Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Control-M

Control-M

Overview

What is Control-M?

Control-M from BMC is a platform for integrating, automating, and orchestrating application and data workflows in production across complex hybrid technology ecosystems. It provides deep operational capabilities, delivering speed, scale, security, and governance.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Control-M Review

8 out of 10
January 31, 2017
Control-M is used to schedule thousands of jobs each day for our core banking products in one of our strategic data centers. This consists …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 6 features
  • Central monitoring (49)
    10.0
    100%
  • Multi-platform scheduling (51)
    8.7
    87%
  • Alerts and notifications (51)
    8.3
    83%
  • Logging (50)
    7.7
    77%
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Control-M?

Control-M from BMC is a platform for integrating, automating, and orchestrating application and data workflows in production across complex hybrid technology ecosystems. It provides deep operational capabilities, delivering speed, scale, security, and governance.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

110 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Lumen Cloud Application Manager?

Lumen Cloud Application Manager (formerly AppFog from CenturyLink) is a cloud-agnostic application and infrastructure management platform with integrated Managed Services. The centralized platform manages workloads across on-premises and third-party cloud environments, allowing for greater scaling…

What is Superblocks?

Superblocks is an IDE for internal tooling – a programmable set of building blocks for developers to create mission-critical internal operational software. The Superblocks Application Builder to assemble flexible components and connect to databases and APIs. Users can create REST, GraphQL, and gPRC…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

How to Integrate Apache Airflow and Control-M

YouTube

Orchestrating Multi-Cloud Data Workflows with Control-M

YouTube

MFT with Control M

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Workload Automation

Workload automation tools manage event-based scheduling and resource management across a wide variety of applications, databases and architectures

8.8
Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Control-M?

Control-M from BMC is a platform for integrating, automating, and orchestrating application and data workflows in production across complex hybrid technology ecosystems. It provides deep operational capabilities, delivering speed, scale, security, and governance. Control-M simplifies workflow complexity with a single end-to-end enterprise view, and decentralized and targeted self-service interfaces for developers, data and cloud engineers, business users, and IT Operations teams. Control-M also provides a set of out-of-the-box integrations for the latest application, data, and cloud technologies.

Control-M Features

Workload Automation Features

  • Supported: Multi-platform scheduling
  • Supported: Central monitoring
  • Supported: Logging
  • Supported: Alerts and notifications
  • Supported: Analysis and visualization
  • Supported: Application integration

Additional Features

  • Supported: SLA Management
  • Supported: Data pipeline orchestration
  • Supported: Hybrid and multi cloud workflow orchestration
  • Supported: Jobs-as-Code and DevOps support
  • Supported: Self-service interfaces
  • Supported: Conversion tool
  • Supported: Workload archiving
  • Supported: Self-healing and remediation
  • Supported: Standards in production

Control-M Videos

Giving Organizations Freedom within the Orchestration Framework. Business modernization is about delivering innovation. But to maximize innovative prowess, organizations need a platform powerful enough to give employees across the company freedom to drive modernization initiat...
 Show More
Control-M Overview Control-M simplifies application and data workflow orchestration on premises and hybrid environments. With a unified view, Control-M is used build, define, schedule, manage, and monitor production workflows, ensuring, reliability, and improving SLAs.
How Control-M can orchestrate critical SAP and non-SAP workflows together in a single view, across complex cloud and hybrid environments.

Control-M Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, UNIX, z/OS, i5/OS
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesGlobal support
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, German, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Hebrew

Frequently Asked Questions

Control-M from BMC is a platform for integrating, automating, and orchestrating application and data workflows in production across complex hybrid technology ecosystems. It provides deep operational capabilities, delivering speed, scale, security, and governance.

