TrustRadius
Microsoft SharePoint is usually considered an internal content management product, but it also features web content management capabilities for managing external website content. SharePoint is a very broadly adopted solution and competes successfully with Oracle, EMC Documentum and OpenText in the ECM space. It is also a collaboration platform and, in this context, competes with IBM's Collaboration platform (Lotus) and products like Novell Teaming and Jive Team Collaboration.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/kA/2M/MTL0RZL1QRTR.PNGMS SharePoint for a user and content uploader - it is GREAT!We are using SharePoint across all departments within our organization. It is used as a permanent repository for many of our important documents (Contracts, Constitution and Bylaws, Board Meeting agendas and documents, important cases - just to name a few). In the past, we were using a shared drive to store these documents. Others who worked off-site had to connect to the VPN to access any of these documents. Because MS SharePoint is a web-based program, this provides them easy access to the documents. The meta-data category also provides a great way to pull information. I personally appreciate the ability to access the documents without connecting to our internal network.,It allows our staff to access important documents without connecting to the VPN or our network. The uploading process on the back end is very user-friendly and simple. The ability to consolidate the many programs of MS is amazingly useful. I can access my calendar, Outlook, documents I was working on all in one place!,The interface for Outlook in MS SharePoint could be improved to look like the regular Outlook. Our staff has a tough time when the emails are linked together. Outlook in MS SharePoint does not provide access to other shared In Box (es). More information on OneNote and OneDrive on the homepage would be helpful.,8,We moved from DocuShare to MS SharePoint and it's been proven very effective. Using MS SharePoint has provided immediate access to documents to staff where in the past, they would have to wait for an admin staff to forward to them. It has been a positive impact for our organization - our newer staff has really benefited from MS SharePoint.,Xerox DocuShareCollaboration for the Organization Hackers!The entire company that I work for uses MS SharePoint. It is a great collaboration tool and is nice to have a central hub for common documents, announcements, etc. We have one central location where you can access all the SharePoints throughout the company and it is helpful when first joining or just working with a new team. Most teams across the organization use the tool and more and more are adopting it.,It is easy to use and you can be simple or do advanced coding It has a document library that you can use similar to a shared drive, but it also monitors when updates were made and only allows a single user to edit at one particular time It allows you to create different user groups with varying levels of permissions,If you want to make it look extra nice, you need coding experience and it's very hard to add that nice extra touch without it I wish that they had more templates to build off of when first creating it I am never able to open it in Chrome and IE is very slow on this website causing sessions to time out quickly,8,We are able to save time by having a repository of documents in one central location instead of them all being shared individually. We are able to store secure documents and monitor edits due to the advanced security features It causes people to branch out and learn some new web designing tools loosely,XWiki Collaboration Suite,Microsoft Office 2016, Salesforce Commerce Cloud, Adobe ConnectSharePoint - A great tool for companies looking to streamline document storage and collaboration for both internal and secure external accessWe use the tool internally to share documents and relevant information between various teams within the company. We also occasionally use the tool's secure link format to share documents with prospects and customers that are simply too large to be sent via email. The tool is fairly easy to use in both aforementioned scenarios.,Document sharing User access controls Mobile access,Format of site is fairly sterile and not quite as dynamic as one would hope The tool is able to connect with other MS products fairly easily, but collaboration with other tools that are not made by Microsoft would be ideal Uploading documents is fairly quick, but when multiple files are selected, sometimes the upload times lag a bit and take a while to update properly; on more than one occassion, I've simply restarted the entire import because I was not positive that everything had actually loaded properly into SharePoint from my desktop.,8,The tool has streamlined sharing larger files with customers who would like immediate and secure access to particularly sensitive data. The tool has streamlined business team's ability to collaborate with other internal teams in a fast and efficient manner. The tool is able to be used on mobile devices, which is nice for when you need to access data on the fly without being near a desktop/laptop computer.,Dropbox,Outreach, Salesforce.com, Microsoft Office 2016,500,5,Document storage and retrieval Collaboration between team members Secure user access controls for sharing data with limitations pertaining to personnel and time limitations as well,Sharing tailored demo content that customers can review with their teams Sharing pricing with customers with view only access and a limitation on duration of access Internal teams updating forecasts and activity against other metrics and tools (SFDC, etc.),More robust collaboration between teams and better content creation to be widely distributed across the company for both internal/external use purposes,9Great Collaboration Platform!As of today, we are using the SharePoint platform across the whole organization. On the SharePoint platform we are offering several services, such as: corporate intranet, MS Project Server, BI reports, One Drive for Business, a module for Learning Management System (LMS) and an internal messaging tool (somewhat like MailChimp).,It's a 100% collaborative platform. It's easy to share files and documents between users in the organization, so they can modify them and upload them again for continued sharing. The scalability of the platform is one of it's best features, you can add new functions as you need them.,It requires a robust infrastructure for optimal performance of the services. The configuration of some of the services can be quite complex. The licensing can be a little expensive, and increases as you add servers.,8,It's great for secure document sharing across all the locations of the organization. As you can centralize services, you can also centralize the support for them. High costs for licensing, implementation and configuration.,Citrix ShareFile and Dropbox Business,Veeam Backup & Replication, Hyper-V, Microsoft Azure, Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft Office 365, Windows Server, ServiceDesk Plus, Microsoft System CenterSharePoint Online is good enoughWe are using SharePoint hosted and SharePoint Online to host intranet team sites and an inter-company website. For my service team, I use SPO to host a large (>100GB) repository of content and software for my field service users to access on the go. The companion mobile and PC OneDrive apps are great for keeping things available even while offline for my field users.,Granular permission access of files and folders, via AD groups or team site groups. OneDrive offline sync mechanism seems robust and handles online/offline well. Microsoft Teams integration is useful.,SharePoint to OneDrive sync mechanism is hidden or difficult to understand for users coming from Dropbox, Box, or other cloud storage apps. UI isn't really that great. SPO is a huge improvement, but is still very Microsoft-ish. Uploading a new version of a file with a different name is not possible.,8,Cuts down on internal requests for help Reduces our internal field service calling technical support by 50% Field workers internationally have access to common resources easily,Box, Dropbox and Google Drive
Unspecified
MS SharePoint
1110 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
TRScore

