TrustRadius
Hotjar is a conversion rate optimization tool for digital marketers. Features include heatmapping, visual session recording, conversion funnel analytics, form analytics, feedback polls and surveys, and usability testing. The tool is used by digital analysts, UX designers, web developers and product marketers.Hotjar is a useful toolWe use Hotjar within our agency on our client's websites. We mostly use if for heat mapping and session recordings. It is a good place to start if you are want to know what your users are doing on your website, and it is a good visual aid.,Heat mapping is great on Hotjar. It is a good place to start when you are looking at the UX & CRO on your website. You can see the % of people clicking on elements on a page, how far they scroll, and mouse movements. Hotjar is great for session recordings. These record the mouse movements, clicks, pages and scrolls of a user in video format. You can watch these to investigate what works well on a site and identify potential roadblocks and bugs. Hotjar is great as it ensures that users details are anonymous; for instance, if you are watching a session recording, you cannot see what a user types in a form field, as Hotjar blanks this out. Hotjar has a poll function, so you can have polls on your website.,Hotjar doesn't always render correctly. For instance, on heatmaps, not all elements will show, as it takes a snapshot of the first user's screen, and if elements haven't loaded, it does not show for any of your heatmap data. There is no way to exclude URLs when watching session recordings; for instance, if you specifically don't want to see users who are looking at careers, you have to skip through the videos manually. Hotjar has the ability to track forms; what fields users are completing, how long it takes, where do users abandon the form etc. Although this is highly dependant on how the form is built on the site, so it doesn't work for all forms.,8,Hotjar has been positive as we have been able to back up other pieces of insight and recommendations for clients using the data from Hotjar. Hotjar is positive as it is a reasonably priced tool.,,VWO,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys Research StudiesHotjar is the King of User Experience AnalysisWe use Hotjar for almost all of our clients, including ourselves. This tool helps make strategic and intelligent recommendations for our website projects.,Provides in-depth information on what the website user is actually doing. Provides context to data like Google Analytics. Ex. The home page has 100 clicks but low time on the page. Hotjar can show exactly what the users are doing on the homepage. Price. It's extremely affordable for the power it has.,Navigating complex functionality on websites. Often, it doesn't know how to read certain elements that appear on the page. Recovering deleted heat maps or recordings.,10,Hotjar has led to new work that might not have previously come in. For how cheap it is, we've been able to utilize it to enhance all of our website projects and make more money off of them.,Crazy Egg,Moz, RavenTools, WordStream Advisor,Customer Surveys Research StudiesHotjar ReviewHotjar is being used by the CRO team. We then use it on our client's websites to educate and inform them of any areas of opportunity. Other teams such as Client Services use Hotjar, however they browse rather than set anything up via the tool. Hotjar helps to view any problems with the site, any areas that could be improved, or any issues that users are having with particular pages/fields.,There's a lot of filtering capabilities within session recordings, which allows you to be able to find videos/users who meet your needs. It is an easy product to be able to use in terms of navigation/UI. The support team always seems to be on hand to provide any assistance and support.,There should be capabilities to do numerous session recordings on different areas of the site at once. Other tools I have used in the past (Decibel Insight) had the ability to automatically set up heatmaps on all of the pages - which would be good if it could be done on Hotjar.,7,Helped to information from testing roadmaps. With the data, we were then able to improve conversion rates for clients.,Decibel Insight,VWO, WhatUsersDo, Google Analytics,Customer Surveys Research StudiesA great budget UX toolHotjar is being used to do both quantitative and qualitative analysis of our marketing site. It helps us answer the question of "how are people using our site?" in ways we cannot assume. It's Recording and Heatmap features help us see how people are using the site, and surveys give us the ability to gather feedback quickly. We use the surveys on our support site for the team to evaluate the effectiveness of individual articles.,Recordings are easy to watch and gather insights. Heatmaps are easy to set up and have a very simple interface to browse through. Setting up surveys is very intuitive. The free plan is very generous if you just want to try it out.,Results can be a bit cumbersome to parse through, especially if you have a lot of survey feedback. It'd be nice to have additional ways to sort and filter feedback. It's somewhat annoying to have to preemptively set up heat maps. It takes active participation while other tools allow you to autorun your allowance across the site to be able to bring up the data on demand. This is preferable. The visual feedback tool doesn't seem like it'd get the right type of feedback. Maybe for a team without designers, it might, but having people give design feedback on your site doesn't usually have the best results.,8,Not necessarily a direct ROI, but it's given us insights into how we can improve our UX or where people are struggling in our user flows. This has resulted in a store experience that is extremely easy to use.,VWO, Crazy Egg and Google Analytics,Google Analytics, Crazy Egg, Figma, Sketch,Customer Surveys Research StudiesThe best value visual behavior analyzing tool on the market. Get your free account today!I use Hotjar to get visuals of how visitors behave on websites; how far they scroll, where they click, how they move on the page, and much more. From here, this information can be used to modify websites to improve conversions. I use it on my website and also on my client's websites too. The problem addressed is to confirm to clients how their site could be improved. Often times, they need to see it so they believe what I tell them. :),Value-oriented, great for startups and SMB Heatmaps (click, move, scroll) Feedback polls and surveys Easy Reporting,Honestly, none that I can think of. :),10,Learning to make everything clickable to get more website engagement (people click on words thinking they are links, so they should be linked). Learning to move CTA above the fold because we learn people don't scroll down too far.,Crazy Egg,Customer Surveys
Unspecified
Hotjar
133 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Hotjar Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Hotjar
133 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 133 vetted Hotjar reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sarah O'Donnell profile photo
March 28, 2019