Reviewers rate Central monitoring highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of Control-M are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(104)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 51)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Angela Rogers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
For developers engaged in Batch process delivery, Control-M provides a reliable platform and technology for managing tasks, automating workloads, and cycling through management of changes. Control-M is a platform with the ability to centrally control task automation, with multi-tenancy and distributed architecture orchestrating all system components and agents. Execution of business operations may be monitored and analyzed in real time, with an emphasis on criticality and urgency.
  • Implementing a Change Management Process across the Development Lifecycle.
  • Orchestration of Batch-based workflows.
  • Efficiency and streamlined administration of the platform.
  • Records kept by agents might be indexed and kept in one convenient location.
  • Improved graphical user interface for Tool would be fantastic.
  • To implement the novel idea of "job as code," developers must acquire deeper technical expertise.
Control-M is a reliable and well-developed product with excellent vendor support that updates and expands the software often and offers a cloud-based deployment choice. When there are many Batch processes in IT operations that need to be monitored and controlled to ensure IT services, Control-M is ideally suited for centralized workload automation and task management.
Oscar Narváez Del Rio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Control-M is a solid and stable platform and technology that allows task management, workload automation, and change management cycle with an integrated framework for developers working in batch process delivery. Control-M brings the capacity for centralized workload automation management with multi-tenancy and distributed architecture orchestrating all system components and agents as part of the platform. Business processes can be operated and visualized in real-time execution focusing on priority and urgency.
  • Change management for development cycle
  • Orchestration for batch processes
  • Platform performance and centralized management
  • Platform support
  • Agents logs could be indexed and stored on a centralized repository
  • Job as code is a new concept that requires more technical skills for developers
Control-M is a mature and solid product with outstanding vendor support that continuously improves the product and works on a cloud option. Control-M is well suited for centralized workload automation and task management when IT operations have a significant number of batch processes that need monitoring and control to guarantee IT services.
March 30, 2022

Control-M Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Currently, in our project, we are using Control-M to schedule and automate the regular jobs. We have installed the Control-M agent on our IBM AIX server where applications are hosted. The jobs perform operations of copying daily user data from one server to another server. It simplifies application and data workflow orchestration on-premises or as a service.
  • Simplifies Application.
  • Data workflow orchestration.
  • Monitor batch jobs.
  • It would be great if we get a better GUI of Tool.
  • Its not supporting heavy database.
  • More user friendly.
We are supporting a client where we need to copy user-provided data to a centralized server. We have installed Control-M agent and it is now doing this work for us. When new entries have been made by a user it identifies and starts copying the new data to the centralized server effectively.
Gadi Ben-Avi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
All production jobs on z/OS (almost) are run buy Control-M. Control-M saves a lot of time and manpower, by running the production workload, letting people deal with development, maintenance and problem solving.
  • Runs jobs when they should.
  • Notify users when something goes wrong.
  • Provide information on previous runs.
  • The interface (On z/OS) is a bit clunky.
  • Installation and upgrades are a pain.
  • It is difficult to make mass changes.
The bigger the workload, the more a tool like Control-M is needed.
Raciel Hernández Barroso | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I work in a company that is a BMC Elite partner and we help other companies in the implementation, administration, support and mesh factory of the main companies in the Banking and Telecommunications of Chile. I have actively participated in more than 700 automation projects and I want to summarize here the common experiences of the operation and use of Control-M in that industry.
  • Control-M is centralized and used transversally throughout the organization. Some cases have several Control-M/Server in production to serve the operation of different countries, however, the Control-M/EM component is usually only one for that environment.
  • Different areas and IT management play different roles in the Control-M Jobs automation lifecycle.
  • The use of Control-M is related to the massive processing of data across different applications and backend services running on different servers and operating systems that could be orchestrated in a complex way.
  • File transfer jobs are common in banking.
  • It is becoming more and more common to design REST API type Jobs in the industry.
  • Control-M provides a single, centralized interface for monitoring and managing all batch processes in the organization. Nothing is hidden or left unattended in a timely manner.
  • The proper use of the BIM component has allowed the change of paradigm in the operation, adopting a proactive management instead of the typical reactive management in the event of production failures.
  • The use of Forecast and production simulations allows you to identify bottlenecks and focus first on managing those failures that have the greatest impact on production SLAs.
  • Control-M/Change Manager has arrived to shorten development cycles from requirements gathering to production testing. It has been a utility that monetizes the development of Jobs meshes.
  • The GUI is capable of efficiently handling more than 80,000 jobs per day. This is certainly a challenge in designing a good user experience. I don't know if there is a reasonable limit to this. One of my clients runs more than 80,000 Jobs daily and the GUI remains smooth all the time.
  • Job-As-Code is a DevOps accelerator that has just begun to be adopted. Its implementation will make workload management even more cost-effective.
  • Enabling secure mode on all Control-M is cumbersome and could be one reason why customers are reluctant to adopt it, despite the importance they place on the security of their IT assets.
  • While it is true that connection profiles are useful for hiding secrets, there is no possibility to make use of secrets in system variables in the Jobs design. Furthermore, secrets that are escaped in the output output should be able to be managed individually.
  • The use of translator tables for the promotion of Jobs between environments is limited and has not allowed their use in most of the clients I have worked with. The reason is that the rules of homologation between environments is more complex than usual.
The use of Control-M is recommended for the following circumstances:
  • Workload and batch processing automation.
  • Backend automation based processes
  • Silent execution of processes and no human intervention
  • Execution of workflows that are too complex for a human to handle
  • Massive operations on massive amounts of data
  • Invasive, with access to the data layer and business logic
  • Processes with focus on security, efficiency and reliability
  • When you want to predict the duration of each job and of the complete flow
  • In critical path management
  • For proactive alerting of deviations and possible job failures.
  • For workload simulation
  • Capability for resource automation
April 07, 2017

