Optimizely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
383 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 131)

Rafael Zorrilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Best in class but comes at a higher cost

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is the platform of choice for experimentation and product feature rollout. In my department, Education Services, we partner with schools to improve the digital experience for prospective students. Through analytics and digital UX tools, we identify potential UX friction points or missed business opportunities, we hypothesize a solution and then build that proposed solution in Optimizely. Through Optimizely we build experiments, present to users and through statistical review, we determine results on whether to push to production.
  • The ability for general business users to build experiments. No direct need for coding necessary. Caveat, complex feature or product rollouts may need development effort.
  • relatively real-time statistical review of the experiment data.
  • API output.
  • Management of large volume of experimentation. The ability to review the large scale of the experiment is a convenient manner.
  • The incremental increase in page load time due to the Optimizely snippet.
The execution of experiments is good.

The cost is growing significantly more than competitors.
Read Rafael Zorrilla's full review
Jon Lindemann | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

A Powerful Tool, but with Power Comes Responsibility

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Insights & Analytics team is using Optimizely. Some other teams also use it if they need to insert some JavaScript onto a page to test other functionality (such as a chatbot).

It allows us to perform minor A/B testing to determine which changes customers respond to when browsing our site and purchasing our products.
  • Insert code as the page is rendering. This can be helpful for quick visual fixes or inserting code for testing.
  • Performing A/B testing for minor visual changes to the site.
  • Collecting all tests in a single interface that allows multiple people to see what's being tested.
  • It slows down the rendering of a webpage because it's a third-party script. If you set it to render asynchronously or after the page is rendered, you see flickering.
  • This may be how it's implemented, but our web team typically has no idea when tests are going live as there are no notifications set up. Things can get broken on the site without us knowing.
  • There's no easy way to see what tests are running and what they affect without going into the management interface.
It's great if you want to do quick and easy testing by inserting a third-party script onto your page. It is also great to make quick visual fixes when a deployment isn't possible.

It's not great (at least it isn't great if you aren't using self-hosting/Optimizely Edge) if you want to have optimal website performance.
Read Jon Lindemann's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Not bad for starting out. Can be used correctly for larger orgs when done right.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run a couple hundred of tests a year around a large portfolio of websites. We use it for all site optimization issues.
  • Easy to teach
  • Portable
  • Awful statistics
  • Poor user interface
It's a decent tool for a medium sized company that wants a more plug and play client site optimization tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

Optimizely Review from an OTA Product Manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to increase conversion in our shopping funnel. The users are mainly the product department -- we build the tests, run them, and relay the results to the rest of the Exec team. Ideas can come from anywhere in the organization.
  • It provides an interface to create tests easily.
  • It sends out webinars and best practice emails.
  • It might be our integration with GA, but it's hard to trust the results at times.
  • Traffic allocation-- this might be our implementation, but the users are never 100% on an A/B test.
Optimizely is well suited for testing changes that you may not believe will influence a guests' decision. It's less appropriate for complete funnel changes and overlapping tests.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Optimizely a great choice for A/B Testing in Mobile Apps

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to A/B test features within our mobile applications. The SDK allows us to easily implement feature testing in both the iOS and Android platforms. Without the SDK, we would have to have a lot of custom code splattered throughout the code base which is not ideal. We particularly like the Swift support in iOS.
  • Swift support on iOS
  • Custom logger
  • Event tracking/metrics
  • More documentation samples
  • Video demos
  • Expensive
To quickly add A/B Testing to your mobile applications, I can highly recommend the product. It's not free, but you often get what you pay for if you go with a free or open-source solution. If your company has the budget, this tool/SDK is worth the investment and time saved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Optimizely helps us out in testing times