User Review: "Hotjar is a useful tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar within our agency on our client's websites. We mostly use if for heat mapping and session recordings. It is a good place to start if you are want to know what your users are doing on your website, and it is a good visual aid.
  • Heat mapping is great on Hotjar. It is a good place to start when you are looking at the UX & CRO on your website. You can see the % of people clicking on elements on a page, how far they scroll, and mouse movements.
  • Hotjar is great for session recordings. These record the mouse movements, clicks, pages and scrolls of a user in video format. You can watch these to investigate what works well on a site and identify potential roadblocks and bugs.
  • Hotjar is great as it ensures that users details are anonymous; for instance, if you are watching a session recording, you cannot see what a user types in a form field, as Hotjar blanks this out.
  • Hotjar has a poll function, so you can have polls on your website.
  • Hotjar doesn't always render correctly. For instance, on heatmaps, not all elements will show, as it takes a snapshot of the first user's screen, and if elements haven't loaded, it does not show for any of your heatmap data.
  • There is no way to exclude URLs when watching session recordings; for instance, if you specifically don't want to see users who are looking at careers, you have to skip through the videos manually.
  • Hotjar has the ability to track forms; what fields users are completing, how long it takes, where do users abandon the form etc. Although this is highly dependant on how the form is built on the site, so it doesn't work for all forms.
Hotjar is suitable for tracking data. If you know a certain page isn't being visited on a site, Hotjar may provide extra insight into how many users are clicking CTAs to that page for instance. So Hotjar is a good tool to know the 'why' if something is going wrong on your website.

Hotjar is less appropriate for use on its own; it should be used in conjunction with other data. This is because it can be unreliable. For instance, a heatmap may be unreliable if it hasn't rendered correctly.
Read Sarah O'Donnell's full review
Cory Runk profile photo
March 29, 2019

Review: "Hotjar is the King of User Experience Analysis"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar for almost all of our clients, including ourselves. This tool helps make strategic and intelligent recommendations for our website projects.
  • Provides in-depth information on what the website user is actually doing.
  • Provides context to data like Google Analytics. Ex. The home page has 100 clicks but low time on the page. Hotjar can show exactly what the users are doing on the homepage.
  • Price. It's extremely affordable for the power it has.
  • Navigating complex functionality on websites. Often, it doesn't know how to read certain elements that appear on the page.
  • Recovering deleted heat maps or recordings.
Hotjar is well-suited for anyone who manages a website. Period. If you want in-depth analytics on the user experience of your website, you're going to want Hotjar.
Read Cory Runk's full review
Rachel Harrison profile photo
March 28, 2019

"Hotjar Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is being used by the CRO team. We then use it on our client's websites to educate and inform them of any areas of opportunity. Other teams such as Client Services use Hotjar, however they browse rather than set anything up via the tool.

Hotjar helps to view any problems with the site, any areas that could be improved, or any issues that users are having with particular pages/fields.
  • There's a lot of filtering capabilities within session recordings, which allows you to be able to find videos/users who meet your needs.
  • It is an easy product to be able to use in terms of navigation/UI.
  • The support team always seems to be on hand to provide any assistance and support.
  • There should be capabilities to do numerous session recordings on different areas of the site at once.
  • Other tools I have used in the past (Decibel Insight) had the ability to automatically set up heatmaps on all of the pages - which would be good if it could be done on Hotjar.
I'd recommend Hotjar if a colleague needed to get further information and insight as to what is happening on a website and wants to have an idea of ways that they would be able to improve this.
Read Rachel Harrison's full review
Andrew Richardson profile photo
March 04, 2019