Partner opinion

Antoine Dutranois | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
As partner of 4 years, we work on Control-M to develop our skill on this product and develop the leadership of the solution. Control-M is a really good solution because it addresses all the problems of workload automation. With all the control-modules you can easily create your production plan.
  • Easy creation of production plan with all the control-modules
  • Easy supervision of the production plan
  • The product is really stable
  • Management of file transfer
Since the version 8, Control-M is not only dedicated to largest companies. It also could be used in a smaller company with 50 or 100 jobs.
Chris Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Control-M currently has a small footprint, but with the move to v9 we are looking to fully leverage the automation capabilities as well as Self Service and WCM to make it available across the entire organization. This will address the needs for off hours work and free up IT staff time to complete other projects/tasks.
  • Using AFT, sending files to customers is automated and can be customized for success, failure, etc. allowing visibility into the process for all involved
  • Self Service is a powerful addition as it allows jobs to be setup and available to users via the web. You can have granularity into the jobs then as access is assigned to users based on their roles, allowing the ability to order the job, or maybe even just monitor the progress.
  • Workload Change Manager is going to give us the ability to allow our developers to implement Control-M into the design and coding stages instead of after the fact. This will save time as they will be able to see the end results right away and make adjustments if necessary without having to wait for a scheduler to make the changes. This also allows us to promote from lower environments with some oversight and control. This will be the biggest takeaway for us moving to v9.
  • The ability to set default view settings would be a nice add as it would allow the admin to better control the environment for each user role/level of access. This would be especially helpful when it comes to differing environments (dev/test/etc.)
  • The licensing structure could be better laid out. Typically when purchasing a licensing suite, you get the full offering for that product, but that is not currently the case for Control-M.
  • The ability to setup multiple site customizations and associate them with the access level/role of the user would be something I would prefer to move to the top of the list of things to be done differently as this would allow better customization for web access by eliminating things that you don't want that particular role to have access to.
It is truly an Enterprise WLA solution as there are very many different capabilities of the product from file transfer to executing batch files to running SQL queries or stored procedures. With that said, it might be overkill for smaller organizations or environments where there isn't the need for backend automation or utilizing a large infrastructure.
March 22, 2017

