Xero Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
295 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 96)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 10, 2020
Jennifer Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simpler, more streamlined interface
  • Easy integration with payment services like Stripe, PayPal & GoCardless
  • Customizable email templates with merge tag support, including reminder emails and recurring invoice email templates
  • Recurring invoices are easier to setup, manage & modify (as compared to QBO)
  • Integration with time tracking solution (Everhour) is easy to manage, and doesn't create any invoice numbering issues due to the generation of invoices from two platforms (e.g., recurring Xero invoices and Everhour time tracking invoices). The system just uses the next sequential Xero invoice number regardless of which platform the invoice comes from. This was a problem on QBO + Harvest.
  • Vendors and clients are all lumped into a giant 'Contacts' pile, which makes it easier to manage contacts who fall into both categories (QBO gets confused about that), as I have clients who are also sometimes vendors.
  • The reporting options are VERY limited, especially as compared to QBO. Minimal support for filters, and it can be tricky to refine some reports by client.
  • Vendors and clients are all lumped into a giant 'Contacts' list, which can make management & organization there difficult. Especially considering the limited reporting options. You can group them, and it has some 'smart grouping' options, but if you don't create an official 'bill' for every expense, or generate an invoice for every past client on your books, the system won't auto-identify 'suppliers' or 'customers'. So, basically, the groups have to be set up manually.
  • All of the digital payment solutions are paid platforms. There is no free bank-to-bank option like with QBO. Likely due to the use of 3rd party vendors for its payment services.
  • There's a 'classic' and 'new' interface, and users can switch between them. But they don't offer the same features, so I find myself using the 'classic' (less pretty) more often. Though I periodically check the 'new' interface, which seems to be improving.
  • Limited support by accounting professionals (in the US at least). My CPA hates it. But I do most of the day-to-day management myself anyway.
  • You can assign billable expenses to a customer, however, sometimes you want to assign it to a customer without actually billing it on their invoice (e.g., it's included in a flat project rate). The system doesn't allow for that. You either have to assign & bill it to the client, or just list it as a regular expense (I add a manual note as to which client it was used for).
Read Jennifer Hess's full review
July 03, 2020
Fergus Mc Manamon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quote converts to invoice.
  • Design templates can be uploaded for documents.
  • Email templates can be added.
  • They can't be contacted so if you have a problem, you'll have it for a long time (or maybe forever).
  • VAT return period can't be closed. So, someone can amend an invoice or bill or add one in to a previous VAT period, which of course screws everything up.
  • You can't set a date for stock to arrive. When you make the order, the system assumes that it's now in stock!
  • You can't save two customers with the same name! They will tell you to add a special character to duplicate names! Unbelievable but true!
  • There are no delivery notes/packing slips. They tout a "workaround" but be warned, it's exactly 10 extra clicks so it's really not an option if you need this feature.
  • If you want to send a document after preparing it, first you have to save it, wait for it to save, it takes you out to a main screen, you have to click back into it and then send it (if you send directly, it will send a draft document only).
  • There's loads more negatives but that's all I can think of now.
Read Fergus Mc Manamon's full review
March 09, 2020
Genie Forkner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrates perfectly with PayPal and Traditional Banks
  • Allows a novice to generate detailed reports and analytics
  • Easy to use visual interface
  • Affordable alternative to Quickbooks
  • Sorting and grouping invoices when reconciling payables
  • Payment interface integration with PayPal
  • Streamlining the banking history import features.
Read Genie Forkner's full review
March 04, 2020
Lori Feldman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Beautiful proposals compared to QuickBooks.
  • Easy reconciliation through the bank feed.
  • Customer service ALWAYS responds, although it may take them a day or so. I never feel abandoned by support.
  • Active and helpful community forum.
  • Even after 3 years, they never added Missouri to payroll, so I had to hire an outside payroll company, then reconcile their records with Xero.
  • The bank feed broke when my bank changed their authorization to a 2-step verification. Xero said it was out of their control, but I ended up having to export/import several times a month to stay up to date. Bummer.
  • Custom reporting is limited. There were many reports I would like to see and there's no way to create them unless Xero gives you something similar to customize.
Read Lori Feldman's full review
February 28, 2020
Karen Tkaczyk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cloud-based with web and mobile app versions.
  • Supports multiple currencies
  • Great UI
  • Easy to navigate
  • Many reporting options
  • Response time for improvements
  • No response to the only feature request I ever made (and many other users have supported my request).
  • They changed the payroll services without prior notice. (outsourced to a partner for US payroll).
  • They changed pricing without notice.
Read Karen Tkaczyk's full review
February 27, 2020
Holly Snell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Bank account connections to auto-download transactions - really help in ease and time management.
  • Multi-Currency capabilities
  • Financial reporting - concise and a lot of reports to choose from
  • 1099 capabilities are lacking - 1099 report is cumbersome to produce and doesn't save logistics for the next year or next time you need to run the report.
Read Holly Snell's full review
February 26, 2020
Jeremy Grant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Xero does the accounting and bookkeeping basics very well, and it also caters for the more experienced users to report comprehensively on the current status of their business.
  • Xero is Software-as-a-Service (SaaS), therefore we don't worry about backups. Our friends at Xero do that for us. It's also available 99.99% of the time.
  • Xero is accessible on any machine. We don't need to manage databases, VPNs etc. It's all done for us, securely!
  • Reporting on the Quotes modules. It is very difficult to manage large volumes of quotes.
  • Access levels could be more granular. Certain areas of the package allow for great flexibility, however there are times when you do need to restrict certain functionality. This is not a deal breaker however!
Read Jeremy Grant's full review
February 19, 2020
Jamie Wilkinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Xero is cloud-based software, unlike the sage product we were using, which allows us to have access from anywhere.
  • Xero links up with lots of other products we use to streamline processes.
  • The app does not update straight away - when looking at the P+L, and it doesn’t show the same figures as it does in the browser in real-time.
  • When you move from another provider, you have to set up new categories for costs and income.
Read Jamie Wilkinson's full review
January 28, 2020
Alyssa O'Mara | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Invoicing is very easy from creation, to sending, to reconciling.
  • Bank account reconciliation takes about 5 minutes each week.
  • They don't make it easy to have different fees for the same Item.
Read Alyssa O'Mara's full review
February 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • On the lowest level, easy to start using
  • On a higher level, it provides useful accounting reports that both accountants and non-accountants can read and understand.
  • Excellent Integration with other applications
  • Journal Entries - Accountants need to be able to entry to any Cash Accounts rather than always using "Spend" or Receive" Money.
Read this authenticated review
February 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The user interface is very easy on the eyes and intuitive, even for people with little accounting background/experience.
  • Xero produces beautiful and easily customizable reports.
  • Having Xero connect seamlessly with our payroll service provider makes accounting so much easier for us.
  • Xero is not designed for nonprofits, but it still meets all of our needs.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The convenience of the mobile version.
  • Setting up rules for easy transaction allocation.
  • For some reason, one of our preset rules works on the desktop version and not on the mobile version. We have to do this one on the desktop each time.
  • Even though it is a security measure, the 2 point verification is a pain when changing mobile phones.
Read this authenticated review
January 07, 2020
Steven Duran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reporting
  • Invoicing
  • Cloud accounting
  • Integrations with 3rd party logistic software
  • Additional reporting features
  • Out of the box integrations with ecommerce platforms
Read Steven Duran's full review
October 18, 2019
Lacey Davidson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Bank feeds work great, or I can easily import statements.
  • Easy to use, but still has the manual journal options for more detailed accounting.
  • Fixing errors is easy, plus gives detailed info on which user did what.
  • Cost! Very worth the low price.
  • Setting our own fiscal calendar is not available, so for every return or P&L, I have to manually adjust dates.
  • Remittance information on the checks is not available, and it very frustrating what they let you put on the checks.
  • Checks print in whatever weird order Xero puts them in. You can adjust to make it alphabetically and I can't figure out what ordering system they use.
  • We do use a small bank for one of our accounts, and it doesn't integrate with that bank. But that could be the bank's fault.
Read Lacey Davidson's full review
December 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • There is a live feed with the bank account (though there is a 1 day lag). In addition to the integration with Receipt Bank. It helps a lot with the bank reconciliation as the payments can be allocated to the invoices with a click of a button.
  • There is a function to auto generate invoices and send these periodically with an email template.
  • Software is user-friendly and easy to navigate as a non-accountant. It is quite intuitive and modern. Even the reporting for financial statements is easy to work with.
  • There must be a simpler way to process the refunds from the bank feeds. There must be a way to raise the refund from the bank reconciliation and allocate to an existing invoice or account.
  • Seems there is a difference if there is a bill raised or not which affects the reporting. There must be a way to raise the bill when reconciling with the bank feed.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It integrates really well with our BigCommerce store.
  • Really easy to use, even for non-financial minded people.
  • You cab set 'rules' for recurrent payments so that they are linked automatically to the relevant account and all you need to do is tap on them to approve - too easy!
  • Nothing that comes to mind.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2019
Jeanie Watt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Xero syncs well with our client management program Clio
  • Xero is relatively easy to learn and a thorough accounting system.
  • Producing financial reports from Xero is simple.
  • Xero's customer service people are friendly and helpful.
  • Xero is intuitive, ie it preloads names and GL accounts without having to type exactly every word correctly.
  • Often times client invoices don't sync well from Clio, so I have to recreate the invoice within Xero to apply payments.