Hotjar Review: "A great budget UX tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is being used to do both quantitative and qualitative analysis of our marketing site. It helps us answer the question of "how are people using our site?" in ways we cannot assume. It's Recording and Heatmap features help us see how people are using the site, and surveys give us the ability to gather feedback quickly. We use the surveys on our support site for the team to evaluate the effectiveness of individual articles.
  • Recordings are easy to watch and gather insights.
  • Heatmaps are easy to set up and have a very simple interface to browse through.
  • Setting up surveys is very intuitive.
  • The free plan is very generous if you just want to try it out.
  • Results can be a bit cumbersome to parse through, especially if you have a lot of survey feedback. It'd be nice to have additional ways to sort and filter feedback.
  • It's somewhat annoying to have to preemptively set up heat maps. It takes active participation while other tools allow you to autorun your allowance across the site to be able to bring up the data on demand. This is preferable.
  • The visual feedback tool doesn't seem like it'd get the right type of feedback. Maybe for a team without designers, it might, but having people give design feedback on your site doesn't usually have the best results.
Very well suited for small teams. It's very very affordable and provides a lot of quality tools that I've spent a lot more for on other platforms. These can give you invaluable insights if you take some time to go through the tools and see how you can use them. If you have a small UX budget, this plus Google Analytics can be a great combo.
Read Andrew Richardson's full review
Sanjit Mandal profile photo
January 25, 2019

Hotjar Review: "The best value visual behavior analyzing tool on the market. Get your free account today!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Hotjar to get visuals of how visitors behave on websites; how far they scroll, where they click, how they move on the page, and much more. From here, this information can be used to modify websites to improve conversions. I use it on my website and also on my client's websites too. The problem addressed is to confirm to clients how their site could be improved. Often times, they need to see it so they believe what I tell them. :)
  • Value-oriented, great for startups and SMB
  • Heatmaps (click, move, scroll)
  • Feedback polls and surveys
  • Easy Reporting
  • Honestly, none that I can think of. :)
Anyone who has created a website and wants to learn how to improve it for conversions, this is the perfect tool. This is a true and tested way to test how a designer has created a website. It can also be used to A/B test a website and the placement of a CTA. The more we know about our website the better we can modify it to better serve the visitors.
Read Sanjit Mandal's full review
Mirzet Kadric profile photo
January 25, 2019

Review: "Let Hotjar help you optimize your user experience!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar with the 75 employees at our web agency to understand user experience on our client's websites. By using HotJar we are able to get more accurate data and help with the implementation of new features.

  • Heatmaps work well
  • Recording user sessions
  • Ability to deploy polls and surveys
  • Recording feature sometimes glitches
  • Hard to organize the data
  • Popup customizations
Hotjar is super powerful for tracking user behavior on our client's websites. It is very useful when you launch a new website and want to see what your visitors do, where they click and what kind of issues they face. We use this insight to design and optimize web pages for a better conversion rate.
Read Mirzet Kadric's full review
No photo available
March 28, 2019

User Review: "Hotjar for agencies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is used by the UX & CRO department of my agency, which provides digital marketing services. It helps us understand how users are behaving on our client's websites, letting us see what sections of pages are valuable to users, and any technical issues they may have. It adds an extra layer of insight to data gathered via Google Analytics.
  • Heatmaps.
  • Session recordings.
  • On-site polls.
  • More control in URLs heatmaps/session recordings/polls and more advanced URL options.
  • Certain content doesn't load in Hotjar, eg iframes, reviews widgets, maps.
  • Sometimes heatmaps don't seem to load properly so that less than 50% of users appear to make it to the average fold marker (normally most would make it to the average fold marker).
Hotjar is well suited to seeing how actual users of your site behave on a page, rather than user research which can be quite artificial. It also allows you to poll your users. It's good for top-level, brief overviews of behavior, rather than in-depth analysis.

Hotjar is less suited to very specific targeting of polls/heatmaps, as URL targeting is quite limited. It's also unsuitable for in-depth user research via the polls, as many users find the pop-ups annoying and don't answer properly. Focus groups/moderated user research would be better for gaining deeper insight into what users think about your website.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 28, 2019

