TrustRadius
Hotjar is a conversion rate optimization tool for digital marketers. Features include heatmapping, visual session recording, conversion funnel analytics, form analytics, feedback polls and surveys, and usability testing. The tool is used by digital analysts, UX designers, web developers and product marketers.Great insights for a very low priceWe use it for two things: understand how people react to changes in our design or functionality, and to understand intent (or try to deduce it) with polls. It is mainly used by the marketing team, and we use the video recording feature a lot, and the polls too. We used the feedback button but it's a bit annoying that you can't choose were to show it. It just pops up everywhere and on mobile that might be a bit confusing and annoying.,Video recording works very well. You choose which pages to record (based on many factors) and records appear very quick. This is the most useful feature for us. Of course you can't understand intent completely, but certainly there are usability things that will popup quickly. Polls work well too. We have an eCommerce site so we ask different questions in many places, and it has proven to be helpful. You need a certain volume and also beware that it's annoying or confusing for some users. But considering that cost, it might be worthwhile when it's about an important page. Heatmaps works well but they aren't that useful. Yes, the scroll % of people is nice but not as actionable as the other features.,The video recording feature is very slow to use. I know there is a very powerful process going on (saving your CSS and the DOM movements you make) but anyway it's slow to use. Hotjar itself is heavy and has effects on your load times. This is a very important issue and I hope they're working on that. Adding more segmentation would be nice. For example, being able to connect your API or more information to show relevant polls or feedback buttons to certain users. Aggregated info is hard to process.,9,We have fixed many issues, for example, checkout usability problems with the video recording feature. You can catch bugs and get an overall idea of how a particular page is working. Polls have helped us pair intent with the video sessions, so we can understand better why certain users answered different things. You get greedy and try to ask everything but that won't work. Keep it simple and it will give you small but important insights.,,Customer Surveys Research StudiesPrice + Features = Slam DunkWe use Hotjar in our AdOps department to analyze user behavior on websites that we are running campaigns too. Our Growth Specialists install Hotjar, then use the heatmaps and user recordings to inform us about how users are interacting with the website during browsing, lead generation, checkout and other engagement. We also use Hotjar information to evaluate how effective landing pages are and whether there are any technical glitches we need to address, especially for mobile devices.,User recordings are the most useful feature of Hotjar - they separate the tool from competitors by allowing an anecdotal, real-life view of users working their way through your website funnel. The ability to deploy polls and surveys is a great feature to level up information gathering. Simple questions around intent/goals, objections or demographics can add color to your understanding of visitors and flesh out personas. A core component of Hotjar is heatmaps. The fact that these heatmaps are segmented by device and offer click, mouse movement AND scroll tracking are crucial to understanding user interaction on web pages in aggregate. This is especially valuable on landing pages.,The Hotjar user recording feature sometimes glitches up and doesn't render CSS properly, which can lead to a recording of low value when you can't understand what's stopping a user. User recordings have a lot of attached metadata such as country, device, operating system or day/time - however, not all of these pieces of metadata are usable in segmentation. Most notably, it would be useful to filter by recordings NOT from a certain set of countries, to eliminate or target internal users. Funnel tracking is a good idea in theory, but in practice, I've found it to be inaccurate and misleading, due to the way that HotJar processes the data it receives at each step.,10,Hotjar has allowed us to streamline checkout flows for multiple clients, increasing conversion rates and driving more effective revenue. We've used Hotjar to identify website glitches, saving thousands of dollars in manual QA process while still efficiently finding problems.,Mouseflow, ClickTale and Crazy Egg,MailChimp, Accounting by Wave, ZoomHotjar is a MUST-HAVE tool for UX testingWe use Hotjar to understand the user experience on our website, to test new features, to run surveys and to study heatmapping. Primarily we set recordings of user sessions that we study to give us directional information about how people are interacting with our brand.,Records user sessions. Allows for specific webpage research. Pop-up surveys on specific pages.,It would be great to have the option of audio feedback about the website.,10,We launched a video on the home page of our website and Hotjar helped show us that the video was not functioning correctly during user sessions. The ability to see the mobile user experience in action helps us drive too through mobile-targeted promotions.,Klaviyo, Shopify, Google AnalyticsAn absolute hottieWorking with a FinTech, it is important to know what clients are doing when they arrive at our website. When a client arrives it is important to know where they are looking. For instance, are they looking at a call to the beauty of Hotjar that we can see the heatmaps and then look at repositioning the CTA?,Heatmaps, unbelievable, let us look at the movement of our visitors. Where are they, what do they do, where are our CTAs? Visitor recordings. Also picking up OS and Device type on visitor recordings are absolutely amazing information.,I have mentioned this before with a lot of software. Put an FAQ that is not just a quick reference to your sales pitch Hotjar is amazing. Settle down with the sales pitch. You are awesome. We will buy your product on our own,10,No Negative There isn't a qualitative ROI. The amount of information that can give you relevant business information is unbelievable. You can see who, where, when and what. Perfect for your business decisions.,,Customer SurveysHotJar for UX DesignWe use HotJar to get detailed user interaction data to help validate and influence usability and design decisions. When designing our web products, we have a relatively limited ability to do the breadth and depth of usability research before we launch new features. When new features do get released, they are validated only by that small audience. Using HotJar, we are able to get more data than we know what to do with to help validate or invalidate our decisions made at launch.,User session video capture - HotJar allows us to conduct usability testing as if we were sitting behind a user, interacting with our web software. Although we don't get audio, we can see exactly how a user interacts and moves around our software. We can see clicks, mouse movements, time spent during any given activity, and more. And best of all, the video timeline gives us timestamps/markers where major interactions happened, allowing us to find those interactions quickly. Hot spot heat maps - Just like any good analytics tool, HotJar provides great colored heat maps of how frequently users clicked/interacted on different parts of our web page. This gives us a quick, at-a-glance idea of what our users are focusing on. Dynamic user surveys - Sometimes pure interaction data is not enough to get the info we need. Luckily, HotJar gives us the ability to create dynamically-driven surveys on our web app. These surveys can be change without needing to re-deploy our entire application - they can be updated through the HotJar tool.,Customization of in-page user surveys - Although it is a great tool to be able to publish and update user surveys that appear on our web page, the customization options (mostly UI) are somewhat limited, making the survey either stick out like a sore thumb, or look like an advertisement or error on our site. It would be great to get a little bit more control over how the survey appears on our site. Honestly, I have not run into any other major examples I can detail where HotJar has not been able to do what I have needed it to do!,8,Our UX team can now use hard data to back up and validate design decisions that we make. Our role as usability experts is becoming more respected and integral to business objectives because we now have data that can back up our field of study and prove that our roles are demonstrably useful and necessary. HotJar allows our small team of 3 UX designers to get research data as if we were a much larger team. Instead of painstakingly using our time to do guerrilla research, endless user observations, and other types of manual testing, we can now get a significant portion of our data from HotJar. Using HotJar is actually giving our team a sense of excitement and enjoyment in our day-to-day usability work. Instead of seeing UX as a chore, HotJar is making data gathering and analyzing more fun, because we can see tangible results from a much larger pool of user/user-data than we could in the past.,Google Analytics,Four Winds Interactive, InVision,Customer Surveys Research Studies
Unspecified
Hotjar
109 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Hotjar Reviews

