TrustRadius
Microsoft SharePoint is usually considered an internal content management product, but it also features web content management capabilities for managing external website content. SharePoint is a very broadly adopted solution and competes successfully with Oracle, EMC Documentum and OpenText in the ECM space. It is also a collaboration platform and, in this context, competes with IBM's Collaboration platform (Lotus) and products like Novell Teaming and Jive Team Collaboration.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/kA/2M/MTL0RZL1QRTR.PNGGreat Collaboration ToolMicrosoft Sharepoint is being used throughout our company as a way to share documents, templates, etc. and update them in real time so everyone has access to the most current version of forms or documents. It addresses the problem of having multiple templates for the same type of document and allows for consistency throughout our organization.,Collaboration on documents Consistency throughout our organization Quickly and easily share real-time documents throughout various company locations and platforms,A more updated/modern site A little more organization instead of everything being right in one section,7,Positive that it has given us consistency throughout the organization Real time document updates allow for less lag time when working on a project Better collaboration,,Procore, GoToMeeting, Skype for Business (formerly Lync)Perfect document management system!MS Sharepoint replaced our team's Google Drive/Drop Box. It became the web-based app to manage and host our collective work on our documents and to help us to work in collaboration. Since it is part of the Microsoft suite, it worked with other Office products for productivity, which as a team we all already used.,Collaboration Team work Document sharing Hosting Microsoft Office,Needs to be easier to find/install Not marketed, like at all,9,Reduce emails (documents are collaborated on in real-time online) Increase productivity,,Microsoft Azure, Microsoft 365 Business, Novi Survey, Blue Enterprise Surveys, ProProfs Survey Maker, NUVI, Hootsuite Free, Qualtrics, Acronis True Image, Blue Planet Emulation Cloud, CreditForceSharepoint as an enterprise document management systemSharePoint is used as the core repository for both business and project documentation. This includes high volumes of documentation as well as electronic forms and workflows. We automate the creation of projects and the taxonomy associated with those projects to provide a common platform that is largely consistent across the company.,A strong user interface that is easy to use and learn. This reduces the learning curve and alleviates support load. Provides flexibility for us to configure custom pages and forms without the need for development. Has a great ecosystem of skilled resources which are available to us when we need specific expertise or talents.,SharePoint's handling of large files is poor and presents challenges in our Project environment Handling of large volumes of files associated to a single project is very poor and there are limited options to improve this. Performance when accessing and downloading files can be poor and there are limited options for caching and other methods to improve this.,7,The ability to design and deploy a common information platform has been very productive Challenges associated with storing large volumes of documents have negatively impacted our ability to succeed The speed of deployment of new sites is very positive and enhances our returns,,Deltek Vision, OneDrive, Nintex PlatformSharePoint integration with MS OfficeWe are using MS SharePoint mainly as a document management system. We are using it in the whole organization and it helps very much to exchange and work on the same documents-- this version is very helpful when you work on agreements or any other documents where more than one person edits and has to verify the changes of the other persons,versioning integrations with MS Office -- best working at the same time on a document,The organization of the menu surfability I'm not a fan of SharePoint's lists,8,improve document management and save time improve project collaboration,,Umbraco CMSMS SharePoint - Encourages Collaborative MeetingsAs a multinational education organization with offices in Cardiff, Singapore, the Hague, and Washington DC, we use Sharepoint to share and update meeting agendas, collaborate on projects, to track issues and bugs for our IT department and shared systems, and to create and edit process documents that are accessible from anywhere in the world.,Access, edit, or update shared documents from any computer connected to the internet. Access version histories to revert to previous state from unwanted edits Easy to navigate between multiple projects and notebooks,Implementation and the initial training was difficult across divided offices scattered around the globe. Not the best functionality in editing from mobile devices and phones Slow to sync with the latest versions and edits when accessing from non-office networks.,8,Improved our ability to collaborate across offices Version histories have saved projects in emergencies Adoption was a slow process across our offices, leading to a slow realization of all benefits.,Salesforce for Nonprofits, Cvent Event Management, WebEx Meetings
Unspecified
MS SharePoint
1197 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

