TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/y5/ta/ZA8W1S2L7SF8.pngControl-M newbie, but impressedControl-M currently has a small footprint, but with the move to v9 we are looking to fully leverage the automation capabilities as well as Self Service and WCM to make it available across the entire organization. This will address the needs for off hours work and free up IT staff time to complete other projects/tasks.,Using AFT, sending files to customers is automated and can be customized for success, failure, etc. allowing visibility into the process for all involved Self Service is a powerful addition as it allows jobs to be setup and available to users via the web. You can have granularity into the jobs then as access is assigned to users based on their roles, allowing the ability to order the job, or maybe even just monitor the progress. Workload Change Manager is going to give us the ability to allow our developers to implement Control-M into the design and coding stages instead of after the fact. This will save time as they will be able to see the end results right away and make adjustments if necessary without having to wait for a scheduler to make the changes. This also allows us to promote from lower environments with some oversight and control. This will be the biggest takeaway for us moving to v9.,The ability to set default view settings would be a nice add as it would allow the admin to better control the environment for each user role/level of access. This would be especially helpful when it comes to differing environments (dev/test/etc.) The licensing structure could be better laid out. Typically when purchasing a licensing suite, you get the full offering for that product, but that is not currently the case for Control-M. The ability to setup multiple site customizations and associate them with the access level/role of the user would be something I would prefer to move to the top of the list of things to be done differently as this would allow better customization for web access by eliminating things that you don't want that particular role to have access to.,8,This is too soon to quantify as we are still working to implement v9 to fully utilize all capabilities of the product.Control-M at NavistarControl-M is the enterprise-wide standard workload automation solution at our company. We have over 20,000 jobs scheduled each day across open systems and our mainframe environments Control-M manages the batch jobs execution in an efficient manner and aids in meeting and managing our SLAs.,Provides visibility and monitoring across all jobs/platforms. The UI is user-friendly and requires very little training to obtain the status of key business processes. Control-M for Hadoop enables Hadoop specific workflows to be developed, scheduled, managed and monitored along with other enterprise workloads, all in a single solution. Control-M AFT allows us to schedule and track FTP transfers any other batch job. Provides the ability to transfer files securely either via SFTP or FTP with SSL and manage encrypted FTP credentials in a single centralized location.,The upgrade process could use some improvement as it is somewhat complex. The Reporting function can be improved. Control-M AFT could have better diagnostic tools or messages to aid in troubleshooting connection errors.,10,Control-M has allowed us to automate manual tasks and increase the productivity of our application teams.Control-M has served me well for 12 yearsAt [my] previous location, we managed EDI transactions through Control-M as well as automated billing and system monitoring. At my current location, we use Control-M to generate bills for most of our retail customers and to update collections data.,The UI is easy for the business to use to receive an instant status of the processes they care about. Control-M works well in connecting to and running processes on many servers in our network. The proactive notification of a process that may have issues is very nice to have.,We have not defined a process to move processes across multiple environments. That would be nice to have.,10,We were able to restructure our licensing for a significant savings.,ActiveBatch,ActiveBatch,No,10,No,Last year we had issues with too many sessions running. BMC Support was able to quickly identify our problem.My Control-M reviewIt's used in BI. It's used to schedule our batch jobs which pull data from various sources independent of the technology used.,Dependencies between the jobs of various tools/technologies. We run Informatica, .Net, SAS, SQL - all kinds of jobs and Control-M works very well with each kind of job. Email alerting facility after completion, failure; ability to retry jobs. Ability to run a job multiple times a day.,Cyclic jobs. Dependencies have issues if cyclic jobs fail and we rerun. Failed cyclic jobs do not show up in red color. Old jobs which did not run. Control-M should change the color of yesterday's ordered jobs vs. today's jobs.,9,We are able to streamline activities and data provision between various departments.,QlikView and InformaticaControl-M is a critical enterprise jobstream managerControl-M is used enterprise-wide and globally by our IT and business departments. We have a highly customized ERP system and many IT platforms that share the same data. Control-M helps manage the financials process, integration of tasks and many of the business continuity and housekeeping tasks. There are multiple technical platforms in several time zones and countries and Control-M helps manage and coordinate the jobstreams.,Control-M provides strong job auditing of who does what, when, where and how. Multiple jobstreams are managed for multiple environments simultaneously from one enterprise server. Since we have several OS and database platforms worldwide, this one scheduling application can handle all of it. Control-M is relatively easy to learn and engage with at user levels. Job loads and forecasting are relatively intuitive.,Enhanced GUI functionality has been improving over the years, but screen design can lag behind depending on the version in use. Speed of operation is reasonably good but can always be better. Many new features have been added which require more server resources for efficiency.,9,,Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne, Oracle PeopleSoft HCM, Informatica Application ILM
Windows, UNIX
Control-M
85 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
TRScore

Control-M Reviews

Control-M
85 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 85 vetted Control-M reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 47)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Chris Clark profile photo
March 27, 2017

User Review: "Control-M newbie, but impressed"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M currently has a small footprint, but with the move to v9 we are looking to fully leverage the automation capabilities as well as Self Service and WCM to make it available across the entire organization. This will address the needs for off hours work and free up IT staff time to complete other projects/tasks.
  • Using AFT, sending files to customers is automated and can be customized for success, failure, etc. allowing visibility into the process for all involved
  • Self Service is a powerful addition as it allows jobs to be setup and available to users via the web. You can have granularity into the jobs then as access is assigned to users based on their roles, allowing the ability to order the job, or maybe even just monitor the progress.
  • Workload Change Manager is going to give us the ability to allow our developers to implement Control-M into the design and coding stages instead of after the fact. This will save time as they will be able to see the end results right away and make adjustments if necessary without having to wait for a scheduler to make the changes. This also allows us to promote from lower environments with some oversight and control. This will be the biggest takeaway for us moving to v9.
  • The ability to set default view settings would be a nice add as it would allow the admin to better control the environment for each user role/level of access. This would be especially helpful when it comes to differing environments (dev/test/etc.)
  • The licensing structure could be better laid out. Typically when purchasing a licensing suite, you get the full offering for that product, but that is not currently the case for Control-M.
  • The ability to setup multiple site customizations and associate them with the access level/role of the user would be something I would prefer to move to the top of the list of things to be done differently as this would allow better customization for web access by eliminating things that you don't want that particular role to have access to.
It is truly an Enterprise WLA solution as there are very many different capabilities of the product from file transfer to executing batch files to running SQL queries or stored procedures. With that said, it might be overkill for smaller organizations or environments where there isn't the need for backend automation or utilizing a large infrastructure.
Read Chris Clark's full review
Todd Klessner profile photo
March 22, 2017

User Review: "Control-M at Navistar"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is the enterprise-wide standard workload automation solution at our company. We have over 20,000 jobs scheduled each day across open systems and our mainframe environments Control-M manages the batch jobs execution in an efficient manner and aids in meeting and managing our SLAs.
  • Provides visibility and monitoring across all jobs/platforms.
  • The UI is user-friendly and requires very little training to obtain the status of key business processes.
  • Control-M for Hadoop enables Hadoop specific workflows to be developed, scheduled, managed and monitored along with other enterprise workloads, all in a single solution.
  • Control-M AFT allows us to schedule and track FTP transfers any other batch job. Provides the ability to transfer files securely either via SFTP or FTP with SSL and manage encrypted FTP credentials in a single centralized location.
  • The upgrade process could use some improvement as it is somewhat complex.
  • The Reporting function can be improved.
  • Control-M AFT could have better diagnostic tools or messages to aid in troubleshooting connection errors.
Control-M is a very flexible and scalable solution which should fit most every workload automation need. We use several of the control modules such as, Control-M for PeopleSoft, Control-M for Hadoop and Control-M for Databases, just to name a few. We [have been] extremely pleased with BMC's Control-M and their support for years.
Read Todd Klessner's full review
Scott Kelm profile photo
March 10, 2017

Review: "Control-M has served me well for 12 years"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At [my] previous location, we managed EDI transactions through Control-M as well as automated billing and system monitoring. At my current location, we use Control-M to generate bills for most of our retail customers and to update collections data.
  • The UI is easy for the business to use to receive an instant status of the processes they care about.
  • Control-M works well in connecting to and running processes on many servers in our network.
  • The proactive notification of a process that may have issues is very nice to have.
  • We have not defined a process to move processes across multiple environments. That would be nice to have.
Control-M is excellent in an environment where many servers need to have a central point of organization for interdependent processes and multiple departments need viability into their operations.
Read Scott Kelm's full review
Mahesh Nerlekar profile photo
February 17, 2017

"My Control-M review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used in BI. It's used to schedule our batch jobs which pull data from various sources independent of the technology used.
  • Dependencies between the jobs of various tools/technologies. We run Informatica, .Net, SAS, SQL - all kinds of jobs and Control-M works very well with each kind of job.
  • Email alerting facility after completion, failure; ability to retry jobs.
  • Ability to run a job multiple times a day.
  • Cyclic jobs. Dependencies have issues if cyclic jobs fail and we rerun. Failed cyclic jobs do not show up in red color.
  • Old jobs which did not run. Control-M should change the color of yesterday's ordered jobs vs. today's jobs.
Batch schedule where you want to handle complex dependencies and where you interact with multiple tools.
Read Mahesh Nerlekar's full review
Jeff Drew profile photo
January 31, 2017

Review: "Control-M is a critical enterprise jobstream manager"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is used enterprise-wide and globally by our IT and business departments. We have a highly customized ERP system and many IT platforms that share the same data. Control-M helps manage the financials process, integration of tasks and many of the business continuity and housekeeping tasks. There are multiple technical platforms in several time zones and countries and Control-M helps manage and coordinate the jobstreams.
  • Control-M provides strong job auditing of who does what, when, where and how.
  • Multiple jobstreams are managed for multiple environments simultaneously from one enterprise server.
  • Since we have several OS and database platforms worldwide, this one scheduling application can handle all of it.
  • Control-M is relatively easy to learn and engage with at user levels. Job loads and forecasting are relatively intuitive.
  • Enhanced GUI functionality has been improving over the years, but screen design can lag behind depending on the version in use.
  • Speed of operation is reasonably good but can always be better. Many new features have been added which require more server resources for efficiency.
Control-M is very well suited for a global, multi-system platform where huge amounts of data are processed, collected and retained. It does not seem to be a slave to a particular OS or server platform. It generally works everywhere and with any computer system. It may be overkill for some small, unique, specialty businesses where a native scheduler would suffice.
Read Jeff Drew's full review
Danny Haydon profile photo
January 31, 2017

"Control-M Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is used to schedule thousands of jobs each day for our core banking products in one of our strategic data centers. This consists of both mainframe and open systems. The mainframe environment consists of 4 major sysplex environments that support both production and test work. The open system runs over 2000 agents across a variety of operating systems.
  • Control-M provides the functionality required to run a lot of jobs in a short period of time. There are times when more than a thousand jobs are pushed through the system in a very short timeframe and Control-M is able to manage this workload with no problem.
  • The GUI interface used for monitoring and interacting with Control-M also is a big advantage when processing so many events. This provides real-time viewing and allows for quick responses from our technicians to act and recover issues. This is very important to our business that requires very little down time without major impact to our customers.
  • The history information Control-M captures and saves has been a big advantage when researching issues. This information is also used for quality control when making changes as well as satisfying audit requirements. This data is also used to manage capacity and performance of Control-M which has a long history of stability. This is important for many reasons but the number one reason for FIS would be the success it brings to our business and our customers' business.
  • A key scheduling function that was omitted from Control-M is dataset triggering. BMC included this function as part of Control-O which requires a separate product to manage dataset triggering.
  • Control-M product release upgrades are very complex and requires extensive knowledge for Control-M and the OS environment.
Control-M has been a good fit in environments that have a lot of activity and schedule a lot of work. For the most part, Control-M provides the functionality to meet or exceed the performance and reliability our company requires to meet deliverables.
Read Danny Haydon's full review
Carl Korody profile photo
January 20, 2017

User Review: "Control-M at OLG"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M was introduced across our enterprise to eliminate manual execution of our batch job environment and create a central point of control. This enables us to coordinate activities enterprise-wide and eliminate many issues of data corruption due to timed job execution through crontab, Windows Scheduler, menu-driven job flow releases through menus created in OpenVMS. Product's internal schedules are now visible. Ad-hoc executions are monitored and managed effectively, through one central point of control, providing a complete overview of all activities.
  • GUI presentation
  • Operations can identify job flows and realize business impact visually
  • Provides control within operations
  • Processing streams can be halted immediately during a failure, without intervention and eliminates cascading issues and problems
  • Self-Service access
  • Providing browser access for all our users enables them to view their processes and realize interfaces and impact that their processes have on other systems. User access and viewing reduce delays during problem resolution as it enhances communication and expedites root cause determination.
  • Direct product interfaces using modules
  • DataStage job schedules are fast and are easily configured as well as Database maintenance functions which can now be linked to before and after DB activities
  • Setting up Site Standards needs some enhancements
  • More robust functionality for field validation is needed, such as only one Quantitative Resource rule can be applied on multiple QR's defined in a job. Therefore giving warnings on QR standards because each QR must match all QR rules
  • Reporting structure is a bit cumbersome and needs a more effective interface. Jumping from panel to panel is not very effective.
  • Connection profile password management is tough to maintain. Each entry must be manually updated every time there is a password update. Since our policy is that all system passwords must expire after 180 days and we must be included in all application related password updates. Unfortunately that also is an issue where the Control-M administrator is globally aware of those passwords, which should be held confidentially by each separate group
The most effective element is the ability to visualize and manage job streams top-down, left-to-right job flows and all identify conditions required prior to a job release and the impact of a successful and unsuccessful job. Another effective element is utilizing Workload Change Manager which establishes an extremely effective interaction with developers and schedulers.
Read Carl Korody's full review
Emmanuel Bantugan profile photo
January 17, 2017

"Control-M Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is currently being used as an "enterprise-wide - across the whole organization" scheduling tool by our company. It addresses our daily batch jobs execution in a controlled and efficient manner, helps greatly in meeting and managing our SLAs with our customers within the company through timely notification of events which enables our support/application team to react accordingly.
  • Control-M enables us to automate our workload with ease.
  • Control-M helps us eliminates the needs for programmers to customize scripts to execute jobs according to sequence and dependencies accurately.
  • Control-M enables us to perform RCA (Root Cause Analysis) in a timely manner through the logs, sysout and playback of events.
  • Control-M provides us the flexibility to integrate our various used applications within the organization and connect other streams of jobs for continuity of processing.
  • Flexible tasks or jobs pricing charges.
  • Version upgrade should be made as simple as possible as it becomes overwhelming.
  • RFE (Request for Enhancements) should be prioritized.
[It is well suited] for large and extra large workload automation requirements (50K plus jobs on a daily schedule).
Read Emmanuel Bantugan's full review
Antoine Dutranois profile photo
April 07, 2017

Control-M Review: "Partner opinion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As partner of 4 years, we work on Control-M to develop our skill on this product and develop the leadership of the solution. Control-M is a really good solution because it addresses all the problems of workload automation. With all the control-modules you can easily create your production plan.
  • Easy creation of production plan with all the control-modules
  • Easy supervision of the production plan
  • The product is really stable
  • Management of file transfer
Since the version 8, Control-M is not only dedicated to largest companies. It also could be used in a smaller company with 50 or 100 jobs.
Read Antoine Dutranois's full review
Aziz Khawaja profile photo
March 16, 2017

"My Control-M/WLA Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is being used by our systems and operations departments. We run jobs of all sorts from many installed systems and it addresses all kinds of problems for us.
  • The UI is easy for the business to use to receive an instant status of the processes they care about.
  • Control-M works well in connecting to and running processes servers in our network.
  • The proactive notification of a process that may have issues is very nice to have feature.
  • Consolidates scheduling for multiple technologies in one place.
  • Upgrade process is very difficult and time consuming - I think it needs improvement.
  • Documentation is lacking -- would be nice to see some redbooks.
[Control-M is well suited for] Job conditions, job confirmation, ordering jobs - a colorful UI are all good and useful features that we like about it.
Read Aziz Khawaja's full review
Peter Sheridan profile photo
January 30, 2017

"CUNA Mutual Employees's Control-M Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the company's job scheduling tool. It is used by the entire organization and helps automate the scheduler of jobs and all the interdependencies.
  • Ability to handle interactions between mainframe and Open Systems jobs.
  • Web interface for developers.
  • Numerous options when scheduling jobs and tying them together in a workflow.
  • Upgrade process is very difficult and time consuming.
  • Web interface is still clunky and could use upgrading.
  • Documentation is lacking -- would be nice to see some redbooks.
Works really well for companies that need to support different platforms like the mainframe, open systems, etc. Not well suited for companies that like to give total control to their developers through the web interface as self-service has several issues.
Read Peter Sheridan's full review
Marta Polanco profile photo
January 24, 2017

"Control-M Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I support Control-M for a client, Direct Energy (DE). DE uses Control-M as the enterprise scheduling tool, for application, backups, maintenance and monitoring purposes.
  • Notifications of failures, very flexible and customizable
  • Its GUI design
  • Can be used easily for a variety of platforms in one single environment
  • The GUI for version 9 is a bit slow and has few bugs
  • SSL support needs a lot of improvement on the client side and also, managing certificates between the Control-M server and the agents
  • I miss the option Playback on the Self Service
For DE it has proved appropriate in every case
Read Marta Polanco's full review
No photo available
March 13, 2017

User Review: "First 2 years with Control-M"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is currently used by a major division of the company.
  • Consolidates scheduling for multiple technologies in one place
  • Provides visibility and monitoring across all jobs
  • Basics needed to create typical process flow are easy to learn
  • Company aggressively transforming and upgrading the tool
  • Tool allowed to securely separate "tenant" applications and their development teams
  • The peak use pricing model compares unfavorably to the typical use model (that averages across type). It penalizes organizations with an uneven workload.
It is well suited for orchestrating processes across technologies and dealing with complex scheduling situations.
Read this authenticated review
Dave Campbell profile photo
July 06, 2016

Control-M: "Control M review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is used in my company as the primary job scheduler for all departments. We use it with various versions of Unix/Linux and Windows Operating Systems. Using Control-M allows us to standardize our job scheduling environment and enables us to complete all batch processing for our company with maximum insight into any issues that may occur.
  • Control-M is very stable. It is rare to have any issues with the application.
  • Dealing with dependencies is handled very well. Dependencies are easy to set up whether they are on the same server or across platforms.
  • Alerting is also a strength in Control-M. It has a built in tie in to the Remedy system which allows ticket creation to be handled easily.
  • I would like to see some improvement in handling conditions from previous days.
  • I would like to see some improvement in being able to send out alert notifications on jobs that have not started past the new day.
I have not seen a situation so far that Control-M would not be well suited for. Control-M is very versatile and can handle a lot of situations. I could see Control-M having issues with running dozens of jobs at the same time but I would expect that to be a rare situation for anybody.
Read Dave Campbell's full review
Mark Francome profile photo
June 22, 2016

Control-M Review: "Best of breed and moving farther ahead"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is used as the corporate Workload Automation tool and is particularly used in cross-platform scenarios (mainly Linux and Windows servers) when active resource management is required, for integrated housekeeping tasks (e.g. server housekeeping, backups, DB housekeeping) and when we need to ensure guaranteed operations. We use it to send out SMS alerts (and emails) when serious errors occur.

Application-wise we use it for Data Warehouse, PeopleSoft, file transfers, various banking apps, direct DB jobs (Control-M for Databases), Cadis, Tableau and managing various in-house apps.
  • Control-M Advanced File Transfer is a very useful add-on, allowing for a wide variety of file transfers to be configured "out of the box" and then used as part of the standard batch flow. This module is not included in the base price but is available at a relatively small additional cost.
  • Using Control-M's GUI (the Enterprise Manager) allows for efficient management of the enterprise and can tie up a lot of "loose ends". Often the first point of tracking problems is to check with the Control-M guys!
  • BMC is definitely moving the product forward, the new module "Application Integrator" is very helpful in building and deploying your own bespoke Control-M jobs and allows for closer and more secure integration.
  • Although Control-M does open up the enterprise in an operational sense, the security settings (should you choose to implement them) are robust.
  • The reporting provided with Control-M could have more functionality, Many users end up creating their own reporting based on the Control-M DB. I believe BMC are addressing this.
  • Within the Advanced File Transfer (AFT) it would be useful to have an integrated FT server and not rely on the underlying SSH.
  • All batch schedulers have issues with fully automating tasks in a Windows environment and Control-M is no exception. Userids and profiles are harder concepts to deal with in the Windows world but BMC are doing their best to address this and Control-M would be better at handling these scenarios than the alternative products.
Control-M makes a lot of sense if you need cross-platform scheduling and require verifiable task management (not the "hit and hope" approach of the Windows Task Scheduler or cron). Tying your operational tasks together on one screen makes sense in most modern enterprises. The fact that Control-M is the market leader and yet the vendor is, if anything, increasing the rate of development tells you all you need to know.

However, Control-M is a high-end solution and if your batch requirements are low (say below 200 tasks/jobs) and those tasks are not critical to your enterprise then maybe consider alternatives. Also, if your Agent platforms are not supported by Control-M (BMC can provide a list but very few OS are not included) then Control-M would be more difficult (but not impossible) to implement.
Read Mark Francome's full review
Eugene LaRoche profile photo
May 17, 2016

Review: "Control-M - Add Class and Sophistication to your Scheduling!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Control-M as a job scheduler, running all manner of job types from SSIS, Web Services, AFT, Encrypt and Decrypt, Stored Procedures, Batch Files, BCP, etc. It allows us to integrate our environments, creating complex dependencies between jobs, and monitor it using a well deigned console. It replaced an internal scheduling engine build on top of MSMQ and Windows native scheduler. It is used by the IT department, but email notifications and attachments are sent to business users around the company.
  • Job Dependencies: Control-M can be used in sophisticated ways to link jobs - for example embedding logic that decides what return code to produce based on output from the job (e.g. look for an error message in the job log). It also allows force ordering a job (i.e. dynamically executing a job), or forcing a job status to OK or Failure. Of course it also has traditional job dependencies ( e.g. when job a finishes kick off job b, or kick off job c at a specific time). It also easily allows for combining various dependency types.
  • Job Monitoring: Control-M has a sophisticated console for monitoring jobs. It allows easy access to job history and job output, and thru a GUI view of job dependencies.
  • Job Setup: Control-M provides plugins for many different job templates including FTP, Cryptography, and web Services. It is highly configurable and provides a scripting language. Simple jobs can be set up in minutes using pre-built templates, and complex problems can also be solved by putting in the time and research.
  • Single Major Action per job: this statement needs to be clarified. There are ways to do more than one action per job, and there are pre and post job commands available in most templates. Also some templates like FTP can have many instructions built in, like deleting source files after transfer (these are part of the positives). But basically you can only do one major action, like call one web service, or call one stored procedure per job. I believe this limitation is due to their licensing model, to ensure you will run as many jobs as possible.
  • The only other negative is a necessary corollary of a having a powerful product. The learning curve is not simple due to the power of the product. I would recommend dedicate training for the primary operators and users of the product.
Control-M is an enterprise class scheduling tool. It may be overkill in some environments, but if an environment needs this level of sophistication then then I would easily give it the highest recommendation. It performs well for complex job chains like producing files, encrypting them, sending them via FTP, and obtaining confirmation receipts, with excellent notification features.
Read Eugene LaRoche's full review
Mark Coons profile photo
September 08, 2016

"A retired Schedulers review of Control-M (translation: no axe to grind)"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My previous company uses Control-M to manage all of their batch processing on all platforms. They process 150,000 batch jobs daily and needed an automated process to handle them. The bulk of these jobs are MVS processed and the rest process on UNIX and Windows. A large number of these flows have processing than runs on multiple platforms.
  • Handling dependencies between platforms.
  • Handling miscellaneous dependencies (dependencies other than Job dependencies).
  • Learning curve is very steep. It takes way too long to get new employees up to speed.
  • There isn't any educational material provided to train new employees.
  • Our company had a long history of involving our business partners (non IT areas) in the scheduling process. Control-M did not have (and after 20 years) still does not have any sort of interface that our business partners could use. (So we created one ourselves.)
Control-M would be very good for small or medium size companies. Large companies (like the one I came from) not so much. Maintaining your schedules is a daunting task in large companies. It requires a fair number of people and a lot of documentation (about processing relationships). (BMC might want to look into the processing relationships documentation issue to see if they could help.)


Control-M's documentation on how to use the product is very thin.
Read Mark Coons's full review
Balachandra Kuppaswamy profile photo
August 13, 2016

User Review: "Control-M, the best WLA Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Control-M version 8 to execute jobs in SAP (R/3 and Business warehouse) jobs, script jobs in Unix and a Windows platform. Mainly it is being used by SAP users and some TED (our internal data warehouse) users. it was helpful in automating many things.
  • The GUI is very good
  • BIM is very helpful
  • In the monitoring domain, please enable users to modify things like owner, set to dummy (options which are grayed out must be opened).
  • Just like we have folders under home, please create some thing like jobs where-in we put in the job name then select it and run them. This make easy in an organization like us where we get a lot of requests to just run the jobs.
Extraction: In TWS, the extraction of a stream is very readable. Whatever option is selected/used in TWS, the composer command extracts those only and makes it easy to share with the users. But in Control-M, the xml file is huge. It displays all the options available and this makes it difficult for the users to understand. Introduce a special option just to extract what is there in the folder in a very user readable format like txt.
Read Balachandra Kuppaswamy's full review
Gadi Ben-Avi profile photo
July 27, 2016

User Review: "Control-M (z/OS onliy)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All production jobs on z/OS (almost) are run buy Control-M.

Control-M saves a lot of time and manpower, by running the production workload, letting people deal with development, maintenance and problem solving.
  • Runs jobs when they should.
  • Notify users when something goes wrong.
  • Provide information on previous runs.
  • The interface (On z/OS) is a bit clunky.
  • Installation and upgrades are a pain.
  • It is difficult to make mass changes.
The bigger the workload, the more a tool like Control-M is needed.
Read Gadi Ben-Avi's full review
Paul Robins profile photo
July 01, 2016

User Review: "Control-M - True enterprise scheduling"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Control-M for enterprise workload automation across a number of platforms (z\OS, Windows, Linux, Unix). Application batches are integrated seamlessly. We also use a number of application plug-ins such as File Transfer, IBM Cognos, Java and Web Services. Control-M is integral to our ability to run a true 'lights out' 24x7 data centre whilst still providing 24x7 business availability and support.
  • Provides seamless cross-platform workload automation integration.
  • Provides integrated SFTP capability. No scripting or custom error checking required!
  • Control-M provides fully auditable, version controlled workload development and provides tools for users to collaborate on development.
  • Control-M provides excellent exception management allowing us to use our resources where they are needed most instead of monitoring workloads.
  • Control-M could provide improved dynamic workload management based on physical server resources.
  • Control-M for File Transfer could provide better diagnostic tools for troubleshooting connection errors.
Control-M is a very flexible and scalable solution which would suit almost every workload automation need.
Read Paul Robins's full review
Sreedhar Sunkara profile photo
June 22, 2016

Review: "Control-M is a great tool for scheduling needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we run around 20,000 jobs per day using Control-M in our mainframe and distributed environments. Once the job is scheduled to run either on a time based dependency or on a predecessor/successor dependency, it will take off accordingly. With a lot of self service options like scheduling to run an on demand job etc., it is great tool to get the work done without much dependency from other teams. It is used across the whole organization. We always look at Control-M whenever we think about having a report scheduled to be delivered on a regular basis.
  • Once the job is scheduled in Control-M, it is all set to go on a regular basis. Very stable.
  • Good GUI interface to drill down the failed jobs to further troubleshoot or to notify the owners of the jobs.
  • Self Service options.
  • It would be great if we can get some good customized reporting options to pull various reports.
Control-M is absolutely a great product to schedule jobs and there is no substitution for this and its ease of use whatever.
Read Sreedhar Sunkara's full review
Tom Bridge profile photo
June 21, 2016

User Review: "Control-M for the enterprise"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is being used across the whole organization. We currently use it to schedule jobs on most of our open systems platforms. It allows us to centrally mange the job scheduling tasks while also allowing users to see the status of their jobs.
  • Central monitoring of all jobs running in the environment.
  • Easily tied into our ticketing system. This allows for auto-ticketing in the event of job abends.
  • Uncomplicated job setup.
  • It would be nice to be able to review agent logs from the central dashboard.
  • Automated agent unavailable alerts that could tie into our ticketing system.
We have found that it works well across all of our platforms. We are just starting the migration to the mainframe product so we don't have experience with that part of the product yet.
Read Tom Bridge's full review
Stefano Sensale profile photo
June 21, 2016

"Control-M Workload Automation review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Many customers use Control-M to integrate critical business services in the whole organization. It gives you control of the processes and allows you to react in an efficient way. Most important applications like Hadoop, SAP, File Transfer, have been centralized with a significant cost reduction.
  • Is fast, reliable and scalable.
  • The agent-less feature for Unix and Windows is really powerful and appreciated.
  • It gives many option functionalities in a easy to use way. It allows you a very large customization use.
  • Latest version (v9) allows you to upgrade management of the agent.
  • Some workload automation tool to give you fast and easy access to the configuration (e.g. cli) instead of a Windows client.
  • The web-interface is really nice (SelfService) but the service configuration (view) is a little bit tricky.
  • The Smart Folder should have a cyclic parameter.
Since it's really scalable you can use Control-M in a little environment (<10 hosts) or very large environment (>50000 hosts). It's surely suggested in a complex network environment with a firewall and subnet because you can use the physical agent as a gateway to route a connection to a remote host via the agent-less feature.
Read Stefano Sensale's full review
Davon Dharian profile photo
June 21, 2016

Control-M Review: "Control your jobs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Control-M for mainframe and distributed batch processing. It is used across the enterprise. We use it as a job scheduler. This replaces the Windows scheduler which we were using heavily.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Interfaces with third party applications.
  • Friendly user interface that gives you a graphical view of your workload.
  • Since it is such a robust product, users need extensive training.
  • We have always run into issues with setting up security, which needs to be refined and made simpler.
  • The reporting feature needs to be addressed. Its still a bit cumbersome to pull needed reports.

Control-M is well suited for mainframe and batch processing. If you are still using Windows scheduler, Control-M is definitely a replacement for that. It's perfect for workload automation. If you are looking to centralize administering, monitoring, and scheduling jobs...then Control-M is the product!

If you are a small business that does not have a large number of jobs to schedule, then perhaps Control-M might be an overkill for your environment.

Read Davon Dharian's full review
Shawn Green profile photo
June 20, 2016

"Control-M Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control-M is utilized by the IT department for scheduling batch processing and other recurring tasks.
  • Control-M is an excellent Workload Automation tool and has nearly unlimited options for scheduling tasks. This provides great flexibility in balancing workloads.
  • Sometimes too many options make it difficult to find a simple way to get the task done. Often it takes longer to locate or decide on a function than it does to implement it.
I feel that Control-M is best suited for scheduling a large number of tasks and where growth is expected. It can be overkill for smaller job counts or where growth is not expected.
Read Shawn Green's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Multi-platform scheduling (47)
9.1
Central monitoring (45)
8.4
Logging (46)
6.6
Alerts and notifications (47)
8.1
Analysis and visualization (44)
7.4
Application integration (44)
5.3

About Control-M

BMC’s Control‑M is designed to simplify and automate diverse batch application workloads while reducing failure rates, improve SLAs, and accelerate application deployment.
Categories:  Workload Automation

Control-M Features

Workload Automation Features
Has featureMulti-platform scheduling
Has featureCentral monitoring
Has featureLogging
Has featureAlerts and notifications
Has featureAnalysis and visualization
Has featureApplication integration

Control-M Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Control-M Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, UNIX
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android