TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfire is a good toolThis tool provides intuitive graphs and highly customizable elements. The appearance is similar to dashboards. You can use multiple data sources. I really think it's easy to learn.,Multiple data source Multiple graphs or visuals Importing data is very easy,The colors can be improved Some of the features are hard to find Lack of documentation,9Spotfire for big data visualizationTIBCO Spotfire is being used by a specific department in the company on a daily basis to do BI and analytics, mostly descriptive statistics and dashboards across big data sets. We have it connected with a Cloudera cluster on premise,Easy usage, fast in creating typical dashboarding Good connection with big data bases,We have found problems in native connections with Amazon Athena in order to use data directly stored in S3. We had to migrate some hot data to Redshift where we experienced no problems at all As a user of graphical programming libraries like Matplotlib, ggplot, and d3.js, I find limitations in creating highly customized dashboards.,7,,Online training In-person training Self-taught,We have not used these complementsTIBCO software is one of the best data analytics tools- Wanna know why??We use TIBCO spotfire to deliver visual analytics of our data and also to compare one data set to other using pictorial description.,Helps analyze and report findings. Capability to export our analysis, so that analysis can also be read by someone who does not have the software installed. Easy to use and interactive visualization. Strong mobile access.,Lack of production reporting. The look is not very customizable. Expensive.,9,,Helps visualize data quickly. Spotfire gives the ability to dive deep into data and generate insights that can inform how they operate. Simplicity and performance.,Online training Self-taught,TIBCO Spotfire Advanced Data Services (ADS) provides robust and seamless connection to third party enterprise applications that provide visibility into your overall business. ADS provides a set of tools that helps discover, integrate and federate disparate data sources across the company and provides instant access to enterprise applications such as SAP, Siebel, Salesforce.com, Oracle E-Business Suite, REST API and Web Services. However, we haven’t really integrated with any of these tools when working with TIBCO spotfire.,PhpStorm, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Microsoft SQL ServerTibco Spotfire offers smooth learning curve and quick wins for more focus on business analytics goals and less on technologyI work with large organizations on their data/digital transformation. Leveraging Spotfire makes the transition easy and frictionless. We need people to focus on their business goals not on the tech. Spotfire delivers the simplicity and logic that enables that. Learning curve fits within a day. Performance suits any business analytics needs. Visualization is powerful and satisfying to the users who are encouraged to do more. It is a great solution to support transformation in the digital age.,Short learning curve with a nice learn-by-doing dynamic. Cool visualisation options that really support decision-making process. Nice data preparation features to feed analytics with better data.,Smoother integration with D3 libraries. Easier integration of R on Mac.,9,,It delivers from a business standpoint. Business users will deliver results. IT overhead sounded a bit heavy at my clients.,In-person training Self-taught,No, not in the companies I worked with.,Alteryx Analytics, MicroStrategy AnalyticsSpotfire - Review and analysisTIBCO Spotfire is being used by specific departments within our organization. Obviously with our organization being so large not all departments can utilize it. It addresses issues of dashboards and graphs. Data can be used in a better way and represented to make management decisions. We require analytics of data across different areas of the website and/or software. TIBCO helps track this beautifully and can be easily integrated with other software to derive this data. It has a very scientific way of generating data and reports. Publishing reports is also a breeze and can be done easily.,TIBCO Spotfire has excellent visualizations, designs, customizations that can be done at your fingertips. It provides great analysis. It can be integrated with other software to derive data and correlate data for better reports. It has a role-based, secure, mobile friendly platform and reports that can be used by anyone in the organization.,TIBCO needs to provide manuals for training teams who are not aware on how to use the software. Support documentation is clearly lacking and needs to be addressed. Templates are missing and can result in difficulty in creating complex reports. Simple one-click reports are a breeze, but anything further needs to be detailed out by the software provider. Cost is expensive. Hence suitable for larger organizations. It has a bad text editor for Javascript. If the Javascript throws out any errors, the entire IDE needs to be restarted.,8,InsightSquared, Looker, Sisense, Grow.com, Microsoft BI and Chartio,Positive for generating reports we needed and viewed them on a daily basis. Negative for some of integration issues with the Java platform. It has a positive affect when publishing these reports in the cloud so that it can be viewed by the entire organization. It has great security and role-based features.,In-person training Self-taught,TIBCO Spotfire was integrated with SQL server, Microsoft access, JAVA API's and other database. We definitely benefited from this as better reports could be generated and more sense could be made out of raw data. Also, we could correlate data and generate some data we would not have otherwise visualized. It has KPI's, trend analysis, forecasting and other features which can be handy.,Grow.com, Sisense, Microsoft BI
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
537 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
537 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 537 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (26-50 of 233)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Elisa Andujar profile photo
September 05, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a good tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool provides intuitive graphs and highly customizable elements. The appearance is similar to dashboards. You can use multiple data sources. I really think it's easy to learn.
  • Multiple data source
  • Multiple graphs or visuals
  • Importing data is very easy
  • The colors can be improved
  • Some of the features are hard to find
  • Lack of documentation
Spotfire is a great tool to create dashboards. It can be a data scientist's tool as well as a tool for building visual analytics.
Read Elisa Andujar's full review
Alvaro Calle Cordon profile photo
September 03, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for big data visualization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by a specific department in the company on a daily basis to do BI and analytics, mostly descriptive statistics and dashboards across big data sets. We have it connected with a Cloudera cluster on premise
  • Easy usage, fast in creating typical dashboarding
  • Good connection with big data bases
  • We have found problems in native connections with Amazon Athena in order to use data directly stored in S3. We had to migrate some hot data to Redshift where we experienced no problems at all
  • As a user of graphical programming libraries like Matplotlib, ggplot, and d3.js, I find limitations in creating highly customized dashboards.
If you need to do exploratory data analysis on big data, this tool is a way to go. However, you will lack some freedom if you come from programming libraries like Matplotlib, ggplot or d3.js. One of the most amazing things is the load-on-demand characteristic of Spotfire
Read Alvaro Calle Cordon's full review
Sudha Govindaraju profile photo
September 03, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "TIBCO software is one of the best data analytics tools- Wanna know why??"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO spotfire to deliver visual analytics of our data and also to compare one data set to other using pictorial description.
  • Helps analyze and report findings.
  • Capability to export our analysis, so that analysis can also be read by someone who does not have the software installed.
  • Easy to use and interactive visualization.
  • Strong mobile access.
  • Lack of production reporting.
  • The look is not very customizable.
  • Expensive.
Best tool for data visualization. Spotfire has proven to be a very useful tool while presenting our data in a way that it is clearly understood by the listeners.
Read Sudha Govindaraju's full review
Gauthier Vasseur profile photo
August 27, 2018

Review: "Tibco Spotfire offers smooth learning curve and quick wins for more focus on business analytics goals and less on technology"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work with large organizations on their data/digital transformation. Leveraging Spotfire makes the transition easy and frictionless. We need people to focus on their business goals not on the tech. Spotfire delivers the simplicity and logic that enables that. Learning curve fits within a day. Performance suits any business analytics needs. Visualization is powerful and satisfying to the users who are encouraged to do more. It is a great solution to support transformation in the digital age.
  • Short learning curve with a nice learn-by-doing dynamic.
  • Cool visualisation options that really support decision-making process.
  • Nice data preparation features to feed analytics with better data.
  • Smoother integration with D3 libraries.
  • Easier integration of R on Mac.
Read Gauthier Vasseur's full review
No photo available
October 11, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire - Review and analysis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by specific departments within our organization. Obviously with our organization being so large not all departments can utilize it. It addresses issues of dashboards and graphs. Data can be used in a better way and represented to make management decisions. We require analytics of data across different areas of the website and/or software. TIBCO helps track this beautifully and can be easily integrated with other software to derive this data. It has a very scientific way of generating data and reports. Publishing reports is also a breeze and can be done easily.
  • TIBCO Spotfire has excellent visualizations, designs, customizations that can be done at your fingertips. It provides great analysis.