MS SharePoint Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
MS SharePoint
1197 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1199 vetted MS SharePoint reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 108)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Erica Weiner profile photo
January 16, 2019

MS SharePoint Review: "Great Collaboration Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Sharepoint is being used throughout our company as a way to share documents, templates, etc. and update them in real time so everyone has access to the most current version of forms or documents. It addresses the problem of having multiple templates for the same type of document and allows for consistency throughout our organization.
  • Collaboration on documents
  • Consistency throughout our organization
  • Quickly and easily share real-time documents throughout various company locations and platforms
  • A more updated/modern site
  • A little more organization instead of everything being right in one section
It is great for collaborating on a single document when there are multiple users at different locations and to update the document in a live time version so all users have the most current document with all the changes and the ability to make changes within a project team. It allows for consistency throughout an organization
Read Erica Weiner's full review
Jared Hansen profile photo
January 08, 2019

MS SharePoint Review: "Perfect document management system!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS Sharepoint replaced our team's Google Drive/Drop Box. It became the web-based app to manage and host our collective work on our documents and to help us to work in collaboration. Since it is part of the Microsoft suite, it worked with other Office products for productivity, which as a team we all already used.
  • Collaboration
  • Team work
  • Document sharing
  • Hosting
  • Microsoft Office
  • Needs to be easier to find/install
  • Not marketed, like at all
Well suited: Teamwork, collaboration in the cloud, especially if you are already using Office apps. Perfect for Windows users, but still manageable with other platforms. Perfect for content creation (writing especially).

Less suited: MacOS or Linux would be better suited with other productivity teamwork apps (even if you have an Office 360 subscription).
Read Jared Hansen's full review
Gordon Reid profile photo
January 04, 2019

MS SharePoint Review: "Sharepoint as an enterprise document management system"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used as the core repository for both business and project documentation. This includes high volumes of documentation as well as electronic forms and workflows. We automate the creation of projects and the taxonomy associated with those projects to provide a common platform that is largely consistent across the company.
  • A strong user interface that is easy to use and learn. This reduces the learning curve and alleviates support load.
  • Provides flexibility for us to configure custom pages and forms without the need for development.
  • Has a great ecosystem of skilled resources which are available to us when we need specific expertise or talents.
  • SharePoint's handling of large files is poor and presents challenges in our Project environment
  • Handling of large volumes of files associated to a single project is very poor and there are limited options to improve this.
  • Performance when accessing and downloading files can be poor and there are limited options for caching and other methods to improve this.
Lower volumes of data where there is heavy user access to that data are well supported.
The rapid development of sites and forms for specific purposes is excellent.
Integration with business workflows can be very strong
Read Gordon Reid's full review
Jakub Wilk profile photo
December 27, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "SharePoint integration with MS Office"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MS SharePoint mainly as a document management system. We are using it in the whole organization and it helps very much to exchange and work on the same documents-- this version is very helpful when you work on agreements or any other documents where more than one person edits and has to verify the changes of the other persons
  • versioning
  • integrations with MS Office -- best
  • working at the same time on a document
  • The organization of the menu
  • surfability
  • I'm not a fan of SharePoint's lists
MS SharePoint is the best solution as a document management system ever. There is competition from Gsuite, and it will be very strong competition as it has more and more users in the mobile world. It's a pity that Microsoft doesn't have their own mobile system, because in the long-term scenario it could make Gsuite stronger
Read Jakub Wilk's full review
Geoffrey Seiler profile photo
December 18, 2018