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage Optimizely across all our Product Management and Marketing teams. We use it for a range of tasks. The types of tests we run include homepage/landing page optimization, as well as improvements to the user experience further down the 'funnel' (including things like our checkout flow). We typically run A/B tests with it (where we have a variant version of a page compete against our original/control version), although we do occasionally run more sophisticated multivariate tests.
  • The user interface is relatively straightforward, making adopting across the company easier.
  • Customer Support is very responsive.
  • Optimizely X Web integrates with digital analytics tools (such as Google Analytics) relatively smoothly.
  • Optimizely Full Stack is difficult to integrate with digital analytics tools (such as Google Analytics).
  • Events can be hard to configure, depending on what kinds of tests you're running.
  • It's not the best solution when you're dealing with users who log in and out of a platform frequently, especially across devices. Sometimes the user IDs get confused and you end up with people seeing a control AND variant version (across different experiences).
It's arguably the optimization best tool on the market, but it is also probably the most expensive! If you're a young company/startup, you might want to consider other tools first before 'graduating' to a tool like Optimizely. Conversely, if you're a well-established company and you have the budget, then this is the tool for you.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Optimizely Grows With Us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is used across several teams at our organization. Our team, marketing operations, implement the set-up and targeting of experiments, while also managing the tool and vendor relationship. We are also involved in the implementation of the tool across our properties. The actual experiment design is typically handled by another team within the company. At a high level, we use Optimizely for mostly A/B testing of landing page elements to increase conversions or user engagement.
  • Account Service - We have had an exceptional experience with our account team.
  • Advanced targeting capabilities - There have been several instances where we have questioned how we are going to segment and target a specific set of users, and thus far Optimizely has always been able to deliver upon our targeting goals.
  • Resources for learning - We've found there to be a considerable amount of documentation on Optimizely's capabilities which has enabled us to look into specific topics on our own.
  • None at the moment.
Optimizely is great for A/B and multivariate testing - it's a very user-friendly experimentation platform that allows us to accomplish our testing goals without using IT resources. We've even used it to roll changes out at 100% (in the short term) until IT priorities allow for the changes to be made to a landing page.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Intuitive and easy to manipulate data sets and top notch for AB testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using this platform software for landing page experiment testing that has the primary function to drive paid or organic traffic to website and host and monitor and report on performance metrics of lead gen. Our team sits in the Marketing Department and use this tool to drive testing mandates and performance goals.
  • Host experiments
  • Monitor in-flight experiments and optimizations
  • Stats accelerator
Good for hosting experiments, not good when there are element changes on the page for longer running experiments where the page undergoes updates and rollouts causing elements to change. Hard to flag these bugs when they arise in real-time. Can have issues with loading Optimizely in the header that causes a flicker of the treatment experiment or rebucketing issues when a user returns to the page.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

My Optimizely Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely allows us to unlock conversion wins on our landing pages in areas that wouldn't be possible with our eng team. Our marketing team uses it to run A/B tests on creative, copy, and CTA buttons. Using Optimizely has been such a game-changer at a company where engineering resources are scarce.
  • Visual-based
  • Easy to use and understand
  • Let's you roll out landing page tests within minutes!
  • N/A
In marketing teams where there are many things to test on landing pages!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Optimizely is an effective experimentation platform for companies of any size and has helped our company increase revenue significantly

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Optimizely for A/B and multi-variate testing of many parts of our website and shopping experience. We test copy, headlines, buttons, features, new pages, new experiences and more. It is very effective in helping us learn when any change we make to our product and marketing materials affects our sales performance.
  • It does a great job reporting experiment results and showing when a test wins or loses.
  • The UI is designed very well and it super easy to use.
  • The customer support is really responsive and helpful.
  • The documentation is very deep and helpful.
  • Single Page Application testing is a little more difficult than traditional sites.
  • API documentation could use more examples.
  • QA of experiments could be a little easier. Sometimes the preview links don't load in browser windows or incognito windows.
Optimizely is very effective for A/B and multivariate testing. We have seen random instances where browser extension ad-blockers block Optimizely rendering experiments not effective. Therefore, if used for an important content fix, it might not be the best solution, although it's better than nothing when you can't get a fix through engineering fast enough.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Tricky for Testers Who Don't Read the Manual

