Tableau Server Reviews

705 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 84)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Tableau - Good Viz, Poor Admin

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
Connects well to most traditional RDBMS systems and many of the non-traditional (NoSQL) systems. Very poor integration with traditional OLAP systems (SSAS, Essbase).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Deep dive into your data with your Global team using the Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Tableau provides the options to connect to multiple data sources, but what we used a simple Excel to power the dashboard. I am not aware how to connect and use other forms of databases, but using it with Excel is pretty much straightforward and easy. The data can be changed and viewed in the dashboards in real-time and which even makes the discussion healthy because it allows us to brainstorm and check what will be the outcome of a particular business idea.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Failed to meet expectations

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

1
Ultimately a key factor in our decision to not renew Tableau Server was the connectivity. It was challenging for end-users to connect and exchange data from Tableau Desktop. After the purchase, the Tableau account rep disappeared leaving us hanging. It is well advertised on Tableau's website, but in our case, the advertising did not match real-world experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Reviewing Tableau Server

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9

We use a database called Intersystems Cache, which Tableau can connect to but it's almost impossible to pull data.

We connect to Microsoft SQL databases and Excel spreadsheets.

Read this authenticated review
Mathieu Gaouette | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2019

Getting up and ready with a great data visualization platform in a few days with Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
I've never seen a data tool that could so easily connect to data sources and a lot of them at that. Not only can you connect to pretty much every DBMS, but you can also do it without any additional components (licenses). Tableau doesn't have data connectors that they sell, you can connect to everything out of the box. You might have to buy drivers at the OS level but nothing at the Tableau level. You can also read in SAS tables and SPSS tables (I was not expecting that!).
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Kanthesh MALLESH | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

Tableau Server for Sharing and collaboration of Dasboards

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We are not using Tableau Server to connect directly to the data source. We are publishing data to Tableau Server through Tableau Desktop. If we want to create a new dashboard in Tableau Server, we can make use of this feature to run a query on the database directly. It is fast, easy, and supports all data sources.
Read Kanthesh MALLESH's full review
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2019

Tableau Server is perfect for real-time visualization and interactive dashboards, not for advanced analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
Tableau has live connections to every data source I have ever wanted to use. The most common data sources are Microsoft SQL, Microsoft Access, Oracle, and Excel. I have connected Tableau Server to other data sources, including AWS, Azure, and many others. I've never had a problem.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

Intuitive and easy BI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
The connectivity we have used was easily set up and involved files as CSV, XLS spreadsheets, Oracle and MS SQL database, Google Analytics cloud solution, as well as other relational data. Except for loading clean CSV files, you will always need a data engineer to assist in writing connections scripts, and creating a read-only database account.
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Cody Kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Tableau Server: A No-Brainer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
We haven't had any significant issues connecting to our data sources like Postgres, Cloudera Hadoop, MySQL, etc. There are occasional issues where it seems to lose connectivity extracting from certain data sources in our VPC, but I am assuming there may be other factors at stake here.
Read Cody Kimball's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Tableau Server is an absolute must for getting the most out of the Tableau Platform.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
We connect using the Amazon EMR to our primary database, using the connector in Tableau Desktop. But we also connect to other sources such as PostgreSQL. Connection using a data extract is what we typically use, because a live connection is usually too slow of a user experience. So we schedule the extracts to refresh 1x or 2x daily. The connectors work well and the data scheduling is pretty reliable. When the refresh fails it notifies the appropriate administrators and has automatic retries. All in all, the broad connectivity options suit our needs well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Tableau Server Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Tableau connects to all kinds of data sources, making it easier for my company to gather data and use it in one central location.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, Agile

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
This is one of the best features of Tableau. We have used data from our student information system, our human resources system, and data from spreadsheets to create visualizations. The flexibility is outstanding. If we have the data captured in an electronic format, our data analytics team feel confident they can represent it in Tableau.
Read this authenticated review
Sachin Basappa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2018

Tableau is a gold mine, be the first or last, worth a dig!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We still have issues with live connections to our test environment, such as constant pops up with credentials. Other than that if you're not replacing your data source in a timely fashion, it won't connect/view your workbook and throws an ODBC error. Otherwise, everything connects and has great back up.
Read Sachin Basappa's full review
Eli Massey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2018

Tableau fits our needs as a small company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We use MS SQL and MySQL primarily and have a mix of live connections and data extracts that work quite well. I would like a better admin ability to see what data sources are being used and the dependencies in the database.
Read Eli Massey's full review
Henry Yennie | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Usable Analytics for the Right Price!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
It has been extraordinarily simple to connect to our primary Microsoft SQL data sources. We have several data warehouses/data marts that serve up the normalized data to Tableau dashboards. Changes in stored procedures and views enable our technical staff to easily maintain connectivity to relatively real-time data, something critical in emergency situations..
Read Henry Yennie's full review
Sandeep Munagala | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Experience with Tableau

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
We use 80% native connectors, but as a work around we use Excel data to feed Tableau for any other data sources other than native connectors. Workday connectivity is important for us to automate the HR dashboards. While publishing, it's better to have a default to embed a password rather than always changing it to embed the password.
Read Sandeep Munagala's full review
Brett Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

An essential part of our service offering.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
We utilize a combination of flat files and our Snowflake Data Warehouse. Because the snowflake connector is built in it's quite simple to connect to. It would be nice to allow users to increase the compute power of the snowflake warehouse being used from within the workbook. i.e. when datasource A launches its queries set the warehouse to a "small" instead of an "x-small"
Read Brett Mendes's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.0
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (75)
7.0
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.8
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.3
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
8.1
Publish to Web (80)
8.5
Publish to PDF (79)
7.6
Report Versioning (65)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
8.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (85)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.6
REST API (37)
7.6
Javascript API (34)
7.5
iFrames (38)
6.8
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.7

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese