Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

242 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (126-150 of 162)

Lee Zimmerman | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2017

Scale HC3 - The value in hyper-converged computing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Purchasing a Scale Cluster, instead of one off server from Dell, has allowed us to rapidly expand our server base without managing or maintaining a mixture of hardware models. This took a substantial up-front investment but over the life-cycle of the cluster is expected to result in reduced cost.
Read Lee Zimmerman's full review
Joshua Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2017

Scale's cracked it. Here's a quality product that fits just right.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With our hyperconverged, node-based solution, we don't see a need to examine hardware or hypervisors at any time in the foreseeable future. Nor do we find ourselves worrying about imminent hardware deterioration. These are massive weights off the server administrator's mind.
  • Our Senior Sys Analyst has the objective of "leaving this place in such good shape that you could run it all by yourself." HC3 has been a measurable and significant step toward that end.
Read Joshua Clark's full review
Greg Carreon | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2017

My Scale Computing HC3 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Moving to a new location and to a new network was easy and required less setup and configuration.
  • The management of all the Carepacks, licensing and service agreements for all of the servers we use to have has been eliminated.
Read Greg Carreon's full review
Bart Strauss | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2017

Happy with Scale Computing HC3

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Lower power consumption compared to the HP server environment I was running
  • Total cost of ownership is lower as I don't have to pay for Microsoft's Hyper-V licensing for additional servers
Read Bart Strauss's full review
Kelson Colbo | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2017

Scale Computing is the bomb

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our major win was on the reduction in travel and physical server maintenance costs associated with essentially consolidating and removing all remotely located server equipment.
Read Kelson Colbo's full review
Jamie Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2017

Scale up

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have had absolutely no downtime in the 2 years that we have been running Scale
  • When a new App is required, we have been able to spin up a new VM within minutes of identifiying the need.
Read Jamie Abraham's full review
Gary Grana | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2017

Great for a Small business with a small SQL environment

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It had a negative impact on ROI. We haven't fully depreciated the cost and I am moving to VMWare to meet our business needs.
  • This product was not setup to meet our company needs, this was in part due to previous management making the wrong decision.
Read Gary Grana's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2017

Scale and the SMB Sector

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • System uptime has significantly improved after we migrated off of our old virtualization platform, in part due to VM migration times with the ability to Live Migrate, and in part due to the replacement of aging hardware.
  • Management and support time is greatly reduced.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2017

HC3 delivers on their promise of fast, easy, flexible deployments

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As our systems are run in a non-profit government services environment it is not possible to quantify an ROI in simple monetary terms. We did observe reduced system administrator time requirements when compared to standard distributed virtualization environments, though.
  • HC3 was (and still is) our first foray into hyper-converged infrastructure. It addressed our business needs nicely when trying to easily implement a vendor solution requiring a larger number of tightly-integrated servers. However, it also forced us to deviate from our internal networking standards due to tight specifications, which is a challenge in our small shop with concentrated staff knowledge and experience in other areas only.
  • One object we have is to improve overall environmental impact within our data centers (ambient requirements for cooling, light, etc.), since we do have staff members working in these rooms. One issue that negatively impacted the quality of the work environment is the very loud and high-pitched fan noise levels of all nodes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2018

Scale Computing review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We lowered the total cost of ownership by switching from an ESX cluster with separate ESX host, Switches, and SAN.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2018

Scale HC3 is the way to go.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • No longer have to worry about buying server hardware. I'm just seconds or minutes away from spinning up a new server.
  • Saves time.
  • Creates less stress
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2018

Scale HC3 is the Best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved us a ton on hardware
  • Saved us a ton on licenses
  • Saved us a ton on support and consultant fees
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2018

Scale is worth a look!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Upon initial installation we were able to migrate 10 physical servers into the cluster of three. This had the immediate benefit of a reduced electrical and thermal load in the data center.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2018

My Weigh In on Scale Computing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has had nothing but positive impact. We love being able to have a centralized hub for to run business-critical services and applications.
  • Updates have served us well, with new features to equip or cluster with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2018

A worthy investment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Flexibility of systems allows us to justify the cost.
  • Small footprint, 1U of rack space for a multitude of functions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2018

Scale Computing HC3

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Server licensing is simpler and more cost effective.
  • Costs are reduced in regards to hardware failure, etc. due to support contracts.
  • Support services very cost effective.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2017

Scale Computing, a big thumbs up!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • ROI comes from the things I've mentioned previously. The cost to implement the cluster we have was about the same as replacing the traditional server base that was in need of replacement. The added extra built-in bells and whistles are why we went with Scale.
Read this authenticated review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix AOS, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English