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Optimizely mainly within our development group, though the framework is available to all departments. Its main function is to enable us to show/hide features to subsets of users in the field, and make those changes via server-side controls. We're also starting to use it for cohort testing, though we're still in the early stages of trying this.
  • Developers seem to be able to set up experiments fairly easily.
  • The dashboard allows users to control settings for individual devices for testing purposes.
  • Functional on both iOS and Android.
  • At least in our implementation, there didn't seem to be a great way to scale the number of individual testers who are able to individually control experiment settings.
  • Differences in the experiment stage weren't terribly intuitive to figure out.
  • When we first started using it, there was no support for booleans to define the audience. If we wanted to enable an experiment for anyone on version N or higher, we couldn't just say "if version >= N", but had to add each subsequent version individually. I believe this has been addressed in the new version.
It seems like it has most of the functionality you'd want in an A/B testing tool. However, it also seems like there are some implementation expectations built into the functionality. I suspect that some of the difficulties we've had getting up to speed have been due to our usage not adhering to the intended usage pattern. I'm not sure if we diverted intentionally by choice, by necessity, or because of insufficient guidance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Optimizely Saves Dev Time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is used by our Marketing, Operations and Product teams to A/B test new features. It is valuable for self-building basic design changes and testing them, all without needing your development teams to help - this is extremely valuable to us given we have limited tech resources. It also helps for larger a/b tests that we do work with development on - they create a way to trigger large tests with cookies and then we use Optimizely to set the cookies and control test volumes.
  • Self code small design changes without dev help.
  • Quickly adjust test volumes or turn tests on/off.
  • Watching high-level test metrics to know when you have a Stat Sig winner.
  • We have had some issues with using it on Single Page App sites.
  • There is an initial learning curve.
  • Would benefit from improved online courses.
Well suited for teams that don't have dev capacity for developers to build their tests. Well suited for teams that are looking to test quickly and frequently. Generally good for any team to make quick, auto deployed, changes to a site. Not great for enhancing data analysis, you can pull out the data and then need to analyze it somewhere else, but high-level metrics are in it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

Good product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to develop and test iterations for all our 28 web-based services together with analytics, user research and design professionals in the agile environment.
  • A/B testing
  • 1 too many tests
  • Hypothesis testing
  • Export function
  • Freedom to implement
  • Can be used to make bad decisions
Web-based basic design changes like buttons are fine but bigger changes are difficult.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Optimizely helped me find a optimal purchase plan

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used to use it when doing A/B tests on different price plans. Also, UX with and without ads.
  • Enables personalization
  • Split testing
  • Not take a toll on page speed.
It was great when testing different subscription plans.
Read this authenticated review
Emily Emmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

Optimizely for marketers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely has been used by the marketing department for 6+ years. A/B testing with Optimizely helps us make changes after we've tested impact with our site visitors. We've also used Optimizely as a quick fix for any site issues when resolving through developer resources will be too cumbersome.
  • Simple technical interface that allows for marketing-centric A/B testing, it pulls the power of experimentation back into Marketing's wheelhouse.
  • Excellent support resources: It's easy to get customer support on the phone and they're fully equipped to resolve issues.
  • Great training and certification resources.
  • Limited visibility to product roadmap and ability to influence that roadmap.
  • Mandatory transition to new platform with no access to previous testing was inconvenient (2018).
  • Creating swim-lane testing for tests with the same conversion metric is a bit cumbersome.
Optimizely is a great A/B testing tool for any size business. The Optimizely platform democratizes A/B testing through a simple interface, excellent training tools, easy implementation and low dependence on IT resources. Utilizing Optimizely I've been able to run robust experimentation programs with a variety of resources (acting as a 1-person team with limited access to IT resources as well as managing a team with high access to resources). Additionally, Optimizely is well-priced and positioned to be affordable for a variety of business sizes.
Read Emily Emmer's full review
Ashley Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

The wonder of Optimizely

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is currently being used for our CRO programme to run A/B testing as well as smaller personalisation campaigns. This currently sits solely within the product team to make quick front end changes and testing. This helps to address and resolve user experience issues, styling and formatting issues as well as ensure we are testing within the right areas.
  • Easy to use platform with an easy to use WYSIWYG editor for non-technical people.
  • Specific personalisation suite to enable effective use of 1:1 personalisation on landing pages.
  • Accurate statistcal modelling to ensure confidence in results.
  • Assistance with on-boarding the tool as opossed to using a partner.
  • Dedicated training on the tool for internal business users both on the development and consultancy side.
  • Impression usage should be applied to running AB tests only - Development teams need to take some time to implement a winning variation and so using impressions to temporarily run a winning experience is not ideal.
Well suited to make quick amends to existing issues on site. Althought I don't believe the platform should be used for this purpose for too long. With the program management tool, Optimizely enables users from across the business to share ideas and collobarate and prioritise testing efficiently. There are many ways to QA an experience but changes to the QA tool such as being able to trigger different experiences and/or variations on or off would be ideal.
Read Ashley Smith's full review
Emma Low | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Easy, helpful, recommended