Review: "MS SharePoint - Encourages Collaborative Meetings"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a multinational education organization with offices in Cardiff, Singapore, the Hague, and Washington DC, we use Sharepoint to share and update meeting agendas, collaborate on projects, to track issues and bugs for our IT department and shared systems, and to create and edit process documents that are accessible from anywhere in the world.
  • Access, edit, or update shared documents from any computer connected to the internet.
  • Access version histories to revert to previous state from unwanted edits
  • Easy to navigate between multiple projects and notebooks
  • Implementation and the initial training was difficult across divided offices scattered around the globe.
  • Not the best functionality in editing from mobile devices and phones
  • Slow to sync with the latest versions and edits when accessing from non-office networks.
MS SharePoint is great for organizations with global offices or stakeholders who regularly collaborate on projects through video and online meetings, or through shared projects. Works well if all offices have similar relationship and familiarity with the MS suite of products. Definitely requires assistance from a professional to implement across your organization.
Read Geoffrey Seiler's full review
Sirish Vadala profile photo
December 12, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Makes Life Easier..."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sharepoint enables us to monitor, collect and analyze critical business data from desktops, smartphones or any Internet-enabled devices in order to achieve an accurate view of business operations.
  • Extremely convenient to collaborate effectively by setting up websites for sharing information related to projects.
  • Enables users to manage documents with interactive dashboards and graphs to analyze organizational needs.
  • Easy to customize, providing options to edit components and create your own custom applications to suit your organization.
  • Simple and well integrated tool providing data integrity from unauthorized use.
  • Some times the application freezes and locks up. However, this could be due to the network configuration from my organizations end.
  • Excessive features can sometimes be overwhelming and difficult to locate.
  • Loading the calendars is sometimes slow and freezes. Also configuring security is slightly complicated unless you are a SharePoint developer.
Extremely well suited when interacting with a large audience. Easy to build a portal and customize for each set of users. Not well suited when speed is of the essence. Sometimes loading the calendars is pretty slow.
Read Sirish Vadala's full review
Trent Kenelly, DTM profile photo
December 11, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "SharePoint - An Enterprise Perspective"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SharePoint for the repository of legal, admin and operations data, files, processes, graphs and charts. It is a system of record for our business and is vital to the running of a data center. We run in a cluster environment, vmed in our corporate web cluster. We have specific groups, sites and calendars based upon the business unit.
  • Document storage
  • PTO Calendars
  • Sites with sub sites with specific requirements
  • Multi user edits
  • Check in and out process
  • Versioning of documents
  • User integration with Hybrid 365 environments
  • If your organization needs a document repository, SharePoint is a good fit.
  • If your organization needs integrated calendar functionality with active directory, SharePoint is a good fit.
  • If your organization needs active sites and subsites with specific security roles, SharePoint is a good fit.
  • If your organization needs multi user edits, there are much better applications.
  • If your organization does a lot of versioning and dynamic applications, I would not suggest SharePoint.
Read Trent Kenelly, DTM's full review
David Gerhardson, CSCP profile photo
November 25, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "How we use SharePoint"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint is being used in our organization as our Intranet. It is used in nearly every department. MS SharePoint addresses business problems in many different departments. It allows multiple users from different departments to collaborate on the same document. We also have had success using it for training documentation, internal calendars, and some document management.
  • It is a very strong intranet
  • Calendar is robust and can be configured
  • Ability to store and navigate to shared documents.
  • Configuration is costly
  • Configuration is expensive
As mentioned earlier, MS SharePoint is a very powerful intranet. It has full functionality for different areas of responsibility in different departments. As with any software configuration and implementation are keys to success. Our use case for MS SharePoint could be vastly different from what other organizations are choosing.
Read David Gerhardson, CSCP's full review
Stefan Trbojevic profile photo
November 05, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Point where you can Share."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint is being used as a main Knowledgebase across my organization. We have all important documents and procedures uploaded to MS SharePoint so everyone can find them easily. For every Client, we have a separate SP page and all the necessary information about the client is there, so it's easy to share information about particular Client and procedures with your colleagues.
  • Versioning is great. You can make any document eligible for version history option and whenever something wrong happens to the document you can revert it back to a previous state.
  • Sorting documents - there are a ton of great options how to sort documents for example, by date, by client, by name etc.
  • Quick editing - It is really easy to edit any page on SharePoint or upload a new document to the repository which makes MS SharePoint really an efficient platform for building Knowledgebase purposes.
  • Pre-made Templates - There aren't that many options to choose the layout of your page, there is just a couple of them and I consider that this is not something that is hard to be implemented therefore I'm not that much amazed by template selection.
  • Browser support - MS SharePoint runs great in MS Edge, but with Chrome, you can experience a couple of bugs here and there. For example, you cannot view spreadsheets or any kind of document online in a browser, but instead, you would have to download that file and open it locally if using Chrome. On the other hand, however, Edge works flawlessly.
MS SharePoint is great for maintaining a knowledgebase, but not for that reason only, also for its versatility. The great thing about SP is that you can have a different page for every Client and you can store all the relevant information there. You can provide people with access to certain pages or decline them. The only downside about MS SP is lack of pre-made templates to be used when creating a page from scratch no option for format painter as in MS Word which would be really helpful to quickly format the look of the page to your standards.
Read Stefan Trbojevic's full review
Julianna Beaver profile photo
September 14, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Collaboration for the Organization Hackers!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire company that I work for uses MS SharePoint. It is a great collaboration tool and is nice to have a central hub for common documents, announcements, etc. We have one central location where you can access all the SharePoints throughout the company and it is helpful when first joining or just working with a new team. Most teams across the organization use the tool and more and more are adopting it.
  • It is easy to use and you can be simple or do advanced coding
  • It has a document library that you can use similar to a shared drive, but it also monitors when updates were made and only allows a single user to edit at one particular time
  • It allows you to create different user groups with varying levels of permissions
  • If you want to make it look extra nice, you need coding experience and it's very hard to add that nice extra touch without it
  • I wish that they had more templates to build off of when first creating it
  • I am never able to open it in Chrome and IE is very slow on this website causing sessions to time out quickly
If you are looking for a site to save any comment documents such as policies, legal documents, templates...the list goes on and on...this is the tool for you! Although coding experience would be helpful for advanced features, you can do everything you would need to do with the normal features that are already build in. If you have a team that needs access to different levels of documents, this is a great tool because of the permissions feature. However, if you are a very large company, you should think about how many of these sites you would like as it could get to the point where you could make too many.
Read Julianna Beaver's full review
Sharon Oakes profile photo
December 26, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "A Newbie's view of SharePoint and how I wish we used it better"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS SharePoint is used by our Coalition as the primary source of storing and sharing files with the Office of Early Learning.
  • Secure exchange of sensitive information
  • Ability to upload multiple documents at a time
  • Collaboration and Group Sharing
  • The use of dashboards is something that I experienced some difficulty with, but that could be solved with additional training
MS SharePoint has lots of capability and can be a great tool if you commit to using it to its full potential. Works well with multiple office locations and departments, but is probably not as needed for small businesses.
Read Sharon Oakes's full review
Michael J. Towle profile photo
August 29, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "SharePoint - A great tool for companies looking to streamline document storage and collaboration for both internal and secure external access"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the tool internally to share documents and relevant information between various teams within the company. We also occasionally use the tool's secure link format to share documents with prospects and customers that are simply too large to be sent via email. The tool is fairly easy to use in both aforementioned scenarios.
  • Document sharing
  • User access controls
  • Mobile access
  • Format of site is fairly sterile and not quite as dynamic as one would hope
  • The tool is able to connect with other MS products fairly easily, but collaboration with other tools that are not made by Microsoft would be ideal
  • Uploading documents is fairly quick, but when multiple files are selected, sometimes the upload times lag a bit and take a while to update properly; on more than one occassion, I've simply restarted the entire import because I was not positive that everything had actually loaded properly into SharePoint from my desktop.
When companies are looking for a secure means of storing and sharing a wide variety of documents types in a centralized repository, SharePoint provides an ideal tool that has the brand strength and ease of use often associated with Microsoft products. The tool is able to be accessed by mobile devices, and it provides a fairly simple means of accessing data on the fly when it matters.
Read Michael J. Towle's full review
Guillermo Villamizar profile photo
August 28, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Great Collaboration Platform!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As of today, we are using the SharePoint platform across the whole organization. On the SharePoint platform we are offering several services, such as: corporate intranet, MS Project Server, BI reports, One Drive for Business, a module for Learning Management System (LMS) and an internal messaging tool (somewhat like MailChimp).
  • It's a 100% collaborative platform.
  • It's easy to share files and documents between users in the organization, so they can modify them and upload them again for continued sharing.
  • The scalability of the platform is one of it's best features, you can add new functions as you need them.
  • It requires a robust infrastructure for optimal performance of the services.
  • The configuration of some of the services can be quite complex.
  • The licensing can be a little expensive, and increases as you add servers.
I recommend using the MS Sharepoint platform across large enterprises that requires document sharing, generation of Business Intelligence reports, etc. keeping the information centralized with the possibility of multiple simultaneous access to the information. It's best suited for organizations that use Active Directory. Medium and little enterprises may struggle with the pricey licensing of Sharepoint.
Read Guillermo Villamizar's full review
Eliz Marvic Melicio Carvajal profile photo
August 20, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Improving the organization with MS Share Point"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In these moments, we find a pilot test in a department of the production area. We are automating several processes that are key in the company. Up to now, we have made significant changes, improving product review time, reducing project delays. It is an excellent tool, but you must have people trained in the implementation to ensure that the change in the company is simple and taken without much rejection by end users.
  • It is a versatile tool, it allows creating workflows that support and streamline project management. It allows you to create documents and carry out your change control. You can establish checkpoints of the revision which makes it more efficient to know who has the document, how long the process lasted and send the client the document with the latest version.
  • It is part of the Office platform and integrates with other MS applications, which makes it easy for users.
  • From the point of view of performance and security, SharePoint is the best product for any organization.
  • To implement it in small companies is expensive because it requires a specialized technical support team to configure to measure, manage and ensure that the tool runs without a problem.
  • It is not easy to configure custom forms. There are some lists that are inflexible. To search efficiently, you need a lot of internal customization.
  • It takes a lot of time to achieve the personalization of the application, since it requires a lot of configuration and training of the staff, added to the development effort to achieve the correct configuration.
  • If you require a single intranet, SharePoint is an excellent option.
  • Create electronic forms which decrease the use of paper, it is very easy to share files and information throughout the organization, which improves collaboration between departments.
  • Because it is an MS tool, it connects the SharePoint calendars with the Outlook calendar.
  • It is suitable when the company has offices in several countries since synchronizing SharePoint content is one of its best features.
Read Eliz Marvic Melicio Carvajal's full review
Stanislava Pavlovic profile photo
August 17, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Important Files keeper."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SharePoint is being used as our main knowledge base. We have all our important documents stored in one place. SharePoint is the home of all the important documentation and procedures and that way we can easily find anything that we need. Constant revision and version changes are no more a problem with great versioning options of MS SharePoint.
  • Create independent pages for certain topics and documents.
  • Maintain and update current knowledge base without particular problems.
  • Choose the default look of the MS SP page.
  • It could use a few more templates to choose from when creating a new page from scratch.
  • Mobile phone app asks for constant security verification which can be annoying sometimes when you need to get something from MS SP quickly.
SharePoint is great at storing important documentation and saving and maintaining them on their servers. Its integration with all the MS Office apps is just great, not to mention the option to synchronize your SharePoint pages with OneDrive and have all your files available offline, or just simply upload documents to SharePoint via OneDrive.

