TestComplete

TestComplete

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
Top Rated
TestComplete

Overview

Recent Reviews

Functional testing using TestComplete

8
December 11, 2021
We are in the Insurance and Travel business. Lots of our web applications are re-developed and re-designed. We decided to evaluate the …
Read full review

Smartbear TestComplete

10
December 11, 2021
We use TestComplete on our product known as Omni Accounts. TestComplete helps us in automating the testing process with the mundane …

TestComplete for Desktop application

7
December 10, 2021
Used for UI testing of our desktop application. Really helpful to check for regression in the hundreds of small features it has, …
Read full review

Nice Tool

6
December 07, 2021
I used [TestComplete] with ASP software in [the] testing team. It is flexible [and easy to] define our automation framework and scripts …

Happy to use it

9
December 06, 2021
We use TestComplete to write automated tests and support our quality assurance process. We test the applications/system (web, desktop) …

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of TestComplete, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Node-Locked Base

2,256

On Premise
per license

Node-Locked Pro

3,950

On Premise
per license

Float - Base

5,077

On Premise
per license

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://smartbear.com/product/testcompl…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is TestComplete?

TestComplete is designed to help testers and developers easily manage, run, and analyze automated GUI tests across multiple devices, platforms, and environments - enabling teams to improve software quality and speed up time to delivery.

According to the vendor, key business benefits include:
  • Easy-to-Use for All Experience Levels: Use the record and playback feature to run tests or choose from multiple programming languages such as Python, VB.NET, or JavaScript.
  • Instant Access to Real Environments in the Cloud: Get real-time access to the latest devices, resolutions, browsers and operating systems in its cloud lab. Run tests in parallel across more than 2000+ remote environments to improve test speed and coverage.
  • Robust Object Recognition for UI Testing: With TestComplete's robust object identification engine, the user can choose from over 50K object properties across more than 500 control types, including all major frameworks and third-party controls.
  • Built for Continuous Testing: Integrate TestComplete with test automation framework tools, CI systems such as GIT or Jenkins, or Test Management platforms like Jira or QAComplete.

TestComplete Videos

TestComplete Downloadables

TestComplete Integrations

TestComplete Competitors

TestComplete Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is TestComplete?

TestComplete is a test management and functional, performance testing tool, from SmartBear Software headquartered in Somerville, Massachusetts.

What is TestComplete's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 7.6.

Who uses TestComplete?

The most common users of TestComplete are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (136)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 86)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TestComplete to automate the regression tests of our products. Since our products are constantly improving and growing we need something that assists us in finding unpredicted bugs and searching bugs in already existing features, so that our release doesn't take that much time just for regression and we can concentrate more on new features. [Therefore] we try to fully automate our regression list in TestComplete.
  • Git integration
  • Compatible with many software products, web applications, mobile applications
  • A lot of build in actions
  • Project structure is very good
  • User cannot sort folders in an individual order
  • Working in documents is not supported (like Word documents)
When you are comfortable with writing scripts you can use TestComplete almost for everything you want to do. Since I am not accustomed to writing scripts and do not use them, I can still say that I can use TestComplete for every task that I [have had up to] now. My task is to write tests for MS Word and [I've] only [had] a single problem, which is that TestComplete cannot perform actions on the actual document. So I needed to bypass this and that was also not as hard as I initially thought. I think TestComplete gives you a good amount of actions, checkpoints, and other features to help you realize your tests.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TestComplete to automate testing of Microsoft Office AddIns that are based on .NET and WPF. We use a mix of keyword tests and scripting to create testing suites that can run autonomously and report through various checkpoints (region checkpoints for visuals, OCR checkpoints for text recognition, property checkpoints to verify the expected status of UI elements). The interfacing of scripts and keyword tests can be a hassle, but is still very doable and allows for different levels of expertise to work together. Objects can be found, identified (by their properties), and saved in the name mapping that also allows to then address them under an alias for improved usability. Finding objects is possible both by locating them on-screen or if they are in a lower hierarchy (or you'd like to add mappings for non-visual objects) the object browser is a powerful tool to analyze the whole structure of an application. This provides us with key functionality for our test automation.
  • Identifying UI objects and application structure
  • Expandability of tests through scripts and script extensions/plugins
  • low barrier of entry (you can get started quickly, and other's don't need much explanation to contribute on a basic level)
  • Possibility of Jira integration for reporting
  • Relatively few (and usually easy to solve) git conflicts when working simultaneously
  • easy handling of test data, also for iterative tests
  • The documentation is lackluster in many areas and especially for scripting, script extensions, and plugins, there's a lot of copy/paste. Trying to grasp a specific aspect is often impossible in these areas and it feels like one would really have to read the documentation from start to finish to not get lost. For example, the documentation for simply expanding a keyword test with a form, so the tester can specify parameters there, is completely overblown and takes a while to be reduced to the important bits.
  • The Name Mapping can be unstable when editing/renaming/moving objects and can lead to occasional crashes
  • TestComplete is not fully dpi aware and can have difficulties when operating multiple screens with different resolutions, which can lead to "click" events not hitting the actual button, and the application itself can often be way too large or small when it sized itself based on a screen it is not located on.
  • Mapping/interacting with objects is only possible when TestComplete can still find them after locating them. Therefore, when windows don't stay open after losing focus (by switching to TestComplete) this can be problematic, especially when trying to access elements that can not be pinpointed (either when they are not visible, have no visible representation, to begin with, or are situated below another object that blocks it)
To really make the most of TestComplete, at least some scripting is necessary. TestComplete works really well with clearly identifiable objects but needs some tweaking for objects that vary in e.g. quantity. We have some elements that vary, but the vast majority of UI elements have unique identifies, and those iterative elements can also be mapped to iterations of a semi-unique element (so more of a mapping of the item type that the specific item). I doubt the usability would be near as good if more items were not clearly identifiable. In our case, most are, and we handle our tests in form of nested keyword tests that occasionally also implement scripting when needed. Tedious tests like Verification of the correct presence and status of UI elements in all possible scenarios, and iterative tests of e.g. input values and combinations of such, are made easy to set up, execute and evaluate.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to automate one of our Windows GUI PowerPoint add-on. It address some of the workflows performed by normal PowerPoint users.
  • UI object recognition
  • Simplicity
  • Ease of automation and maintenance
  • Easy to create new test cases
  • Version 15.xx is little slower compared to the previous versions
  • There are some issues with capturing the checkpoint of disappearing drop-downs
Well suited for automating single user scenarios of PowerPoint.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TestComplete as the test automation tool for our suite Windows Forms applications and modules - over 100 different modules in total. It allows users without an existing test automation background to develop automated test suites and execute those on demand. This leads to increased accuracy and repeatability of our tests while reducing the time it takes to run our regression suites.
  • Recording test steps and generating code for them
  • Support for multiple languages
  • Can be used for both desktop and browser applications