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Optimizely to organize, test, and make decisions about our project ideas. Both the Marketing and Development teams can access the tool to input new ideas, and monitor ideas in testing.
  • The separation between idea organization (PM) and test experimentation.
  • Clean, easily navigable interface.
  • Integration with tools like JIRA and Slack makes it easy to stay organized.
  • The analysis input is not obvious and requires a few too many clicks to find an update.
  • A few UX tweaks can make a big difference - ex. in PM, you need to click a section, then click again to start typing. One click should be enough.
  • Allow deletion of PM categories.
It is excellent for A/B testing front end changes of any kind. It is not as easy to test pricing.
Read Emma Low's full review
Fay Dawson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2019

Great Experimentation Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely has allowed the marketing team to run smaller scale tests without support from the development team, but it has also worked well in larger scale testing where the dev team has had to build the test within Optimizely.
  • Easy element selector. Users don't need to know code to pick out certain elements.
  • Audience inclusions and exclusions list is easy to use and straight forward.
  • Clear reporting dashboard allows you to see the results and understand them quickly.
  • On some tests, it takes a while to set up metrics, e.g. redirect tests. It is hard to set up metrics for both the original page and the redirect page.
Really good for being able to set up quick experiments for users who aren't familiar with code or don't want to make code changes.
Read Fay Dawson's full review
Emanuell Dan Minciu | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2019

It has never been easier to begin your experimentation journey.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is currently being used across multiple teams within the business. Its main purpose is to help us improve our products by finding out from customers how our ideas perform during A/B testing. Currently, our team has been running tests weekly for over 6 months. Optimizely is a great tool which makes this process easy and painless.
  • User-friendly - it's super easy and intuitive to create and launch a test
  • Fast - the app itself runs smoothly and the whole process of launching a test can be as quick as a few minutes
  • Clear feedback - you get a detailed summary of how your test performs (be it either good or bad)
  • Expand on the API - build on the current documentation with the aim of helping developers move tests in their own codebases
One of Optimizely use cases is helping improve your products by finding out from customers how your ideas perform during A/B testing. The tool makes this process easy and painless.
Read Emanuell Dan Minciu's full review
William Sargent | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

First experience with Optimizely - What worked, What didn't...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is being used primarily with our product managers within one department. It has allowed us to use experimentation to prove our hypothesis that have directly affected change for our public facing membership webpages.
  • The tech support has been outstanding.
  • The online documentation is very well written. It makes it easy for us to solve our own challenges.
  • The analytics reporting has been very helpful for us to understand what our audience likes and dislikes.
  • I would have liked to use the Full Stack product, but it was just too expensive to justify its additional cost.
  • I would have liked more control over user permissions and global controls over all experiments.
  • Integration of third-party software was confusing at first.
I would recommend using Optimizely for any website with an ecommerce component as it has the potential to pay for itself if you use a UX Designer and a Front End Developer to implement your experiment ideas.
Read William Sargent's full review
Joanna Jardeleza | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

