Hotjar Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
178 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 53)

Susan Hammiche | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

View which pages your visitors are viewing, and focus your advertising efforts.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar as an analysis tool to review visitors on our website. Hotjar helps us make data-driven decisions about our website as well as our services and products. It gives a great insight into where users go mostly on our website, in addition to Google Analytics. The marketing and the website development teams are able to use this data to make adjustments.
  • Heatmap to see wheat people click on most
  • GDPR compliant
  • Integration with other CRM software could be added
  • Customization of the onsite poll would be great to have
If you have a website for your business, it is really important to know what users do on your site. Hotjar helps evaluate the content that is less viewed and adjust it. Pages and content that are most viewed can be turned into targeted advertising if you track users from your website. Keeping your website constantly updated can help increase views and focus your advertising.
Read Susan Hammiche's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Hotjar makes survey tracking quick and easy

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is used in my organization by all marketing departments to track qualitative data which includes survey feedback from members on how their experience has been when using our insurance website. We also use it to analyze heat maps of site pages so we understand which portion of a web page visitors are interested in most. Example: Are the new prospects more serious about shopping plans or are the existing members more curious about downloading the health insurance guide on the individual and family health insurance landing page. Based on these qualitative and quantitative insights around member behavior, we optimize layout and content of the pages so they are aligned with members' expectations. Ultimately, this leads to higher member repeat traffic, call-to-action engagement, and retention of existing members or acquisition of new members. We also correlate Hotjar insights with Google Analytics so we can validate the survey trends and show deeper findings around leads, conversions, and personalization. Example: What areas of the website need more personalized experience and content or funnel changes.
  • Hotjar is a great analytics tool to collect and analyze qualitative survey data. Because it does online surveys without impacting the web-user experience negatively.
  • Hotjar is a valuable analytics tool to collect and analyze quantitative clickstream data such as banner ad clicks by location, because it does heat maps accurately without showing errors.
  • Hotjar sometimes doesn't show full heat map of a page when it has content below the fold. Example: We recently observed our website homepage heat map is only showing the top of the page and we were unable to scroll or see the rest of the heat map below the fold. So, this issue needs to be fixed.
  • Hotjar has limit on number of website pages where its heat map tracking can be implemented. Once that limit is crossed, it takes more time to activate heat maps across all pages. So, the time it takes to activate heat mapping of a page needs fixing.
Hotjar is well suited for qualitative survey data collection and basic heat map tracking. It is not the best tool when it comes to statistical analysis of survey or clicks data or advanced heat map analysis. Example: Using Hotjar, I am able to analyze or evaluate individual member experience when visiting our health insurance website: what content they are interested in engaging with and what content is missing or what call-to-action buttons are placed correctly on the website and which buttons need relocation. But I am not able to share those insights with confidence so my marketing and design teams can make the appropriate changes to improve member engagement and conversions. Unless I do a deeper statistical analysis after aggregating common themes using other analytical tools like Excel. Secondly, when the page length is longer than usual where members have to scroll down to see the full page and call-to-action buttons such as "sign up" are below the fold, Hotjar heat maps don't show engagement activity below-the-fold. So, I am not able to do a thorough analysis of member interactions and actions on those pages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Awesome company and app

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our product team uses Hotjar to review product usage of our web app, home page, and help center.

We use it to collect feedback and integrate with our Zendesk help desk.
  • Always enhancing their product
  • Great embeddable widgets
  • Customize type of widget, such as into a modal
  • Add more features offered by competitors
Hotjar is great for user session recordings, collecting user feedback, and running in app surveys.

