TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfire will "light" up your dataWe are using Spotfire in a manufacturing environment at our US location to serve as a single point of truth for metrics, analytics, and data. We have many disparate systems, but with Spotfire's many native connection functions, we are able to tie many different data sources together for better insights. It addresses the problem of having to "hunt and search" for data. Many of our users are staff members who do not frequently use all of our systems but might need data from each of them. Spotfire gives a "one-stop shop" and common interface that makes it easy for the users to access to drill down to the data they need on the fly when putting together presentations, or deep dive analysis.,Connecting to a variety of data sources; basically no matter what your backend systems are (from Excel to huge ERPs and data lakes), Spotfire can connect to it and provide suggestions as to the best way to visualize your data Ability to quickly slice and dice data and save that "view" as a bookmark. Not only are users quickly able to access data and filter just what they need, they can save a particular set of filters or "view" via the bookmark function so the need to create multiple views with the same dataset isn't necessary by the analyst. Quick and easy to design and publish. Basically, if you have a dataset, Spotfire can quickly visualize it for you. It's possible to embed data if you have large datasets for performance or connect directly to a backend system to get real-time data.,Using community suggestions or ideas to quickly implement features. Simple things like using calculated values in other expressions would give designers lots of flexibility without having to do lots of data massaging and setup where source systems might not communicate together very well. Automation for updating data tables in the cloud environment. This is possible with an on-premise solution, but we need the ability to FTP or transfer files to the cloud services and have a schedule to refresh updated files. More flexibility over visualization design options. Need the ability to sort bars by value when they are in a hierarchy. Need to be able to stack bars when using two data sources. Need more functionality around colors and conditions/expressions.,10,,Self-taught,No other integrations, but something we might consider in the future.,Microsoft Office 2016Great BI tool for data scientistsTIBCO Spotfire is a powerful platform that is used for deriving valuable business insights. It is an enterprise-class analytics platform that has excellent data visualization and discovery features that makes deriving information from data so much easy. It is being used by my department.,Easy to use with dynamic dashboards and interactive visualization Strong mobile access across a variety of platforms One of the best features is the capability to export the analysis to make it run in a web browser without losing the core interactive and filtering functionality making it available to anyone without having to install any software. This characteristic can result in huge savings in custom web application programming efforts.,The look and feel is not very customizable out of the box, which is the cherry on top when it comes to analyzing data. If you are looking for a nice looking sexy reporting tool, this is not it but I doubt you will find one with the brains and sophistication Spotfire has that. Lacking embedded BI and production reporting,7,,In-person training Self-taughtTransfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye.Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.,Aggregating data and presents them in dynamic charts. Descriptive analytics and patterns discovery.,High-dimensionality data source Near real-time analytics,8,Tableau Desktop,Self-taught,We have been using TIBCO Spotfire with another TIBCO product namely TIBCO StreamBase LiveView. We are using both products in our in-house fraud detection platform. We are able to capitalize on Spotfire strong visualization and analytical capabilities to analyze data stream which has been pre-processed by the StreamBase LiveView. Thus, we are able to visualize huge amount of data in near real-time.,Tableau Desktop, TIBCO StreamBase, SAS Business Intelligence,Not SureReview of TIBCO Spotfire from a reservoir engineering intern's perspectiveSpotfire is used for analyzing large volumes of reservoir engineering data and to create data visualizations for departmental meetings. It is particularly helpful for allowing us to understand and manage data interactively, and test preliminary hypotheses.,Visually identifying clusters within data sets Using color effectively to convey relationships in the data Creating relatively complex visualizations (like heat maps and 3D scatter plots),Can be somewhat daunting to get going on the more complex analyses (I had to access technical support) Error messages are not very detailed. Can slow down when handling large amounts of data, or updating from a central data server,8,Sisense,Spotfire was useful for doing cost-benefit analyses for deciding which projects to pursue. Due to a limited number of organizational seats, this product could be used only sparingly.,Online training Self-taught,We have only used TIBCO Spotfire independently.,Microsoft 365 Business, SisenseSpotfire for geologic interpretation in an academic settingI have used Spotfire as an intern in the Energy Industry and as a student for my masters research. In the industry setting Spotfire is pretty widely used throughout most of the business units within the company. As a student I was the only one in my research group to use Spotfire initially, but turned several other students onto it. In both settings Spotfire was used for processing and interpretation of geologic data and creating figures to display geologic concepts.,Filtering data Multivariate display capabilities Pretty easy to get started with for new users,Though Spotfire is good at exporting figures/images to PowerPoint you cannot export clear images for Adobe Illustrator or Corel Draw for publication quality figures. Spotfire has limited statistical analysis capabilities Some features available on the desktop version are not available in the web version (such as copy and pasting display set ups),10,As a student there isn't really a business objective beyond doing quality research to possibly secure future funding for your research group. In this sense I think that Spotfire had a very positive impact on data interpretation capabilities for my research.,Self-taught,I did not at the university level, and am unaware of integration at the industry level.,Petrel E&P, IHS Kingdom
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