  • We use the bank feed for 2 of our Xero accounts. When the bank feed fails from time to time, I have to type in all missed transactions as there is no way to grab them retroactively.
  • IOLTA account transactions within Xero are clunky and require extra steps.
Read Jeanie Watt's full review
February 28, 2019
Dr Olivier Becherel - Leadership and Executive Coaching | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Bookkeeping with direct feeds from bank accounts.
  • A simple and elegant user interface.
  • A variety of specific reports.
  • Makes reconciliation a breeze.
  • Lodge Activity statement.
  • Payroll management.
  • Integrates well with Stripe.
  • Sometimes bank feeds disconnect for no obvious reason.
  • Could provide graphic charts in addition to number reports to make it more visual.
Read Dr Olivier Becherel - Leadership and Executive Coaching's full review
February 23, 2019
James E. Heyward CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Xero has a clean user-friendly interface.
  • There are strong integrations with many complimentary applications.
  • The software is constantly being updated.
  • Since Xero was built for the web the application runs extremely smoothly.
  • The reporting function can certainly be improved. The function is good, but I think it is an area that could be simplified more.
  • Update the support function; they are very responsive but I don't think you can speak to a live person easily.
Read James E. Heyward CPA's full review
January 29, 2019
Ryan Freeman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Bank rec is really easy and forgiving when correcting a mistake.
  • Basic financial reports are built in and useful.
  • It's popular enough that there are numerous integration options with other platforms.
  • No invoicing, late fees - despite years and years and thousands of clients requesting it, Xero has decided not to develop any kind of interest or late fee functionality. Their only solution is to suggest a 3rd party tool that is quite expensive.
  • No bundling/assembly tracking. If you are selling an item or service that requires multiple products or multiple revenue accounts, you're out of luck. Unless you want to manually make adjustments, or pay hundreds of dollars for a 3rd party tool.
Read Ryan Freeman's full review
May 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Xero is extremely easy to use for all levels of users
  • As an accountant, I really appreciate Xeros ability to drill down and look at the details of transactions
  • Xero's reporting is easy to use and can be exported in different forms (pdf, excel, etc)
  • I had a few experiences where I had attached documention to a transaction, but when reviewed later it was no longer there.
  • One of the things I like about Xero is its simplicity, but it doesn't have as many Apps to sync with it as some of its competitors.
  • Some banks are still not able to sync with the Xero system.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Inventory Management - It's really easy to add goods/services and catalog them.
  • Invoicing - It provides detailed and customizable invoices for partner's organizations.
  • UI - It's a pretty easy to use software and very intuitive.
  • Auto-population - while this feature is useable there are always moments where something doesn't auto-populate the way I would expect it to.
  • Administrator controls - It would be nice to allow different users different levels of access.
  • Integration capacity - It would be really nice to integrate with the other inventory software we use.
  • Barcode scanning - we could use the ability to use a bar code scanner to speed up the inventory process.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (34)
8.8
Benefit plan administration (10)
6.5
Direct deposit files (30)
7.3
Salary revision and increment management (24)
5.7
Reimbursement management (30)
6.7
API for custom integration (56)
7.0
Plug-ins (53)
7.7
Single sign-on capability (37)
8.3
Role-based user permissions (68)
8.8
Dashboards (75)
8.5
Standard reports (78)
8.6
Custom reports (72)
7.8
Accounts payable (78)
8.9
Accounts receivable (79)
8.8
Cash management (73)
8.3
Bank reconciliation (80)
8.7
Expense management (75)
8.7
Time tracking (19)
6.3
Fixed asset management (53)
8.8
Multi-currency support (51)
8.7
Multi-division support (46)
7.9
Regulations compliance (35)
8.5
Electronic tax filing (32)
7.4
Self-service portal (47)
8.5
Global Financial Support (17)
6.7
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (17)
8.7
Intercompany Accounting (19)
8.3
Localizations (15)
6.7
Journals and Reconciliations (48)
8.9
Enterprise Accounting (17)
8.1
Configurable Accounting (28)
8.8
Centralized Rules Framework (16)
7.5
Standardized Processes (33)
8.1
Inventory tracking (36)
7.0
Automatic reordering (13)
7.0
Location management (15)
7.1
Manufacturing module (9)
5.5
Pricing (35)
7.4
Order entry (35)
8.8
Credit card processing (32)
8.4
Cost of goods sold (38)
8.4
Order Orchestration (10)
8.6
End-to-end order visibility (11)
8.4
Order exception Resolution (7)
8.3

What is Xero?

Xero is an online accounting software product for small businesses, as well as for personal finance. Xero competes most often with QuickBooks Online. Its features, beyond the ubiquitous general ledger and double-entry bookkeeping support, include invoicing with quotes, bank reconciliation, purchase order and expense management, tax management, and it is mobile-accessible. Third party apps can extend its features further.

The product is sold by subscription (a distribution model commonly known as software as a service or SaaS) requiring the payment of a monthly fee. This charge is proportionate to the number (and type) of company entities managed by the subscriber. The lowest tiered pricing option is the $9 per month Starter pack, which supports unlimited users but a limited number of transactions. The $30 Standard pack breaks open usage limits and adds e-filing and payroll options. The $70 Premium package doubles the number of supported employees on payroll from 5 to 10, and supports multiple currencies.

Xero Integrations

Xero Competitors

Xero Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Early$9per month
Growing$30per month
Established$60per month

Xero Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No