  • Easy for beginners to get started
  • Missing git integration
  • No easy way to see where functions and methods are reused throughout the test suite
  • Users with a development background may find the UI clunky to use compared to an IDE like Visual Studio or JetBrains
TestComplete is really well suited to companies that need to automate desktop applications or do not have existing automation skills in-house. Other tools such as selenium are really well suited to browser applications but have a steep learning curve. In contrast, TestComplete users can get up and running quickly because the recording tool will generate code for them which allows something of value to be generated quickly. While TestComplete can also be used with browser applications, there are better tools to use if that is all you need to automate. Those who are used to IDEs such as JetBrains or Visual Studio will find TestComplete code features to be more limited but it is fine for most automation tasks.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete has been chosen in our Organization to automate the Business Flows performed in IFS (Industrial and Financial Systems) ERP Applications. It will run all the test cases (scenarios) for different modules (Order to Cash, Procurement to Pay, Finance, HR, and many more) in the application and will generate a detailed test report. Manual Intervention is not needed. This has benefited us in terms of Regression and Non-Regression Testing.
  • Detailed Test Report with Screenshots of Every Actions performed in the Application
  • Integrates smoothly with all third Party Applications and Software's
  • It supports various Scripting Languages (VBScript, Python, JavaScript)
  • License Cost for TestComplete Pro is at the high level.
  • It supports only Windows
Highly recommend TestComplete to all the IT Professionals looking for Seamless Automatic Executions of Complicated and Critical Tasks in their Applications, Tools, or Softwares. All the actions performed in any platform (be it in Desktop, Mobile, or Web) can be automated efficiently and effectively with no or minimal human intervention.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UI Testing of MS Office Plugins, which we provide to about 2 Mio Users worldwide. Used in Powerpoint, Excel, Word, and Outlook. Testing covers using Microsoft Office Features as well as windows and functionality of our add-ins. We use picture comparison and value comparison to verify our results. Especially our add-in for Powerpoint charts uses highly customized windows and menus in overlays over the actual Powerpoint charts.
  • In deep analysis of the program structure and hierarchy
  • Easy to learn for basic tests
  • Frequent updates
  • Application of script based test routines
  • Integration of Testexecute machines in the main UI
  • Picture comparison is very fleaky
Good for easy UI. Hard to use if it gets more complicated, unusual, or dynamic.
Quick to respond on various issues
Easy to learn, hard to master. For basic things, you can get up to speed very easy. For complex things, you can search in a lot of settings, for quite some time.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used TestComplete for 2 of our products. 1. Ours is a read-only CAD tool, where we used the object mapping technique to create the test cases and it worked well for us except for a few of the exceptions where object mapping failed. 2. It is an add-on for the Creo Parametric, where we recognize the features of the object/CAD model.
  • Object Mapping is really good.
  • Validation of test cases (checkpoints) is user friendly and intuitive.
  • Support of different script languages such as python, VBSript, JavaScript, etc.
  • Help documentation is very detailed and clear.
  • Grouping of the Test Cases and in detail test reports.
  • Recording in the case where object mapping is not possible, coordinate recording needs a better approach. Sometimes coordinates are not getting clicked for the desired tab and other tab gets clicked when the test is rerun.
TestComplete is best suited for applications where object mapping is captured perfectly. It can cover complex test cases in this case. Applications where object mapping fails. screen/window coordinates suit well, but with some limitations where proper tabs are not getting recognized when clicked and other tabs are clicked based on coordinates recorded.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the Insurance and Travel business. Lots of our web applications are re-developed and re-designed. We decided to evaluate the test automation tools to align with our applications. Most applications are web platforms and Mobile. The whole idea was to use the tools to perform SmokeTest and Functional testing whenever we needed.
  • Smoke Test
  • Functional Test
  • Unit Test
  • Azure DevOps integration
  • Test Suite runs - Running test Suite (improvements)
  • Name Mapping issue
  • Scripting
Easy to Record and Playback
Michal Ignaczak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are migrating Manual TestCases to an Automated framework using TestComplete. I am responsible for creating this framework integrating TestComplete with Jenkins and the qTest management tool. Our software is responsible for simulation and is based on C++ with MFC library and for testing. Our main problem with automation is correct create locators and mapping for all of our cases in-app which contains a lot of old code and new approach and [integrating] it with one testing framework
  • OCR Text Recognition
  • Easy for manual testers
  • A lot of languages supported
  • Python interpreter is POOR - no possibility to install using pip, no terminal...
  • More support for CI/CD like Jenkins
  • OCR actions could have more built-in functionality for keyword-in scripts you can easily extend
Generally, TestComplete is an easy-to-use tool. Great for manual testers who cannot [program] at all, nice for automated testers, but there is a lot of things [that] can be added as built-in functions. For OCR check the correct pattern of words 1. a 2. b 3. c etc. There could be added silent execution support for example TestComplete automatically creates a VM and run on it the tests. Support for installing and uninstalling tested apps etc.
December 11, 2021

