HCSS Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

A Leader in the Construction World

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • HCSS works wonderfully as a timecard. Using the application is very easy and it speaks very well to our data systems.
  • HCSS is the pinnacle of estimating tools. It allows multiple analytics and set-ups for estimators. In addition, conversions of your bid into budgets are extremely easy once exported.
  • Within HeavyJob, once you enter in manhours and production data they run all the data analysis for you, providing graphs and figures from your inputs.
  • The software itself seems to be a bit outdated as far as user interface
  • I'm not sure if this is a result of too much data or what, but the programs tend to be on the slower side when importing and exporting data.
Read J. Mickey Merguerian's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

HCSS... a rockstar in the field!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • HCSS support is amazing. Call any time and you will speak to someone in Texas.
  • Daily snapshots of what happened are easily documented and can reported on.
  • HCSS is very expensive and can be hard to justify at times.
Read this authenticated review
Olaf Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

From a Paper Notepad to a Sofeware Program, what an upgrade.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Dispatcher's history function is of great use. The ability to quickly know what job and what crew used a certain piece of equipment is very useful.
  • Dispatcher's ability to transfer information from one user to the next to reports for end users saves a lot of time and confusion.
  • The amount of time and money that is saved by our lowboy drivers is huge because of the ability to located the piece using the GPS units
  • In Dispatcher you should be able to make adjustment (date, time, equipment, notes) to scheduled equipment after it has been assigned to driver in dispatch screen
  • In Dispatcher you should be able to select multiple pieces of equipment to modify in dispatch window
  • Dispatch screen in Dispatcher would be better if displayed horizontally instead of vertical
Read Olaf Johnson's full review
Mike DeRousse | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Spot on estimating and Field Management software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • #1 is support! HCSS is by far the best software support of any product we have ever used. Unlike most software companies HCSS utilizes their support calls to help upgrade their software. When you here them tell you that they will write down a particular issue you come across during a support call if they can't help you then and there they will research and get an answer to you extremely fast. If the software will not do it, you can bet there is a good chance it will be on the list of enhancements you will see come out in the near future.
  • Estimating software is very extensive. Their software is capable of handling the smallest estimate all the way to the largest joint venture estimate. It has advanced features that make it extremely useful for analyzing job materials, subcontractors etc.
  • HeavyJob is an extremely useful tool for the field to keep the office up to date with job costs. Everything is at the Foreman's fingertips on Tablets to allow the information from the field to get uploaded to HeavyJob manager which then can export to accounting. We are also able to give our Foreman the ability to deal with the Daily and weekly safety needs (Tailgate Meetings, incident Investigation, observations etc.) right on the Tablets thru HeavyJob.
  • Dispatcher is not offered in a mobile version which we have asked for several times. I think they just don't have enough users to make it worthwhile.
  • Heavybid needs to have the flexibility to add markup to add ons such as Bond and Small Tools etc.
  • HCSS needs to have an onscreen takeoff to allow seamless integration of takeoff from the screen to Heavybid without having additional manual input.
Read Mike DeRousse's full review
James Duncan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

HCSS is great

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • export to accounting
  • time card management, review, and consolidation of data for billing purposes
  • equipment maintenance and records
  • All their apps are on mobile devices. Although there is not a clear company policy on Android versus iPhone. Updates for features lag behind on Android. Some apps are exclusive to one platform making it hard to fully interconnect all programs.
Read James Duncan's full review
Doyle Potts | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

HCSS review from a long time user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer Assistance is the first thing you will notice and appreciate about HCSS. Always courteous and knowledgeable about their business. Tech support is a backbone topic with them and it shows.
  • Software that flows with job information and needs is always present. I enjoy how smooth their products move with actual needs of our company.
  • Follow through with support and at the end of the day, they take pride in the work done by themselves and our work too.
  • OEM integration with GPS equipment would be nice if it was easier.
Read Doyle Potts's full review
Julia Salgueiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Now Trending... Make the software work for you, don't you work for the software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer service. I call them at least a couple times per week when I run into an issue. They resolve the issue or kick it up to the next level, and treat each one of my calls with proper urgency and concern.
  • Access to submit my recommendations for improvement. The HCSS Product Portal has really made it easy to enter my suggestions, review suggestions from others, and vote.
  • The HCSS Help website; it is so easy to access past webinars, and procedures. This is usually my first stop (now) before calling the support line.
  • The HeavyJob mobile has really been a great advancement for us. Our foremen are very happy after switching from the Field (laptop) version to Mobile (iPad) version of time cards. Some of them are even coming in and asking "what else can we do" with the program, to become more efficient in the field. It has been quite inspiring.
  • In HeavyJob, the system needs improvement for Change Management. In construction, a change in condition on the jobsite happens often, and as a project manager, I need to be able to confidently track any and all issues (regardless of status). Currently, HCSS does not have a solution for this. I have been working with them to improve the functionality, but they are not there yet.
  • In HeavyJob, the mobile features have improved functions in the field, but those mobile improvements have made for major drawbacks in the office. Specifically, the Multi Job time card function (MJ). Due to the outdated manager system, the approvers (PMs) are forced to log into HeavyJob Web, which is tremendously slow. Approving time cards has now become a big time consuming ordeal as we only have the ability to approve one time card at a time.
  • The Dispatcher program is too slow. The amount of data being processed is not an acceptable excuse. HCSS needs to get better compression to resolve the major bog-down for changes/updates to be made on the dashboard, as well as when printing reports/
  • The E360 program needs improvement on the purchase order process.
  • In general, there need to be more compatibility and function between all of the HCSS products. I want the information tracked in one module to be automatically synced with the other; I want to easily navigate in and out of all modules as well. This all needs creation and improvement.
Read Julia Salgueiro's full review
Michael Daughters | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2017

HeavyBid for Industrial Estimating

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organized estimates. Especially sub and material management.
  • Structured and consistent.
  • Technical Help. They are available 24 hrs a day for technical issues
  • No math errors. Using MS Excel to estimate always runs with the risk of formula errors.
  • Complicated for new users. The software is so expansive, it is difficult to bring new users up to speed quickly.
  • Expensive. Between the HCSS license and the Cloud service, it is very expensive.
  • Server Based, without the cloud you cannot use it remotely.
Read Michael Daughters's full review
Dennis Daikoku | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Good equipment cost program, but needs better initial setup.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • E360 tracks cost and time for repairs.
  • Fueler Plus tracks dispersement of fuel (gallons to each equipment) and cost of fuel.
  • Simple to use once you get used to it.
  • When setting up equipment/vehicles the license plate or EIN are on another screen and not on the General tab. This total doesn't make any sense.
  • Fueler Plus time card is a joke. It shouldn't even be called a time card, because it doesn't function as one. It's more of a fuel time log.
  • There is no type of user manual for these products. Even a simple flow chart would work. I'm not a techy person, so I like visual stuff.
  • At implementaion everything is going so fast that I missed a lot of technical important stuff. No disrespect to the implementor, but it felt like because they have done this a million times, we should already know this. I believe this is where hand outs are very important. One example was setting up PM's. I don't recall them saying that I would have to initialize each one for each eauipment.
Read Dennis Daikoku's full review
Joseph McElwee | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2017

HCSS Software = Successful Construction Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • HCSS Technical Support has the best customer service of any company that I have ever seen. Phone calls into the help center are answered immediately and problems can usually be solved right over the phone. Their technical support staff is very knowledgeable.
  • HCSS provides thorough training to help you get the most out of their products. Their yearly User Group Meetings are an incredible opportunity to learn about new products and new features. Several people from our company attend the User Group Meetings every year.
  • HCSS listens to their clients when they have suggestions or requests on how to modify reports, or set-up new reports or features in the software. During the "Town Hall" meetings at the user group meetings, customers will request different changes to be made and often these changes end up being implemented shortly afterwards.
  • Would love to see HCSS develop a program for Project Management, where submittals, RFIs, change orders, subcontracts, etc. could be produced and tracked.
  • We would like to see HCSS enable a person in the field to e-mail a previously completed inspection to another person (Owner's rep, etc.) after it was already sent into the system. Can't do this currently.
Read Joseph McElwee's full review
Christian Long | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2018

HCSS saves us time and wins us jobs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Absolute best aspect is their tech support. They always answer the phone and nearly always have the solution at hand. That is absolutely critical when working on a bid.
  • A few years back they implemented a Work Breakdown Structure type estimate but it has been slow to evolve. I understand this due to most of the industry lack of use of the product but that creates a chicken and egg scenario. Perhaps they would use it more if it were developed further.
  • There needs to be a mobile integration with HeavyBid for Android.
  • HeavyJob has seen some great upgrades to the mobile side on iPad and to a lesser extent Android. They need to stay concurrent with each other rather than forcing one OS on users over the other.
  • Similarly, while tablets have gotten love, Windows based touch screens, like Surfaces, have not. This are becoming more and more common, but if you want to use one for HeavyJob you have to use the clunky PC version and not the optimized for touch version that is on the tablets.
Read Christian Long's full review
Daniel Duke | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2018

What's so HEAVY about HCSS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • HeavyBid integrates well with our accounting system and has reduced my budget development time significantly from our previous software.
  • HeavyJob's ability to capture field information from a mobile device is key to future success in the industry. There are several other platforms which provide the ability to capture field data but to date I have yet to find one as robust and user friendly.
  • HCCS's customer service is the cornerstone of my continued support of the software. I have contacted them several times after hours only to be greeted by a knowledgeable PERSON. The ability to converse with someone who knows the product and how to resolve issues without being on hold or speaking to a computer is invaluable.
  • HeavyJob is not envisioned to be an accounting system by the developers. Eventually more auditing capabilities will be needed.
  • Custom reports are expensive.
Read Daniel Duke's full review
Mildred Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2018

HCSS Feedback

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • HCSS has established a team to assist our Company with any issue that arises. They respond timely and give us quality service.
  • HCSS works to accommodate our need in using Specialty Jobs, which tend to complicate our use of the product.
  • HCSS has created a very good process flow for Project Jobs with their product.
  • Some of the reports contain just the Foremen employee number, it would be great if they also contain the name.
  • Some of the reports are not compatible with running them in Excel, it would be great to be able to dump the data into an Excel spreadsheet.
  • I would like to be able to run User Accounts into an Excel spreadsheet.
Read Mildred Rodriguez's full review
Drury Ellard | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2018

HCSS is a trusted go-to tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • HCSS is a great system to organize the information required to make a detailed bid proposal and to make it an easily repeatable process within a set of users.
  • The Resources are easy to update and modify, if necessary. However a standard library of resources, equipment, labor, materials, crews etc allows you to maintain flexibility on an as-needed basis.
  • The Quote Folder system is an easy way to manage multiple proposals from materials suppliers and subcontractors and to keep those proposals compared to each other by using subcontractor scope adjustment tab, if necessary.
  • The whole system can be very quirky from time to time. It's very helpful to use the system for a while to get used to where to look for all of the buttons to press or boxes to check or reports to print.
  • I've had issues with the self perform analysis before. It was not showing the correct cost in the quote folders, but it was correct in the estimate. Got it resolved, but I'm glad I noticed it before bid-day.
Read Drury Ellard's full review
Dave Socci | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

HCSS product review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Support has always been very, very good.
  • Listens to the needs and desires of their customer base.
  • Provides a system geared specifically to the heavy/civil industry, and one that is intuitive, well-structured and efficient.
  • An "undo" button!
  • Writing custom reports, though I have to admit that I've not looked into that functionality lately.
  • While I don't use it personally much anymore, the self-performed comparison function can be a challenge for some to use effectively/correctly.
Read Dave Socci's full review
Dave Luytjes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Heavybid Review from a Long time User.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Consistency is huge. Work activities can be set up and used easily. This makes for a better work product and can be reviewed by senior staff quickly.
  • Heavybid is recognized as a leader in the electronic estimating field. Because of this the Heavybid product is ahead of the curve when it comes to electronic bidding.
  • The HCSS support team is one of the best. I can always count on talking to a real person immediately that knows how to help me.
  • Everyone would like to have a custom system that meets their exact needs, but that's not realistic. So there are a few things that I as an individual would do differently, in that sense the system is not exactly like I would like it.
  • Occasionally there are missteps. A feature might be rushed into the product and has to be walked back. Also a feature might work well from a programming point of view, but not so well from a constructors view.
Read Dave Luytjes's full review
Dave Steely | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Awesome System