Control-M at Navistar

Todd Klessner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Control-M is the enterprise-wide standard workload automation solution at our company. We have over 20,000 jobs scheduled each day across open systems and our mainframe environments Control-M manages the batch jobs execution in an efficient manner and aids in meeting and managing our SLAs.
  • Provides visibility and monitoring across all jobs/platforms.
  • The UI is user-friendly and requires very little training to obtain the status of key business processes.
  • Control-M for Hadoop enables Hadoop specific workflows to be developed, scheduled, managed and monitored along with other enterprise workloads, all in a single solution.
  • Control-M AFT allows us to schedule and track FTP transfers any other batch job. Provides the ability to transfer files securely either via SFTP or FTP with SSL and manage encrypted FTP credentials in a single centralized location.
  • The upgrade process could use some improvement as it is somewhat complex.
  • The Reporting function can be improved.
  • Control-M AFT could have better diagnostic tools or messages to aid in troubleshooting connection errors.
Control-M is a very flexible and scalable solution which should fit most every workload automation need. We use several of the control modules such as, Control-M for PeopleSoft, Control-M for Hadoop and Control-M for Databases, just to name a few. We [have been] extremely pleased with BMC's Control-M and their support for years.
Aziz Khawaja | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Control-M is being used by our systems and operations departments. We run jobs of all sorts from many installed systems and it addresses all kinds of problems for us.
  • The UI is easy for the business to use to receive an instant status of the processes they care about.
  • Control-M works well in connecting to and running processes servers in our network.
  • The proactive notification of a process that may have issues is very nice to have feature.
  • Consolidates scheduling for multiple technologies in one place.
  • Upgrade process is very difficult and time consuming - I think it needs improvement.
  • Documentation is lacking -- would be nice to see some redbooks.
[Control-M is well suited for] Job conditions, job confirmation, ordering jobs - a colorful UI are all good and useful features that we like about it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Control-M is currently used by a major division of the company.
  • Consolidates scheduling for multiple technologies in one place
  • Provides visibility and monitoring across all jobs
  • Basics needed to create typical process flow are easy to learn
  • Company aggressively transforming and upgrading the tool
  • Tool allowed to securely separate "tenant" applications and their development teams
  • The peak use pricing model compares unfavorably to the typical use model (that averages across type). It penalizes organizations with an uneven workload.
It is well suited for orchestrating processes across technologies and dealing with complex scheduling situations.
Scott Kelm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
At [my] previous location, we managed EDI transactions through Control-M as well as automated billing and system monitoring. At my current location, we use Control-M to generate bills for most of our retail customers and to update collections data.
  • The UI is easy for the business to use to receive an instant status of the processes they care about.
  • Control-M works well in connecting to and running processes on many servers in our network.
  • The proactive notification of a process that may have issues is very nice to have.
  • We have not defined a process to move processes across multiple environments. That would be nice to have.
Control-M is excellent in an environment where many servers need to have a central point of organization for interdependent processes and multiple departments need viability into their operations.
February 17, 2017

My Control-M review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It's used in BI. It's used to schedule our batch jobs which pull data from various sources independent of the technology used.
  • Dependencies between the jobs of various tools/technologies. We run Informatica, .Net, SAS, SQL - all kinds of jobs and Control-M works very well with each kind of job.
  • Email alerting facility after completion, failure; ability to retry jobs.
  • Ability to run a job multiple times a day.
  • Cyclic jobs. Dependencies have issues if cyclic jobs fail and we rerun. Failed cyclic jobs do not show up in red color.
  • Old jobs which did not run. Control-M should change the color of yesterday's ordered jobs vs. today's jobs.
Batch schedule where you want to handle complex dependencies and where you interact with multiple tools.
Jeff Drew | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Control-M is used enterprise-wide and globally by our IT and business departments. We have a highly customized ERP system and many IT platforms that share the same data. Control-M helps manage the financials process, integration of tasks and many of the business continuity and housekeeping tasks. There are multiple technical platforms in several time zones and countries and Control-M helps manage and coordinate the jobstreams.
  • Control-M provides strong job auditing of who does what, when, where and how.
  • Multiple jobstreams are managed for multiple environments simultaneously from one enterprise server.
  • Since we have several OS and database platforms worldwide, this one scheduling application can handle all of it.
  • Control-M is relatively easy to learn and engage with at user levels. Job loads and forecasting are relatively intuitive.
  • Enhanced GUI functionality has been improving over the years, but screen design can lag behind depending on the version in use.
  • Speed of operation is reasonably good but can always be better. Many new features have been added which require more server resources for efficiency.
Control-M is very well suited for a global, multi-system platform where huge amounts of data are processed, collected and retained. It does not seem to be a slave to a particular OS or server platform. It generally works everywhere and with any computer system. It may be overkill for some small, unique, specialty businesses where a native scheduler would suffice.
January 31, 2017

