Blueworks Live Reviews

33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Chrystine Hausman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

Blueworks Live - Helps your teams unify in success

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have utilized Blueworks Live for creating and managing RPA and Lean Data Process enhancements through workspaces and flowcharts. We also create milestone 7x7 diagrams. It makes all of our assignments so much easier to edit and control in one place. It does take a few minutes to go through the tutorial but is easy after that.
  • RPA design documents
  • Manage user stories, data and milestones
  • Create workflows with ease
  • Could be a bit more user friendly
Very well suited for not only BA work but also for RPA dev design documents.
Read Chrystine Hausman's full review
Mohd. Islam Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Blueworks Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the Transport Department.
  • Easy use of cloud
  • All users can contribute to process improvement.
  • It enables business users to discover and document processes simply.
  • It needs a high level of skills
  • It is challenging to design, configure and deploy.
It is suited in big organizations and less suited in small projects using the on-premises IBM products.
Read Mohd. Islam Khan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Great for process documentation!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blueworks Live is used depending on the customer needs and therefore not constantly used in every department. However, it is permanent in the advisory department.
  • It allows us to discover, capture, and document processes in a simple way.
  • Super simple method to process documentation and discovery.
  • Limitations in sharing and exporting to different applications.
  • I feel that changes only get made after a competitor comes out with a new model or feature.
Blueworks makes it easy to edit and update processes and share with others. However, it is missing third party connectors. Process maps are invisible to end-users unless they have a viewer licence. It is also difficult to share maps across the organisation without a dedicated BPM system.


Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Blueworks Live Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization. We had a problem with the mapping of our business processes. In our industry, we currently have a lot of issues regarding our creation path to release our content online ASAP. With Blueworks Live, we establish a single business process between all the members of the staff and everybody stays in the loop.
  • Upgraded our team and business communication!
  • All on the cloud, so no downloads or heavy hardware.
  • Would like to see more interface personalization options.
You can use Blueworks Live to make better decisions and to really achieve better results inside your organization. I think a company can't be better than it's own processes. Creating a unique path to creating value is the best thing to do nowadays. Blueworks can help you to do that with its intuitive interface.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Durr | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Blueworks is a tool that provides the means for an organization's proactive management discipline

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses it to capture processes and decisions for our clients. We use it with many clients in various industries. Lack of managing policies, processes, and decisions that are key business assets.
  • Business user-friendly - most business people can start to utilize BWL very quickly.
  • Easy way to capture and build processes starting with the discovery map.
  • Central repository for a single truth for areas to go to. Business architects can understand the current process and begin to do to-be models. Business Analysts can know where to go and start to get the current as-Is model, rather than spending time and effort trying to capture the information from SMEs to just get a project started.
  • Analytics - the ability to have more robust analytics. For processes being able to get information about the metadata and to be able to export that information. In addition, being able to capture end-to-end processes, sub-processes, and linked processes. To get the analytics across that value chain. To be able to export that for various areas to do analysis, problems, and opportunities.
  • Reporting - Being able to have reported. For such a business-facing tool, the reporting capabilities are non-existent. This to me is a drawback to more adoption by the business. Business shouldn't have to go to IT to build reports using APIs.
  • CM - Being able to capture content in BWL. Keeping pace with Digital Business Automation means BWL has to be enhanced to stay current. I feel that changes get made only after a competitor comes out with a new model capturing ability. BWL can be a great tool and should be invested in and improved with innovations not just catch up.
  • Create the ability to ingest Decisions into IBM ODM product.
BWL is a great tool that can easily be used by business customers. It also is a great tool to build a Center of Excellence - providing customers the ability to manage their policies, processes, and decisions in one location. A single source of truth that can be leveraged to meet compliance, understand where information is being used, analysis of where laws and regulations impact processes and decisions. A tool to be leveraged to maintain knowledge and provide the ability to transfer knowledge to new employees. Organizations that used this tool to maintain and manage these assets will be able to make changes more rapidly and have confidence in the decisions they make because the tool is the single source of truth. BWL provides the tool to build a culture of continuous improvement and optimization within an organization that is willing to implement the discipline that goes along with the tool. BWL should be the central tool for all change management, lean six sigma, TQM and any other method or approach used by an organization.
Read Brian Durr's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

My Blueworks Live Experience

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blueworks Live to map many of our business processes. We are starting to use it together with other business functions, using it as a collaboration tool.
  • It is a very simple tool.
  • It allows you to define roles and responsibilities and identify where a particular process, system, input, or activity is used.
  • Reporting should be improved to allow you to select the attributes to be downloaded (in Word files) and attributes from connected (in Excel).
  • In the diagrams, it should allow you to design the connectors yourself.
We use Blueworks for mapping industry, financials, and claims processes.
Read this authenticated review
Srinivas Ganti | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

IBM's hidden jewel for process discovery - Blueworks Live.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blueworks Live is a hidden jewel among the IBM acquisitions. I was a user of Lombardi Blue Print before IBM acquired Lombardi and have been hooked to it since 2011. IBM has invested in it and made it better. It is invaluable and probably the most essential tool that you need to get started to document how your legacy processes actually work and get all the hidden knowledge from your SMEs into a simple to use [platform] and visualize one's own processes.

Unless the processes are documented and visualized with all the stake holders, it is often hard to come to an agreement on what one has in the organization. Only when one understands what one has in terms of process within the organization, it becomes easy to discuss the limitations and recommend solutions to address those limitations.

Blueworks Live is BPMN 2.0 compatible and can be leveraged as a starting point to embark on a "Business Process (Re-)Engineering or Modeling" program within an organization. It is quite easy to get started, offered as Software as a Service and is priced per user.
  • Document processes as Milestones and Activities, which is simple to understand even for Business Analysts or Program Managers.
  • System magically shows a visual representation of the information one puts in, in an easy-to-understand swim lane representation.
  • All attributes can easily be read in the document style representation.
  • Easy to export as a word or a powerpoint and also as a BPMN 2 file that could be integrated into one's own BPM product or directly into IBM BPM.
  • IBM should offer this solution as a complementary service for Business Partners and Customers on engagements so one could strategically document and uncover new opportunities to cross sell.
  • It could be of real value for smaller companies and more available if the price point is lower so all clients can leverage the savings and include the entire organization rather than a select few.
  • Connectors to third party would help.
It is invaluable and probably the most essential tool that you need to get started to document how your legacy processes actually work and get all the hidden knowledge from your SMEs into a simple to use and visualize ones own processes.
Read Srinivas Ganti's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

Blueworks Live, great tool for Process documentation.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Blueworks Live is primarily used as our internal documentation tool for business processes across all vendors in the DPA space. It allows my teams to collaborate on design and document processes-- agnostic of platforms-- easily and concisely.
  • Document business processes.
  • It has a unique ability to document KPIs and provide playback of the process to the business.
  • Live capture of requirements synced simultaneously across users.
  • It doesn't support very complicated processes.
Blueworks Live is really good for documenting processes, however, it is not good for going deep into technical documentation on service requirements. I find that I like to leverage it primarily to quickly mockup processes during whiteboarding sessions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

BWL for Process Effectiveness

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Blueworks Live as our standard for mapping business processes across our organization, and in some cases importing it into BPM
  • Ease of use - little training needed
  • Familiar UI to other products like Visio
  • Easy to edit and update process and share with others
  • Licensing can be confusing
  • More configurable home page
Well suited to help incentivize organizations to map their business processes and allows for collaboration easily
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Dashboards (7)
7.7
Standard reports (7)
7.6
Custom reports (6)
8.0
Process designer (8)
7.4
Process simulation (7)
7.0
Business rules engine (7)
7.6
SOA support (6)
7.0
Process player (7)
7.8
Support for modeling languages (7)
7.1
Form builder (7)
6.8
Model execution (7)
7.7
Social collaboration tools (8)
8.3
Content management (7)
7.3

About Blueworks Live

Blueworks Live is cloud-based business process management software that provides users with a collaborative environment for documenting, analyzing, and building business process mapping.

Blueworks Live Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No