Blackbaud Grantmaking Reviews

36 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Krista Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2018

Blackbaud Grantmaking Review 2018

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Blackbaud Grantmaking (formerly GIFTS Online) to manage a funding program, including: all aspects of database and contact management, grantee reporting; our internal (staff and board) and external (funder) reporting; online applications; reviewer portal; budgeting, allocating and tracking grant disbursements. We utilize Blueprint for further ability to customize according to our needs. We disburse grants to individuals and organizations.

It provides clarity in tracking project deadlines, completed and outstanding projects, financial tracking by project, contacts (and associated applications) as well as project and program outcomes. We used to rely on more paper and multiple programs / databases to manage this information piecemeal when the program was smaller, but this was not efficient when the program kept expanding. The data management and reporting functions are great at managing and extracting the information we require.
Read Krista Patterson's full review
Jenn Brock | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2018

Granting

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a charitable foundation that gives grants to other not-for-profit entities. We track our annual giving, giving categories, and QD for our foundation. Monthly reports and annual reports are supplied to IRS with our 990.
Read Jenn Brock's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2018

Bank giving through Blackbaud

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackbaud Grantmaking is used by our bank in the US for both charitable giving through our foundation and corporate giving through local community partnerships and event sponsorships.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2018

Blackbaud Grantmaking Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Blackbaud to manage all of our online grant applications and to provide reporting information for accounting as well as program staff.

The system has provided access both for staff and grantees, better management, the ability to pull data from the grants using classifications and drop down menus. The Improvement is so significant it would be difficult to list how transferring to an online Grant Management System has benefited our organization.
Read this authenticated review
Patrick Points | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2018

Blackbaud Grantmaking for Multiple Funding Sources

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackbaud Grantmaking is used by our Philanthropic Services department to manage the grantmaking activities of our foundation clients. We use Blackbaud Grantmaking to:
  • Manage the processing of all grant applications (using the IGAM module);
  • Manage written and email communications with applicants and grantees;
  • Track and schedule and record payments;
  • Set reminders for critical tasks;
  • Generate custom reports for our clients.
Blackbaud Grantmaking is the only product we know of that allows us to manage the grantmaking processes from multiple funders simultaneously.
Read Patrick Points's full review
Jamie Amagai | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2018

Using Blackbaud Grantmaking at a Family Foundation

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Blackbaud Grantmaking (BG) to manage and track our grantmaking process from proposal invitation to close-out, including document/email generation, internal workflow management, board reports, and deliverable follow-up. I'm able to track the status of every application and grant. Our program assistants use BG to update the program directors on their grants, find contacts, and generate documents. Our program directors look up various types of information in BG.
Read Jamie Amagai's full review
Joanie Weis | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2018

Blackbaud Grantmaking

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a Family Foundation and we use Blackbaud Grantmaking as a means to maintain and track organizations, applications for grants, payments. All of us use it. Eliminated many Excel spreadsheets.
Read Joanie Weis's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2018

Blackbaud Grantmaking - very functional, but not integrated

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our foundation uses Blackbaud Grantmaking to manage our charitable grants throughout the entire process from application to review to award and reporting. As Grants Manager, I consider myself the "power user" of Blackbaud Grantmaking. In addition, our two program officers and an admin assistant use Blackbaud Grantmaking. Using Blackbaud Grantmaking has enabled our foundation to transition from hard copy applications to a paperless process and also to paperless Board of Directors meetings through use of PDFs from Blackbaud Grantmaking for use on their iPads. I also use the tools in Blackbaud Grantmaking to create custom dashboards for each user which has been very helpful for the program officers to see only the requests/grants that are their responsibility. The Blackbaud Grantmaking tools also help me in creating informative reports and graphics using the data reported from our grantees.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2018

How Blackbaud Grantmaking Can Be a Gift to You

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackbaud Grantmaking is only used in our grants department and one fund area as limited access to it. It addresses the problems of reaching out to grantees who are getting grants, and forgetting to report on the grants they have made. It aids the Finance department when it audit time as the software used allows a 990 format that is quick and easy to process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2018

Tracking Philanthropy in a sundowning Foundation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I manage our Annual giving by using Blackbaud Grantmaking. It is a way for me to compile and track all our grants in one cohesive platform. Blackbaud Grantmaking allows us to share our grant making amongst the various members of a philanthropic family. It compares and collates data across the multi-faceted and multi-generational grantmaking initiatives.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2018

Blackbaud Grantmaking User Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a Family Foundation and we utilize Blackbaud Grantmaking to maintain and track the organization's applications, payments, requirements and overall life-cycle of a contract. It is mandatory that all our operating agreements go through Blackbaud Grantmaking from inception to conclusion. We are an invitation only foundation so we send out applications to organizations that we would like to partner with for specific projects. At the end of the day, every aspect of the life cycle of the agreement goes through Blackbaud Grantmaking.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2018

Faithful user since 2007

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization uses Blackbaud Grantmaking for the full lifecycle management of our contracts/grants. The system is used by 20 programmatic staff, out of 50 total staff. There are some gaps, in terms of utilizing an automated workflow, but for standard grant/contract agreements the system design is great.

1. Invitation to Apply Process

i. Utilize an invitation only process

ii. Receive applications via the online application module

-Submit the online application checklist to trigger the development of the application (internal process outside of Blackbaud Grantmaking)

-Develop and test the online application, then issue to the contract manager for distribution to potential partners

-Download the completed application, confirm the correct coding and files

-Review the narrative request, budget and related attachments

iii. Track status of pending applications

2. Develop the Contract/Agreement

i. Generate the contract template from Blackbaud Grantmaking and it prepopulates: -Contact information of the partner, -Payment schedule, -Requirement schedule, -Coding (budget, geographic, service area, etc.)

ii. Use the Document Template Manager to ensure that the legal language of the contract remains consistent, unless a ‘redlined’ contract with proposed changes is indicated

iii. Review, finalize and print the contract for signatures

3. Manage Contract Requirements

i. Input full schedule of contract deliverables into BG

ii. Utilize the online reporting feature to allow service providers/grantees to submit their reports via the online portal

iii. Track status of receipt and approvals

iv. Tie attachments and narrative reports to the request record

v. Upload subsequent analysis of the progress of the project to BG

4. Manage Contract Payments

i. Input full schedule of payments into BG

ii. Track status of payments and approvals

iii. Generate the payment cover sheet from BG and it prepopulates: -Payment schedule, -Actual payments processed, -Contingent requirement(s), -Coding (budget, geographic, service area, etc.)

iv. Copy of the check is manually uploaded to payment tab in BG

5. Closeout

i. Determine final payout (or need of a credit memo to deobligate the remaining balance)

ii. Confirm that all requirements have been fulfilled and corresponding analysis has been uploaded

iii. Generate the form from BG and submit to Finance

iv. Update BG and mark the record ‘Completed’

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2018

My Feedback

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Initially guided by an eligibility quiz, we use Blackbaud Grantmaking to receive and process requests for both sponsorships and grants, as well as to share this information with field personnel for their review and feedback. Although limited, the budgeting function is helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2018

Blackbaud Grantmaking - Flexible, but Doesn’t Support Custom Scoring for Reviewers

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackbaud Grantmaking is being used by multiple departments. We are similar to an operating foundation, making grants as well as operating our own programs. Our internal departments use it for contracts, and the grantmaking team (program and accounting) uses it to manage about 130 grants a year. We had been on GIFTS since 2008, and moved to BG in 2017 so we could access the database online. This allows us to use it in the field during site visits, or to process grant applications after hours or offsite.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2018

Blackbaud Grantmaking is Great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a private family foundation and we use Blackbaud Grantmaking to track the family's personal giving, as well as the foundation. The foundation is a faith-based organization and we grant money to faith-based organizations and churches in the New England and Georgia geographical area. We like to remain anonymous with our giving.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2018

Blackbaud Grantmaking Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackbaud Grantmaking is used throughout our company's service footprint for our overall charitable giving program administration. Blackbaud Grantmaking enables us to organize, track and provide reporting information measuring impact and population demographics of organizations and nonprofits we support.
Read this authenticated review

About Blackbaud Grantmaking

Blackbaud Grantmaking (formally GIFTS Online) is part of Blackbaud’s extensive portfolio of innovative software, services, data intelligence and expertise that powers social good. Blackbaud Grantmaking delivers grantmaking capabilities configured to meet your needs, and improves your efficiency with personalized online grant applications and report forms, personalized user dashboards, and simplified financial processing tools. By providing access to giving data, including standard, advanced, and ad hoc reporting tools, Blackbaud Grantmaking also allows you to measure, understand, and improve your results. In addition, Blackbaud Grantmaking allows funders to become actively involved in the Foundation Center’s Glasspockets initiative with Grant reporting capabilities, allowing for greater collaboration and more impactful giving. If your organization’s goal is to provide guidance, transparency, and accountability throughout the grantmaking cycle, then Blackbaud Grantmaking is the only solution to meet your needs.

Blackbaud Grantmaking Features

Has featureConfigurable to meet your workflow
Has featureDashboards featuring real-time data
Has featureIntegrated tools for finance, payments and reporting
Has featureOutcomes measurement capabilities
Has featureOpen API to connect with your other essential software solutions

Blackbaud Grantmaking Screenshots

Blackbaud Grantmaking Integrations

Microsoft Office 2016, Quickbooks, Great Plains

Blackbaud Grantmaking Competitors

CyberGrants, Fluxx, Foundant, FoundationConnect, SmartSimple, Versaic

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

GIFTS Online pricing is based on factors such as number of user licenses and additional features. Pricing is available upon request, please visit https://www.blackbaud.com/grant-making/products/gifts-online.

Blackbaud Grantmaking Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Forum/Community
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Blackbaud Grantmaking Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All countries
Supported Languages: English (US), English (British), Welsh, Spanish, French, Portuguese