M‑Files Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Jason von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

Deploying M-Files, an EDM that can meet any organization's needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

We have not pulled in external applications yet to unify our systems. We are leveraging this tool to be able to decommission several redundant systems in pull the data into M-Files as our source of truth. We will be integrating these other applications soon to migrate to M-Files, but not for a long term ongoing connection.
Read Jason von Innerebner's full review
Sarah M.C. von Innerebner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2020

Five years using and still enjoying the M-Files experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

Our organization has not opted to build a connector to other repositories like SharePoint, but we appreciate the option. Instead, one of the unifying experiences we've enjoyed is the common views we have set for the organization on the M-Files home page. While the experience might be likened to the previous network drive structure and navigation, it's a dynamic experience to automatically filter in new content without worrying if the new content is there as it's not where it is, but what it is. There is also the ability, if configured correctly, that can filter content or non-document objects based on their state. For example) our organization operates many committees over the years, our Committee property filters on active committees. This is a feature that enables all teams to see relevant information and creates a unified experience rather than the former disjointed one. It's truly rewarding to see document relationships, such as to a Committee, and have the visibility of who supports the committee, what that committee is about, and if it's active or not, all at a glance of a metadata card. Our legacy system did not offer any such ability.
Read Sarah M.C. von Innerebner's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

Make it easier and safer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

The integration between our CRM has been most beneficial to us over the whole period of time we have used M-Files.
Read this authenticated review
Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Good for file management and security; but not user friendly due to file view system

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

All the sharepoints and local hard drives have been closed or advised not to be used since we started to use M-Files. Therefore all the file sharing and document storage is now being done via M-Files. However it could not be fully adopted yet as it requires heavy user experience and usage.
Read Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2®'s full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Superb Document Management System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

It has been beneficial because it is a goal for our company to have this cross-platform information flow. Today is very productive to have the information among the systems, but not having a manual entry point for each document/file. Today we use the default connectors to share this information, and it solves the aim that it proposes to solve.
Read this authenticated review
Yrjö Tolvanen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

It's so easy that business people can do it (but don't let them do it alone)!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

We are implementing project document management which currently is in shared folders. We are sure that finding latest version, knowing what has been delivered to customer, knowing what has changed from one version to the next one will improve.
Read Yrjö Tolvanen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

Happy M-Files Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

M-Files is installed as its own drive on your computer, making it easy to save a document from your hard drive to the system. You can simply click on File>Save As and save your document directly to M-Files. Users can also migrate documents into M-Files by clicking on the chosen document within the file explorer and dragging it onto any open space on the M-Files homepage - a dialog box will then appear asking for the user to fill in the required metadata properties.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

M-Files review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

We use M-Files to access scanned documents and automatically import scanned documents to specific workflows for example AP Invoice approval. This feature makes the workflow effective.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

M‑Files Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

Having a single pane of glass to view all our documents is key.
Read this authenticated review
Rebecca Sims | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Why M-Files will make you Smile!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

We have slightly since we employ SharePoint, but we mainly are going to benefit from the API integration that is available. We have an in house application that we are going to be able to use as an integration with M-Files which is going to add a lot of value.
Read Rebecca Sims's full review
Tom Purdy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

M-Files - Allows you to search for what you need wihout knowing where it's located.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

We have not installed the IML Tool yet, but plan to implement it within the next 1-2 months. We're very excited about the IML tool's ability to search documents in several different enterprise locations simultaneously.
Read Tom Purdy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2018

Look Ma, No Hand[ler]s

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

We have not. Our need was relatively simple and we have not yet explored the need to invest additional public funds for additional capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

M-Files

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

M-Files United Information

Not that I am aware of. It would be nice to have it synced with SalesForce but at this point in time don't think we have that feature enabled.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Content capture & imaging (33)
8.0
File sync, storage & archiving (40)
8.5
Document management (42)
8.5
Records management (41)
8.0
Content search & retrieval (42)
8.5
Enterprise content collaboration (35)
8.3
Content publishing & creation (9)
6.9
Security, risk management & information governance (38)
8.5
Contract lifecycle management (30)
8.6
Automated workflows (37)
8.5
Artificial intelligence (17)
6.6
Mobile support (9)
7.1
Integration (10)
7.5

About M‑Files

M-Files provides an information management platform that is designed to improve business performance by helping people find and use information more effectively. Unlike traditional enterprise content management (ECM) systems or content services platforms, M-Files unifies systems, data and content across the organization without disturbing existing systems and processes or requiring data migration.

Using artificial intelligence (AI) technologies in its Intelligent Metadata Layer, M-Files breaks down silos by delivering an in-context experience for accessing and leveraging information that resides in any system and repository, including network folders, SharePoint, file sharing services, ECM systems, CRM, ERP and other business systems and repositories.

The vendor claims thousands of organizations in more than 100 countries use M-Files for managing their business information and processes, including NBC Universal, OMV, Valmet, Rovio, SAS Institute and thyssenkrupp.

M‑Files Features

Enterprise Content Management Features
Has featureContent capture & imaging
Has featureFile sync, storage & archiving
Has featureDocument management
Has featureRecords management
Has featureContent search & retrieval
Has featureEnterprise content collaboration
Has featureContent publishing & creation
Has featureSecurity, risk management & information governance
Has featureContract lifecycle management
Has featureAutomated workflows
Has featureArtificial intelligence
Has featureMobile support
Has featureIntegration

M‑Files Screenshots

M‑Files Video

M-Files connects to existing systems, like network folders and SharePoint, and makes those systems more intelligent by adding metadata, version control, and workflows to the content. M-Files enables organizations to access and manage the ever-increasing amount of documents and information across all business systems without requiring an expensive and time-consuming migration.

M‑Files Integrations

Microsoft Office 365, NetSuite, Salesforce.com, DocuSign, AutoCAD, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Esri, Micosoft Teams, Microsoft SharePoint, Sage 200, AutoCAD LT and Autodesk, SAP, ChronoScan

M‑Files Competitors

Laserfiche, Alfresco Enterprise Content Management, OpenText Enterprise Content Manamagement (ECM)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Please contact an M-Files representative via https://www.m-files.com for pricing information.

M‑Files Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

M‑Files Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:M-Files is available in 100+ countries through direct support or via the company's partner network.
Supported Languages: M-Files is available in 30+ languages.