Not great for in app walk-throughs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Great tool to gather website feedback

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Hotjar to be able to receive feedback from our online audience that visits our website. We rolled it out globally on the website and we've implemented several additional features that Hotjar offers.
  • Provide client feedback about specific page.
  • Recording client interaction with specific pages.
We are able to capture the audience journeys when they visit our website and see how they interact with it. Some of the feedback has been very helpful in resolving issues on the website as well as improving language that needed to be tweaked or modified.
Read this authenticated review
Veronika Baranovska | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Hotjar is your best buddy when it comes to improving the UX of your marketing website (and product)!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is a new tool that we've recently started using to better understand our user journeys, both on our website and our product. More recently, we upgraded our accounts to get more data so that our findings have statistical significance when it comes to testing different types of page designs and implementing improvements. With Hotjar, we mostly use their heat mapping tools and screen recordings.
  • The heat mapping tools in Hotjar are outstanding. By knowing how far our website visitors explore the pages, we have been able to quantify how successful a page copy rewrite has been by merely proving many more people now engaged with the rest of the page!
  • The ability to record videos of how our website users interact with key pages has helped us reduce friction and, ultimately, increase our conversion rates.
  • Feedback polls have been useful for our product/development team when releasing new features and collecting feedback about their experiences.
  • The funnels feature could be improved. I've found this to be largely inconsistent when comparing to data we get from the funnels we build in Google Analytics.
  • The feedback polls and incoming feedback surveys could look a little nicer. I'd then be more inclined to use them on our website to see if our visitors, as well as leads, are enjoying their experience.
  • It would be great if the heatmaps on blog home pages could tell me more about which new articles are more popular (every time we add a new blog, the order changes, so new articles replace old ones).
If you're at the stage where you'd like to pursue CRO (conversion rate optimization) and improve UX (user experience) for your website visitors, then Hotjar is one of the tools you should have in your toolkit! Here are a few ways we use Hotjar that has been useful:
  • Set up heatmaps on crucial conversion pages on your website (if you're in SaaS, that's your /pricing or /features page).
  • Create a space where you can record your findings (we use a project management tool to do this, but you can create a Google Doc if you wish).
  • With the heat maps, track the data about the fold, how far people scroll, # of clicks, and others.
  • Come up with tests/experiments to run on a bi-weekly basis, and record them in the same space.
  • Then, compare your data from two weeks before with the current averages, make observations.
  • Rinse and repeat until you've exhausted test ideas! :)

P.S. I'd also recommend setting up the recordings on key pages - this feature is most useful for product teams, BUT, by seeing where people click (when there's no link) and how they move through the page, you can make quick adjustments to help your website visitors discover more useful content.
Read Veronika Baranovska's full review
Scot Chandler | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Love Hotjar benefits and functionality!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using it with multiple companies that I consult with. At my recommendation, they have installed the code and I set up the various recordings and reports to help them gain a solid understanding of how their visitors interact on their sites. Hotjar provides the added depth that most analytics packages don't have.
  • Scroll maps: Illustrates how far down the page visitors are willing to go to view content. It helps us to determine if crucial content is being viewed and by what percentage of visitors.
  • Click maps: Shows us what elements visitors try to interact with the most and helps us identify items that maybe should be clickable if they're not already.
  • Recordings: Helps us see what pace people are reading the site's content and which elements often trigger their response to click further into the site. A majority of visitors scanning quickly over a section indicates a lack of interest that needs to be rethought. I can't always get that from standard analytics.
  • Clicks in regions on a page sometimes don't add up. There are individual or "section" clicks tabulated within a region and an overall count.
  • The "Move" option on heatmaps isn't that useful to us.
Very well suited for getting an overall sense of how visitors interact with your site. I really can't think of any situations where it's not that appropriate or at least I haven't encountered any yet.
Read Scot Chandler's full review
Mark Linkhorst | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Recording Traffic with HotJar

