Tableau Server Reviews

705 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (51-75 of 94)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2018

Tableau Server is great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At the moment just a small group is using it. However, we hope after we have more workbooks set up and people see the benefits, the user base will expand to the whole department and then organization. It allows for quick dissemination of the usual data and quick question answering, as well as consistent outputs within our group.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

My Tableau server review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is implemented as an enterprise visualization tool across the organization. At present we are migrating the reports/dashboards running in legacy tools. In the future, Tableau will be used to find the insights of the business happenings, which will help us make better decisions, identify business challenges, and learn how to improvise business solutions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

Tableau Server is a great addition to Desktop

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Business Analytics department uses Tableau Server to share reports and data sources internally. A small number of visualizations are shared outside the department. We currently have 50 users and the majority of those log in at least once per month.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Small made Mighty with Tableau Server!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server has resolved operations department needs for

  1. More efficient and timely delivery of operations performance to frontline supervisors, managers, business analysts, Steering and C-suite
  2. Increased accountability of operations KPIs
  3. Clear "signal" delivery for routine prioritizing, project tracking and alerting
  4. Increased literacy for data-driven process improvement. The tool also provides intuitive and interactive self-service BI for business development tactics and strategy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Data consolidation and visualizations done right

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

With the growth and expansion of our company into the overseas markets, we felt a need to be able to collaborate better on our projects and provide management with tools to get better insight into our Key Performance Indicators. We first on boarded our marketing and sales departments to the Tableau Server. Now we have dashboards being used by the implementation and engineering departments as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2018

Tableau is the best solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau is an amazing software, it’s very easy to create all kinds of reports. It can be well integrated with our systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2018

Data visualizations made easy

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At our firm as we started building solutions for clients from overseas, we felt the need to have better analytics for our marketing and sales departments. Previously we had a wide array of different services that were pretty much offering the same results for us. We decided to go with Tableau Server to consolidate most of that information into a single source.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2018

Tableau Server increases time efficiency!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau Server in a variety of ways. Currently in my Business Unit at OpinionLab we use an instance of Tableau Server for internal reporting needs for our Professional services team. We publish workbooks connected to live data sources, schedule a refresh, then using another application we send pushed reporting to a distribution list. At Verint Mainstream we use Tableau Server for our registered digital survey customers to set up reporting to interact and share within their organization.
Read this authenticated review
Siggy Tetteh, CSSGB, MBA, MCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

My Tableau Server "Spiell"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau Server in our whole Organization as a one-stop shop for all things data. Dashboards and reports are generated, published and subscribed to users including leadership to assist them in making the pertinent decisions with respect to their KPI's, metrics, expenses, and research. We really depend on this system for these and many other initiatives.
Read Siggy Tetteh, CSSGB, MBA, MCP's full review
Ilham AB | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2018

A very cool tool for Data Visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented Tableau in the company several years ago and the main the decision was because at that moment we do not have a COTS data visualization product in place. Previously we only relied on Microsoft Excel and an in-house tool for data visualization and BI. It was not interactive, hard to maintain and not user-friendly. There were many challenges like too much time for preparing the data and report, and many formulas and processes before producing a visualization that were creating a pain point. There was a necessity to create one governed reporting platform and centralized BI for all departments. So, it was a turning point to select Tableau for complimenting the company's purpose and goal.
Read Ilham AB's full review
Heidi Hiemstra | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2017

Tableau Server will Serve you Well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The University of Kentucky has implemented Tableau server at the enterprise level to deliver operational and analytical reports and visualizations. This includes both public-facing summary reports and secure project folders used by individual colleges, business units and other work teams. There are currently over 1,400 registered users across the university supported by a central IT and analytics team, as well as designated "Superusers" across the institution who manage Tableau project folders and publish their own workbooks.
Read Heidi Hiemstra's full review
Elvin Cheng | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2016

Our experience by using Tableau Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[It is being used] by our purchase department for analyzing major material price. The visualization capability performs well for big data and BI areas. We also use other enterprise BI solutions, but only Tableau Desktop and Server can support our visualization needs. We use Tableau Server to show highly complex and large analyzed data for several purchase staff [members] and executives.
Read Elvin Cheng's full review
Sergio Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2016

Data at a Glance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is currently used internally by our organization and externally to select clients. It allows us to answer high-level business KPIs related to client data we manage. It has helped reduce many manual efforts to collect data by allowing us to centralize and make it accessible on a recurring/automated schedule.
Read Sergio Martinez's full review
Andrew Porter | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2016

Tableau Server - Enterprise Data Visualization Software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used in conjunction with Tableau Desktop to provide visualization for a clients' CRM system. It sits on top of a data warehouse consisting of SQL Server, Splunk, and Hadoop data stores. The client uses Tableau to provide reports on KPIs such as churn rates, acquisition / bounty, and marketing effectiveness. While Tableau Server is used directly by performance assurance and marketing departments, its data and reports are disseminated throughout the company as the de-facto source of CRM reporting. The biggest challenge that Tableau Server addresses is the need for a robust hub for data visualization and ad hoc analysis.
Read Andrew Porter's full review
Craig Rosenblum | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2016

Tableau - A Report in multiple dimensions

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses Tableau as a reporting platform for our customer. We chose Tableau because of its versatility and its amazing ease of use. The later probably the main driver, because it is so easy to create different visual graphs, we use it in ways that we might not otherwise. The result is that we are able to exceed our customers' expectations in terms of reporting with very little maintenance.
Read Craig Rosenblum's full review
Rajat Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2016

Tableau Server - A new way to Visualize data

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau server is being used by data visualization team to create highly visual dashboards and then accessing the dashboards from any location and any device. One need not share heavy Excel based dashboards which take ages to open and access can not even be controlled. With Tableau server one does not need to go back to the development team if they want to see a different view or need more drilled down information. Views can be edited and modified from any location and any device after the dashboard has been published to Tableau server.
Read Rajat Jain's full review
Alec Guerenstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2016

Tableau Server - A wonderful platform when conditions are met

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is being rolled out as a platform to publish corporate (IT-developed) dashboards. It is also used for publishing data sources available for power users to feed into their visualizations. Tableau Server fulfills the need to communicate performance dynamically, as well as fostering the concept of "a single truth" based on information tailored for analyst consumption.
Read Alec Guerenstein's full review
Pooja Takavale | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2016

Visualise BIG data - Be Realistic Be A Tableauite!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used for the data visualisation in my [current] project. I used to work on data visualisation projects, and so I came across Tableau Server and found it very simple and easy to use, and very user friendly. I was impressed by the tool. It took me less time to get acquainted to the tool and I could do my work without any hurdles. There were chunks of data that I had to represent and work on, on a daily basis. I used Tableau to generate reports and user-readable charts and graphs. It was so easy to visualize BIG data in no time!
Read Pooja Takavale's full review
Sudhakar Kamanboina | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2016

Tableau - Solution for the BIG data Analytics !!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau server is used by my team, vRealization Operations Management. It is used to analyze the metric data collected from different entities of a data center. Tableau made our life easy in showing the respective entity data in the UI. Tableau is being accepted by my team and department. Sooner it will be accepted across the departments.
Read Sudhakar Kamanboina's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
9.0
Customizable dashboards (88)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (75)
7.0
Drill-down analysis (89)
7.8
Formatting capabilities (87)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (56)
7.3
Report sharing and collaboration (84)
8.1
Publish to Web (80)
8.5
Publish to PDF (79)
7.6
Report Versioning (65)
7.7
Report Delivery Scheduling (72)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
5.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (81)
8.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (80)
8.1
Predictive Analytics (61)
6.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (87)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (85)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (86)
8.1
Single Sign-On (SSO) (56)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (72)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (58)
7.8
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (64)
7.6
REST API (37)
7.6
Javascript API (34)
7.5
iFrames (38)
6.8
Java API (7)
5.6
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
4.7

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese