier to adjust framework as the overhead are not worth it and the capabilities of Spryker won't be used fully.
In my teams we achieved a variety of different ideas and business challenges including:
  • a fully headless Spryker implementation, which communicates to n-other implementations on the in-house REST-API. This way the "face" of the shop could be adopted to a brand new Frontend technology for web users, and native APPs for mobile users.
  • legacy support for an XML integration to retrieve availability, prices and product information from a collection of systems "under the hood".
  • multi-nation, multi-language store with a shared product portfolio, but partially limited information on certain nation-language combinations.
Support on client projects is always great, especially when the support is backed by Spryker internal developers. The community, which is the "first point of contact" for every Spryker developer, is also very helpful and always supports a newcomer in questions or problems. Just a few points to improve from my side are:
  • better technical support, if the request comes from a partner vs. a partner in the name of a client
  • extended documentation on also older parts which are still relevant in modern Spryker projects
As mentioned before Spryker offers a lot for users and developers, but the steep learning phase can be sometimes a bit rough.

In the correct setup of developers and business, I would always vote Spryker over other e-commerce frameworks like OXID, Magento, or Shopware. Due to its stability and extendibility on the technical side.
Read Moritz Jung's full review
November 29, 2020
Jan Eickmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spryker [Cloud] Commerce OS to support our clients in realizing their ambitious digital commerce strategies. It helps us support complex transactional models as well as the specialized product and pricing models prevalent in B2B-Commerce-Cases.
  • Allows individual extensions for individual customer cases
  • Provides a wealth of standardized modules for various business cases
  • Drives innovation and encourages customers to think beyond standard usage
  • Pace of innovation challenges ability to provide a 100% complete implementation/docs
  • Headless-approach/API does not yet cover 100% of features
Well suited for customers with an ambition to create a unique offering and are willing to invest into implementing this. Not well suited for customers that just want a standard eCommerce/eShop platform without much customization.
- Innovative marketplace-model for last-mile delivery in e-food
- Professional B2B service provision through a transactional platform
- Complex availability and ordering models for perishable/seasonal goods
Great in person-support in projects and partner relations. Still room to improve for self-study onboarding and written reference-documentation
Very solid out-of-the-box commerce frontend suites.
Read Jan Eickmann's full review
November 12, 2020
Rob Peters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spryker as the technological platform for our global webshop. The webshop is our main revenue channel, generating 80% of our global sales, and is being used to scale the business internationally, implement the latest features quickly and offer an excellent user experience across all devices.
  • Scalability
  • Clean code and architecture
  • Flexibility due to its modular approach
  • No extensive CMS or PIM sytem integrated
  • It is key to have access to experieinced developers who can handle the system
Spryker Cloud Commerce is well suited for companies who want to embrace new technologies fast and have a tendency to invest and believe in technology as a competitive differentiator going forward. It helps to scale and test new features fast and with the right developers one can beat the competition by being more modern, user centric and up-to-date with the latest integration of third-party-technologies.

In case a company doesn’t have inhouse (web) IT knowledge or lacks the support of an experienced agency, it is recommendable to find a less advanced solution.
More personalized content for the respective visitor
A complete global redesign with consistency across all devices
A user-friendly product finder, providing guidance for new visitors (work in progress)

