Cherwell Service Management

Cherwell Service Management

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.0 out of 100
Top Rated
Cherwell Service Management

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cherwell Review

7 out of 10
July 21, 2021
Cherwell is used extensively throughout the organization so that users can log service requests for Human Resources. For the Information …
Continue reading

Cherwell - ITSM

8 out of 10
July 20, 2021
The Wisconsin DNR uses Cherwell as an Agency underneath the primary organization - the Wisconsin DOA. It is used throughout enterprise IT, …
Continue reading

CSM is great!

10 out of 10
May 11, 2021
We work closely with Cherwell Service Management, it is used company-wide. Cherwell Service Management is a huge asset to our company, we …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 13 features

Organize and prioritize service tickets (46)

9.7
97%

ITSM reports and dashboards (45)

9.3
93%

Self-service tools (45)

9.0
90%

ITSM collaboration and documentation (42)

8.4
84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cherwell Service Management, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cherwell Service Management?

Cherwell Software was founded by the former CEO of FrontRage Solutions and is a full suite of service management tools competing with BMC Remedy, ServiceNow, and IBM SmartCloud.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://pages.cherwell.com/pricing.csm.…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

4 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management?

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and…

What is Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk)?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of…

Features Scorecard

Incident and problem management

8.7
87%

ITSM asset management

9.0
90%

Change management

9.4
94%

Product Details

What is Cherwell Service Management?

Cherwell Service Management is designed for organizations seeking large reductions in software license spending, IT overhead, and software audit risk. By integrating all the data related to hardware and software inventory, application usage, license entitlements, and IT purchases, users can track and manage IT investments from purchase to retirement and abandon Excel spreadsheets.

Cherwell Service Management Competitors

Cherwell Service Management Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cherwell Service Management?

Cherwell Software was founded by the former CEO of FrontRage Solutions and is a full suite of service management tools competing with BMC Remedy, ServiceNow, and IBM SmartCloud.

What is Cherwell Service Management's best feature?

Reviewers rate Organize and prioritize service tickets highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Cherwell Service Management?

The most common users of Cherwell Service Management are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 50)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Megan Hartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Low code solution development for business processes
  • Fantastic customer support and customer community
  • Exceptional value for the price
  • Highly usable out of the box for traditional ITIL processes
  • Cherwell lacks modern UI capabilities such as responsive forms and CSS styling for web portals.
  • Built-in reporting engine is hard to use and resource intensive to run.
  • No patching model for small platform fixes, must upgrade to receive platform code changes.
Rand Habegger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Consistent, timely notifications of status changes with a request or ticket.
  • Logical workflows can be be customized to guide the user through a specific request or ticket submission.
  • Fairly modern UI (though not entirely consistent throughout the product).
  • Difficult to find the right category of request or ticket type (possibly more of an internal or setup issue than with the platform itself).
  • Lack of a clear menu structure (Again, possibly a setup issue).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It has a lot of flexibility in terms of dashboard customization.
  • You can customize ticket workflows to send them to particular teams in order.
  • Effective use of metrics to make sure you are hitting your deadlines.
  • It isn't the best looking application overall.
  • It can be finicky when it comes to customization. You have to spend some time to get the results you are looking for.
  • Some of the navigation can be a bit confusing, using search function can sometimes be more difficult due to the level of granularity they want.
July 21, 2021

Cherwell Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Service requests.
  • Incident management.
  • Process scheduling is fiddly.
  • Word wrapping during text entry sometimes does not happen properly. You need to pop out the text box to see it properly.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Manages all issues and changes in one place..
  • Great job of tracking and time management to resolution.
  • Allows managers to quickly and easily see what is assigned to all members of their team and who's responsible for what.
  • The user interface could definitely use some improvement.
  • Lacks areas for descriptions of what teams handle which problems.
July 20, 2021

Cherwell - ITSM

Keene Marin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Automated workflows are done very well. There is a broad and configurable set of automations available, which allow for effective incident routing.
  • Reporting is very flexible with all the options available, dashboards and graphing in an automated manner can be an effective delivery or ITIL reports.
  • Web based clients allow for some good basic functionality, which are good for customers, or end users.
  • Within our deployment model of Cherwell, there are core functional pieces that have to be configured at the top level, rather than the sub levels, which make some areas difficult to manage. For example, if one agency wants to use feature x in one way, but another agency wants to configure the same feature in a different way, then consensus has to be gained first. Its not as fully flexible in the base configuration space as would be ideal.
  • Automated email processes, especially in the volumes that the State of Wisconsin goes through require some tweaking to allow them to fire in an effective way. We sometimes see problems with backlogs of these.
  • Licensing based on concurrency and usage is a very modern approach, however, it leads to challenges in how customers use it. For example, we have automated log-off's in place for the local clients in order to manage our own usage, to maintain reasonable costs.
David Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • After proper training on setting up the views and servers, Cherwell did a good job separating various department ownership of tickets. Our work views weren't cluttered with irrelevant information.
  • There is a lot of information that can be embedded into tickets. Such as sub-task assignments that could contain almost the same information as a ticket itself. Lot of customization options.
  • Custom personal dashboards were nice, once I figured out how to do it. Not everyone wants to see things the same way as other people, and being able to move touch points where you want is always a plus.
  • While I understand that a lot of customization can be up to an organization, the platform was always a huge pain when going beyond the installed client. The web client and mobile app were very problematic and clunky, locked up frequently.
  • My university was 50% Windows/50% Apple, and there's no Apple client.
  • The built in remote control capabilities on tickets for client machines didn't play well with our active directory. We always just used a different program.
  • Error handling could have been much better. Accidentally assigning ticket items to "non-existent" resources could crash the client. Such as if the resource was removed before a worker's view was refreshed.
  • Tickets can go into limbo very easily, and seemed to require more development than it should to protect us from doing that. This is because there's a lot of different ways to do the same thing. Too many touch points all over the place in the UI.
  • Too many ticket priority options. Clients could be assigned personal higher priorities through VIP status, tickets could be given their own priorities that conflict with client status, and SLA deadlines could assign other conflicting priorities. There were more but these were the most problematic if you're using Cherwell in a situation where you have limited developer time to nail down all the inconsistencies every day.
  • There was an arbitrary time tracking feature on tickets that attempted to gather data on how long certain resources took, but because the UI was very cumbersome this was more of a pain to do and was very inaccurate of the actual work it takes to do certain things.
May 11, 2021

CSM is great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Customer service
  • Pricing for resellers
  • System delivery
  • Support term acknowledgment
  • Accounting calculations for [record keeping]
  • Invoicing
April 29, 2021

Cherwell Service Desk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We are able to help parents at home thru the remote help feature.
  • Ticket creation is simple.
  • It can be a complicated interface for the technician.
  • Updating and logged information can be done in a number of places so training is important.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Allows users to submit structured and clear service request or incident report tickets.
  • Easy to see all updates and track work done on the ticket.
  • Slow overall performance.
  • Not all search parameters available in dashboard creation option.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Standard Change Templates - importing existing templates is quite easy, and nominating new Normal changes into a template is a great easy process as well.
  • Saved searches - When the reports don't quite give you what you need, searches are wonderful! Using the search function also gives a better depth of knowledge into what fields belong to which places in the database.
  • Support requests - this has been a great way for our IT guys to resolve "customer" issues quickly and in some semblance of order.
  • Back-end workflows need to speed up. Some of them seem very slow.
  • Aesthetics - viewing on some of the dashboards cuts the words off, which makes it difficult to use those graphs for reporting purposes.
  • I don't really have a third option - I haven't used the software quite that long yet.
Richie Ritter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Customization: Cherwell allows us to create custom solutions that address the specific challenges we face. From a very simple "feedback" form with a single text field to a more complex process with approvals allowing users to update information about their Configuration Items.
  • Integration: We pull data into the Cherwell system through various sources and different methods. We might use API calls to a web application to retrieve data, or directly connect to a database.
  • Cherwell currently has a sort of split system with an "Application" on one side and "Content" on the other. This is one of the greatest strengths because it enables deep customization to the "Content" while allowing new features and upgrades to the "Application" without causing disruption. Over the years, Cherwell has added great improvements to the Out-of-the-Box "Content" and the "Application" and while you can easily upgrade the "Application" side to gain the new features it provides, upgrading the "Content" is a much bigger challenge. Cherwell is very aware of this challenge, and is working to solve it, but the more you customize your "Content" the more difficult it is to pull in new features.
Voncia Molock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Capturing all of the activities involved in managing incidents in an easy to navigate way.
  • The ability to link incidents, problem and change requests to configuration items in the CMDB.
  • On steps to automate various business processes to eliminate manual processes.
  • Ease of upgrades and content.
  • Report writing.
  • Dashboard creation.
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Cherwell's email handling automation works flawlessly. The only time that I have ever needed to reset the automation service that drives it is when my own server that houses the small connecting agent has some kind of problem and disconnects us from our hosted Cherwell instance. It just works. Emails to a certain address always result in a new ticket or update to an existing ticket.
  • Cherwell is literally 100% customization in so many ways that it would be pointless to try to enumerate them. There is a very sizable list of already-created customizations (called "mApps") that you can download and apply to your instance. If you don't like them you can roll them back in seconds. But you can add and configure entire modules using one of these pre-defined, completely free, add-on packages. It's so easy to add features this way that I check the list of available mApps every month or so just to see what functionality I can add.
  • Cherwell's sales staff could use some improvement in the "paying attention to the little guy" area. It's true that sales people are focused on their larger potential commissions, and that is understandable, but as a small business, we were treated less than well by our Cherwell salesman. I would go so far as to say that he neglected us after we made the purchase and had a very serious complaint about what he sold us. We were sold a product without any implementation plan or package. I found out that we were probably the only customer that had this happen, but I wanted to mention t because it was huge headache to implement the product without any implementation help from the vendor.
  • I think Cherwell could do a better job of keeping their USA-based hosted server farm in better working order. Their infrastructure maintenance is improving and it doesn't affect Cherwell customers that host their own on-prem Cherwell servers, but for a long while they had a lot of failures at their on-demand server farm in Denver where they host instance for the US market. We would show up in the morning and our help desk technicians couldn't login for a couple of hours. They got these issues resolved quickly enough I suppose, within a few hours. And they did upgrade their Denver datacenter about a year ago and done better at maintaining it. But we literally can't do our jobs without Cherwell working as it s our primary help desk and end-user management tool.