MS SharePoint Reviews

MS SharePoint
1110 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1110 vetted MS SharePoint reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 94)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 22, 2018

Review: "MS SharePoint for a user and content uploader - it is GREAT!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint across all departments within our organization. It is used as a permanent repository for many of our important documents (Contracts, Constitution and Bylaws, Board Meeting agendas and documents, important cases - just to name a few). In the past, we were using a shared drive to store these documents. Others who worked off-site had to connect to the VPN to access any of these documents. Because MS SharePoint is a web-based program, this provides them easy access to the documents. The meta-data category also provides a great way to pull information. I personally appreciate the ability to access the documents without connecting to our internal network.
  • It allows our staff to access important documents without connecting to the VPN or our network.
  • The uploading process on the back end is very user-friendly and simple.
  • The ability to consolidate the many programs of MS is amazingly useful. I can access my calendar, Outlook, documents I was working on all in one place!
  • The interface for Outlook in MS SharePoint could be improved to look like the regular Outlook. Our staff has a tough time when the emails are linked together.
  • Outlook in MS SharePoint does not provide access to other shared In Box (es).
  • More information on OneNote and OneDrive on the homepage would be helpful.
MS SharePoint is well suited for organizations that have staff who work remotely as well as those with physical offices. It allows them the capability to access all the necessary programs in one place. The only setback is that not all programs mirror the original program which may cause some frustration.
Read Jessalyn Ka's full review
September 14, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Collaboration for the Organization Hackers!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire company that I work for uses MS SharePoint. It is a great collaboration tool and is nice to have a central hub for common documents, announcements, etc. We have one central location where you can access all the SharePoints throughout the company and it is helpful when first joining or just working with a new team. Most teams across the organization use the tool and more and more are adopting it.
  • It is easy to use and you can be simple or do advanced coding
  • It has a document library that you can use similar to a shared drive, but it also monitors when updates were made and only allows a single user to edit at one particular time
  • It allows you to create different user groups with varying levels of permissions
  • If you want to make it look extra nice, you need coding experience and it's very hard to add that nice extra touch without it
  • I wish that they had more templates to build off of when first creating it
  • I am never able to open it in Chrome and IE is very slow on this website causing sessions to time out quickly
If you are looking for a site to save any comment documents such as policies, legal documents, templates...the list goes on and on...this is the tool for you! Although coding experience would be helpful for advanced features, you can do everything you would need to do with the normal features that are already build in. If you have a team that needs access to different levels of documents, this is a great tool because of the permissions feature. However, if you are a very large company, you should think about how many of these sites you would like as it could get to the point where you could make too many.
Read Julianna Beaver's full review
August 29, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "SharePoint - A great tool for companies looking to streamline document storage and collaboration for both internal and secure external access"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the tool internally to share documents and relevant information between various teams within the company. We also occasionally use the tool's secure link format to share documents with prospects and customers that are simply too large to be sent via email. The tool is fairly easy to use in both aforementioned scenarios.
  • Document sharing
  • User access controls
  • Mobile access
  • Format of site is fairly sterile and not quite as dynamic as one would hope
  • The tool is able to connect with other MS products fairly easily, but collaboration with other tools that are not made by Microsoft would be ideal
  • Uploading documents is fairly quick, but when multiple files are selected, sometimes the upload times lag a bit and take a while to update properly; on more than one occassion, I've simply restarted the entire import because I was not positive that everything had actually loaded properly into SharePoint from my desktop.
When companies are looking for a secure means of storing and sharing a wide variety of documents types in a centralized repository, SharePoint provides an ideal tool that has the brand strength and ease of use often associated with Microsoft products. The tool is able to be accessed by mobile devices, and it provides a fairly simple means of accessing data on the fly when it matters.
Read Michael J. Towle's full review
August 28, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Great Collaboration Platform!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As of today, we are using the SharePoint platform across the whole organization. On the SharePoint platform we are offering several services, such as: corporate intranet, MS Project Server, BI reports, One Drive for Business, a module for Learning Management System (LMS) and an internal messaging tool (somewhat like MailChimp).
  • It's a 100% collaborative platform.
  • It's easy to share files and documents between users in the organization, so they can modify them and upload them again for continued sharing.
  • The scalability of the platform is one of it's best features, you can add new functions as you need them.
  • It requires a robust infrastructure for optimal performance of the services.
  • The configuration of some of the services can be quite complex.
  • The licensing can be a little expensive, and increases as you add servers.
I recommend using the MS Sharepoint platform across large enterprises that requires document sharing, generation of Business Intelligence reports, etc. keeping the information centralized with the possibility of multiple simultaneous access to the information. It's best suited for organizations that use Active Directory. Medium and little enterprises may struggle with the pricey licensing of Sharepoint.
Read Guillermo Villamizar's full review
May 04, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "SharePoint Online is good enough"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint hosted and SharePoint Online to host intranet team sites and an inter-company website. For my service team, I use SPO to host a large (>100GB) repository of content and software for my field service users to access on the go. The companion mobile and PC OneDrive apps are great for keeping things available even while offline for my field users.
  • Granular permission access of files and folders, via AD groups or team site groups.
  • OneDrive offline sync mechanism seems robust and handles online/offline well.
  • Microsoft Teams integration is useful.
  • SharePoint to OneDrive sync mechanism is hidden or difficult to understand for users coming from Dropbox, Box, or other cloud storage apps.
  • UI isn't really that great. SPO is a huge improvement, but is still very Microsoft-ish.
  • Uploading a new version of a file with a different name is not possible.
SPO has replaced our need for Box for mobile works to have offline sync access by folders and files. Robust syncing keep our workers productive on the road, no need for VPN. Single sign-on with AD credentials built right in, if you are using Office 365, is great, and the integration with Office apps is very nice (though we have run into some problems when trying the simultaneous editing of office docs).
Read Hans Hong's full review
August 20, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Improving the organization with MS Share Point"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In these moments, we find a pilot test in a department of the production area. We are automating several processes that are key in the company. Up to now, we have made significant changes, improving product review time, reducing project delays. It is an excellent tool, but you must have people trained in the implementation to ensure that the change in the company is simple and taken without much rejection by end users.
  • It is a versatile tool, it allows creating workflows that support and streamline project management. It allows you to create documents and carry out your change control. You can establish checkpoints of the revision which makes it more efficient to know who has the document, how long the process lasted and send the client the document with the latest version.
  • It is part of the Office platform and integrates with other MS applications, which makes it easy for users.
  • From the point of view of performance and security, SharePoint is the best product for any organization.
  • To implement it in small companies is expensive because it requires a specialized technical support team to configure to measure, manage and ensure that the tool runs without a problem.
  • It is not easy to configure custom forms. There are some lists that are inflexible. To search efficiently, you need a lot of internal customization.
  • It takes a lot of time to achieve the personalization of the application, since it requires a lot of configuration and training of the staff, added to the development effort to achieve the correct configuration.
  • If you require a single intranet, SharePoint is an excellent option.
  • Create electronic forms which decrease the use of paper, it is very easy to share files and information throughout the organization, which improves collaboration between departments.
  • Because it is an MS tool, it connects the SharePoint calendars with the Outlook calendar.
  • It is suitable when the company has offices in several countries since synchronizing SharePoint content is one of its best features.
Read Eliz Marvic Melicio Carvajal's full review
August 17, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Important Files keeper."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SharePoint is being used as our main knowledge base. We have all our important documents stored in one place. SharePoint is the home of all the important documentation and procedures and that way we can easily find anything that we need. Constant revision and version changes are no more a problem with great versioning options of MS SharePoint.
  • Create independent pages for certain topics and documents.
  • Maintain and update current knowledge base without particular problems.
  • Choose the default look of the MS SP page.
  • It could use a few more templates to choose from when creating a new page from scratch.
  • Mobile phone app asks for constant security verification which can be annoying sometimes when you need to get something from MS SP quickly.
SharePoint is great at storing important documentation and saving and maintaining them on their servers. Its integration with all the MS Office apps is just great, not to mention the option to synchronize your SharePoint pages with OneDrive and have all your files available offline, or just simply upload documents to SharePoint via OneDrive.

The downside of SharePoint would be lack of customization options for your SP page, there is not that many templates and tools to make your pages stand out from the rest.
Read Stanislava Pavlovic's full review
August 17, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "The collaboration software for collaboration teams in an Office environment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used by the Engineering department of my company, and it is very interesting to have a focused web page to search all the documents we're working on in any moment. Our staff is invited to collaborate on production of all the documents we need to complete on-schedule. With this process, we learned to save the files on the OneDrive cloud with order and efficiency. This helped us save time, as opposed to working on just one file and reviewing it. To work with this product, we have Office 365 for E3. Most of the documents are managed with MS Word and Excel, for use in the office, and when sent are saved as PDFs.
  • Staff collaboration is very easy
  • Saving on the OneDrive and on the computer
  • Focuses the collaboration team on one web page
  • Allows you to note the scheduled time and control of delivery
  • Allows you to notice which documents are left that need to be finished or reviewed
  • Allows you to notice the schedule completion and administrative communications
  • The installation of the software needs an IT specialist; the software should be more user friendly for the price
  • On a daily basis, we use a minimal part of what we see on the specifications; it needs to be more easy to use for some functions
  • Some clients have other email accounts besides outlook, and with them is a little difficult to share some information that needs some feedback
The most well suited scenario is when we are working on a project and all the collaborators are doing their particular projects based on the engineering business. Everyone of them participates on the project and edits every one of the documents needed to complete it, even with the final reviewing. The least appropriate scenario is when the collaborators are working on a remote basis, so the access to the cloud doesn't give the same effect--the files can't be opened and appreciated with their full graphics and formatting. This aspects depends on the Office software each person is using on their own computers.
Read Julio A Rivas's full review
August 03, 2018

Review: "MS SharePoint in higher education environment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MS SharePoint in two main areas at a higher ed institution:
1- We implement student portal on MS SharePoint. A student can log in to his portal to view calendar, library, upcoming events, grades ( through integration with Banner), cafeteria, residence hall. Students can also customize and publish their own profile page which is used for class collaboration.
2- As staff, we use MS SharePoint for procurement workflows. We can add/modify a purchase request which is customized to go through an approval workflow through IT, Finance and Procurement. It provides email notifications and highly customizable.

We have SharePoint servers running on a VMware cluster.
  • It is highly customizable. It can be customized to support most business processes in HR, procurement, and supply chain.
  • It integrates with a single-sign-on system in place, like Active Directory or Tivoli LDAP.
  • It costs way less than Oracle solutions, with special offers for higher education.
  • It's supported on VMWare and HyperV.
  • Runs on SQL databases which are not the best in terms of reliability and security.
  • Runs on Windows servers which requires updates and restarts.
  • the server farm needs to include at least 4 VMs with 24GB RAM each to handle traffic from 2000 users simultaneously.
It is great for schools, higher education, and small to medium businesses. It is an excellent deal for businesses with Microsoft agreements as it will be a major cost saving solution. It can be initially tested for a document management solution. With a strong DBA and dev team, it can be customized in-house for procurement services and staff/customer portals.

I do not recommend using it in banks and financial institutions with sensitive data and complicated workflows.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
March 30, 2018

"MS SharePoint reviewed from an end-user POV"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint has been used across the whole organization. Users have different levels of access. Some are high experts and provide support to other users, some are end-users. We use it as a collaboration tool and temporary storage for the documents that others will need access to. We restrict the access to the documents accordingly.
  • MS SharePoint allows users to limit different access and roles for different people.
  • We can store documents and others can view the most updated versions.
  • We can save previous versions and assign tasks.
  • Could be more intuitive. Sometimes it takes an expert in the system to understand how to grant access and what types of access to grant
  • The built-in features are difficult to choose from - hard to identify which ones fit my needs, they can be too complicated
  • If SharePoint is not customized, such as the out-of-the-box version, it's hard to ensure it will fit my business needs.
I would recommend MS SharePoint to individuals who wish to collaborate on documents, save old/previous versions of their documents, assign tasks, maintain a progress log and share with their teams, assign edit rights to others, so they can modify your documents, build workflows, create collaborative websites, and all online.
Read Adriana Paez's full review
June 26, 2018

Review: "MS SharePoint the best for you internal knowledge sharing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint to provide knowledge to our agents, it is providing all the resource and the information they need to do their job effectively and keep them up to date.
  • Easy to manage and update the database tables with multiple options including API
  • A web-based application that does not require any installation and compatible with all web browsers
  • From a developer standpoint, it allows you to use your skills to build an amazing portal within very little time
  • I wish there is a better, easier way to access the database
  • The search functionality is good but not great, I would love to see a more robust search in SharePoint
  • I really love the integration with MS Lync and Skype, but I think that can use some improvement
I think it is great for an internal portal to share knowledge articles and provide your agents with the info they need on daily basis. SharePoint, in my opinion, is the way to go if you want to keep agents ready and updated to handle any task. It is great for pushing continuing training.
Maybe it is not the best suited as a primary training platform but it is great for a quick small information sharing and process documenting also it is perfect to store procedures and rules book.
Read Ammar Aldaffaie's full review
June 06, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Workhorse that gets the job done, but poor UX"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization's information technology platform is built under the Microsoft ecosystem and products umbrella. When it comes to groupware (creation of micro sites that enable content, wikis, and document libraries) the natural tool to deploy is Microsoft SharePoint, and its cousin OneDrive. The whole organization has built-in pre-approved and pre-configured access to SharePoint, and it is encouraged as the go-to tool.
  • Transparent integration within an organization under the MS umbrella
  • Leveraging of existing single sign-on facilities
  • Advanced customization with centralized Active Directory features
  • User experience is subpar
  • Unclear behaviors when sync-ing devices
  • Some users report bugs in the Windows client
Once you train your users to understand the peculiarities, organizations that are already fully integrated in the MS corporate platform should adopt MS SharePoint. However, organizations that might have challenges in terms of providing adequate training to its users might benefit from other groupware and file sharing systems that have been designed with usability in mind.
Read Daniel Blazquez's full review
August 03, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Sharepoint - effective collaboration tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is being used company-wide to share information in regards to our projects. It is being used as a plan room where we, as a general contractor, can collaborate with the owner and our subcontractors in an efficient way.
  • Organization of files.
  • Ease of use - user-friendly.
  • Safe to use with confidential information.
  • SharePoint could have more sub-headings. It will only go down certain levels.
  • The bulk upload feature should come standard.
SharePoint seems well suited to the construction industry. I do not think it would be well suited for solely file sharing.
Read Rachel Robinson's full review
May 28, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "SharePoint - The Best Collaboration Tool Out There!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is being used by my Company as a collaboration tool between individuals, project teams and the company employees at large. In my capacity, I use it for project planning, including resource planning. It is also used to track overall budgets for projects and any of the hours billed to those projects.
  • It is a terrific tool for "one-stop shopping". That is, I can get to most of what I need through SP, without searching our Network.
  • SP brings efficiency which, at the end of the day, saves time for everyone which helps the company's bottom line.
  • Multiple people can be in the same folder at the same time. It does not limit usage to one user at a time.
  • Obviously, if your company is having Network issues, then it can bring SP to its knees.
  • Scheduled downtime can also be an issue. It is typically scheduled during non-business hours, but I travel frequently and it can impede my work at times.
  • It is not the "prettiest" to work with. Tabs, radio buttons, etc. are very plain to look at and work with. I recognize that the User can get creative with their own "content", but I do not have time for that.
SP seems to work best when the Company size is North of 1500. It takes a lot of man-hours to set this Tool up and configure it, and it would not make much sense for a Company with a small workforce. As the name would suggest, SP is a great tool for "sharing" company and project documents.
Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Useful file and data storage for all kinds of offices."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used as our office storage and communications system. It's used across the entire organization Our email, MS Office Suite, and Skype for Business are all tied into SharePoint. It helps manage space on personal work computers to access general forms and documents from a separate point.
  • It's a fairly seamless integration. I can sign in on essentially any office PC with my designated credentials, and access documents and Outlook with really no trouble at all. It helps save time and on days where I have to migrate between spaces/equipment, I'm able to get work done.
  • It's easy to keep track of where documents are in our system. Also, it's easy to configure old versions of documents and file them away in an archive. It works in essence as a very, VERY, convenient digital version of our physical filing system.
  • It takes some getting used to, as an iCloud/Google Drive/Dropbox user in past lives. Most of that has to do with aesthetics, but the learning curve isn't that bad. I got used to navigating our storage system pretty easily.
  • There are times where I have saved a document to my personal work folder in SharePoint, only to find an earlier copy of that file had saved instead. It's a relatively minor inconvenience but can get kind of frustrating in times where I need to get a project done quickly.
It's...I would say essential for mid-sized offices, but really any size. I've worked in a smaller office (less than 10 people) as a temp, interned at a large office of over 60 employees, and now in a permanent capacity in an office of around 40, and all three utilize SharePoint in almost identical fashions. It scales very, very well, and especially in offices where lots, and I do mean lots of different kinds of documents need to be stored in a convenient and easy-to-access location.
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Good solution for document management and collaboration."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used SharePoint over the years and have seen the product improve its usability and functionality. I use it for document management and sharing documents with project members and project team collaboration.
  • It supports multiple document version control.
  • It has the capability to document share with internal or external users.
  • Each SharePoint site can have its own document library, notebooks, security, and design. Giving a more independent (task, phase, team segregation) capability.
  • SharePoint can be initially overwhelming to set up or introduce to new end-users.
  • Overall expense of the system.
Good for collaboration within an organization, particularly where a significant percentage of the users will be involved in document management.
Read this authenticated review
September 12, 2018

Review: "MS Sharepoint is great if you use MS office"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We host our intranet on MS SharePoint. Each department has their own site and is managed by the department. It's useful for new users to see what each department is about. We also use SharePoint for file sharing and storage.
  • Microsoft standard features were adequate setting up the intranet.
  • Cross department collaboration and file sharing/editing.
  • Online editing for Microsoft Office documents
  • MS Office online editing isn't as spontaneous as Google Drive.
  • MS SharePoint online refreshing time isn't the fastest
  • SharePoint site loading isn't smooth. Modules aren't loaded at once. Some menus load at a different pace, makes the site loading transition rough.
Great for a smaller company for file sharing and office intranet.
Read this authenticated review
April 19, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Microsoft can do better"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint as a replacement for our corporate network file server. Primarily we are using SharePoint for document sharing and collaboration, before releasing the document to our formal document control system (electronic quality management system).

R&D is the largest user group, but the whole organization is using SharePoint. Most of the collaboration is being done in project teams. We've set up SharePoint so that each project team has their allocated SharePoint site.
  • Document Library collaboration - ability for multiple users to simultaneously collaborate a common file at the same time.
  • Document Library autosave - a document I'm working on locally is automatically saved to the SharePoint cloud location
  • Document Library Revision Control - Document revision is automatically generated and I can see or revert back to previous revisions.
  • Follow - Ability to follow a site, a library, or a document. I can set up alerts to notify me when something is changed or whatever the criteria I customize for the alert.
  • Cloud-based - all files, apps are on the cloud, so everyone has access, regardless of where they are.
  • Performance - It takes some time to open a file from SharePoint. There's general 'lethargy' with opening, saving, and editing from SharePoint.
  • Site layout - SharePoint provides the ability to customize each site or page. However, the customization options are limited. There are only 8 text layout options to choose from and the layouts are very 'tabular'.
  • Document collaboration is great up to a point. When there are more than 3 or 4 people editing a document at the same time, the document may freeze and you lose the ability to update the cloud file. In these cases, we save the file locally and have to manually merge changes back to the cloud file.
  • Permission - if I set up a group (for permissions), I cannot embed a group within another group. For example, the group "all employees" cannot contain the groups "all US employees" and "all EU employees".
  • Syncing - Syncing sites, libraries or documents to my local computer is a hit or miss. For some people, it has worked flawlessly. For others, files don't get synced, sometimes the syncing ability temporarily goes away, sometimes it's locked for a certain user. It's inconsistent and fails more often than not.
The biggest (& only) reason I would recommend SharePoint is because it is integrated with MS Office. The simultaneous-editing, auto-versioning, alerts, messaging and other team collaboration capabilities are found in other tools which have a more 'modern' interface. SharePoint's features feel dated and not that advanced compared to other cloud-based tools which are also cheaper.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Microsoft SharePoint - Old Faithful"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SharePoint for customer and partner contract management. We use it as a database that's accessible to the entire company. We store MSAs, NDAs, insurance certificates, and we tag them with certain parameters so they're easily accessible. It's great to have this database as a fully searchable, living documentation set.
  • Contract management
  • Search functions
  • Organization
  • Bugs
  • Quirky mistakes
  • Training
I would definitely say that if you have a large customer base who sign contracts for your hw/sw/services offerings that they buy, it's great to keep a digital record of all these contracts that are accessible to the entire company. This is extremely helpful to us. I would say if you don't have more than 3 digit customers doing business on a monthly basis, this is overkill for you.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Functional but could be better and more up to date"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly used as a client project documentation repository tool. In the wider company is it used to store other company administrative documents e.g. OHS docs, etc. It provides the company a centralized location to store important and widely used internal and external documents.
  • Easy access
  • Version control
  • Familiar Microsoft user interface
  • Easier parent-child file structure navigation
  • Easier means of performing file operations e.g. edit, delete, move, copy/paste, etc
  • More responsive + quicker webpage and user experience (Dropbox is a fine example of how responsive it should be)
Well suited to organizations that trust Microsoft and want a central file management/storage solution. If a better and more user-friendly experience is more important than the brand establishment, reliability and trust, other alternatives should be considered.
Read this authenticated review
July 09, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "SharePoint - Ubiquitous Mediocrity"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint is used across the whole organization and enables quick sharing of information across different facilities. This software helps us work together cross-location and cross-functionally. It is also used because it integrates easily and quickly with existing MS products.
  • Quick sharing of documents and files.
  • Easy adjustment of documents through my browser.
  • It is easy to set up groups to share certain things with the necessary people.
  • It can be difficult to protect files from unwanted editing.
  • The changes made to files or sites are readily apparent.
  • It does a lot of things just alright when there are better solutions available; yet, because of its ubiquity, it's the go-to solution.
Microsoft SharePoint is well suited for file sharing, especially across platforms such as mobile and desktop; yet, it lacks in group collaboration. It works well for making sure everyone has access to certain files but doesn't work the best when there needs to be a team approach to developing the file.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2018

MS SharePoint: "Brief experience and review of SharePoint from a smaller team point of view"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SharePoint across different departments within the University. In particular the IT Service Desk use it as a useful resource for information and business planning.
  • Able to use tabs to present information from different subjects
  • A good calendar facility to publish planned and business events
  • A relatively good search facility
  • Quite hard to get the hang of developing the system unless you go on a SharePoint course
  • Better tools for designing sites can be made available
  • Flexibility of using themes can be made available
MS SharePoint is suited for smaller teams where not much information will be published. The larger the team, the more information and the information can look a little cluttered even when putting things into separate sections.
Read this authenticated review
March 15, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Microsoft SharePoint - in a nonprofit."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used on a department to department level. It replaces the legacy network "Shared Drives" in our network. It helps our field staff access shared drives and interact faster with HQ without using any sort of VPN. This also helps staff work more efficiently from a remote site or even at home.
  • Sharing and collaborating documents with the ability to lock documents upon final revision.
  • Implementing workflows for specific documents and teams is a plus, this allows certain approval process during a copy edit to run smoothly.
  • Project-related sites are quick and easy to deploy templates for fast moving teams or temporary teams.
  • Creating a brand new site needs work. More widgets or drop in's perhaps.
  • Making the administration a little easier for less technically inclined staff to be able to manage. Sometimes too many features on one screen or too much granular options can be a bad thing. Add an "advanced" menu, but stick with the basics, this saves IT's time.
  • Make it easier to design sites that are more appealing to the younger crowd, sites end up just having basic colors and text. The new UI is improved and looks a bit more modern but still is just a bunch of boxes with text in them.
It is suited for organizational file storage and long-term projects. It is also great to use it to replace the departmental shared drive for easier cloud or remote access. It is not appropriate for ad-hoc teams or ad-hoc projects that require really short turn around times. Microsoft Groups or Teams are better suited for this.
Read Jeffrey Ing's full review
December 18, 2017

MS SharePoint Review: "Why SharePoint should be considered"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sharepoint is being used in many ways but the primary ways are
  • As a document repository: This is the primary reason for SharePoint. However, it has been slowly replaced by OneDrive
  • A way to collect information: Many use it to create forms, surveys, or spreadsheets to collect information
  • As a "website": Some departments have developed websites with information.
  • To create forms or surveys so it collects information in an effective way including end-user information
  • To restrict access to specific content, folders, or files
  • As a repository that can quickly allow you to organize, filter, and search content
  • A way to have an entire organization in the same system. Using Single Sign-On makes this experience seamless
  • Sharing with others outside SharePoint. It is almost impossible to collaborate with others outside the organization
  • The tools to create "website" like experience are very outdated or hard to use. It should be easier to create for non-technical users
  • There is no seamless integration with other tools like chats or skype for business.
  • It feels like a disconnected tool from others. I have seen some improvements over the years but it still feels like it is on its own
  • There are not enough tools to create an actual community type of environment
  • To create an organized, searchable, and easy to maintain document repository
  • To collect information by using forms, surveys, or Excel files
  • If you are already using Microsoft type of services and technologies. The integrations are seamless with those products and it may be worth for you just because of the easy to use with Microsoft technologies
  • If you want to have different levels of access, roles, or restrictions within your repositories
Read Giovanni Duarte's full review
March 06, 2018

MS SharePoint: "SharePoint Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in almost every department within our organization! I’m not sure how many use it on a day to day basis but I definitely use it weekly. There are a lot of features which are really beneficial but can be overwhelming at times. Customizing takes time and money so the more you want to customize the harder the process will be.
  • Unique SharePoint Internet. Allows custom add ins.
  • All the features! There are so many features that are bound to be what you’re looking for.
  • It is cross department collaborative! This allows team work which is extremely helpful.
  • You get to choose the best pricing for what you’ll be using it for.
  • Your bill can be expensive if you want a lot of features.
  • Service providers can be challenging.
  • Extra effort might be required if you use a custom ERP system.
Definitely suited well for a large company that will be using it on a regular basis. May not be suitable for a smaller company of less than 250 workers.
Read Betsy Scruggs's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (60)
8.0
Gantt Charts (37)
7.3
Scheduling (53)
7.5
Workflow Automation (58)
8.1
Mobile Access (53)
7.0
Search (71)
7.6
Visual planning tools (52)
7.0
Chat (37)
6.4
Notifications (63)
7.3
Discussions (57)
7.6
Surveys (46)
7.7
Internal knowledgebase (68)
8.1
Integrates with GoToMeeting (20)
7.6
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (18)
6.9
Integrates with Outlook (64)
8.9
Versioning (67)
8.6
Video files (59)
7.8
Audio files (59)
7.8
Document collaboration (75)
8.7
Access control (74)
8.6
Advanced security features (62)
8.5
Integrates with Google Drive (19)
8.4
Device sync (44)
8.0

About MS SharePoint

Microsoft SharePoint is usually considered an internal content management product, but it also features web content management capabilities for managing external website content. SharePoint is a very broadly adopted solution and competes successfully with Oracle, EMC Documentum and OpenText in the ECM space. It is also a collaboration platform and, in this context, competes with IBM's Collaboration platform (Lotus) and products like Novell Teaming and Jive Team Collaboration.

MS SharePoint Integrations

MS SharePoint Competitors

MS SharePoint Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No