Zendesk Support Suite Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
653 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 98)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 12, 2021
Justin Esgar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ZenDesk Support for our incoming ticket queue. All clients email our support email which ends up in ZenDesk Support. This allows anyone on our team to be able to reply to incoming tickets and help our clients. It allows us to keep the flow of information in one location. The additional integration of apps, such as FreshBooks Time Tracker+ and Watchman Monitoring allows us to handle a bigger suite of issues for clients.
  • It's very fast - it's very easy to jump between items.
  • Integration with apps from the ZenDesk Marketplace.
  • The ability to have triggers happen on specific incoming events makes it easy to track, auto-close, or assign tickets automatically.
  • Trigger logic is slightly flawed, but if you figure it out you can use it to your advantage.
  • For some reason there is a maximum number of "Views" on the sidebar, which limits how much ticket breakdown can happen.
  • There are WAY too many options - making the settings page a little overwhelming.
ZenDesk is great if you have a large source of incoming data. For us, we managed over 500 endpoints with a lot of users who have something to ask/request/complain about. So we need a system that will take all that data in.

If your source of data is smaller and can be handled by a group email - then ZenDesk may not be a fit for you, but consider it as your company grows.
Read Justin Esgar's full review
March 17, 2021
Taylor Chapman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk to provide quality and efficient support to our B2B customers. It manages our end user tickets created via form or email as well as our knowledge base and customer support portal. Our team uses Zendesk to communicate with the end-users and with other team members on tickets.
  • Knowledge base.
  • Customization options.
  • Smart workflows.
  • Basic features only in higher editions.
  • Knowledge base themes are basic.
  • Can be tricky to implement.
Zendesk excels at workflow management for tickets and customization options needed in more complex organizations. It lacks a bit in providing a full suite for smaller customers with simple features like customer satisfaction surveys only available in pricier editions. Its knowledge base is full-featured, but the default themes are a bit basic.
Read Taylor Chapman's full review
January 21, 2021
Sam Othman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zendesk across a couple of main business units. I use it personally to handle IT support requests as well as administering it for our Customer Service team who use it to service our external customers. Previously, both teams were managing all requests out of inboxes using Outlook which was inefficient and lacked ownership of tasks.
  • Ownership: Assigning tickets to agents and allowing them to follow through the entire process from end to end.
  • Organization: Multiple teams can be in the same instance and tickets can be assigned between teams depending on which stage of the process it is up to.
  • Ease: For both end users and agents. The end users can either just send an email to a designated email address or go in and use a preconfigured template in the landing page.
  • Reporting: There are some additional purchases that can be made to increase reporting, however, I would like to see some more reporting out of the box.
  • Statuses: It would be good if we could make our own Statuses as not everything fits into the preconfigured categories
  • Add ons: There are plenty of add ons in the store but some of the more highly adopted should be rolled into the core build by default.
We have been slowly using it to try to migrate mailboxes out of Outlook and into Zendesk to allow for better and easier management of support. It is great for small tickets but not so good for project management. We use it in conjunction with Jira. If someone submits an issue that is bigger than a quick fix, we use Zendesk to create a Jira task and handle the rest of the project through that. We can then link all other Zendesk instances of the problem to the same Jira task.
Read Sam Othman's full review
April 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk to route all customer communications to relevant CSMs, deployment team members, and the finance department. The communications range anywhere from simple support requests to managing client expansions and upsells. We rely heavily on cross team collaboration to ensure we are providing the best service possible to customers by removing barriers to communication both externally and internally. Zendesk is a great tool to helping us achieve and maintain these goals.
  • Triggers - we're able to automate a significant amount of tasks and repetitive work by relying on Zendesks flexible trigger options.
  • Macros - The ability to create complex message templates with autofilled information is a significant time saver.
  • Collaboration - since Zendesk implemented more transparent communication controls for CC contacts we're able to have more effective communication with customers and relevant stakeholders. This was a much appreciated improvement.
  • Merging tickets - when merging tickets the default behavior is to make them a public comment. This comment creates confusion with the customer. To avoid this the agent must uncheck the public comment boxes during the merge process to avoid sending the customer a confusing and unnecessary notice.
  • 2 way sync integrations - when it comes to integrating into services likes HubSpot, Zendesk only syncs one way. It would be ideal if there was more support for syncing fields both directions or having a choice of what data fields syncs and which direction that sync happens without requiring some sort of middleware like Zapier.
Zendesk is most appropriate in environments where managing external communication with single or multi unit teams is a requirement. It's also ideal in a high volume customer centric environment especially when automation and self help articles are a major part of driving success for a support team.

