TrustRadius
TestComplete is a test management and functional, performance testing tool, from SmartBear Software headquartered in Somerville, Massachusetts.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/4B/Jw/7RZBHQKP6PWK.PNGNice tool for desktop, still lacks support for some mobile app typesBy being able to use data-driven testing some quite boring and tedious Tests with 1000 testcases can be nicely run automated to ensure we didn't break anything. One nice Addition to this fine Software (which would make it PERFECT) would be, if it supported testing Delphi Firemonkey applications at least on Android, starting to actually work on this (they've already been told in the past that this is a shortcomming of their product), instead of asking the user whether everything is fine, would be even more helpful!,Recognizing Delphi VCL controls, except TVirtualTreeview, but TC Folks once showed me how to automate this as well and it's ok now. Clean testcase structure etc. and helpful IDE Supports Delphi script for writing clean test Code and doesn't force you into recording everything. It rarely crashes and given that the Task at Hand really Needs intimate Knowledge of the inner workings of the platforms supported, this is surely no easy task!,No support for testing Delphi Firemonkey apps on mobile platforms yet and no clear indication of whether this will be delivered in the future and if so, when.,7,Cannot really tell as I have no comparison.,It solved our business challenge in parts. The other part is to find the time to write all those automated Tests necessary and that our Software requires interfacing with Hardware etc. where one might need to give "stimuli" which is not so easy. But it's still quite helpful for automating some ordinary but necessary stuff. Mobile testing currently is mostly usefull if you are really using the development Framework it was being made for.,Most useful is the Support for VCL applications, as I'm writing those. Being able to Name map controls and identify controls with a hair-cross is quite useful. The Editor is ok, but in comparison with Delphi IDE it lacks a few Features (I think identation, and Go to declaration is not always working like I'd like it to work). Some object recognition functionality for mobile testing lacks a resonable timeout.,Makes testing more systematic, and some things are being tested now which wouldn't be covered if it couldn't be automated. It helps to fight against boredom of repetive test runs.,,FirebirdSQL,No,Price Product Features Product Usability,I'm not sure if I really would Change that a lot if at all.Great muti-platform solution for reducing manual test time.Our teams use TestComplete to automate regression tests of our web-based products. Currently, the QA teams are the only teams using TestComplete. Having automated test suites helps reduce the test cycle time, by running regression test on standard features and UI elements. Some products are automated before release while others are automated after release.,The record and play back works great for our less technical team members. Basic UI validations and some of the happy path functionality can easily be automated. The structure and set up of Project Suites. Easy to organize tests and group into functional tests that can be reused in Test cases. Multiple Types of tests projects can be created. Mobile, Web Page and Web Services. When setting up a new project the wizard guides the user through and allows for the selection of many different options as well as the coding language that is preferred.,With some of the applications our company develops it is hard to re-use tests on multiple browsers. There is usually some items that need to be "tweaked" in order for it to run properly on multiple browsers. When adding Environments to the list in Environment Manager the values are not always retained. I try to add a Windows 7 - 64bit with IE 11 and it defaults the values back to Windows 10 or Chrome 50 when I select the alternate values. Our company uses Jira for defect tracking and TestComplete does not have the option in Issue Tracking to connect to Jira.,9,With some projects we have 80-85% automated test coverage. This decreased our manual test time significantly. Typical tester count for a project of that size would be double what we currently have working on the project if not for the extensive automated suite. Having a smoke test that is executed automatically after every deployment to the QA environment has decreased the turn around time for QA. This high level automated test will flag any deployment issues with environment or configuration. That way the development team does not need to wait on the QA team to start testing and identify issues with the deployment. Results are provided as soon as the deployment is complete and if issues are present then development can start working on the fix immediately without having to engage QA. The initial training time for testers has been balanced out once the automated scripts are in place. The upkeep on the scripts does take time and on some projects we have found that a full time automation resource is required to keep up with the changes being made.,The challenge was the amount of manual testing that needed to be conducted for regression tests. This was resource heavy on the number of testers and the amount of time it took to complete a full regression on some projects. TestComplete helped to reduce the manual test time. This allowed testers to focus on functional testing and be more thorough on the new features and functionality.,Our test efforts have mainly used TestComplete for our web based testing. It was easy to implement for our less technical testers with the record and play. Right off the shelf we were able to automate UI and basic happy path tests. With more in depth usage we were able to create data sets to exercise the many different scenarios that users could encounter with our products. The ability to choose the coding language on project set up is very helpful to allow each tester to choose what is their preferred language, making it easy for the testers to maintain.,The obvious of decreasing testing time. Having many of the manual tasks automated the testers can kick off the scripts and while that is running start on functional feature tests. Also the ability to have a smoke test kick off after a build is deployed has decreased the QA involvement. Helping to identify issues with the build before QA spends time testing and then has to return to development for build related issues.,,JIRA Software, Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft SQL ServerTestComplete, medically approved* to relieve tedium. (*i'm not a Doctor so this may not be accurate)We use TestComplete to test our in-house developed software. Our products bolt onto AutoCAD so we use TestComplete to interact not only with our software, but with AutoCAD too. Using TestComplete has really made a difference on the efficiency of the product test cycle. Previously a manual process involving hundreds of repetitive tasks, now, i simply load the test suite within TestComplete, press 'go' and it does the boring tests for me while i can do the more interesting exploratory testing manually. TestComplete has even helped us isolate bugs in our software that we didn't even know existed, due to the nature of how it interacts with our software.,Intuitive - whether writing scripts, or keyword tests, the TestComplete object discovery and mapping engine really helps keep things accessible to the 'driver', for example, i use the object browser to find elements and inspect their members, once mapped, referencing them in scripts and keyword tests is simple. Powerful - day to day, the problems I've had to solve to create tests were aided by TestComplete not hindered. Even if a scripting module is not present by default, it can easily be added/referenced Support network - I've had reason to ask the Smartbear support team for help a few times, and while their answers don't come immediately, they have been absolutely bang on the money with the answers given. In addition to this, the forums answer almost any 'mainstream' question you may have, they are usually my start point if I'm stuck. Repeat ability - the ability to repeat processes as many