Smartbear TestComplete

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TestComplete on our product known as Omni Accounts. TestComplete helps us in automating the testing process with the mundane repetitive tasks that are required with each release. To manually do these tests, will take a lot of time, and as we know time is money. With TestComplete, this process is automated and it does not take as much effort and time as a manual process. It is a brilliant product and even someone without coding knowledge will be able to create test cases. The test recorder does most of the work for you.
  • Auto recording and converting tests to code or steps.
  • Automated running of tests with exception reports
  • Run of multiple tests through a single application
  • To be honest, i cannot think of anything
  • None
  • Nothing
TestComplete is ideal for any type of development company, big or small. One will just need some basic knowledge on what tests are needed for an application and test complete does the rest
Extremely user friendly.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TestComplete to automate Delphi-based thick client GUI testing, complementing what is done via unit and integration testing. As we are using advanced components like VirtualTreeView, the ability to write our own plugins was decisive in the decision to move forward with TestComplete when we evaluated automated test environments. Pricing is fair and support has always been there when we needed it which cannot be said of all actors in this market. All in all, we are very pleased with TestComplete.
  • Accessing components by name instead of coordinates.
  • Reporting is detailed enough.
  • Summary emails are easy to understand.
  • Plugins documentation is partly missing.
  • Auto recording is a bit too detailed.
We have only been using TestComplete with Delphi applications and it clearly feels right at home with such applications. The ability to identify components in all containers is a very important feature as it allows more robust test harnesses, ones that are not dependent on the position of items on the screen. This means less maintenance when refactoring user interfaces, or simply when fixing typos in the displayed text.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for UI testing of our desktop application. Really helpful to check for regression in the hundreds of small features it has, especially when a Unit Test isn't possible, because a lot of GUI logic is needed before launching the business logic. It is also great to know that each window, tab, and popup was checked before release, especially when the test users mainly focus on the new feature of the software.
  • Repetitive mundane sequence of UI actions
  • Checking UI object's properties
  • Taking a lot of my time
  • Name mapping is hard to edit: when the hierarchy or the identifiers properties are wrong, it can be quite painful and time-consuming to correct. Especially when it is not clear which item wrongly matches. A tool to correct such items in name mapping would be useful.
  • TestComplete isn't multi user friendly, especially when using source control. Even if each user works on different tests, correcting the name mapping file only generates havoc on merge.
  • KeywordTests' UX is awful: for some items, editing parameters can be done in two clicks, for others we need to click several times to display the edit button, which would be hidden by the tooltip, and then click blindly on this button.
  • And then some properties can be modified in their text boxes, but other need to display the variable editor to be able to change anything.
  • Region Checkpoint is mostly useless: such checkpoint would be great for verifying generated images, but then anti-aliasing will never be the same on different rendering and the checkpoint will fail. Increasing the error tolerance will then not detect real issues.
  • We have redone the checkpoint by using perceptualdiff (https://github.com/myint/perceptualdiff ) and using only the Region Checkpoint feature to save the reference image (and mask). We also added the possibility to change of reference image, as testing on different graphic cards will give other subtle changes (AMD vs Nvidia).
  • TestExecute is too much limited. We needed to write a tool to deploy our software on the test machine, and then change the TC project file to include or not some test. As some tests are quite flaky, we needed a redo of these, so we only select (automatically) the failed tests for doing another run.
  • Exception in the test should always mark it failed, and not just discard it as it happens now in some cases.
  • We needed a color checkpoint to check the display of some status indicators. Quite strange that it was missing in TC.
For UI testing of desktop applications, it does its job: it seems better than concurrent tools. It will automatize most of the UI tests, and allow to catch most regressions and even detect some real bugs. But it isn't free: a lot of time is needed to create all the tests, then these should be updated for each new release of the tested application (especially if the GUI changed). And more time to have a real automatic testing solution, as TestComplete and TestExecute don't have any feature for deploying the tested application.
Some bugs were quickly resolved, but most UX quirks of the tool are just marked "as designed".
No follow up for enhancement request.
It is usable when you become accustomed to its quirks. Not using it for two months and then you need to re-learn the quirks for some features (but some quirks are so awful that they will never fade from your memory).
So, when using it regularly, it is possible to be quite productive, if no big correction in name mapping is needed.
December 07, 2021

Nice Tool

Gao Ping | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used [TestComplete] with ASP software in [the] testing team. It is flexible [and easy to] define our automation framework and scripts according to what we need. I design the test cases based on user scenarios then use TestComplete to execute [and] collect results [that] then generate the reports. It is easy to analyze the issues based on the Testcomplete report.
  • TestComplete couldn't identify all objects in my software but we could declare some class/function to do this.
  • We could use the command line to call TestExecute to execute the scripts automatically.
  • It supports multiple OS and it could update in time once MicroSoft releases new OS.
  • It doesn't support HTML5 well but i would like to use the same tool to test all the tested software.
  • It is strongly dependent on the screen resolution. if it could include embedded resolution to execute then it would be better.
  • Some objects couldn't be identified correctly and we have to spend more time to analysis the reason. If TestComplete could provide more possibilities, then it would be nice.
TestComplete could support test C++ application [as] well. There are many embedded functions [that] are compatible with the tested application.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is one of the prominent tools that we use in delivering Software QA Assurance, automating our Functional Tests, Regression Tests & Sanity Tests respectively. As a business, it addresses the complexity of setting up an Automated Test Framework and ensures code quality that supports stability and a positive user experience for Development in tests. We find Test project suites and codes fairly easy to build and maintain and the Test Record & Playback feature ensures we can easily introduce software engineers without prior experience to Test Automation.
  • Great AI system for object spy & recognition
  • Easy test project suites and code maintenance
  • Versatile debugging system at detecting potential code errors
  • Support for multiple programming language
  • Supports the testing of our large scale data driven projects well
  • Perhaps could improve with less Memory Hogging & CPU Usage.
TestComplete is quite a versatile tool for automating tests and it is easy to use. It has been a relevant tool in driving high volume data testing on our Windows & Web-based applications.
December 06, 2021

Happy to use it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TestComplete to write automated tests and support our quality assurance process. We test the applications/system (web, desktop) that we use on a daily basis in order to generate test data, validate data compliance, non-regression, and integration between several systems. It can be easily integrated with other systems. We integrated it into Quality Center (QC) to monitor the tests that are performed by TestComplete/TestExecute because QC is our quality management software.
  • Recognition of element on web page or in view app.
  • Integration with other systems.
  • Possibility to test applications through Citrix Receiver.
Good scenarios:
- Test with a web app or desktop app.
- Integration with Selenium or SoapUI.
- Debug tests.
- Make data-driven testing.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is used in several projects with different technologies. We have about ten licenses in our French offices
  • execution of projects on a remote workstation
  • easy integration with various software such as jenkins
  • You can load a readyApi project
  • object recognition (NameMapping)
  • license management
  • performance
all projects have been managed well but the NameMapping module remains very heavy to maintain
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for web app test automation, data validation, and [creating] data to facilitate testing.
  • Web test automation
  • Object recognition
  • Test log reporting
  • Easability to learn the tool, ramping up
We use [TestComplete] for web-based application testing. Much is via the UI across multiple VMs. Some [are] to execute hundreds of queries, validate the results and provide a report on the results. This will be useful for testing vendor app configuration at the DB level as well.
December 06, 2021

TestComplete

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it automate testing of our web applications. The main purpose currently is to monitor and report when issues arise or the application is down for some reason.
  • Automation
  • Easy to use.
  • Economical
  • Support
  • Web interface for configuring tests.
  • Less dependency on multiple servers for TestExecute.
  • Better way to schedule tests on TestExecute.
Great for general testing of our applications and making sure they are working from day to day.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TestComplete to regression test most of our web, API, and desktop systems. When time allows, we create test cases for specific issues we have fixed before they are implemented in production.
  • Object recognition in multiple environments
  • Speed
  • Scripting language flexibility
  • Needs ability to use global variables in verification points
TestComplete works well for Testing desktop applications Testing web applications in multiple browsers, ensuring compatibility Communicating with SQL server for retrieving and verifying data Repetitive tasks with multiple data sets -- it's easy to test one scenario and then setup comprehensive tests to cover all scenarios.
December 01, 2021

AutomationTool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Test Complete for UI testing of our product during the release and regular testing.
  • UI changes verification.
  • Changes in the code.
  • Revision update.
  • Object Verification.
It is best used in the static objects in windows. In dynamically changed objects, the verification is not the best.
December 01, 2021

[TestComplete]

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have worked with TestComplete [on] many projects, which has medical devices interfaces. Hence I have proposed we use TestComplete for the Automation of one of the Biotechnology Medical Device User Interface and that lead to [using] TestComplete with all the projects related to the same domain with a different set of customers. Also, TestComplete provides lots of easy interfaces with other tools like Zephyr(for Test Management), interfaces with customized DLLs via CLR Bridge, and lots of defect management tools, Jenkins, etc. Also, we have extended the TestComplete for automation Qt-based UI application running on Linux Platform using CLR Bridge(This is an awesome feature I have not seen on other Automation tools). TestComplete provides very good support to TestAutomation of Web and Mobile software as well and that too it supports customized XPATHs to identify objects on Web UI, also we can integrate TestComplete with Selenium and other Performance tools as well. And Finally one of the Best Budget Tool with a Competitive Price compare to other Test Automation Tools which supports all that supports in TestComplete(For Ex: HPs UFT, Squish GUI tester). And also lots of languages are supported by TestComplete with good online support.
  • CRL Bridge to access other customized DLLs
  • Zephyr, Jenkins Integration and Docker support
  • Selenium Integration and XPATH support to access UI Web Elements
  • Test Organizer, Descriptive program support (Can find all the UI objects on go without using Name Mapping)
  • Name Mapping and Aliases
  • Need to reduce OCR inconsistencies
  • Extend TestComplete to use it on Linux Platforms as well (we can extend via CLR Bridge for QT application running on Linux Platform)
  • Have option to import the Name Mapping and Split the Name Mapping
  • Name Mapping reduces the Performance of TestComplete, hence need to resolve this with high priority.
[...]
Marek Čierny | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In a small team like ours, TestComplete replaces the work of several people. We have created several thousand test scenarios in the human-readable Gherkin language. Every night, our build server automatically releases a new version of our desktop application, and then automated tests are run automatically. From the reports that TestComplete generates, we have a constant overview of the proper functioning of the entire program. If it happens that a certain part of our application stops working properly due to the development changes, we know about it the next morning at the latest.
  • Easy to learn and easy to use.
  • Compatible with various programming languages.
  • The test procedure can be easily recorded as a keyword test and then easily converted into a script in the selected programming language.
  • With Gherkin language support, the users can create their own robust test language that can significantly speed up the creation of new automated tests.
  • Speed.
  • Recognition of tested objects (we are using Delphi and DevExpress controls).
  • The price of the end user license increases every year.
Thanks to the ability to record manually performed tests, it is very suitable for quick creation and verification of the overall testing strategy. It is very suitable for creating extensive testing procedures. Thanks to the support of standard programming languages, such as JavaScript or C#Script, it is possible to gradually build a sophisticated set of test functions, essentially regardless of the size of the project.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using TestComplete for over 3 years. The tools we purchased are for the WEB module and planning to purchase the Desktop later. I am using the test complete for my Functional and Smoke Testing as I created lots of test scenarios and worked as per requirements. The challenge I have is when the test fails because of the Name Mapping. The name mapping on each object changes a lot and makes my job a little complicated. Intelligent Quality is another extension, that helps with the name mapping issues, and We are planning to purchase.
  • Smoketest
  • Functional testing
  • Testsuite executions
  • Name Mapping
I am sure if the name mapping issue has been improved by the Test complete engineer, the job will be much easy and we should not spend more time on the test recording when is created and passed once, then it should be run without any issues unless data changes.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is the key UI automation tool in our organization. It allows us to quickly and efficiently write powerful, fast, scalable and reliable automated tests. It is a key driver in allowing us to react to customer needs, and quickly implement change in our products, while giving us the confidence to know our products still meet the levels of quality our users expect.
  • Windows application testing
  • Integrates well with other SmartBear products and bug tracking tools
  • Web testing
  • Mobile testing
  • Licensing for automated build machines can be a bit frustrating to configure with the cloud.
  • configuration for multiple environments requires some homebrew thinking
TestComplete is very powerful in modern applications. The ability to dig into the underlying code objects can really open the door to some incredibly versatile automated tests. A little slower and and less elegant than some other tools in the web testing space, but a singular product that hits web, desktop and mobile is a killer sell.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is being used to perform software quality assurance checks by IT professionals located on a respective scrum team. The software is currently being used for various core systems and business applications across a variety of technologies enterprise wide. The business problem that it addresses is ensuring code quality that supports a positive the end user experience and stability.
  • GUI-based functional tests.
  • Object oriented scripting.
  • ETL data integrity testing.
  • DevOps.
  • API testing.
  • Additional development libraries.
  • Object Spy.
TestComplete has the ability to meet most technical needs for a CI/CD DevOps environment. It has the ability to integrate with a DevOps tool chain, and associated test suites. The IQ plugin has especially been helpful with scripts that require the OCR feature to recognize and read text contained in on screen pop-ups.