  • It can be integrated with other software to derive data and correlate data for better reports.
  • It has a role-based, secure, mobile friendly platform and reports that can be used by anyone in the organization.
  • TIBCO needs to provide manuals for training teams who are not aware on how to use the software. Support documentation is clearly lacking and needs to be addressed.
  • Templates are missing and can result in difficulty in creating complex reports. Simple one-click reports are a breeze, but anything further needs to be detailed out by the software provider.
  • Cost is expensive. Hence suitable for larger organizations.
  • It has a bad text editor for Javascript. If the Javascript throws out any errors, the entire IDE needs to be restarted.
With all software, there are pros and cons. Same is the case with TIBCO Spotfire. It has its own advantages and disadvantages. It comes with its own cost. It is very appropriate for simple crystal clear dashboards and visualizations. It is less suitable when it has to be integrated with Java. There are some issues with it lacking training material and support, it is difficult to figure this out. It is time consuming to solve these problems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 19, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: a great product to get out of the Excel RUT!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used extensively to do both (1) dashboards of a broad range of challenges (safety, volume and cost performance) as well as (2) large database analysis.
It addresses the problems of
(1) Reporting complex data quickly and consistently
(2) Enabling fluid report changes, as required, without recreating data searches
(3) An analysis bench for large data sets that would be inefficient or impossible in spreadsheeting programs
(4) Bringing together multiple sources of data for better understanding of organization performance.
  • Beautiful plots
  • Ease of building and modifying visual representations
  • Linking plot data to visual presentations to enable deep diving
  • Bringing together disparate sources of data
  • Fault finding data queries with more informative error reporting to improve query coding (particularly database related). This often means having to form queries in external programs, such as SQL Server, to fault find and optimize the query
  • Transparent data cleaning. A lot of Spotfire developers have been observed to use filters and other data cleaning that is not visible to Spotfire general users which can deliver inappropriate analysis because the data is cleaned incorrectly
  • Opportunities to improve query performance. Spotfire does not provide guidance to new users on how to improve the speed of the dashboard or provide opportunities to expand/ contract data ranges of interest to improve speed
  • IronPython does not have sufficient support. Need to improve learning of ironpython, possibly with a tutorial and better alignment to Python and/or R.
Spotfire is excellent for delivering reports of data so the end-user can spend more time on data analysis and interpretation and less time on data gathering. It has sufficient capabilities to be able to evolve as the user gains an understanding of the data and explore further opportunities form the data. Spotfire, at this stage, has limitations in the maximum volume of data it can handle and does not do well to guide the general user in optimizing the data retrieval and cleaning that would facilitate better presentation speed. It is not yet well integrated into standard reporting tools. Microsoft Powerpoint and Word, for example, would allow it to replace Excel as a data analysis tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is good for most business intelligence needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used mainly to build a custom tool and in one department for client deliverables. The client wants to be able to dive into the data and see it from different angles.
  • Easy to create visualizations
  • The ability to create custom functions with Python
  • Data can be saved on a server instead of locally within the dashboard
  • Web application means the client doesnt need to install new software to view their dashboard
  • I would like to see more stock analytic packages in the standard version of Spotfire. Or the ability to download Python analytic packages right into Spotfire. Maybe this is possible and my computer has just limited permissions.
  • The ability to stack pivot tables of multiple variables into one visualizations. Currently, it works like Excel where pivot tables are hierarchical.
  • Resizing and moving visualizations around is annoying if you make the page bigger. Its doable, but could be done better
  • Linking tables would be better if it worked more like Access or PowerBI. You can link a code-description map table to a table with diagnosis codes, but in order to see the mapped descriptions, you need to physically add it to the original table. In Access or PowerBI, the linking works like a SQL join. It seems linking is more for if you had financial data tables of the same structure but for different quarters, and you wanted to link the quarters together.
Spotfire is well suited for most business intelligence needs. I keep hearing that PowerBI and Tableau are doing more advanced analytics, but I do not like PowerBI as a deliverable to a client because it does not look that clean.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for easy (spatial) data analysis"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our research group is using Spotfire to find relationships between water quality parameters in water well samples taken from shallow aquifers. Spotfire displays the data very quickly, making the data review stage very efficient and allowing for multiple comparisons within minutes. It allows us to determine where we would like to go next in our research.
