Financial Edge NXT Reviews

95 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 40)

Susan Cornforth | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Excellent fund accounting and integrated solution for your donor/fundraising database.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fully customized, multi-layered account number setup, so that every line represents exactly what you want to track.
  • Ledger-based so you have total control over every transaction.
  • Web-based user interface is very user-friendly and intuitive.
  • Excellent customer service and training resources.
  • It's a big, complex system. There are many moving parts, and as a result, sometimes it's hard to figure where you went wrong when something doesn't look like it should.
  • There is a learning curve before you will feel fully comfortable. I feel as though I am still learning after two years using the system.
Read Susan Cornforth's full review
Tracy Spence | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2018

Financial Edge NXT is a Timesaver

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love the copy invoice feature. This makes for quicker entry of our invoices.
  • The drill-down feature is also a plus when searching for a particular item.
  • Being able to export tables quickly is a timesaver.
  • At this time it doesn’t distribute negative entries to the correct project when there are multiple projects. This becomes a problem when you are trying to use a credit for one project but expenses invoice to a different project.
  • The edit feature for imported journal entries is more difficult than in Financial Edge.
  • The timeout feature logs you out too quickly.
Read Tracy Spence's full review
Brandon Mand | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2018

Financial Edge NXT Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love how well FE interacts with Raiser's Edge. This makes it much easier for our organization to stay current and increases our level of trust in the information we are seeing in both systems.
  • The reporting features in FE make it easy to pull accurate information in a timely manner.
  • I would like to see the price reduced. I work for a medium-sized non-profit and if the price keeps rising, I worry we will no longer be able to use FE. It is an incredible system to use, but if the price keeps rising, it will be difficult for small to medium-sized organizations to justify the cost.
  • I would like to see error messages that contain more information. When our accountant runs the process to post gifts from Raiser's Edge, she typically is not able to easily understand the reason for the gift exceptions. It then requires me doing research in RE to find out what the error may have been from.
Read Brandon Mand's full review
Pamela Wittmayer | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2018

Financial Edge NXT was a pleasant surprise!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Data entry is much easier with NXT especially for accounts payable
  • Reporting is fantastic with the ability to drill down in the reports to the detail and to export reports in more consistent formats (PDF, Excel)
  • Bank reconciliation is a breeze with the cash management capabilities
  • Right now budgeting functions are only available for look ups, not for budget creation or editing
Read Pamela Wittmayer's full review
Michael Downs | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2018

Financial Edge NXT

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Dashboards are easy to create and look professional.
  • Learning curve from the client-server version of Financial Edge was minimal.
  • Missing functionality, needs missing modules from the client server version or the DB view.
  • Ability to edit users within NXT.
Read Michael Downs's full review
Saima Dhanani | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2018

Financial Edge NXT

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Adding a new invoice is fairly simple.
  • Easy to add new vendors in the system.
  • A variety of reportings available.
  • Hope they quickly change to the web view faster, so we don't have to switch between web and database view.
Read Saima Dhanani's full review
Marie Roake | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Failed implementation...

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • n/a - have had trouble with conversion
  • n/a - have had trouble with conversion
  • n/a - have had trouble with conversion
  • eliminate processing delays. Per our IT dept, the issue is not on our side.
  • better follow up by implementation.... WE ARE STILL NOT IMPLEMENTED!
  • renewal team wasn't aware of switchover and received billings for NON NXT renewals... took a long time to get resolved.
Read Marie Roake's full review
Stephen Forcey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2017

4c review of NXT

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Like I said, the ease of getting around and drilling down for information is the best feature for us.
  • It is great to have attached accounts payable invoices instead of having to search through an organization of folders to find an invoice copy.
  • The hidden benefit is always being up to date on versions. We don't have to get emails notifying us of updates, forwarding those to IT and asking them to have our hosting company apply patches. Then we would wait and have the system down off hours before updates were applied. That's all gone now.
  • We have to rely on the database version for Accounts Receivable.
  • I'me not real sure about all the features. I know what I've got in the database view and so I live there. I would like to get into general ledger reporting and queues but the one time I tried, I couldn't get where I wanted to go so I gave up easily.
  • We've had a couple of issues that came up for some reason because of what we use that apparently nobody else does, like having the many bank accounts we use show up in a drop-down menu. The software engineers have been good to fix those things, but it makes me feel like we are continually using a beta version of the software. It feels like Blackbaud is trying to get up to speed at their own pace and at the expense of users experimentation.
Read Stephen Forcey's full review
Audrey Trembly | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 20, 2017

Frustration vs Satisfaction

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I honestly can't think of one thing FENXT does really well.
  • Since FE NXT is in the "cloud" it has been a really difficult transition as our company has some special needs that we finally got ironed out in FE, but then started the transition to NXT and now those special needs can not be met by NXT.
  • Just logging in takes three more steps. Frequently the program logs out and we have to log back in.
  • Payroll is more difficult than AP. AP is fairly smooth, but payroll is just now starting to go a bit smoother, but we heard there would not be anymore enhancements to the payroll module in the future, so our concerns will most likely not be met in the future. It's up to the clerk to figure out how to meet the needs of the employees.
Read Audrey Trembly's full review
Regina Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2017

Love FE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Because we run four separate entities, FE allows us to allocate transactions to each of the entities. This allows the ability to look at each entity separately as well as look at the organization at a consolidated level.
  • FE tracks interfund entries well.
  • There are some nuances in FE that can stand to be improved upon - nothing that will discourage me from using FE, just things that would make it easier to navigate through the system. For example, navigating between modules could be improved upon. Having the ability to navigate through the system while reports are running should be an option.
Read Regina Robinson's full review
Phil Sonnenberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2017

Financial Edge NXT works for WSU

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexible cloud-based reporting.
  • Instant access to records
  • User-friendly with a modern feel for new hires.
  • Extend functionality of desktop version to web version
  • Designated support contact upon implementation/conversion to NXT
  • Cost of product is greater than competitors
Read Phil Sonnenberg's full review
Kathy Carroll | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

If you are looking for flexibility in reporting and access FE is worth reviewing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Remote access is easy to use and so convenient. Development members can access funds and provide the most up to date information to the constituents.
  • Access to project reports by our fund directors campus wide is something that we are working on implementing right now since the use of reporting is so accessible.
  • The bank reconciliation module is a time saver.
  • Logging into the data base view could be streamlined for faster login.
  • Create a system that would allow groups of invitations for FE NXT all at once. We have FE NXT view only for our fund directors and development officers across campus and the need to invite each one individually and not have the ability to set them up at the same time is very time consuming and inefficient. Our fund directors change frequently so this is definitely something that I would be interested in seeing an update completed.
Read Kathy Carroll's full review
Cameron Dunkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2017

A Solid standard program.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for budget tracking and analysis
  • Good data pulls
  • Allows for maintaining client records and printing cheques electronically
  • It's quite expensive.
  • At times it can be restrictive in terms of ability for pulling reports
Read Cameron Dunkin's full review
Rhonda Evans-McNeil,MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

Upgraded to great system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The NXT interface is very easy to use. Can't wait for more features/functionality from the move from database view FE.
  • Links between Smart Tuition and Raiser's Edge help the "whole" process.
  • Training and Knowledgebase really help when you have questions.
  • Need more functions that are currently only in FE database view.
  • Can't wait to see the bank reconciliations with automated feeds with the banks.
  • Looking forward also to the new credit cards module going on line.
Read Rhonda Evans-McNeil,MBA's full review
Corrine Wachi | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

My NXT experience!

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is a web-based program that can be accessed from any computer.
  • The accounts payable tab......Why is the vendor info not have the option to enter invoices. It makes it very difficult to make changes when I have to refer back to a vendor.
  • I have found that creating deposits are not as easy, too. I can't even find my "client" to enter my info, its all done individually like the AP tab. It makes it very hard to go back to refer to a specific deposit when it is not grouped by my clients.
  • I have decided, after many days of frustration, trying to figure out NXT, that as long as the Blackbaud hosting services are available, I will continue to use that, so I feel that our costs to upgrade was a poor choice, but that is my personal opinion due the fact that I use this system on a daily basis.
Read Corrine Wachi's full review
Petra Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2017

FE NXT is much friendlier to use.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The user interface is much easier to work with. It may seem like a little thing, but the changes to font, colours, and screen organization make the system much more approachable.
  • When entering journal entries, the newest items added are at the top of the page.
  • The knowledge base access is much more visible - people are more likely to use it!
  • When entering transactions in a journal, you can't just tab after the last field and have the next line appear; you have to click a button.
Read Petra Hall's full review
Rosa Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

Tweetybird

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Having the ability to create reports quickly.
  • To void checks and the system creates your adjusting entries for you.
  • Having the ability to review your accounts payable processing before printing your checks.
  • The various links to get in touch with someone at Blackbaud is an excellent tool.
  • The PO system. It would be great if there would be a section where you can breakdown various items from various departments, when you are placing your order into the system.
  • Credit memos- once a check is voided and a credit memo is attached, how to remove it if there is several.
  • Issues with the addresses once it has changed in the vendor file.
  • When you are adding a vendor, "Lisa Fowler" the system would list her under the "L". So if I wanted to pull her up on the system. Normally it should be under "F" because of her last name but it would listed under the "L".
Read Rosa Scott's full review
Christine Settles | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

Financial Edge NXT

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love the sidebar feature for accounts payable that allows you to see much of the details of the transaction without requiring you to open the full record.
  • Being able to run a report straight to Excel is very useful & easy.
  • It is nice to be able to search for vendors more easily than one could in Financial Edge 7.
  • The journal entries are cumbersome to use. The view is "backward" from what I'm used to, with the most recent lines entered showing at the top of the entry.
  • It is hard to review journal entries in the NXT view because only some of the lines (>5) show in each screen & then you have to click to get to the next set of 5 lines, etc. I often revert to the database view so that I can see the entire entry in one screen.
  • There are no journal entry line numbers in the NXT view. This makes it difficult to find a specific line item & if you search for just that line you can't see the other side of the transaction. Again, I revert to the database view for most JE review & revision.
  • The most useful & complex reports, such as the Statement of Functional Expenses, are not available in the NXT view.
Read Christine Settles's full review
Heidi Tabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2017

Financial Edge NXT - Onward and Upward

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The reporting exports in the NXT view are much cleaner than the database view.
  • Accounts payable entry is very user-friendly.
  • The feature that is coming soon to link bank accounts and credit cards for easier reconciliation is very exciting.
  • Cannot set up or modify VCOs on the NXT side yet.
  • We use the allocation module as an add-on and this has yet to be done in the database view.
  • I would love to be able to import into the journal entry area.
Read Heidi Tabat's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (9)
4.9
Direct deposit files (8)
5.2
Salary revision and increment management (7)
9.9
Reimbursement management (4)
9.0
API for custom integration (11)
8.5
Plug-ins (17)
7.0
Single sign-on capability (33)
8.9
Role-based user permissions (34)
8.5
Dashboards (33)
7.3
Standard reports (38)
8.6
Custom reports (37)
8.6
Accounts payable (39)
9.0
Accounts receivable (17)
7.0
Cash management (29)
8.9
Bank reconciliation (32)
8.6
Expense management (25)
8.8
Time tracking (6)
6.4
Fixed asset management (20)
9.0
Multi-currency support (6)
7.9
Multi-division support (16)
9.0
Regulations compliance (11)
9.7
Electronic tax filing (9)
5.3
Self-service portal (19)
9.0
Pricing (8)
6.5
Credit card processing (11)
9.2
Cost of goods sold (3)
1.4

About Financial Edge NXT

Financial Edge NXT is a cloud accounting solution from Blackbaud that is designed to provide transparency across teams, security, compliance, and reduce the need for manual processes. The system is a fund accounting solution that provides a general ledger, projects, grants, endowments, accounts payable and receivable, fixed assets, banking, and more.

This solution includes a personalized dashboard and customizable views. Financial Edge NXT enables users to closely monitor income statements, program-to-expense ratios, cash balances, and other key metrics. Financial Edge NXT offers real-time reporting, with one-click drill-down functionality and export capability, to enable data-driven decisions in real time.

The system allows users access to grant and project accounting that allows for streamlined management of budget, as well as a way to effectively monitor accounts and generate reports. The vendor’s value proposition is that by using Financial Edge NXT, nonprofits can reduce dependency on manual processes, thus improving data entry accuracy.

Financial Edge NXT Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features
Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Does not have featureTime tracking
Has featureFixed asset management
Does not have featureMulti-currency support
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal
Does not have featureGlobal Financial Support
Does not have featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Does not have featureIntercompany Accounting
Does not have featureLocalizations
Does not have featureJournals and Reconciliations
Does not have featureEnterprise Accounting
Does not have featureConfigurable Accounting
Does not have featureCentralized Rules Framework
Does not have featureStandardized Processes
Inventory Management Features
Does not have featureInventory tracking
Does not have featureAutomatic reordering
Does not have featureLocation management
Does not have featureManufacturing module
Order Management Features
Has featurePricing
Does not have featureOrder entry
Has featureCredit card processing
Has featureCost of goods sold
Does not have featureOrder Orchestration
Does not have featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Does not have featureOrder exception Resolution
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Customization Features
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Additional Features
Has featureCloud Based
Has featureManage advanced allocations within product
Has featureFlexible chart-of-accounts structure
Has featureProject, Grant and Endowment reporting comes standard

Financial Edge NXT Screenshots

Financial Edge NXT Integrations

PaperSave, BizNet Software, Advanced Budget Management, Paramount Workplace, Infor F9, Avid Exchage

Financial Edge NXT Competitors

Sage Intacct, Abila, Microsoft

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Financial Edge NXT Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Financial Edge NXT Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada
Supported Languages: English