Review: "Hotjar is great and still has opportunity to get better"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by the UX & CRO department and is included in most, if not all, UX & CRO campaigns. It is used to inform test recommendations and quick fixes to the site which may be hard to add to the dev queue without the data from Hotjar/other user research.
  • Split heatmaps by device.
  • Session recordings.
  • Polls.
  • Filters within session recordings.
  • Allowing us to see elements/JS/CSS within the heatmaps so you can be more specific where users have clicked.
  • Date ranges.
It is good for providing supporting stats.
Read this authenticated review
Santiago Valdés profile photo
August 27, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Great insights for a very low price"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for two things: understand how people react to changes in our design or functionality, and to understand intent (or try to deduce it) with polls. It is mainly used by the marketing team, and we use the video recording feature a lot, and the polls too. We used the feedback button but it's a bit annoying that you can't choose were to show it. It just pops up everywhere and on mobile that might be a bit confusing and annoying.
  • Video recording works very well. You choose which pages to record (based on many factors) and records appear very quick. This is the most useful feature for us. Of course you can't understand intent completely, but certainly there are usability things that will popup quickly.
  • Polls work well too. We have an eCommerce site so we ask different questions in many places, and it has proven to be helpful. You need a certain volume and also beware that it's annoying or confusing for some users. But considering that cost, it might be worthwhile when it's about an important page.
  • Heatmaps works well but they aren't that useful. Yes, the scroll % of people is nice but not as actionable as the other features.
  • The video recording feature is very slow to use. I know there is a very powerful process going on (saving your CSS and the DOM movements you make) but anyway it's slow to use.
  • Hotjar itself is heavy and has effects on your load times. This is a very important issue and I hope they're working on that.
  • Adding more segmentation would be nice. For example, being able to connect your API or more information to show relevant polls or feedback buttons to certain users. Aggregated info is hard to process.
For what you pay ($29 in our case) this is an amazing tool and I've seen huge and very small companies use it, so seems like scalability is not an issue at all. If you want to learn more about usability or intent from your customers, this is for you. If you think this will give you all the answers you need.... forget it. This is quantitative research but needs to be heavily paired with qualitative research if you want to understand where the main issues arise.

This can get you to understand the easy first 70% of the problem (which is a lot.) The other 30% requires the same effort but more specific tools and more qualitative research.
Read Santiago Valdés's full review
J.P. VanderLinden profile photo
June 12, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Price + Features = Slam Dunk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar in our AdOps department to analyze user behavior on websites that we are running campaigns too. Our Growth Specialists install Hotjar, then use the heatmaps and user recordings to inform us about how users are interacting with the website during browsing, lead generation, checkout and other engagement. We also use Hotjar information to evaluate how effective landing pages are and whether there are any technical glitches we need to address, especially for mobile devices.
  • User recordings are the most useful feature of Hotjar - they separate the tool from competitors by allowing an anecdotal, real-life view of users working their way through your website funnel.
  • The ability to deploy polls and surveys is a great feature to level up information gathering. Simple questions around intent/goals, objections or demographics can add color to your understanding of visitors and flesh out personas.
  • A core component of Hotjar is heatmaps. The fact that these heatmaps are segmented by device and offer click, mouse movement AND scroll tracking are crucial to understanding user interaction on web pages in aggregate. This is especially valuable on landing pages.
  • The Hotjar user recording feature sometimes glitches up and doesn't render CSS properly, which can lead to a recording of low value when you can't understand what's stopping a user.
  • User recordings have a lot of attached metadata such as country, device, operating system or day/time - however, not all of these pieces of metadata are usable in segmentation. Most notably, it would be useful to filter by recordings NOT from a certain set of countries, to eliminate or target internal users.
  • Funnel tracking is a good idea in theory, but in practice, I've found it to be inaccurate and misleading, due to the way that HotJar processes the data it receives at each step.
For user behavior analysis on a website, whether it be e-commerce, lead-generation or SaaS, Hotjar is a fantastic solution. Tracking individual landing page interaction (scroll depth, mouse clicks), recording user behavior on mobile devices, or initiating polls and surveys all packed together in one tool and delivered at a great price make Hotjar my go-to UX software for websites.
Read J.P. VanderLinden's full review
Sheryl Biesman profile photo
September 21, 2018

Review: "Hotjar is a MUST-HAVE tool for UX testing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar to understand the user experience on our website, to test new features, to run surveys and to study heatmapping. Primarily we set recordings of user sessions that we study to give us directional information about how people are interacting with our brand.
  • Records user sessions.
  • Allows for specific webpage research.
  • Pop-up surveys on specific pages.
  • It would be great to have the option of audio feedback about the website.
Hotjar is a simple to use tool that provides invaluable research into how users are interacting with your website. It allows you to a/b test new features and functions and understand very quickly what is working and what isn’t by watching the recordings of each user session. It is super easy to set up and capture in and it is priced reasonably. There is no reason everyone shouldn’t use Hotjar!
Read Sheryl Biesman's full review
James Egan profile photo
June 11, 2018

Hotjar Review: "An absolute hottie"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Working with a FinTech, it is important to know what clients are doing when they arrive at our website. When a client arrives it is important to know where they are looking. For instance, are they looking at a call to the beauty of Hotjar that we can see the heatmaps and then look at repositioning the CTA?
  • Heatmaps, unbelievable, let us look at the movement of our visitors. Where are they, what do they do, where are our CTAs?
  • Visitor recordings. Also picking up OS and Device type on visitor recordings are absolutely amazing information.
  • I have mentioned this before with a lot of software. Put an FAQ that is not just a quick reference to your sales pitch
  • Hotjar is amazing. Settle down with the sales pitch. You are awesome. We will buy your product on our own
There is a hell of a lot of things that you can use Hotjar for. I use that funnel as an example to a lot of clients. But the form tool is the most powerful. Drop off points are so intuitive. I love the heatmaps, but again the form tool and funnel creation are the best things since sliced bread.
Read James Egan's full review
Gideon Taub profile photo
June 05, 2018

Review: "Love Hotjar to help us optimize our user experiences!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is used by our Product Management and Design/UX resources to deeply understand how our users interact with our product and specifically where in the onboarding process they are abandoning creating and funding their account. The team uses the information to optimize the user experience and to streamline onboarding. It is tremendously valuable in understanding where users get hung up without expensive focus groups.
  • Hotjar does an amazing job of visually showing us how our users interact with our software. Their software creates videos showing how users navigate our app, complete forms, etc. The videos that they create are earmarked when key events happen (change pages, click back, etc.) so that we can hone in on key milestones in the user experience.
  • It works seamlessly across PC web, mobile web, and mobile app.
  • It tracks where the user's mouse is so that we can track how the user is processing each screen.
  • They also provide heatmaps for key screens and highlight where the users are spending time on each page.
  • For our needs, we really have no areas that could be improved. I imagine with very complex apps understanding the user flow and navigation could be tedious, but for most apps, it is a great solution.
Hotjar is super well suited any time a new workflow, new feature, or new user experience is being tested with users. It is a tremendous tool to easily understand how users are engaging with the new capability and to quickly be able to iterate and optimize the user experience, across mobile and web. We have not yet started A/B testing different workflows, so I cannot speak to how well Hotjar would help in decision making once that is in place.
Read Gideon Taub's full review
No photo available
November 06, 2018

User Review: "HotJar for UX Design"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HotJar to get detailed user interaction data to help validate and influence usability and design decisions. When designing our web products, we have a relatively limited ability to do the breadth and depth of usability research before we launch new features. When new features do get released, they are validated only by that small audience. Using HotJar, we are able to get more data than we know what to do with to help validate or invalidate our decisions made at launch.
  • User session video capture - HotJar allows us to conduct usability testing as if we were sitting behind a user, interacting with our web software. Although we don't get audio, we can see exactly how a user interacts and moves around our software. We can see clicks, mouse movements, time spent during any given activity, and more. And best of all, the video timeline gives us timestamps/markers where major interactions happened, allowing us to find those interactions quickly.
  • Hot spot heat maps - Just like any good analytics tool, HotJar provides great colored heat maps of how frequently users clicked/interacted on different parts of our web page. This gives us a quick, at-a-glance idea of what our users are focusing on.
  • Dynamic user surveys - Sometimes pure interaction data is not enough to get the info we need. Luckily, HotJar gives us the ability to create dynamically-driven surveys on our web app. These surveys can be change without needing to re-deploy our entire application - they can be updated through the HotJar tool.
  • Customization of in-page user surveys - Although it is a great tool to be able to publish and update user surveys that appear on our web page, the customization options (mostly UI) are somewhat limited, making the survey either stick out like a sore thumb, or look like an advertisement or error on our site. It would be great to get a little bit more control over how the survey appears on our site.
  • Honestly, I have not run into any other major examples I can detail where HotJar has not been able to do what I have needed it to do!
HotJar is well suited for our UX team in trying to get as much data as possible to validate our decisions decisions. Specifically, we have a interaction component that is focused on showing and hiding metadata of a given item on the screen. We had many conflicting ideas within our team of the best way to show/hide this data. We implemented one of our ideas that we thought would be the best to test out in the wild. HotJar has provided very specific data about how our users are interacting with that interaction component, and we can now iterate on making updates that are in direct response to what we are seeing through HotJarData.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Website tracking tool that uncovers it all!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Hotjar in the marketing department to analyze how the website is performing and what should we be changing in order to improve conversions. The tool shows clicking data (where website visitors are clicking on) and the scrolling data (how far down the page are the visitors scrolling). We use the gathered information to decide what to change on the website to improve users' experience and conversions.
  • Tracks number of clicks on the website
  • Shows you how the users are moving on the page. It records their mouse movement.
  • It shows you the scrolling data so you know if your content is being seen at all.
  • It would be great to have it set so you can pick a specific time period to show the data for, ie last week, last month. Sometimes we run different campaigns that can cause different behavior on the page (ie, webinar promotion) and it'd be great to observe the specific period only.
  • More how-tos and guides on how to read the numbers and what changes you should be making based on the numbers.
  • Visual reports instead of csv ones. It's much easier to understand!
It's a great tool to monitor your website activity. You'll learn exactly what is it that your visitors are doing on the website and will be able to identify inefficiencies or places for change and improvement. This tool is suited for bigger teams that can take the data and apply the changes. If you're a one-man show, it's likely you won't have the time to do it all on your own. Changes require design and coding, which are usually very time-consuming.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 01, 2018

Review: "Hotjar is a must have for a marketer that cares about their website"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is being used specifically in our marketing department to help have a better idea of what our customer journey on our website is in relation to what we intend it to be. Using Hotjar, we can see where on our website people bounce from our pages, where people click, hover their mouse, and watch individual recordings to see how users interact with our website. It adds a more visualized perspective on a lot of information provided by Google Analytics.
  • Visitor recording is amazing. To be able to see how a user that starts on a landing page progresses through and interacts with your website is incredibly useful to iterate on high traffic pages and to find impactful places to A/B test
  • Heatmaps are also impressive. To see where people drop off of your page or where they click and hover their mouse is incredibly valuable information to have. It shows where your visitors' attention is drawn and can point to places where you could add a CTA.
  • Hotjar could use more algorithms and advanced analytics to make suggestions for you. As valuable as all of the information available to you can be, sometimes it is an overwhelming amount of data and if they had a way to help guide you towards data driven decisions (lots of people leave your page by this point, maybe you should reorganize the page, etc.), that would be nice.
  • It would be nice to be able to see why people leave the page on the heatmaps. For example, on a page with a full nav menu, a lot of users will leave the page at the top since they find the page they find the page they're looking for.
Anybody who cares about seeing what their users are doing on their website should be using Hotjar. It's definitely best suited for e-commerce websites to see potential conversion opportunities, but can certainly be used by informational websites to help give people the best information in the best way. Hotjar is most useful if you have time to do plenty of research on your data, if you only have a little bit of time here and there it's likely that you won't get the most out of it.
Read this authenticated review
Sasha Fritzel profile photo
May 16, 2018

User Review: "Hotjar - A Very Useful Little Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar to track user behavior on our website, by pulling heatmaps of certain high-traffic pages, and setting up user recordings so analyze user behavior. We simply select the subpages on our website we want to track, and Hotjar records sessions, showing you where a user clicks and scrolls to on our pages.
  • Ease of Setup - To setup Hotjar, we were able to use the pixel through Google Tag Manager. It took only a few minutes, and as long as you have an existing GTM account, Hotjar begins tracking instantaneously.
  • Low Price Point - Hotjar is very reasonably priced for a user behavior tool. Instead of hiring user experience testers, we can leverage the traffic we already have to understand how customers use our website.
  • Heatmaps - The heatmaps provided by Hotjar are easy to analyze and aesthetically simple.
  • Updates - The product has released very few updates or improvements since I began using it, and the core offerings have remained the same.
Hotjar is a great, inexpensive tool with a multitude of benefits for website managers. I highly recommend Hotjar to anyone looking for user data on their website, or trying to understand how user-friendly their current interface is. Overall, I've been using Hotjar for 3 years, and it has helped frame many user experience or website improvement discussions.
Read Sasha Fritzel's full review
Austin Schmidt profile photo
March 09, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Go from data to context in just minutes."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is used to understand how prospects and customers interact with websites and landing pages. It's used by marketing and web development, primarily. It solves the problem that metrics can be misunderstood. A conversion rate is low... but why? It's a guessing game if you're just going off Google Analytics data. We use Hotjar to see detailed heat maps and screen recordings to give context to the data.
  • Powerful freemium model. A small business can use Hotjar for free while web traffic is low. Most features are included in the free version. Even a large business with a lot of traffic can experiment with it for free on a subset of pages.
  • Simplicity. Installing takes just a few minutes and a simple copy and paste of a script. Viewing and understanding heatmaps and recordings is really straight-forward.
  • I LOVE the ability to watch recordings at 2 to 4x speed and skip gaps of no movement or activity. It really helps me get more insight in less time.
  • I wish there were an easier way to look at the charts and recordings by paid traffic source. There's some more manual ways to do the latter, but streamlining would be nice.
  • The polls and surveys are interesting, but I don't love the design. More control would be great.
  • Alerting me of significant changes in KPIs or behavior would be cool.
Hotjar is well suited for anyone with a website that's seeking context to better optimize it. Hotjar is especially good for small businesses and start ups looking for a reasonable entry price, but not wanting to sacrifice features as they grow.