  • efficient
  • data display
  • ease of use
  • could use more colour options in display
  • data display could be more customizable
  • expensive for individuals or small research groups
Well suited for large data comparisons. Great for spatial data! Very good for the data sorting stage of review where you're trying to determine interesting relationships or non-correlating parameters. Great for oil and gas work flow as well as aqueous geochemistry studies.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - The Most Efficient Way for a Data Scientist to Fire on all Cylinders"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to analyze well performance in multiple oil and gas basins. A large part of my job is figuring out how much to pay for mineral acres (since we are in the minerals space) and the work done in Spotfire has been crucial to our business. Building type curves hinges heavily on my process within Spotfire.
  • The mapping feature is excellent, with the ability to layer on many shapefiles, marker layers, etc.. It's been a great way for us to save money on mapping programs.
  • I love the cross table visualization for aggregating large amounts of data.
  • It has more than enough canned visualizations and data analytics usage with just the right amount of openness to where the user can create anything from simple calculated columns and custom expressions all the way to writing R script for more complex projects.
  • It would be great to be able to link values created through the cross table back into an original data table. Currently I export cross table values into Excel and then reimport them back into Spotfire.
  • Adding columns to existing data tables could be streamlined a bit more. The workflow is a little too buried given it's simplicity.
  • Add more detail on the various matching selections when bringing in new columns or rows. Even for someone who has been using Spotfire a lot, it's not that intuitive what the user is exactly doing.
It is perfect for handling large amounts of data and I have replaced 80% of my Excel usage with Spotfire, while vastly increasing the efficiency and accuracy of my workflow. I have been very pleased with Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Data Analyst in Oil and Gas, Uses Spotfire Daily"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We usually use TIBCO Spotfire to process, visualize and analyze large field datasets, this data most of the time is near real-time engineering data. We do pull flows, pressure and temp data and perform many ad-hoc calculations trying to address causation most of the time.
  • The power of Spotfire comes from its ability to perform multi-level filtering that is tied back to your data everywhere so you don't need to re-implement your filters again.
  • I see Spotfire standing in the middle between being a Data Vis. or Data Analytics platform and that's what sets it apart from Alteryx, Tableau and Power BI.
  • The ability of Spotfire to host R and Python is another great strong point that gives the users huge flexibility to implement anything they can't find, not to mention its great custom expressions interface. I am not sure about other platforms but I was able to process 8M rows data very easily.
  • More enhancement to produce combination plots (Scatter+Line)
  • Add support for GGPLOT library in R
  • Edit curves individually
  • Pulling sensor or OSISoft Data and performing in-house calculation
  • Dashboards design whether online or offline
  • Interactive applications and dashboards
  • Data Wrangling and geospatial overlaying
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire for supply chain"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used TIBCO Spotfire to solve the problem of displaying supply chain flow in a network. It very easy and quick to learn and get introduced with its capabilities, but currently, we are not using it, as we could find much more efficient similar tools to address the same problem. Along with network display, we were also looking for tools with graph database capabilities, which was the reason to park it aside and move forward with other options on the market.
  • I used Spotfire for network flow visualization. I used Tableau for the same thing, but the directional edges, and the different ways to show connections and directional flow edges without much effort, saved a lot more time for me.
  • As I wanted to do some calculation and forecasting based network visualization using R, it was very much possible with the use of TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R.
  • Demo version works for a reasonable number of days without a key, and it's easy to install, learn, and very quick to start using.
  • Few analytics capabilities are much faster than R
  • Cost is less than the other similar tools on the market
  • Need to add graph database capabilities as the visualization and graph DB combination will give more strength to it.
  • Community is not so strong and finding solutions and getting technical help is a bit time consuming.
