Autotask PSA

Autotask PSA

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.1 out of 100
Datto Autotask PSA

Overview

Recent Reviews

Datto is the BEST!

7 out of 10
March 22, 2022
We are always looking for ways for our techs to hit their SLA and a program that will allow us to track and ticket makes things so much …
Continue reading

Autotask Review

10 out of 10
April 29, 2021
We use Autotask to track tickets, contracts, invoices, billing info, create opportunities, and create reports for our customers. It …
Continue reading

Great Ticketing System

7 out of 10
March 13, 2019
Currently we are using Autotask as for our ticketing/incident system, tracking time, and project management. Currently the organization as …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 13 features

Service-level management (24)

8.5
85%

Change requests repository (22)

8.5
85%

Expert directory (21)

8.0
80%

Organize and prioritize service tickets (27)

7.3
73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Autotask PSA, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Autotask PSA?

Autotask PSA is designed as a complete IT Business Management Platform for MSPs, now from Datto (resulting from the Autotask merger with Datto in 2017).

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

16 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management?

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and…

What is Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk)?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of…

Features Scorecard

Incident and problem management

8.1
81%

ITSM asset management

7.6
76%

Change management

8.2
82%

Product Details

What is Autotask PSA?

Datto Autotask PSA is designed to make the business of delivering IT easier, more efficient and gives the user instant access to the analytics needed to take MSP operations to the next level.

Streamlining service delivery workflows for 9,000+ IT solution providers worldwide.

Autotask PSA Integrations

Autotask PSA Competitors

Autotask PSA Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Autotask PSA?

Autotask PSA is designed as a complete IT Business Management Platform for MSPs, now from Datto (resulting from the Autotask merger with Datto in 2017).

What is Autotask PSA's best feature?

Reviewers rate ITSM reports and dashboards and Policy and contract enforcement highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Autotask PSA?

The most common users of Autotask PSA are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (111)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 27)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is particularly well suited in a multi-client environment, such as an MSP, where metrics can be easily analyzed for the profitability of their client base. Time vs investment can easily be identified. Autotask has relatively little to offer as an in-house solution for an IT Dept, it's good for the ticketing system and metrics for measuring time but I believe it's better for a multiclient business monitoring time/efficiency/profitability. RMM is a useful addition for the IT Dept.
Howard Rabb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my opinion, Datto Autotask is exceptionally complicated to set up, manage, and use on a daily basis. I would think the target market for this product would be someone managing a team of 20 - 50 people, possibly more. In my experience, for it to run properly you will need to dedicate at least half an FTE to running this product in an organization of that size per month. I would not recommend it for companies with less than 10 people or for companies that value quick communication with their clients. I would not recommend it for companies using Datto's RMM product. The integration exists, but it is clearly a bolt-on. They were not developed together and they are slow to talk to each other. Frequently you cannot add details from RMM sessions into the PSA without manually copying the ticket number, and if the ticket is more than a week old, then you can't even find it with the ticket number.
March 23, 2022

Autotask Tickets

Felix Daniel Bravo Pérez, PMP, CAPM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Creating tickets for control of the job done, solutions applied and using for future references. besides has a good manage of tickets for reports and control. In my experience, when I had tried for projects, have been dissapointed, can of very complicate, defining stages of the project, task, duration and persons involved it is not easy, at least for me.
March 22, 2022

Datto is the BEST!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datto is great when you have several departments that do not necessarily always communicate well because you can go into separate files and put them together. Being able to accurately bill our clients is extremely helpful too. It helps us to achieve better insight into the project and profitability. If you are pounding out tickets, it can be a little clunky and if you have entry-level help desk pros, it could end up being chaotic because it's not really user-friendly.
January 28, 2022

Ideal for all MSPs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pros
  • Service desk.
  • Customer workflow rules.
  • Contract management.
  • MSP CRM.
Cons
  • UI needs a revamp
  • Site config needs to support more than just plain text
  • Need to support custom formatting throughout the platform, focusing on outbound service desk emails.
Hesham Gomaa Elmasry , IBDL | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Well suited to creating tickets, following up on tickets' status, sending notifications, creating reports, scheduling automatic reports, creating a project from a ticket, attaching files on both tickets and projects, creating project phases, milestones, and tasks.
It's less appropriate for automatic resource smoothing, leveling, fast-tracking, crashing, and other more advanced project management.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At present with using this as our ticketing system it works great. As I've mentioned with the automation in place and the notification options it provides we very rarely miss high priority items when they arise. I have not experienced this myself, but our project managers have stated that AutoTask lacks a lot of options they'd like to see on their side of the house.
Kris Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is well suited for IT service industries who bill by the department, issue type, time on the ticket, and more. Severity levels and subcategories provide granular options not found in simple ticketing systems. This works well with an existing client, but adding new leads or companies can be a bit cumbersome. The reporting felt difficult to navigate.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is perfectly suited for a remote support based environment where client communications and timely support is paramount.

As Autotask has auto-fire notifications we can notify our support technicians when they are close to breaching SLA or have been idle on a ticket for too long ensuring that clients are always updated.
Dan Gospe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is much more well suited to a busy company. It's a little bit price-prohibitive if you only have a couple of employees or not many clients. This solution works for us, having 10 employees and about 200 clients. Any less than that, the pricing wouldn't be worthwhile.

Autotask fits very well with us. It's easy to keep on task. Any tickets that are getting old will shoot out alerts and scheduled tasks for our techs to finish up work on it. It's also very easy to run reports for clients on the services that they've used through us. We love Autotask.
Zach Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Having used AutoTask in primarily a support role it was a really great way to keep track of support cases. They allow you to create multiple queues that can be specific to certain teams or task types. It is highly customizable. It offers a great portal for the end user to login and see the status of the cases. It's very easy to learn and teach other how to use.
March 03, 2017

Autotask for the win!

Michaela Good | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is great for project management - sometimes support has issues because it's not designed for that as much. I would recommend this to anyone that has a project manager with multiple employees. For support help desks this becomes confusing when some things are billable and somethings aren't.
Garry Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask for everything. It may not be the ideal tool for some things (like inventory for example) but the fact that it is integrated into one system makes up for any of those shortcomings. Also, Autotask allows us to integrate outside systems to extend its capabilities into areas or products that would otherwise require manual tracking. For example, we have several Viking systems for products at resell that integrate with Autotask so we don't have to manually enter billing for them in our service contracts. The services are updated automatically by the API.
March 22, 2016

Tasks Automatized!

Daniel J. Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is a great program for overall time management for anyone in an organization. It helps to determine where most of your time is spent, also for accounting and account management when reviewing client contracts. It's also extremely beneficial to keep requests/tickets on your radar, it's very easy on a day to day basics to have things fall through the cracks. Once a request is generated it must be followed through and closed with specific details. This ensures who worked on it last, what was completed and client confirmation.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I think Autotask is very well suited for the IT services industry. It allows you to put all of your resources together in the same place. It makes it simpler if all the departments can communicate over the same platform. It allows for better auditing of the overall service your company can provide.