Our developers received excellent training over a long period of time in the Berlin office and online.
Our developers had to get used to the new system, but saw the advantages of the architecture rather quickly. We managed to keep all our developers on-board and were able to attract new talent thanks to the code of the Spryker Cloud Commerce. Note, as mentioned before, it is key, that one has access to experienced developers when one chooses to work with Spryker.
Read Rob Peters's full review
February 24, 2021
Artūras Ševčenko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in many projects. Mainly for eShop creation, customer satisfaction portal creation, etc.
It resolved problems like painful code review and difficult architecture decisions. Spryker’s modular software structure and the separation of backend and frontend interfaces (smartphone, desktop, voice, IoT applications) stand behind these capabilities, ensuring the highest possible performance and enabling agile project execution. For companies with digitization projects, Spryker replaces the standard solutions of software companies to drive IT innovations faster and more efficiently.
  • Strong architecture enforcement.
  • High frontend speed.
  • Less painful code reviews.
  • Steep learning curve.
  • Heavy vagrant-based setup, docker/SDK solution enabled smoother local environment setup.
  • Missing CMS implementation out of the box to choose for the project.
It is well suited for eCommerce.
Standard eShop features, no real innovation. Everything needed is already included in Spryker OS.
For a developer, using Spryker is feeling very innovative.
Frontend and backend integration is seamless, also frontend response is very fast.
Read Artūras Ševčenko's full review
February 12, 2021
Gunther Hahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed a platform that would enable us to digitize our brands internationally.
The SLV Group bundles a wide variety of brands, customer groups, products and business models. Therefore, we were looking for a flexible, scalable, future-proof provider and found it with Spryker.
We use Spryker as a central commerce system and as an API layer for the distribution of sales-relevant data.
From a commerce perspective, we were able to greatly expand the relevant share of digital orders based on Spryker B2B software.
  • Open architecture.
  • Flexibility for the different business cases.
  • Scalability.
  • Complexity as a multistore variant.
  • Importing large amounts of data.
The Spryker Ecosystem supports us in our highly variable, fast approach to international markets with the most diverse business models. With the technical layer of connectivity, we are able to respond to market requirements particularly quickly.
Very flexible system to respond to requirements. Good support of the Spryker team in terms of network and in the development of common solutions.
With Spryker, we have a platform that allows us to quickly digitize business processes in our changing market.
Spryker is also the layer we use to provide our customers with data and accept orders.
With Spryker, we are scaling our business. We are gradually rolling out the infrastructure to all our brands globally.
Very good comprehensive service in combination from PO team, agency and Spryker very well-rehearsed processes. Very efficient.
Those who dare to take the step to go to the Spryker platform, to provide the necessary resources and to operate it get a very fast, strong, modular, flexible, secure and easily scalable system. The applicability of the platform is excellent. However, this requires the appropriate skills of the product owner team.
Read Gunther Hahn's full review
February 10, 2021
Tobias Schlepphorst | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an agency, we implement complex eCommerce solutions for our customers - Spryker serves as the operating system and forms the basis for the eCommerce processes. Spryker is implemented company-wide and puts a digital layer over the existing business model. The modularity of Spryker, as well as the consistent API First approach, enables us to roll out MVPs quickly and efficiently and to integrate Spryker even in the most complex infrastructures.


  • Middleware
  • Headless
  • Modularity
  • API First
  • The learning curve is relatively flat
Pros
When you want to implement something quickly. If you have complex business processes and backend structures. If you want to use state of the art commerce technology.

Cons
Not recommended for small budgets.
We have already realized various features with Spryker. From complex product configurators to the implementation of a virtual trade fair, everything was there.
The support at Spryker has been absolutely great so far. The support has been friendly, solution-oriented, and quick to respond. In complex or challenging project situations, we have been able to work with Spryker to solve the tasks in front of us.
Overall, the backend system has good usability, but it is designed to be filled with data mainly by other systems and then passed on. Maintenance scenarios, such as article maintenance or the maintenance of content, should be possible, but should not be handled via it.
Read Tobias Schlepphorst's full review
February 06, 2021
Klaus Piber | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spryker is used by our multinational online shopping platform, which has a steadily growing range of several million products. Our largest customer is an international shopping community that unites 15 million shoppers and 150,000 merchants in over 50 countries. It was therefore clear to us that we needed the best software solution available on the market in order to run our e-commerce system. That's why we decided to switch to Spyker.
  • The modularization provides the flexibility we need.
  • High scalability.
  • The support team is very friendly and helpful.
  • The learning curve is quite steep.
  • Probably not the best solutions for small businesses.
Spryker is certainly a very good choice for huge e-commerce businesses that deal or intend to deal with thousands of merchants and millions of customers and products. However, for small businesses with inexperienced software developers, Spyker Cloud Commerce OS is probably way too complex.
  • We don't implement split orders.
  • We are able to run a marketplace with suppliers and partners on the same shopping site.
The development environment is very easy. If support is needed, the Support Team is very helpful and gives quick answers to any questions that arise.
The learning curve is steep, but if you know where to navigate, you are able to do many things. Basically, Spryker uses a clear and well-structured system landscape. And the help tools are quite self-explanatory.
Read Klaus Piber's full review
January 25, 2021
Jens Barth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
powwow is an e-commerce retailer in Germany. Due to 20 years of company history & some M&A activities powwow operates 2 complex & slow shoptech legacy systems.

Spryker OS is our solution for a "one product fits all" backend approach:
- quicker testing of mvp products
- reduced dev efforts
  • very clean code (php)
  • easy to understand architecture
  • good level of pre-configurated moduls
  • module for shipment service providing
develoment of innovative and fast moving d2c webshops for Telco products like smartphones, contracts % services.
- Setup of 2 new shop features (new plp, pdp, checkout)
- top service team
- skilled people :)
- works good
- clean code
Read Jens Barth's full review
January 14, 2021
Dennis Blümer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement Spryker Cloud Commerce OS for our customers. They are using it as their main commerce system. Integrating commerce, PIM, and ERP systems is a part of most projects. Increasing revenue and sales conversion by improving the performance and user experience of their commerce system is a major task. Spryker Cloud Commerce OS enables our customers to extend their commerce operations to create a marketplace.
  • Front-end performance
  • Consistent architecture makes it easier to implement new features
  • GLUE API as headless front-end
  • Offers a variety of sales channels
  • Maintaining (billions of) merchant prices
  • Usability of the Zed front-end
  • Out-of-the-box SEO capabilities
Well suited for
  • B2C companies with revenue greater than €50 million
  • Marketplace approaches
  • Complex infrastructures where a lot of data integration is required
  • B2B businesses with a lot of customer prices
Less appropriate for
  • Small businesses with relatively low revenue and standard requirements for their online shop
  • Customers with needs for pop-up shops
  • Customers with no need for high availability infrastructure for their online shop
  • We were easily able to implement a feature where customers could filter accessory products in a motorcycle online shop by the bikes they already own.
  • Integrated multiple search engines and used them as necessary for a specific context.
Excellent response time, but feedback is not always what we expected.
From the perspective of a solution architect, Spryker Cloud Commerce OS has excellent usability, as it is consistent in its architecture and new features can be developed quickly and straightforwardly.
Read Dennis Blümer's full review
January 11, 2021
Matthias Frick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an implementation partner for Spryker Cloud Commerce OS. We implement custom solutions for our customers with Spryker Cloud Commerce OS, which builds the backbone of the online IT infrastructure of our customers and is connected to a lot of other systems and services like ERP, PIM, and others. Together with our customers, we create awesome online shopping experiences with the Spryker Cloud Commerce OS.
  • A lot of features out of the box
  • Possibilities of customizations is huge
  • Software architecture of Spryker Cloud Commerce OS is great and builds the base for a super flexible and robust software solution
  • Innovative and fast approach to building modern software
  • Development environment could be improved performance-wise
  • Experienced developers and architects are needed for customizations
Well suited: If a customer has special requirements and wants to customize nearly everything, Spryker Cloud Commerce OS is the way to go. Spryker Cloud Commerce OS offers a lot of functionality out of the box--these features can be easily extended and modified for the customers needs--without a big hassle. Having a well tested and structured feature-set in place that can be easily customized is simple awesome--for the customers and also for the developers.

Less appropriate: If there is a small business with only a handful products that doesn't have the intention to grow and add a lot of customizations are also not necessary, maybe Spryker Cloud Commerce OS is a bit to much (also because it has license costs and is not an open-source product).
We were able to implement solutions where our customer could gain new end-customers and increase their sales more than 200 percent in a really short amount of time. It was a pleasure to see how fast things could work and fit together.
The general support is great, but it is always space for improvements left.
The UI is implemented in an intuitive way and it is easy to find your way through the platform.
Read Matthias Frick's full review
December 19, 2020
Sebastian Bomm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In a world in which the speed of further development is the main success factor, with Spryker we can position ourselves very flexibly in order to react quickly to new challenges, to quickly try things out, and then expand. We wanted to change the way our teams are interacting with technology and give them the power to influence and change as much as possible independently. That also means getting more and more into the driver's seat of technology. While being a manufacturer on the one hand and a retailer on the other, we have to create category-specific user experiences. This is difficult to achieve with a simple standard. We appreciate the modularity and freedom of technological opportunities that Spryker offers our teams. Today, Spryker is used by many users in many cross-functional teams in our organization.
  • Modular architecture
  • Enables more technology ownership in our teams.
  • Freedom of customization
  • Enables an agile MVP-approach in everyday business.
  • Ease of use in some CMS cases.
Spryker is well suited for every organization that understands technology and continuous platform transformation as a main driver of success. Make sure that you have your own developer resources to work with Spryker and to get the most out of it. If you think of relaunches in a 3-year cycle, it's probably not your solution.
  • Implementation of many services like bots. digital advisors, etc.
  • Redesign of customer guidance flows
  • Placing additional content where it is decisive for purchase
  • Bringing a broader customer account functionality to life
  • Designing self-speaking product listings
  • Implementation of retail media services
It's more of a partnership than just a software.
Even if there are some topics that could be simpler (but I think that's totally natural), we appreciate the ability to easily involve new users, UX designers, and developers, and give them a lot of freedom right away.
Read Sebastian Bomm's full review
December 14, 2020
Laurynas Valenta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spryker Cloud Commerce OS as a tool for building our clients' e-shop solutions. Our team of around 10 people develops Spryker-based e-shops together with our partners. Spryker Cloud Commerce OS helps us in dealing with complex business logic requirements and enables effective scalability for our clients. It reduces ambiguities that may occur when the same problem is being solved by multiple developers. Spryker-imposed code standards help us in keeping our overall project quality high.
  • Defines a strict code structure. This eliminates a huge amount of uncertainty at any stage of project development.
  • Handles scalability issues out of the box before the scalability solutions may even be needed.
  • Provides developers with a high number of possible extensions and therefore reduces the time needed for feature implementation.
  • Spryker Cloud Commerce OS requires a lot of boiler plate code. It may be repetitive or overly formal.
  • Spryker's core code sometimes is not as high quality as one might expect.
Spryker Cloud Commerce OS should be considered by businesses that have plans to scale or have multiple stores. It should not be considered by developers with little experience or by businesses that want a very short time-to-market. The Spryker Cloud Commerce OS ecosystem is especially well suited for European markets, as there are many solutions for integrating payment, shipping, and other partners.
The solutions that we implemented were quite standard, actually. The interesting challenge turned out to be complex business requirements that Spryker Cloud Commerce OS helped to soundly incorporate into our project.
I have never used Spryker's support.
Spryker's usability depends on custom development. Therefore I would like not to consider usability as something that comes with Spryker Cloud Commerce OS. Spryker Cloud Commerce OS; however, brings all the tools needed to design a solution with great usability.
Read Laurynas Valenta's full review
December 14, 2020
Jonas Terleckas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spryker Cloud Commerce OS for large-scale e-commerce system development with various businesses' specific custom requirements. Spryker Cloud Commerce OS allows a quick start for new projects and offers out of the box standard e-commerce features with the possibility to adjust everything based on business needs. It has well-defined and implemented architectural decisions that help in development as well as for product support, late life cycles, and maintainability.
  • Great and clean code base acting as reference point and documentation
  • Well-defined architecture enabling quick long-term development
  • Lots of modules providing standard e-commerce features mostly out of the box
  • Extendable and future-proof design
  • Steep learning curve
  • Requires experienced developers
  • Not suitable for small business/project
For long-term large e-commerce (or feature-heavy) projects Spryker Cloud Commerce OS is a great choice, as its architectural decisions help to keep up development pace in late phases of the project. It has one of the cleanest code bases acting as a reference as well as documentation for developers. If multiple projects are developed with Spryker Cloud Commerce OS, the team can be interchangeable, as the architecture ensures unified project layout. However, Spryker Cloud Commerce OS has its use cases--I wouldn't recommend it for small projects or without having experienced developers to work on it.
Spryker Cloud Commerce OS separates front-end and back-end, allowing you to scale the system per requirements both horizontally and vertically. That also allows you to connect different external systems (although I haven't tried it personally without reinventing or creating interfaces from scratch). Personally, I had used Spryker-Cloud-Commerce-OS-provided front-end separation to create multi-store mixing front-ends and back-ends, having 1-n and n-1 parts of them in a project.
In this case I am giving my opinion on support for Spryker Cloud Commerce OS from a developer's perspective on their support for modules, feature sets, and security updates. Most of the time it is easy to update Spryker modules; however, there might be a lot more problems when handling major version updates that might require lots of time to adjust to. And sometimes even smaller updates that should be compatible might break the system (especially having in mind how the early version of it differs from the current one). However, they are transparent about it and do not recommend updating modules without an explicit need for it. It might be tough if what breaks is security related and cannot be avoided.

The Spryker team themselves are effective with resolution of given questions--they respond fast and can provide consultation if need be. I haven't had the need for a lot of direct support, but with the little experience I had, I am satisfied with their technical support.
Extendable, maintainable, changeable--all the best practices are there to use and adjust. It is difficult to exploit all that Spryker Cloud Commerce OS has to offer from the get go as it is complex and can be a bit overwhelming at the start.
Read Jonas Terleckas's full review
December 12, 2020
Jens Brech | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The platform for our new vehicle stock locator. Showing all actual available new cars from our retailers at our manufacturer website. Supporting our retailers during Covid-19 lockdown to make business as factories were closed but retailers still have new cars in stock where customers were looking for. Fundamental for lead generation and further online sales business.
  • Customisable solution for our needs
  • Quick implementation - 3 weeks from first offer to go live
  • First to understand the business and the needs instead of directly offering a standard product
  • Agility of Spryker - much in line with our company DNA
  • Be more proactive about what we could do better or in a different way
Best match to our needs and fully customisable. Very fast in implementation as this was the key factor for our project.
One stop shop for direct available vehicles. Customer can see individual retailers stock at one platform and can get direct contact to the retailer/offer. Platform enabled us to grasp leads, qualified them and send to retailers.
Spryker works to be customer centric.
Good match to our needs and expectations. Good communication and reply as we are using full service model.
Read Jens Brech's full review
December 04, 2020
Uli Keller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spryker Cloud Commerce OS to develop eCommerce projects for our enterprise clients in the B2B and B2C sector. We use it across all departments, starting from Sales to Consulting through to Development.
We solve the following business problems:
- Unify complex legacy landscapes.
- Develop best of breed approaches.
- Fast-time-to-market & optimized TCO by means of MVP approach.
  • Large B2C + B2B feature set
  • High flexibility to its modular architecture
  • High scalability & performance
  • Implementation of complex system landscapes
  • Development speed
  • Expand community
  • Improve documentation
  • Enablement of developers takes time
Well suited for complex transactional processes, innovations, and B2C + B2B + marketplace enterprise business models. Less appropriate for use cases like simple webshops, SMBs, and companies who still see the IT department as a revenue center rather than a profit center.
  • Marketplace
  • Complex product configurator
  • Complex admin roles
  • Personalization of the buyer experience
  • Distribution of innovative customer self-services
  • Quick reaction to requests
  • Good overall communication
  • Solution-oriented support
  • Clean code
  • Good overall documentation
  • Backend panel can be managed easily
  • Easy to add and expand new features due to modular architecture
Read Uli Keller's full review
December 03, 2020
Sebastian Kroll | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used/developed in one department (Business Unit Spryker). Spryker is one of the possible solutions we offer our customers for their eCommerce business-cases.
  • Up-to-date technology stack.
  • Feature modularization a.k.a. take what you need, leave the rest behind.
  • Agency support, enablement services.
  • Techstack needs stabilization.
  • Development community is still small.
Spryker works well for highly customized and large/wide business cases that need high flexibility. It is less suitable for small, standard cases that could better be handled by other/smaller eCommerce systems.
The advantages are the multi API and multi frontend capabilities, Spryker Cloud Commerce OS offers. Also, it's scalability brings advantages in projects that are planned to grow later.
Pro: The application-support team is always willing to help. As of now, not all support workflows are fully established but it gains motion.
Con: The developer community is fairly small at the moment but has a single hub (Slack channel) that supports the community.
Pro: Enablement services help implementers with difficult tasks.
Needs lots of training in the beginning. There is a high entry hurdle for developers in comparison to other systems. But when you get it, it works very well in the daily business.
Read Sebastian Kroll's full review
December 03, 2020
Jan Grubenbecher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Implement complex commerce solutions for our customers.
  • Solve high performance issues in e-commerce with the efficient architecture of Spryker.
  • Use different solutions (Glue, Yves) in challenging environments.
  • High expertise in complex e-commerce scenarios.
  • Possibilities to handle complex business logic of our customers.
  • Strong support in development of standard solutions.
  • Reduce the complexity of the base system.
  • Improve the API-driven approach.
  • Onboarding process is very complex.
One strength lies in the flexibility to create business logic and the corresponding processes. So it fits for scenarios where logic and process differ from standard.
  • Commercial video platform - first step in creating a single based e-commerce solutions around all platforms.
  • B2C fashion store - high performance issues can be handled efficiently.
  • Member checkout for a Sports club - first step in creating a single based e-commerce solutions around all platforms.
Several communication channels to get help and support.
Onboarding, workshops and certifications.
Service support from Spryker developers.
Besides the complexity of onboarding and finding best practices, Spryker could be used in many cases. The complexity of the base system provides flexibility in creating customized solutions.
Read Jan Grubenbecher's full review
December 01, 2020
Alberto Assmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spryker Cloud Commerce OS as a base for an e-commerce platform focused on craftsmen. Its modularity enables us to solve complex business and integration problems by adapting the software to the process instead of adapting the process to a standard software. The clean structure and solid code base help our developers to focus on delivering features and solving problems and gives a very good base to work with.
  • Clean architecture
  • Maintainability
  • Fast development on Spryker's side
  • Release communication
  • Version migrations
  • Database handling
  • Performance in some areas
Spryker Cloud Commerce OS is perfectly suited for complex business cases where the technology is only a base for innovation and continuous improvement is part of the business strategy.

For a simple shop which should be set up once and then just run without further investments, I wouldn't use Spryker Cloud Commerce OS. Instead I'd use a standard software like Magento or Shopware.

Using Spryker Cloud Commerce OS comes with a significant learning curve for PHP developers and needs continuous development and maintenance effort. So if you are not willing to invest into a few good developers or a good agency with a longer time horizon, you'd better choose different software.
We have implemented a B2B-focused registration, including document uploads to prove the customer is a registered craftsman, with the base of Spryker Cloud Commerce OS. We also have a livestock-based omnichannel checkout including click & collect and one step checkout features. This was also the first project where we could make use of the newest FactFinder generation as a search engine to improve the shopping experience and give the customer the best results while searching in a broad assortment of products.
We had several touchpoints with Spryker during the project:
  • Bug reports: They normally react fast but never communicate a timeline for when the bug will be fixed. In addition, in only two years, the bug reporting tool was changed twice and each time a few bugs go missing.
  • Feature requests: Same story as bug reports.
  • Module development (contracted): Good experience with their requirements engineering; the result was amazing and solved everything we wanted. The development time was pretty good (a few weeks, while we expected a lot more time).
  • Community channel: Often beginner questions; hard to find someone to help with hard problems. But a very friendly and welcoming community.
Really depends on the user group. For developers, I would give an 8, as the available resources (bootcamp, documentation, certification) are pretty good and the experience to work with Spryker is satisfying and let us concentrate on the features. But this comes with higher complexity than other PHP e-commerce systems have and with a high learning curve.

For back-office users, it could be more structured, and a lot of functionality is barely usable within the back office, especially with higher amounts of data. For example, attaching a company user to a company is nearly impossible when the system has more than a few thousand companies. All in all, the back office could be simpler and more workflow-oriented.
Read Alberto Assmann's full review
November 24, 2020
Monica Vazquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for a digital agency. The engineering team of my agency builds B2B and B2C platforms using Spryker's technology. In this development other teams are involved, such as UX, UI, Content, or Analytics. Our goal is to help our customers get digital by building e-commerce stores for them.
  • Modular development
  • Key checkout functions such as easy payment provider integrations
  • Marketplace functions
  • Back in store availability
  • The Promotion module has room to improve since it is very static. It can be customised in-house though.
  • The PDP filters could be more visual and better laid out
  • The Content features could be enhanced, the CMS has not been improved in a while
From my experience, the Spryker B2B solution is well suited for any kind of company, from medium to big willing to start in eCommerce. The B2C solution fits better small and medium companies. It can be adapted to all branches: retail, food & beverage, arts, manufacture... anything that can be shipped to a customer basically.
Building on top of the "standard", we developed a live-guided catalog for our customers. We also implemented guided address input and credit card fraud validation for example.
[Support] is very good, it is easy to communicate bugs to the support team and get feedback when they are fixed in German or English.
Spryker is a very solid modular system. Stable and well established in the market across many different markets. I believe some modules can be enhanced to reflect the present & future needs of e-commerce, such as better processes for returns or real-time delivery tracking.
Their latest marketplace releases already deliver top features for companies with complex product catalogs.
Read Monica Vazquez's full review
November 06, 2020
Florian Wassel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a digital agency, we help B2B industry companies (german mittelstand) by implementing Spryker as their digital platform to handle their digital transactions (shop/commerce) with their enterpise clients.

We build the digital platform based on Spryker.
  • Performance
  • Modularity
  • Flexibility
  • Modern Technology
  • Very generic to start with
  • Entry level solution with more configuration than development
Well suited for B2B scenarios with unusual products or relationships with their clients.

A bit heavy for straightforward cases in B2C.
We were able to digitalize a business model that was formerly not able to be developed as an e-commerce model but Spryker made it possible due to their high flexibility.
Fast responses.
Getting better every week. High speed of product development
Read Florian Wassel's full review
December 01, 2020
Felix Geyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Smart Commerce is helping other companies to plan, build, run, and optimize their e-commerce business. We're considering Spryker Cloud Commerce OS as one of a few selected key technologies for building new or migrating existing e-commerce platforms. It enables us a short time to market while being highly customizable and scaleable, too.
  • Scalability
  • Customization
  • Performance
  • Code quality
  • Demanding code architecture
  • Sometimes lacking documentation
Spryker Cloud Commerce OS has a very clean software architecture that enables very good performance, scalability, customization, and maintainability. This suits larger projects, which can have lots of dependencies and expect quite some traffic. But this also comes with some overhead, which makes it not suitable for small projects.
Serving different touchpoints (webshop, apps) with a single API helps to keep business logic in place and maintain a single point of truth. This also enables us to provide a real omni-channel experience where customers can continue their visit, for example, after switching devices or by picking up an online order in their nearby offline store.
There is documentation. There is a customer support service which most often responds fast. And there is an open Slack channel where everyone can ask questions. So overall the support is good. But sometimes the documentation lacks important information, and as a developer, I'm not too comfortable raising a technical ticket via their support desk.
After some time, you really know where to navigate and the user is enabled to do a lot of things. This also goes for developers. But the store backend has some deficits when it comes to large datasets, where performance for the backend user can become unsatisfying.
Read Felix Geyer's full review
January 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Together with our clients we use Spryker to solve the eCommerce problems of today and tomorrow. As an agency we don't use Spryker ourselves to sell our products but we conceptualize, implement and customize Spryker according to our clients needs. Spryker's modern architecture and massive out of the box functionality (which is highly customizable) enables us to provide the transactional platforms our clients are demanding. With Spryker we can solve the most common eCommerce business problems of today: Scalability, Flexibility and Customizability. With Spryker OS Commerce you aren't limited in any of those areas.
  • Data Importers - Spryker is able to cope with large chunks of data ingest e.g. from PIM or ERP. Its integrated Middleware of handling this data.
  • Scaling - Modern architecture makes it possible to scale flexible.
  • Internationalization - Role our your shop with different assortments, pricing and products with out of the box features.
  • Pricing - Spryker supports custom pricing out of the box (volume prices, gross/net prices, customer specific pricing).
  • Order Management.
  • Marketplace (allow 3rd party distributors to sell via your platform).
  • Search (Out of the Box configuration for ElasticSearch could be improved to lead to "better" search results).
  • Hosting (usually Spryker is only available hosted via Spryker which is a bit difficult for companies which want to be more independent).
All B2B Enterprise eCommerce cases are well covered by Spryker. Usually these are shops which:
  • Have a lot of interfaces to 3rd party systems like ERP or PIM and exchange a lot of data.
  • Have huge amount of products and prices e.g. customer specific pricing and a lot of stores (international stores).
  • Have very special business process needs which can only be achieved via customization. For instance if you are a steel trading company which has a special business model.

Sprypker is less likely to play out its advantages for eCommerce cases which are:
  • Very standard end customer ecommerce scenarios e.g. for selling t-shirts to end customers.
  • All stores which do not need very customized functionality to fullfil their customers needs.
  • Shop which have a turnaround of less than $50 million.
Over the last 2 years we successfully delivered more than 10 eCommerce platforms which are powered by Spryker. These platforms reach from B2B Commerce platforms but include B2C platforms as well.
What unites all of them is that all of these platform have a huge customer base which is not able to be handled by other commerce software in terms of scalability and customizability.
We delivered new and innovative business models in different verticals for instance automotive, DIY, heating and sanitary. All of these platforms have different approaches how they sell and deliver to customers which could only be realized by a platform which is as a customizable as Spryker.
I gave that rating because in the field of Enterprise B2B eCommerce there is really not a lot of other software available on the market which gives the same value for money. It delivers exactly the functionality out of the box which is needed in most cases but leaves the possibility to customize to your business needs.
On top of that it comes with an open source stack and modern technical framework which gives security and is future proof in the upcoming years.
From and end user perspective the back-end is easy to use and clearly understandable. The only minor improvement would be to enhance the design of the backend (which is already on the roadmap for 2021). The backend works in a way that it can be configured in a way that certain users only have access to the needed functions and not every function which could be accessed in general. This enhances the user experience and gives clear roles for every user.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Product catalog & listings (28)
7.9
Product management (27)
7.0
Bulk product upload (24)
7.8
Branding (25)
7.6
Mobile storefront (24)
8.0
Product variations (30)
8.0
Visual customization (26)
7.2
CMS (28)
5.7
Abandoned cart recovery (22)
8.0
Checkout user experience (27)
7.6
eCommerce security (28)
8.1
Promotions & discounts (28)
8.0
Personalized recommendations (22)
7.1
SEO (24)
7.2
Multi-site management (26)
8.2
Order processing (27)
8.4
Inventory management (25)
7.8
Shipping (22)
8.0
Custom functionality (28)
8.4

What is Spryker Cloud Commerce OS?

Spryker Cloud Commerce OS is a platform-as-a-service (PaaS) solution with an API-based architecture, presented as a solution for both developers and business users worldwide. Spryker boasts customers across industries including fashion, automotive, healthcare, retail, consumer goods, and home improvement, and with international brands like TOYOTA, HILTI, mytheresa, Aldi, TomTailor, and Souceability. Founded in 2014, Spryker is a Berlin, Germany, based company, with office locations in Hamburg, Ukraine, and a remote workforce.
Categories:  eCommerce

Spryker Cloud Commerce OS Features

Online Storefront Features

Has featureProduct catalog & listings
Has featureProduct management
Has featureBulk product upload
Has featureBranding
Has featureSearch & filter
Has featureMobile storefront
Has featureProduct variations
Has featureSubscriptions & downloads
Has featureVisual customization
Has featureCMS
Has featureCustomer service tools

Online Shopping Cart Features

Has featureAbandoned cart recovery
Has featureTax calculator
Has featureShipping calculator
Has featureCheckout user experience

Online Payment System Features

Has featurePayPal integration
Has featureReturns & refunds
Has featureSingle-click checkout
Has featureeCommerce security
Has featureB2B features

eCommerce Marketing Features

Has featurePromotions & discounts
Has featurePersonalized recommendations
Has featureSEO
Has featureProduct reviews
Has featureSocial commerce integration
Has featureCustomer registration

eCommerce Business Management Features

Has featureMulti-site management
Has featureOrder processing
Has featureInventory management
Has featureAccounting
Has featureShipping
Has featureCustom functionality

Spryker Cloud Commerce OS Screenshots

Spryker Cloud Commerce OS Videos (2)

Watch Customer Review - Stauff STAUFF is in the machinery and plant engineering sector a leading international manufacturer of hydraulic lines and coordinated solutions along these lines. With Spryker, STAUFF is building a digital platform incl. an open B2B shop.

Watch Customer Review - Hornbach Hornbach is a leading DIY and home improvement store chain in Europe.

Spryker Cloud Commerce OS Integrations

Frontastic

Spryker Cloud Commerce OS Competitors

Spryker Cloud Commerce OS Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Spryker Cloud Commerce OS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Spryker Cloud Commerce OS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:global
Supported Languages: English, German