1. Best to show analytics results using statics methods like bar charts, waterfall charts, KPI charts etc.
2. Best to use for workflow representation and I found it better than Tableau
3. Needs to improve map display.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire: "TIBCO Analytics review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is currently being used by certain departments in our organization. We are using it for analytics in understanding budgeting from various departments. It gives us clear visual analytics/reports during meeting discussions. Data is taken from various databases and systems and organized in the tool. We then create pie charts, bar graphs and spot charts in the tool. Each bar graph can be edited individually and modified. This makes it much more robust than advanced Excel.
  • Excellent visual design
  • Create different types of graphs, spot charts and regular charts.
  • Modify individual elements of a graph.
  • Import data from different sources to gather data.
  • TIBCO has limited integration with other software. This can be improved as it needs to become a full-fledged robust tool instead of a design replacement of Excel. One example is integration with automation tools so that it can become more functional.
  • It has the potential to have more features from design to development.
  • Increase APIs for integration so that it can become a part of other software. ( Excel, PPT, QTP, SEE Test)
  • It can also have web-based APIs to make it very unique.
TIBCO is well suited for creating individual reports from data across different parts of an organization. It acts as a stand-alone tool with features for analytics and reports. It is very good for business users who need to create reports themselves from raw data. There are some drawbacks when it comes to getting data from integrated or automated systems. If it can become a part of other software, it would go miles. It has great flexibilities to customize dashboards.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Data visualization and collaboration made easy with TIBCO"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
By using Spotfire, I could collaborate with people from another department to analyze the same set of clinical data, and often times, that helped us to look at the same data with different angles and thus providing fresh insights. Definitely more interactive and real-time compared to email for example. When data is updated, it is also updated real-time, so it helps with version control.
  • Interactive
  • Provides a trail for others to follow how a particular analysis was done
  • Version control
  • Some limitations on customization of the graphics but not an issue
Great for visualization of complex datasets without having to learn scripting. Not so good if the data itself needs to be cleaned, adjusted, merged, etc., before visualization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Having trouble analyzing large datasets?... Use Spotfire!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire was being used to compare geological data from subsurface core datasets. I am currently the only grad student using it within my lab. But I have shown many other grad students the program and the possibilities it has for addressing large datasets.
  • Spotfire is very visually appealing.
  • There are a lot of different ways to visualize datasets and compare the data.
  • It is easy to upload and update/refresh the spreadsheets when your data changes.
  • It is not easy to drop a datapoint. Sometime there are outliers to the dataset and being able to easily drop one or a couple data points and see how trends change would be very useful.
  • I was using a Mac and in the online version, you cannot do as many things as you can if you are using the program through a PC. For example, on the online version, you cannot add a trend line to a graph. This is a pretty basic procedure that should be available.
It is very well suited for a large dataset. In a few clicks, you can compare many different variables from different spreadsheets (when linked together).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 17, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great BI tool for data scientists"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is a powerful platform that is used for deriving valuable business insights. It is an enterprise-class analytics platform that has excellent data visualization and discovery features that makes deriving information from data so much easy. It is being used by my department.
  • Easy to use with dynamic dashboards and interactive visualization
  • Strong mobile access across a variety of platforms
  • One of the best features is the capability to export the analysis to make it run in a web browser without losing the core interactive and filtering functionality making it available to anyone without having to install any software. This characteristic can result in huge savings in custom web application programming efforts.
  • The look and feel is not very customizable out of the box, which is the cherry on top when it comes to analyzing data. If you are looking for a nice looking sexy reporting tool, this is not it but I doubt you will find one with the brains and sophistication Spotfire has that.
  • Lacking embedded BI and production reporting
It has helped many organizations to analyze, predict next trends and report findings using interactive dashboards.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

"Review of TIBCO Spotfire from a reservoir engineering intern's perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used for analyzing large volumes of reservoir engineering data and to create data visualizations for departmental meetings. It is particularly helpful for allowing us to understand and manage data interactively, and test preliminary hypotheses.
  • Visually identifying clusters within data sets
  • Using color effectively to convey relationships in the data
  • Creating relatively complex visualizations (like heat maps and 3D scatter plots)
  • Can be somewhat daunting to get going on the more complex analyses (I had to access technical support)
  • Error messages are not very detailed.
  • Can slow down when handling large amounts of data, or updating from a central data server
Suitable for multivariate analyses and simple visualization of complex data
Not suitable for easily pre-owned processing data (MS Excel is much more amenable to that).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: quick and easy GIS data visualization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There were select programs and applications that were required to be used for an economic analysis of a large scale oil and gas development program. Spotfire, while not required, offered a significant advantage in GIS analytics.
  • GIS analytics
  • Quick multivariate analysis
  • Data presentation for management
  • Visualization
  • Data manipulation
  • User customization
  • Large Learning curve
GIS applications, quick multivariate analysis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for geologic interpretation in an academic setting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Spotfire as an intern in the Energy Industry and as a student for my masters research. In the industry setting Spotfire is pretty widely used throughout most of the business units within the company. As a student I was the only one in my research group to use Spotfire initially, but turned several other students onto it. In both settings Spotfire was used for processing and interpretation of geologic data and creating figures to display geologic concepts.
  • Filtering data
  • Multivariate display capabilities
  • Pretty easy to get started with for new users
  • Though Spotfire is good at exporting figures/images to PowerPoint you cannot export clear images for Adobe Illustrator or Corel Draw for publication quality figures.
  • Spotfire has limited statistical analysis capabilities
  • Some features available on the desktop version are not available in the web version (such as copy and pasting display set ups)
Spotfire is great for data interpretation and for creating powerful figures, but it isn't appropriate for multivariate statistical analyses or any more complex statistical modeling.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2019

"TIBCO Spotfire Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire as part of our solution for Digital Oil Fields. It is used for our clients as a visualization and data analysis tool. We connect to different data sources, do some analysis and visualize results on web dashboards. It is very convenient because we can create customized dashboards for every asset and case.
  • Connect to different data sources
  • Visualized data in different forms
  • Can be inserted into web pages
  • Allow scripting to add customized functionality
Scenarios where TIBCO Spotfire is well suited: data analysis
Scenarios where TIBCO Spotfire is less suited: where national language support is required
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Easy to learn, use."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used across the whole organization, such as supply chain, finance, and engineering.
We use it to visualize and analyze data to identify the problems and make decisions.
  • Syntaxs for calculated columns are easy to understand, master and apply.
  • Spotfire can provide interactive, customized reports and dashboards.
  • Set multiple column width at one time instead of change one by one.
  • Keep the color constant for the same column in the various visualizations.
After using Spotfire for 6 months, I found out Spotfire actually is a very user-friendly data visualization tool. It is easy to learn and apply. We upload the raw data into Spotfire for revenue/profit analysis, demand/supply analysis, capacity analysis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2018

"TIBCO Spotfire Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire within our business intelligence department. The team creates reports, charts and graphs for employees, customers and our website portal.
  • Our business intelligence department can create on-the-fly ad-hoc reports & graphs for management and customers.
  • It publishes quite well, creating visuals that can be easily read and understood.
  • Handles multiple sources of data well.
  • When the interface "chokes" so to speak, which is not often, it is not explicit in the reasoning. No error on the screen or in the log.
  • When errors do occur they can be a bit vague. This makes it hard to troubleshoot.
  • Support is good, but does need some improvement.
Once you have a user who understands it, the application is fantastic for ad-hoc reports, results publishing and creating shared content. It does work really well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 11, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Geospatial data specialist"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Spotfire to do data analytics for some of our clients.

Only a select few employees currently are using Spotfire.

We tend to use Spotfire when we want to create dashboards for our clients that primarily deal with visualizing geographic data. We deemed this product to be the best fit for this niche need, and it is not our primary data analytics or business intelligence application of choice.
  • GIS or any geographic dashboarding
  • Concise and clean visualizations
  • Basic data discovery
  • Custom made visualizations and dashboards are not very intuitive
  • Drill-down functions and LOD are good but not quick on par with industry leaders
  • Relatively expensive to implement for smaller teams
We use Spotfire in instances where we believe the data requires heavier use of geographic information to visualize.

In all other instances, we would pick Tableau or Power BI as our visualization tool of choice. Spotfire is not quite as leading edge as Tableau or as widely available as Power BI to be useful for us to take to our clients on a regular basis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "CPG Spotfire Integration — from Excel to BI/Advanced Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 100% usage across the entire company. From analysts using the software for data analysis to business managers using the software for ad-hoc reporting — Spotfire allows for much of the commonplace requests to be fulfilled by the software — not having to resort to marketing or analysts for simple reporting.
  • Paired with the cloud version, Spotfire allows users to access the library from anyplace with an internet connection.
  • Numerous data visualization options allowing a unique and customized dashboard/.dxp. You are never stuck with the status quo.
  • Advanced level uses include — TSSS (Tibco Stastistical Services Server) to regression modeling, etc. if you can fathom it, chances are the software has the capability.
  • Open source R/TERR scripting allows the use of both propriety and open source scripting to advance and develop your .dxp/dashboard
  • Spotfire can be quite daunting upon first inspection. For the end-user especially.
  • Developers/analysts need constant interaction to ensure familiarity with the software. Enlisting in a “boot camp” is definitely recommended.
  • To the point of being too complex — a simple chart or statement in excel or access requires much more intricate and lengthy manipulation to achieve the same result.
End-user — accessing dashboards remotely without the need to contact an analyst or marketing.
Analysts — can use Spotfire for real-time data — plus any applicable analysis.

Less appropriate - simple end-user who is accustomed to a particular report/dashboard. I can foresee a major learning curve with Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire after a year"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used by a variety of departments across our organization. We have deployed Spotfire as a self-service BI solution to allow users to get to their data without having to be under the constant need for IT intervention. We have also deployed Web Player, Automation Services to make the visualizations easy to share with those that need the information.
  • Spotfire offers a wide variety of data connectivity options. From simply using Excel documents to connecting to cloud sources like RedShift.
  • Spotfire has a very robust feature set not limited to just visualizations. Some data wrangling and science tasks can be performed as well.
  • Spotfire has integration with Open Source R and TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R (TERR) through use of TIBCO Statistic Services Server (TSSS).
  • When creating visualizations there are limitations to text placement as well as text areas that have to be present. This limits the overall control of how the visualizations look.
  • Spotfire takes the approach of analysts having to wait to bring data into local PC memory first rather than producing a subset of data to begin working with. This can sometimes take a bit if you are working with millions of rows.
  • Automation services could definitely use some upgraded functionality as to how it schedules jobs.
When we work with a new team that has the desire to visualize their data, we spend about 2 hours with them and usually record the session. We ask they come with a use case in mind. Spotfire is not an immediately intuitive product so this session really helps users understand their data, the product, and set expectations for how it can be used.

With this being said, you can see there is a time commitment, it's not exactly simple, but it is a powerful tool. Most people also arrive at this conclusion.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Preferred application for all data presentation and of low to medium complexity data analysis"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has started using Spotfire across the organization to address problems with reporting, data access, dashboarding, and information consolidation.
  • Spotfire is great at creating visuals which are easily understood and interacted with.
  • Spotfire is expandable with a strong community of Java, Python, and HTML codes available to expand capability.
  • Spotfire makes updating visuals and data models a background process.
  • Spotfire's statistical visual standards aren't inline with manufacturing standards by default.
  • Spotifre is not a data entry interface without much background coding.
If you have graphs which are regularly published or reviewed Spotfire will quickly show its value. As an engineer, the ease of plotting data on an image, i.e. a ternary phase diagram, greatly improves communication across the company.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (197)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (169)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (193)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (202)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (150)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (181)
7.9
Publish to Web (151)
8.3
Publish to PDF (177)
8.0
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (112)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (208)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (184)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (158)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (160)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (133)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (149)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (119)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (83)
7.0
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (99)
7.0
REST API (29)
6.6
Javascript API (30)
6.7
iFrames (19)
6.2
Java API (23)
6.2
Themeable User Interface (UI) (29)
6.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (22)
6.5

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions