MS SharePoint Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1562 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 168)

Hans Hong | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

SharePoint Online is good enough

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint hosted and SharePoint Online to host intranet team sites and an inter-company website. For my service team, I use SPO to host a large (>100GB) repository of content and software for my field service users to access on the go. The companion mobile and PC OneDrive apps are great for keeping things available even while offline for my field users.
  • Granular permission access of files and folders, via AD groups or team site groups.
  • OneDrive offline sync mechanism seems robust and handles online/offline well.
  • Microsoft Teams integration is useful.
  • SharePoint to OneDrive sync mechanism is hidden or difficult to understand for users coming from Dropbox, Box, or other cloud storage apps.
  • UI isn't really that great. SPO is a huge improvement, but is still very Microsoft-ish.
  • Uploading a new version of a file with a different name is not possible.
SPO has replaced our need for Box for mobile works to have offline sync access by folders and files. Robust syncing keep our workers productive on the road, no need for VPN. Single sign-on with AD credentials built right in, if you are using Office 365, is great, and the integration with Office apps is very nice (though we have run into some problems when trying the simultaneous editing of office docs).
Read Hans Hong's full review
Chris Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Microsoft SharePoint, at the scale of a large org, has no rivals outside of Microsoft Teams

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used organization-wide from our parent company to each of the operating companies underneath it. It is a collaboration solution within the Office 365 toolkit and has been used in our company since 2007. SharePoint is has been paired with a few tools to run in parallel over the years, but the current deployment is almost purely off-the-shelf Microsoft.
  • SharePoint allows information to self-organize well. One version of the truth visible in multiple contexts (views).
  • SharePoint allows for a really good relationship between Microsoft Office products and allows for collaboration in those tools to happen a bit more seamlessly.
  • SharePoint allows for permissions to govern access to information very well from any level in the site.
  • SharePoint in Office 365 allows for information to be accessed in a mobile environment without the need for VPN or server access that has traditionally been somewhat difficult to navigate on a phone.
  • SharePoint sometimes has a challenge with the Share feature in Office 365. Traditional best practices are to govern collaboration with permissions groups and manage access at the group level. Share can sometimes undermine that by creating ad-hoc situations unintentionally.
  • SharePoint's success in many organizations is really a function of user adoption and training. It is such a large platform that it is often deployed without much governance or direction.
  • SharePoint's lists and libraries can leverage Excel services and like-kind tools, but the ability for a list to do math in the same way that Excel does is very limited. It still has a room for improvement in the business intelligence features of metadata management.
SharePoint is a very flexible platform and is what you make it. While it does have its limitations, the way that it integrates into the Microsoft toolkit is critical to the successful use of Microsoft as a whole. Getting the right license agreement is significant (you don't want to feature-limit your deployment because it hurts user adoption over the long haul). Because Microsoft has invested so much in this platform, it is relatively stable and here to stay for quite a while, so the long-story of SharePoint is much more promising than the short story of some of its competitors.
Read Chris Carpenter's full review
David White | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

MS SharePoint

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint serves as our document management and cloud storage tool.
  • Being able to store documents in the cloud
  • Being able to share documents easily across team members
  • Being able to have multiple people simultaneously edit documents
  • Not fully integrated into Microsoft Office suite
  • Synchronization can have issues/problems that aren't easily resolved
  • Seems to work much better with dedicated IT support but difficult to support with limited IT support of a small business
It is challenging if your organization doesn't have dedicated IT support.
Read David White's full review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

