Epicor ERP Reviews

85 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

Michael Palecek profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TJ Hale currently uses Epicor ERP software to handle our supply chain and scheduling/manufacturing of our engineer to order items. We use the software to handle everything from the initial sales order through the manufacturer and the purchase of component items. We finally use the accounting features of the software to provide financial reporting. Everything that can be done through Epicor is currently being done.
  • Customization.
  • Scheduling.
  • Complicated customization.
  • Many of the functions which are used by most companies need to be added by users.
Epicor ERP is well suited for most manufacturing companies and the level of customization would make it a good fit for many companies. There is a pretty steep learning curve but most of the processes and data handling can be customized to fit just about every business. The level of sophistication of the software does demand either a company with IT resources or enough capital to outsource these changes.
Read Michael Palecek's full review
Sam Fowler profile photo
January 17, 2020

Epicor ERP works for us!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Epicor throughout our organization for procurement, accounting, forecasting, and production. Prior to Epicor, this organization used multiple Microsoft Access databases, this caused a lot of delay and administrative issues. Epicor allowed us to manage everything within a single application, streamlining processes and giving us better efficiency. In other words, less overhead and more productivity.
  • Streamline processes.
  • Compliance.
  • Cumbersome to implement.
  • Cumbersome to upgrade.
It is well suited for our environment of medical device manufacturing. It was easy to sell and gain employee use and confidence in the application. It seems to fit well in mid to enterprise-level organizations, maybe not so well in smaller organizations that might find it difficult to recover their investment.
Read Sam Fowler's full review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor is used by virtually every employee at our company. Our production department uses it to control orders, inventory, and quotes. Our Purchasing department uses it to control purchase orders, and our Engineering department uses it to view parts, assemblies, and projects. Our manufacturing department also uses it to view inventory, current orders, and keep track of shop floor hours. Finance has a large presence as well, viewing the cost of all of the above-mentioned items.
  • Connecting all features together and switching between screens.
  • No glitches or unexpected crashes.
  • Requires a very experience user/team to maintain.
  • Some features are not flexible and require change of process to conform.
Epicor is a great "all-encompassing" program that connects all facets of information within your company. Any user can easily pick it up within a few days and find which areas and which screens suit them and their needs. Epicor is very big and probably isn't necessary for a smaller company. It could seem pretty overwhelming.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Epicor ERP in our entire organization, we utilize the MES portion to clock in and out employees, clock into jobs and claim time to different things like training and or indirect. We use it for accounting, HR, Purchasing, sales, and Estimating and almost all other facets of our business.
  • Epicor does a lot of things and being such a massive software it's hard to talk about what it does well, but I would say from my perspective it is easy to manage and once set up it runs fairly consistently and has a good amount of uptime compared to previous versions.
  • Epicor ERP is highly customizable and also has a new REST API that can be utilized to do even more than previous versions.
  • Install is complicated and upgrading is a major event requiring all branches of your business to test and test and test some more.
  • Support... It's kind of just ok, especially with more complex issues, a single call can drag out for months if they cannot find a fix right away.
Epicor is really great for manufactures wanting to manage their business and control costs. Epicor is truly a Quote to Cash system and is very much an enterprise-grade product. From small business to large enterprise Epicor ERP fits almost any size business. It is not cheap though and support and ongoing maintenance is not cheap either.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Epicor ERP in our Sales & Marketing division, but it is also being used by at least 4 or 5 of our other division. We are currently using it for order to cash purposes.
  • They currently have a great support department.
  • It is easy to use with a pretty good user interface.
  • They have good user training materials and resources.
  • It is a very slow product. We are a pretty large company with a lot of concurrent users. As such, the product runs very slow. Our users are constantly complaining about their system "clocking."
  • It is pretty buggy. We are constantly uncovering bugs or quirks in the system. You can do something one time and it works fine, but turn around and it will fail or not work exactly right, even though you've done the same thing
  • The order release process is extremely unfriendly and tedious. We get complaints from our users all the time about it.
  • It lacks some of the features that other larger ERP packages contain. As a result, we had to write a lot of custom applications outside of the system.
Epicor ERP seems to be better suited for smaller companies with fewer users. The more users you have and the more data that you need to add to the system seems to slow it down.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a whole through the entire organization. From start to finish our team uses Epicor, it is our only ERP system that we have in place.
  • Epicor has a great dashboard and reports capabilities.
  • Easily accessible from one module to the next, very user-friendly interface.
  • Ability to setup MRP and extremely user Data Management Tool to import mass amounts of changes or updates to parts and BOM.
  • Personalizations and customizations getting lost after updates.
  • Webex's should be recommended more often for users having issues
  • More tools for users to fix own issues
Well suited for an organization running jobs for multiple sub-assemblies. If the company sets up its business practices around Epicor's ERP functionalities the process is definitely more uniform and seamless. In some cases such as our own, we made the system work according to how we were accustomed to in our old system and we have run into some obstacles because of how we manipulated it.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Pavlica profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor ERP v10 is used at Omega Plastics, Inc. as our primary means of managing and tracking our day to day activities and planning for a great overall client experience. Epicor is used from quoting through shipping, including shop floor MES. Epicor was implemented at Omega to help support our growth in the Medical Device market and improve our real-time scheduling capabilities as we both build over 300 injection molds and provide development part runs as well as low-volume production runs requiring FDA CFR820 / GMP compliance. Epicor is easy to set up, modify, and customize to our business as well as link to 3rd party apps such as Power BI or Excel. Epicor allows for real-time data analysis and financial reporting to help make decisions faster. Epicor offers both on premise and cloud solutions, providing flexibility and control at a reasonable cost. Epicor continues to add features and modules, and has integrated Mattec for real-time shop floor machine reporting, XLConnect for custom integration with Excel to provide power analytics, DocStar document management, and Manifest for direct Fed Ex/UPS integration.
  • Epicor's user interface is easily customizable so that users can focus their main access screen to support just those functions that are relevant to their work day; helping to avoid menu clutter and confusion.
  • Epicor advanced scheduling provides true drag and drop customizable dashboard with real-time updates to allow users to easily track jobs on the shop floor in an easy to understand Gantt-style (MS Project style) graphical interface.
  • Epicor's customizable dashboards are also updateable, adding the ability for real-time collaboration and updates. From nearly every key field in Epicor, even on dashboards, the ability to drill down to source data is one "right click" away.
  • Epicor reporting uses standard Microsoft SQL SSRS instead of 3rd party add-ins such as Crystal Reports. This improves speed significantly during report generation, and ensures a common platform for upgrades without concerns about rewriting reports to incompatible versions.
  • Epicor has a "Google-like" search feature (Enterprise Search) that is top notch. It literally allows you to search on any key word in your data set and brings back relevant results in various groupings to make it simple to quickly get to the data you need. This is the favorite feature of new users.
  • Epicor's costing features could use improvement. Although excellent in either a make to order or make to stock environment, Epicor has trade-offs when used in a mixed-mode environment. Of particular concern is when partial shipments are made during a production run without the job quantity being changed when closed short and a new job issued. Unless this is done, Epicor may under or over-cost early shipments and then "reconcile" this at job closing, resulting in erratic financial results on 2 shipments from the same job.
  • Epicor's gross margin report stops updating with actual costs as soon as a "ship" transaction is created. For most companies this will not be an issue, however, in an environment where shipments may take place before all costs are in, this skews the margin reports greatly, resulting in much higher margins from the manufacturing reports than what can be expected on the financials. Fortunately, the production detail report will always be correct; however, there is no reason why the gross margin report can't be modified to include "ADJ-CST" transactions which would correct for this, however, by default, Epicor's standard margin report does not use this functionality.
  • Epicor has great flexibility in screen customization, however, it isn't intuitive in making these changes, therefore, this feature set, which could significantly reduce data input times, goes mostly unused.
  • Epicor has a built-in ability to generate quick queries, however, fails to take advantage of recent innovations in query development that would make it easier for novice users to generate their own results without IT help. With the advent of AI, this is a future improvement opportunity.
Epicor is an excellent system for most manufacturing customers and offers several features previously only offered on the very large (e.g. Oracle, PeopleSoft, etc) level platforms. Yet the pricing is mid-level, and the expandability through additional modules provides a great opportunity for future business growth. The architecture is easily scalable, fast, and offers great options for both on premise and hosted systems. Epicor is flexible, and large enough that regular updates and enhancements continue to be adopted to improve functionality and effectiveness.

It is however, not for everyone. Competition in this sector is very good, with several mid-level systems being available at a similar price point. If you are considering adopting a new ERP system and are in the plastics space, you also owe it to yourself and your team to consider IQMS, which is becoming a de-facto standard in this segment. Also, for specific medical sectors, you will find that Epicor software validation for CFR Part 11 compliance can be quite costly-- although the software is capable of supporting this with modification.

Overall, Epicor is a solid choice. Ultimately, it will be up to your team to determine what works best for your needs. You won't be disappointed with Epicor if you do the due diligence and take the time needed to properly review and demo the product. Remember though, demos are typically "best case" staged, so be sure to throw several curveballs at your vendor and bring out the unique requirements of your business.
Read Michael Pavlica's full review
Jack Pennypacker profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Epicor ERP across all departments here at Baxter. We are able to do Sales, manage our inventory, purchasing, manufacturing, and handle all functions of accounting using Epicor. We made the decision to go with Epicor in 2008, and went live on January 1, 2010. We have upgraded the software a few times and love the improvements that Epicor continues to make with the software.
  • Epicor has the best product configurator that I have seen on the market. This was one of the main reasons we went with Epicor, and have not been disappointed at all.
  • Epicor is also one of the easiest ERP system to learn, and has many ways for users to get training. Epicor University, on-line courses, or class room settings, also user conference every year, and user support groups.
  • The Enterprise search ability in Epicor is great, can find parts, customers, suppliers, etc. so easily. And if you can't remember where a report or task that you want to do is on the menu, you can search for that also.
  • It is hard for me to think of something I don't like. However, the physical inventory process could be done better. It doesn't work for us as we use what are called phantom assemblies, and I have not found any ERP system that handles that out of the box correctly.
Epicor ERP is great for manufacturing companies, whether you make the same widget every time or if you a make custom widgets, this ERP system can handle it. If you have multiple plants, or multiple companies, Epicor ERP can handle it. Works in the US and internationally also. I do not think the EPR system would be the best choice if you are a distributor or a retailer.
Read Jack Pennypacker's full review
michael hipsman profile photo
October 19, 2018

Epicor Cloud Software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across all departments. We use it for all aspects of our operations except payroll (sales, inventory, accounting, manufacturing, planning, purchasing, shipping, and receiving.)
  • Ability to create custom reports
  • Ability to tailor the software to current business practices
  • User friendly
  • Planning module is not intuitive
  • Engineering workbench is cumbersome when doing repetitive entries. Should have ability to copy and paste entries on a mass scale.
  • Whenever there is an upgrade there should be more detail on the changes.
Well suited for materials planning.Customer contact module too complicated. The engineering module could be more user friendly when creating large routings.
Read michael hipsman's full review
James Park profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor has allowed us to track costs as they happen, schedule jobs, and get information with a click on anything input in the system.
  • Ease of use
  • Information availability
  • The different modules available for our business
  • Some of the logic on how things are calculated or updated
  • The SSRS reporting system
  • How each program or file interfaces within the system
  • The accounting, manufacturing, quoting, scheduling, quality, and sales [options] are suited for us.
  • The service option is not suited for us.
Read James Park's full review
No photo available
October 17, 2018

Epicor Cheerleader

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently use Epicor ERP in all of our manufacturing, customer service, finance and engineering departments, some sales also included. Our next phase is to merge Epicor with Salesforce to have it be more seamless. Has addressed and taken care of manual record keeping, spreadsheets, communication and error. True MRP with exploded BOM instead of flat BOM which we had before.
  • Most important---Epicor ERP keeps technology up to date with meaningful updates and revisions so that we will never have another legacy system again!
  • Epicor ERP gives you the opportunity to have access to your data and just about do anything with it so that you can see and format how you need it.
  • Access other areas needed without having to find and open more menu options. Just right click and open with.
  • Being able to see and have excel manipulation and capability within Financial reporting instead of having to use Excel Connect.
  • Having to close the entire program to see new Menu items or data pool refresh.
  • Some windows need to be saved after each box within the window before you can continue-instead of one save per window when complete or auto save.
Personally believe that Epicor is the best company out there for ERP. Large company who is personable, accountable and genuinely cares to make your business successful. Always striving for ease of use while keeping up with the world of change. Epicor is more of an extension of our business than a supplier of a product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Epicor ERP across all of our core business functions: sales, finance, engineering, supply chain and manufacturing.
  • Querying data is very easy with the built in business activity query builder. Deploying the data in useful dashboards is easy and highly valuable
  • It provides all the core functionality we need to run our engineer to order business
  • Recent addition of the rest API allows integrations and querying of cloud data with 3rd party BI tools
  • The shop floor data collection screens are not very intuitive and the gui is quite dated
  • Report building in the SaaS environment is very clunky - it is hard to test as you develop reports
  • It is still not fully mobile/web compliant - it is improving, but key functions like the manufacturing data collection still needs Windows based devices to work.
For us the cloud solution is a good fit as we have little in house IT support. We have also focused on using it out of the box as we did not have an existing system that was being replaced. Overall, it performs the core ERP functions well and I see the road map heading in the right direction to address mobility and add missing functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Frank profile photo
May 28, 2018

Epicor ERP Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Epicor across our entire organization, covering our entire quote-to-cash process. Regarding business problems, we primarily use Epicor to manage manufacturing execution and provide financial analysis. Epicor provides data and reporting features that we use many functions.
  • Out of the box functionality -- one program with everything you need to run the business
  • Ability to build BPMs rather than full-scale customizations
  • Knowledgeable implementation team
  • More robust in-program training features
  • Better coordination between operational and financial implementation consultants
  • More robust purchasing/materials procurement module with an out-of-the-box capability to manage purchases by PPV
Epicor ERP is very strong for our multi-site manufacturing business, where we need to set up multiple machining resource centers within Epicor. I'm not sure it would be as appropriate for a services business or a business that is more project-based. For our product-based environment, Epicor ERP is a really solid solution.
Read Andrew Frank's full review
Ray Cuny profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor ERP covers the entire company. From office personnel to shop floor employees. Epicor addresses all the day to day functions from entering quotes/orders to scheduling how the shop floor works. Every employee uses the Epicor ERP system in some sort of way. Whether it is tracking or entering some kind of data.
  • Giving the users the ability to customize. This helps because everyone likes to see different things.
  • The scheduling Modules. The ability to global schedule gives the shop a better look at real time information.
  • The ability to create custom dashboards and reports. It lets a company look at information that means more to them. The standard reports don't always give the best information or the detail that is needed.
  • Lack of detail in reports. Some reports don't show all the detail that is needed.
  • The time it takes to get support. They take a couple of days to respond to issues the are a high priority
  • List views having too useless information in the default view. Some of the list views in some modules have a lot of useless information, but don't include some of the more useful information. This is just for our company though could be different for others.
The best thing about Epicor is that almost everything can be customized to the user. This makes things easier to track, which saves people time from trying to look for items. Epicor could do a little better of a job in the standard reports and list views. Only showing information that is important to it's user
Read Ray Cuny's full review
Travis Kenworthy P.E. profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is an engineering design firm that supplies large, custom equipment. Each project takes 8 months to 2 years to complete. We use Epicor to handle all the project management, purchasing, shipping and accounting needs. At the risk of sounding like an Epicor ad, here is the good stuff: Before we had Epicor we did all our accounting in Quickbooks and used spreadsheets to handle our project planning. It was a huge challenge to keep track of costs associated with the projects. Now, we have a well defined process where all costs are accounted for. We try to manage our finances on a monthly basis, and before it would take 2-3 months after the month was completed to know how we did on that given month. Now, with Epicor ERP, all of our project managers can see live accounting information for their projects and make more informed decisions. Our project managers can do their monthly finance close-out in just a couple of hours. where before it would take days of work for each project manager and lots of waiting for communication between them and the accounting and purchasing departments.
  • Epicor has a pretty good project management module. We are able to set up projects with multiple phases as needed and track costs at both a phase level and top project level. You can use the system to assign tasks to employees working on the project and track assignments that way. Under each phase we create an Epicor "job" that can store all the parts that we need to purchase or fabricate for a project. Then we can track what parts have been purchased, received, and shipped for the project.
  • Epicor is set up to have a lot of features that most users probably aren't going to use, but it is convenient to have most of what you need available. Then, you can hide parts of the program you won't need.
  • Possibly the best thing about Epicor is that it has a lot of customization tools, and the system allows you to customize it in a lot of ways so you can make it look and behave how your organization needs. One very strong area of the customization is the ability to create information dashboards where you can show any type of data that you like to see. A great example of this is a Project Management Dashboard we built that allows all our employees to see how the projects are doing and what their assigned tasks are.
  • Expandability. This is another great way that Epicor is customizable. As an ERP system Epicor is primarily a bunch of tables. And thankfully, Epicor allows you to add new fields to the tables, so when we want to show what kind of paint goes on our parts, or if a part is purchased or fabricated, we can add fields for those items to the part table, and use it as if those were built in fields. You can add new tables, so we have a place to store lists of all the paint choices (or anything else you want to keep track up).
  • Maybe this was really smooth, but it seemed like implementation was a lot of work. As part of a 4 person implementation team, it took us a month or so of going through tutorials, the help files, and meeting with Epicor consultants to learn how we wanted to use Epicor (that month was pretty light, maybe 5-6 hours per week for each of us). Then it took about 3 months setting up Epicor to meet our needs. (The 4 of us each worked 25-30 hours a week during those 3 months on the implementation since we still had production work to do)
  • Epicor can be overwhelming for new users. Our normal users have a hard time at first getting used to it because there is so much to see, learn and do in it, epecially for people with less technical expertise.
  • As the person on the implementation team in charge of customizations, my biggest complaint is the lack of documentation on programming in Epicor. While they do have great documentation on how to use many of their built in customization tools, they give you the ability to write code in C# that should allow you to do anything. But, there is very little to no documentation on the API (Application Programming Interface). Most other programs will have a large help file where users can see the thousands of functions available to program within the system with info on what the functions do, how they are accessed and what inputs they need and sample code for each function. With Epicor.. nope, nothing. Maybe if you buy their SDK for another $24,000 they will have a help file included with that. I don't know.
Epicor could be a good fit for companies that have grown out Quickbooks and need something with more accounting functions and ways to integrate project management, purchasing and accounting into one place. Small companies that can make do without it could save a lot of money by not having everything as organized as it will be in an ERP system though.
Read Travis Kenworthy P.E.'s full review
Paula Staples profile photo
May 01, 2018

Epicor Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor is being used across the business in two of the countries where we operate. We have a plan to roll out to all countries. While the implementation has brought us many benefits, it is fair to say that we have a lot of continuous improvement to work through to realise all of the benefits an ERP solution can deliver.
  • Provides mostly error-free key functionality.
  • Provides tool kit to enable us to develop our own queries and reports.
  • Consultancy - we are still suffering from the poor advice by Epicor consultants we were given during our implementation.
  • Consultancy - it is near impossible to get prompt consultancy support from Epicor.
  • Account Management - I don't feel like a valued customer of Epicor and my requests are not dealt with promptly.
  • Epiccare - some tickets are handled promptly and well, but sometimes the responses feel like delaying tactics e.g. we report a problem that has caused a data anomaly that we say we cannot replicate and the reply comes back to ask us to replicate it!
Epicor works well for key business functions, raising POs, raising manufacturing jobs, performing accounting transactions etc. Some features exist but are not used e.g. there is a facility to record an expiry date on a lot. However, MRP is quite happy to suggest we use the product beyond its expiry.
Read Paula Staples's full review
Tony D'Ippolito profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Epicor software for our whole organization. I have access to most modules including engineering, production, accounting, and sales. I am an outside salesman and a remote user. Using the cloud for storage was an important factor in choosing Epicor. We have had minimal downtime, far less than any other software we have used. Updates are frequent and mostly seamless. Some of our custom modules need to be fixed at each update, that is definitely a negative. We use serialized inventory and this requires separate VIN generating software, not easy for our order entry clerks. Overall pretty happy with the software.
  • Cloud storage
  • Frequent updates and fixes
  • Configurator for production is a plus.
  • VIN generation
  • Closing of orders to invoices at month end would be better than daily
  • Smoother updates for custom modules
  • Cloud is a little slower than the server-based system was
Read Tony D'Ippolito's full review
Steve F Cooper profile photo
April 04, 2018

Epicor without a net

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a standard corporate ERP to replace various site ERP/MES systems as a result of acquisitions. One corporate instance will help enable multiple key business strategies including vertical integrating finance, operations, logistics.
  • Inside out architecture provides consistent and required function integration (ie. no bolt on's) while providing integration with most popular software where required.
  • Fairly robust and flexible material (MRP) and job scheduling functionality. Provides flexibility to use many key scheduling criteria to fine tune capabilities to match business/site requirements.
  • Flexibility to enforce same or modified business rules, security model, reporting, etc for each business/location.
  • Job costing and analysis is flexible and easy to set up and maintain.
  • Standard implementation methodology needs to be modified to better address use of company data for robust testing and improved data migration.
  • Consulting bench (a number of highly experienced and available consultants) not large enough. Some third-party implementation partners need better and more up to date training.
  • Data collection very tailored to discrete manufacturing; need more flexibility to meet specific requirements/processes for business with other manufacturing and/or services models.
Well suited for: MFG to order, MFG to stock.
Less suited for: Engineered to order, straight services model (no inventory & different costing)
Read Steve F Cooper's full review
No photo available
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organisation to a limited extent. There are developments pending to make this a full-featured Multi-site implementation though. It's going to combine 3 manufacturing sites (2 in EU + 1 USA) with 6 Sales offices (the USA, 4x Europe + India).
Also, a new product configurator is under development and scheduled for release by Q4-2018.
  • Our version evolved from Vantage, and to be honest, I'm not really impressed yet. I've seen good examples so am aware it's due to implementation errors, rather than Epicor shortcomings.
  • Unfortunately, our version of the product configurator is very slow.
  • The need for well educated/trained consultants to get a proper implementation should be addressed well by Epicor, as this also determines user experience to a great extent. There is no true fall-back for improper implementation.
  • Consultants should be very well trained to make sure program integrity is maintained during challenging implementations.
  • There should be an improvement on answering questions raised, especially upon migration issues.
  • When is Epicor aware of improper/incorrect implementation they might proactively offer improvement support?

Understanding the question very well and think to know Epicor pretty well too, this highly depends on whom is asking.

When a medium to large size OEM company would be asking, I'd probably agree (with the right consultant!).
I believe the package offers too many options (too complex) for small project-oriented companies though. At least in Holland, there are better alternatives readily available.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization from online ordering to production to quality to shipping to financing. It was implemented to address the need for reducing the multiple systems and spreadsheets that existed previously. Our flow of information needed to be better, from entering data all the way through to detailed reporting.
  • Allowing access to the back-end data through BAQs and MSSQL is very important for pulling reports and making sense of data
  • Epicor DMT Tool for importing data is very important because manual entry is time-consuming
  • Make customizing screens easier. Epicor places importance on the fact that Epicor is very customizable, however, it is very hard for the average user to customize anything. You need a programmer/admin and it's very costly to hire someone to do it. Needs to be easier.
  • The whole Epicor experience is not very user-friendly. i.e. why is there a customer entry and customer tracker screen? That's 1980's thinking. It should be one screen with permissions based fields.
  • Epicor's search feature is not very good. They call it the "Google" search for Epicor. It's nothing like Google. It doesn't provide suggestions, you have to select menu search or enterprise search. It only updates once a day. It's not even accessible from the home screen!
  • The menu is a waste of time. Like I said before, who uses a menu these days? Since when did you go on Amazon.com and drill down to the products from the menu? Google killed menus years ago.
  • The SSRS reports are garbage. Ugly and unusable out of the box, and very hard to customize.
Epicor is suited if you have multiple systems and want to join into one. It actually works very well but you'll need a dedicated person or persons to manage and customize it and deal with the multiple user complaints. If you are used to an online system like QuickBooks or something that is easy to use, you will not enjoy it!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 10, 2018

Epicor ERP REview

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor is being used at one of our manufacturing clients across the whole organization - inventory, financial, shop floor, quoting, job costing, and more. It integrates all of our business processes into one system that we can then use to manage properly, with good data. It also replaced a business problem of an antiquated, inefficient, ERP system.
  • Manufacturing and shop floor activities
  • Inventory
  • Quoting
  • Implementation was hard, but newer versions of Epicor are better.
Well suited in a manufacturing environment and companies that have complex organizations, a lot of inventory, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Todd Caughey profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor ERP is used across the company to manage very large and complex engineering design and assembly jobs. Every project is unique and although low volume (1-10 units) tend to comprise tens of thousands of sub-components. Final products are automation systems for aircraft and spacecraft assembly. Teams of engineers (electrical, mechanical, controls and software) design, assemble, install and support the products using Epicor for all procurement and capture of labor costs on the jobs. Due to the unique nature of the projects no inventory is stocked (raw or WIP) but Epicor is flexible enough to allow this. Built-in customization tools allow a great deal of flexibility to tailor the system to unique environments. Query and reporting tools, including multi-level publish-subscribe dashboards allow very good access to critical decision-making information. Epicor's HCM (human capital management) module with Candidate Connect has been critical in addressing EEOC reporting and compliance efforts as well as reducing HR workload for managing over 700 employees.
  • Customization - extremely flexible ways to make the system fit any environment. In particular forms and user interface optimization.
  • Query and reporting tools (like dashboards) for getting information (and knowledge) out of the system that is needed for real-time operations decision making.
  • New with Epicor ERP 10 the "all Microsoft stack" of ICE 3.0 tools and MS SQL Server are very fast and a much more standard development platform. Epicor has gone to great lengths to streamline and simplify the underlying architecture. Moving to SQL server has yielded 4X performance.
  • Epicor has a long history of supporting manufacturing and has evolved the ERP system from its job shop roots to accommodate many different manufacturing modes.
  • The switching from Crystal Reports to SSRS reporting was a real setback. SSRS has its place but in some cases Crystal is clearly superior. It CAN work with ERP 10 but takes more effort and has loss of access control if using ODBC.
  • Support has limited to no access to developers (the "wall" as they call it) so for new and very technical issues Supports response is limited. Escalation can be difficult for highly technical problems that don't fit their knowledgebase.
  • Search function in EpicWeb (customer portal) is limited and often produces wildly off-target results.
  • Job BoM/MoM structures that are very complex (thousands of assemblies and levels) can get corrupted using tools built in to the system (like drag & drop) and whole sections can become unlinked and disappear. More typical assemblies of a few dozen components are fine but very complex jobs push the limits.
Epicor ERP is perfect for the average to large job shop manufacturing operation - whether make-to-stock or make-to-order. It has all the components for managing integrated job based manufacturing, quote/order management and excellent financials. Shop floor automation and MES are very good and handle multi-plant and multi-company interactions well. Because it is geared so much toward ERP/MRP and order/stock demand driven scheduling it does not natively handle engineering and prototype/development low-volume & no-inventory (complex build as you go) environments without considerable customization. Good thing is it has very powerful and easy to use customization tools and wizards without needing to write a lot of low level (C#) code.
Read Todd Caughey's full review
Bob Ladd profile photo
January 15, 2018

Epicor by Bob

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor is used across all departments except R&D and outside sales.

Epicor streamlines all activity and helps communicate between departments. Obviously, we couldn't run our company without Epicor.
  • Handling all types of orders - jobs, purchases, and customer orders.
  • MRP scheduling is very good and easily modified by part or group.
  • Easily getting other info about a key field by right-clicking and traveling to a new form.
  • RMA and DMR. Although it can handle these, the function seems like an afterthought. It isn't as smooth as the rest of Epicor.
  • Reporting is ok but it runs slowly. We are still using Crystal.
  • Barcoding in general but mostly the warehouse management part.
As stated before all orders are handled well but the Jobs [feature] still seem like it is for a job shop and not build to stock. We backflush and the setup and labor backflush is problematic. The accounting piece works very well but monthly reporting is very limited and needs improvement. One thing I love is all setup based on hierarchy. This allows for managing thing at a higher level.
Read Bob Ladd's full review
Josh Foote profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor is used for all of our finances and accounting purposes. As well as job management and tracking. It allows us to track time on our jobs and create purchase orders, shippers, and invoices. Company-wide it is used to log in and record what employees are doing during the day. I have found that Epicor is very useful and has helped us manage our shop very well. It still has work to be done to improve. I am trying to utilize the scheduling function but for a tool and die shop it is tricky to get everything to work because each job we do can be different from every other job. But I am very happy with Epicor ERP.
  • Allows us to create purchase orders and track them for each job so we can see our costs as we go.
  • We can create "dashboards" that can pull out specific details we want to see such as: due dates, current cost to profit, employee hours, etc.
  • We can track how our suppliers are doing and see if we need to find new ones or focus on those that do perform the best.
  • Epicor can fulfil your accounting needs.
  • Scheduling is very complicated. There are so many things that have to be just right in order for it to work.
  • Receiving invoices works most of the time but can be very tricky.
  • Some actions are permanent like closing job so when accidents happen it can complicate processes.
Epicor ERP is well suited for businesses that purchase components from a lot of different places so there can be traceability. As well as tracking hours to see how your business is doing. I have found that Epicor is perhaps more geared toward companies that create mass quantities of the same part which I do not do at a tool and die shop which maybe doesn't quite need all the functions that Epicor has to offer.
Read Josh Foote's full review
Don Johnson profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Epicor ERP to run all aspects of our business including finance, shipping, receiving, purchasing, AP, AR, and production.
  • Reporting on time and material
  • Tracking job activity
  • Handling hundreds of purchase orders daily
  • I would like to see more mobile presence
Epicor ERP is more suited for companies that wish to centralize all data and aspects of their business. I don't think its as suited for just the use of one module.
Read Don Johnson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (12)
7.8
Benefit plan administration (8)
8.1
Direct deposit files (8)
8.1
Salary revision and increment management (10)
7.8
Reimbursement management (8)
7.8
API for custom integration (23)
7.9
Plug-ins (21)
6.3
Single sign-on capability (30)
7.9
Role-based user permissions (36)
8.2
Dashboards (34)
8.2
Standard reports (35)
7.1
Custom reports (32)
8.3
Accounts payable (33)
7.8
Accounts receivable (34)
7.5
Global Financial Support (15)
7.9
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (16)
8.3
Intercompany Accounting (15)
7.8
Localizations (16)
7.6
Journals and Reconciliations (19)
8.0
Enterprise Accounting (17)
7.5
Configurable Accounting (17)
7.6
Centralized Rules Framework (15)
7.6
Standardized Processes (18)
7.8
Inventory tracking (33)
8.1
Automatic reordering (20)
7.7
Location management (26)
8.4
Manufacturing module (31)
9.0
Pricing (34)
8.0
Order entry (37)
8.5
Credit card processing (17)
8.1
Cost of goods sold (37)
7.4
Order Orchestration (15)
7.5
End-to-end order visibility (20)
7.7
Order exception Resolution (14)
7.2
Automated Invoice Processing (15)
7.6
Shared Services Payments (12)
7.3
Billings Management (15)
8.0
Customer Receipt Applications (11)
7.5
Customer Collections (17)
6.7
Revenue Recognition (16)
7.9
Cash Management (17)
8.1
Asset Management (13)
6.1
Travel & Expense Management (13)
6.8
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (13)
6.6
Period Close (18)
8.1
Transactions Tax (13)
7.9
Subledger Reconciliations (16)
7.8
3rd Party Accounting Systems (6)
6.3
Budgeting and Forecasting (13)
8.1
Project Costing (14)
8.5
Cost Capture (15)
8.4
Capital Project Management (9)
8.6
Customer Invoicing (13)
8.5
Customer Contract Compliance (7)
8.4
Project Revenue Recognition (10)
8.1
Project Financial Performance Analysis (11)
7.7
Project Financials Dashboard (11)
8.2
Real-time Financial Reporting (13)
8.0
Embedded Business Intelligence (8)
6.7
Project Planning Collaboration (8)
7.6
Project Planning and Scheduling (11)
7.9
Project Manager Dashboard (10)
8.3
Resource Manager Dashboard (9)
8.1
Task Insight for Project Managers (6)
6.5
Project Manager Mobile Functionality (4)
6.9
Team Member Task Collaboration (9)
7.8
Team Member Mobile Functionality (6)
6.6
Defineable Resource Pools (5)
7.1
Defineable Resource Pools (5)
7.3
Talent Profiles (2)
7.0
Real-Time Project Reporting (5)
7.0
Absence Management (2)
7.0
Product Lifecycle Management (3)
7.6
Award Lifecycle Management (2)
7.8
Spending Control (4)
7.5
Indirect Cost Management (4)
7.9
Billing (5)
7.8
Sourcing Team Collaboration (7)
7.1
Sourcing Analysis (8)
6.9
Bids Analyzed and Compared (5)
6.4
Catalog Shopping E-Commerce for Employees (3)
6.2
Contract Authoring (4)
5.1
Contract Compliance Management (4)
5.2
Contract History (5)
6.3
Contract Renewal Automation (4)
6.8
Contract Repository (5)
5.7
Contract Standardization and Enforcement (5)
5.7
Electronic Signatures (4)
6.5
Invoice Automated Matching (9)
6.5
Purchasing Risk and Compliance Management (5)
6.2
Requisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated (7)
6.7
Spend Compliance Management (6)
5.9
Supplier Assessment (9)
7.5
Supplier Communication and Collaboration (7)
6.3
Supplier Management (10)
7.7
Supplier Portal (4)
7.0
Risk Repository (1)
7.3
Control Management (2)
6.9
Control Mapping (1)
7.3
Control Efficiency Assessments (1)
7.3
Automated Control Assessments (1)
7.3
Assessment Capture (1)
7.3
Issue Detection (1)
7.3
Automatic Notification (1)
7.3
Remediation and Certification (1)
7.3
Transportation Planning and Optimization (5)
6.4
Transportation Sourcing Management (4)
6.2
Transportation Process Integration (5)
6.5
Transportation Execution Management (4)
6.2
Freight Payment Automation (4)
6.6
Trade Management (4)
6.8
Trade Regulatory Compliance Management (3)
6.2
Customs Entry Management (6)
7.0
Customs Document Management (6)
6.9
Customs Document Collaboration (5)
6.6
Fulfillment Management (7)
6.9
Inventory Visibility (9)
7.7
Warehouse Workforce Management (6)
6.1
Production Process Design (14)
8.2
Supply Chain Business Flows (10)
9.0
Production Management (18)
9.0
Contracted Manufacturing Management (8)
8.6
Configuration Management (12)
8.6
Work Definition (11)
8.5
Work Execution (14)
8.2
Advanced Fulfillment (11)
8.0
Manufacturing Costs (18)
8.8
Forecasting (16)
7.2
Inventory Planning (19)
8.0
Multi-tier Supply Chain Planning (8)
7.4
Performance Monitoring (14)
7.3
Ideation Management (3)
7.0
Requirements Management (3)
7.0
Proposal Management (3)
6.6
Innovation Portfolio Management (2)
7.1
Product Master Data Management (4)
6.0
Vendor Portal (2)
7.1
Project Portfolio Management (2)
6.3

About Epicor ERP

Epicor ERP, now in version 10, presents very wide feature breadth, customizability and scalability, typical of major ERP offerings. It is meant as a single, end-to-end software solution for businesses, and is available on premise, hosted, or in the cloud as a software as a service (SaaS) solution – Epicor ERP is built on 100% Microsoft technology, and is mobile-accessible.

Epicor ERP software offers a modular approach with robust capabilities focused on reducing costs, streamlining processes, and improving customer responsiveness across the enterprise. Given its modularity and customizability, pricing will vary very widely, and depend on business needs.

Epicor ERP Competitors

Epicor ERP Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No