HCSS Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

A Leader in the Construction World

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are looking for a well-rounded tool that can be used by the field for Field logs, Man Hours/Timecards, estimating and analytics, this is the product for you. It gives the user a lot of controls and parameters to filter data by, and as far as estimating, I believe this is the best product out there.
Read J. Mickey Merguerian's full review
Dan Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

The Cadillac Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HCSS is great for bidding projects from $500 to $20,000,000 (these are the typical size of projects we bid on). It allows for multiple users to bid on the project at the same time, so if you have multiple estimators, it's perfect for that.
Read Dan Watkins's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

HCSS... a rockstar in the field!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The HCSS support structure is truly topnotch. Any time we have an issue and give them a call they are right on it. Between the response time to the time, the problem or situation is fixed, in most cases, it is usually the same day. They are great at helping you with the problem but also take the time to explain the problem, why it happened, and what the correction is/needs to be.
Read this authenticated review
Olaf Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

From a Paper Notepad to a Sofeware Program, what an upgrade.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Our operation uses several pieces of what we call specialty equipment (not used every day on every job). The foreman when finished will give a location of where this equipment is left, this many times can be very vague and lead to a lowboy driver trying to block around to find the piece or driving down a street he cannot get turned around in. With the GPS devices, the driver can pinpoint exactly where the unit is and if he has room to turn around at that location.
Read Olaf Johnson's full review
Mike DeRousse | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Spot on estimating and Field Management software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HCSS is well suited for the Heavy General Engineering Contractor of any size. HeavyJob needs more flexibility for tracking T & M and Change Order work. HeavyJob needs to have the ability to import Plans and specifications to tablets and make onscreen notes on plans so Foreman can better track job changes on one device.
Read Mike DeRousse's full review
Julia Salgueiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Now Trending... Make the software work for you, don't you work for the software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For companies looking to responsibly manage their project financials with reliable* cost/revenue data, HCSS HeavyJob is a great option. For companies who own, fuel, and maintain their own equipment, the Dispatcher, E360, and FuelerPlus programs are useful addons and will provide reliable* cost data for forecasting company equipment costs and needs.

*The "less appropriate" scenario is when a company is ill-prepared to be culturally dedicated to the process of reviewing the data for accuracy and completion. The biggest downfall of HCSS is that if the data is bad, EVERYTHING else is garbage. I cannot stress enough the importance of identifying what kind of a culture your company has, then taking steps to modify and alter so that using the system will happen effectively. Lastly, commit to continuous quality control practices.

Read Julia Salgueiro's full review
Michael Daughters | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2017

HeavyBid for Industrial Estimating

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HCSS Heavybid is well suited in a heavy industrial estimating world. It is designed around heavy civil work, bridges, roadways, DOT type work. It even includes a DOT SOV import feature. It is not designed around the CSI code, around commercial or residential construction. The flexibilty in the bid form/SOV creation allows it to be extremely useful for heavy industrial or mechanical/civil work.
Read Michael Daughters's full review
Joseph McElwee | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2017

HCSS Software = Successful Construction Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The inspection forms in HCSS Safety are great for promoting safety throughout the field. All Foremen, Superintendents, Safety Officers, and Project Management personnel in our company have iPads and can perform safety inspections and observations quite easily. The number of safety inspections done by our personnel has increased over 200% since we stopped using paper forms and started using HCSS Safety on the iPad.
Read Joseph McElwee's full review
Daniel Duke | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2018

What's so HEAVY about HCSS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HCSS is a flexible system and can be suited to nearly any need. The largest problem I have found is that many users don't know what they want at first and it is fairly cumbersome to change some of the key components the further down the implementation process goes.
Read Daniel Duke's full review
Drury Ellard | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2018

HCSS is a trusted go-to tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Once you understand the basic concepts of estimating, you can begin using HCSS, adding layers of complexity as you learn and become more comfortable with the databases and information.
Read Drury Ellard's full review
Dave Socci | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

HCSS product review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As noted previously, it is especially well suited to the heavy/civil industry. As all of my experience with HCSS has been within this industry, I've not had an opportunity to find an application where it did not perform well.
Read Dave Socci's full review
Dave Luytjes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Heavybid Review from a Long time User.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In the heavy civil arena, they are top of the line. A vertical contractor may struggle a bit to adapt the programs but I think this can be overcome with some adaptation by the contractor. An engineer or owner trying to use the program will have a difficult time, unless they have a contractor's background.
Read Dave Luytjes's full review
Heather Gunzelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

You won't be disappointed with HCSS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Heavy Job and Heavy Bid are AMAZING! We can't describe how beneficial these two programs have been to our company and would HIGHLY recommend them both to everyone and have. I will be attending the user group meeting this year (2nd one) and focusing on Dispatcher. If we can't put Dispatcher to the use that we need, then we will probably discontinue the program. The Safety Program sounded amazing but the cost was too high. I've heard that the cost has come down so we may revisit that in the next 1-2 years. Equipment 360 seems to be working well and I've been pushing to implement the GPS system as well.
Side note: my boss keeps asking me if I'm selling HCSS program on the side since I've pushed hard for the products at our company. There are a lot of great programs and the implementation team is top notch.
Read Heather Gunzelmann's full review
Bethanie Larson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

HCSS - Payroll Processing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HCSS is designed to work with construction firms, and I would say for any company that has employees that travel a lot. If you work with a crew of employees, the superintendent can report his own time, along with his crew members. He can also report who should receive per diem (over night stays), and how much material they went through in a day. Material reporting is important for future projects. It provides real data on how long it takes to conduct a particular activity along with how much material the crew went through to accomplish that particular activity.
Read Bethanie Larson's full review
Matt Snow | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

The HCSS Effect

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HCSS is well-suited for a company that needs accurate cost reporting and standardization. It is also well-suited for a company that requires large amounts of documentation on a daily basis. It provides a one-stop shop for crews in the field for input.
Read Matt Snow's full review
Jim Murray | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

Best on the Market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Its estimating can be done on any size project with multiple estimators. Its reporting in the field as to permanent materials needs to be addressed.
Read Jim Murray's full review
Linda Pawlak | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS -- A great business partner!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HCSS is well positioned to be the vendor for both large and small customers alike. For smaller customers, they provide a very valuable technical resource that is likely not staffed in house. In addition, they also have the expertise to support companies with larger infrastructures and the need for enterprise solutions.
Read Linda Pawlak's full review
Randy Gambrill | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS, YES, YES, YES

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would recommend the product for several reasons. Firstly, the ease of use by all of the field users. We thought that training the field people, would be the toughest area due to the lack of technology, typically used in the field. Secondly, my superintendents can quickly review the previous day's time cards, to make sure nothing is missed, and get back in the field sooner.
Read Randy Gambrill's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (9)
6.8
Plan markups & sharing (6)
6.0
Issue tracking & punchlists (13)
8.8
Photo documentation (25)
9.8
Jobsite reports (29)
9.4
Document sharing (17)
7.1
RFI tools (1)
3
Collaboration & approvals (18)
9.2
Mobile app (27)
9.8

About HCSS

HCSS is a construction software suite for estimating, operations, project management, safety, and equipment management used by the top contractors in transportation, oil & gas, power, industrial, telecom, and water/wastewater. Contractors use the software suite to win profitable work, keep projects on track and on budget, manage key assets, and then they integrate that information directly into their accounting system.

Suite components include:
  • HeavyBid (estimating)
  • HeavyJob (time cards, job costing, project management)
  • HCSS Safety
  • HCSS Plans
  • Equipment360
  • HCSS Telematics
  • HCSS Dispatcher
  • FuelerPlus
  • HCSS eLogs
  • HCSS Cloud
  • HCSS Skills
  • HCSS Forms

Categories:  Construction

HCSS Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Does not have featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Does not have featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app
Does not have featureSubmittal design and management
Does not have featureChecklists
Does not have featureMeeting Minutes
Does not have featureSpecifications
Does not have featureChange orders
Estimating Features
Does not have featureTakeoff tools
Does not have featureJob costing
Does not have featureCost databases
Does not have featureCost calculator
Does not have featureBid creation
Human Resource Management Features
Does not have featureEmployee demographic data
Does not have featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Does not have featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Does not have featureBenefits information
Does not have featureOrganizational charting
Does not have featureOrganization and location management
Does not have featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Does not have featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Does not have featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Does not have featurePayroll history for each employee
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Does not have featureDirect deposit files
Does not have featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Does not have featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Does not have featureData exportability
Additional Features
Has featureEstimating and bidding
Has featureInvitation to bid
Has featureQuote management
Has featureTimecards
Has featureDaily diaries
Has featureProduction quantities
Has featureT&M Reporting
Has featureEquipment Maintenance
Has featureEquipment Work Orders
Has featureAlerts & Notifications

HCSS Screenshots

HCSS Integrations

Microsoft Project, Vista by Viewpoint, Primavera P3, P6 Project Management, RSMeans

HCSS Competitors

ViewPoint ProContractor, InEight, B2W Software, Microsoft Excel, Predictive Solutions

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

HCSS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
15%

HCSS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

HCSS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:United States, Canada