It's less well suited for those without the bandwidth to spend time analyzing the results. It's not a "set and forget" product. While it's efficient, it requires work.
Read Austin Schmidt's full review
Chris Lenhart profile photo
March 01, 2018

User Review: "Hotjar is free and useful."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is my go to source for capturing user feedback within our site. It makes it easy to automate surveys, trigger polls based on specific user actions, record user sessions so that you can observe behavior, and analyze where users are dropping off of your forms. Best of all, it's completely free to try and fairly cheap to purchase.
  • Surveys - you can create surveys and trigger them automatically within your app. Hotjar will collect and visualize the data for you.
  • Session Recordings - you can record whole sessions or trigger them when a user visits a certain page to see how people really behave on your site.
  • Polls - you can ask your users a question at any point in their journey. Particularly useful when combined with tag manager.
  • Regex targeting - use regular expressions to target groups of pages.
  • Forms could be easier to target.
  • Incoming feature is slightly redundant with polls.
  • Branching surveys would be nice.
Hotjar is great for gathering user feedback for almost any kind of web application. You can use it whenever you want to ask your users a question or series of questions, or see how they behave, where they click, and how far they scroll. If your app is a single page application, you may need someone with a bit of front end dev experience and Google Tag Manager to make the most of it.
Read Chris Lenhart's full review
No photo available
April 06, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Certainly a HOT product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar was mainly used by the marketing department since we were responsible for the global and local websites. Hotjar tackles the problem a lot of companies struggle with; "How is my website being used." Step one is to build a consumer friendly, inviting or really professional website, step two is getting traffic and step thee is to keep the visitors there. Google Analytics does a fantastic job at showing the traffic flow, but it fails to show which parts of the website are looked at or clicked at the most. This is where Hotjar steps in.
  • Hotjar is a very "visual" application. This made it easy to show our data to other colleagues in order to discuss the future of the website.
  • The application makes you see the website through the eyes of an unknowing consumer. This souds a bit cheeky, but it's easy to make false assumptions about a project you have been working on for a long time.
  • The 'heatmap' really shows what's important on your website and what needs improvement. For example we had a large front page but we noticed people stopped scrolling after a while. We decided to make the page smaller in order to make the page load faster.
  • While the data is really interesting, the amount of data can get huge over time. If you don't prepare this you'll be stuck with a big load of heatmaps and videos that all look a little bit different.
  • It's quite hard to organize the aquired data. There is no easy way to leave notes or integration with organisational applications.
Hotjar is a great addition to your online-marketing arsenal. If you're in the position where you can ask yourself: "We have a great website but how do we make it even better?" - this is the application you need. With its detailed heatmaps and videos, you can easily see what's the most interesting and what gets the most attention on your pages.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 29, 2018

Review: "Find out why HotJar is an invaluable tool to gain insights from your customers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotJar is a heatmap and feedback software and it is used mainly by our marketing department and in particular by our webmasters and digital marketers. We make frequent changes to our website with new landing pages and content and HotJar is a great tool to see if the changes we make work and how effectively we engage our visitors.
  • Before HotJar we had to purchase at least three separate software to obtain the same data (Crazy Egg, Qualaroo and Survey Monkey).
  • I particularly like the "Recording" section where you can capture each and every session of your visitors when they hit the website and you watch over their shoulders.
  • The HeatMap feature is great and it is essential when you design new landing pages. You can get valuable insights on what areas of your site people are spending time on.
  • The Poll feature is great and people give us feedback on our site and we can gain valuable insights. The only drawback is that sometimes people ask a specific question and don't leave their contact (because it's just a poll) so we can never get back to them with the answer.
  • The Funnel Feature is good but it could be improved. I find it a bit too simplistic and it should have more data.
  • The “Recruiters” feature is very interesting in theory but I don’t think it really works in real life. It basically allows you to recruit some of your visitors and invite them to a live user test via screen sharing (Skype) to truly see what they are thinking. The problem if you have to find people that want to do it and I don't think people will do it unless you give them a gift back.
It's great for any company that has an in-house marketing department and people are very hands-on and they are interested in testing all the changes to a website. Less appropriate for people that are not very interested in digging deeper into data and insights.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 28, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Great product to capture user behavior and qualitative data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Hotjar for many years, mainly in marketing and product departments but heatmaps and users recordings are useful for everyone in the organization. We use Hotjar to diagnose onsite and UX issues and to identify conversion gaps. The tool helps us also in the CRO department as we are able to fine-tune our experiments and speed up the review process.
  • The ease of use, heatmaps and recordings can be set up in seconds, and then shared with the team using a link
  • The feedback and data gathered can provide great insights that help to optimize our website.
  • When running experiments with any A/B testing tool you only get quantitive data and there is very limited insight into how or why users engage with one variation over another. Hotjar gives a fuller picture of our customers and their motivations for engaging with our site.
  • Not all the website traffic is captured.
  • The amount of data gets huge after a dozen or so heatmaps and hundreds of videos. There is no good way of categorizing those.
  • The feedback tools are quite simple and not as customizable as I would like them to be.
Hotjar does everything you need to help you determine how users behave on your site and to pinpoint issues that couldn't be captured any other way. You can use the data to help you fix bugs, optimize design and improve the user experience. Hotjar is a must have for any marketing, product and conversion rate optimization department.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 16, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Great tool to track user behavior in your website"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar both on our website and our web platform. I'm personally using it and find it very useful. Although there are some other alternatives in the market, I like what the team behind Hotjar has built and continues building. Session recordings and heat maps are the tools that I use the most, as they help me understand how our website visitors browse the website, how they navigate and what we can improve to increase the conversion rate. Also, we use funnels feature sometimes to track completion rates for some essential flows.
  • Hotjar does pretty good session recording which helps us understand how visitors browse our website
  • Heat maps feature is also very useful
  • Surveys are another feature that Hotjar has and we used to get some feedback from our users
  • Would be great to have the ability to add filtering to the funnel analysis
  • Support for native mobile apps would be a fantastic addition
Hotjar is great for tracking user behavior on your websites. It helps you actually see how people use your website and gives you insights on what can be improved and fixed, so more visitors convert into signups. It also helps to see where your visitors click on your website so you can understand which areas are more interesting for them. Maybe there is a button that no one clicks, but it's an important one, so you need to change the location or call-to-action or button color. These are the cases that Hotjar will definitely help.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 01, 2018

Review: "Hotjar is simply the best at what it does, easy and effective."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar to record Heatmaps and Recordings of all our websites and apps. It provides invaluable feedback on actual user behaviors and has led us to make improvements and changes to our websites and apps on an ongoing basis directly based on actual user behaviors.
  • Extremely easy to set up. Easy to monitor, and share. The user interface is wonderful.
  • The heatmaps are excellent and provide easy navigation and sharing capabilities to share with other users in the organization, even if they aren't active product users
  • The recording filters are useful for filtering through large volumes of recordings based on time on site, locations, etc.
  • We have had limited success with some hotjars add-on products such as popups
  • Popup customizations and behaviors are not as good as some other products, but this is not the core reason to use Hotjar
  • New licensing can be more expensive than in the past if you have multiple sites and apps
Creation of heatmaps and recordings showing user clicks, scrolls, and other behaviors on marketing websites and within both web apps and mobile apps. This is the core capability of the product, and it is probably the best choice in the market for this.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Very helpful visual analysis tool for websites"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar helped me understand how our website visitors behave on our website. It opened our eyes in terms of how the visitors see things on the website and what actions they perform. I was doing digital consulting for the company and Hotjar helped me with decisions regarding what changes need to be made on the website and why. The features we used the most are heatmaps, session recordings and also some surveys and funnel analysis.
  • Session recordings offered by Hotjar are very powerful. It allows us to see what the visitors do on the website and what issues they face on the website so we can make the necessary changes.
  • Heatmaps by Hotjar is also very helpful, although when recording some of the heatmaps there was a small issue with the visualization, but then it was fixed with the next heatmap.
  • Surveys is a nice way to ask questions to the visitors of your website. Helps a lot.
  • As I said, there was a small issue with heatmaps visualization in the beginning, but it was solved when we recorded another heatmap.
  • Would be great to see support for mobile apps, at least for iOS apps.
Hotjar is very useful in the initial phase of your website, when you just launch it and want to see how visitors browse your website, what they do, where they click and what kind of issues they face. It provides a lot of insights so you can decide on what needs to be fixed in order to deliver the best user experience to your website visitors. After a couple of months, when you have already fixed all the issues and understood what the visitors do on the website, it's not that critical to use Hotjar I think, as there is not that much new information there, as in the initial phase of launching the website.
Read this authenticated review

About Hotjar

Hotjar is a conversion rate optimization tool for digital marketers. Features include heatmapping, visual session recording, conversion funnel analytics, form analytics, feedback polls and surveys, and usability testing.

The tool is used by digital analysts, UX designers, web developers and product marketers.

Hotjar Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$02k pageviews per day
Pro$29per month; 10k pageviews per day
Business$89per month; 20k pageviews per day

Hotjar Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No