Appian

Appian

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Top Rated
Appian

Overview

Recent Reviews

Best in class BPM tool

10 out of 10
April 07, 2022
Appian is one of our primary tool[s] for Business Process automation. The tool is used in conjunction with robotic process automation. …
Continue reading

Leading us into the future

9 out of 10
February 21, 2022
Appian is one of the best low code development software available in the market because of its intuitivitivy, great documentation, and a …
Continue reading

remote user

8 out of 10
December 21, 2021
attestations and validation for company policies (i.e. covid protocol and vaccine requirements). attestations prior to building entry.
Continue reading

A+ for Appian

9 out of 10
December 16, 2021
Within my organization, Appian is utilized to provide a tracking solution for contractors going through the recruitment and placement …
Continue reading

its helpful

10 out of 10
December 13, 2021
We have automated the whole business process and its associated business activities. We collect data from a lot of different users and …
Continue reading

very good workflow software

9 out of 10
December 13, 2021
We use Appian to create workflows and forms. It serves as a low code and is quick to implement an alternative to a full-blown IT solution. …
Continue reading

Appian in a Nutshell

10 out of 10
December 07, 2021
Use Appian to replace several old paper-based processes that used to flow through our organization.
Continue reading

Appian is very supportable

8 out of 10
December 07, 2021
We use Appian for our Client Acceptance form. Based on questions answered different questions will be shown to the user. After completion, …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 6 features

Reusability (73)

8.8
88%

Platform Scalability (71)

8.6
86%

Drag-and-drop Interfaces (70)

8.5
85%

Visual Modeling (71)

8.4
84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Appian, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud

Standard

$60

Cloud
per user per month

Flat Fee

Contact Sales

Cloud
one fixed price per app, unlimited users

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.appian.com/platform/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Low-Code Development

8.5
85%

Product Details

What is Appian?

Appian provides a software development platform that combines Full-Stack Automation and enterprise low-code to rapidly deliver business applications. Appian can be used to improve customer experience, achieve operational excellence, and simplify global risk and compliance.

Appian is a platform for building enterprise software applications. Appian boasts running some of the most important processes at companies like Enterprise Rent-A-Car, Aviva, Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, and the US Department of the Treasury.

Some Appian use cases include - Intelligent Business Process Management Systems (iBPMS), Dynamic Case Management (DCM), Digital Process Automation (DPA), Robotics Process Automation (RPA), and Low-code Development.

Appian Features

Low-Code Development Features

  • Supported: Visual Modeling
  • Supported: Drag-and-drop Interfaces
  • Supported: Platform Security
  • Supported: Platform User Management
  • Supported: Reusability
  • Supported: Platform Scalability

Appian Screenshots

Low-Code DevelopmentBusiness Process Management SuiteDynamic Case ManagementMobile App DevelopmentAppian RPA with Blue Prism

Appian Videos

The world’s leading enterprises trust Appian to unify humans, bots, and AI across their organization with speed and simplicity.
Ryder is the leader in commercial truck rentals and leasing, dedicated to continuous process improvement to solve customer problems, increase cost effectiveness, and ensure driver safety. Appian supports Ryder with the technology they need to deliver. Beginning with solutions ...
 Show More
FirstBank deployed Appian for intelligent case management to rapidly identify and resolve potential money laundering schemes. FirstBank ensures safety, achieves 100% compliance, and saves more than 1,000 work hours each year with the AML solution.
Alabama Power wanted to modernize their in-house energy improvement financing program. With Appian, they created the Smart Financing application, which automates and streamlines the entire financing process. Alabama Power has increased ally financing in some cases by 1200%.
With $66 billion in assets and 1.6 million customers, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank is considered one of the largest banks in Australia. Even so, it still believed it had much work to do to break down silos and connect disparate portion of its operations into one unified, quality customer experience.
In this video, Target IT and business leaders talk about their remarkable achievement and how they worked with Appian to transform customer journeys, streamline operations, and galvanize Target’s efforts to overcome the disruption that is so pervasive in the financial services industry.
Sprint had to figure out an entirely new way to do business, support it with scalable technology, and roll it out - in matter of weeks.
Sprint is focused on innovation, in both densifying its network to improve the customer experience, and modernizing its infrastructure for lower cost.
Chris Lee of Merck and Evjatar Cohen of Appian delve into Merck's digital transformation with Appian. They discuss Merck's journey from siloed data and disjointed systems, to Appian's end-to-end solution providing workers with a simplified interface, unified data, and the comp...
 Show More
Punch Taverns is one of the UK's leading pub management companies, with a portfolio of more than 4,000 properties. Punch has used the Appian Platform to achieve true transformation and enterprise mobility in how it conducts its business, from initial investment in a new pub th...
 Show More
At Appian, we believe companies need a simpler, faster way to create powerful software. That’s why we pioneered the low-code market. Learn more about low-code in Appian CEO Matt Calkins' own words.
Hear from some of the world’s leading enterprises trust Appian to unify humans, bots, and AI across their organization with speed and simplicity.

Appian Downloadables

Appian Competitors

Appian Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Appian?

Appian is a low-code development and business process management platform. It features drag-and-drop design for app building, automated work processes, unified data management, and cloud-based deployment.

What is Appian's best feature?

Reviewers rate Reusability highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses Appian?

The most common users of Appian are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Financial Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 137)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Appian across the whole organization in order to digitalize all processes and optimize efficiency. Some of the problems we are solving with Appian are data decentralization and process workflow tracking. Creating apps with Appian enables us to give personalized and adaptable solutions to the different department's needs whereas migrating all information from different files to our databases. In addition, we can digitalize company processes and track them. In the end, we can analyze both records data and process workflows data to enhance company efficiency.
  • The culture of data decentralization in millions of files is to end with Appian apps.
  • Company processes tracking is enabled with Appian solutions.
  • Interactive reports to analyze business data.
  • Web page to centralize communication with users, incidents, resources, etc.
  • The standard cloud database still has a little bit of an unfriendly interface but it is true that we use our own databases.
  • Besides, process diagrams and coding interface experience are improvable (there are some process flow functions missed like for or while loops).
  • Robot process automation and AI & ML functionalities are improvable in terms of user interface and functionalities.
If you are looking for an all-in-one software to digitalize your company, that is Appian (BPMs, RPAs, ML, AI, process tracking, tasks, etc.). You can create almost everything! Sure you will need a good team of Appian developers to ensure that your digitalization is being done scalable and adaptable to changes.
They have an easy contact channel and are really quick in their response. However, sometimes you wonder to know more about what they are doing to solve the issues in order to learn more about your own environment and why things happen, but you only get a small grade of detail on incident resolutions.
Umesh Kataria | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Appian is a digital transformation tool in which it streamlines and complement human operations in order to reduce highly manual intensive tasks. It is one of the best Low code base platform and we used it for Intelligent automation and Customer management. Since Power apps was more expensive with less features we used Appian to design apps in HRO processes and automated the contract generation process. It was also used in some of the intelligent automation to extract data elements from PDF documents. It can be enhanced to add functionality like sentiment analysis like we have it in other industry standard tools. Workflow automation is what it is at its best currently.
  • workflow management
  • Low code no code
  • Intelligent case management
  • integration with API
  • Dashboards and reports
  • More visualisations in the dashboard like Power BI
  • LMS based system like Celonis and certifications
  • AI & ML functionalities
Best suited for intelligent automation, dashboard and report creation, workflow management. Apps creation for various processes.
Less suited for advanced level of automation, AI & ML based analysis like Neural networks, sentiment analysis. Other area of improvement is to add more visualisations and a learning based system with which one can get certified and learn more about the tool.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Appian is one of our primary tool[s] for Business Process automation. The tool is used in conjunction with robotic process automation. There were a lot of manual workflows used by business teams and we were looking for a tool [that] can streamline the process. Appian is an easy use, low-code bpm tool which helped our firm to automate the workflows for business.
  • Easy to Develop (Low Code)
  • Intelligent Case Management
  • Integration using API's to a variety of technology tools
  • Graphs and Charts. I think it will be good to get some features of PowerBi
  • Additional DB options (Currently using MariaDB)
  • Better interface for Database explorer and query window
Appian is well suited for the areas which involve a workflow. For Example: Consider there is a task and 3 teams are required to work on the task, with Appian we can create tasks for each team and monitor the comments and completion. Together with the integration capabilities, this tool can function in many areas. In our firm, we are using it to automate the workflows for our business teams and help them in capturing the OLA's and SLA's.
Appian is a great tool for business process automation and so is their support. Their support is spread across regions and we get responses very quickly when we approach them for any issues or general queries. We also have a great Appian forum and community which we can use as first-hand info for any troubleshooting.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Ya, the scope of the project is to automate all the business commercial, and airports terminal operations processes in the company commercial department using the Appian platform, this project address many business gaps and problem the company facing like department silo behavior, inconsistent data, lack of corporate reports, lack of process standardization, low quality of inspection processes.
  • Process Automation
  • Integration Functions
  • Quick Application Delivery
  • Fast Learn Curve
  • Documentation
  • UI and UX new features
  • Rich format Report functions
The Appian best scenario is to integrate people and legacy systems together in one single platform, another scenario of real-time notification via email and SMS to keep people on top of their business progress. for the scenarios that need more enhancement is when there a need to visualize map or location to allow the field persons to use high quality of mobile interfaces.
In some case they not response in a good time.
Gayatre Shankar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Appian to build applications. My applications are investments and financial services where users can create a user account and maintain the user data.
  • Report generation using records
  • User interface with easy implementation
  • Process model
  • Expression rules
  • User interface needs more customized options
  • Toggle button or switch button
  • More icons
The dashboards can be implemented so neatly with good performance. Section layouts can be easily adjusted according to business requirements.
As a beginner in Appian, it was pretty easy and interesting for me to learn the tool. There is a lot to learn in the tool implementation; user interfaces, processmodelsl, expression rules, constants are fun to do the development.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize it to create automated workflows in several different back-office areas. It has replaced several single-sourced systems which did not allow for easy development or integration. We definitely appreciate the low code aspect of development and the ability to rapidly deploy new workflows.
  • Low code for rapid deployment.
  • Great search capabilities.
  • New features deployed frequently.
  • Strong customer focus.
  • Some constraints on custom reporting.
  • Version management could be more flexible.
  • Could integrate with other 3rd party deployment tools.
Appian works great for automating manual processes and integrating multiple systems through its toolset. It gives great flexibility for establishing rules for approvals, routings, escalations, and the like. Because of the low code toolset, it's very easy to deploy and make changes as needed as processes evolve and as the organization learns to utilize the system better. Minimal maintenance is required to support the applications build on the platform. Some of the automated testing integration with tools like Jenkins is limited so that may be an issue for some.
Working with Appian support and development has been outstanding. They are quick to respond and very receptive to feedback. There is also a large customer user community that they try to foster connections by geography, industry vertical that allows the sharing of information and provides an additional avenue for feedback.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Appian is one of the best low code development software available in the market because of its intuitivitivy, great documentation, and a lot of existing smart services which are always been updated.
  • Ease of the system
  • Attractive UI
  • Easy to understand
  • it gives some limit in decision rules
  • The community needs to grow more.
  • Timeline charts should be improved
The best part is we can design the website in hassle-free manner. They have given expression mode as well that is best. There are a number of options to make the website more attractive and easy to use for end-user as well as for backend
I used this platform many time and its worth to use it. It's easy to learn and use so we can optimize time and also complexity.
Sneha Gangan Manore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by departments with a variety of databases like Oracle, Microsoft SQL, MySQL, and IBM DB2. Operations of day-to-day tasks, from loan applications to processing, were entirely done using Appian. Also, the tedious task of configurations in various departments was worked upon using this tool smoothly and safely.
  • Drag-and-drop UX
  • Apps developed by exporting objects in XML and ZIP format
  • Low-code development platform
  • Test for completeness is possible
  • Appian framework reuse for ADA
  • Layman language
  • Some more utility should be available for performance testing
  • Multiple ZIP file creation with one import matching trick
  • Recommendation engines should be modified
Especially when Accessibility was introduced, the same reusable components were used, which reduced the time and efforts of employees. It was also well suited for repetitive tasks for litmus tests and value generation calculations. I have tried Pega also, but Appian has mastered the task, making it easier to perform.
The support is not that good and the coordination can improve. Support is limited and time-zone bounded. Some nice articles or solutions to problems can help in overcoming difficult tasks. Some small video support will also make a difference. Some more advertising of community work will make people aware of the situations.
December 21, 2021

remote user

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
attestations and validation for company policies (i.e. covid protocol and vaccine requirements). attestations prior to building entry.
  • easy to navigate
  • ability to detect user badges to auto populate vs. manual entry
it's particularly well suited for individual validation.
I've not had any concerns with any escalations at this point. my role doesn't necessarily require escalation as I'm the user.
December 16, 2021

A+ for Appian

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within my organization, Appian is utilized to provide a tracking solution for contractors going through the recruitment and placement process. My organization has built integration setups where Appian can receive updates and display them in real-time from external applications. This makes Appian a useful tool because all parts of the onboarding process are stored within Appian, rather than having to go to external applications and check on status results.
  • Ease of Use - users of all ages find this system easy to operate on a daily basis due to the clear layout of the application itself.
  • Customization - with Appian, anything is possible. My organization has used Appian to build a fully customized piece of software that hundreds of users work in on a daily basis.
  • User Management - Appian provides an easy solution to provision and de-provision users to the Application.
  • Reporting - my organization decided to integrate a separate reporting tool within Appian rather than relying on the reporting capabilities Appian currently has.
Appian is well suited for companies looking to automate manual processes. Appian allows for multiple customized integrations which are great for process automation. My organization currently has 3 external company integrations and 3 internal company integrations set up within Appian that provides ease of use for our users. Overall, Appian has greatly improved our processing time.
My organization has had very few issues with Appian overall. However, when we did, Appian support was always willing to jump on a call and assist us to mitigate the issue. My organization also hosts reoccurring calls with Appian where they suggest future enhancements that will optimize our business processes.
December 13, 2021

its helpful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have automated the whole business process and its associated business activities. We collect data from a lot of different users and assimilate them into a big info hub. That info hub is used to get data for the creation of business strategies and business planning. All the business decisions related to the business process are automated through Appian
  • workflow management
  • looks good
  • easy to use from user's perspective
  • integrating with excel
  • excel formatting
  • database connectivity with DB views
We have automated the whole business process and its associated business activities. We collect data from a lot of different users and assimilate them into a big info hub. That info hub is used to get data for the creation of business strategies and business planning. All the business decisions related to the business process are automated through Appian. Not suited is for data visualization purposes
because its good
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Appian to create workflows and forms. It serves as a low code and is quick to implement an alternative to a full-blown IT solution. Business cases range from facilitating user onboarding to accepting customer inputs and all manners of approval processes. It helps to shorten the approval process and is easy to create or modify.
  • workflows
  • user inputs
  • reports
  • should be more low code if possible
  • reporting should be more visual
  • more automation forms should be available
very well suited for workflows where a process has to pass through multiple stage gates and approval steps;
it has been very satisfactory
December 07, 2021

Appian in a Nutshell

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use Appian to replace several old paper-based processes that used to flow through our organization.
  • Work-flow management.
  • Reuse of process.
  • Testing.
  • Document management.
Appian is great for workflow management. Any process-based workflow can easily be replaced with an Appian process model. Appian isn't great for heavy code processing. If you need to process huge amounts of data or computations, Appian isn't the best solution.
Community is a great resource to find valuable information.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Appian for our Client Acceptance form. Based on questions answered different questions will be shown to the user. After completion, the form is reviewed, and depending on the office, industry and other fields it will assign specific reviewers to the engagement. After it is fully completed it is then transferred into a printable file.
  • Process Models - they error in the background and the user does not know and support can fix it at a later time without the user having an issue.
  • Support - I have had a good experience with Appian support responding in a timely manner.
  • It's a Platform as a Service so the database, code, and application are all available through the same portal.
  • It would be good to be able to capture data as an expression from the process modeler rather than the 'Raw' format with square brackets.
  • Version Control that supports branching.
  • Ability to see the state of child interfaces in the designer.
I support Appian so when a process model errors. I like that users do not get an error in the UI and only the devs can see the error and fix it and afterward, the process model will complete them without issue. Debugging can be hard compared to other coding languages.
I like it for support because process models error only in the backend and users can complete their work as if no error occurred. Also, I like to be able to easily access Designer, the cloud database, and the app. I like the search feature in the designer when looking for interfaces or expression rules.
December 06, 2021

Best low- code platform

Vijay Rama Rao Dasari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Appian to streamline the process for our organization and for our clients and make it more digitalized. Increase turnaround time, efficiency, process orchestration, return on investments, performance, intuitive applications, AI, RPA for [our] clients. We have been using it in all sectors like financial, pharma, government, insurance, life sciences, manufacturing, etc.
  • Low code automation
  • Quarterly upgrades
  • Compatibility on multiple platforms
  • Performance
  • Easy import of java libraries
Appian is well suited for pretty much all the industries like financial, insurance, banking, etc. One example is to use it in [the] supply chain model of [the] pharma industry with [a] quick turnaround time. Appian is less appropriate for small-scale clients where there is less potential for automation and digitalization.
I see the current and future low code platform[s] in the industry.
Nabin Poudel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Appian in the hospital to automate the workflow of patient registration, diagnosis, and treatment. It only took two weeks to implement it at the hospital. Appian has connected patients with doctors and departments in a faster, streamlined way. It has eliminated the traditional form of paper-based registration and reporting saving hours of administrative work. Now the patients are able to get treatment faster with Appian workflow automation. Furthermore, with Appian doctors and administrators can perform much faster with decision rules, case management, and AI.
  • Excellent AWS SaaS platform for workflow automation
  • Supports machine learning to make processes more efficient
  • Can automate hundreds of end to end processes
  • Quite expensive platform starting at $75 per feature per month
  • Difficult to implement
Appian is best suited for organizations that have to respond to hundreds of customers on a daily basis. It makes all the process of customer service much faster. It is less appropriate where workflow has very few processes and does not need to interact with hardware systems.
Appian is one of the leading low code business automation platforms that support RPA, decision rules, case management, workflow automation, and machine learning all in a single bundle. But it is also harder to implement and replace the traditional business process.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Found very intuitive while using the IDP along with Appian process design for building the solution for one of the insurance companies in APAC. It was used to address to onboard new customers and provide services related to insurance and documents processing.
  • Documents processing
  • Intuitive user interface
  • Process design
  • Events handling is one of the area
If you really want to roll out some products quickly to production then Appian is the best fit. Provided that the kind of products you want to roll out.
I see the Appian community is growing and supporting as well as from company there are lot of steps taken recently to make the product developer-friendly. You can always reach out to their support team to get quick support.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to automate our IT automated procurement processes. It allows the process of getting quotes from vendors to the approval person to be done much faster. We also use it to automate sending reminders to relevant employees to continue the tasks left unfinished in dev, test, and prod environments.
  • Automate processes like reminders
  • Keeping data secure
  • Process modeling
  • Most of the platform is hard to use
  • Difficult for new users
  • Little to no explanation on how to do things
  • Not very good at advice on use-cases
  • Not aesthetically pleasing, especially compared to its competitors
It is well suited for business-critical automation, especially when sensitive data is involved. It is not good for citizen development. It is definitely more suited to pro developers who write code for a living. Quick apps are helpful for those not well versed in the platform. Automated reminder emails are consistently and frequently sent out looking very official and full of detail.
I haven't used Appian support before.
  • Online training
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Appian is being used across all of the University of South Florida. Over the last 4 years, we've implemented solutions to streamline and improve the processes taken by students, faculty, staff, and administration. Not only are we using Appian to create better business processes, but we also used it to create an information and action hub that is very accessible to all of our users, no matter where in the world they are located.
  • Seamless transition of applications from desktop to mobile.
  • Easy to learn low code environment.
  • Fitnesse integration
  • Google AI integration
  • Docusign integration
  • Process modeler tool is out dated.
  • Appian Community is hard to navigate.
  • Reporting tools are lack luster.
Appian is a strong tool when using it for requirements within its process management wheelhouse. We have experimented using it for applications, such as database management, but were met with mixed results. Where it's strongest Process management. As a single hub to go for information and to take actions. Quick mobile deployment. User security management. Integration with other tools (IE: Mulesoft, Fitnesse, Docusign, PowerBI, Microsoft Suite). Where it's weakest Reporting of both process metrics and data from the database. Managing the connected database.
My team has worked closely with Appian support of a number of issues and requests for information. Their support team is both professional and timely in their responses. All of our developers heavily use Appian's provided library of functions, recipes, and examples. We have also had decent success using the Appian community to find development solutions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Appian across various parts of the organization. The problems that Appian addresses are the need for fast prototyping, low-code, and easy project iteration. We use Appian to create applications internally and to manage and onboard client accounts for the business. Appian is very useful for showing project progress to stakeholders.
  • Fast prototyping
  • Low-code
  • Easy UI design
  • Clear project element organization
  • More visual representation with variable relationships
  • More UI options for color style
  • More accurate error handling
If I were to recommend Appian to a colleague, I would recommend it for client account creation and management. It is very easy to manage user and email distributions. Also, it is very easy to manage permission and create an approval workflow. There are many manual workflows out there and Appian can help automate those workflows.
I gave a rating of eight because Appian is very useful for many business solutions. I think there is room for Appian to grow and I think there is great potential for Appian to become vital for many industries. I hope to see even more features and innovative ideas come from the Appian team in the future.
September 13, 2021

Great Value for Money

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Appian is being used for model risk management, inventory management, and resource allocation. It allows us to schedule reviews efficiently and allocate resources where there is an urgent need. This tool has saved a lot of time that senior management used to spend on these activities and made the process easy and efficient for them. It has also introduced a lot of transparency in the process.
  • Inventory management
  • Resource allocation
  • Time management
  • User interface
  • GUI
  • Navigation from one page to another
Inventory management capabilities are really helpful for the organization to manage the models and workflow around it. Resource allocation has also become more transparent and efficient. It allows us to schedule reviews well ahead of time with full visibility toward how many resources are available for a particular review. It also allows us to see major gaps and work toward filling them.
Most of my support comes from the stakeholders internally. I didn’t get the opportunity to work with the appliance directly in terms of support. Given the internal resource constraints, we sometimes experience delays in the support, which we expect on open issues. Given that I didn’t deal with Appian support directly, I can’t provide a well-defined answer.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by a department for client onboarding. It helps to automate the existing client onboarding process which was previously done manually. We are using it to manage onboarding questions that need to be answered by the client and send email notifications to the relevant parties within the organisation so that onboarding process times are reduced.
  • Easy to pick up on how to use the tool by going through a paid class organised by Appian.
  • Good documentation on the website to support developers.
  • Simplifies business process management so that companies do not have to reinvent the wheel.
  • Request for features to fix security findings is generally a slow process.
  • Request for features to support business objective is generally a slow process.
  • Appian cloud performance lags behind in-house solution.
It's a great tool to manage business processes because it has features to allow you to manage different users and control permission of who has access to certain UI or documents. It takes very little time to develop new features for business needs. Great monitoring tool to help troubleshoot production issues.

If performance is critical, Appian will lag behind.
The support request often take a significant amount of time to resolve. Very often we have to fall back on an alternative solution than to have the problems resolved by the support team.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Appian is being used across the IT organization in the company because of the low-code capabilities and works well in the modern agile environment with new RPA features and many more. And it addresses several aspects of the organization such as
  • Migration from legacy systems
  • Eliminating legacy approaches
  • Automating business processes
  • Customer onboarding reports
  • Drag-and-drop interface for workflow development greatly speeds our apps' time to market.
  • Using the advanced features of Appian, we are able to create working sites in a fraction of the time it would take to do so using traditional development.
  • Quick to the market, a real emergency problem solver (e.g., COVID time related apps).
  • Build once, deploy anywhere makes it easy to put an application in users' hands, regardless of form factor (desktop, mobile, etc.).
  • I would like to see more flexibility in Appian's UI components.
  • Appian's RPA capabilities are still growing. I would like to see more user-friendly management/creation of RPA processes.
  • Debugging can be difficult, as error messages are not always detailed enough.
Excellent for data integration, quick time to market solutions, bringing technology and people together. Appian is beneficial in organizations that need to address workflow problems (like CRM, change management, user and role management, customer onboarding, etc.). It can be configured to automatically assign tasks to groups of users and direct work based on pre-configured logic, speeding up hand-off points in the process. Appian currently isn't best suited to cases where you need a public portal where users aren't logged into an account.
Good responsiveness, very competent, and only sometimes the resolution for the issue reported is not 100% satisfactory. The Appian community is a great help for quick answers to some of the queries. Appian could be improved when it comes to proper documentation for the plug-ins. The native Appian documentation portal should also be improved by providing more info on the objects that Appian supports.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Appian is being used as our primary tool of development for our applications for our department. It's made our applications easier to develop (because it's relatively easy to pick up and use) and has allowed us to easily include more people when creating interfaces.
  • Easy of use
  • Friendly interface
  • Instant results
  • Multiple users editing the same interface
  • Process models
  • Initial ramp up may be tricky for some
Well suited: quickly making interfaces
We had an architect that was very helpful during our scheduled time with him, and he was able to help us with most of our issues.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Appian for onboarding new hires for our clients. We are a staffing company and onboard thousands of people a week. Our Appian solution helps us keep track of the many onboarding activities for each new person (candidate) we hire, including background checks, drug screening, form signatures, and more. The workflow management automation is quite valuable. We use it for our candidate tracking and are evaluating Appian for other initiatives.
  • Workflow management
  • Technical engagement with development and business
  • Flexible candidate tracking configuration for our specific workflow needs
  • Provide enhanced and additional production usage details (similar to Salesforce)
  • Expose enhanced and additional production and pre-production environment logs
The Appian platform is good for customizing workflows and allowing customers to track status by record (individual/candidate/etc). The rules and configuration interface are powerful. Appian is capable of bringing skilled resources to the table when a need arises. Appian employees are happy, engaging, good at listening, respectful, and easy to work with.
Appian employees answer every question and follow up on almost every request. They are professional and the product platform is stable and predictable. We push the platform to its limits and it (platform and staff) is capable and engaged to support both our end-user load, our business users, our developers, and our additional technical users.