The downside of SharePoint would be lack of customization options for your SP page, there is not that many templates and tools to make your pages stand out from the rest.
Read Stanislava Pavlovic's full review
Julio A Rivas profile photo
August 17, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "The collaboration software for collaboration teams in an Office environment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used by the Engineering department of my company, and it is very interesting to have a focused web page to search all the documents we're working on in any moment. Our staff is invited to collaborate on production of all the documents we need to complete on-schedule. With this process, we learned to save the files on the OneDrive cloud with order and efficiency. This helped us save time, as opposed to working on just one file and reviewing it. To work with this product, we have Office 365 for E3. Most of the documents are managed with MS Word and Excel, for use in the office, and when sent are saved as PDFs.
  • Staff collaboration is very easy
  • Saving on the OneDrive and on the computer
  • Focuses the collaboration team on one web page
  • Allows you to note the scheduled time and control of delivery
  • Allows you to notice which documents are left that need to be finished or reviewed
  • Allows you to notice the schedule completion and administrative communications
  • The installation of the software needs an IT specialist; the software should be more user friendly for the price
  • On a daily basis, we use a minimal part of what we see on the specifications; it needs to be more easy to use for some functions
  • Some clients have other email accounts besides outlook, and with them is a little difficult to share some information that needs some feedback
The most well suited scenario is when we are working on a project and all the collaborators are doing their particular projects based on the engineering business. Everyone of them participates on the project and edits every one of the documents needed to complete it, even with the final reviewing. The least appropriate scenario is when the collaborators are working on a remote basis, so the access to the cloud doesn't give the same effect--the files can't be opened and appreciated with their full graphics and formatting. This aspects depends on the Office software each person is using on their own computers.
Read Julio A Rivas's full review
Timothy Sawah profile photo
August 03, 2018

Review: "MS SharePoint in higher education environment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MS SharePoint in two main areas at a higher ed institution:
1- We implement student portal on MS SharePoint. A student can log in to his portal to view calendar, library, upcoming events, grades ( through integration with Banner), cafeteria, residence hall. Students can also customize and publish their own profile page which is used for class collaboration.
2- As staff, we use MS SharePoint for procurement workflows. We can add/modify a purchase request which is customized to go through an approval workflow through IT, Finance and Procurement. It provides email notifications and highly customizable.

We have SharePoint servers running on a VMware cluster.
  • It is highly customizable. It can be customized to support most business processes in HR, procurement, and supply chain.
  • It integrates with a single-sign-on system in place, like Active Directory or Tivoli LDAP.
  • It costs way less than Oracle solutions, with special offers for higher education.
  • It's supported on VMWare and HyperV.
  • Runs on SQL databases which are not the best in terms of reliability and security.
  • Runs on Windows servers which requires updates and restarts.
  • the server farm needs to include at least 4 VMs with 24GB RAM each to handle traffic from 2000 users simultaneously.
It is great for schools, higher education, and small to medium businesses. It is an excellent deal for businesses with Microsoft agreements as it will be a major cost saving solution. It can be initially tested for a document management solution. With a strong DBA and dev team, it can be customized in-house for procurement services and staff/customer portals.

I do not recommend using it in banks and financial institutions with sensitive data and complicated workflows.
Read Timothy Sawah's full review
Rachel Robinson profile photo
August 03, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Sharepoint - effective collaboration tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is being used company-wide to share information in regards to our projects. It is being used as a plan room where we, as a general contractor, can collaborate with the owner and our subcontractors in an efficient way.
  • Organization of files.
  • Ease of use - user-friendly.
  • Safe to use with confidential information.
  • SharePoint could have more sub-headings. It will only go down certain levels.
  • The bulk upload feature should come standard.
SharePoint seems well suited to the construction industry. I do not think it would be well suited for solely file sharing.
Read Rachel Robinson's full review
No photo available
November 28, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Jack of All Trades, Master of None"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used as our enterprise-wide file sharing and general purpose collaboration space solution. It's intended to replace network folders and serve as an intranet for people outside of a team to familiarize themselves with the team's content and processes.
  • I wouldn't say SharePoint does any one thing particularly well, but rather does everything ok.
  • It's a very open environment so it can be used in any number of ways depending on a team's needs and structure.
  • This makes it a good enterprise-wide tool because you can require teams with varying technical capabilities and business requirements to use SharePoint and it will accommodate them.
  • It offers file-sharing, messaging, security controls and integrates well with all of Microsoft's other products like Excel, Word and PowerPoint.
  • Navigation is painful and it would be nice to be able to search all documents and text. Better search in general would be great.
  • Its so customizable that its hard to really know the best way to do something. Based on how whoever built a page chose to accomplish something, your means of accessing the data can vary so it's a bit of a headache trying to get to information you want. It's never good when technology gets in the way of business.
  • The lists can be frustrating to use and are like an underpowered spreadsheet.
Please describe some specific scenarios where MS SharePoint is well suited, and/or scenarios where it is less appropriate.
It's a good general purpose platform that you could use when collaborating with other, outside companies (vendors, partners) and even across teams in the same company it does serve a purpose. The highly customizable security privileges makes it nice when you have sensitive info or areas. It's good for simple projects and short-term projects.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: ""Share"point"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is used to house company documents and policies. Departmental pages are used for documents pertaining to that department. Users within departments are responsible for the management of the content within their pages. Common links are also on the page for easy access to outside vendors/references for our users. Departmental calendars are also maintained in SharePoint.
  • Departmental calendars are great. We post individual events as well as product upgrades/outages. Nice to be able to see it all in a glance.
  • Managing departmental documents is easy and keeps everything in one place for organizational purposes.
  • Shared documents such as HR policies works well so all employees have easy access to them.
  • Security and management can sometimes be cumbersome.
  • Requires training for configuration upkeep.
  • Expensive solution.
Central repository for all company data to be shared with employees. Can also restrict areas if not all employees should be allowed to view confidential data. Setting up any kind of workflow or anything other than storing documents in SharePoint can be complicated and time-consuming. If you don't have training and several staff to manage SharePoint, it can be difficult.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 29, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Sharepoint offers more than just a central repository to organizations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sharepoint is being used by the organization as a central repository for company news and files. It is a center for HR to keep employee paperwork, and also setup with sub directories for project and client specific engagements.
  • Provide a central location to store company files
  • Provide a framework of organization for what would otherwise be localized, chaotic
  • Provide an easy to use solution that employees can adapt to quickly
  • The UI is becoming a bit dated; an overhaul would be welcome.
  • Some of the functionality and features are clunkier than others.
  • The product is very dynamic and has many functions. To learn the true extent of what SP can do, you should take the time to read and watch tutorials and videos. This is not a con per say, but it does require some deliberate learning efforts to do more than scratch the surface.
Sharepoint is appropriate for all organizations of all sizes that require a central repository or intranet for employees.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 02, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "Great for big team collaboration, work on searchability"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SharePoint is being used across the organization for uses such as document libraries, communicating business-wide information, and individual sites for project offices and teams. It helps with communication in a large organization with the customization it offers.
  • Site creation
  • Upload capabilities
  • Version controls
  • Search ability is lacking
  • The need to tag documents to find them as a group
  • Small pool of customer service people
  • Need for staff to be trained in order to fix problems vs. traditional IT
Suited for large organizations with need for communications that is large scale. Not as good for databases and places where searchability through large sets of files is key to success.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 12, 2018

Review: "MS Sharepoint is great if you use MS office"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We host our intranet on MS SharePoint. Each department has their own site and is managed by the department. It's useful for new users to see what each department is about. We also use SharePoint for file sharing and storage.
  • Microsoft standard features were adequate setting up the intranet.
  • Cross department collaboration and file sharing/editing.
  • Online editing for Microsoft Office documents
  • MS Office online editing isn't as spontaneous as Google Drive.
  • MS SharePoint online refreshing time isn't the fastest
  • SharePoint site loading isn't smooth. Modules aren't loaded at once. Some menus load at a different pace, makes the site loading transition rough.
Great for a smaller company for file sharing and office intranet.
Read this authenticated review
Jessalyn Ka profile photo
June 22, 2018

Review: "MS SharePoint for a user and content uploader - it is GREAT!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint across all departments within our organization. It is used as a permanent repository for many of our important documents (Contracts, Constitution and Bylaws, Board Meeting agendas and documents, important cases - just to name a few). In the past, we were using a shared drive to store these documents. Others who worked off-site had to connect to the VPN to access any of these documents. Because MS SharePoint is a web-based program, this provides them easy access to the documents. The meta-data category also provides a great way to pull information. I personally appreciate the ability to access the documents without connecting to our internal network.
  • It allows our staff to access important documents without connecting to the VPN or our network.
  • The uploading process on the back end is very user-friendly and simple.
  • The ability to consolidate the many programs of MS is amazingly useful. I can access my calendar, Outlook, documents I was working on all in one place!
  • The interface for Outlook in MS SharePoint could be improved to look like the regular Outlook. Our staff has a tough time when the emails are linked together.
  • Outlook in MS SharePoint does not provide access to other shared In Box (es).
  • More information on OneNote and OneDrive on the homepage would be helpful.
MS SharePoint is well suited for organizations that have staff who work remotely as well as those with physical offices. It allows them the capability to access all the necessary programs in one place. The only setback is that not all programs mirror the original program which may cause some frustration.
Read Jessalyn Ka's full review
Hans Hong profile photo
May 04, 2018

MS SharePoint Review: "SharePoint Online is good enough"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SharePoint hosted and SharePoint Online to host intranet team sites and an inter-company website. For my service team, I use SPO to host a large (>100GB) repository of content and software for my field service users to access on the go. The companion mobile and PC OneDrive apps are great for keeping things available even while offline for my field users.
  • Granular permission access of files and folders, via AD groups or team site groups.
  • OneDrive offline sync mechanism seems robust and handles online/offline well.
  • Microsoft Teams integration is useful.
  • SharePoint to OneDrive sync mechanism is hidden or difficult to understand for users coming from Dropbox, Box, or other cloud storage apps.
  • UI isn't really that great. SPO is a huge improvement, but is still very Microsoft-ish.
  • Uploading a new version of a file with a different name is not possible.
SPO has replaced our need for Box for mobile works to have offline sync access by folders and files. Robust syncing keep our workers productive on the road, no need for VPN. Single sign-on with AD credentials built right in, if you are using Office 365, is great, and the integration with Office apps is very nice (though we have run into some problems when trying the simultaneous editing of office docs).
Read Hans Hong's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (72)
7.6
Gantt Charts (46)
6.9
Scheduling (66)
7.2
Workflow Automation (71)
7.9
Mobile Access (65)
7.0
Search (84)
7.3
Visual planning tools (64)
6.8
Chat (45)
6.6
Notifications (74)
7.4
Discussions (68)
7.6
Surveys (56)
7.6
Internal knowledgebase (79)
8.1
Integrates with GoToMeeting (26)
7.7
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (24)
6.7
Integrates with Outlook (74)
8.8
Versioning (78)
8.6
Video files (69)
8.0
Audio files (68)
8.0
Document collaboration (88)
8.7
Access control (86)
8.6
Advanced security features (73)
8.5
Integrates with Google Drive (25)
8.1
Device sync (53)
8.0

About MS SharePoint

Microsoft SharePoint is usually considered an internal content management product, but it also features web content management capabilities for managing external website content. SharePoint is a very broadly adopted solution and competes successfully with Oracle, EMC Documentum and OpenText in the ECM space. It is also a collaboration platform and, in this context, competes with IBM's Collaboration platform (Lotus) and products like Novell Teaming and Jive Team Collaboration.

MS SharePoint Integrations

MS SharePoint Competitors

MS SharePoint Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No