MS SharePoint is great for sharing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used across the entire organization. It provides centrally-located, always available and easily-accessible document libraries, collaboration spaces, private, internal websites for all of our corporate divisions and their departments and a way to quickly share documents with other users.
  • Document sharing - it works really well for this. documents can be included in libraries and organized in folders. Documents can be uploaded as files or links to files stored anywhere that is accessible by URL.
  • Team discussion boards - It does discussion format very well and presents discussion sin a familiar format that all users will recognize. it can also do Wikis.
  • Managing access permissions is still clunky - not a whole lot better in newer versions than it was way back when it was first launched.
  • Re-organization of the site hierarchy isn't very easy. You need a third-party tool to do anything meaningful when you want to rearrange your site pages and move site libraries.
  • It doesn't provide for any kind of backup, so you have to either have it on=prem where you can backup the entire server or you have to buy a third-party tool if you are using the online hosted version (SPO).
It's very well suited to act as an intranet, where it's only going to be used internally by employees of a company. It works well to share documents, provide lists of reference materials to users, provide a place for departments to have their own discussions and calendars and other collaboration purposes. It includes "workflows" unlike its predecessors, and those can define the flow of a process or task and walk the user through that flow very effectively. In fact, an employee's entire job could hypothetically be scripted using SharePoint workflows. It can scale OK in small scale terms, as I have experience of using it in networks with under a few thousand users. I don't know how it would behave if there were tens of thousands of hundreds of thousands of users, but provided the infrastructure is scaled proportionately, I don't see why it wouldn't work well at that scale as well.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Gökhan Emre Kükürtcü | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

Daily "Addicted" User

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint is used by most of my colleagues. My overall experience with SharePoint has been positive across the many years I've used it. MS SharePoint is being used by our entire organization almost every department. With SharePoint, I can integrate with MS Excel and with Office365, so as I do my projects in Excel I could share them on MS SharePoint. I am sure there are still so many things to learn about this app, and I'm still discovering new things. It has definitely been the best product for working with teams inside and outside of the company.
  • MS SharePoint is a great tool to share information across departments with multiple groups and people in my organization.
  • MS SharePoint offers cloud accessibility, so you do not need to maintain your docs on your hard disk.
  • This is a great tool if you work for a large company as it is secured and also updates in real-time. You could easily find who else is currently editing or looking at the doc!
  • It took a little bit to get set up and train everyone on how to use that app.
  • Some things are just too complicated.
  • Sometimes; really slow workflow!
It is one of the best apps to manage confidential information in a controlled and restrictive way. And also there is an option to chat within the group as well. With SharePoint, we can work on things as a team without having to be on a call with one another. By the way, the user interface could be improved and made more attractive.
Read Gökhan Emre Kükürtcü's full review
Adam Litvack | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

SharePoint Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint is used across our entire company as file storage and sharing. It's used on all devices and across multiple office locations.
  • Storage.
  • Sharing and rights access. Using it correctly, an organization can create a proper hierarchy of rights and access for folders. Also, sharing allows the ability to share access to files without the need to attach the actual file to an email. This helps when a document is later updated - you do not have to resend an email, as the document updates will be reflected to all shared users.
  • Backup and security.
  • Ease of use. Some things are just too complicated.
  • Setting up rights and shared folders. The setup process is not clear and very difficult to control. It's very hard to see who has access to what and if there's an error or a user should or not being seeing a folder they may not have permissions for.
  • Sharing and version control.
It's perfect for sharing large files without having to email attachments. However, if sending to external parties, sometimes a user doesn't have rights or cannot get access in time.
Read Adam Litvack's full review
Andrew Schulz | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

MS SharePoint Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint primarily for document library sharing and we have a few workflow processes in place that help with document review and processing. It allows us to have a single source for shared documents, calendar and scheduling of tasks. We are still in the process of migrating our internal file shares to SharePoint, so we don't have full adoption yet.
  • Document libraries is one feature we use most. It allow us to easily organize our files into subs and secure and share them as needed.
  • Work flows are very useful as well. We have a process for Capital Expense Requests (CER) that go through a series of approvals before finally hitting the CFO for final approval. This is very valuable as it tracks the process and allows us to report on it as well as see progress.
  • OneDrive. We use the file sharing feature which allows you to sync files through OneDrive and easily access those files via OneDrive versus going to a browser and navigating to the share.
  • As an admin, I find the navigation for managing some area's of the site a bit more complicated that it needs to be.
  • Permissions can be done in two ways, by way of SharePoint or integrated with Active Directory. We use this latter and one issue is granular permissions and identifying groups that have access down to the file level. Basically, if there was a way to report on permissions for a hierarchical perspective down to file level for a particular sub it would be helpful.
  • We use SharePoint online and my biggest complaint about that, is the amount of service issues that occur on the hosted service. While I appreciated the constant development and improvements that are being made in the environment, impacting the paying end user as a result is hard to swallow.
For organizations that have several departments that need to share and collaborate with others or interdepartmental, SharePoint meets that need. For smaller orgs that don't have someone that has technical knowledge of SharePoint could find themselves facing more issues that value out of the product.
Read Andrew Schulz's full review
Stephen Wittmaak | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

SharePoint, for when you already pay for Office 365!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SharePoint interdepartmentally to share internal files safely and securely within our Office 365 framework.
  • Integrates well with Windows and Mac machines.
  • Works independently and with other Microsoft applications well.
  • Safe and secure cloud storage for files.
  • There is a bit of a learning curve to onboard new users.
  • Slow workflow.
  • Not a lot of support for apps outside of the Microsoft cosmos.
As a creative, I find SharePoint a bit restrictive, that said from an organizational standpoint, companies already subscribing to the Microsoft Suite can easily adopt it for important document storage and sharing.
Read Stephen Wittmaak's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

SharePoint integrates well with your existing MS infrastructure, but is expensive and clunky

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used for sharing files in a number of different situations, especially departmental documents and forms which can be edited by a number of other users.
  • SharePoint is pretty okay at sharing documents and allowing collaboration
  • The ability to see signatures easily is nice
  • There's been some effort to integrate SharePoint with Office
  • SharePoint is just hella clunky, and much harder to use than other solutions
  • The interface is (still) awful
  • It's also very very expensive
SharePoint is good for workflows, where certain people need to receive\review a document, perhaps in a certain order. Beyond this, I have a hard time recommending it. It's often hard for end-users to get the hang of it, so unless you want to respond to a massive amount of support tickets, training and materials development is a must.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Rene Peels | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Small business SharePoint Cloud Deployment: Small Effort, Large Company Results

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have run several joint projects with business partners. Data exchange and report sharing are always issues since data sets are rather large. Most business associates have had experience with SharePoint so deploying a SharePoint solution for each project has been very successful. Data was easily exchanged, all staff could easily get to information and it served as an information repository for staff entering the project late. Very easy to set up and administer.
  • Many templates available that are easy to deploy.
  • Cloud SharePoint is easy to scale and the managed solution minimizes IT resource requirements.
  • No steep learning curves.
  • It requires some discipline for the users to keep things organized. Some automation templates and features that are easy to deploy could help.
  • Some admin features to have user access expire instead of having to go in and lockout users as projects transition.
  • More sync and backup from cloud to in-house systems.
Has been very successful for us to deploy in projects with external partners. For in house projects we still prefer to use file servers and email.
Read Rene Peels's full review
João Almeida | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

SharePoint greatly improves project management and collaboration

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is utilized across the organization and team. We use it for simple document storage, obviously, but there is so much more it can do. Tagging your documentation with metadata is incredibly useful. It makes finding these documents later much easier and allows for better ways to present documents to the users.
  • Good search capabilities.
  • Sharing documents with external users.
  • Document storage, hands down. Online access and storing a synced copy on a hard drive as well.
  • The user interface could be improved and made more attractive.
  • The public website creation documentation is not that clear.
  • There is the potential for save-conflicts if multiple people edit a document while offline.
Very robust, so not much maintenance is needed if used with built in functionality. Some third party solutions add much more capabilities to out of the box SharePoint for not much of an increase of the price. Very good security, if a little complicated with later editions. Security is handled for you, online access is obviously easy. But even offline syncing of documents to a local machine is possible. And adding metadata tagging on top of this will really make things hum.
Read João Almeida's full review
Jennifer Magoon | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2019

SharePoint works but not intuitive

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT PMO uses SharePoint for each of our projects. Each project has its own site. If there are multiple workstreams in a project, they all have their own subsites. We use it as a document repository primarily. We have recently upgraded to the newer version of SharePoint which is nice, but they did remove some of the functionality I got used to. It is also used across other departments in our organization which does make it nice because if you are on a new project team, the other team members know how to use it.
  • SharePoint is great for version control. By using it as a document repository we are able to see who made the last edit and when.
  • SharePoint has some great "list" features which we use to log project decisions, issues, risks, etc and be able to create charts from the lists so you can easily see all of the statuses.
  • SharePoint does offer the ability to custom organize your pages. It is nice as you don't need to adhere to a standardized template.
  • Calendar feature that syncs with Outlook is not supported in the newer version of SharePoint. We were, however, able to do this with the previous version which was nice.
  • News article feature does not allow you to "follow" it so you don't necessarily know there is something new to look at. Kind of defeats the purpose.
  • Not super intuitive.
  • It is not the easiest for someone to get started. It is not nearly as intuitive as some of the other platforms I have used in the past. I have found that settings hide in different places. For example, something as simple as adding a new column is not just a click, sometimes you have to dig into the site settings or page settings.
SharePoint is great for team collaboration, however, OneDrive and MS Teams can really do all of the same things we use it for. I like that you can create a site template and utilize that for future projects and how you can grant permissions to certain people to view specific things.
Read Jennifer Magoon's full review
Eric Schmieder, PhD, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Satisfied MS SharePoint user

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within our teams the tool is used to manage our documents. The tool improves collaboration by reducing the number email sent/recieved and simplifies communications which speeds up the entire communication process. The tool brings different stakeholders together to manage documents in a single secure location.
  • Enhanced Security
  • Effortless Collaboration
  • Simplified Information Exchange
  • Expensive to license, price is a little high-end since it's per month, per user
  • Poor search capablities
  • employee training is required to gain full benefits of the tool
For checking out documents, working on them, and tracking changes across collaborators; classical document mangement is its greatest strength.
Read Eric Schmieder, PhD, PMP's full review
Susan Hammiche | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Keeping everything securely in one place

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used to access documents across our company. We can add, delete, edit and review anything that has been placed there. It makes it easier to see the documents rather than emailing it every time a change was made or updates are needed. Everything is in one secure place and anybody with granted access can use it. It saves time and the visibility of who accessed what document on what date is helpful in knowing things get done.
  • Easy access with folders and sub-folders.
  • Secure access control with email and password.
  • It's customizable, as you can add your own logo and content to it.
  • Syncing can take sometimes a very long time when starting on a new computer.
  • Visibility of folders, as it would be nice to have different layouts.
  • The time it takes to set it up and integrate.
It is a great collaboration tool that can save you time and money once it's all set up and integrated. It works well for larger organizations as they can create folders, add the documents, and just share links to access them rather than sending each document via email. Updates to documents are saved, but with version control, you can always revert them as you do with other Office Documents. For smaller business, it works as well, but they will have to consider the cost vs value. In meetings, you can easily access the SharePoint folder to get the document you need rather than searching your email.
Read Susan Hammiche's full review
Aditya Gollakota | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2019

SharePoint is the best collaboration and content management system for large enterprises!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint is used daily on reporting and documentation tasks across our on-shore and off-shore teams to remain in sync. SharePoint is used across the whole organization as our primary collaboration space and addresses the need for a large number of people to collaborate on documentation.
  • Familiarity and ease of use
  • Integrated with Office 365
  • Ease of content management
  • Uploading content to SharePoint can be easier
Running an intranet communication platform can be done on SharePoint, where we can create custom web pages for various departments in the organization. It can also be integrated with social platforms like Yammer to host and share content.
Read Aditya Gollakota's full review
Jeff Bachus | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2019

MS SharePoint is a must for every organization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS SharePoint as a way to reach out to our users for communication, tracking, and project management. We have a SharePoint page set up for each department, IT, HR, Finance, etc. Under each specific department, we have designated a person as the "Administrator" for that particular page on SharePoint, and they are being held responsible for maintaining and updating the site as needed.
So far, SharePoint has been a big asset for us in our company, and our users enjoy using it the way it was intended, and always have good feedback.
  • SharePoint integrates well with our Active Directory and allows us to maintain security to it.
  • We have integrated our SRS reporting into SharePoint, and from that we are able to set up subscriptions to reports.
  • Document posting and downloading is a very handy feature for letting end-users know how to do things and post questions if they have any.
  • The look and feel of SharePoint could look and feel a little more "fluent."
  • The color scheme could be a little updated.
  • More customization to your company would be neat too.
SharePoint works well for our company because department administrators can post documents for all the users to be able to see. We also use it as an organization chart, so searching for someone makes it really simple. We also have a section that holds various links to outside websites for people to use. Those websites have been vetted and are safe to use.
Read Jeff Bachus's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2019

Useful if you invest your time into it

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint is a way to manage shared documents for a project. We use it to manage the necessary information for a project so that anyone in the company can go to the SharePoint page to get whatever relevant information they need. This is useful for the engineering and marketing teams to have access to information on all of the projects that we are working on and for projects that have been completed.
  • Shared access to structured web pages.
  • Ability to manage documents.
  • Customization.
  • To utilize it to the fullest, you need to learn a lot about how SharePoint works.
  • It can be a bit sluggish if not optimized.
  • Navigation can also be difficult if not optimized.
MS SharePoint is useful if your company has an employee who knows everything about SharePoint and can customize it to fit the business needs. It provides businesses a way of having an online accessible platform for their employees without having to create one from scratch. However, it takes a lot of effort to really learn everything about SharePoint, so if your company does not have the resources to dedicate to managing SharePoint or does not have a clear vision on how to utilize it, then it can start to become a detriment.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Celeste Rio | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2019

Amazing cloud content management platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SharePoint is used throughout the company. All sectors have their own workspaces where they share documents, programs, files, etc., and also spaces where information is shared with other sectors, for which various access, reading or writing permits are applied based on each need. Each user also decides if they want to have the information synchronized on their device with a copy of the information or only have access to it in the cloud.
  • One of the key points of this cloud content platform is the security and granularity that can be given by user and by folder or file.
  • It handles file versioning very well, this allows you to easily return to an earlier version of the document and recover information that may have been lost.
  • The possibility of synchronizing information or just having access in the cloud is essential to not occupy local space on each device.
  • The searches within the web are not very friendly, definitely, this is a point of improvement.
  • If you decide to synchronize the files on the device, this slows it down and generates high internet consumption.
  • It would be ideal to be able to incorporate encryption handling each company the keys.
Microsoft Share Point is very useful as an enterprise content platform. It allows you to store all types of files and share them with whoever you want, giving them the corresponding permission. For the management of projects, it is essential to have such a platform, to be able to document everything that happens in the life cycle of the same and that the entire team has access to this.
Read Celeste Rio's full review
Matthew Kuc | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Sharepoint is great for file organization for team and department websites

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Sharepoint is currently being used across our entire organization for an internal Intranet. We use sharepoint extensively. It helps our business to stay organized and streamlines projects.
  • Enables teams to collaborate more closely
  • Great for organizing shared files and folders
  • Creating team sites with specific documents and information for the particular team
  • Better UI improvements
  • More wizard driven so end users have have less of a learning curve
  • Better API support for 3rd party software vendors
Great for team folders and organizing files. Creating team and department sites for collaboration.
Sharepoint is not meant to be a front facing website. It's great at a internal company site.
Read Matthew Kuc's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Abandon Hope, All Ye Who Log In...

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My agency has made the profoundly regrettable decision of adopting Microsoft software across departments to be our unified platform for everything from word processing to help desk tickets. SharePoint is (intended as) the lynchpin of this ecosystem, giving each department and program a page to host documents, workflows, news, and so forth, so any time you as an employee want to identify a procedure or locate a document it should be on SharePoint somewhere.
  • There isn't much that SharePoint does better than it's competition. Actually, I'm having trouble coming up with a single example. It's our only choice if your business has already committed irrevocably to using MS products.
  • Document+page links aren't persistent as files are re-organized, re-named, or have sharing settings adjusted
  • Constant performance issues from MS servers, this quarter there have already been two days when the system was essentially offline for most of the business day
I will, and have, gone out of my way to make sure friends who have a choice in these matters don't end up committing to MS environment. The only time anyone should be using this software is if they have an employer who is forcing the MS suite on the business, there really isn't another use case I can suggest this for in good faith.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Jack of All Trades, Master of None

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used as our enterprise-wide file sharing and general purpose collaboration space solution. It's intended to replace network folders and serve as an intranet for people outside of a team to familiarize themselves with the team's content and processes.
  • I wouldn't say SharePoint does any one thing particularly well, but rather does everything ok.
  • It's a very open environment so it can be used in any number of ways depending on a team's needs and structure.
  • This makes it a good enterprise-wide tool because you can require teams with varying technical capabilities and business requirements to use SharePoint and it will accommodate them.
  • It offers file-sharing, messaging, security controls and integrates well with all of Microsoft's other products like Excel, Word and PowerPoint.
  • Navigation is painful and it would be nice to be able to search all documents and text. Better search in general would be great.
  • Its so customizable that its hard to really know the best way to do something. Based on how whoever built a page chose to accomplish something, your means of accessing the data can vary so it's a bit of a headache trying to get to information you want. It's never good when technology gets in the way of business.
  • The lists can be frustrating to use and are like an underpowered spreadsheet.
Please describe some specific scenarios where MS SharePoint is well suited, and/or scenarios where it is less appropriate.
It's a good general purpose platform that you could use when collaborating with other, outside companies (vendors, partners) and even across teams in the same company it does serve a purpose. The highly customizable security privileges makes it nice when you have sensitive info or areas. It's good for simple projects and short-term projects.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

The Power of SharePoint Is High and the Relative Cost of SharePoint Is Low

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used across the organization. We use it for simple document storage, obviously, but there is so much more it can do. Tagging your documentation with metadata is incredibly useful. It makes finding these documents later much easier and allows for better ways to present documents to the users. And we use SharePoint for various ad-hoc line-of-business applications. Security is solid and also allows sharing with external users outside of our company.
  • Document storage, hands down. Online access and storing a synced copy on a hard drive as well. And this is much improved from years ago.
  • Ad-hoc, line of business applications. Automation via workflow. Mobile access via PowerApps. All easy to get started with.
  • Sharing news to a team or across an organization.
  • Sharing documents with external users.
  • Document version control is also incredibly useful.
  • If you're already paying for Office 365, many of their licensing levels already include SharePoint. So you might as well use it!
  • I've found external users occasionally need assistance walking through the process of getting access. But this is much rarer now than even a couple years ago. But it still happens once in a while.
  • There is the potential for save-conflicts if multiple people edit a document while offline. Again, rare, but could happen. But that's the price you have to pay for the online availability, the local storage, etc.
  • To get the full benefit of SharePoint, you really want someone how is an expert. You can quickly get started using some of the functionality, but it's such a powerful tool, you should have someone dedicated to learning it and managing it internally or use an outside consultant. Again, you can get simple usage on your own, but for full usage of what's there, an expert is recommended. But learning it on your own, internally, is certainly possible. I just recommend making that the person's job, and not just an added responsibility along with a hundred other things.
Again, document storage. I can't say this enough. Online storage for an individual (technically OneDrive, but SharePoint under the covers). But also very useful for a team. Microsoft Teams uses SharePoint under the covers for file storage as well. And so does Office 365 Groups. It just makes that old fashioned file share obsolete in so many instances. Security is handled for you, online access is obviously easy. But even off-line syncing of documents to a local machine is possible. And adding metadata tagging on top of this will really make things hum. And also specific, in-house, ad-hoc, line-of-business applications. SharePoint can handle so many different scenarios. And its built-in connections with Flow and PowerApps makes this process even more powerful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Collaborate With SharePoint

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is the storage and shared area for all documents, spreadsheets, etc. used by the entire company. This provides a safe location that others can get to as well. We do have a separate SharePoint folder for each department as well which provides an area for each specific department without cluttering the lives of the other departments/teams.
  • Sharing documents.
  • Providing revision history.
  • Safe repository.
  • Collaboration between users.
  • Live collaboration keeping all in-sync.
  • Users can get confused if they are editing a local copy or the SharePoint copy.
  • If a document gets out of sync, you have to realize it, then find the revision history. Makes sense, but still can be hard for some users.
  • SharePoint feels heavy at times.
MS SharePoint is well suited when you don't want someone's hard drive crash to slow down business. Keeping all files safe and backed up is the only way to do business. Also, when you want several people to open a document over a phone meeting, and have everyone see each other's comments and edits, SharePoint makes that possible.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

SharePoint And Teams Play Well Together

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint is used across the entire organization, with MS Teams primarily as the front-end product. It helps address our company's collaboration problem.
  • SharePoint is great at serving as a document library for your teams/organizations.
  • It has particularly good search features.
  • It does a good job of keeping document history, using it's version control features.
  • It's fairly easy to learn how to develop SharePoint pages/sites with little to know prior knowledge of the tool.
  • It needs to be properly set up and configured. Additionally, it requires constant adjustments for it to give the best results to the end-users viewing the content.
  • The mobile application could use much further maturing. Often times, this maps back to my first point.
  • Everything in SharePoint depends on site columns and content types. There seems to be no way around this. Either accept it or pick another collaboration tool.
It can be a useful tool, but allowing too many users to create content can cause things to get out of control. However, allow too few users to create content, and user adoption will likely never take off.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

SharePoint as a customizable business enabler for non-techincal users

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize SharePoint across the organization for collaboration, file storage, and custom apps. Teams use SharePoint sites as their landing page to advertise their services and points of contact. Many teams utilize forms and SharePoint workflow to intake work and/or initiate & track business processes. Teams, departments, groups, and projects also utilize file storage and sharing capabilities for collaborative efforts and information sharing.
  • SharePoint is a great file storage tool for collaborating and sharing documents.
  • SharePoint allows business users to create collaborative efforts without having to have vast technical knowledge.
  • SharePoint allows for the easy creation of dynamic portals that can pull information from numerous sources and present in numerous formats.
  • The native SharePoint permissions model could be made to be simpler.
  • Development techniques to extend base SharePoint functionality could be simpler and more examples would be nice too.
  • More rendering options and controls are always welcome.
SharePoint is great for creating simple dynamic web portals for team, project, and even cross-organizational collaborations. It allows average business users to create useful forms, lists, libraries, and portals for collaborations. I recommend an SP site for every project, effort, and team - they are lightweight and easy to create and maintain (and delete if desired).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (118)
7.4
Gantt Charts (81)
6.5
Scheduling (109)
7.1
Workflow Automation (118)
7.7
Mobile Access (115)
7.5
Search (143)
7.4
Visual planning tools (103)
7.2
Chat (81)
7.0
Notifications (127)
7.4
Discussions (111)
7.4
Surveys (89)
7.1
Internal knowledgebase (125)
7.6
Integrates with GoToMeeting (43)
6.8
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (40)
6.4
Integrates with Outlook (125)
8.5
Versioning (132)
8.3
Video files (119)
7.6
Audio files (115)
7.7
Document collaboration (146)
8.5
Access control (143)
8.2
Advanced security features (127)
7.9
Integrates with Google Drive (44)
7.0
Device sync (96)
8.0

About MS SharePoint

MS SharePoint / SQL refers to Microsoft Sharepoint, a web-based collaborative platform, being used in tandem with Microsoft SQL Server to provide business intelligence analytics and reporting. They can provide BI content such as data connections, reports, scorecards, dashboards, and more.

With Sharepoint, users can share files, data, news, and resources. Sites can be customized to streamline teams’ work. Team members can collaborate inside and outside the organization, across PCs, Macs, and mobile devices.

Sharepoint also supports the ability to discover data, expertise, and insights to inform decisions and guide action. SharePoint’s content management features, along with connections and conversations surfaced in Yammer, enable organizations to maximize their velocity of knowledge.

Users can also accelerate productivity by transforming processes—from tasks like notifications and approvals to operational workflows. With SharePoint lists and libraries, Microsoft Flow, and PowerApps, they can create digital experiences with forms, workflows, and custom apps for every device.

MS SharePoint Integrations

Atlassian Confluence, OneSpan Sign (formerly eSignLive)

MS SharePoint Competitors

MS SharePoint Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No