TIBCO Spotfire
491 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 491 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (26-50 of 213)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire will "light" up your data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Spotfire in a manufacturing environment at our US location to serve as a single point of truth for metrics, analytics, and data. We have many disparate systems, but with Spotfire's many native connection functions, we are able to tie many different data sources together for better insights.

It addresses the problem of having to "hunt and search" for data. Many of our users are staff members who do not frequently use all of our systems but might need data from each of them. Spotfire gives a "one-stop shop" and common interface that makes it easy for the users to access to drill down to the data they need on the fly when putting together presentations, or deep dive analysis.
  • Connecting to a variety of data sources; basically no matter what your backend systems are (from Excel to huge ERPs and data lakes), Spotfire can connect to it and provide suggestions as to the best way to visualize your data
  • Ability to quickly slice and dice data and save that "view" as a bookmark. Not only are users quickly able to access data and filter just what they need, they can save a particular set of filters or "view" via the bookmark function so the need to create multiple views with the same dataset isn't necessary by the analyst.
  • Quick and easy to design and publish. Basically, if you have a dataset, Spotfire can quickly visualize it for you. It's possible to embed data if you have large datasets for performance or connect directly to a backend system to get real-time data.
  • Using community suggestions or ideas to quickly implement features. Simple things like using calculated values in other expressions would give designers lots of flexibility without having to do lots of data massaging and setup where source systems might not communicate together very well.
  • Automation for updating data tables in the cloud environment. This is possible with an on-premise solution, but we need the ability to FTP or transfer files to the cloud services and have a schedule to refresh updated files.
  • More flexibility over visualization design options. Need the ability to sort bars by value when they are in a hierarchy. Need to be able to stack bars when using two data sources. Need more functionality around colors and conditions/expressions.
Spotfire excels at connecting to multiple data sources and linking them together for insights that were previously unknown. It's a nice tool for data, metrics, analytics, visualizations, etc. It doesn't quite have the flexibility of Excel to make calculations across sheet easily, so some understanding and setup of your data structure must be done in preparation. Once you have the data set up in a format that's fit for Spotfire, you'll be trying to move all your reporting to it!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 17, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great BI tool for data scientists"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is a powerful platform that is used for deriving valuable business insights. It is an enterprise-class analytics platform that has excellent data visualization and discovery features that makes deriving information from data so much easy. It is being used by my department.
  • Easy to use with dynamic dashboards and interactive visualization
  • Strong mobile access across a variety of platforms
  • One of the best features is the capability to export the analysis to make it run in a web browser without losing the core interactive and filtering functionality making it available to anyone without having to install any software. This characteristic can result in huge savings in custom web application programming efforts.
  • The look and feel is not very customizable out of the box, which is the cherry on top when it comes to analyzing data. If you are looking for a nice looking sexy reporting tool, this is not it but I doubt you will find one with the brains and sophistication Spotfire has that.
  • Lacking embedded BI and production reporting
It has helped many organizations to analyze, predict next trends and report findings using interactive dashboards.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 20, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Transfom different format data sets and external sources data to dashboards in a blink of an eye."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, there are multiple departments from different divisions and directorates that are using TIBCO Spotfire. Most of them are using the product mainly for aggregating data and visualizing them into dashboards. Next major use case of TIBCO Spotfire is for displaying Geographical Information such as building heatmaps and mobility patterns. However, we are also exploring Spotfire's analytical capabilities for descriptive and predictive analytics.
  • Aggregating data and presents them in dynamic charts.
  • Descriptive analytics and patterns discovery.
  • High-dimensionality data source
  • Near real-time analytics
TIBCO Spotfire is perfect for simplifying (preprocessed/cleaned) data aggregation, performing descriptive analytics, and visualization of information in dynamic charts or augment information with geographical information in maps. However, sometimes it might have some problems when trying to handle incomplete data set with a couple of fields containing some null or empty values.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

"Review of TIBCO Spotfire from a reservoir engineering intern's perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used for analyzing large volumes of reservoir engineering data and to create data visualizations for departmental meetings. It is particularly helpful for allowing us to understand and manage data interactively, and test preliminary hypotheses.
  • Visually identifying clusters within data sets
  • Using color effectively to convey relationships in the data
  • Creating relatively complex visualizations (like heat maps and 3D scatter plots)
  • Can be somewhat daunting to get going on the more complex analyses (I had to access technical support)
  • Error messages are not very detailed.
  • Can slow down when handling large amounts of data, or updating from a central data server
Suitable for multivariate analyses and simple visualization of complex data
Not suitable for easily pre-owned processing data (MS Excel is much more amenable to that).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 24, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire for geologic interpretation in an academic setting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Spotfire as an intern in the Energy Industry and as a student for my masters research. In the industry setting Spotfire is pretty widely used throughout most of the business units within the company. As a student I was the only one in my research group to use Spotfire initially, but turned several other students onto it. In both settings Spotfire was used for processing and interpretation of geologic data and creating figures to display geologic concepts.
  • Filtering data
  • Multivariate display capabilities
  • Pretty easy to get started with for new users
  • Though Spotfire is good at exporting figures/images to PowerPoint you cannot export clear images for Adobe Illustrator or Corel Draw for publication quality figures.
  • Spotfire has limited statistical analysis capabilities
  • Some features available on the desktop version are not available in the web version (such as copy and pasting display set ups)
Spotfire is great for data interpretation and for creating powerful figures, but it isn't appropriate for multivariate statistical analyses or any more complex statistical modeling.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 21, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Easy to learn, use."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is used across the whole organization, such as supply chain, finance, and engineering.
We use it to visualize and analyze data to identify the problems and make decisions.
  • Syntaxs for calculated columns are easy to understand, master and apply.
  • Spotfire can provide interactive, customized reports and dashboards.
  • Set multiple column width at one time instead of change one by one.
  • Keep the color constant for the same column in the various visualizations.
After using Spotfire for 6 months, I found out Spotfire actually is a very user-friendly data visualization tool. It is easy to learn and apply. We upload the raw data into Spotfire for revenue/profit analysis, demand/supply analysis, capacity analysis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2018

"TIBCO Spotfire Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire within our business intelligence department. The team creates reports, charts and graphs for employees, customers and our website portal.
  • Our business intelligence department can create on-the-fly ad-hoc reports & graphs for management and customers.
  • It publishes quite well, creating visuals that can be easily read and understood.
  • Handles multiple sources of data well.
  • When the interface "chokes" so to speak, which is not often, it is not explicit in the reasoning. No error on the screen or in the log.
  • When errors do occur they can be a bit vague. This makes it hard to troubleshoot.
  • Support is good, but does need some improvement.
Once you have a user who understands it, the application is fantastic for ad-hoc reports, results publishing and creating shared content. It does work really well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 11, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Geospatial data specialist"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Spotfire to do data analytics for some of our clients.

Only a select few employees currently are using Spotfire.

We tend to use Spotfire when we want to create dashboards for our clients that primarily deal with visualizing geographic data. We deemed this product to be the best fit for this niche need, and it is not our primary data analytics or business intelligence application of choice.
  • GIS or any geographic dashboarding
  • Concise and clean visualizations
  • Basic data discovery
  • Custom made visualizations and dashboards are not very intuitive
  • Drill-down functions and LOD are good but not quick on par with industry leaders
  • Relatively expensive to implement for smaller teams
We use Spotfire in instances where we believe the data requires heavier use of geographic information to visualize.

In all other instances, we would pick Tableau or Power BI as our visualization tool of choice. Spotfire is not quite as leading edge as Tableau or as widely available as Power BI to be useful for us to take to our clients on a regular basis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "CPG Spotfire Integration — from Excel to BI/Advanced Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 100% usage across the entire company. From analysts using the software for data analysis to business managers using the software for ad-hoc reporting — Spotfire allows for much of the commonplace requests to be fulfilled by the software — not having to resort to marketing or analysts for simple reporting.
  • Paired with the cloud version, Spotfire allows users to access the library from anyplace with an internet connection.
  • Numerous data visualization options allowing a unique and customized dashboard/.dxp. You are never stuck with the status quo.
  • Advanced level uses include — TSSS (Tibco Stastistical Services Server) to regression modeling, etc. if you can fathom it, chances are the software has the capability.
  • Open source R/TERR scripting allows the use of both propriety and open source scripting to advance and develop your .dxp/dashboard
  • Spotfire can be quite daunting upon first inspection. For the end-user especially.
  • Developers/analysts need constant interaction to ensure familiarity with the software. Enlisting in a “boot camp” is definitely recommended.
  • To the point of being too complex — a simple chart or statement in excel or access requires much more intricate and lengthy manipulation to achieve the same result.
End-user — accessing dashboards remotely without the need to contact an analyst or marketing.
Analysts — can use Spotfire for real-time data — plus any applicable analysis.

Less appropriate - simple end-user who is accustomed to a particular report/dashboard. I can foresee a major learning curve with Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire after a year"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is being used by a variety of departments across our organization. We have deployed Spotfire as a self-service BI solution to allow users to get to their data without having to be under the constant need for IT intervention. We have also deployed Web Player, Automation Services to make the visualizations easy to share with those that need the information.
  • Spotfire offers a wide variety of data connectivity options. From simply using Excel documents to connecting to cloud sources like RedShift.
  • Spotfire has a very robust feature set not limited to just visualizations. Some data wrangling and science tasks can be performed as well.
  • Spotfire has integration with Open Source R and TIBCO Enterprise Runtime for R (TERR) through use of TIBCO Statistic Services Server (TSSS).
  • When creating visualizations there are limitations to text placement as well as text areas that have to be present. This limits the overall control of how the visualizations look.
  • Spotfire takes the approach of analysts having to wait to bring data into local PC memory first rather than producing a subset of data to begin working with. This can sometimes take a bit if you are working with millions of rows.
  • Automation services could definitely use some upgraded functionality as to how it schedules jobs.
When we work with a new team that has the desire to visualize their data, we spend about 2 hours with them and usually record the session. We ask they come with a use case in mind. Spotfire is not an immediately intuitive product so this session really helps users understand their data, the product, and set expectations for how it can be used.

With this being said, you can see there is a time commitment, it's not exactly simple, but it is a powerful tool. Most people also arrive at this conclusion.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Preferred application for all data presentation and of low to medium complexity data analysis"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has started using Spotfire across the organization to address problems with reporting, data access, dashboarding, and information consolidation.
  • Spotfire is great at creating visuals which are easily understood and interacted with.
  • Spotfire is expandable with a strong community of Java, Python, and HTML codes available to expand capability.
  • Spotfire makes updating visuals and data models a background process.
  • Spotfire's statistical visual standards aren't inline with manufacturing standards by default.
  • Spotifre is not a data entry interface without much background coding.
If you have graphs which are regularly published or reviewed Spotfire will quickly show its value. As an engineer, the ease of plotting data on an image, i.e. a ternary phase diagram, greatly improves communication across the company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2018

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - Simple, but Advanced."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used widely in our company as a platform for creating reports not only for a single use, but also as large projects with scheduled updates. In our company, a colossal emphasis is made on data analytics and Spotfire is a significant wire in this large system.
  • Bulding interactive dashboards.
  • Wide range of connection options both JDBC and ODBC.
  • Building custom extensions (C#, IronPython ...)
  • The documentation some times needs more details, because on average I found answers on TIBCO Community pages, but not directly at the documentation.
  • Administration panel could be improved in a way, so that fewer direct interactions with servers are needed (by that I mean connecting to the server and making changes manually).
Appropriate: build a reporting system for your company based on some project data.

Less appropriate: if your data set is somewhat small, then I wouldn't recommend using something as advanced as Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 08, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire "Fires" on all cylinders!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by my entire organization to get insight into our data analytics. We use it primarily to gather and analyze data within our business.
  • The learning curve is very shallow and we are able to get valuable results with minimal amounts of training.
  • Spotfire is very configurable and allows us to customize it to our business needs.
  • Support for this product is done very well and really helps us solve our business challenges.
  • I'd like to see some better documentation and help features. I feel those are lacking!
  • I think the GUI looks a bit dated and I'd love to see a new look and feel to it.
In my company, I think TIBCO Spotfire is well suited for analyzing my data and discovering patterns and emerging trends in our business environment. TIBCO Spotfire would allow us to visualize the data in easy to use visuals and graphs/charts to help us grow our business. TIBCO Spotfire fits well into our enterprise data management suite and would be a very valuable asset!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2018

"Basic review of TIBCO Spotfire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Tibco Spotfire on my own for some of the biological data analysis. I was first introduced to it at a biotech company I was involved with and since then, have on and off again used Spotfire for data analysis when Excel just won't do wither for graphic representation or analysis.
  • Excellent visualization of data in different formats
  • Strong data analysis tools beyond basic graphing and functions
  • The user interface can be overwhelming at times
  • Training and tutorials on the site can be improved by adding a more beginner section
Tibco Spotfire may be well suited in the case that you have large amounts of data to go through and you want better visualization than the graphics excel or graph-pad can offer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

User Review: "TIBCO Spotfire for the Energy Industry"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the company for visualization and analytics.
  • Easy integration with open source R and Tibco's R.
  • Web and mobile capable.
  • Interactivity between visualizations is well designed.
  • Integration with open source Python.
  • Built-in visualization variety falls behind competitors.
For those looking to blend custom analytics and useful variety of off the shelf visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - Grad Student Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Individuals are using Spotfire to make more complicated plots and graphics. It is not used in a business setting.
  • Spotfire is easy to use. It is simple to upload data and make graphs.
  • Spotfire allows you to make complicated graphs without too much trouble. These graphs would be much more difficult to make in Excel or Prism.
  • Spotfire has limited text options.
  • Graphics look slightly less professional than using other software.
Spotfire is good when trying to make sense of multiple variables in a complicated dataset. It is not the first software I would use to make a publication-quality image.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used internally by our department, but the results generated are used throughout the organization. We are using TIBCO Spotfire to generate visualizations, that helps our oil & gas engineers in the field to make better decisions.
  • Data Visulization
  • Customizable
  • Creating Data functions, which you can integrate with your visual maps.
  • Lacking embedded BI and production reporting.
  • If you don't have code correct it would jamm onto backend rather than giving errors.
  • Sometimes acts funky when you work with SQL Server.
Best suited for real-time integration monitoring. Helps in immediate decision making. Least suited- When you don't have to make complex visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent Visualization Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SPOTFIRE to track key business metrics across the organization. As we become more data-driven and become more versatile at putting data into context I expect us to use to use more and more of Spotfire's Data Analytics functionality. I am currently enrolled in a postgraduate course in Data Analytics and aspire to add value to my role using my Data Analytics skills and SPOTFIRE
  • Data Visualisation
  • Data Summaries
  • Data contextualisation
  • Provide the ability to add tags and metadata to time series data in order to establish latent relationships and dependencies
Good for static data sets, would like to learn more about analytics on time series data
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 07, 2018

User Review: "Tibco Spotfire is a gamechanger!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to analyze all of our financials and well as to monitor how well our operations are performing on a day to day basis.
  • Visualizations are incredible
  • You can easily manipulate the date to where it makes the most sense.
  • Easily adjustable to adapt to what you need to get out of the data.
  • Need more support in learning the platform
  • It's overwhelming to learn at first.
I think its well suited for every aspect of our business. I use it every single day.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Study for a client who already use TIBCO"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used by Supply Chain Management Department to increase process visibility from the supplier until the consumer.
  • Integration with R
  • Flexibility to data visualization
  • Flexibility to data treatment
  • Integration with other systems
If the company doesn't have a good data structure, you'll probably face challenges (with any solution, not only TIBCO).
TIBCO is easy to use and it's a powerful tool, even for beginners.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 28, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "When you think you are good at data visualization, there is much more coming ahead"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main case for using Spotfire is to publish reports across the organization.I sometimes use it to create visualizations for presentations, as to provide a more dynamic way of presenting a case, being able to drill down the data to answer questions on the fly.
  • Harmonization of concepts: often it is the case that more than one department needs similar kinds of reports, but produce them independently in Excel, access, through sql queries, etc.
  • As a result, the management has trouble reconciling the values presented by the departments.
  • Analysts are pressed to explain the differences and spend hours from trying to understand and reproduce the steps each department has taken to arrive at the discussed value, just to learn their selected data, categorization of variables and data treatment was different based on each department specific needs.
  • With Spotfire, one department can become responsible to produce the analysis, while adjusting some visualizations to suit the second department specifications. As a result, less work and more transparence on the concepts used by each part of the organization.
  • Easy access to data: instead of Excel spreadsheets or even some more sophisticated sql treated analysis which are made into PDFs and sent by email, the analysis access through browser is more stable.
  • Interactive data analysis: its often the case that you show an indicator and someone asks, what are the contracts behind that total? How much of this is due to interest income, etc. With the drill down capabilities and sub analysis these questions are easily answered.
  • The difference sum is sometimes painful, because it does not set consider an initial 0 value.
  • For example, using the difference sum to de-accumulate a running sum observations for the year, will set January as 0 and the first significant value only in January. There should be an easy option to just define a difference sum between the months introducing an initial 0 observation so that the first January of the series also appear correctly.
  • The so called "Sankey Diagrams" are also not so simple to implement
For me, Spotfire is perfect for situations where analysis must be shared interactively between different areas, geographies, etc. Automation of reports to avoid the trap of "chasing a different rabbit" every month due to different presentations of the data. I'm not sure though if, due to costs, Spotfire would suite a small company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 22, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "A Young Engineer's Perspective on Spotfire"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Traditionally, Spotfire was only used at my company to analyze completions optimization from excel spreadsheets. However, we are currently transitioning to linking Spotfire without a database to use for up-to-date dashboards across the company. Some of these dashboards include (but are not limited to): - Extensive work-over analysis & looking at how a work-over may have affected the projected life of a well - Layering different geological maps while simultaneously plotting wells & sizing them by normalized production - A 3-dimensional plot of our well path colored by corrosion data to analyze how geometry/location can play a role in wear or corrosion
  • Visualizations made easy with just a few clicks
  • Able to handle large amounts of data to create extensive plots
  • Very user-friendly, with a large community of users who also share ideas
  • Perhaps providing more samples of utilizing R in Spotfire (for users who started learning Spotfire with no experience in R)
Well suited for rapidly generating helpful visualizations
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 19, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "SpotFire is highly recommended for organizations to gain efficiency and analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire is available for all of the employees in my organization, but only about 10% of them use it. I believe the relatively low percentage of users is due to the individual’s need for it, the learning curve, and lack of training available. For the users who do utilize Spotfire in my organization, we have been able to leverage amazing dashboards to gain efficiency and an in-depth understanding of key analytics.
  • Customization
  • Speed
  • Level of Detail
  • Learning curve
  • Difficult to export charts into PPT
  • Screen size effects dashboard appearance
It is well suited for users who work heavily with large data sets, and who want to showcase important KPI’s at a high level of the large data sets to other individuals. It is an amazing tool to streamline reporting, analyzing, and measuring data.

It is not well suited for very small data sets, nor individuals who are not capable of spending 10-15 hours learning how to Use it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 22, 2018

Review: "TIBCO Spotfire - data visualization made better"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO is currently being used for real-time tracking. Like other software, Spotfire is more for visualizations. At the same time those visualizations help us in picking out only related data. Currently, it is being used to address supply chain problems that most industries face - assisting them with inventory management and logistics
  • Interface has everything you need to create your desired visualization
  • Upon selecting specific parts of the visualization you get to see which data is responsible for the visuals
  • You can add multiple visuals on one page
  • Concise story telling software
  • For writing a script an additional software is required
Spotfire is well suited for storytelling.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is like a diamond on a land mine"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is being used broadly in our client's organization. As we support the client in most of their challenges, that means that we use the software within our organization too. We are a very lean company and do not have corporate department silos, so every employee uses it. The software addresses all problems related to visualisations, reporting and big data analytics.
  • Efficient with analysing milions of rows of data
  • Very logical user interface
  • Heavily customizable
  • Supports many programming languages
  • The UI is not very intuitive
  • The charts are just not as aesthetically appealing as in PowerBI
  • There's no easy way of creating dashboards viewable on mobile devices
Spotfire is best suited for companies with a mature data analytics capability. For organisations beginning their data-driven journey, the high barriers of entry may prove too high. However, organisations who are mature (analytics wise) will be able to unleash the immense potential of the software and drive insights limited only by the imagination of responsible analysts.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (178)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (154)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (177)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (185)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (135)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (167)
7.9
Publish to Web (139)
8.2
Publish to PDF (161)
7.9
Report Versioning (18)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (103)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (188)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (168)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (144)
7.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (149)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (125)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (139)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (110)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (75)
6.9
Dedicated Android Application (11)
4.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (90)
6.9
REST API (26)
6.6
Javascript API (26)
6.6
iFrames (18)
6.4
Java API (21)
6.3
Themeable User Interface (UI) (27)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (20)
6.3

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions