Conductor Searchlight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
297 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 213)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 09, 2020
Michael White | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Conductor] Searchlight is used by the Marketing organization at 3D Systems. It enables technical, and non-technical, teams to understand the principals of SEO and to enhance our content creation efforts.
  • Easy access to all KPIs in one location
  • Enables non-technical teams to access, research and understand SEO tactics
  • The Chrome plugin makes competitive insights easy to obtain
  • Having the tool is not enough, you must educate yourself and ensure your teams are using it (true for any tool)
  • The cost is higher than run-of-the mill tools. You are paying for an Enterprise option. You get what you pay for.
[Conductor] Searchlight is suited to address any SEO questions you might find in the Enterprise. How do we perform for term "x?" What terms should we be targeting that we are not? How have our actions around content segment "y" performing? How do we stack up against the competition?
We used the basic integrations for GA, Search Console, Youtube and others. We found that these worked well.
Another area where Conductor [Searchlight] is best-in-class. Their team of SEO professionals know the space and they know the tool. They make sure you are setup for success.
Read Michael White's full review
October 30, 2020
Stephanie Casajuana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Conductor Searchlight to help us develop content, monitor competitors in the SEO space, and find areas where we can do more in SEO. We were using another SEO tool that did similar things, but the keyword research was more usabale than other platforms as we are a very niche company. It is currently being used in our Marketing Department between our content writiers and SEO specialists.
  • Keyword Research
  • Make recommendations on developing content
  • Ablility to connect to many different projcet management tools to allow for streamlined processess
  • Provide information on backlinks
  • Allow for more automation in some very time consuming SEO projects
  • Connect with Google Ads to find more synergy between SEO and SEM
Conductor is very well suited for keyword research as it has a connection to SEM Rush. They also display content opportunites in a very easy to read way. For example, our content writers, who are not SEO experts, are able to go into Conductor, type in websites or terms that they think they would like to write an article about. The platform provide easy to read and understand contnet recommendaitons like what could be written to answer a People Also Ask question.
Conductor Searchlight integrates well with both Google Analytics and Google Search Console. With keyword rearch tools already in Conductor Searchlight, we can now easily see data between all the various SEO platforms we use.
Onboarding was fantasitc. We had a weekly training with all of the team memebers who use Conductor Search Light. All the trainings were recorded, so people that could not join, were able to watch the training and get up to speed.
Our customer success manager keeps us up to date on betas so we could try out new features in Conductor as soon as possible.
Read Stephanie Casajuana's full review
October 02, 2020
Amy Kolzow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Conductor has been key for us in a major website migration project that is joining about 300 websites into a single enterprise site and platform. Conductor helps with URL research to support migration but it is most important in provide a picture of SEO value of our current sites and making sure we don't loose this value with our move. The platform also helps us predict for better performance and optimize the site we create. We have trained business users across our global company to use the platform to understand performance and competition. Conductor is a key partner and tool in our digital marketing transformation.
  • Professional services teams that are on top of their tech skills and can apply that to help us problem solve technical and strategic problems. For example, URL inventories and SEO evaluations per page for large and cumbersome websites.
  • Searchlight lets me understand how my products and services compare to competitors (some I know and some that aren't even on my radar) so I can make decisions about to make sure my content shows up where I think it should.
  • Conversely, it also shows me where my content shows up that I didn't expect or plan for. Sometimes this a great learning for business users that drives new content or concepts to build on success.
  • While monitoring the health of my website is not a key function of the platform, it does give me just enough clues (like broken links or poor page performance) to ask questions about development etc.
  • Conductor has been excellent partners in training a wide range of business users and providing proof of strategic value of the platform's performance and impact.
  • I need backlinks. Please consider integrating an industry leading tool like Majestic directly into your platform.
  • I love the newsletters we used to get...I don't know what happened to those, but please bring them back or something else that includes that content in an easy to consume format with the same fun flair.
Conductor has been a key partner in our migration success. We're moving about 300 standalone websites into 1 corporate site. The platform data and professional services support has been better than good. Conductor is a trusted partner in this important strategic initiative.
Google 360 data has been integrated...and not just for our one global platform, but for each of the sites that are being migrated so we can build current and historical views to understand the impact of migration and the opportunities for growth after.
Conductor has played a significant role in our migration. Two dedicated team members plus training time and some consultation have helped us to be successful. Onboarding was smooth and easy, training was well managed and team members are as concerned about our success as we are. Working with Conductor has been a pleasure.
Read Amy Kolzow's full review
November 03, 2020
Adam Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Conductor Searchlight to understand consumers, analyze and develop content, and recommend technical updates for our websites.
  • The DeepCrawl integration is fantastic at understanding the opportunities to improve the technical issues on your site.
  • The Chrome extension is a nice little bonus when browsing.
  • The Content Briefing tool is great for developing SEO-friendly content.
  • The Workspaces are a great place to get organized and collaborate.
  • There aren't any details on Google indexing and crawling issues when they are not showing your pages on Google due to these issues.
  • The Content Mapping feature is complicated!
Using the managed service offering available with Conductor Searchlight has been extremely helpful to help ensure SEO efforts get the support it needs. As part of that service, and tier-level, the Submit Request feature helps tackle everything from research, to performance improvements and content development in an easy ticketing-based system.
We have Google Search Console integrated as well as Adobe Analytics.
My SEO success manager, Zack Kakuda, has been amazing. Super helpful, patient, and enthusiastic.
Read Adam Mills's full review
October 23, 2020
Lindsay Nunez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Five people in our Digital Marketing Department currently utilize Conductor Search Light for our US eCommerce site on a daily basis. It is most heavily utilized for onsite optimizations both technical and content oriented. We also encourage other departments to utilize the tool for generaly content creation, trend tracking, PR, social media, and competitive research purposes. We utilize Conductor for organic reporting including traffic & keyword ranking growth.
  • Excellent Customer Service & Support
  • Clear and Actionable Steps to take for optimization
  • Fantastic Tool for competitive research
  • Easy integration of SEO tools and insights
  • Would appreciate more Paid Search Integration
  • More support with Google Analytics set up and maintenance would also be appreciated
Conductor Search Light is well suited for any SEO campaign whether you're starting from scratch or already have an extensive SEO program in place. It can help with everything from providing the fundamental optimizations needed to launch your site all the way to helping with migrations, revamps for elevated content creation.
Data Integration has been easy and accurate! We've pulled in Google Analytics.
Conductor's support team has been exceptional. Our Success Manager Zack is the best. He provides us with the relevant and timely insights and recommendations, as well as finding new avenues for us to grow our SEO.
Read Lindsay Nunez's full review
October 09, 2020
Miranda Gahrmann MSc | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Conductor as our SEO tool across the 38 countries we operate in. For each of the countries, we have an account where the digital marketers and SEO specialists of each market are working to track their performance and get insights on what to improve. We also use the DeepCrawl integration to check any technical improvements on our sites.
  • An extensive platform that allows us to track performance in all the 38 countries we operate in
  • Their customer support team is awesome and is doing a great job of providing training, competitors' insights, and suggestions on how to improve our performance.
  • Conductor is very open to suggestions. When Google for Jobs came out, they built in functionality so we're able to see if we came up in the Job Feature snippet.
  • Would have liked to see better integration with paid search. So far my paid search colleagues are hardly looking into the tool, indicating that it's not that relevant for them.
Conductor is a very solid SEO tool allowing us to optimize in all the markets we operate in, and we're very pleased with the customer support they are providing over the 3 years we've worked with them. This tool is very suitable for enterprise clients. The tool is expensive though so for clients with small budgets, this tool is not suitable.
We're integrating Google Analytics and Google Search Console data in the tool. With Google Analytics, besides the traffic figures, we can also load in conversion data, providing extra insights into the effectiveness of our optimizations. The Google Search Console part is not that advanced, basically loading in the page URLs, impressions, clicks, and CTR.
The support team is great and has been over the last 3 years. They provide monthly training, join brainstorm sessions to increase our webpages, support us with keyword research and site audits. They raised the bar so high that it's difficult for other suppliers we work with to meet the same level.
Read Miranda Gahrmann MSc's full review
September 28, 2020
Steve 'Berto' Bertolacci | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We monitor our 16 brands for organic search ranking, crawl results and other content optimization opportunities. We use it primarily in marketing, but some other sales teams getting copied on some custom reports. The primary business requirement was to aid with organic traffic growth which it has.
  • Consistently accurate results.
  • Accurately report on things that people actually see (local/mobile results).
  • Standardize rank reporting.
  • Paid search integration with Google Ads needs to incorporate more actionable results.
  • Some odd specifics dealing with Google local pack and paid results in the local pack.
Over the years, I've been consistently well served by the Conductor team and products. One key thing that sets them apart is the level of service. Google constantly changes, and when something goes wrong, they're quick to resolve the issue. When it comes to the software, getting accurate information is the most important part of making an informed decision.
We use Google Analytics, Deep Crawl, Google Search Console, and YouTube.
  1. Google Analytics is best for reality-checking the total organic clicks received from searches including and outside the ones we monitor. This also helps to determine other key areas we need to expand on.
  2. Deep Crawl helps analyze the site as a whole to aid in finding key areas to fix from a technical SEO standpoint.
  3. Google Search Console provides impression data that is far more accurate than what's used in Google Ads.
  4. Youtube provides insights into how well your video content does.
We're in constant communication with the Conductor team for regular meetings as well as anything else that arises. The service is one of the best parts of Conductor.
Read Steve 'Berto' Bertolacci's full review
September 28, 2020
Bill Volpe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Conductor's Searchlight platform is currently being used within our Digital Marketing department. However, we are encouraging the broader marketing organization to get on board to help them do some keyword research as they work on new products.

The platform helps us address many business objectives such as:
  • How well do we rank for branded and non-branded keywords.
  • How well does the competition rank for our keywords.
  • Identify on-page optimizations we can make to our website to better our rank on Google SERPs.
  • Help identify new or related keywords we should work toward ranking for.
  • Understanding what type of content we should create to fulfill the needs of current and future customers.
  • It's a very easy to use platform.
  • Great way to understand where you rank as an organization as well as your direct competition.
  • The ability to identify content gaps and opportunities to create content customers care about.
  • The only place I felt Conductor could help more on is much less about their platform and more around providing resources to help actually implement the changes for us on our websites.
  • Powerful, robust, easy to use platform.
  • Easily understand how your organization is performing from an organic search perspective.
  • Easily understand how your direct competition is performing from an organic search perspective.
  • Finding new content ideas to help drive more traffic to your website.
  • Identify and fix technical SEO opportunities to help increase organic traffic to your website.
We have integrated with Google Analytics to better marry up web traffic data from our websites to Searchlight. This had helped better quantify a variety of metrics and content goals.
I've worked with the Conductor support/services team for over 5 years. Each and every account leader that I've worked with has been attentive, knowledgeable, and a honestly a pleasure to work with. Questions never go unanswered, and it is very evident that the team truly cares about its clients.
Read Bill Volpe's full review
September 28, 2020
Chelsea Amato | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Conductor Searchlight is currently being used by two members of the marketing team. For me, the business problem that it solves is both content creation and content optimization. We use Conductor to create content based off SEO search terms then we use the keyword function of the platform the add keyword in order for our content to perform better and be found through search results by new users. The other member on my team uses it for more advanced SEO reporting.
  • Customer success.
  • Content creation.
  • Content optimization.
  • YouTube video performance.
  • Social media integrations.
The workspaces are a great addition to the platform that helps keep our team organized, allows us to see the projects that the various teams and departments are working on, and more. Using this feature we are able to keep our top priority projects in one place so that the team members can remain on the same page about the status of the various projects.
The integration with Google Analytics helped us better monitor which content was performing well, what needed to be optimized, and finally what needed to be retired from our site because it was not getting enough traffic. Being able to have both the analytics from Google Analytics and the keyword from Conductor in one place, greatly aided in achieving our content goals.
I would say their support is what will put Conductor above the rest. Our customer support manager is fantastic. Both of the team members that use the platform meet with him about every two weeks to discuss what we have going on and how he can assist in helping us achieve our current goals. He is truly dedicated to our success and it is so refreshing to have someone that dedicated to helping us succeed after we have already purchased the platform.
Read Chelsea Amato's full review
September 10, 2020
SungJin &quot;S.J.&quot; Yun | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Conductor to measure how our organic traffic is finding our website, find opportunities for content creation, and to keep a close eye on our competitors at the local level.

It is currently "owned" by the Marketing department, but we are looking to expand SEO knowledge to other departments so that they understand how it affects their business lines and scope. We are training them first on the SEO basics, and then eventually the platform.

This helps the managers in turn, educate our Agents and their clients on our strengths vs any competitor.
  • Track overall ranking at a high-level that can be drilled down of your entire website.
  • Great support team with regular calls.
  • Strong tool to provide opportunities for content marketing.
  • Competitive analysis in the SEO/SEM space.
  • Always innovating and integrating with other tools.
  • None at the moment. Maybe price? Something can always be cheaper!
  • Would love a simple tool that helps me find every page on the site that displays a certain word or phrase.
Great for a website migration to ensure that you don't lose any of that "juice" your site gets organically. Some developers for websites are great designers, but not necessarily SEO experts, so they need a team like Conductor to avoid a catastrophe.

A less-suited example is where they will track performance of SEM (paid search for keywords). Although that will eventually happen I'm sure.
Event tracking to see how much "return" we are getting for leads driven from our organic traffic. This helps with content goals tremendously to help us see what of our content marketing efforts work and what doesn't.

Especially during COVID, they were able to work with us on billing to ensure that we didn't lose their service or support. Their support team, tool, and overall value is top notch and can't be matched. Which is why I'm glad I moved forward with Conductor.
Read SungJin "S.J." Yun's full review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Conductor Searchlight for monitoring different keyword groups that are relevant to several areas of the business. Conductor's reports allow us to quickly see what keyword areas we are making organic visibility gains in and how our identified competitors are doing in respect to our performance. Explorer is accessed regularly for content creation, research, and interpreting competitor strategies. We use the Deepcrawl tool for reporting, primarily for technical issues for the website. Down the line, we will probably be taking advantage of some of the marketplace requests for content creation and schema markup which will allow us to push SEO efforts forward without pulling busy staff from other departments. The Conductor plugin is also handy for quick auditing processes and our account manager is really willing to help problem solve and teach people who are not familiar with SEO about how the tools work.
  • Account Management - We work with Jessie Xu and she does an excellent job working with people across all skill levels to help them figure out how Conductor fits into the work they're doing. She's responsive, knowledgeable of Conductor and SEO in general, manages agendas well, and when she runs into something she doesn't have an answer for, goes and finds the answer rather than giving half an answer.
  • Generated Reports - A lot of the reports in Conductor (like Content Performance and Market Share) are useful right out of the gate without having to do a ton of customization, though the proper tailoring makes them really effective.
  • Conductor's Chrome Extension - For large organizations, having a free SEO tool that has enhanced functionality through a paid plan was easy to get approved. The tool does most of the essential functions of what 3 separate SEO tools can handle (which I also couldn't get approved for use)
  • Explorer - It's a pretty standard SEO research tool, but I've used other platforms that give you far too much irrelevant data during the keyword research process. Explorer tends to keep the keyword results fairly relevant to your topic.
  • Unlimited Users (I think) - You can add as many people (and set their admin privileges) as you want. Maybe this is just with our plan or maybe there is a limit but we haven't hit it yet. It's extremely helpful just to know people have a Conductor account and can jump into the platform when they have time or are feeling motivated to learn.
  • General Navigation - I tend to get lost in the tool and have a hard time locating features, so I assume they're not available.
  • Limited Customization - There seem to be certain limitations that I can't seem to figure out the purpose of not fixing - not being able to customize timeframes within the 'Reports' is frustrating and in the Search Console Analytics, It would be great if you could filter the clicks/impressions/CTR/position and add in time frames to do comparisons between different periods. Also, some of the pre-set ranges don't always work out (like using four weeks over four weeks rather than month over month).
  • Deepcrawl - This is not necessarily Conductor's fault as I think all automated crawling tools suffer from so many false positives and other issues, but Deepcrawl has always felt particularly off and hard to customize to generate meaningful reports.
  • Backlink Data - You can add a Majestic assessment of sorts to Deepcrawl, but it doesn't give enough detail to do thorough backlink audits.
  • Comparison Competitor Content - For certain reports, you're only able to generate comparative data between a limited number of competitors you've identified. You don't always know who your best competitors are to do research against and it would be helpful if this was more flexible. I could be completely wrong but the limit feels like an upselling tactic rather than something the company doesn't have the resources to open up.
Useful for:
  • Large enterprises with limited resources that need a real partner to push initiatives forward and reinforce the value of SEO practices
  • Detailed performance monitoring for individuals who understand their business priorities and what keywords reflect this
  • General keyword research and competitor page analysis
  • Anyone who is looking to switch from BrightEdge because their customer retention strategies are appalling
Not so useful for:
  • Backlink analysis
  • Monitoring/solving detailed technical issues
I don't think we're taking full advantage of this. We don't use Google Analytics, but I'm sure Conductor would be really helpful if we did. The Google Search Console integration is standard, nothing fancy, but it can provide an easier way to pull data at times.

I know they have some sort of new feature that lets you make page edits with minimal effort. I don't think we can incorporate this into how we work but through the demos, it seems impressive.
Really, the support is what makes the tool for me. There are a lot of tool providers that offer similar features. I don't come across a lot in Conductor that I haven't seen before in an SEO tool, but the customer support is extremely helpful. Jessie is eager to provide support in nearly any task, gives good input, and leads tutorials for other people across the organization. It's great to be able to refer someone to an external resource for information that I know I can trust to reply quickly while giving good information.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Conductor Searchlight for SEO purposes: keyword research, keyword rank monitoring, competitor rank monitoring, content creation suggestions, and some technical SEO help. It used only within the marketing department.
  • Keyword Rank Tracking.
  • Keyword Research/Suggestions.
  • Technical website SEO.
  • Backlinks: Checking and recommendations/suggestions.
  • Basic audit tools (spelling/broken links/etc.
  • Being more than an aggregator of data from other sources like search console, SEMRush.
  • Make the interface more user friendly. So many places to navigate to, would be helpful if there was a main dashboard to use as a "homebase"/ starting point.
Conductor Searchlight is an enterprise level SEO solution and it comes with the price tag for it. If your website is under 1,000 pages or your traffic is under 20k users a month, this may be a a bigger tool than you need or can get with other solutions. Otherwise, it is a great solution for larger sites, ecommerce, and agencies.
Google Analytics, Google Search Console, these are basic integrations that many SEO tools offer to help give a better picture of SEO health. Besides being basic connections, these provide little additional help to what can be seen inside these platforms on their own.
Support staff very helpful and friendly, our account manager was great.
Read this authenticated review
October 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using Conductor Searchlight to do competitive keyword research in a highly saturated field. Conductor Searchlight gives us the visibility on keywords that are reaching, and efficient to create content around. While we use Conductor Searchlight in our digital marketing team mostly SEO, there are some benefits that allow us to ideate around what additional content we can create in areas we have gaps and opportunities.
  • Ability to use DeepCrawl to see if there are any glaring issues with the technical foundation of your site.
  • Ability to create dashboards for different target keyword categories to determine SEO effectiveness from new pieces of content.
  • Online training program that goes through the basics of SEO, but also gives a good reference in case you forget where certain tools are.
  • There are some international domains that aren't trackable yet, but they're slowly adding them.
  • Navigation menu may get a little confusing, but you'll get used to it over time.
  • Some dashboards aren't as user friendly as you'd like.
Conductor Searchlight is a good choice for you if you're looking for a full SEO suite that tracks keywords, competitors, and identify content opportunities where you may missing. Conductor Searchlight does have a marketplace where you're able to place monthly items with your account manager to help you create content brief, conduct keyword research, metadata optimization, etc. So if you're thinly resourced in your SEO department, this might be a big help. If you're looking to just track keywords, competitors, and content, Conductor Searchlight might be a tool with too many features for you.
The main integrations we use with Conductor Searchlight are Google Analytics, Google Docs and DeepCrawl. The ability to integrate with Google Analytics lets us track new blog posts created and the traffic that increases over time. Google Docs lets us streamline the content being created within Conductor Searchlight and edited to help us crank out more content at a quicker pace and more input.
The onboarding from Conductor Searchlight is very thorough. You get a dedicated account manager to help you walk through the platform. During each call they let you "drive" so you can get more familiar with the features and tools within Searchlight. The bonus is that they have training videos in case you forget any part of the onboarding or forget how to use any tools. Any additional help to generate a content brief or keyword ideas can be requested in the Marketplace. Support is usually pretty quick as you can contact your account manager either on the platform or via email.
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Conductor Searchlight is being used in only one department. Although we have other teams creating content, we don't have an overarching SEO strategy, so with this tool, we are trying to advance our SEO strategy, while evangelizing it throughout the company as well. As a department, we're trying to educate others on what SEO is and how it is important to our content strategy. Conductor Searchlight helps us with this, while measuring our success.
  • Business Cases. I love being able to play with the numbers and having the algorithm predict our untapped opportunities.
  • Content briefs that integrate very well with JIRA or Trello. Helps streamline the whole content process with the team.
  • Comparing market share between our competitors and other high-performing players. Super easy to explore their content and what they're doing well in.
  • I'd like to see a rolling average of keyword performance, on top of daily/weekly reporting.
  • An easier view of which keywords resulted to the increase or drop in sessions to a specific page.
Not only is the tool such a powerful asset to our strategy, but the team and support behind it is amazing. Our SEO Success Manager is always taking the initiative to recommend reports that would be helpful in our analysis. In addition, the support team always has answers to quick questions and other Searchlight inquiries.
We only integrate with IBM Analytics. This has impacted our SEO and content goals in that we're able to see our impressions and clicks and really round out our decisions. It has helped us put data behind the specific keywords we'd like to target and gives us the 'why' behind it all.
The support team has been nothing but helpful! Really quick turnaround and helpful advice. If I'd have a quick question, like workspace settings...or even analytics questions....the support team really delivers! Always eager to help and has the answers.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Conductor Searchlight is currently being used by our digital marketing team to help plan, research, write, and improve our SEO capabilities. It's used for many if not all of our domain properties. Since signing on with Conductor, my SEO knowledge has improved immensely, and the site's traffic that I am responsible for has followed suit.
  • Keyword Analysis helps me plan for articles I am writing, and assists me in putting briefs together if someone else is writing the content.
  • Content Performance helps me track how the content is ranking, and if editorial changes we make are helping or hurting.
  • You must have fairly significant SEO knowledge to use many of Conductor's tools.
Conductor Searchlight is a great tool if you are in the business of writing and driving traffic to your site. It's on my short list of tools that I am in on a day to day basis to make sure our content is performing as it should and learning any improvements we should make.
As mentioned, the managed services team has helped us with process improvements. Any time I've needed direct support, the chat function on the site is super helpful and quick to reply.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Conductor Searchlight for keyword and competitor research. When planning to write new content for our site, we spend a lot of time looking at different tools and resources to evaluate keywords and search intent. Within Conductor, we take advantage of the ability to group keywords together to help us refine our content strategy since we have many topics and audiences that we write content for.
  • Competitor research
  • Rank changes
  • Report compilation
  • Marketplace report request tracking.
  • Bing/Yahoo/Duck Duck Go integration.
  • Date range improvement (feels very limited comparing dates).
Conductor Searchlight is great for competitor research by content type, page, or keywords. Also, it works well for keyword comparison and working on a content strategy. Using it as a platform to view your Google Search data and Google Analytics data is more challenging as comparing between date ranges is more difficult.
We have integrated our Google Analytics and Google Search Console accounts so that we can compare our data with the information that Conductor Searchlight provides. With these integrations, we are able to optimize using near-real-time data. We can also measure the success of our content changes with a better understanding of what changes were the most successful.
The onboarding team was amazing! They are very hands-on and allow our own team members to take control of meetings to allow us to become familiar with the Conductor's features. We have a dedicated specialist that compiles our requested reports and goes through significant findings, as well as provides recommendations.
Read this authenticated review
October 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Conductor Searchlight is being used to track organic search by the marketing department on multiple sites with the possibility of expanding usage globally. Overall, we use Conductor to help fine-tune webpage content, determine search share, understand which content channels perform the best, and help us address areas for improvement when it comes to optimization.
  • Organizes all things search into one tool
  • Provides solid answers to stakeholder questions quickly
  • Offers a robust platform that can be heavily customized to provide the information necessary to address nearly all views of search data (and a few outside of search).
  • It took us a while to make the platform fit our needs. There was a lot of work involved in customizing reports, segments, making sure Conductor was accurately seeing the website the way we designed (content mapping, segmentation, etc.). The tools are all there, but some assembly required.
  • API costs extra
  • There are direct integrations for platforms like Domo. I haven't seen one for Tableau. There might be one, but I haven't found it.
Conductor Searchlight ticks all the boxes. It has all of the features of a standard search platform so it has the bases covered. Reports are pretty easy to create. Segmentation allows a lot of flexibility when it comes to breaking down your site into zones of focus, recommendations, and optimization tool is top-notch for finding quick wins that provide the most impact.
We have not fully used this functionality. We have only connected Google and Adobe platforms into the mix and there have been talks of pushing more data into the platform those have yet to get off the ground. We have also looked into pulling data out of Conductor and into a centralized repository, but that has not been realized either.
Personally, I have never talked with Support. I never had a need to chat, call, or email. I have used the knowledge base a few times, but outside of that my support needs have been relatively non-existent. And I started using Conductor long after onboarding occurred, so I was not part of the account and onboarding conversations.
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company provides SEO resources for a global management consulting firm. While we use Conductor, we also assist the client's marketing department in using Conductor as well. Conductor helps with SEO projects for both the US and German websites - finding keywords, including them in creative briefs, and measuring the response to the content on their sites.
  • Keyword research.
  • Keyword monitoring.
  • Keyword discovery.
  • Comparison over time.
  • Missing external forces.
Conductor is a wonderful SEO tool that is comprehensive in tracking keywords and discovering new keywords. I would recommend it for 90%+ of use cases. However, the only drawback where I that would make it less appropriate for a company would be if they had a limited budget since Conductor is not the least expensive SEO platform.
We pull data in from several Google Analytics instances (US and non-US).
The Conductor customer success teams have been helpful and enthusiastic in meeting our SEO goals and challenges. We've worked with several account people through the years and they always know the platform well, but also have an underlying grasp of how SEO can really help the client's business.
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Conductor is currently used by mostly the digital marketing department to help us keep track of our keyword rankings and gain insights on where improvements are needed.
  • Keyword ranking monitoring.
  • Competitive analysis for keyword rankings.
  • Customer service.
  • Conductor API since some of the data that is received is hard to parse.
  • If you use the system with geo-TLDs and have a lot of keyword crossover between regions, the keyword setup can be confusing.
Conductor has a robust suite of tools that help with not just monitoring keyword ranking but also content suggestions to bridge the gap where improvements are needed. The more difficult part that Conductor needs to work on is linking better relevant suggested keyword and content with the keywords that are being tracked. Since Conductor is looking at the words that may have multiple meanings and uses, it's sometimes hard to get the suggested keywords and content properly relevant.
We use the API to pull keyword rankings by domain that's tracked in the system. This allows us to take the data and aggregate or calculate other complex business formulas to gain deep insights on how SEO impacts the business.
Conductor's customer service and level of engagement with customers is really on point. They really care about the customers and are advocates for customer success. They've held a few in-person meet and greets just to learn directly from customers regarding ways to improve the platform. They also are reaching out via email regularly to ensure things are going well.
Read this authenticated review
September 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple departments use this product and we provide analytics support to all departments across the organization. This helps us better understand our current SEO placement and make strategic decisions to improve our visibility in organic search. We have had many pages gain traction using this product and become ranked on the first page or even attaining an answer box placement.
  • SEO recommendations.
  • Analytics on current standings.
  • Research on keywords for monthly search volume.
  • Research on competitors.
  • Constantly changing user interface. When you get used to something, it is updated and hard to find again.
  • More info on trends on a specific keyword during a period of time rather than a "you were here on this day and now you are here on this day."
This product is great for communications professionals who are dealing with lots of content on different subject matter. This helps track keyword rankings and gives recommendations for places of improvement that can help boost rankings. It also allows you to do research on keywords and find ones that have a higher monthly search volume to better optimize your content.
We have not pulled any data into the Conductor platform.
I love the training that Conductor gives for new users. It is informative and high-level enough for everyone to understand with the option to dig deeper for specific job functions.
Read this authenticated review
September 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Conductor Searchlight in our Digital and Marketing efforts, primarily to help us better understand and assess the quality of our product content on the web, and where we can make improvements to our technical SEO. It has been very useful when migrating between web platforms, in order to account for redirects and orphaned pages on old domains. We've also been able to find duplicate page titles for products that differ slightly and exceed the max character count for Google, and change the structure of those page titles so that the differentiator does not reside in the last characters in the string.
  • I love how I can look at source URLs in Conductor and find out WHERE bad links are coming from. It's so much more helpful than Google Search Console.
  • I can see all of a site's issues at a glance, and drill down into details easily so that I can follow up on them quickly.
  • I can request a Competitor Analysis that will help me understand my competition better and make adjustments on the fly.
  • I'd like to be able to generate Marketplace reports on demand, rather than request them.
  • There doesn't seem to be a place to see what I've requested via Marketplace. I have had to rely on emails. There really should be a dashboard for this. If one exists, it should be listed under "Marketplace".
  • Increase the number of keywords you can track, domains, etc. per account.
Conductor Searchlight is a great way to consolidate a lot of analytics. It pulls in Google Search Console data as well, so you can get everything in one place. Their interface is much easier to use and more intuitive.
It's also excellent for keyword research and offers really robust features. If you want a good idea of your site's visibility, Conductor has a ton of tools for this--Market Share, Rank Comparisons, Keyword Performance, Visibility Comparisons, Result Types, etc. I do not personally use the visibility tools in my position, but I have browsed them and can see that Conductor offers quite a lot of useful tools to fine-tune keywords.
We have added Google Search Console data to Conductor. This is useful because now we can see all data in one place, and account for multiple crawl sources that look at different things. For example, I can see which links might be bad that are active on the site, and which links might be bad that are old links on other domains in Google Search Console, in one place.
Customer onboarding has been great, support has been great, and ongoing account reps have been good, but maybe a little too eager to push new features that incur additional costs.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Conductor in my department (Digital Marketing) mostly. There are some reports that we share with other teams but the full use of Conductor sits with my team. We have several dashboards set up to monitor certain business areas or campaigns. We also monitor our .com as a whole.
  • Easy to build dashboards.
  • Partnership with DeepCrawl.
  • SERP analysis.
  • The UI isn't that great.
  • Dashboards break.
  • The recent updates made the keyword performance section break a lot.
Overall, Conductor does what you need it to do. Lately, some of the updates have caused issues to pop up.

Conductor is perfect for creating Dashboards to monitor campaigns or content segments. Creating smart and/or standard categories are nice and easy.

I have never used Conductor to assign tasks, etc. nor have I used the area of the tool that gives on site optimization recommendations. I think that is better suited for SEO newbies (which is fine!).

I think the least appropriate scenario/function of Conductor is utilize the SEO strategy created from the tool itself or from contacts over at Conductor. In general, they will not know specifics to your brand and therefore should take the recommendations with a grain of salt. Conductor should be used to help inform your team in order to then strategize.

We pull in Google Search Console and Google Analytics. Both of these systems are brought into the many dashboards we create. I love getting landing page data and click data from GSC. Helps us with trends and informs on success of campaigns.
I love the live support chat box feature. I use it all the time. It's very very valuable. Almost more valuable than when we used to have designated customer support. The live support feature is quick and is almost always successful is resolving any issues I come across.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Conductor to identify keywords and inject meta data throughout our website after a new team was brought on to focus on SEO (where it hadn't been a priority previously). We do regular site audits using DeepCrawl that we use to make continual improvements. We are also undergoing a full navigation overhaul and are using Conductor to ensure we are using the right keywords. At first, I was the main user within Conductor, but we now have multiple people using the platform, and it has helped with our eCommerce site, our blog, and many of our marketing efforts.
  • Super robust platform that allows users to do just about anything they would need to do related to SEO, including keyword research, technical audits, rank tracking, and more.
  • User-friendly interface that makes research and tracking easy.
  • The platform is really fast, and we rarely experience any technical issues.
  • The Marketplace option (where the Conductor team acts as an extension of our SEO team and provides reports/research/recommendations for us) is a great resource.
  • The platform can be overwhelming because it is so robust, but with training, it's user-friendly.
  • Would love to have more options within Marketplace, but options are limited with the Bronze service tier (the lowest service tier).
Conductor is great for a both large and small companies, although it may be cost-prohibitive for smaller companies. It has been so helpful for our team for keyword research, tracking of progress over time, rebuilding our navigation, and ensuring that our site is well positioned for when business rebounds after COVID-19.
We have connected our Google Analytics account, which allows us to properly track our site performance and provide good reporting to our management team.
Onboarding was really helpful, and the team got a good overview in a relatively short amount of time. We have quarterly check-ins with our customer success manager, and we use the Marketplace feature to request monthly reports that we use as an extension of our team.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Conductor Searchlight within our marketing department. It is primarily used by our web, external communication and digital marketing teams. This tool helps us to measure our organic reach. What I like about it most is that we are able to watch certain "tracked keywords" and not all the keywords that we might rank for - this helps to eliminate noise and focus in on what we think is important for our business.
  • Keyword research.
  • Provides insights without having to dig through data.
  • Live reports that automatically update.
  • Tracking content by categories.
  • Not all aspects/tools are readily available in the menu - you need to know how to click around to find more advanced or details.
  • Like to be able to see all ranking keywords for site more easily.
If you are looking for a well rounded tool that is detailed enough for an SEO, easy enough for a content writer and has the technical details for web - this is the right tool for your team. If you are just looking for basic keyword research - you can use a simpler more basic tool - but then you will have to manually review keyword movements and changes in organic traffic.
We have pulled in our Google Analytics data. While this is not our reporting tool of record, it gives us a good idea of growth and success we are seeing on the website. With this data being so visible, I've been able to get a broader buy-in for SEO with our writing team and leadership. This tool has impacted how we measure SEO and our content goals since it is updated regularly automatically and allows me to focus on improvement than manual tracking.
On-board training was fabulous. Our initial keyword research was terrible and I had to redo it almost immediately. Every time I have questions I get immediate responses from the support chat window. Our success team is ok - we are onto our 3rd contact in about a year and a half. The deliverables that we get from Orchestra are just ok.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2020
Jennifer Rodgers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Conductor Searchlight on our Marketing and eCommerce teams for content development and targeted marketing efforts. Conductor Searchlight has saved us a lot of rework time by showing us where
we’re winning and how our pages/content is stacking up against others in those
search categories. It’s also allowed us to see exactly where we need to improve
and spend those man-hours to make the greatest impact on reaching our
customers.
  • The "Research" section of the platform is where I spend the bulk of my time because it allows me to pull keywords and look at them in a variety of ways they are being used in search terms. Once I have a broader picture of how users are searching for a particular product or trend, I can then write my content in a more targeted way that will hopefully create a stronger organic pull to those pages.
  • The "Report" section is fantastic because it allows our internal team or our Conductor account team to pull together information that we need quickly. It's also done in a way that makes things easier to understand for people who are not familiar with the platform when these reports are discussed.
  • In what I use Searchlight for there's not really a lot of cons.
  • Our wider team would like to see more integrations for the platform to increase their ease of use.
Searchlight allows us to create more targeted content that ultimately saves us time and money by increasing our organic search results and eliminating needless content reworks. If gaining that insight to drill down into your content is something you're interested in doing then this is a fantastic platform to move forward with and the account team we've had has been incredible, too. If you're a smaller and more budget-conscious business then I wouldn't jump right into the mix. I absolutely think Conductor Searchlight can help your content and ultimately increase your profits. However, it's important to make sure that you're making the right moves at the right time and there's a lot of factors such as page speed, etc. that go into your content performance.
The data we get from Conductor Searchlight is very strong. If anything, we've learned a lot about our business and things we need to improve overall from the insight using the platform has provided.
We have an absolutely fantastic account team. They are always ready to step in and help us pull information or help us figure something out. The two year-end recap meetings I've been in with our account team have always provided me with some new piece of knowledge that I didn't have previously. I think we're lucky here to have a superuser of the platform owning our relationship with the Conductor team, but there is always a way to make the information from the platform understandable to all different levels of SEO knowledge.
Read Jennifer Rodgers's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (211)
9.7
Backlink management (59)
7.0
SERP ranking tracking (199)
9.1
Page grader (69)
8.9
Competitive analysis (211)
9.2
Site audit / diagnostics (188)
8.9
Site recommendations (201)
8.8
Task management (58)
6.8
Local SEO (154)
8.6
Social SEO (29)
5.6
Mobile SEO (166)
9.3
Global SEO (154)
8.9
Multi-domain support (178)
9.2
Integration with web analytics tools (189)
9.1

What is Conductor Searchlight?

Conductor Searchlight is designed to generate customer intent insights that lead to compelling content, increased traffic, and higher organic marketing ROI.

Conductor's technology enables marketers to understand their prospective customers' intent by revealing the trends and topics they are searching for at every phase of purchase process. Customizable dashboards and workflows guide marketers through the content creation process, empowering them to continuously measure, refine, and demonstrate the effectiveness of their SEO and content marketing efforts. Conductor's customers include global brands like Citibank, Slack, Salesforce, athenahealth, and Visa.



Categories:  Content Marketing,  SEO

Conductor Searchlight Features

SEO Features

Has featureKeyword analysis
Has featureBacklink management
Has featureSERP ranking tracking
Has featurePage grader
Has featureCompetitive analysis
Has featureSite audit / diagnostics
Has featureSite recommendations
Has featureTask management

SEO Channels Features

Has featureLocal SEO
Has featureMobile SEO
Has featureGlobal SEO

SEO Platform & Account Management Features

Has featureMulti-domain support
Has featureIntegration with web analytics tools
Additional Features
Has featureContent Change Detection
Has featureContent Mapping
Has featureSocial Audience Intent

Conductor Searchlight Screenshots

Conductor Searchlight Video

Watch a 3 minute product tour. Learn more at www.Conductor.com.

Conductor Searchlight Downloadables

Conductor Searchlight Integrations

Conductor Searchlight Competitors

Conductor Searchlight Pricing

Starting Price: $1,995

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Conductor Searchlight Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Conductor Searchlight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS