Datto Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
58 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Adam Friedli | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

An Excellent Backup Solution for Smaller Businesses on a Tighter Budget

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Of the supported clients, only one uses Datto. However, they are smaller and the more commonly used solutions were out of their price range. Datto offered a great backup solution that also fit their budget. In our experience, it worked very well and kept consistent backups without any problems. We never ran into any backups problems causing backup chains being lost. It has been quite solid.
  • The interface is simple. It is easy to navigate around and figure out how to accomplish tasks without the need to research documentation.
  • Backups are fast. The snapshots the system takes don't take very long to do and no slowdowns were detected during this process.
  • The price point is great for smaller businesses based on what it offers. It is an easier sell for smaller companies and it does offer a good backup solution for the cost. Not having backups should not be an option, and this will help those companies get something every business should have.
  • In the past few months, logging in locally to the device was no longer an option. This isn't necessarily a bad thing. But, it could pose management issues if there was an internet outage of connection issue, and the device had to be accessed. We haven't tested this out since the change, so this might not even be the case.
Datto is a fantastic option for smaller businesses who don't have as large of a budget. It might work well for larger businesses as well, but the features are not exactly on par with more prevalent backup solutions. So, that should be kept in mind while determining a good fit for a company. But if selling a backup solution is met with push back, this can be a great option to give a good working backup solution. It offers the main features solutions should have, so it's definitely not a compromise. Just keep in mind the features it does not offer.
Read Adam Friedli's full review
Karl Fulljames | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Datto is great for MSPs, but you pay for it

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have about a dozen clients running Datto Siris and Alto. These are being used to backup servers and workstations for these clients.
  • Fantastic UI
  • Excellent verification with screenshots
  • Extremely expensive
  • Less control for the technician; if there is a problem we have to contact support
Datto is great if you just want something to work (for the most part) and don't want to roll your own backups and don't have datacentre capabilities. The UI is very friendly and it is easy to figure out. The account management team was very easy to work with as well. Datto has seemingly figured out the MSP ecosystem very well.
Read Karl Fulljames's full review
Dale Bradford | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Avoid Datto, their a sinking ship

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Datto is being used as part of our backup and disaster recovery solution. It takes image-level backups of our servers, and in the event of an issue, we can virtualize right on the appliance, export to VHDX files (others are supported as well), or virtualize in the cloud should the appliance be compromised.
  • Datto has a decent platform for backups.
  • The whitepapers they supply to partners are nice.
  • Hardware has historically been well built, but the price is high.
  • Customer Support.
  • Agent deployment.
  • Support Documentation.
We have had a few situations where we were in a disaster situation, and their support wasn't there for us. We had to figure it out on our own essentially. Also, their price points compared to their competitors are high. We also feel since a few acquisitions, they have done, and support/service has gotten even worse.
Read Dale Bradford's full review
Matthew James | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

This is one backup solution that will do it all and more!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed a whole site backup for each of our servers as the solution that we were using prior just wasn't right for us and was a bit pricey. We use it to take full and periodic backups to our database and virtual machines just in case of some disaster. So far, we've had to use it once for bare-metal restore, and it was flawless.
  • Backups. Obviously, this is what it is suitable for, and it does it perfectly.
  • Restores. Again, obvious, but it works well and is super easy.
  • Management. The web interfaces are super clean and very easy to use. Not much explanation is needed to do a backup or restore.
  • Bandwidth usage. From time to time, we've noticed that the offsite backups will saturate our network and slow it down. We've been able to combat this, but it still will happen from time to time.
We use Datto in an enterprise environment that houses tons of data on multiple servers. The Datto hardware itself is solid as a rock and barely will break a sweat even if we put it under heavy load. Being able to restore from backup remotely is fantastic, especially since we have multiple sites spread out across the US. Luckily, we've only had to do one restore, but it was so smooth and effortless that we have peace of mind that our data is safe.
Read Matthew James's full review
Ben Nichols | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Great RMM tool for MSPs!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datto RMM is used by the entire Technical team and is a great and easy platform to use to remotely monitor and manage endpoints.
  • Patch management
  • Component deployment (eg custom scripts, software, etc)
  • UI (new version currently in Beta).
  • Default policies from Commstore include lots of random items.
Well suited for:
  • Patch management
  • Monitoring
  • Asset tracking
  • Machine audits
  • Reporting
Read Ben Nichols's full review
Jorge Vasconcelos | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Datto is the way to go if you're looking to protect your org data.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datto to backup our all data center infrastructure data.
  • Backup Reliability
  • On-site backups with off-site replication
  • Affordable infinite cloud archiving
  • Not much applicable here, Datto offers a very intuitive UX/UI that just works
Well suited for medium to large size organizations looking to protect data on-site and off-site or virtualize your environment in case of a disaster (DR/BC Plan).
Read Jorge Vasconcelos's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

Datto Review from an MSP Perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We resell Datto for backup and disaster recovery services to our customers. They are our main vendor for backups. We also use it internally to protect our own server. It addresses issues of both simple file recovery as well as full disaster recovery scenarios.
  • Datto is quick and easy to use.
  • Automated verification of backups.
  • Support has gone downhill a little bit as they have grown.
  • I don't really have any other cons.
Datto is extremely well suited for MSPs who manage a lot of different clients. It is very well suited for small to medium businesses, but might be less appropriate for large enterprise organizations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Datto is good for small business

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Datto to backup the entire enterprise, all servers and data, and sync it to the cloud. IT are the only ones with access, but it affects everyone in every department essentially, since they all have data on the servers or require the servers to remain up and functional. With Datto, I know I can always spin up a VM right on the box in case of a failure, or in worst case scenarios, run them from the cloud.
  • Backups: Datto does what it's supposed to do, backing up data from servers (and workstations, if need be), and then syncing that data to the cloud.
  • Initial setup: Initial setup is pretty straightforward, in most cases the agent installs remotely from the device.
  • UI: The UI is fairly straightforward and intuitive, at least for IT professionals. It is not difficult to find things or figure out what settings do what.
  • Initial backup sync: The downside to the cloud backup is that, if you have a lot of data, you need an external hard drive to seed to the cloud. And you usually have to request this after you've already got everything else working.
  • Unsyncing: We have pretty decent bandwidth, but with 8TB of data, we'd get syncing issues with the cloud servers every 3 months or so. The only way to address it was to request another external drive and resync it, but that also meant losing the older data.
  • Availability and support: Datto only operates through MSPs and VARs, and will not help you directly without putting in a ticket with your provider. This causes delays, and extra epenses, and if you grow beyond the need for an MSP, you have to keep them around for at least that piece.
Datto is a fine device for a very small business, the kind of business that already requires external IT partners. I would say, also, that the ideal business should not have huge deltas in data change, or they may have issues syncing to the cloud. That said, it works great for what it does, and being able to spin up a server on the device itself while the hardware is repaired or replaced is absolutely a saving grace.

Once a business grows to the point of large data storage and/or having their own, fully-functional internal IT team, there are better products out there. At that point, the costs would comparable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Datto - Good, but not all dat

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize an onsite Datto appliance for local backups of our physical and virtual server infrastructure with offsite transport to Datto's cloud for disaster recovery.
  • Local, appliance-based backups means less work to implement and maintain, as well as quick backups and restores for recent backup jobs.
  • VMware integration for backups is only at the host level, not vCenter, so you can't see all VMs from one place to select them for backup. You've gotta add each host individually and then pick from the list that populates from each individually.
  • The system is appliance-based, so when you run out of local space on the appliance, there's no expansion without buying a larger appliance. You either cut back on your backups to use less space, or you open your wallet.
It's very useful in a small environment with mostly physical servers as it excels with backing up individual servers locally without a lot of setup fuss and getting those backups offsite for disaster recovery. Where it starts to show its limitations is when you've got a heavily virtualized environment or when you have a lot of data to back up. You end up either running out of space quickly or getting frustrated by the interface limitations.
Read this authenticated review
Mike Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

Datto -- Backup Disaster Recovery/Business Continuity, simply amazing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Datto is an onsite appliance that provides complete failover should something happen to a server. I have lost files I use on my workstation that is saved on the server, and within minutes was able to have the corrupted files pushed back to the server from the Datto. Depending on the size of Datto a client goes with, they can provide coverage for a single server or a server with multiple VM and other workstations, if so desired.
  • Datto is an "All-In-One" failover protection for someone's business. It gives the owners peace of mind, as it backs up every piece of data housed on a server and stores that image, not only locally, but in the cloud as well.
  • I have recently seen where a Client lost their server to a Motherboard failure, and actually forgot they had Datto, and upon calling us for a 911 fix we simply logged into their Datto and spun up a Virtual Copy of their Server before it crashed, and they were able to continue with their business for a few days like nothing had happened while we got their physical server back online. That is what is meant by Business Continuity.
  • Datto is easy to set up and deploy. They create a "Mirror" image of a covered device (usually a server) every hour, and at the end of the day will send the latest image to the cloud for Offsite Backup.
  • Cons: If you go with the smallest Datto appliances, we have experienced some of these units overheating, as I do not believe they have a built-in fan. Fixing this usually requires moving the device where it can get better airflow. They are usually housed next to a server, but you have to keep in mind servers like other desktops have built-in fans, so even though the computer can take the room temp, a small Datto device may not find it so doable.
  • My only other Con with Datto would be that at this point in time they are in the process of redoing their accounting, so with the invoices I used to get, it was very easy to validate charges, while the "new system" has all our appliances on multiple invoices to go through to validate correct charges.
  • I can't think of anything else to put toward a Con for now.
No question about it-- if you have a business with employees, you need a backup solution, and there is none better than Datto. If your business has a computer or server that houses data that you rely on for day to day operations, you need Datto. The costs businesses face of being hit with a virus, human error, act of God, server issues, power outages, or even unexpected updates versus the cost of Datto, is a no brainer. Just think what your company would lose if it couldn't access its data for an hour, a day, or a week. In today's marketplace, simple backups with tape drives or external drives are not good enough and provide absolutely no failover should the server go offline for whatever reason.
Read Mike Hernandez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

Simple and reliable backup solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datto is in our organization to backup Windows (Server 2012 and 2016) and Linux servers. It is the primary backup system we use. Datto SIRIS device is used together with the Datto client as well as an older ShadowSnap agent. Datto provides both file and bare-metal restore capabilities as well as off-site replication. Most of our backup needs are filled by Datto.
  • Very easy to work with: web interface is extremely simple and documentation is readily available.
  • Combines local and cloud backups in a single package, making implementation easy.
  • Wide variety of restore options - download VHD, restore individual files, bare metal, virtualization in the cloud, and virtualization on the appliance itself.
  • Performs automatic backup testing. Datto creates VMs from backups in its cloud and sends email notifications of VM boot process. While this feature should not completely replace manual backup testing, it is still very useful to check the integrity of the backups.
  • Money: Datto SIRIS is somewhat expensive.
  • Sales model. Datto only sells SIRIS devices through third-party VARs, not directly. As the administration of the device is very simple, it can be hard to understand the need for VAR involvement.
  • Notifications can be finicky. Datto can be configured to send various notification emails to administrators, but notifications do not always contain accurate information on the backup status.
The main drawback of the Datto devices is the cost. As devices are very easy to configure, even small businesses should not have any problems implementing a backup solution by Datto. I would expect that a very large business with complicated backup requirements will need more flexibility than the Datto solution can provide but personally I have yet to see such a use case. Most small, medium, and even large businesses are able to afford Datto and should find it a very good backup solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2019

A Complete Backup Service for All

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We provide Datto as a service to our customers, specifically companies in the Hospitality market. We send our customers the Datto devices, and we implement it and manage the backups to make sure that everything is working properly, and that our customers' data is up to date and secure. We value Datto especially for its business continuity functionalities that allow our customers to be covered and resolve any issues they might have in a timely manner when having a disaster scenario.
  • It does full image backups, which is its best feature, since it allows to do virtual machines restores when servers fail, either to run locally on the backup server or on the cloud. Being able to virtualize a server when it fails in just a few minutes and having the freedom and time to decide what to do next, whether you need to get new hardware or talk to a provider to assist in troubleshooting, it makes your life easier.
  • The user interface to manage servers and configure settings is very user-friendly.
  • It has many different restoration options. From simple file and folder restore over Windows Explorer, the option to perform local or cloud virtualizations, perform an image restore to a physical machine, export images as VMDK or VHD files, virtualize directly to ESX hosts... they have done a good job in providing many different restore capabilities that could suit everybody's needs.
  • It can also be used as an effective tool to mitigate the effects of ransomware, since the recovery points taken are not affected and can be used to recover data after an attack.
  • The Datto client supports all Windows versions, and there's a client for Linux and Mac as well.
  • There's a functionality to backup share folders only, instead of doing the full image of the servers.
  • They have ongoing support and specialists for disaster recovery scenarios.
  • The cloud transfer is not as efficient as it could be. When backups flagged to the cloud are queued, they don't get released individually, but you have to wait until the whole package gets transferred. This is especially bad if the bandwidth is not good enough, and this also affects the capacity of the devices, because the points flagged cannot be deleted by the retention, and the backup appliance could get full because of this.
  • The account security for the user is not good enough. The users and passwords have to be created by another user, and there's no 2FA. As a partner, we do have that functionality, but the direct users don't have it available.
  • There's not enough reporting, which would be useful for compliance. There's a need to be able to log the activities that a user does on a device, the restores performed, and updates on settings. This has not been covered yet.
  • While there are enough people for support, sometimes the support team won't be as proactive as you would expect. They work within the limits of the functionalities of their tools, but they could get stuck troubleshooting the environments as a whole. Since the Datto client works with Windows features, other applications can affect the status of the client, but the support team has limitation in the way they troubleshoot these scenarios.
Datto is a reliable tool because of its business continuity capabilities. Any company that worries about having downtime (because of hardware failures, natural disasters, human errors) would value having Datto's devices. Being able to get your systems up and running within minutes, locally or from the cloud, when a disaster happens, is an amazing functionality.
Even for smaller companies that cannot afford to have a local appliance, Datto has also considered a different type of service, Direct to Cloud, which allows customers to purchase space only for cloud, and gives the same continuity options as the appliances.
Read this authenticated review
Justin Weller | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2019

Datto Suite of Products

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I am a 100% Datto shop. I use their PSA, RMM and the BCDR solutions that they have across the board. For a single entity freelancer, their suite of products just can't be beat. The products are the easiest to setup and maintain that I have seen in my experience, and their support is top notch. The single sign-on solution for all of their products makes it extremely easy for me to automate my business. Bottom line, this company not only SAVES me time and money, but their marketing solution to help you drip market on either social media or through email is phenomenal and actually MAKES you money. As a product, they do a great job but do an even better job for their partners. As a channel only company, their number one focus from day one was to help me grow my business using their products. I can't say enough good things about their products or ethics.
  • Business Continuity and disaster recovery. If you want to have the ability to have your business back up and functional within minutes if a disaster strikes, this device is for you.
  • The PSA portion of their company is phenomenal. It's a one-stop shop that tracks all of your billing, products, and sales from the initial opportunity to the completion of the work.
  • Their pricing model makes it a very affordable option for not only MSP's but the end user as well.
  • I really don't have any areas. This may sound silly, but I'm not lying when I say it. lol
Well Suited for security, ransomware detection, and the ability to recover from disaster. There are no situations where this product is less appropriate. This company has at least ONE product in their suite that can help you.
Read Justin Weller's full review
Alex Farling | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Hassle Free backup that actually comes with good support!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My company resells Datto to some of our clients. We rolled it out less than a year ago alongside one of their competitors and have found that Datto consistently outperforms the competition. We get fewer issues on the Datto clients, and the issues are often resolved by support before we even notify them that we missed a backup.
  • Reliable image based backup with cloud replication
  • Entry level BDR does not do encryption at rest... this is really the only complaint I have with Datto, but it's a big one... This should be a "permission to play" feature on EVERY BDR in the industry at this point.
Any MSP customer who has a server needs Datto on it...
Read Alex Farling's full review
Jason Rojas | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

Datto RMM great for the Small in-house IT team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am an in-house IT manager and a team of one. Thankfully the majority of my infrastructure is in the cloud but like I said: a team of one. Datto is my RMM and my source of information on my computer hardware. This solution is in the cloud and allows me to manage my computers from anywhere.
  • Information on computer hardware.
  • Allows the creations of user-defined fields: so helpful.
  • Great reporting tools.
  • Modernize the interface and streamline it. It feels like there are a lot of clicks to get to commonly used areas.
  • More user defined fields (not a deal breaker).
If you are a team of one and need to manage and support your users, this allows you to remote in and control your machines as if you had local Windows infrastructure in house. I can use remote support when they need me and I can see when a computer is utilizing too many resources before my user tells me.
Read Jason Rojas's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Datto and your peace of mind

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Datto as a backup and Disaster Recovery solution for many of our clients. Datto allows for backup on premise and to their datacenters allowing you to quickly recover from data loss or a disaster that may impact your business. In an age of crypto malware, Datto allows for peace of mind when protecting your data.
  • Backup your data.
  • Allows you to turn on a virtualized environment in case your servers are lost or destroyed.
  • Quickly recover from data loss due to malware or user error.
  • Speed in which the initial back is made.
  • Datto Nas devices should allow for more shares to be supported.
  • Better user interface in their dashboard.
It's well suited in small, medium, and large businesses or enterprises. It can backup your server infrastructure all the way down to the desktop. It also backs up email and all Microsoft Office 365 applications with the ability to quickly recover. Datto, while a great product, may not be appropriate for home backup setups.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Hutchinson, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2018

Datt-oh-no

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On its face, Datto appears to provide the BCP and DR readiness an organization may need for backing up and protecting their systems. When it works, it works great.
  • Ability to snap shot a machine.
  • Rapid, point-in-time recovery protecting against ransomware.
  • Bare metal restores
  • Customer service is horrible.
  • They completely shift support to the MSP so you can't contact their engineers directly.
  • No visibility into problems with the unit for the owner/customer. Again, forcing reliance on an MSP for support issues.
If it worked like it is designed then it would be a great product. The customer with which I am currently engaged was unaware of issues that have existed since 2016 and they were never revealed by the MSP. Luckily for the customer they have not experienced a significant event as it would have had a major impact on their ability to recover.
Read Kevin Hutchinson, CISSP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2018

Datto - Reliable & Cost-effective Solution for Small to Mid-sized Businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My organization resells, implements and supports all Datto solutions as part of a managed service or professional services agreement. We have found the most success in small to mid-sized companies with small IT departments, and even smaller IT budgets. The Datto appliance is a great BCDR appliance that has the ability to quickly spin-up a downed server on the Datto appliance or in various cloud environments.
  • Datto's RoundTrip service, which is an external hard drive provided by Datto to expedite the transfer of larger data sets to the Datto Coud. This can also be used for outages and if replication falls behind.
  • Reporting - Datto does a nice job with the Backup Report page which displays information on a per-agent basis for Screenshots, Forced Backups, Scheduled Backups, Last Screenshot, Last Successful Backup
  • Screenshot Verification - this feature boots and screenshots recovery points created by associated agent. This way, it can ensure that the agent will boot successfully in a restore.
  • The installation of Datto can be tricky without experts.
Datto is highly recommend for smaller environments (less than 5 TB of Front End Data) with limited IT staff and resources.
Read this authenticated review
Stana Steen | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2018

Datto Worry Free Business Continuity at its best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using the Datto Siris and Datto NAS in our office and we sell all the Datto line to our clients. Datto is our Business Continuity Solution. The biggest reason we have stayed with Datto is because it just works. We have had to run off of a server virtualized on our Datto Siris for more than a month due to parts issues with one of our servers and the Datto performed just as if it was the server and continued to perform backups hourly.
  • Server Virtualization! Datto is fast in virtualizing your servers it is backing up. We have had clients up in 12 minutes after a dual hard drive failure.
  • Support is usually fast. We don't have to call support often but when we do they have been easy to contact with little wait time.
  • Alerting! The Datto sends alerts to our PSA. The ticket creation is very important to us and the Datto works very well with our PSA.
  • The only con is the price. I would like to see better margins for reselling the product. We include managing the Datto in our monthly and though we don't have a lot of issues with the Dattos, we do have a dedicated engineer that monitors them so we have a lot invested in offering the Datto line. Otherwise, there is no other con!
Every company with data should have a Datto period. Either a Datto Siris or a Datto NAS for small workgroup type businesses. With moving to the cloud our small clients are utilizing the Datto NAS instead of purchasing a server for files sharing. This is an economical solutions for small businesses to safe guard their data and have easy access to it.
Read Stana Steen's full review
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2017

Datto - Puts The Mind at Ease

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I have implemented Datto appliances at numerous clients and they are one of the leading BDR appliances on the market. The killer feature of the Datto appliance is the ability to quickly spin up a downed server on the Datto hardware. This minimizes downtime while repairing the failed server.
  • All servers are backed up at the image level. This means they are capable of virtualizing or spinning up the server on the Datto appliance in times of outage.
  • Built on the reliable StorageCraft software, they are very reliable, hands-off back-ups. Once setup and configured, the jobs go off and backup the resource without much intervention.
  • Spinning up a downed server on the Datto hardware appliance means very minimal downtime for business-critical servers.
  • Datto hardware can be very pricey. The appliances have processors and memory to spin up production servers on-the-fly so it is essentially purchasing another server vs. a BDR appliance only.
  • The hardware comes with a warranty that must be manually renewed. Other competitors provide devices that do not include warranties vs. an ongoing subscription and hardware refresh.
  • The hardware runs with StorageCraft as the underlying software. Datto does not produce and maintain their own code for the backup process.
For large companies that are willing to invest the money in a Datto, they provide superior image-level backups of servers. They provide the option of minimal downtime with the ability to run servers on their own hardware as virtual machines.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Matthew Fex | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2017

If only I could backup myself with Datto as well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Datto device is used to backup all IT servers. This includes our onsite Exchange server, MSSQL server and file server. It covers a variety of physical and virtualized servers. The Datto covers our backup and disaster recovery requirements and gives us far more capabilities than our previous solution while also being far easier to use.
  • Simple agent setup for new machines to be protected. A new machine can be setup on the server in under a minute whether it be a Linux or Windows based machine.
  • Local virtualization on the Datto is quick to start up. After a physical problem with a server I had the machine locally virtualized on the Datto before users had a chance to report service issues to me.
  • Nothing to do on my end to get backups shifted to offsite data center. Schedules are setup for each machine or group of machines and I sleep well knowing all our backups are safely stored offsite.
  • Occasionally backups which get restored can have an issue when being unmounted. A recent update has provided a simple way to fix this should it occur.
Datto works well for smaller shops that just need something that will work without needing a great deal of day to day work on it. I only login to the device periodically to see where we stand on space and occasionally when we need to restore something. The offsite datacenter backup which is hosted by Datto works well for us particularly as we do not have our own offsite tech to use. In larger departments other solutions will possibly win out based on required features and setups but for the 1-10 man IT departments the Datto solutions fit in well.
Read Matthew Fex's full review
Franz Josef Bautista | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2017

Great backup software comes at a great price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I have been using datto SASS for email backup for about 100 users. This is across 3 domains. I have been using this solution for about one year and the client has been satisfied. Will definitely use with other clients.
  • Multiple points of backup
  • Customer support
  • Product training
  • Integration of services
  • Local or at least southeast Asian support
Backup, business continuity, virtualization
Read Franz Josef Bautista's full review
Rob Rotundo | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2017

Datto - The Backup Solution to Use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Datto in house to back up our data. We have 13 servers being backed up hourly by an SP2000 device which we have had for several years. We find this image based solution the best solution when it comes to backups. Not only can we go back to restores every hour, but we can go back to the first image we created of the server. Granted, this is not an archive as some people view backups. That's a whole different ballgame, but for what it is, Datto gives us peace of mind that our data is backed up consistently and properly.
  • Great imaged based backup
  • Hourly incrementals for very granular restore capabilities
  • Good support
  • While support is good, they have increased in size very quickly, and a lot of the lower support now involves them sending you links, instead of working with you directly to resolve the issue.
  • Pricing can be tricky and expensive, especially for smaller businesses.
  • Some of the smaller units seem to go offline more than expected.
Datto is good for all sizes businesses from small to large. Sizing the unit and pricing can get tricky for some clients. Especially when it comes to the offsite sizing and pricing. Datto is really good for all businesses. I don't know of a scenario where it isn't unless you're talking backing up a Citrix environment. You'll probably need a different solution in order to handle the processing power needed for a Citrix environment.
Read Rob Rotundo's full review
Michael Kerzner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2017

Datto is the set it and forget device of Backup and Disaster Recovery.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement only Datto Technologies to handle all of the backup and disaster recovery needs for all of customers. We are a Managed Services Provider and find both the ease of implementation, day to day monitoring to be second to none. It takes away a lot of stress knowing that Datto has our back.
  • Datto backups just work. Rarely do I ever need to worry about backups not running, failing, or not properly backing up. Datto is pretty much a set it and forget device.
  • Datto offers screenshots of systems that have been previously backed up. This takes away a lot of stress, wondering whether or nor our servers will be able to be restored should disaster strike. We can just check the screenshots an know that our backups are ready to restore at a moments notice.
  • If it turns out that you do need to reach out to Datto support, they are some of the best, most knowledgeable support staff I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. They are quick, friendly, and know their Datto Technologies.
  • Datto Backup systems are ridiculously easy to setup. Just follow some prompts and you will be backing up in no time.
  • If I had to choose a con, I would like the ability to receive alerts when my offsite backups are more than 24 - 48 hours out of date.
If you have a business and rely on servers and PCs for your day to day business, you simply must have a Datto device. You never want to be caught in a situation where a server pops and your data is just gone. With a Datto device, you will never lose sleep again wondering whether your data is safe.
Read Michael Kerzner's full review
Romeo Popa | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2017

Datto is AMAZING ( the best)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using Datto to backup multiple servers. Is it being used across the whole organization.
  • .Instant virtualization locally, In less then 5 minutes you can have a server running on the Datto
  • Ability to Export VMDK and VHD
  • Agent-less and integration with a Hypervisor
  • Backup windows 2016 with shadowsnap agent (currently not supported)
  • HyperV integration
I would recommend datto to any business. Their products can support 2-user companies up to enterprises. Great product.
Read Romeo Popa's full review

About Datto

Datto is a provider of comprehensive backup, recovery and business continuity solutions used by thousands of managed service providers around the world. The vendor says their 200+ purpose-built cloud and family of software and hardware devices provide total data protection everywhere business data lives. Additionally, Datto says it is the only vendor that offers end-to-end recoverability and single-vendor accountability.

Datto Features

Has featureHybrid Virtualization
Has featureCloud-connected Storage
Has featureCloud-to-Cloud Backup
Has featureLocal & Cloud Virtualization

Datto Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Datto sells 100% through the channel. Specifically, Datto partners with managed service providers (MSPs). The MSPs then sell direct to small and mid-sized businesses, worldwide.

Datto Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Datto Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No