Control-M Review

Danny Haydon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Control-M is used to schedule thousands of jobs each day for our core banking products in one of our strategic data centers. This consists of both mainframe and open systems. The mainframe environment consists of 4 major sysplex environments that support both production and test work. The open system runs over 2000 agents across a variety of operating systems.
  • Control-M provides the functionality required to run a lot of jobs in a short period of time. There are times when more than a thousand jobs are pushed through the system in a very short timeframe and Control-M is able to manage this workload with no problem.
  • The GUI interface used for monitoring and interacting with Control-M also is a big advantage when processing so many events. This provides real-time viewing and allows for quick responses from our technicians to act and recover issues. This is very important to our business that requires very little down time without major impact to our customers.
  • The history information Control-M captures and saves has been a big advantage when researching issues. This information is also used for quality control when making changes as well as satisfying audit requirements. This data is also used to manage capacity and performance of Control-M which has a long history of stability. This is important for many reasons but the number one reason for FIS would be the success it brings to our business and our customers' business.
  • A key scheduling function that was omitted from Control-M is dataset triggering. BMC included this function as part of Control-O which requires a separate product to manage dataset triggering.
  • Control-M product release upgrades are very complex and requires extensive knowledge for Control-M and the OS environment.
Control-M has been a good fit in environments that have a lot of activity and schedule a lot of work. For the most part, Control-M provides the functionality to meet or exceed the performance and reliability our company requires to meet deliverables.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is the company's job scheduling tool. It is used by the entire organization and helps automate the scheduler of jobs and all the interdependencies.
  • Ability to handle interactions between mainframe and Open Systems jobs.
  • Web interface for developers.
  • Numerous options when scheduling jobs and tying them together in a workflow.
  • Upgrade process is very difficult and time consuming.
  • Web interface is still clunky and could use upgrading.
  • Documentation is lacking -- would be nice to see some redbooks.
Works really well for companies that need to support different platforms like the mainframe, open systems, etc. Not well suited for companies that like to give total control to their developers through the web interface as self-service has several issues.
January 24, 2017

Control-M Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I support Control-M for a client, Direct Energy (DE). DE uses Control-M as the enterprise scheduling tool, for application, backups, maintenance and monitoring purposes.
  • Notifications of failures, very flexible and customizable
  • Its GUI design
  • Can be used easily for a variety of platforms in one single environment
  • The GUI for version 9 is a bit slow and has few bugs
  • SSL support needs a lot of improvement on the client side and also, managing certificates between the Control-M server and the agents
  • I miss the option Playback on the Self Service
For DE it has proved appropriate in every case
January 20, 2017

Control-M at OLG

Carl Korody | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Control-M was introduced across our enterprise to eliminate manual execution of our batch job environment and create a central point of control. This enables us to coordinate activities enterprise-wide and eliminate many issues of data corruption due to timed job execution through crontab, Windows Scheduler, menu-driven job flow releases through menus created in OpenVMS. Product's internal schedules are now visible. Ad-hoc executions are monitored and managed effectively, through one central point of control, providing a complete overview of all activities.
  • GUI presentation
  • Operations can identify job flows and realize business impact visually
  • Provides control within operations
  • Processing streams can be halted immediately during a failure, without intervention and eliminates cascading issues and problems
  • Self-Service access
  • Providing browser access for all our users enables them to view their processes and realize interfaces and impact that their processes have on other systems. User access and viewing reduce delays during problem resolution as it enhances communication and expedites root cause determination.
  • Direct product interfaces using modules
  • DataStage job schedules are fast and are easily configured as well as Database maintenance functions which can now be linked to before and after DB activities
  • Setting up Site Standards needs some enhancements
  • More robust functionality for field validation is needed, such as only one Quantitative Resource rule can be applied on multiple QR's defined in a job. Therefore giving warnings on QR standards because each QR must match all QR rules
  • Reporting structure is a bit cumbersome and needs a more effective interface. Jumping from panel to panel is not very effective.
  • Connection profile password management is tough to maintain. Each entry must be manually updated every time there is a password update. Since our policy is that all system passwords must expire after 180 days and we must be included in all application related password updates. Unfortunately that also is an issue where the Control-M administrator is globally aware of those passwords, which should be held confidentially by each separate group
The most effective element is the ability to visualize and manage job streams top-down, left-to-right job flows and all identify conditions required prior to a job release and the impact of a successful and unsuccessful job. Another effective element is utilizing Workload Change Manager which establishes an extremely effective interaction with developers and schedulers.
January 17, 2017

Control-M Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Control-M is currently being used as an "enterprise-wide - across the whole organization" scheduling tool by our company. It addresses our daily batch jobs execution in a controlled and efficient manner, helps greatly in meeting and managing our SLAs with our customers within the company through timely notification of events which enables our support/application team to react accordingly.
  • Control-M enables us to automate our workload with ease.
  • Control-M helps us eliminates the needs for programmers to customize scripts to execute jobs according to sequence and dependencies accurately.
  • Control-M enables us to perform RCA (Root Cause Analysis) in a timely manner through the logs, sysout and playback of events.
  • Control-M provides us the flexibility to integrate our various used applications within the organization and connect other streams of jobs for continuity of processing.
  • Flexible tasks or jobs pricing charges.
  • Version upgrade should be made as simple as possible as it becomes overwhelming.
  • RFE (Request for Enhancements) should be prioritized.
[It is well suited] for large and extra large workload automation requirements (50K plus jobs on a daily schedule).
Mark Coons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My previous company uses Control-M to manage all of their batch processing on all platforms. They process 150,000 batch jobs daily and needed an automated process to handle them. The bulk of these jobs are MVS processed and the rest process on UNIX and Windows. A large number of these flows have processing than runs on multiple platforms.
  • Handling dependencies between platforms.
  • Handling miscellaneous dependencies (dependencies other than Job dependencies).
  • Learning curve is very steep. It takes way too long to get new employees up to speed.
  • There isn't any educational material provided to train new employees.
  • Our company had a long history of involving our business partners (non IT areas) in the scheduling process. Control-M did not have (and after 20 years) still does not have any sort of interface that our business partners could use. (So we created one ourselves.)
Control-M would be very good for small or medium size companies. Large companies (like the one I came from) not so much. Maintaining your schedules is a daunting task in large companies. It requires a fair number of people and a lot of documentation (about processing relationships). (BMC might want to look into the processing relationships documentation issue to see if they could help.)


Control-M's documentation on how to use the product is very thin.
Balachandra Kuppaswamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Control-M version 8 to execute jobs in SAP (R/3 and Business warehouse) jobs, script jobs in Unix and a Windows platform. Mainly it is being used by SAP users and some TED (our internal data warehouse) users. it was helpful in automating many things.
  • The GUI is very good
  • BIM is very helpful
  • In the monitoring domain, please enable users to modify things like owner, set to dummy (options which are grayed out must be opened).
  • Just like we have folders under home, please create some thing like jobs where-in we put in the job name then select it and run them. This make easy in an organization like us where we get a lot of requests to just run the jobs.
Extraction: In TWS, the extraction of a stream is very readable. Whatever option is selected/used in TWS, the composer command extracts those only and makes it easy to share with the users. But in Control-M, the xml file is huge. It displays all the options available and this makes it difficult for the users to understand. Introduce a special option just to extract what is there in the folder in a very user readable format like txt.
July 06, 2016

Control M review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Control-M is used in my company as the primary job scheduler for all departments. We use it with various versions of Unix/Linux and Windows Operating Systems. Using Control-M allows us to standardize our job scheduling environment and enables us to complete all batch processing for our company with maximum insight into any issues that may occur.
  • Control-M is very stable. It is rare to have any issues with the application.
  • Dealing with dependencies is handled very well. Dependencies are easy to set up whether they are on the same server or across platforms.
  • Alerting is also a strength in Control-M. It has a built in tie in to the Remedy system which allows ticket creation to be handled easily.
  • I would like to see some improvement in handling conditions from previous days.
  • I would like to see some improvement in being able to send out alert notifications on jobs that have not started past the new day.
I have not seen a situation so far that Control-M would not be well suited for. Control-M is very versatile and can handle a lot of situations. I could see Control-M having issues with running dozens of jobs at the same time but I would expect that to be a rare situation for anybody.
Pedro Castro Valero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use a complete Control-M suite across the whole organization. In this way we give an integrated approach to the needs of the company.
  • Integration with SAP R3 and SAP BI.
  • AFT Module for Control-M. This module allows us to communicate and integrate different applications.
  • AFT Module to MFT.
  • Integration with backup tools like Avamar.
We use Control-M for several complicated scenarios without problems, so I don't know scenarios where it is less appropriate.
Paul Robins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Control-M for enterprise workload automation across a number of platforms (z\OS, Windows, Linux, Unix). Application batches are integrated seamlessly. We also use a number of application plug-ins such as File Transfer, IBM Cognos, Java and Web Services. Control-M is integral to our ability to run a true 'lights out' 24x7 data centre whilst still providing 24x7 business availability and support.
  • Provides seamless cross-platform workload automation integration.
  • Provides integrated SFTP capability. No scripting or custom error checking required!
  • Control-M provides fully auditable, version controlled workload development and provides tools for users to collaborate on development.
  • Control-M provides excellent exception management allowing us to use our resources where they are needed most instead of monitoring workloads.
  • Control-M could provide improved dynamic workload management based on physical server resources.
  • Control-M for File Transfer could provide better diagnostic tools for troubleshooting connection errors.
Control-M is a very flexible and scalable solution which would suit almost every workload automation need.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Used in both mainframe and Unix environments for batch schedules/processing work loads.
  • Simplifies batch jobs
  • Automates batch jobs
  • Reduces failed batch jobs
  • Helps maintain track of SLA commitments
  • Provide more visibility into file transfer operations
  • Can work better on big data workloads
Suited for automating batch jobs. Control-M enables users with a good view of jobs. It could work faster in a big data job - at times, we can feel latency.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Control-M is used across the organization for automated job scheduling and monitoring across processing platforms, with the majority of the users and processing taking place on IBM mainframes. We maintain a centralized operations staff to develop schedule definitions, monitor job submissions and ensure that batch processing is completed timely and accurately. Because of security oversight requirements, the centralized operations staff performs these tasks on behalf of all applications programmers and business analysts who are limited to browse access.
  • Control-M provides an easy-to-use and easy-to-interpret interface for users, with most of the screen options and field names being self-explanatory. The on-screen options provide for a full range of functionality for automating batch production requirements, with multiple options and flexibility.
  • The vendor provides Control-M a wide range of utilities for extracting information from the dataset and providing with a minimal amount of training required for use.
  • As the systems programmer for Control-M on the Mainframe, the ease of installation is one of the nicest features. The installation is panel driven and can be used by a relatively inexperienced technician to install successfully in a matter of several hours.
  • Again, as the systems programmer, I appreciate the level of expertise of the technical support personnel. Over the past 20+ years, I have come to know them well and find them to be knowledgeable and willing to provide assistance for any and all queries.
  • The developers have always been willing to listen to requests for new functionality and enhancements to existing functionality and are working to have the same type of functionality across all platforms.
  • We are a large Mainframe shop, still heavily dependent on mainframes to support and develop new software for the Mainframe.
  • We have worked closely with BMC to participate in the beta testing program and have had the opportunity to have an impact on software development.
  • As with most of the Mainframe software products, documentation seems to be the weak link for the products - written by people and for people who already know what they need to do, not for people who are trying to figure how to use the product.
  • We are a large JES3 Mainframe shop. As with all vendors who still provide software for Mainframe systems, software is generally designed and developed for JES2 and is frequently not fully tested in a JES3 environment before being shipped out.
For our purposes, it is well suited. The learning curve for new users to develop a basic level of competence is relatively easy to accomplish. While the vendor has introduced many nice features since we started using the product (BIM and Forecast to name two that I would like to see our users take more advantage of), the basic product has remained readily accessible for users.
Return to navigation