SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 111)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 12, 2021
Ali Kazempour | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In addition to Knowledge Base, customers can chat live and get in touch with IT support, and all this support is much more cloud base[d] and completely secure. In many cases user information should not be sent via email and requires a secure server, [for] which SolarWinds Service Desk is great platform. Dashboard is real time and platform has auto refresh and great notification system. Nice employee service portal and great Service Automation System.
Read Ali Kazempour's full review
December 09, 2020
Sebastian Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would say that from the licensing cost, a startup may find it challenging to acquire Samanage. But from some references I made, they work things out to try to adapt the pricing to any pocket. Of course every company has its limits, but I find that flexibility very good.

For me, the key questions were related to how they managed the SLAs, if they have an API to use for integration (and if it has a limit of requests).
Read Sebastian Pereira's full review
December 11, 2020
Christopher Fritz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Samanage is functioning well in a smaller IT Department where there is no time to do too much customization. It is pretty much a ready to use software to which you can keep on adding on functions you need etc. The reason why I write that it semi-flexible is that you have the option to customize a lot of things, but if you want to make very detailed updates then this won't be the software for you. We are very happy with the software and find that they are listening to the user community, so that you are heard and actually can follow the progress of suggestions that you make.
Read Christopher Fritz's full review
December 11, 2020
Allan Eisenhauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This package offers more features than I am currently using. With Solarwinds Service Desk, you have the capability of managing your inventory, invoices, vendors, contracts, and asset management. This is ideal for anyone looking to consolidate multiple packages into one. This is great for IT departments ranging from small to large businesses. There is also a spot in which you can create invoices and have them billed out based on the amount of time spent by the techs to resolve the issue.

If you are needing to do depreciation on your inventory, then the inventory portion will not work for you.
Read Allan Eisenhauer's full review
December 08, 2020
Chris Peters Sr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Solarwinds Service Desk has been an excellent easy-to-use help desk solution for our organization. I feel that it could be much more robust with the reporting end of it.
Read Chris Peters Sr.'s full review
December 08, 2020
Scott Sokol | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

While designed for IT service desk teams, we have found that our media services team has been successful implementing Samanage tools.

I think it's best suited for organizing and tracking a high volume of requests, and may not work quite as well for those looking to track projects over a longer period of time.
Read Scott Sokol's full review
September 15, 2020
Connie Inman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're in need of a tracking tool for your help desk tickets but don't have one already, SolarWinds Service Desk is great because it integrates your inventory management along with any help desk tickets related to the computers and mobile devices in your inventory.
Read Connie Inman's full review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This service is well-suited for organizations that are unable or unwilling to support the entire infrastructure for a ticketing system, such as databases and servers. It's also great for companies that need a large set of offerings and integrations with other hosted and on-premises systems. Remote support is easy with other purchases/integrations and can assist the support staff in their daily jobs. The licensing levels are easy to understand, though a bit of the pricing difference seems slightly steep to my company for a few of the features.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SolarWinds Service Desk is best suited for help desk and human resources. We only use it for our help desk, but have plenty of ideas for HR that we have not explored yet. Using SSD as our ticketing system is helping more users send in more request[s] because it easy to use.

If someone can make a request for something then SSD can be used. You'll be able to track the interaction from start to finish.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For smaller companies or environments, it greatly excels. It has basic to intermediate functionality that addresses basic functions for managing tickets and assets. It could use some more granular settings in different portions for a larger enterprise environment. It meets the demands but could use more bells and whistles. The recent improvements are better.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Solarwinds ticketing system has nice features for being able to filter and save filters to easily be able to see which tickets you are looking for. The support team and account reps are very good at responding in a timely manner to issues or questions. It really depends on what expectations a company has as to whether or not Solarwinds would be a good fit for them.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited for any organization that is looking to offer a modern, highly functional, and easy to navigate service desk. We have implemented it across almost our entire University and it has become instilled in our business processes. It does a great job and our customers are very happy using and navigating the platform!
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Samanage is well suited for teams that are spread out across geographic locations. Its ticketing and tracking system to communicate is also helpful if the business is seeing a high rate of growth and people just aren't aware of who to ask for a specific thing. Since the tool centralizes inquiries, it allows for those support teams to delegate tasks to the proper individuals. Samanage is useful for hitting SLAs.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Solarwinds Service Desk is well suited for organizations with multiple divisions that provide support, require the ability to manage assets, and are HIPAA compliant.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

You might not want SolarWinds Service Desk if you are only interested in providing HelpDesk tickets. This software has endless capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Simple tickets, incident reporting, change requests. Integrates with Slack for notification to the assigned teams and queues, which is really nice for us.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2020
Kevin Staton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Solarwinds Service Desk strikes a good balance between cost and features. If you're an organization without any tools for incident management, process workflows, or vendor management, then Solarwinds Service Desk will be a huge improvement. Service Desk has more features than other products in the same tier. We compared Solarwinds Service Desk to Zendesk but found that Zendesk was missing key capabilities.

For larger organizations or organizations with more sophisticated project management, dashboard, incident management, asset tracking needs... as well as larger budgets... something like ServiceNow or TeamDynamix would be a better choice.

The key takeaway for Solarwinds Service Desk is that it has many features at a fraction of the cost of the big players in this space. It won't be as customizable as the more expensive models but it will help you mature your ITSM and help with organization wide process improvement.
Read Kevin Staton's full review
April 28, 2020
Steve Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We moved to Solarwinds Service Desk from Connectwise. I think it's a far superior product with better support and features. I believe it to be best suited for a company IT department with expansion capabilities through the service desk to other departments in the company, such as HR, that need self service capabilities.
Read Steve Taylor's full review
May 15, 2020
Mitchell Hollberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Any team providing core support for a larger organization would benefit from a tool like Solarwinds Service Desk. We use this in IT, but it could be useful for groups such as HR to manage employee questions and requests, or a centralized marketing department, requisitions team, etc.

The tool seems optimized for use within an organization. I don't see how it would support external customers in a clean fashion.
Read Mitchell Hollberg's full review
May 11, 2020
Matthaniel Cowell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This platform is great for managing and tracking incidents, changes, inventory, and creating Support/FAQ articles for the organization. It might not be great for managing network diagrams or some other high-image-based documentation, though it will work. The feature set seems to be always expanding, so some stuff that may be lacking might be soon available.
Read Matthaniel Cowell's full review
May 08, 2020
Derek G Desautels Jr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Solarwinds Service Desk is perfectly suited for any company's internal IT functions. Great for IT when onboarding new employees, tracking assets, or managing tickets. The ability to make service catalog items for onboarding is easy, well built, and fully customizable.
Read Derek G Desautels Jr's full review
May 07, 2020
Kevin Fortenberry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Service Desk is great for our IT environment. We hope to expand to our maintenance dept as well as our company's Help Desk. Incidents and workflow tracking is the greatest need we had and Service Desk is serving us well.
Read Kevin Fortenberry's full review
May 06, 2020
Dave Pekol | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For an IT helpdesk application, it is fantastic. We were able to deploy it across all of our IT teams at different companies and it was easy for them to learn and was adopted quickly by the end users. We have used it for other business segments that were not IT. Service Desk works great, but there is no escaping that it is an IT tool built on the ITIL process. If you could turn off Problems, Changes etc, for some of those folks it could look better for them.
Read Dave Pekol's full review
May 06, 2020
Alan Hill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for creating an ITSM program at your organization without having to have in-depth expertise in ITSM or its associated frameworks like ITIL.
It does not provide for much automation and management with regards to your hardware assets. You will need another tool for that and there may be integrations and other Solarwinds products for that and I'm unaware of them.
Read Alan Hill's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (96)
9.2
Expert directory (57)
7.2
Service restoration (58)
6.7
Self-service tools (86)
7.7
Subscription-based notifications (68)
8.1
ITSM collaboration and documentation (76)
8.1
ITSM reports and dashboards (87)
6.5
Configuration mangement (74)
7.0
Asset management dashboard (81)
6.9
Policy and contract enforcement (63)
6.8
Change requests repository (64)
8.5
Change calendar (44)
7.4
Service-level management (72)
7.7

What is SolarWinds Service Desk?

SolarWinds Service Desk, previously Samanage Service Platform, is a cloud-based service desk for IT or any other department.

A single platform for service management, IT asset management and configuration management, Service Desk is ITIL-ready and complete with Incident, Problem, Change, and Release Management capabilities. Advanced reporting modules empower users to analyze trends, monitor service quality, and continuously improve service management processes.

SolarWinds Service Desk Features

Incident and problem management Features

Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards

ITSM asset management Features

Has featureConfiguration mangement
Has featureAsset management dashboard
Has featurePolicy and contract enforcement

Change management Features

Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureSelf-Service Portal
Has featureSoftware and Hardware Inventory Tracking
Has featureRobust and Flexible Reporting
Has featureKnowledge Base
Has featureContract and License Tracking
Has featureIntegration with Over 200 Applications
Has featureCode-Free Customization
Has featureSLA Management

SolarWinds Service Desk Screenshots

SolarWinds Service Desk Video

SolarWinds Service Desk Integrations

Zendesk Support Suite, OneLogin, Zapier, Google Apps, Salesforce

SolarWinds Service Desk Competitors

SolarWinds Service Desk Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SolarWinds Service Desk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Live Chat
Forum/Community

SolarWinds Service Desk Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Support for 40+ Languages