Hotjar
109 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 109 vetted Hotjar reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 31)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Santiago Valdés profile photo
August 27, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Great insights for a very low price"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for two things: understand how people react to changes in our design or functionality, and to understand intent (or try to deduce it) with polls. It is mainly used by the marketing team, and we use the video recording feature a lot, and the polls too. We used the feedback button but it's a bit annoying that you can't choose were to show it. It just pops up everywhere and on mobile that might be a bit confusing and annoying.
  • Video recording works very well. You choose which pages to record (based on many factors) and records appear very quick. This is the most useful feature for us. Of course you can't understand intent completely, but certainly there are usability things that will popup quickly.
  • Polls work well too. We have an eCommerce site so we ask different questions in many places, and it has proven to be helpful. You need a certain volume and also beware that it's annoying or confusing for some users. But considering that cost, it might be worthwhile when it's about an important page.
  • Heatmaps works well but they aren't that useful. Yes, the scroll % of people is nice but not as actionable as the other features.
  • The video recording feature is very slow to use. I know there is a very powerful process going on (saving your CSS and the DOM movements you make) but anyway it's slow to use.
  • Hotjar itself is heavy and has effects on your load times. This is a very important issue and I hope they're working on that.
  • Adding more segmentation would be nice. For example, being able to connect your API or more information to show relevant polls or feedback buttons to certain users. Aggregated info is hard to process.
For what you pay ($29 in our case) this is an amazing tool and I've seen huge and very small companies use it, so seems like scalability is not an issue at all. If you want to learn more about usability or intent from your customers, this is for you. If you think this will give you all the answers you need.... forget it. This is quantitative research but needs to be heavily paired with qualitative research if you want to understand where the main issues arise.

This can get you to understand the easy first 70% of the problem (which is a lot.) The other 30% requires the same effort but more specific tools and more qualitative research.
Read Santiago Valdés's full review
J.P. VanderLinden profile photo
June 12, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Price + Features = Slam Dunk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar in our AdOps department to analyze user behavior on websites that we are running campaigns too. Our Growth Specialists install Hotjar, then use the heatmaps and user recordings to inform us about how users are interacting with the website during browsing, lead generation, checkout and other engagement. We also use Hotjar information to evaluate how effective landing pages are and whether there are any technical glitches we need to address, especially for mobile devices.
  • User recordings are the most useful feature of Hotjar - they separate the tool from competitors by allowing an anecdotal, real-life view of users working their way through your website funnel.
  • The ability to deploy polls and surveys is a great feature to level up information gathering. Simple questions around intent/goals, objections or demographics can add color to your understanding of visitors and flesh out personas.
  • A core component of Hotjar is heatmaps. The fact that these heatmaps are segmented by device and offer click, mouse movement AND scroll tracking are crucial to understanding user interaction on web pages in aggregate. This is especially valuable on landing pages.
  • The Hotjar user recording feature sometimes glitches up and doesn't render CSS properly, which can lead to a recording of low value when you can't understand what's stopping a user.
  • User recordings have a lot of attached metadata such as country, device, operating system or day/time - however, not all of these pieces of metadata are usable in segmentation. Most notably, it would be useful to filter by recordings NOT from a certain set of countries, to eliminate or target internal users.
  • Funnel tracking is a good idea in theory, but in practice, I've found it to be inaccurate and misleading, due to the way that HotJar processes the data it receives at each step.
For user behavior analysis on a website, whether it be e-commerce, lead-generation or SaaS, Hotjar is a fantastic solution. Tracking individual landing page interaction (scroll depth, mouse clicks), recording user behavior on mobile devices, or initiating polls and surveys all packed together in one tool and delivered at a great price make Hotjar my go-to UX software for websites.
Read J.P. VanderLinden's full review
Sheryl Biesman profile photo
September 21, 2018

Review: "Hotjar is a MUST-HAVE tool for UX testing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar to understand the user experience on our website, to test new features, to run surveys and to study heatmapping. Primarily we set recordings of user sessions that we study to give us directional information about how people are interacting with our brand.
  • Records user sessions.
  • Allows for specific webpage research.
  • Pop-up surveys on specific pages.
  • It would be great to have the option of audio feedback about the website.
Hotjar is a simple to use tool that provides invaluable research into how users are interacting with your website. It allows you to a/b test new features and functions and understand very quickly what is working and what isn’t by watching the recordings of each user session. It is super easy to set up and capture in and it is priced reasonably. There is no reason everyone shouldn’t use Hotjar!
Read Sheryl Biesman's full review
James Egan profile photo
June 11, 2018

Hotjar Review: "An absolute hottie"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Working with a FinTech, it is important to know what clients are doing when they arrive at our website. When a client arrives it is important to know where they are looking. For instance, are they looking at a call to the beauty of Hotjar that we can see the heatmaps and then look at repositioning the CTA?
  • Heatmaps, unbelievable, let us look at the movement of our visitors. Where are they, what do they do, where are our CTAs?
  • Visitor recordings. Also picking up OS and Device type on visitor recordings are absolutely amazing information.
  • I have mentioned this before with a lot of software. Put an FAQ that is not just a quick reference to your sales pitch
  • Hotjar is amazing. Settle down with the sales pitch. You are awesome. We will buy your product on our own
There is a hell of a lot of things that you can use Hotjar for. I use that funnel as an example to a lot of clients. But the form tool is the most powerful. Drop off points are so intuitive. I love the heatmaps, but again the form tool and funnel creation are the best things since sliced bread.
Read James Egan's full review
No photo available
November 06, 2018

User Review: "HotJar for UX Design"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HotJar to get detailed user interaction data to help validate and influence usability and design decisions. When designing our web products, we have a relatively limited ability to do the breadth and depth of usability research before we launch new features. When new features do get released, they are validated only by that small audience. Using HotJar, we are able to get more data than we know what to do with to help validate or invalidate our decisions made at launch.
  • User session video capture - HotJar allows us to conduct usability testing as if we were sitting behind a user, interacting with our web software. Although we don't get audio, we can see exactly how a user interacts and moves around our software. We can see clicks, mouse movements, time spent during any given activity, and more. And best of all, the video timeline gives us timestamps/markers where major interactions happened, allowing us to find those interactions quickly.
  • Hot spot heat maps - Just like any good analytics tool, HotJar provides great colored heat maps of how frequently users clicked/interacted on different parts of our web page. This gives us a quick, at-a-glance idea of what our users are focusing on.
  • Dynamic user surveys - Sometimes pure interaction data is not enough to get the info we need. Luckily, HotJar gives us the ability to create dynamically-driven surveys on our web app. These surveys can be change without needing to re-deploy our entire application - they can be updated through the HotJar tool.
  • Customization of in-page user surveys - Although it is a great tool to be able to publish and update user surveys that appear on our web page, the customization options (mostly UI) are somewhat limited, making the survey either stick out like a sore thumb, or look like an advertisement or error on our site. It would be great to get a little bit more control over how the survey appears on our site.
  • Honestly, I have not run into any other major examples I can detail where HotJar has not been able to do what I have needed it to do!
HotJar is well suited for our UX team in trying to get as much data as possible to validate our decisions decisions. Specifically, we have a interaction component that is focused on showing and hiding metadata of a given item on the screen. We had many conflicting ideas within our team of the best way to show/hide this data. We implemented one of our ideas that we thought would be the best to test out in the wild. HotJar has provided very specific data about how our users are interacting with that interaction component, and we can now iterate on making updates that are in direct response to what we are seeing through HotJarData.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Website tracking tool that uncovers it all!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Hotjar in the marketing department to analyze how the website is performing and what should we be changing in order to improve conversions. The tool shows clicking data (where website visitors are clicking on) and the scrolling data (how far down the page are the visitors scrolling). We use the gathered information to decide what to change on the website to improve users' experience and conversions.
  • Tracks number of clicks on the website
  • Shows you how the users are moving on the page. It records their mouse movement.
  • It shows you the scrolling data so you know if your content is being seen at all.
  • It would be great to have it set so you can pick a specific time period to show the data for, ie last week, last month. Sometimes we run different campaigns that can cause different behavior on the page (ie, webinar promotion) and it'd be great to observe the specific period only.
  • More how-tos and guides on how to read the numbers and what changes you should be making based on the numbers.
  • Visual reports instead of csv ones. It's much easier to understand!
It's a great tool to monitor your website activity. You'll learn exactly what is it that your visitors are doing on the website and will be able to identify inefficiencies or places for change and improvement. This tool is suited for bigger teams that can take the data and apply the changes. If you're a one-man show, it's likely you won't have the time to do it all on your own. Changes require design and coding, which are usually very time-consuming.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 01, 2018

Review: "Hotjar is a must have for a marketer that cares about their website"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is being used specifically in our marketing department to help have a better idea of what our customer journey on our website is in relation to what we intend it to be. Using Hotjar, we can see where on our website people bounce from our pages, where people click, hover their mouse, and watch individual recordings to see how users interact with our website. It adds a more visualized perspective on a lot of information provided by Google Analytics.
  • Visitor recording is amazing. To be able to see how a user that starts on a landing page progresses through and interacts with your website is incredibly useful to iterate on high traffic pages and to find impactful places to A/B test
  • Heatmaps are also impressive. To see where people drop off of your page or where they click and hover their mouse is incredibly valuable information to have. It shows where your visitors' attention is drawn and can point to places where you could add a CTA.
  • Hotjar could use more algorithms and advanced analytics to make suggestions for you. As valuable as all of the information available to you can be, sometimes it is an overwhelming amount of data and if they had a way to help guide you towards data driven decisions (lots of people leave your page by this point, maybe you should reorganize the page, etc.), that would be nice.
  • It would be nice to be able to see why people leave the page on the heatmaps. For example, on a page with a full nav menu, a lot of users will leave the page at the top since they find the page they find the page they're looking for.
Anybody who cares about seeing what their users are doing on their website should be using Hotjar. It's definitely best suited for e-commerce websites to see potential conversion opportunities, but can certainly be used by informational websites to help give people the best information in the best way. Hotjar is most useful if you have time to do plenty of research on your data, if you only have a little bit of time here and there it's likely that you won't get the most out of it.
Read this authenticated review
Sasha Fritzel profile photo
May 16, 2018

User Review: "Hotjar - A Very Useful Little Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar to track user behavior on our website, by pulling heatmaps of certain high-traffic pages, and setting up user recordings so analyze user behavior. We simply select the subpages on our website we want to track, and Hotjar records sessions, showing you where a user clicks and scrolls to on our pages.
  • Ease of Setup - To setup Hotjar, we were able to use the pixel through Google Tag Manager. It took only a few minutes, and as long as you have an existing GTM account, Hotjar begins tracking instantaneously.
  • Low Price Point - Hotjar is very reasonably priced for a user behavior tool. Instead of hiring user experience testers, we can leverage the traffic we already have to understand how customers use our website.
  • Heatmaps - The heatmaps provided by Hotjar are easy to analyze and aesthetically simple.
  • Updates - The product has released very few updates or improvements since I began using it, and the core offerings have remained the same.
Hotjar is a great, inexpensive tool with a multitude of benefits for website managers. I highly recommend Hotjar to anyone looking for user data on their website, or trying to understand how user-friendly their current interface is. Overall, I've been using Hotjar for 3 years, and it has helped frame many user experience or website improvement discussions.
Read Sasha Fritzel's full review
Gideon Taub profile photo
June 05, 2018