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented HotJar into our website with a recent revision to our BigCommerce template moving from a free template to a paid version to increase traffic. 420EDC is basically a one man show, we have help from some other folks for SEO & photography content. HotJar allows us to record the traffic on our website which is what I primarily use the application primarily. There are other features Heatmaps, funnels & forms which I have not had a chance to implement or research as the recordings really show what is going on. This literally takes the guesswork out of traffic. It allows for visuals of problems customers experience in searches with bad URLs and shows what the website looks like across whatever platform/device the customer is using from their perspective. Numbers don't come through, so your customers' credit card information is secure from 3rd parties.
  • Records traffic
  • Generates heatmaps from traffic
  • Allows forms to be implemented into the website for marketing research
  • I use the paid plus plan as we don't have enough traffic for the bigger upgrade just yet. I had some confusion as to how many videos would be recorded and HotJar was quick to provide details that were still a little vague. They could come up with some better terminology to prevent this type of confusion and with a better description of the plans offered and what they really provide.
  • I used the Basic Plan which was free until it maxed out. I was under the impression I would have to pay for the business plan which is $99 per month. The Plus Plan is almost hidden which is $49 and the perfect fit for my needs currently. Make this easier to find.
  • Auto playback on recordings should stop after 5 or 10 recordings just to make sure someone is still watching. Distractions happen so it would be nice to have a better way of watching 5 or 10 recordings in an auto-mode.
The ability to see what your traffic is doing is key for us. You can find dead URLs and fix them easily. You can see what your customer is seeing first hand and you can edit your website should see you where a customer has become confused or where you have a typo or error that needs to be corrected to make the traffic move as expected. You can watch the replays in .5x speed, 1x speed, 2x speed or 4x speed so you can slow down when you need to or speed up through the longer recordings. Gaps can also be skipped which I recommend checking the box on.

We don't record traffic under 30 seconds which is a nice feature of HotJar as there isn't much to learn from customers dropping by and off that fast. So this is a scenario we recommend new users set up on the basic plan so you aren't wasting your recordings on drive-by traffic.
Read Mark Linkhorst's full review
Jim MacLeod | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2019

See what your users are doing on your website!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using HotJar to see where our web visitors are clicking on key pages. This allows us to make informed decisions when we want to test out new content or reorganizing content. We're also using HotJar's click-tracking software that shows videos of how users are scrolling and clicking through the site.
  • Heatmap Tracking - Seeing where users click is very important.
  • Click Tracking - Watching videos of user actions shows us where they're getting hung up.
  • Interface - Once logged into HotJar, it takes a few clicks to get to where I want to go. Shortcuts on the landing page would be helpful. But this is a minor complaint.
  • Removing clicks that take place on a drop-down menu, or showing the menu separately would help.
  • Make it easier to remove the monitoring of the clicks that close out the Privacy Policy alert.
HotJar allows you to be more informed about the activities on your website. Anyone that wants to learn more about their users should use this tool. If you think your users are getting hung up on a particular area (i.e. the checkout process), you can use the video feature to see where they're abandoning the process.
Read Jim MacLeod's full review
Claudia Darquea | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Hotjar is a powerful tool that reveals the online behavior and voice of your users.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to see user interaction with site. Used by the product team.
  • It is a powerful tool that reveals the online behavior and voice of your users by combining both analysis and feedback tools.
  • Not sure
Hotjar gives you the 'big picture' of how to improve your site's user experience and performance/conversion rates.
Read Claudia Darquea's full review
Willy Bilaro | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2019

Your Out Of The Box Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is primarily used by the marketing team, though there are instances where this can be shared with the technology team when investigating how a user experiences a problem or issue on the website. The recordings help solve issues like front-end issues, or UX by indicating interactions with a form field, for example. It provides you with a detailed report on where a visitor is struggling to move forward by looking at how they interact with the different elements on the site. You could really go very detailed in the investigation.
  • User interaction with the website, specially those with multi-step forms.
  • Collecting realtime feedback while a user is using your website.
  • Filtering through thousands of interactions is now easier and faster, you can save those filters for repeated use.
  • Form Tracking: still needs improvement to support angular forms.
  • Funnel support on single page application.
  • 360 degree reports: Maybe an integrated report of heat-map, funnel and form tracking.
Easy to implement, even for non-techy users. A ready out of the box type of solution where implementation is done via GTM. Security is one of its focuses as well. By default, any PII is automatically masked. The user doesn't have to worry about any changes that need to be done on their websites. For any type of website or scale, Hotjar is already suitable.
Read Willy Bilaro's full review
Himanshu Periwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Awesome tool for optimizing your website

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is used by the product and marketing teams. This tool helps us understand how users behave, what actions they perform and where they get dropped off while using our product. It helps us understand what the users really want.
  • Captures user's clicks and heatmaps.
  • Shows your user traffic on your site.
  • It provides insights and analytics using all of these data points.
  • It should capture all screen recordings for iOS tools.
With regards to a new product launch, Hotjar helps explain how users are dealing with the new user flow. This also helps improve conversion rates and decreases user drop-offs as you get to find the exact point where users exit.
Read Himanshu Periwal's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Hotjar is a great inexpensive tool for heatmaps, user journeys, and polls

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar allows us to see heat maps of where actual users on the site click, scroll, and move the cursor. Hotjar also gives us recordings, so we can watch users in their journey through the site. We also use Hotjar to gather survey/poll responses on various sections of the site from time to time.
  • Polls on the site
  • User Journey Recordings
  • Heat maps
  • Isolating elements clicked on for faster/deeper analysis
  • Taking a full group sample, rather than just a portion of the audience selected (for more accurate and extensive data)
I would suggest, or have suggested, using Hotjar when someone wants to understand what users click on on a certain page, what their eye is drawn to, what their detailed journey is from that point forward, or when someone wants to gather basic (poll) data.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah O'Donnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2019

Hotjar is a useful tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar within our agency on our client's websites. We mostly use if for heat mapping and session recordings. It is a good place to start if you are want to know what your users are doing on your website, and it is a good visual aid.
  • Heat mapping is great on Hotjar. It is a good place to start when you are looking at the UX & CRO on your website. You can see the % of people clicking on elements on a page, how far they scroll, and mouse movements.
  • Hotjar is great for session recordings. These record the mouse movements, clicks, pages and scrolls of a user in video format. You can watch these to investigate what works well on a site and identify potential roadblocks and bugs.
  • Hotjar is great as it ensures that users details are anonymous; for instance, if you are watching a session recording, you cannot see what a user types in a form field, as Hotjar blanks this out.
  • Hotjar has a poll function, so you can have polls on your website.
  • Hotjar doesn't always render correctly. For instance, on heatmaps, not all elements will show, as it takes a snapshot of the first user's screen, and if elements haven't loaded, it does not show for any of your heatmap data.
  • There is no way to exclude URLs when watching session recordings; for instance, if you specifically don't want to see users who are looking at careers, you have to skip through the videos manually.
  • Hotjar has the ability to track forms; what fields users are completing, how long it takes, where do users abandon the form etc. Although this is highly dependant on how the form is built on the site, so it doesn't work for all forms.
Hotjar is suitable for tracking data. If you know a certain page isn't being visited on a site, Hotjar may provide extra insight into how many users are clicking CTAs to that page for instance. So Hotjar is a good tool to know the 'why' if something is going wrong on your website.

Hotjar is less appropriate for use on its own; it should be used in conjunction with other data. This is because it can be unreliable. For instance, a heatmap may be unreliable if it hasn't rendered correctly.
Read Sarah O'Donnell's full review
Cory Runk | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Hotjar is the King of User Experience Analysis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar for almost all of our clients, including ourselves. This tool helps make strategic and intelligent recommendations for our website projects.
  • Provides in-depth information on what the website user is actually doing.
  • Provides context to data like Google Analytics. Ex. The home page has 100 clicks but low time on the page. Hotjar can show exactly what the users are doing on the homepage.
  • Price. It's extremely affordable for the power it has.
  • Navigating complex functionality on websites. Often, it doesn't know how to read certain elements that appear on the page.
  • Recovering deleted heat maps or recordings.
Hotjar is well-suited for anyone who manages a website. Period. If you want in-depth analytics on the user experience of your website, you're going to want Hotjar.
Read Cory Runk's full review
Rachel Harrison | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2019

Hotjar Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is being used by the CRO team. We then use it on our client's websites to educate and inform them of any areas of opportunity. Other teams such as Client Services use Hotjar, however they browse rather than set anything up via the tool.

Hotjar helps to view any problems with the site, any areas that could be improved, or any issues that users are having with particular pages/fields.
  • There's a lot of filtering capabilities within session recordings, which allows you to be able to find videos/users who meet your needs.
  • It is an easy product to be able to use in terms of navigation/UI.
  • The support team always seems to be on hand to provide any assistance and support.
  • There should be capabilities to do numerous session recordings on different areas of the site at once.
  • Other tools I have used in the past (Decibel Insight) had the ability to automatically set up heatmaps on all of the pages - which would be good if it could be done on Hotjar.
I'd recommend Hotjar if a colleague needed to get further information and insight as to what is happening on a website and wants to have an idea of ways that they would be able to improve this.
Read Rachel Harrison's full review
Andrew Richardson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

A great budget UX tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is being used to do both quantitative and qualitative analysis of our marketing site. It helps us answer the question of "how are people using our site?" in ways we cannot assume. It's Recording and Heatmap features help us see how people are using the site, and surveys give us the ability to gather feedback quickly. We use the surveys on our support site for the team to evaluate the effectiveness of individual articles.
  • Recordings are easy to watch and gather insights.
  • Heatmaps are easy to set up and have a very simple interface to browse through.
  • Setting up surveys is very intuitive.
  • The free plan is very generous if you just want to try it out.
  • Results can be a bit cumbersome to parse through, especially if you have a lot of survey feedback. It'd be nice to have additional ways to sort and filter feedback.
  • It's somewhat annoying to have to preemptively set up heat maps. It takes active participation while other tools allow you to autorun your allowance across the site to be able to bring up the data on demand. This is preferable.
  • The visual feedback tool doesn't seem like it'd get the right type of feedback. Maybe for a team without designers, it might, but having people give design feedback on your site doesn't usually have the best results.
Very well suited for small teams. It's very very affordable and provides a lot of quality tools that I've spent a lot more for on other platforms. These can give you invaluable insights if you take some time to go through the tools and see how you can use them. If you have a small UX budget, this plus Google Analytics can be a great combo.
Read Andrew Richardson's full review
Sanjit Mandal | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

The best value visual behavior analyzing tool on the market. Get your free account today!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Hotjar to get visuals of how visitors behave on websites; how far they scroll, where they click, how they move on the page, and much more. From here, this information can be used to modify websites to improve conversions. I use it on my website and also on my client's websites too. The problem addressed is to confirm to clients how their site could be improved. Often times, they need to see it so they believe what I tell them. :)
  • Value-oriented, great for startups and SMB
  • Heatmaps (click, move, scroll)
  • Feedback polls and surveys
  • Easy Reporting
  • Honestly, none that I can think of. :)
Anyone who has created a website and wants to learn how to improve it for conversions, this is the perfect tool. This is a true and tested way to test how a designer has created a website. It can also be used to A/B test a website and the placement of a CTA. The more we know about our website the better we can modify it to better serve the visitors.
Read Sanjit Mandal's full review
Mirzet Kadric | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

Let Hotjar help you optimize your user experience!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar with the 75 employees at our web agency to understand user experience on our client's websites. By using HotJar we are able to get more accurate data and help with the implementation of new features.

  • Heatmaps work well
  • Recording user sessions
  • Ability to deploy polls and surveys
  • Recording feature sometimes glitches
  • Hard to organize the data
  • Popup customizations
Hotjar is super powerful for tracking user behavior on our client's websites. It is very useful when you launch a new website and want to see what your visitors do, where they click and what kind of issues they face. We use this insight to design and optimize web pages for a better conversion rate.
Read Mirzet Kadric's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2019

Use Hotjar if you want to understand your users!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is being used by Marketing, Clients Operations and Product Departments. We use practically all the functions of it: website analytics, collecting feedbacks and conducting polls. We uncover user insights, track customer satisfaction, ask the questions to understand deep customers' pains and gains. It is also used to understand whether a certain initiative worked or not.
  • Heatmaps
  • Division into mobile, desktop and tablet versions
  • Click, move and scroll maps
  • Screen recordings
  • There is a pretty functional free version
  • Polls and surveys
  • Make an organization dashboard. Not a separate site dashboard.
  • Add some user stories and best practices into the website interface.
  • Add some expert recommendations on using Hotjar collected data.
Hotjar is great if you need to quickly:
  • find out users' behavior
  • find out what is more important on a webpage for a user
  • ask a question
  • find out if a user was satisfied
Hotjar is less or not appropriate to:
  • analyze website traffic - it is not a Google Analytics replacement
  • conduct A/B testing, split testing
  • make decisions on how to rebuild a website's content if you have no experience in product and/or marketing
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

HotJar helps you analyze your UX deficiencies

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotJar is used by our organization to check up on how a new website design or landing page is faring with our users. When we launch a new design or UX for a specific page, we'll install HotJar and record an analysis of where our users are going on the page and whether they are understanding the page (or not!). The fact that we can record sessions and then play them back is unbelievably helpful. The fact that we could fix early bugs or report issues helped us grow our business and that's thanks to HotJar.
  • Recording user sessions
  • Surveys
  • Feedback loop
  • Polls for users
  • HotJar could install a version of "live-chat" so we could communicate directly to our users from the recordings. This would enable us to fix issues in a quicker format than what we currently have.
  • The pricing could be improved to make it more affordable for SMEs
  • Some of the descriptions when using the software are a bit confusing to understand. It takes a lot of time to analyze and figure things out!
HotJar has been used throughout our organization to identify navigational, organizational, and functional issues on our website and also within our application. What we love about HotJar is that many of these issues that may not appear in our daily use or QA testing. When the site is live, it then allows us to see how users are interacting with our site and collect user feedback, and that lets us find ways to improve the experience of our product. It's well suited for the visitor recordings and keeping a good track of changes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2019

Hotjar for agencies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is used by the UX & CRO department of my agency, which provides digital marketing services. It helps us understand how users are behaving on our client's websites, letting us see what sections of pages are valuable to users, and any technical issues they may have. It adds an extra layer of insight to data gathered via Google Analytics.
  • Heatmaps.
  • Session recordings.
  • On-site polls.
  • More control in URLs heatmaps/session recordings/polls and more advanced URL options.
  • Certain content doesn't load in Hotjar, eg iframes, reviews widgets, maps.
  • Sometimes heatmaps don't seem to load properly so that less than 50% of users appear to make it to the average fold marker (normally most would make it to the average fold marker).
Hotjar is well suited to seeing how actual users of your site behave on a page, rather than user research which can be quite artificial. It also allows you to poll your users. It's good for top-level, brief overviews of behavior, rather than in-depth analysis.

Hotjar is less suited to very specific targeting of polls/heatmaps, as URL targeting is quite limited. It's also unsuitable for in-depth user research via the polls, as many users find the pop-ups annoying and don't answer properly. Focus groups/moderated user research would be better for gaining deeper insight into what users think about your website.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2019

Hotjar is great and still has opportunity to get better

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by the UX & CRO department and is included in most, if not all, UX & CRO campaigns. It is used to inform test recommendations and quick fixes to the site which may be hard to add to the dev queue without the data from Hotjar/other user research.
  • Split heatmaps by device.
  • Session recordings.
  • Polls.
  • Filters within session recordings.
  • Allowing us to see elements/JS/CSS within the heatmaps so you can be more specific where users have clicked.
  • Date ranges.
It is good for providing supporting stats.
Read this authenticated review
Santiago Valdés | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2018

Great insights for a very low price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for two things: understand how people react to changes in our design or functionality, and to understand intent (or try to deduce it) with polls. It is mainly used by the marketing team, and we use the video recording feature a lot, and the polls too. We used the feedback button but it's a bit annoying that you can't choose were to show it. It just pops up everywhere and on mobile that might be a bit confusing and annoying.
  • Video recording works very well. You choose which pages to record (based on many factors) and records appear very quick. This is the most useful feature for us. Of course you can't understand intent completely, but certainly there are usability things that will popup quickly.
  • Polls work well too. We have an eCommerce site so we ask different questions in many places, and it has proven to be helpful. You need a certain volume and also beware that it's annoying or confusing for some users. But considering that cost, it might be worthwhile when it's about an important page.
  • Heatmaps works well but they aren't that useful. Yes, the scroll % of people is nice but not as actionable as the other features.
  • The video recording feature is very slow to use. I know there is a very powerful process going on (saving your CSS and the DOM movements you make) but anyway it's slow to use.
  • Hotjar itself is heavy and has effects on your load times. This is a very important issue and I hope they're working on that.
  • Adding more segmentation would be nice. For example, being able to connect your API or more information to show relevant polls or feedback buttons to certain users. Aggregated info is hard to process.
For what you pay ($29 in our case) this is an amazing tool and I've seen huge and very small companies use it, so seems like scalability is not an issue at all. If you want to learn more about usability or intent from your customers, this is for you. If you think this will give you all the answers you need.... forget it. This is quantitative research but needs to be heavily paired with qualitative research if you want to understand where the main issues arise.

This can get you to understand the easy first 70% of the problem (which is a lot.) The other 30% requires the same effort but more specific tools and more qualitative research.
Read Santiago Valdés's full review
Sheryl Biesman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2018

Hotjar is a MUST-HAVE tool for UX testing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar to understand the user experience on our website, to test new features, to run surveys and to study heatmapping. Primarily we set recordings of user sessions that we study to give us directional information about how people are interacting with our brand.
  • Records user sessions.
  • Allows for specific webpage research.
  • Pop-up surveys on specific pages.
  • It would be great to have the option of audio feedback about the website.
Hotjar is a simple to use tool that provides invaluable research into how users are interacting with your website. It allows you to a/b test new features and functions and understand very quickly what is working and what isn’t by watching the recordings of each user session. It is super easy to set up and capture in and it is priced reasonably. There is no reason everyone shouldn’t use Hotjar!
Read Sheryl Biesman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

HotJar for UX Design

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HotJar to get detailed user interaction data to help validate and influence usability and design decisions. When designing our web products, we have a relatively limited ability to do the breadth and depth of usability research before we launch new features. When new features do get released, they are validated only by that small audience. Using HotJar, we are able to get more data than we know what to do with to help validate or invalidate our decisions made at launch.
  • User session video capture - HotJar allows us to conduct usability testing as if we were sitting behind a user, interacting with our web software. Although we don't get audio, we can see exactly how a user interacts and moves around our software. We can see clicks, mouse movements, time spent during any given activity, and more. And best of all, the video timeline gives us timestamps/markers where major interactions happened, allowing us to find those interactions quickly.
  • Hot spot heat maps - Just like any good analytics tool, HotJar provides great colored heat maps of how frequently users clicked/interacted on different parts of our web page. This gives us a quick, at-a-glance idea of what our users are focusing on.
  • Dynamic user surveys - Sometimes pure interaction data is not enough to get the info we need. Luckily, HotJar gives us the ability to create dynamically-driven surveys on our web app. These surveys can be change without needing to re-deploy our entire application - they can be updated through the HotJar tool.
  • Customization of in-page user surveys - Although it is a great tool to be able to publish and update user surveys that appear on our web page, the customization options (mostly UI) are somewhat limited, making the survey either stick out like a sore thumb, or look like an advertisement or error on our site. It would be great to get a little bit more control over how the survey appears on our site.
  • Honestly, I have not run into any other major examples I can detail where HotJar has not been able to do what I have needed it to do!
HotJar is well suited for our UX team in trying to get as much data as possible to validate our decisions decisions. Specifically, we have a interaction component that is focused on showing and hiding metadata of a given item on the screen. We had many conflicting ideas within our team of the best way to show/hide this data. We implemented one of our ideas that we thought would be the best to test out in the wild. HotJar has provided very specific data about how our users are interacting with that interaction component, and we can now iterate on making updates that are in direct response to what we are seeing through HotJarData.
Read this authenticated review

About Hotjar

Hotjar is a conversion rate optimization tool for digital marketers. Features include heatmapping, visual session recording, conversion funnel analytics, form analytics, feedback polls and surveys, and usability testing.

The tool is used by digital analysts, UX designers, web developers and product marketers.

Hotjar Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$02k pageviews per day
Pro$29per month; 10k pageviews per day
Business$89per month; 20k pageviews per day

Hotjar Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No