times as you like is a godsend that keeps tedium and human error to one side.,The scripting languages offered while solid, are less than convenient for me. I would love to be able to script tests in C# as i have a room full of C# experts here to assist if required Pressing F5 doesn't run the 'current' test, but the ENTIRE test suite, as my brain is tuned to Microsoft's F5 to 'go' this is a constant user error of mine,9,We have seen a much more efficient product release cycle since using TestComplete. )Mainly down to the fact that a new build can be issued and tested very quickly. In turn, this means problems can be found a lot quicker, and the process repeats.),Yes. Testing was becoming a problem area where there was simply too much to be done properly manually. Since getting TestComplete working, we have found that testing isn't as scary a prospect as BTC! (before TestComplete) From a personal perspective, i now don't have to do 1000's of repetitive clicks to find the developers have rebuilt the software and i need to start all over again - bliss.,We only use the desktop application test module as we only develop desktop applications. I'm using the Object Browser all of the time to look behind the curtain of a desktop application that i'm testing and building the test based on that information.,TestComplete has brought testing from an ugly 'someone has to do it' (me!) corner, to a more mainstream part of the development cycle. We are working toward nightly builds and continuous testing.,TestRail,AutoCAD, Windows Server, Hyper-V, Team Foundation Server, Visual Studio Test ProfessionalGreat Product for the Small to Large Software Development NeedsTestComplete is used across our department. It is primarily used to automate GUI interfaces to our application product suite.,The organization of test suites and test projects is very intuitive. This made it easy to learn and fairly easy to manage. We had a conceptual framework for tests that TestComplete seems to support very well. The blog web site for technical support is very responsive and the people supporting it know the product quite well. This has been essential in helping us to apply the product across a wide variety of testing needs. TestComplete allows one to create very robust automated test procedures. When it comes to testing on a very large scale, the test procedures must themselves be bullet proof. There are quite a few tricks to learn to make this happen, but TestComplete allows us to do this.,The reporting features are poor to non-existent. We need to develop our own presentation formats for results and do not want to buy an add-on product (such as QA Complete) to do so. We have had to get creative and embed report meta data generating subroutines into our test procedures so that we can capture the data that we need. This is time consuming and inefficient. There are a couple of files that are particularly vulnerable to corruption if you are not very careful with how you manage your source control. The name mapping file and individual project files can be corrupted easily when more than one person is making changes to those files. Merging capabilities with something like the Git version control tool can be tricky. Remember to back things up frequently and carefully! TestComplete does not provide searching for internal relationships without writing special scripts to do so. For example, it would be nice to find out what TestComplete objects are affected by making a change to javascript function. Getting a list of keyword tests and lines affected would be great. Another example is changing the name of an object. In some cases TestComplete propagates the name changes to the affected related objects and in other cases it does not. How does one understand the impact of changing a shared object if these relationships are not readily at one's finger tips??,10,This is still to be determined - at least in terms of hard numbers. We are only just starting to collect data on our testing results, so stay tuned. However, I will say that TestComplete definitely gives us capabilities that we would not otherwise have. Thus in a binary sense, TestComplete is a game changer (e.g., yes we have automated testing capability vs. no, we do not have automated testing capability).,Yes, it absolutely did. We needed a tool that performed automated testing at three levels (direct GUI manipulation, GUI object property/method call manipulation, and sending stimuli and detecting responses for multiple programs running concurrently in a system). We also needed a tool that was flexible with its verification checkpoint methods (image comparisons with masking and tolerance setting capabilities, flexible and robust XML content verification, object property verification, table-driven results lookup, and many other types). Finally, we needed a tool that was affordable.TestComplete basically hit a home run for us in all of these areas.,Windows forms application testing is the biggest area of need. We do not have big need to testing web pages or mobile applications. The support objects out of the box is pretty good. We use QT objects a lot and TestComplete drills right down into those objects with any special add-ons or added expense. We have not tried it yet, but we intend to use the command-line interface to TestComplete quite a bit for our regression testing and our "test on demand" framework that we hope to build.,The biggest payback will be when we are able to repeat batteries of tests with little or no extra manpower. The procedure development process is tedious and resource intensive, but nearly so much as the resource required to perform tests manually, over and over again.,,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Analyst Reports,We now have a better understanding of our testing requirements and needs. We purchased TestComplete to pilot its applicability to our projects by using it on one project. It will be expanded to other projects. Except for achieving a better understanding of our requirements up front (hard to do), I think we did quite well with our evaluation approach.My experience with TestComplete - Past five yearsWe use the tool to automate an ETRMS and other internal applications. We use the tool to primarily automate the test regression suites for these applications.,The fact that the tool supports multiple scripting languages is great. It supports JScript, JavaScript, and Python to name just three. This makes it easy for me to recruit test automation engineers to do the work. The distributed execution module is great in the sense that it helps us to cut our Test suite execution time by more than half. The TestExecute module is very useful. It's not costly and is light weight. The Command Line Interface makes it flexible for us to write schedule jobs.,The Distributed module needs to provide the ability to connect to any host instead of a Physical 1 to 1 mapping. This would allow the automation architect to provide a pool of servers to be used for test execution. The tool should have Java support since a huge majority of applications use Java. The IDE's support for Java will allow Java developers to leverage the tool more. The tool needs to improve the performance of its JavaScript code. This is currently a huge issue.,8,TestComplete has helped our company greatly. We had an automation suite that used to take three months to run manually but now runs in about 3 hours. The learning curve to get started was our biggest issues. Once the staff is trained it becomes easier.,Absolutely. We needed to be able to deploy our application more frequently and we are now able to deploy twice a week as opposed to twice a year.,We primarily use the tool for end to end UI based regression testing. We use other tools for web/cross browser testing. One of the reasons is that an open source web application provides a lot of flexibility without a license fee. They also are more friendly to regular IDEs like Eclipse and IntelliJ.,All of the above is true. We are using TestComplete to support our agile transformation effort and we are extending the useoft the tool with our Bamboo implementation for CI/CD.,,Selenium, Toad Data Point, JIRA Software
Windows
TestComplete
86 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TestComplete Reviews

TestComplete
86 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 86 vetted TestComplete reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 41)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
February 22, 2018

TestComplete Review: "Nice tool for desktop, still lacks support for some mobile app types"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
By being able to use data-driven testing some quite boring and tedious Tests with 1000 testcases can be nicely run automated to ensure we didn't break anything. One nice Addition to this fine Software (which would make it PERFECT) would be, if it supported testing Delphi Firemonkey applications at least on Android, starting to actually work on this (they've already been told in the past that this is a shortcomming of their product), instead of asking the user whether everything is fine, would be even more helpful!
  • Recognizing Delphi VCL controls, except TVirtualTreeview, but TC Folks once showed me how to automate this as well and it's ok now.
  • Clean testcase structure etc. and helpful IDE
  • Supports Delphi script for writing clean test Code and doesn't force you into recording everything.
  • It rarely crashes and given that the Task at Hand really Needs intimate Knowledge of the inner workings of the platforms supported, this is surely no easy task!
  • No support for testing Delphi Firemonkey apps on mobile platforms yet and no clear indication of whether this will be delivered in the future and if so, when.
Quite well suited for VCL Windows applications, but not suited for Firemonkey mobile applications as Support for those is not built in at this time. Use of the licence Server is sometimes a hassle too and I think it's getting a bit pricey in comparison to some years back. But it gained some Features as well. While they did further Things for mlobile testing it still lacks some functionality needed and some functionality misses polish (e.g. Things with too Long non configurable timeout).
Makes testing more systematic, and some things are being tested now which wouldn't be covered if it couldn't be automated. It helps to fight against boredom of repetive test runs.
Read this authenticated review
Jessica Strock profile photo
August 21, 2017

TestComplete Review: "Great muti-platform solution for reducing manual test time."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our teams use TestComplete to automate regression tests of our web-based products. Currently, the QA teams are the only teams using TestComplete. Having automated test suites helps reduce the test cycle time, by running regression test on standard features and UI elements. Some products are automated before release while others are automated after release.
  • The record and play back works great for our less technical team members. Basic UI validations and some of the happy path functionality can easily be automated.
  • The structure and set up of Project Suites. Easy to organize tests and group into functional tests that can be reused in Test cases.
  • Multiple Types of tests projects can be created. Mobile, Web Page and Web Services. When setting up a new project the wizard guides the user through and allows for the selection of many different options as well as the coding language that is preferred.
  • With some of the applications our company develops it is hard to re-use tests on multiple browsers. There is usually some items that need to be "tweaked" in order for it to run properly on multiple browsers.
  • When adding Environments to the list in Environment Manager the values are not always retained. I try to add a Windows 7 - 64bit with IE 11 and it defaults the values back to Windows 10 or Chrome 50 when I select the alternate values.
  • Our company uses JIRA for defect tracking and TestComplete does not have the option in Issue Tracking to connect to JIRA.
There are a lot of great features that can be used to automate test cases. It is simple enough to use for the less technical testers and has enough features for our engineer testers. Having the flexibility of coding language and the multiple modules for web, desktop and mobile apps is great. The price point is at the top end and is hard to maintain enough licenses for a large team with all the individual modules need for a complete solution.
The obvious of decreasing testing time. Having many of the manual tasks automated the testers can kick off the scripts and while that is running start on functional feature tests. Also the ability to have a smoke test kick off after a build is deployed has decreased the QA involvement. Helping to identify issues with the build before QA spends time testing and then has to return to development for build related issues.
Read Jessica Strock's full review
Peter Anderson BEng MCSA profile photo
August 11, 2017

"TestComplete, medically approved* to relieve tedium. (*i'm not a Doctor so this may not be accurate)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TestComplete to test our in-house developed software. Our products bolt onto AutoCAD so we use TestComplete to interact not only with our software, but with AutoCAD too.

Using TestComplete has really made a difference on the efficiency of the product test cycle. Previously a manual process involving hundreds of repetitive tasks, now, i simply load the test suite within TestComplete, press 'go' and it does the boring tests for me while i can do the more interesting exploratory testing manually.

TestComplete has even helped us isolate bugs in our software that we didn't even know existed, due to the nature of how it interacts with our software.
  • Intuitive - whether writing scripts, or keyword tests, the TestComplete object discovery and mapping engine really helps keep things accessible to the 'driver', for example, i use the object browser to find elements and inspect their members, once mapped, referencing them in scripts and keyword tests is simple.
  • Powerful - day to day, the problems I've had to solve to create tests were aided by TestComplete not hindered. Even if a scripting module is not present by default, it can easily be added/referenced
  • Support network - I've had reason to ask the Smartbear support team for help a few times, and while their answers don't come immediately, they have been absolutely bang on the money with the answers given. In addition to this, the forums answer almost any 'mainstream' question you may have, they are usually my start point if I'm stuck.
  • Repeat ability - the ability to repeat processes as many times as you like is a godsend that keeps tedium and human error to one side.
  • The scripting languages offered while solid, are less than convenient for me. I would love to be able to script tests in C# as i have a room full of C# experts here to assist if required
  • Pressing F5 doesn't run the 'current' test, but the ENTIRE test suite, as my brain is tuned to Microsoft's F5 to 'go' this is a constant user error of mine
Our software has about 1000 symbols that can be inserted into AutoCAD. This job is manual and tedious. Using TestComplete, i have scripted this so that it places each symbol on the page, and moves along like a typewriter. When it hits the edge of the page, it drops a line, when it gets to the bottom of the page, it moves to a new area of modelspace and repeats the process until all symbols are inserted. This is a job that is very important to ensure all of our symbols place successfully AND correctly,

I have also scripted an entire run through our Ribbon menus in most of our products, doing the most basic execution tests - i.e. does the command work in isolation. This is another tedious and long test that is now quick and easy using TestComplete

TestComplete has brought testing from an ugly 'someone has to do it' (me!) corner, to a more mainstream part of the development cycle. We are working toward nightly builds and continuous testing.
Read Peter Anderson BEng MCSA's full review
Clay Watson profile photo
August 10, 2017

TestComplete Review: "Great Product for the Small to Large Software Development Needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is used across our department. It is primarily used to automate GUI interfaces to our application product suite.
  • The organization of test suites and test projects is very intuitive. This made it easy to learn and fairly easy to manage. We had a conceptual framework for tests that TestComplete seems to support very well.
  • The blog web site for technical support is very responsive and the people supporting it know the product quite well. This has been essential in helping us to apply the product across a wide variety of testing needs.
  • TestComplete allows one to create very robust automated test procedures. When it comes to testing on a very large scale, the test procedures must themselves be bullet proof. There are quite a few tricks to learn to make this happen, but TestComplete allows us to do this.
  • The reporting features are poor to non-existent. We need to develop our own presentation formats for results and do not want to buy an add-on product (such as QA Complete) to do so. We have had to get creative and embed report meta data generating subroutines into our test procedures so that we can capture the data that we need. This is time consuming and inefficient.
  • There are a couple of files that are particularly vulnerable to corruption if you are not very careful with how you manage your source control. The name mapping file and individual project files can be corrupted easily when more than one person is making changes to those files. Merging capabilities with something like the Git version control tool can be tricky. Remember to back things up frequently and carefully!
  • TestComplete does not provide searching for internal relationships without writing special scripts to do so. For example, it would be nice to find out what TestComplete objects are affected by making a change to javascript function. Getting a list of keyword tests and lines affected would be great. Another example is changing the name of an object. In some cases TestComplete propagates the name changes to the affected related objects and in other cases it does not. How does one understand the impact of changing a shared object if these relationships are not readily at one's finger tips??
We use TestComplete almost exclusively for GUI testing. It is capable of testing non-GUI applications as well, but we do not do that with TestComplete. TestComplete is not well-suited for testing the applications running on operating systems other than Windows.
The biggest payback will be when we are able to repeat batteries of tests with little or no extra manpower. The procedure development process is tedious and resource intensive, but nearly so much as the resource required to perform tests manually, over and over again.
Read Clay Watson's full review
Joseph C. Dormelus profile photo
July 31, 2017

Review: "My experience with TestComplete - Past five years"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the tool to automate an ETRMS and other internal applications. We use the tool to primarily automate the test regression suites for these applications.
  • The fact that the tool supports multiple scripting languages is great. It supports JScript, JavaScript, and Python to name just three. This makes it easy for me to recruit test automation engineers to do the work.
  • The distributed execution module is great in the sense that it helps us to cut our Test suite execution time by more than half.
  • The TestExecute module is very useful. It's not costly and is light weight. The Command Line Interface makes it flexible for us to write schedule jobs.
  • The Distributed module needs to provide the ability to connect to any host instead of a Physical 1 to 1 mapping. This would allow the automation architect to provide a pool of servers to be used for test execution.
  • The tool should have Java support since a huge majority of applications use Java. The IDE's support for Java will allow Java developers to leverage the tool more.
  • The tool needs to improve the performance of its JavaScript code. This is currently a huge issue.
The tool is great for performing end to end automation for a client server application. It is less suited for web automation since it is not as flexible as Selenium in terms of libraries available to engineers.
All of the above is true. We are using TestComplete to support our agile transformation effort and we are extending the useoft the tool with our Bamboo implementation for CI/CD.
Read Joseph C. Dormelus's full review
Jonathan Yoquinto profile photo
July 28, 2017

Review: "TestComplete - The Only Automated Testing Suite I've Used"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Testcomplete is only used by our R&D Team within our SQA Group. We currently have two users of Testcomplete, and one previous user on our development team. We use Testcomplete to automate certain tests that are either very repetitive or difficult for our analysts to test. By combining Testcomplete, Testexecute, and Windows Powershell, we have a set of overnight tests we run during our regression testing and performance tests that are run periodically throughout development. We are currently creating tests for our new mobile app that integrates with our desktop application.
  • A very low entry point, with a very high skill ceiling - It doesn't take a lot to get started in Testcomplete and I feel like I'm always learning a new use or function that I hadn't thought of or knew before.
  • Feedback - The live debugging in script creation is very useful and it's very rare that I have a test fail and Testcomplete does not give me a descriptive enough answer to correct the issue.
  • A large tool set - There are a large number of features that can be used to aid in the automation process. Testcomplete has different wizards and object tools that allow me to tailor the creation process to how I want it to be.
  • Occasional crashes - sometimes a recorded test can cause the application to crash if it is too large for the system it's running on.
  • Missing sort/search functionality in some places - There are some places where you can only search one field when there are multiple being displayed. It makes it difficult to find script files when I'm adding them as a test item.
  • High skill ceiling - while I listed this as a positive, it can sometimes be daunting moving into an area that has a ton of options or variables that you can change with very little description next to the options.
TestComplete is very good at creating automated tests that need to be run many times. TestComplete is very good for creating automated tests for the things users of the software you are testing will do often. It is not good for creating a test that needs to have something changed every time it's run.
It has greatly reduced the amount of time spent on manual testing our software. It allows more time for the hardware components of our testing and has greatly improved our optics on the performance of our product. We have used Testcomplete to overload our system and time the recovery, leading to performance improvements we may not have thought of otherwise.
Read Jonathan Yoquinto's full review
Srdjan Stupar profile photo
July 19, 2017

User Review: "TestComplete in a nutshell"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using TestComplete in our IT department to automate regression testing for different applications. Currently, only QA (myself) is using TestComplete for automating test cases in windows and web. I use the keyword test approach.
  • Ease of use for non-programmers, ability to record and playback your test cases.
  • Support for mutliple programming languges, so it can be used by users with programming backgrounds, which in turn provides more solid test coverage and troubleshooting.
  • Very convenient feature for executing recorded or written scripts over multiple machines via TestExecute feature. You can schedule and run your tests simultaneously over a number test machines.
  • Data-driven testing is made a lot easier with TestComplete's ability to pull the data from stored Excel files or even from DB queries that can be run in real-time during test executions by accessing.
  • Ability to analyze objects your test cases are working with, with their full sets of properties, and to decide which property of an object to verify.
  • Reusability of recorded test cases; you can call a recorded test case within another test case.
  • Cross-browser testing; you can run your web scripts over multiple browsers and browser versions.
  • I would like to have the ability to export test results in bulk, from the Project Workspace section; currently, you can only export one test case execution at a time in HTML format.
  • From time to time, I've run into an issue with object recognition, where TestComplete was not able to find some of our custom coded controls due to its multiple layer structure (Infragistics combined with WinForms, etc.). Our application uses a lot of search result grids, which are Infragistics control grids, and by using the keyword test script approach, I am not able to easily read the values and properties of the individual cells of the grid; object spy treats the entire grid as one element, one control.
I have been using TestComplete only for the regression testing efforts, and I think for this purpose it has proven to be a well-rounded application. Reporting mechanism is well organized and easy to read. Overall, if you need a tool that will be able to handle "around the clock" QA testing, this is the tool.
TestComplete has definitely decreased our overall testing cycle during releases by reducing the time we used to spend on manual regression testing.

Read Srdjan Stupar's full review
Yury Vakhatov profile photo
October 24, 2017

User Review: "Using TestComplete in a bank"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main usage of the tool is automation of our regression testing. However often we use it to quickly solve some tasks where user actions required to be automated. Despite the fact that we are the bank, we develop a number of own applications like Internet-bank for web and mobile platforms, custom modules for our CRM system etc. TestComplete is used only by our QA department.
  • Great object recognition. We can get an access to the most of properties and methods of GUI controls.
  • Support of Python programming language expands native TC functionality with third party libraries.
  • One testing platform for web, mobile and desktop applications.
  • Works relatively slowly during test runtime. Especially with iOS applications.
  • Poor options for log export. Only .mht is supported.
  • Unable to use variables within Objects in Stores.
TestComplete is well suited for scenarios, which required simultaneously interact with different type of applications - desktop, web, mobile.
Also it can be useful for QA-personnel without programming skills to quickly automate not very complex scenarios.
The overall testing time was decreased.
Read Yury Vakhatov's full review
Suhas Kashyap profile photo
September 01, 2017

"TestComplete Tool Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using TestComplete, now we are able to automate the web applications, mobile apps (which was manual testing earlier) and desktop applications as well. Currently, TestComplete is being used in some of projects/teams and some other team members are learning TestComplete to improve their technical skills using different scripting languages. Along with this, TestComplete has other good features, which are interesting to learn for enhancing skills and to automate applications efficiently.
  • Automating different types of applications (web, desktop and mobile apps)
  • Supports multiple scripting languages for coding
  • Features like name mapping, object spy, object browser which are helpful in identifying elements easily and to identify the process running in Windows OS
  • Online support covering the features of TestComplete/assistance from a vast number of users/technical persons
  • Debugging the code by enabling breakpoint
  • Support for multiple browsers
  • Record and playback feature
  • Still more better online assistance/guide (w.r.t TestComplete tool and to the scripting language along with code) from the technical team. Already online guide is available and its vast, but it can be still improved/updated to include all features of TestComplete and syntax/coding standards of scripting language as well
  • Still more detailed explanation about the errors (compile/Run time) which is observed could be provided so that debugging can be easier and tool will be user-friendly
  • Name Mapping feature/object Spy tool could be improved
TestComplete is suited for automating web and desktop applications (using different scripting languages) and according to me it maybe less suited for automating mobile apps (initially). But we can automate the mobile apps. Also, it's a good tool to learn automation initially using the record and playback features and we can try load testing the feature as well.
Yes, after using TestComplete the time for regression testing is reduced and its easier to maintain the test scripts for different modules. Also, we can do cross browser testing, which is easier to test application in different browsers and the test coverage (we can concentrate on Functional / System / Integration test cases) will be more.

Also, if more number of test cases / scenarios are there, we can execute some test cases in server machine and remaining test cases in other (client) machine using TestExecute.
Then TestComplete can be used for automating Windows desktop application through VB scripts and also we can perform mobile apps testing easily through emulators even though if the actual mobile device is not available.
Read Suhas Kashyap's full review
Sunitha Puttathimmaiah profile photo
August 24, 2017

TestComplete Review: "Glimpse of friendly application test complete"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is used for automating desktop applications and for mobile application testing purposes. It is very useful for image based, measurement kind of applications. It is very friendly and easy to use. It supports Python which is very trending in recent times.
  • Object spy
  • Record and playback
  • Debugging tools
  • Object driven testing (ODT)
  • Data population
  • More flexibility for image comparison
Desktop application
It decreased required testing time, enabled continuous testing, improved collaboration between development and testing teams, and lowered test maintenance costs. Test reporting became easy when integrated with other tools. Debugging was helpful.
Read Sunitha Puttathimmaiah's full review
Annette Levin Dybdahl profile photo
August 23, 2017

User Review: "TestComplete is great to use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for QUI test in our software. We have several test departments in the company but we are the only one using it. The other departments use other systems, so we don't have a strategy for what products to use.
  • TestComplete is good at making changes in the QUI visible right at once
  • TestComplete gives more decipline in the development department. The developers need to be aware that changes in object naming have an influence on the automated test
  • We have a lot of manual testing, but we can save time by automating the tests that don't involve direct hardware interaction
  • Namemapping. From time to time TestComplete fails due to object names. Making changes in namemapping is hard to do as well as risky.
  • The help files. All examples are scripts. I would like to see more examples directed for the people that do not script testcases, but record them
Read Annette Levin Dybdahl's full review
Milan Svitlica profile photo
August 11, 2017

TestComplete Review: "desktop application testing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization we have a software system that consists of several windows desktop applications. We use TestComplete to create automated tests for those applications so we can perform continuous automated regression testing. In this way we are trying to release more often and increase the quality of our software
  • We are using TestComplete for windows desktop applications and, compared to other tools that we tried, it was most intuitive and easy to use
  • Other than that, since our application is large and consists of lots of different UI controls, TestComplete worked well with most of them, since some other tools didn't work at all
  • TestComplete has integration with Git so we can easily save our tests to a remote Git repository
  • Sometimes is not easy to find the property you would like to use for checkpoint
  • TestComplete for windows could run faster in some scenarios
  • Git integration could be improved (to not only use Tortoise Git)
Since we are using Test Complete for windows desktop applications, we think it is well suited for that purpose and we recommend it for it. For other scenarios we have't used it so we cannot either recommend or not recommend.
Read Milan Svitlica's full review
Christophe MOREL profile photo
August 09, 2017

TestComplete Review: "TC for a web application"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is used by all of the Quality assurance department in my company (we have several QA teams, one for each product line). We use TestComplete for regression tests and in continuous integration process to test interfaces of our products.
  • TestComplete is easy to use. Code is easy to maintain and update (if developer respects some elementary coding rules, of course).
  • Production of mht log for tests is easy to do, and readability is good (expandable folder, etc.)
  • Execution of a scenario over several browsers.
  • Object spy is efficient.
  • TestComplete Editor for script needs some functionality like highlight mapping object from script, possibility to begin a run from a line in script, etc.
  • Some basics functionalities that have existed for many years in editors like notepad++, eclipse, etc. don't exist in TestComplete.
  • Debug is hard to use.
  • Sometimes automatic mapping of object during recording is bad (for example, for a web application, idStr is not taken as criteria because there is only one object of this type in the page). I prefer doing mapping to control it before recording.
  • Edition of a same shared project by 2 users is too hard. I gave up because we lost some TestComplete code too many times.
  • TestComplete can be blocked by a child process of Application under test, and it's hard to find it, and mainly impossible to stop run without killing TestComplete.
  • Confirmation of object disparition is hard to code. Most of the time, it slows the scenario.
Testcomplete is well suited to test interface of our web products. We don't use it for performance or volume tests.
Improved continuous testing, and decreased testing time. mht log permit to keep traces of execution on old release.
Read Christophe MOREL's full review
Lisa Lindow profile photo
July 25, 2017

Review: "TestComplete is a winner when automating Delphi based apps"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by QA to write and run automated scripts to test several desktop applications which are coded in Delphi.
  • TestComplete is the most effective automation tool for interacting with Delphi based code.
  • TestComplete allows the user to choose from various scripting languages, and provides support for each.
  • TestComplete is continually being updated and improved.
  • TestComplete provides good support, including an extensive forum, plus a short response time for additional issues.
  • If the app under test is not responding, TestComplete cannot always be paused, but requires being shut down.
  • It is not uncommon to have to re-vamp automation scripts that once ran flawlessly, when there have been no changes to the PC, etc.
  • The licensing can be onerous particularly if there are any changes to the hosting PC.
TestComplete interacts effectively with Delphi based code, and is the best software automation tool we've found to do so.
TestComplete has decreased testing time, and allowed for continuous testing.
Read Lisa Lindow's full review
Hank Jones profile photo
July 21, 2017

Review: "TestComplete isn't quite complete (for WPF)"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The quality assurance department of Omnitracs Roadnet uses TestComplete to automate user interface testing of several of our applications, including a web application and a Windows presentation foundation (WPF) application. We primarily script automated tests to cover general "day in the life" use of our software, which saves time for manual test engineers during the regression testing period and can catch defects before manual testers find them.
  • TestComplete allows access to the entire view model of WPF programs, which allows for complex tests to be scripted.
  • TestComplete has a feature called Object Spy, which makes scripting of new tests fairly quick, as users can quickly see the names an attributes of applications elements simply by clicking on parts of the application user interface.
  • TestComplete's text editor is extremely slow for debugging (especially for loading local variables, which can take minutes to load for every step in the debugging process).
  • During our use of TestComplete, we found that it would regularly hang during test runs, requiring a manual restart of the test run.
  • The version of JavaScript used by TestComplete is rather bare bones and could be much improved with features common in modern libraries.
  • TestComplete seemed to have difficulty working with complex WPF programs as we found it necessary to script frequent breaks and refreshes into our automated tests in order to be sure that TestComplete had an accurate version of the view model.
TestComplete is best suited for small teams automating the testing of web applications. It works best with tests that involve simple actions. It does not work well with complex WPF applications and tests that involve more advanced user actions like drag and drop or scrolling. Debugging WPF applications in particular is a slow and frustrating process.
Read Hank Jones's full review
Charles Palanzo profile photo
July 21, 2017

User Review: "TestComplete - Good but not perfect"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used in one department to automate testing of power management appliances we manufacture. [It's also used for] Automated testing of browser based control panels for products.
  • Basic scripted testing of login pages and basic web operation. Keyword / macro capability easy to program.
  • More involved functional tests with time period testing between events. Good for performance evaluation.
  • The key issues are that TestComplete often has problems running previously created scripts as a browser version update - identifying page objects is problematic.
Basic web page operational tests.
Decreased required testing time and improved repeatability.
Read Charles Palanzo's full review
John Jay Sciarra profile photo
July 19, 2017

TestComplete: "Test Complete Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across departments, the QA team is writing automations using keyword testing and data driven loops for GUI test generation. We will be setting up a strategy for cross browser testing in the near future.
  • Keyword Testing
  • Data Driven Loop
  • I find the training to be a challenge
  • The initial software installation and configurations for the license manager a quirky
Test Complete is well suited for GUI automation testing, aka black box testing. To automate repeatable user testing tasks and run the automation as a regression suite are quite good.
I am neutral on this question.
Read John Jay Sciarra's full review
Anil Kumar Moka profile photo
September 12, 2017

TestComplete Review: "Testing on multiple platforms across different browsers? This is the tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is used by several teams in my organization but not all. It is typically used for test automation and mainly for functional and regression testing.
  • It easily integrates with other tools like Jira, Github, Jenkins and even other test automation frameworks like Selenium. With these features, it makes a perfect case for continuous testing and CI/CD. Also perfect for DevOps style of development.
  • It supports multiple platforms like desktop applications, web applications, and mobile applications. This combination makes a great one as in today's world an app should be functioning in all environments.
  • It has cloud on demand test labs which is excellent for running your test suite in multiple environments without any hassle.
  • Got to say that object recognition is way superior to other tools which is very key for test automation. Also supports codeless automation which is cool.
  • Even though object recognition is their strength, it can still be better. Some times in a dynamic web application, the object recognition fails. Of course there are work arounds but you shouldn't really be using them.
  • Switching to debug mode when an exception pops in is missing. Would be a great add on.
  • There are many open source free tools in the market and license cost is a factor with this tool.
TestComplete is best suited for automating the test suite. It's also a great tool if you have to test in multiple platforms and multiple OS and browsers. Their cloud on demand service is a great solution for this. If you are working on agile or any CI/CD platform, you should seriously give a try on this tool. If you are aiming to test Rest APIs or any web service testing, this is not the one to go for.
With this tool in place and an automated test suite in place, our releases were much faster and there were fewer defects.
Read Anil Kumar Moka's full review
சங்கர்(Shankar) ரா(R) profile photo
August 24, 2017

Review: "TestComplete does everything you want in Automation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is being used by the QA department, We are using this for automating a JSwing application and it covers the smoke, regression, and business functionalities. It is mainly focused on the user experience and integrated flow with the product being tested by TestComplete.

TestComplete provides an option to perform actions with multiple AUT technologies under one project/project suite.

TestComplete has a wide range of options to overcome your issue during automation.
  • Script Extensions - Scripts can be developed using VBScript and JScript where it can be utilized by other script languages
  • Project(Suite) Variables - These variables can be accessed any where in the project/project-suite and it has different types of data type to perform the actions better
  • Custom Object Mapping - User can map the AUT custom objects into accessible controls where other tool doesn't have much on it
  • Extended Find - This can be used when user based roles and screens for identifying same object in different hierarchy
  • Code Editor - this needs to improved a lot in-order to be great product
  • Performance on Debug - this needs to be optimized when we use large project suite
  • Recovery Scenario
  • Handling dynamic objects
  • Handling complex object hierarchy
  • Language selection for script development
  • Script Extension provides you with an ultimate option to create your common and utility functions since it will run as non-debug code, it always much faster than unit codes.
  • Handling test execution on multiple machines using NetworkSuite. It has a Sync points where it used to sync between two system which will help us may ways
TestComplete impacted a lot in our project. Currently it plays a big role in regression testing integrated with Jenkins, Whenever a new build comes Jenkins will automatically trigger the execution which helped us in identifying critical, blocker issues early before it starts testing. This can be used in various places like creating test data for manual tests, and utility tools for checking the health of an application based on the parameters defined.
Read சங்கர்(Shankar) ரா(R)'s full review
Dheerendra Singh profile photo
August 23, 2017

TestComplete: "Dp's review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Testcomplete is used for automation of a medical software application and other enterprise applications.
  • Name mapping is an awesome feature which manages objects very well.
  • Managing architecture for application is made easy.
  • Web application testing experience can be improved.
Windows application - Most Appropriate.
Mobile testing - Less appropriate.
  • Reduced Manual testing effort
  • Faster test cycles
  • Continuous integration Support
Read Dheerendra Singh's full review
Gonzalo ROBLES profile photo
August 21, 2017

User Review: "KaliosTest and TestComplete"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TestComplete is being used at Kalios for sanity checks on our PLM. One year ago we decided to increase our deliveries to 3 times a year. While moving a ton with the Agile methodology we have automatized testing with testcomplete and Kalios.
  • Kalios enhances and simplifies test development
  • Test scenarios maintenance is simplified by Kalios
  • Good performance while executing tests
  • TestComplete needs nearly the last version of testcomplete (Our PLM is working on a very old firefox version...)
TestComplete allows us to reproduce daily user scenarios on our continuous integration
Read Gonzalo ROBLES's full review
Eric Kabuss profile photo
July 21, 2017

Review: "Availability and Performance: Testcomplete"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use TestComplete around the clock to test the availability and performance of the service we provide (Internal / Internet ), but also our Saas underpinning contracts...

  • Test complete is the most stable tool I have ever had to do this job. I use it to test Internal Fat, mainstream but also Saas and other Internet applications.
  • Com Object Testing is more stable than image recognition (but good image recognition is paramount for Citrix, and so on)
  • I need to test Citrix (deployed apps and desktop) and for now TestComplete cannot do the job because image recognition is not good enough
  • A way to store the encrypted password of many users would be also appreciated
+ fat client and web testing suits TC quiet well

- Citrix, Host / Telnet, Notes testing is a real pain in the ass, when its not directly impossible
The developers use their own testing tools unfortunately. :-(
Read Eric Kabuss's full review
No photo available
August 18, 2017

TestComplete Review: "Meets my needs for a price I like."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Software QA Team is the only team in our organization that actually writes scripts with TestComplete, however we are involved with work in many different functional areas of the business outside of testing.

We have utilized TestComplete and TestExecute for user uploads, profile setup, test case creation, regression testing after a build, replacing repetitive manual tasks, environment validation, and many other areas. In many ways, we use it to address pain points of our business users for tasks that either have an unusually large manual component or are taking up too much time to execute. Utilizing TestExecute with a backend SQL feed to manage test cases has made the process of testing many applications relatively pain-free!
  • TestComplete has a good variety of low-level functions that give us the flexibility to create our own functions that really meet our needs. We have built up a significant 'common' script library that includes functions for interacting with fields, checking data, and even a re-written object search that has made working with new environments easy!
  • With floating user licenses, we are able to be really flexible in our development environments. We can easily switch servers and run scripts from different locations to test network timings and environment setup with relative ease.
  • Using a backend of SQL (rather than Excel documents) to handle test cases, we are easily able to scale our tests. We can have any number of TestExecute licenses running the same project and the SQL will provide each script with the data it needs to run the specified job.
  • Having never used anything like TestComplete before joining my company, it wasn't exactly the easiest application to pick up. The code examples online (particularly the SQL ones) were a little difficult to get the hang of. I was greatly helped by having a guy on my team who had worked with TestComplete for a few years, but the onboarding was a little rough.
  • We've run into various errors over the years involving memory leaks (which required a hotfix patch) and even scripts written in TestComplete not running in TestExecute. While these have always been addressed by patches (or new major versions in the case of the TestExecute issues), it has occasionally required some clever work-around in order to get it to do what we need.
  • We have encountered many issues running TestComplete in an RDP session to a virtual machine. The RDP window needs to be open at all times and cannot be minimized. This may be a technological limitation, but it would be really convenient if we could run 'headless' scripts as scheduled tasks.
The more we use TestComplete, the easier it gets to work with. SmartBear has made it easy to interact with user-built script libraries that we can re-use across projects which has saved massive amounts of time in coding. It interacts pretty easily with SQL Server where we house and manage all our test cases. We use the TestExecute application to run the scripts we develop on TestComplete in many environments for many different kinds of testing and performing manually repetitive tasks. It has enabled us to simplify environment setup whenever we set up new environments, automate user creations, spread testing to multiple PCs, and has saved literally tens of thousands of man hours in various testing and business functions.

Most of the issues we have run into (changing object references as applications develop and unreliable websites) have been solved with custom object identification and error handling functions.
Most of the applications we test with automation are developed by other companies. We've found TestComplete has helped us to hold them accountable to provide applications that meet our requirements and government regulations with reliability, performance, and functionality. We are able to run scripts 24-7 that time various business functions to point out issues with the infrastructure supporting our applications, we've been able to provide detailed test reports using the TestComplete logs, and we've even been able to manage our test cases in a SQL database via uploads and updates from TestComplete.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2017

TestComplete Review: "Great for interface testing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TestComplete as our primary automated testing solution for the company's products. As a major element of the flagship product is the interface, we needed a testing solution that could interact cleanly with visual elements, the way an end user would interact with them. TestComplete handled that requirement.
  • User interface testing
  • Keeping up with browser developments
  • Identifying behavior changes in the interface
  • The licensing system is unwieldy, particularly when it comes to removing a license from a dead machine.
  • The stand-alone test runner, TestExecute, really needs a function for setting local variables and parameters.
  • Adding exception handling for scripts would be very useful.
  • Adding a 'pause for human interaction' script element (other than inserting a breakpoint) would be highly useful for certain tests.
For an interface-heavy system, TestComplete works well. Anything that's not graphically-oriented would not be a strong fit.
Reduced the length of time the test cycle takes when development is done, and improved the accuracy of the test cycle. Also dramatically reduced the man-hours required to complete all the tests. It no longer takes an all-hands-on-deck push bringing in people from other departments to do tedious manual tests for days on end.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 25, 2017

"TestComplete Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used only by the digital diagnostic department to automate tests which are currently written for manual execution.
  • Easy to use even by non-technical people.
  • UI automation made easy.
  • Object spy is really good for finding object's properties and methods.
  • Region checkpoints don't have anymore the option to directly crop the area of interest.
  • Only one global object repository.
  • Sometimes (very rarely) crashes.
Using the tool to automate regression tests and for defining a UI functional test for a desktop app.
  • No quantifiable impact yet, since we have not run a system test until now.
  • Finding new bugs.
Read this authenticated review

About TestComplete

TestComplete is designed to help testers and developers easily manage, run, and analyze automated GUI tests across multiple devices, platforms, and environments - enabling teams to improve software quality and speed up time to delivery.

According to the vendor, key business benefits include:

  • Easy-to-use for All Experience Levels: Use the powerful record and playback feature to run tests or choose from multiple programming languages such as Python, VB.NET, or JavaScript to write your own.
  • Instant Access to Real Environments in the Cloud: Get real-time access to the latest devices, resolutions, browsers and operating systems in our cloud lab. Run tests in parallel across more than 1500+ remote environments to improve test speed and coverage.
  • Robust Object Recognition for UI Testing: Automate anything you have seen on the user interface. With TestComplete's robust object identification engine, you can choose from over 50K object properties across more than 500 control types, including all major frameworks and third-party controls.
  • Built for Continuous Testing: Easily integrate TestComplete with test automation framework tools, CI systems such as GIT or Mercurial, or Test Management platforms like Jira or QAComplete.

TestComplete Features

Has featureScriptless Testing
Has featureData-Driven Testing
Has featureCross-Browser Testing
Has featureFunctional Testing
Has featureRegression Testing
Has featureParallel Testing

TestComplete Integrations

TestComplete Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TestComplete Pro$3,500 / $7000Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Platform$1,000 / $2,500Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Web$999 / $1,998Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Mobile$1,299 / $2,598Node-locked / Floating User License
TestComplete Desktop$999 / $1,998Node-locked / Floating User License

You can buy the TestComplete Pro Bundle or individual TestComplete Modules based on your needs. The TestComplete Pro Bundle comes with the TestComplete Platform, all three modules, (Desktop, Web, and Mobile) as well as the TestExecute add-on. TestComplete also has additional add-ons: -TestExecute -HP Quality Center Connector - Environment Manager

TestComplete Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

TestComplete Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No