Review: "Love Hotjar to help us optimize our user experiences!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is used by our Product Management and Design/UX resources to deeply understand how our users interact with our product and specifically where in the onboarding process they are abandoning creating and funding their account. The team uses the information to optimize the user experience and to streamline onboarding. It is tremendously valuable in understanding where users get hung up without expensive focus groups.
  • Hotjar does an amazing job of visually showing us how our users interact with our software. Their software creates videos showing how users navigate our app, complete forms, etc. The videos that they create are earmarked when key events happen (change pages, click back, etc.) so that we can hone in on key milestones in the user experience.
  • It works seamlessly across PC web, mobile web, and mobile app.
  • It tracks where the user's mouse is so that we can track how the user is processing each screen.
  • They also provide heatmaps for key screens and highlight where the users are spending time on each page.
  • For our needs, we really have no areas that could be improved. I imagine with very complex apps understanding the user flow and navigation could be tedious, but for most apps, it is a great solution.
Hotjar is super well suited any time a new workflow, new feature, or new user experience is being tested with users. It is a tremendous tool to easily understand how users are engaging with the new capability and to quickly be able to iterate and optimize the user experience, across mobile and web. We have not yet started A/B testing different workflows, so I cannot speak to how well Hotjar would help in decision making once that is in place.
Read Gideon Taub's full review
Austin Schmidt profile photo
March 09, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Go from data to context in just minutes."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is used to understand how prospects and customers interact with websites and landing pages. It's used by marketing and web development, primarily. It solves the problem that metrics can be misunderstood. A conversion rate is low... but why? It's a guessing game if you're just going off Google Analytics data. We use Hotjar to see detailed heat maps and screen recordings to give context to the data.
  • Powerful freemium model. A small business can use Hotjar for free while web traffic is low. Most features are included in the free version. Even a large business with a lot of traffic can experiment with it for free on a subset of pages.
  • Simplicity. Installing takes just a few minutes and a simple copy and paste of a script. Viewing and understanding heatmaps and recordings is really straight-forward.
  • I LOVE the ability to watch recordings at 2 to 4x speed and skip gaps of no movement or activity. It really helps me get more insight in less time.
  • I wish there were an easier way to look at the charts and recordings by paid traffic source. There's some more manual ways to do the latter, but streamlining would be nice.
  • The polls and surveys are interesting, but I don't love the design. More control would be great.
  • Alerting me of significant changes in KPIs or behavior would be cool.
Hotjar is well suited for anyone with a website that's seeking context to better optimize it. Hotjar is especially good for small businesses and start ups looking for a reasonable entry price, but not wanting to sacrifice features as they grow.

It's less well suited for those without the bandwidth to spend time analyzing the results. It's not a "set and forget" product. While it's efficient, it requires work.
Read Austin Schmidt's full review
Chris Lenhart profile photo
March 01, 2018

User Review: "Hotjar is free and useful."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is my go to source for capturing user feedback within our site. It makes it easy to automate surveys, trigger polls based on specific user actions, record user sessions so that you can observe behavior, and analyze where users are dropping off of your forms. Best of all, it's completely free to try and fairly cheap to purchase.
  • Surveys - you can create surveys and trigger them automatically within your app. Hotjar will collect and visualize the data for you.
  • Session Recordings - you can record whole sessions or trigger them when a user visits a certain page to see how people really behave on your site.
  • Polls - you can ask your users a question at any point in their journey. Particularly useful when combined with tag manager.
  • Regex targeting - use regular expressions to target groups of pages.
  • Forms could be easier to target.
  • Incoming feature is slightly redundant with polls.
  • Branching surveys would be nice.
Hotjar is great for gathering user feedback for almost any kind of web application. You can use it whenever you want to ask your users a question or series of questions, or see how they behave, where they click, and how far they scroll. If your app is a single page application, you may need someone with a bit of front end dev experience and Google Tag Manager to make the most of it.
Read Chris Lenhart's full review
No photo available
April 06, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Certainly a HOT product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar was mainly used by the marketing department since we were responsible for the global and local websites. Hotjar tackles the problem a lot of companies struggle with; "How is my website being used." Step one is to build a consumer friendly, inviting or really professional website, step two is getting traffic and step thee is to keep the visitors there. Google Analytics does a fantastic job at showing the traffic flow, but it fails to show which parts of the website are looked at or clicked at the most. This is where Hotjar steps in.
  • Hotjar is a very "visual" application. This made it easy to show our data to other colleagues in order to discuss the future of the website.
  • The application makes you see the website through the eyes of an unknowing consumer. This souds a bit cheeky, but it's easy to make false assumptions about a project you have been working on for a long time.
  • The 'heatmap' really shows what's important on your website and what needs improvement. For example we had a large front page but we noticed people stopped scrolling after a while. We decided to make the page smaller in order to make the page load faster.
  • While the data is really interesting, the amount of data can get huge over time. If you don't prepare this you'll be stuck with a big load of heatmaps and videos that all look a little bit different.
  • It's quite hard to organize the aquired data. There is no easy way to leave notes or integration with organisational applications.
Hotjar is a great addition to your online-marketing arsenal. If you're in the position where you can ask yourself: "We have a great website but how do we make it even better?" - this is the application you need. With its detailed heatmaps and videos, you can easily see what's the most interesting and what gets the most attention on your pages.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 29, 2018

Review: "Find out why HotJar is an invaluable tool to gain insights from your customers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotJar is a heatmap and feedback software and it is used mainly by our marketing department and in particular by our webmasters and digital marketers. We make frequent changes to our website with new landing pages and content and HotJar is a great tool to see if the changes we make work and how effectively we engage our visitors.
  • Before HotJar we had to purchase at least three separate software to obtain the same data (Crazy Egg, Qualaroo and Survey Monkey).
  • I particularly like the "Recording" section where you can capture each and every session of your visitors when they hit the website and you watch over their shoulders.
  • The HeatMap feature is great and it is essential when you design new landing pages. You can get valuable insights on what areas of your site people are spending time on.
  • The Poll feature is great and people give us feedback on our site and we can gain valuable insights. The only drawback is that sometimes people ask a specific question and don't leave their contact (because it's just a poll) so we can never get back to them with the answer.
  • The Funnel Feature is good but it could be improved. I find it a bit too simplistic and it should have more data.
  • The “Recruiters” feature is very interesting in theory but I don’t think it really works in real life. It basically allows you to recruit some of your visitors and invite them to a live user test via screen sharing (Skype) to truly see what they are thinking. The problem if you have to find people that want to do it and I don't think people will do it unless you give them a gift back.
It's great for any company that has an in-house marketing department and people are very hands-on and they are interested in testing all the changes to a website. Less appropriate for people that are not very interested in digging deeper into data and insights.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 28, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Great product to capture user behavior and qualitative data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Hotjar for many years, mainly in marketing and product departments but heatmaps and users recordings are useful for everyone in the organization. We use Hotjar to diagnose onsite and UX issues and to identify conversion gaps. The tool helps us also in the CRO department as we are able to fine-tune our experiments and speed up the review process.
  • The ease of use, heatmaps and recordings can be set up in seconds, and then shared with the team using a link
  • The feedback and data gathered can provide great insights that help to optimize our website.
  • When running experiments with any A/B testing tool you only get quantitive data and there is very limited insight into how or why users engage with one variation over another. Hotjar gives a fuller picture of our customers and their motivations for engaging with our site.
  • Not all the website traffic is captured.
  • The amount of data gets huge after a dozen or so heatmaps and hundreds of videos. There is no good way of categorizing those.
  • The feedback tools are quite simple and not as customizable as I would like them to be.
Hotjar does everything you need to help you determine how users behave on your site and to pinpoint issues that couldn't be captured any other way. You can use the data to help you fix bugs, optimize design and improve the user experience. Hotjar is a must have for any marketing, product and conversion rate optimization department.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 16, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Great tool to track user behavior in your website"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar both on our website and our web platform. I'm personally using it and find it very useful. Although there are some other alternatives in the market, I like what the team behind Hotjar has built and continues building. Session recordings and heat maps are the tools that I use the most, as they help me understand how our website visitors browse the website, how they navigate and what we can improve to increase the conversion rate. Also, we use funnels feature sometimes to track completion rates for some essential flows.
  • Hotjar does pretty good session recording which helps us understand how visitors browse our website
  • Heat maps feature is also very useful
  • Surveys are another feature that Hotjar has and we used to get some feedback from our users
  • Would be great to have the ability to add filtering to the funnel analysis
  • Support for native mobile apps would be a fantastic addition
Hotjar is great for tracking user behavior on your websites. It helps you actually see how people use your website and gives you insights on what can be improved and fixed, so more visitors convert into signups. It also helps to see where your visitors click on your website so you can understand which areas are more interesting for them. Maybe there is a button that no one clicks, but it's an important one, so you need to change the location or call-to-action or button color. These are the cases that Hotjar will definitely help.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 01, 2018

Review: "Hotjar is simply the best at what it does, easy and effective."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar to record Heatmaps and Recordings of all our websites and apps. It provides invaluable feedback on actual user behaviors and has led us to make improvements and changes to our websites and apps on an ongoing basis directly based on actual user behaviors.
  • Extremely easy to set up. Easy to monitor, and share. The user interface is wonderful.
  • The heatmaps are excellent and provide easy navigation and sharing capabilities to share with other users in the organization, even if they aren't active product users
  • The recording filters are useful for filtering through large volumes of recordings based on time on site, locations, etc.
  • We have had limited success with some hotjars add-on products such as popups
  • Popup customizations and behaviors are not as good as some other products, but this is not the core reason to use Hotjar
  • New licensing can be more expensive than in the past if you have multiple sites and apps
Creation of heatmaps and recordings showing user clicks, scrolls, and other behaviors on marketing websites and within both web apps and mobile apps. This is the core capability of the product, and it is probably the best choice in the market for this.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2018

Hotjar Review: "Very helpful visual analysis tool for websites"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar helped me understand how our website visitors behave on our website. It opened our eyes in terms of how the visitors see things on the website and what actions they perform. I was doing digital consulting for the company and Hotjar helped me with decisions regarding what changes need to be made on the website and why. The features we used the most are heatmaps, session recordings and also some surveys and funnel analysis.
  • Session recordings offered by Hotjar are very powerful. It allows us to see what the visitors do on the website and what issues they face on the website so we can make the necessary changes.
  • Heatmaps by Hotjar is also very helpful, although when recording some of the heatmaps there was a small issue with the visualization, but then it was fixed with the next heatmap.
  • Surveys is a nice way to ask questions to the visitors of your website. Helps a lot.
  • As I said, there was a small issue with heatmaps visualization in the beginning, but it was solved when we recorded another heatmap.
  • Would be great to see support for mobile apps, at least for iOS apps.
Hotjar is very useful in the initial phase of your website, when you just launch it and want to see how visitors browse your website, what they do, where they click and what kind of issues they face. It provides a lot of insights so you can decide on what needs to be fixed in order to deliver the best user experience to your website visitors. After a couple of months, when you have already fixed all the issues and understood what the visitors do on the website, it's not that critical to use Hotjar I think, as there is not that much new information there, as in the initial phase of launching the website.
Read this authenticated review
Ashish Tewari profile photo
September 29, 2017

Review: "Hotjar - one of the best analysers of actual usage"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar in the Marketing dept as part of our website analytics. Core problem it resolves is analysis of page layouts to test for usability and to identify 1) any blank spots where users are not reviewing or interacting with content, and 2) if core call-to-action elements are falling into blank spots. We use this insight to guide page redesign and template construction to optimize pages for maximum content consumption and clickthroughs.
  • easy to install / implement
  • bug-free heatmaps (we struggled a lot with Google Analytics' built-in functionality that tried to do a similar function but would always be misaligned and crash)
  • choice of different heatmaps - for clicks, hovers, and scrolls - adds a dimension of understanding that goes beyond simply knowing what's being clicked - we can also see and identify potential issues around misunderstood or confusing CTAs and content not being seen at all.
  • I found the time taken to collect data before maps are available difficult - understand it gives more accurate results, but not sure if earlier data cannot be used even indicatively, or later data is not updated.
  • Some kind of alerts would be useful - eg. if a single element is receiving a very high percentage of interactions, which could be an indicator of improper page design, or if the bottom section is getting less than 5% scrolldowns (page is too long)
  • form abandonment is a major issue - can we track things like fields filled and deleted repeatedly or filled without clickthroughs?
excellent when considering or evaluating a page or site redesign, or landing page options. not so great in dynamic feedback to a system that can adjust automatically - it's a pure reporting tool, not something that can be used to improve performance automatically. plus, it tracks single pages at a time - wonder if there's a way for it to do a set of similar pages.
Read Ashish Tewari's full review
Randolph Ramirez profile photo
September 27, 2017

Review: "Hotjar is best in class in several classes"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is being used by our marketing department to determine the efficacy of our web design and maximize use of funnels and targets.
  • Determines user interaction across platforms
  • Shows ease or difficulty users have navigating site and finding funnels
  • Gives instant visual usage charts overlaid onto your site
  • There should be a way to save filtered searches
Hotjar is amazing for tailoring your user experience. It gives you exactly the insight you need to make your site the most effective possible. I can't think of a scenario where you are establishing a web presence where you wouldn't want to use it.
Read Randolph Ramirez's full review
Charles-Edouard Draber profile photo
August 23, 2017

Hotjar Review: "Great tool to analyse your website"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Hotjar for 1 year to analyse our websites with heat maps, recordings, tracking funnels, forms and tracking feedback from our customers. It helps us to understand how optimize our landing page and the user experience. We can prioritize break points in our customer experience.
  • Great heat map: the best user interface and lot of data
  • Customer recording: It is extremely practical to understand specific problems
  • Easy setup: less than 5 minutes with GTM
  • More options for the heat map: to have a list of all clicks, and the possibilities to track element not visible on the page
  • Adding an A/B testing tool
If you want to optimize a website, Hotjar is a tool for you. It's easy to set up (less than 10 minutes) and has a lot of tools (heatmap, customer video recording, tracking funnels, and forms, collect feedback with pools, surveys and incoming, a must have to collect visual feedback). It's better to have an A/B Testing solution with Hotjar.
Read Charles-Edouard Draber's full review
No photo available
September 27, 2017

Review: "Hotjar does everything you need - and more!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar is used by our organisation on a periodic basis for reviewing the week's activity and seeing if any changes have occurred. It is predominantly used by marketing but our developers have found use for it too, to provide us with feedback and suggestions for improvements. Without Hotjar, we wouldn't be able to look at the statistics and decide what way to move the website forward. It provides a great tool to simply review performance and before making any changes, see the numbers behind what you want to change.
  • HotJar has a lot of statistics, and is something that you can definitely make use of when analysing your website. Just by seeing, for example, the number of visitors coming to a certain page, you can tell instantly if it's been a successful campaign or not.
  • The ability to run reports so you can look at comparison over time, which can lead to better judgement of what's working.
  • Video technology which is so in depth, it's quite scary. You can view a session your visitor has had and see where they've clicked on your website and what pages they've gone through to get to their destination page, all on your website. It's something we've never seen before!
  • With HotJar, whilst a lot of information is on there, it doesn't come with a go-to guide of what to do first and helping with set-up. This would definitely come in handy.
  • Having synchronisation with Google Analytics would be good - as in having a page that is just filled with GA stats. A lot of what both software do is similar so this would make sense.
  • Getting hints about what the best practices are would greatly benefit HotJar users and is something we all look for when researching about a product.
HotJar is important to have because it can tell you exactly how well your website is performing, by looking at individual landing pages or campaigns. Acting like Google Analytics, but with a lot more depth, HotJar is something that is necessary when analysing results. By looking at your website through the eyes of the audience, it allows you to see it from another perspective. This is very important for marketing users and can be vital when thinking about ways to improve the site.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 11, 2017

Hotjar Review: "Does exactly what it's supposed to do"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hotjar to monitor and record user behaviour on client sites, as well as to conduct polls and user surveys. This is a tool for gathering insight into how a site is used, and this data is then used to enable us to more confidently make recommendations to the client for improvements to their site.
  • Real-time recordings of user interaction on a site
  • Heatmaps and scroll levels
  • Delivery of surveys / polls for gathering direct user feedback
  • The 'Funnel' functionality doesn't seem to offer anything over and above what can be achieved using Google Analytics
Hotjar is great if you want to watch what your users are up to on your website. However, it is important to remember that this is only half of the story, as you can't be certain what their intentions are. It's probably best suited to analyzing smaller sequences of interaction where you can more safely draw conclusions about what is going on, wrong or right.
Read this authenticated review
Brett Doucette, ABC, MBA profile photo
March 29, 2017

Review: "HotJar is a valuable tool in a digital marketers toolset"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar has been used in my previous full-time roles a well as for my freelance clients. It's being used primarily by my department (marketing) and it helps uncover some UX/UI issues on pages on various web sites; gives a better qualitative view behind website user flow. I have used it for surveying and polling to soliciting valuable customer data points to help better streamline marketing messaging.
  • Polling/surveying
  • Records user behavior in quick video snippets
  • Heat mapping and scrolling mapping
  • Implementation is not difficult
  • Further customization features on polling / surveying questions (no if/then logic branching)
  • No cumulative data or insights for video recording of user behavior (no roll-up)
  • Heat mapping and scrolling mapping is a bit too rudimentary but still insightful
  • Not great for pure A/B testing on a website.
  • Better for giving a basic/intermediate look into UX/UI and site user behavior.
Read Brett Doucette, ABC, MBA's full review
Jean-Marc Robillard profile photo
January 03, 2017

Review: "Hotjar offers the right combination of tools"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Hotjar for heat mapping user behavior on our corporate website, as well as CTA and UX testing and user feedback. It's being leveraged by marketing, as we also control the design and layout of our site, in addition to the content.
  • Heat maps: these are great for diagnosing issues with less popular CTA placements, and to optimize content above the fold.
  • User session recordings: even the free version of Hotjar provides up to 100 user session recordings, before resetting. I recommend spending time on sessions that are clearly not bounces or "misfires".
  • Feedback forms: These are like CTA dialog boxes, and can be a real boon to marketers concerned with website usability and design. I would caution that these should be used sparingly, and for targeted feedback - they can become overwhelming to the user if you add too many, and make sure they apply to initial sessions only.
  • I am quite pleased with Hotjar. I can't really comment on an expanded feature set, or any improvements to the current feature set. For the money, it is a great investment.
Quick and easy to set up, Hotjar offers a nice combination of the most useful website improvement tools in one package. Great value for the money.
Read Jean-Marc Robillard's full review
Christine Austin profile photo
September 19, 2016

Review: "Hotjar is a nessesity when it comes to understanding your users behavior"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotjar plays an important role within our organization to strategically understand users' patterns on our website (through heat maps and scroll maps), individual user experiences (through the video playback tool), and insight into unknown errors anywhere on the site. We are planning on making a push to use surveys to gather more qualitative data from our users in the hopes of making further improvements to the site overall as well as content we put out.
  • Recording data tracking thought the heat maps and movement maps allows us to better understand whether or not our hypothesis are proven true. The fact that they also allow you to break it down into individual devices helps in making the comparison across devices so much easier - a tool other software will lack.
  • User sessions allow us to better understand on a individual level what visitors are doing on each page. Targeting specific events that occurred is also possible with the API so you can understand how many users are following these events and whether or not they are behaving as you want.
  • Support is fantastic. Every time I've had any questions concerning customization of other events, their response has always been quick and filled with a robust answer. Never has someone responded back seeming to lack knowledge of the software (which will sometimes happen when contacting other software support).
  • It would be really interesting to see Hotjar interact with other analytic software so they have the ability to gather further data the software currently lacks. For example, having Hotjar integrate with HubSpot so pages you're editing have the heat maps generated within the page performance.
  • It would be nice if there was an easy way to see heat maps or mouse movement behaviors of popups. As the only real way you can view dynamic events like this is through the session feedback.
  • Would really love to see Hotjar incorporate A/B testing and some analytics along with it, I think that would really help give people the ability to get a more robust understanding of what works best on their websites for users in combination with the tools Hotjar already has.
Hotjar really excels in getting an overall understanding of how pages throughout your website are understood by your [users], how the flow of your site works, and gaining feedback from your users too. If you are looking for a more analytical analysis of your website, specifically in terms of A/B tests, event tracking, etc., then Hotjar may not be the tool you are looking for.
Read Christine Austin's full review

About Hotjar

Hotjar is a conversion rate optimization tool for digital marketers. Features include heatmapping, visual session recording, conversion funnel analytics, form analytics, feedback polls and surveys, and usability testing.

The tool is used by digital analysts, UX designers, web developers and product marketers.

Hotjar Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$02k pageviews per day
Pro$29per month; 10k pageviews per day
Business$89per month; 20k pageviews per day

Hotjar Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No