Great for Small to Medium Business looking to test, improve, implement!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Optimizely for over 5 years! As we manage a portfolio of over 50 versions of our site, it's important for us to have a tool such as Optimizely that allows us to properly manage all of our testing and even make small changes on the fly! We are extremely happy with the tool and love its ease of use.
  • AB Testing
  • Allows for quick changes
  • Easy to install JS
  • Better search functionality when searching for current tests
We use Optimizely for all our marketing pages, and it's great for when we want to make changes that do not necessarily need a developer to work on.
Read Joanna Jardeleza's full review
Jared Gardner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Great tool, it can do almost anything you ask it to!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Optimizely to do all the web site testing and optimization in the Marketing department.
  • Integrates with most digital marketing tools well.
  • Library features make it easy to reuse metrics, goals, and pages.
  • Endless ways of executing a test.
  • Great thought leadership and training.
  • Being able to target analytics audiences is limiting compared to Google and Adobe products.
  • UI looks nice but its layout a little weird IMO.
Really one of the top tier testing tools, there are very little things it can't do. The personalization add-ons can get expensive though. I wish you could use audiences from GA or Adobe Analytics (and Audience platforms) to target tests, besides that, I have not real complaints.
Read Jared Gardner's full review
César Costas Carrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

A/B tests for non-coders done right

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by one team so far. It helps to address two problems: we do A/B testing, so we set up the tests and keep track of the results with Optimizely. We also wrap new developments into A/B tests so we can measure if we made a mistake towards the client's outcome, even if the expected result is to be flat (A being as good as B).
  • The traffic reports don't seem to be far from our internal traffic reports.
  • Non-coders appreciate the interface and graphs.
  • It's slow at loading and it's blocking, so it damages your site performance.
  • It uses a naive approach, where two tests running in the same page are still two A/B tests, not an A/B/C, damaging the results due to interference.
Optimizely is appropriate for promotional landing pages and small numbers of tests. It is not appropriate for big projects or for SEO landing pages.
Read César Costas Carrera's full review
Edwin Brouwer | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

Great experimentation software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Optimizely throughout the company to deploy both AB tests as 100% fixes.
  • Clear UI
  • Super customizable
  • To be honest I can't think of any big downside.
Very suitable for large companies. Not suitable for the smaller ones as ROI would be too small due too pricing.
Read Edwin Brouwer's full review
Harman Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

Optimizely is a good experimentation tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for experimentation on new product features. It is being used by more than one department and helps in understanding customer choices.
  • Random allocation in A/B Tests
  • KPI Monitoring
  • Experimentation
  • Version Control
  • Traffic Allocation Insights
A/B testing of traffic is the best scenario for Optimizely.

Other use cases requiring detailed metrics is something that Optimizely is less appropriate for.
Read Harman Singh's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

a/b experiment testing (46)
8.1
Split URL testing (36)
7.7
Multivariate testing (35)
7.7
Multi-page/funnel testing (51)
7.4
Cross-browser testing (26)
7.2
Mobile app testing (18)
6.4
Test significance (40)
7.0
Visual / WYSIWYG editor (38)
7.1
Advanced code editor (37)
6.6
Page surveys (11)
6.4
Visitor recordings (14)
7.2
Preview mode (43)
6.8
Test duration calculator (23)
6.3
Experiment scheduler (28)
7.9
Experiment workflow and approval (19)
7.0
Dynamic experiment activation (18)
7.4
Client-side tests (30)
7.4
Server-side tests (10)
6.8
Mutually exclusive tests (20)
6.6
Standard visitor segmentation (42)
7.8
Behavioral visitor segmentation (31)
7.4
Traffic allocation control (40)
8.1
Website personalization (23)
6.9
Heatmap tool (8)
6.7
Click analytics (21)
7.4
Scroll maps (11)
7.1
Form fill analysis (9)
6.6
Conversion tracking (33)
7.6
Goal tracking (38)
7.6
Test reporting (40)
7.7
Results segmentation (35)
7.2
CSV export (25)
6.5
Experiments results dashboard (35)
7.2

About Optimizely

Optimizely is one of the leaders in digital experience optimization, allowing businesses to dramatically drive up the value of their digital products, commerce and campaigns through its experimentation software platform.

According the the vendor, by replacing digital guesswork with evidence-based results, Optimizely enables product and marketing professionals to accelerate innovation, lower the risk of new features, and drive up the return on investment from digital by up to 10X.

Over 26 of the Fortune 100 companies choose Optimizely to power their global digital experiences, including eBay, FOX, IBM, The New York Times and many more global enterprises.

Optimizely Integrations

SessionCam, AdBasis, Oracle DMP (Bluekai)

Optimizely Competitors

Optimizely Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No