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to download project bid items from Excel and State DOT sites to eliminate manual entry.
  • Ability to set up crews and activities through Bid Item Codebooks and Library Estimates that reference bid items upon import from DOT sites which allows you to automatically build the framework of a bid upon import allowing great time savings as opposed to building the same work from scratch.
  • Quote Request system is still cumbersome
Read Dave Steely's full review
Heather Gunzelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

You won't be disappointed with HCSS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Heavy Job is excellent for field to office communications. There are many valuable features and the program is very robust.
  • Heavy Job has been invaluable to me specifically on reporting production and performance in the field to ownership.
  • There are many different things you can use Heavy Job for, including tracking trucking costs with outside vendors. This has also been a huge benefit for our company.
  • Our biggest struggle is with Dispatcher. It does not truly help us with our needs and we resorted back to pen, paper, and excel spreadsheets when we hit our busiest time of the year in the fall.
  • Dispatcher does not seem to have had as much attention given to it as Heavy Job. Heavy Job far outweighs Dispatcher in many aspects. Dispatcher needs more versatility and better features.
  • Examples: we move crews around on a daily basis and that is difficult in Dispatcher. You need to be able to move job around fluidly as well as being able to keep track of them and see the projects on a weekly/monthly/extended view. The planner view is not beneficial and lacks many desired features. Dispatcher also does not have any proactive features, reminders, real tracking of projects to it.
  • If HCSS would give more focus to this program, then it could be used to target more subcontractor companies like us, as well as larger contractors. Most of the prime contractors that we work with use Heavy Bid and Heavy Job but not Dispatcher. I am going to bet because it isn't satisfying the needs of your contractors/customers.
Read Heather Gunzelmann's full review
Bethanie Larson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

HCSS - Payroll Processing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The program is designed to work well for our employees that travel, which is 80% of the company.
  • The exports that HCSS can create for us work well with our accounting program. It's great how they can create their data to work with another program.
  • We currently struggle with importing data from the outside. Our superintendents will send data to the cloud and we struggle at times to pull the data into our [management] system that we use at the corporate office. That could also be on our end.
Read Bethanie Larson's full review
Matt Snow | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

The HCSS Effect

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Streamlined approach for estimating that helps each estimator provide the needed detail, and allows our company to have expectations of what an estimate should contain
  • Heavyjob provides numerous options for documentation.
  • HCSS Cloud allows our estimators and project managers access from any location and any computer whether at the office, onsite, or at home.
  • HeavyJob could use more functions that make typing for the guys in the field a quicker operation.
Read Matt Snow's full review
Jim Murray | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

Best on the Market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The estimating program is great, well organized, and manageable
  • Great tech support if needed
  • Tracks field operations easy and can be used by anyone of any caliber
  • Tracking cost and revenue where items overrun and under-run
  • In the estimating, there needs to be a function to determine wet and dry costs for equipment when reviewing a project
  • Easier interface with an accounting program
Read Jim Murray's full review
Michael Trotta | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

Long time satisfied user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • HeavyBid - organized and reproducible process for all estimates, works seamlessly with HeavyJob and accounting system to create budgets on successful bids
  • HeavyJob - great for production analysis and time card entry synchronization with accounting software
  • HeavyBid sub solicitation and quote collection system does not perform as well as other products such as ISQft
Read Michael Trotta's full review
Linda Pawlak | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS -- A great business partner!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • HCSS is particularly good at listening to current business processes and translating them to an implementation plan using HCSS software that improves the business process with an attainable staged approach.
  • HCSS is a long term partner that grows with your over time, patient to wait for your growth and eager to have it customers give them feedback to facilitate HCSS growth and improvement.
  • HCSS listens to it's customers and continually finds new avenues to improve it's products.
  • HCSS grows and improves its individual products well, but the pace or improvement in integrating it's products with one another languishes in improvement.
  • Support for standardized questions is done well, but this support would be greatly improved if there was better escalation and integration of support with the client. For example, when the support call could be facilitated by better knowledge of the customers particular install, could support reach out to the client and then back out to the user? Or keep a better knowledge base internally for the clients use?
Read Linda Pawlak's full review
Randy Gambrill | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2017

HCSS, YES, YES, YES

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The HCSS system is very user-friendly. The field guys picked it up really quick.
  • In the managers system, the superintendents can quickly review the previous days work, which gets them back in the field sooner.
  • HCSS created a report for us, at our request, to work with our unit based contract. This made it easy to invoice weekly.
  • Heavy Job manager seems to run slow at times.
  • On the iPad, it seems to take a while for it to upload each time.
  • Occasionally, time cards have to be sent a few times before they pull from the cloud into the manager system.
Read Randy Gambrill's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (9)
6.8
Plan markups & sharing (6)
6.0
Issue tracking & punchlists (13)
8.8
Photo documentation (25)
9.8
Jobsite reports (29)
9.4
Document sharing (17)
7.1
RFI tools (1)
3
Collaboration & approvals (18)
9.2
Mobile app (27)
9.8

About HCSS

HCSS is a construction software suite for estimating, operations, project management, safety, and equipment management used by the top contractors in transportation, oil & gas, power, industrial, telecom, and water/wastewater. Contractors use the software suite to win profitable work, keep projects on track and on budget, manage key assets, and then they integrate that information directly into their accounting system.

Suite components include:
  • HeavyBid (estimating)
  • HeavyJob (time cards, job costing, project management)
  • HCSS Safety
  • HCSS Plans
  • Equipment360
  • HCSS Telematics
  • HCSS Dispatcher
  • FuelerPlus
  • HCSS eLogs
  • HCSS Cloud
  • HCSS Skills
  • HCSS Forms

Categories:  Construction

HCSS Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Does not have featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Does not have featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app
Does not have featureSubmittal design and management
Does not have featureChecklists
Does not have featureMeeting Minutes
Does not have featureSpecifications
Does not have featureChange orders
Estimating Features
Does not have featureTakeoff tools
Does not have featureJob costing
Does not have featureCost databases
Does not have featureCost calculator
Does not have featureBid creation
Human Resource Management Features
Does not have featureEmployee demographic data
Does not have featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Does not have featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Does not have featureBenefits information
Does not have featureOrganizational charting
Does not have featureOrganization and location management
Does not have featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Does not have featurePay calculation
Does not have featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Does not have featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Does not have featurePayroll history for each employee
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Does not have featureDirect deposit files
Does not have featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Does not have featureSalary revision and increment management
Does not have featureReimbursement management
Does not have featureStatutory form management
Asset Management Features
Does not have featureTracking of all physical assets
Does not have featureAsset issue and transfer management
Does not have featureAsset return
Does not have featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Does not have featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Does not have featureData exportability
Additional Features
Has featureEstimating and bidding
Has featureInvitation to bid
Has featureQuote management
Has featureTimecards
Has featureDaily diaries
Has featureProduction quantities
Has featureT&M Reporting
Has featureEquipment Maintenance
Has featureEquipment Work Orders
Has featureAlerts & Notifications

HCSS Screenshots

HCSS Integrations

Microsoft Project, Vista by Viewpoint, Primavera P3, P6 Project Management, RSMeans

HCSS Competitors

ViewPoint ProContractor, InEight, B2W Software, Microsoft Excel, Predictive Solutions

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

HCSS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
55%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
15%

HCSS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

HCSS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:United States, Canada