It would be less appropriate for companies and teams who require some sort of customer management solution. It's great for keeping up with customer requests, but it's not ideal for maintaining a database about customer details.
We rarely need to contact their support team, but when we do they are responsive. However there have been notable times when communication between myself and the support rep was challenging despite me providing clear explanation of the issue, screenshots, and a thorough explanation of the goal we hope to achieve. It took several back and forth attempt, on a few occasions, to get resolution on an otherwise simple request.
Read this authenticated review
January 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is a very poor product with much worse customer support. We started using Zendesk a couple of years ago when we grew to the point that multiple people were supporting clients and prospects. We were given a referral code that suckered us in with a low initial price. The price rose rapidly after the initial period and everything is an add-on. The user interface could not be more clunky. Managing customers, especially customers that you may interact with across both email support and live chat, and across multiple support reps, is challenging. It is a very manual process to identify prior support tickets from the same customer so reps are constantly repeating the same information to the irritation of customers. And, perhaps most importantly, Zendesk offers terrible customer support. I dread any time I need to contact Zendesk for any kind of assistance. They respond slowly and usually with nothing of value to add. And if you ever need a refund, forget it. Zendesk is a poor product with poor support that I would never purchase again under any circumstance.
  • Email support looks like a regular inbox
  • Easy to pass customers across multiple reps
  • Customer support
  • Price
  • User interface
  • Customer management
  • Logging in
  • General attitude of the company and people I have interacted with
  • Hard to coordinate tickets between multiple agents that might touch a client
We started using Zendesk because we went from client support being a part of one person's time to a dedicated person to multiple people. In retrospect, this was not a smart selection, as we found the interface and agent user experience to be poor (and Zendesk's support to be slow and not particularly helpful).

Zendesk is great if you are getting it for free and do not really care about the experience your customers have interacting with your company. If, on the other hand, you want to present your company and your products professionally, I highly suggest you look past Zendesk. Ultimately, I would not consider buying Zendesk in the future.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2020
Robin Reinhardt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is used for Service Support Desk functions as well as for Knowledge base. It was used broader in the company, but teams outside of Tech moved over to Wrike for more project functionality and integration with other tools.
  • Automation works well for ticket distribution
  • Knowledge base is clean and provides a good search feature
  • Out of the box features are lacking
  • Costs to add on other features to empower staff can get costly
  • Support not always responsive
Basic subscription is fine for a single org implementation, such as HelpDesk only. If you are a small company that just needs a ticket tracking system, this will work.

However, if you want to be full service and include the Guide or other common HD tools, the price can get steep. Most common HD tools are an add on feature with Zendesk.
Often slow to respond, and do not follow up in a timely manner when cost reduction is requested. Specifically, they don't push to get things completed before the end of the billing cycle, and don't credit back when they lag between cycles.
Read Robin Reinhardt's full review
April 30, 2020
Sam Mitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it to manage customer phone calls/interactions and tickets.
  • Good for managing issues and allocating problems across a diversified team.
  • Cancellation policy - we cancelled our domain (no longer using it) and they still billed another year even though they knew we didn't need it.
After the way they treated us when we were no longer using the product I wouldn't recommend anyone use them.
Despicable business looking to screw its customers.
Read Sam Mitchell's full review
October 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Zendesk to handle customer questions from our website contact form and social media. It allowed multiple people to be able to do customer support from day-to-day.
  • It integrated with Facebook.
  • It integrated with Twitter.
  • The workflow was fixed, so if your ticket flow didn't fit with how ZenDesk thought it should it was difficult to manage. For example, I like to separate tickets where we are waiting for something from the customer from tickets where I'm waiting for an employee to deliver something. This was impossible, and when I gave that feedback I was told that wasn't a valid way of looking at support. This meant I had to inspect each and every "Pending" ticket every day to separate them to generate a list of tasks.
  • Their ticket UI is weird and difficult to understand.
  • As a manager, I wanted to see what tickets my customer service agents submitted over the past week, but their "View" feature doesn't include OR logic making it impossible to create a proper search. Even just getting a list of all of the tickets that were completed in the past week was impossible without a lot of massaging of the data, and tech. support refused to even answer the question. I had to do two searches, one for "solved" tickets and one for "closed" tickets, and you couldn't change the state workflow since their crazy system doesn't allow it.
If you have a very simple need to just log emails or phone calls without a workflow then it worked fine as long as your requirements are dead simple.

They promised integration with Shopify and that never worked. The ticket workflow system couldn't be modified. The online solution database was useless and we couldn't use it. Typically you'd create a database of responses to quickly answer common questions, but the idiotic feature to insert the responses was so difficult to use we ended up having to use a separate window and then copying and pasting everything. It took twice as long as the system we switched to.
Zendesk pushes customers to help each other and wouldn't answer any questions.
Read this authenticated review
August 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk Sell is being used by our sales team and Zendesk Support (Suite) is being used by our customer success team to manage issues that patients have accessing our platform. We have a small company so we only need a couple of accounts on each. We were trying to use Duet because we have practice customers and payer customers so we could double up on our client success team managing our practice pipeline and customer issues.
  • Tagging system.
  • Confusing UI. Tickets don’t make sense where they are.
  • Lack of customization on the right hand nav.
  • Terrible customer service.
Just don’t use Zendesk. Find another service. They will force you to pay thousands upon thousands if you decide to cancel service. It’s just not worth the hassle. The irony that a customer service company is bad at customer service is an incredible reason to shy away from using Zendesk.
For some reason we couldn’t cancel service in the portal like everyone else but when we reached out to our account exec they said that too bad we had to pay thousands to renew an extra year based on a shady practice in their MSA. It’s just a terrible service. Stay away.
Read this authenticated review
May 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is a terrible product. First, while they have many modules, managing them is disjointed. They literally call the same feature by something different across modules. Further, ironically, Zendesk might have the worst customer support of any product we use to run our business. Response times are slow and answers are quite commonly terrible -- they do not address the actual question nor are they coherent. If I were to start over I would not even remotely consider Zendesk and you should not either.
Zendesk is great if you like to fight an uphill battle with customer support from your customer support tool. Zendesk is great if you want to have countless windows and tabs open to offer support. Zendesk is great if you wish to see an example of a terrible user interface for a web-based product.
Slow response times combined with answers that do not address the question asked. Zendesk support is an utter failure. They should be ashamed of themselves.
Read this authenticated review
October 24, 2019
Sohaib Ahmed Khattak - PCI QIR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is being used by our organization for client and customer interactions. We have light and full agents added to it and communicate with Customer Success Managers and some developer teams via it as well. Overall, Zendesk is an easy to use software and can be configured just by watching the provided online support videos.
  • Emailing and interactions
  • Calling features
  • Knowledge base features
  • Easy to use
  • Intuitive
  • Small bugs here and there but works well
  • When addressing a team member, we use @ and then initials but this stops working sometimes
I will recommend this tool to most of the people as it has all the features needed to communicate with clients on a ticketing system and also can be customized more with the additional tools available, like ZD Talk.
Zendesk offers quite a lot of different solutions when these are brought together a brilliant ticketing system comes into place which can complete and resolve communication gaps and can be accessed from a phone as well. I use Zendesk from my mobile too and it works similarly on a desktop.
Read Sohaib Ahmed Khattak - PCI QIR's full review
February 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is used by specific departments in my organization, having started with just a few and slowly implemented to more. Further implementation is planned, but the process of training and acquiring buy-in is tricky. Using Zendesk has streamlined specific types of requests (for support, etc.) and several functions are helpful for internal communication. The ability to track the types of requests for support is helpful.
  • Internal notes and side conversations are very helpful
  • Organization of particular problems, support requests, etc.
  • What will happen to a response can be confusing; oftentimes users (both trained and untrained to use Zendesk) send a reply to more people than was intended
  • The email communications can be overwhelming with the amount of information on the page
Zendesk is a great solution for managing a lot of requests coming into a department or multiple departments. The internal communication features are extremely helpful for resolving issues. However, if you don't have a dedicated team of people who have bought it and are very familiar with the product, training and getting people to like Zendesk can be challenging. The user interface is not always intuitive and can be particularly difficult for less tech-savvy users. I recommend Zendesk for more internal use and communication among an early adopter demographic.
I have never worked directly with Zendesk support, but when I have asked the people in my organization who do, they have always gotten back to me quickly with solutions to my questions/problems. When I have requested features be adjusted in Zendesk by the managing user, these changes are made quickly, even when I know the managing user does not know the answer off the top of her head. This tells me that she is able to get the answers she needs to solve the issue promptly.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is used by several departments at my company: customer service, IT improvements and international inquiries. It helps us manage globally and stay on top of different projects and improvements. It also helped us set up a good workflow on processing warranty claims for our company globally. In general, we wanted to manage our customer issues in a better fashion and also stay on track with needed website improvements
  • It helps several users go in and see progress on different customer issues.
  • It helps us tag and track issues to report back on different problems.
  • It integrates well with our Google form warranty claim and allows us to process and solve our cases in an efficient manner.
  • There isn't a good way to pass long Zendesk emails outside to non-Zendesk users.
  • The tagging and sorting isn't the best - we need to do it by country and there's not a super easy way to do this.
  • When we integrated Facebook chat, every time we would respond in Zendesk, Facebook wouldn't acknowledge it, making our response times suffer. We ended up disconnecting and continuing to respond directly.
Zendesk is great for small businesses looking to start a CRM system. It's easy to learn and manage with a small team. It works well internationally and most of the integrations work well. If you are a larger company, you may want to look into a more robust platform as the integrations and larger team management features are limited.
Read this authenticated review
November 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is being used by our entire organization as the primary way to support internal and external end-users. This support comes to us as support tickets using Zendesk. This application came as a replacement to a previous solution we had in place to address issues we had related to poor customer satisfaction.
  • Clean UXI and intuitive.
  • Great reporting.
  • Integration of other 3rd party products.
  • Price can be prohibited for some smaller companies.
  • We found some workflow issues that since have been resolved but they are definitely something to keep an eye on.
Zendesk is a great solution for companies and organizations looking to provide excellent customer service as it allows customers to submit support tickets and get immediate help. From the organization perspective, it allows management to track SLA and customer satisfaction and intervene if or when necessary to meet their goals.
Zendesk support is great, and is very helpful when it comes to solving an issues.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is currently being used by our Customer Experience team.
  • Able to solve customers' issues.
  • Mostly user-friendly.
  • Able to work collaboratively with your team.
  • UI can be a bit more welcoming.
  • Sometimes searching for specific tickets can be hard.
Zendesk is an excellent solution for helpdesk purposes. It will allow you to be on top of all of your tickets so no customer issue will slip through the cracks. Sometimes one user starts with the ticket and can take weeks to solve the issue. However, Zendesk will allow assigning that ticket to the same person so there is no miscommunication. It is also very easy to assign tickets to a specific person because you know that person will be the best to respond to that ticket.
I remember having a couple of issues in the past and I know that they have been addressed immediately. As for timing on those tickets really important for us to get our customers back, I do not remember having delays on the Zendesk side if we had any "fire drill" situation.
Read this authenticated review
August 13, 2019
Emely Foster | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is being used in our Sales department. This platform has allowed us to maintain quality service with our clients. Integrates all communication channels used by the company. It has functioned efficiently as an e-commerce tool, determining its customer support through email, telephone line, social networks, and real-time chat. Everything is provided fast, simple and personalized communication with each and every customer in the company.
  • It has an extremely nice interface, it can be customized, which allows it to be easy to use and allows you to have all the information we need from the client.
  • Zendesk keeps a record on the ticket of all interactions that occur with the customer.
  • It has an effective self-help customer service tool to make them self-sufficient.
  • It allows to efficiently manage the platform from mobile devices thanks to the fact that it has mobile applications for iOS and Android.
  • It provides a function that allows determining the performance of the attention we offer to customers through surveys.
  • It is unpleasant to have duplicate messages when the ticket system is open and not assigned.
  • Zendesk prices can be expensive.
Zendesk allows to reduce considerably the time spent with the customer and interest them in new products. The integration of multiple channels allows us to have our entire website, social networks and email communication in one place. What makes more efficient attention and support that is offered to the client.
The general support of Zendesk is really efficient, it has the capacity to respond to the needs and requirements of the users. In an optimal period of time.
Read Emely Foster's full review
September 24, 2019
Omer Yaqoob | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk has been an integral part of our company for past two years. We use it to provide the best IT assistance and customer service to our valuable clients. They can easily raise tickets via email - addressing their issues and our IT support team troubleshoots their issues instantly. Zendesk's admin portal is easy to manage and the notifications are also instant. There are times when we get 500+ tickets in a day and Zendesk handles all these queries efficiently.
  • We can easily manage multiple inboxes department wise.
  • We can assign tickets to multiple teams at the same time and they can work on a queries simultaneously, depending of the nature of the issue.
  • The best feature is that Zendesk can also be manage through IOS and Android devices, which is a convenience for me while I'm traveling.
  • Once an email is sent we cannot retract it. That's the feature which is missing in Zendesk, otherwise it is a perfect solution.
Zendesk is an optimal solution to provide the best customer service our clients desire. It is well suited for all size businesses due to its capability of handling high ticketing volume and multiple inboxes.
Zendesk runs smoothly without any lags or downtime. However, whenever we have any questions regarding its operations, the customer support team is always right around the corner with the answers.
Read Omer Yaqoob's full review
July 09, 2019
Michael Jacobson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is a tool we use primarily for inbound emails. It allows us to separate our inboxes for different departments, as well as assign which agents have access to each box. It also integrates with our chat software (SnapEngage), so that incoming chats become tickets and can be saved and researched easily when necessary. It allows an easy interface for all electronic interaction with our clients, as well as providing an easy platform for quality assurance review.
  • Allows multiple inboxes with easy assignment of inboxes to specific agents.
  • Integrates well with other software we use such as SnapEngage.
  • Organizes tickets for emails, chats and calls for easy access and research.
  • No real cons...easy to use, with a great interface!
Zendesk is great for handling electronic communication, especially email. It doesn't handle online chat per se but easily integrates with other software to make the Zendesk platform the only one you'll have to open to work. It creates tickets, allows agents to follow up when necessary, or re-route to appropriate agents or departments.
Read Michael Jacobson's full review
June 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk at our small ecommerce company to support our customers via email, in-app submissions, Facebook, and Twitter. Zendesk was the right choice for us because it's relatively easy to implement, allows us to quickly create and update our help center/FAQ, has multiple integrations for the other tools that we use (i.e. Shopify), and it scales appropriately with our small setup. I've set up and used Zendesk at three separate companies and I highly recommend it for those expecting fewer than 1500 tickets/week. The robust tools they offer will allow you to create a CRM from scratch, customize it to your liking, and offer great support right off the bat.
  • Instead of using a developer's time to create a landing page for your FAQs, you can quickly and easily implement and update your FAQ/help center through Zendesk's Guide tool.
  • Quickly and easily customize your customer's experience when interacting with your organization's support team. For example, you can update the automated response received upon ticket creation and the design of that email sent to customers from Zendesk's portal.
  • Out of the box analytics for key KPIs. If you don't have much experience with this Zendesk's pre-built analytics will help you get an idea of how your support team is performing. If you want more robust reporting you can build it out with Zendesk's free Goddata analytics tool.
  • The pricing is a tad high. Considering that they're a larger company I wish they'd offer the same account levels at lower prices.
  • Their analytics infrastructure is good for basic reporting but I wish they had more robust options for advanced users, looking for more insight into their customers' inquiries.
Zendesk is great for small- to medium-sized companies that expect fewer than 1500 tickets/inquiries per week. It's especially great for small startups looking to create an out-of-the-box solution to offer customer support at an affordable price. Zendesk doesn't do very well when you have over 1500 tickets/inquiries a week. But once you get to that many inquiries, your company will be larger and ready to evaluate other solutions.
Read this authenticated review
June 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk for customer support. Our members send us a request and we respond via Zendesk.
  • Macros.
  • Call features.
  • Triage buckets for email requests.
  • Site freezing.
  • It would be nice to unsend an email.
Zendesk is great for customer support. It is also great for inbound and outbound emails.

Zendesk might not be necessary if your customer volume is not high.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2018
Carmen Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zendesk is used by 3 teams in our organization: Customer Success, Support and Product. It acts as a customer-facing support ticketing solution, enabling customers to submit tickets for specific service requests. Customer Success often leverages it as a tool to both engage with customers regarding support requests, and as a way to submit internal support requests or to report product bugs to the Product team. The Support team uses Zendesk to interact with customers regarding their support requests, and the Product team primarily uses Zendesk to manage bug or other product requests submitted by the CS team.
  • It is a great support ticket management system, and is fairly easy to use via direct ticket submission via the platform, and the ability to forward customer emails directly to the support queue is extremely helpful.
  • The ability to track ticket progress (last touch, etc) and communicate both internally with other departments and externally with the ticket requester within the same interface makes it easy to keep all relevant information in one place.
  • Zendesk's JIRA integration makes the bug management process very seamless for our organization.
  • One of the biggest issues we have with Zendesk is the lack of insight into customer history within their ticket profile. We often have difficulty getting context about the tickets that are submitted and unfortunately that increase handle time as we often have to dig through the customer's ticket history to get the full story.
  • It would be great to have a better feel for overall customer sentiment based on their support history and other account factors (e.g. product usage, etc), but without a "customer profile" within the platform, it's nearly impossible to get the 360 view that would really empower us to proactively solve their issues.
  • The ability to automate certain workflows (specifically those regarding internal tasks) would be fabulous, but without access to many actionable integrations, it makes this even harder.
Zendesk is a really good ticketing platform, but if one of your primary goals with a support solution is to better understand and connect with our customers, Zendesk may not be the best solution. The difficulty with getting historical context about the tickets that are submitted, and the lack of a customer profile to really provide real-time insight into how customers feel about their support experience or just overall sentiment about the organization, are a few of the reasons you may want to consider a more robust solution.
Read Carmen Johnson's full review
October 10, 2018
Nikhil George | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk is our customer support desk. Customers can raised support tickets within our application or via email which is sent to Zendesk. Our support team respond to queries from Zendesk. Other departments such as finance, sales and product can view support tickets and post internal comments to resolve queries. Zendesk helps us manage customer queries in a timely manner while ensuring no queries get lost.
  • Customisable ticketing engine - you can specify what fields should be filled on each ticket, if they are mandatory and customise what type of data needs to be entered. This ensures the right data is captured to assist resolve the query. It also means reports can be run from these fields.
  • Reporting and analytics - you can run reports based on the ticket data. This helps you understand what product features need to be improved or added, what new help content needs to be created, if particular macros need to be setup, efficiency of support team and more.
  • Integrations - Zendesk integrates with billing, CRM and other platforms so customer data is available in-app. This information assists the support team give the right information to the customer.
  • Make reporting easier - the reporting engine in Zendesk is very powerful, but at the same time, complicated to use. Would be good if they made creating reports easier.
  • Pricing - the pricing plans for Zendesk are quite expensive. There are a range of other systems which provide base level features that match Zendesk.
Zendesk is great for large organisations. It has all the large and enterprise features that might be required such as SSO, white-labelling and data management. It's a great product what will scale with a business and very reliable. Downtimes are very rare. Smaller businesses could likely get by using other support desk tools which are much cheaper.
Read Nikhil George's full review
January 15, 2019
Kenyata Garner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have worked in multiple fields and have held two jobs at a time, therefore, I have had the opportunity to work with various software. Zendesk is good for smaller companies. It's a good way to keep in contact with customers, they have great chat options and really help to create a seamless communication between your company and the customer. The ticketing software is great it provides detailed information regarding the tickets and a sort of history which is important because you can follow what has been handled, what needs to be handled and what had already transpired, which speaks for itself.
  • Ticketing works great
  • Following chat and email
  • Few glitches in the system and great customer service when and if there is a problem.
  • Adding admins to the software can be a bit of a hassle when bringing someone else on or taking someone off, I would prefer an easier way.
  • The help center can be designed a little better. Especially with the chat indicator.
Zendesk is good for startup companies and mid-sized companies in my personal opinion. It provides the tools needed to ensure the customer is taken care of. It even provides a history of what pages your customer has visited on your site prior to chatting, etc., which is the perfect guide to customer service as it bridges the gap between the questions asked and the answers needed. This lowers the frustration and miscommunication on both ends.
Read Kenyata Garner's full review
January 11, 2019
Ron Rothstain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our IT help desks to address customer issues and concerns. It is used by our department, as well as a couple of other departments on campus. It addresses our core mission of serving our customers and allows us to send satisfaction surveys to our customers once the service has been provided. It is easy to implement and use, and allows us to address whatever deficiencies we have in our customer service area.
  • Management of requirements or requests.
  • The tool is customizable and easy to implement and use.
  • We can automate our responses to our customers.
  • Great flexibility in purchase packages.
  • Should add response time according to the type of requirements or requests.
  • Develop graphs by type of incident
  • Have notifications every time you are consuming the time of a ticket
  • Have video calls.
  • Zendesk does a great job at constantly improving their product, listening to their customers, and releasing new features to make their customer's jobs easier and better. From their basic ticketing support, to live chat, talk, and even guides, they really have it all under one roof. They have good tutorials and a pretty active community to get help from if you need it. While support typically consists of straight-forward communication, there are times when incorporating additional agents in real-time would be helpful in more of a live chat setting as opposed to the "email" template where most communication takes place. That's not to say collaboration in ZenDesk is impossible, as that's not the case at all, but it's not always easy to determine whether another agent is acting upon a support request (can only tell when they are viewing a ticket).
Read Ron Rothstain's full review
January 11, 2019
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zendesk as our customer support Hub. It is used by our customer support team and it helps us address customer needs in a timely manner. We can engage with our customer from any point in the buyer journey as well as with post-purchase support needs. We love Zendesk!
  • Support ticketing
  • Pre-sales communication
  • Post-sales
  • Installation support
  • Internal UI
  • CRM integrations
  • Pricing structure
Zendesk works really well for eCommerce. When talking with potential customers or actual customers, Zendesk lets us address their needs quickly and effectively. I have also used it for hardware products and it is amazing for creating installation guides and resources for use-case examples etc. for customers.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (60)
7.0
Expert directory (36)
6.5
Subscription-based notifications (47)
5.4
ITSM collaboration and documentation (43)
7.5
Ticket creation and submission (61)
7.5
Ticket response (60)
7.1
External knowledge base (51)
7.1
Internal knowledge base (45)
6.8
Customer portal (48)
6.1
IVR (20)
6.0
Social integration (34)
8.1
Email support (58)
7.3
Help Desk CRM integration (43)
6.4

What is Zendesk Support Suite?

The Zendesk Support suite is a cloud-based customer support software built for better customer relationships. Designed to improve customer satisfaction and to support customers on any channel: text SMS, web, mobile app, phone, email, social media. The vendor states more than 200,000 companies such as Uber, Groupon, Box, Airbnb, and Slack are using Zendesk to lower their support costs, raise productivity, and increase customer satisfaction. Zendesk offers a full suite of products to meet customer needs ranging from help desk software to live chat to knowledge base management.

Zendesk Support Suite Features

Incident and problem management Features

Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureExpert directory
Has featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureTicket creation and submission
Has featureTicket response
Has featureAutomated responses
Has featureAttachments/Screencasts
Has featureSLA management

Self Help Community Features

Has featureForums
Has featureExternal knowledge base
Has featureInternal knowledge base
Has featureSurveys/polls

Multi-Channel Help Features

Has featureCustomer portal
Has featureLive help chat
Has featurePhone support
Has featureIVR
Has featureCall scripting
Has featureSocial integration
Has featureEmail support
Has featureHelp Desk CRM integration

Zendesk Support Suite Video

Zendesk Videos

Zendesk Support Suite Integrations

Zendesk Support Suite Competitors

Zendesk Support Suite Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Suite Team$49.00per agent/month billed annually
Suite Growth$79.00per agent/month billed annually
Suite Professional$99.00per agent/month billed annually
Suite Enterprise$150.00per agent/month billed annually
Additional Enterprise-Ready Plans, starting at...$215.00per agent/month billed annually
Support Team (Foundational Support Only)$19.00per agent/month billed annually

Zendesk Support Suite Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Zendesk Support Suite Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:160+
Supported Languages: 60+