Optimizely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
386 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 131)

Rafael Zorrilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Best in class but comes at a higher cost

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is the platform of choice for experimentation and product feature rollout. In my department, Education Services, we partner with schools to improve the digital experience for prospective students. Through analytics and digital UX tools, we identify potential UX friction points or missed business opportunities, we hypothesize a solution and then build that proposed solution in Optimizely. Through Optimizely we build experiments, present to users and through statistical review, we determine results on whether to push to production.
  • The ability for general business users to build experiments. No direct need for coding necessary. Caveat, complex feature or product rollouts may need development effort.
  • relatively real-time statistical review of the experiment data.
  • API output.
  • Management of large volume of experimentation. The ability to review the large scale of the experiment is a convenient manner.
  • The incremental increase in page load time due to the Optimizely snippet.
The execution of experiments is good.

The cost is growing significantly more than competitors.
Although one can deploy Optimizely across a portfolio of properties, it's not ideal for page load. The recommended use of "custom snippets" is more complex in setup than just deploying one simple JS snippet.
It's pretty intuitive to a user. Simple to use and understand where to look.
Two words, Agile experimentation. We have been able to launch more than 500 unique experiments per year, speed-to-market with testing. Analysis tools allow us a centralized process/location for statistical review.
Read Rafael Zorrilla's full review
Jon Lindemann | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

A Powerful Tool, but with Power Comes Responsibility

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Insights & Analytics team is using Optimizely. Some other teams also use it if they need to insert some JavaScript onto a page to test other functionality (such as a chatbot).

It allows us to perform minor A/B testing to determine which changes customers respond to when browsing our site and purchasing our products.
  • Insert code as the page is rendering. This can be helpful for quick visual fixes or inserting code for testing.
  • Performing A/B testing for minor visual changes to the site.
  • Collecting all tests in a single interface that allows multiple people to see what's being tested.
  • It slows down the rendering of a webpage because it's a third-party script. If you set it to render asynchronously or after the page is rendered, you see flickering.
  • This may be how it's implemented, but our web team typically has no idea when tests are going live as there are no notifications set up. Things can get broken on the site without us knowing.
  • There's no easy way to see what tests are running and what they affect without going into the management interface.
It's great if you want to do quick and easy testing by inserting a third-party script onto your page. It is also great to make quick visual fixes when a deployment isn't possible.

It's not great (at least it isn't great if you aren't using self-hosting/Optimizely Edge) if you want to have optimal website performance.
It's scalable, but to optimize its performance, you need to self-host or use Optimizely Edge.
I think it's useable but definitely could be a bit less confusing. I've logged into the interface and not known where to go to see exactly what's running right then.
We've tried different things in the UI. Particularly around a call to action buttons. In that sense, it has helped.
Read Jon Lindemann's full review
Joanna Jardeleza | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

Great for Small to Medium Business looking to test, improve, implement!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Optimizely for over 5 years! As we manage a portfolio of over 50 versions of our site, it's important for us to have a tool such as Optimizely that allows us to properly manage all of our testing and even make small changes on the fly! We are extremely happy with the tool and love its ease of use.
  • AB Testing
  • Allows for quick changes
  • Easy to install JS
  • Better search functionality when searching for current tests
We use Optimizely for all our marketing pages, and it's great for when we want to make changes that do not necessarily need a developer to work on.
We started using Optimizely when we only had 4 versions of our site; now we have over 50 and have been able to scale with no issues.
Optimizely is not overly technical, so it's been great for even marketing folks such as myself to be able to use.
Optimizely has been the perfect fit for us when it comes to all our testing needs.
Read Joanna Jardeleza's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Not bad for starting out. Can be used correctly for larger orgs when done right.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run a couple hundred of tests a year around a large portfolio of websites. We use it for all site optimization issues.
  • Easy to teach
  • Portable
  • Awful statistics
  • Poor user interface
It's a decent tool for a medium sized company that wants a more plug and play client site optimization tool.
Easy to add to sites, easy to deploy with a tag manager, easy to train. Doesn't have a ton of massive negative interactions.
Basic features are ok, but it's designed for people who don't know what they are doing and if you want to use it correctly requires a lot of outside the tool tracking/usage.
We do not analyze results in platform as their data systems are awful. Our Optimization team is the leading driver of growth however and the portability and usage of Optimizely does not get in the way of that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

Optimizely Review from an OTA Product Manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to increase conversion in our shopping funnel. The users are mainly the product department -- we build the tests, run them, and relay the results to the rest of the Exec team. Ideas can come from anywhere in the organization.
  • It provides an interface to create tests easily.
  • It sends out webinars and best practice emails.
  • It might be our integration with GA, but it's hard to trust the results at times.
  • Traffic allocation-- this might be our implementation, but the users are never 100% on an A/B test.
Optimizely is well suited for testing changes that you may not believe will influence a guests' decision. It's less appropriate for complete funnel changes and overlapping tests.
I find that when running more than one test on the same page, even not mutually exclusive, the numbers in each test drastically drop -- but again, that may be our implementation of it.
It's great for the most part -- moving to X introduced some pain points, like every "page" needs separate code, and visual editor changes don't translate so you can edit them.
We design outside of the platform, implement inside, and get our results from outside (GA). I would love to be able to trust and segment all the data I need in Optimizely so that I can have a full solution that I trust the results of.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

Optimizely Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is used by almost everyone on my team on a daily basis. We work with many clients who use Optimizely as their primary A/B, MVT, and personalization testing tool, and we both consult with them on best practices on how to use the tool, as well as execute our own analysis within the tool (if an analytics platform is not paired with it).
  • Extremely intuitive interface with excellent usability, without sacrificing features. You could almost just read and use some common sense, and be able to use 80%+ of the features the first time you load the tool - incredibly intuitive.
  • Drag and Drop/Click and Pull functionality that is present throughout the tool, allows for seamless changes and updates, which can be much more cumbersome in other tools - potentially leading to more errors in campaign setup.
  • The WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) Editor is the best that I have personally used.
  • Optimizely technical support is second to none, in both their expertise, as well as their friendliness and willingness to help.
  • Integrates well with Adobe Analytics.
  • One specific point, is I wish Optimizely gave you the ability to copy an audience. It's an extremely simple feature, and one that we've requested, but probably just on the back log currently.
  • Sometimes it can take quite some time to upload changes from a campaign to the CDN. It varies by client and implementation, but can be a pain point at times.
Companies should discuss their goals on a case-by-case basis to determine what testing tool makes the most sense for them, but unless there were specific reasons to use another testing tool, Optimizely would be my recommendation any day of the week.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Optimizely a great choice for A/B Testing in Mobile Apps

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to A/B test features within our mobile applications. The SDK allows us to easily implement feature testing in both the iOS and Android platforms. Without the SDK, we would have to have a lot of custom code splattered throughout the code base which is not ideal. We particularly like the Swift support in iOS.
  • Swift support on iOS
  • Custom logger
  • Event tracking/metrics
  • More documentation samples
  • Video demos
  • Expensive
To quickly add A/B Testing to your mobile applications, I can highly recommend the product. It's not free, but you often get what you pay for if you go with a free or open-source solution. If your company has the budget, this tool/SDK is worth the investment and time saved.
We've had no issues with scalability and integration with the SDK, I can not list any negative points in regards to scalability because I have none.
The SDK from both an iOS and Android perspective is easy to use and implement. The SDK is fairly comprehensive with code samples and usages. The Swift support covers that latest and greatest, which is nice for a new and ever changing language. There could be more videos support showing complete tutorials, that would be nice.
Using the Optimizely SDK has allowed us to test features on both iOS and Android for a comprehensive scope on which direction to take with our mobile applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Optimizely helps us out in testing times

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage Optimizely across all our Product Management and Marketing teams. We use it for a range of tasks. The types of tests we run include homepage/landing page optimization, as well as improvements to the user experience further down the 'funnel' (including things like our checkout flow). We typically run A/B tests with it (where we have a variant version of a page compete against our original/control version), although we do occasionally run more sophisticated multivariate tests.
  • The user interface is relatively straightforward, making adopting across the company easier.
  • Customer Support is very responsive.
  • Optimizely X Web integrates with digital analytics tools (such as Google Analytics) relatively smoothly.
  • Optimizely Full Stack is difficult to integrate with digital analytics tools (such as Google Analytics).
  • Events can be hard to configure, depending on what kinds of tests you're running.
  • It's not the best solution when you're dealing with users who log in and out of a platform frequently, especially across devices. Sometimes the user IDs get confused and you end up with people seeing a control AND variant version (across different experiences).
It's arguably the optimization best tool on the market, but it is also probably the most expensive! If you're a young company/startup, you might want to consider other tools first before 'graduating' to a tool like Optimizely. Conversely, if you're a well-established company and you have the budget, then this is the tool for you.
It's relatively easy to scale. X Web, for example, is fairly quick to set up once you've got the snippet across the site and you're running basic button/wording tests or you're changing landing page experiences (for example). There is however much more work involved getting Full-Stack fully integrated with your back-end systems. Whereas X Web doesn't need much intervention with your Developers, Full-Stack does (because there's lots of back-end pluming that they'll need to do).
It's relatively easy to get yourself round the interface. The results dashboard isn't too hard to understand, even for people who don't really know much about testing.
It saves a lot of design and developer hours because the X Web visual editor is relatively quick and easy to use (if you're running call to action/copy testing or you want to test a different version of a landing page, for example). Instead of them being all hands on deck building tests, you can just use the visual editor and give them their time back.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Optimizely Grows With Us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is used across several teams at our organization. Our team, marketing operations, implement the set-up and targeting of experiments, while also managing the tool and vendor relationship. We are also involved in the implementation of the tool across our properties. The actual experiment design is typically handled by another team within the company. At a high level, we use Optimizely for mostly A/B testing of landing page elements to increase conversions or user engagement.
  • Account Service - We have had an exceptional experience with our account team.
  • Advanced targeting capabilities - There have been several instances where we have questioned how we are going to segment and target a specific set of users, and thus far Optimizely has always been able to deliver upon our targeting goals.
  • Resources for learning - We've found there to be a considerable amount of documentation on Optimizely's capabilities which has enabled us to look into specific topics on our own.
  • None at the moment.
Optimizely is great for A/B and multivariate testing - it's a very user-friendly experimentation platform that allows us to accomplish our testing goals without using IT resources. We've even used it to roll changes out at 100% (in the short term) until IT priorities allow for the changes to be made to a landing page.
Thus far, Optimizely's overall scalability has been great. Our organization has a white label business that continues to grow and we've had to build up our MarTech stack accordingly, which comes with scalability challenges - especially with the budget. This is something we need to monitor as we continue to grow.
The platform has been pretty user-friendly and intuitive.
This has been great for us, but I think there is more we can do in terms of data integration. We often are looking at two sets of data between our internal data and Optimizely's results, and we need to find a better way to integrate Optimizely's data with ours. In terms of the actual design and implementation - everything's been fairly successful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Intuitive and easy to manipulate data sets and top notch for AB testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using this platform software for landing page experiment testing that has the primary function to drive paid or organic traffic to website and host and monitor and report on performance metrics of lead gen. Our team sits in the Marketing Department and use this tool to drive testing mandates and performance goals.
  • Host experiments
  • Monitor in-flight experiments and optimizations
  • Stats accelerator
Good for hosting experiments, not good when there are element changes on the page for longer running experiments where the page undergoes updates and rollouts causing elements to change. Hard to flag these bugs when they arise in real-time. Can have issues with loading Optimizely in the header that causes a flicker of the treatment experiment or rebucketing issues when a user returns to the page.
Can implement snippets on many projects and can manage all of the access out of 1 account.
Interface is intuitive and organized which allows project and experiment management from start to finish, manage all the projects and tasks in one place which lets us manage workflow and productivity as well as share reporting and innovate and adapt faster in a fast-moving work environment with data-driven results and KPIs.
We design outside of Optimizely and use the custom code or wysiwygs for implementing an AB test experiment. We use reporting outside of Optimizely because there are limited metrics tracked by Optimizely. We do not use this all in one platform approach as we use many other nonintegrated platforms to complete reports.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

My Optimizely Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely allows us to unlock conversion wins on our landing pages in areas that wouldn't be possible with our eng team. Our marketing team uses it to run A/B tests on creative, copy, and CTA buttons. Using Optimizely has been such a game-changer at a company where engineering resources are scarce.
  • Visual-based
  • Easy to use and understand
  • Let's you roll out landing page tests within minutes!
  • N/A
In marketing teams where there are many things to test on landing pages!
Very easy to use and onboard users.
Very visual and easy to understand and navigate.
Optimizely allows us to unlock conversion wins on our landing pages in areas that wouldn't be possible with our eng team. Our marketing team uses it to run A/B tests on creative, copy, and CTA buttons. Using Optimizely has been such a game-changer at a company where engineering resources are scarce.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Optimizely is an effective experimentation platform for companies of any size and has helped our company increase revenue significantly

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Optimizely for A/B and multi-variate testing of many parts of our website and shopping experience. We test copy, headlines, buttons, features, new pages, new experiences and more. It is very effective in helping us learn when any change we make to our product and marketing materials affects our sales performance.
  • It does a great job reporting experiment results and showing when a test wins or loses.
  • The UI is designed very well and it super easy to use.
  • The customer support is really responsive and helpful.
  • The documentation is very deep and helpful.
  • Single Page Application testing is a little more difficult than traditional sites.
  • API documentation could use more examples.
  • QA of experiments could be a little easier. Sometimes the preview links don't load in browser windows or incognito windows.
Optimizely is very effective for A/B and multivariate testing. We have seen random instances where browser extension ad-blockers block Optimizely rendering experiments not effective. Therefore, if used for an important content fix, it might not be the best solution, although it's better than nothing when you can't get a fix through engineering fast enough.
The more tests we run, the more difficult it is to coordinate them all.
Generally, Optimizely is very user-friendly. I have experience with Google Optimize and Optimizely is much more user-friendly than that product.
Optimizely has given our company a way to include more stakeholders and viewers to contribute to our ideation process and our sales/marketing operation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Tricky for Testers Who Don't Read the Manual

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Optimizely mainly within our development group, though the framework is available to all departments. Its main function is to enable us to show/hide features to subsets of users in the field, and make those changes via server-side controls. We're also starting to use it for cohort testing, though we're still in the early stages of trying this.
  • Developers seem to be able to set up experiments fairly easily.
  • The dashboard allows users to control settings for individual devices for testing purposes.
  • Functional on both iOS and Android.
  • At least in our implementation, there didn't seem to be a great way to scale the number of individual testers who are able to individually control experiment settings.
  • Differences in the experiment stage weren't terribly intuitive to figure out.
  • When we first started using it, there was no support for booleans to define the audience. If we wanted to enable an experiment for anyone on version N or higher, we couldn't just say "if version >= N", but had to add each subsequent version individually. I believe this has been addressed in the new version.
It seems like it has most of the functionality you'd want in an A/B testing tool. However, it also seems like there are some implementation expectations built into the functionality. I suspect that some of the difficulties we've had getting up to speed have been due to our usage not adhering to the intended usage pattern. I'm not sure if we diverted intentionally by choice, by necessity, or because of insufficient guidance.
As mentioned, our implementation didn't seem to support more than ten testers being able to enable/disable experiments from within the dashboard. From a test perspective, this is a mandatory feature. It's possible that the tool supports this usage, but our implementation or training got in our way when attempting to figure it out.
Based on just attempting to parse the dashboard without additional training or documentation, a number of things weren't obvious. We weren't sure whether an experiment needed to be "on" or "paused" in order to do in-house testing before release, for example. I think the new version has cleaned up a lot of these confusions though.
We haven't used this feature extensively at my level, though we did have success using a small multi-variant experiment to validate some assumptions we'd made about behavior in the field.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Optimizely Saves Dev Time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is used by our Marketing, Operations and Product teams to A/B test new features. It is valuable for self-building basic design changes and testing them, all without needing your development teams to help - this is extremely valuable to us given we have limited tech resources. It also helps for larger a/b tests that we do work with development on - they create a way to trigger large tests with cookies and then we use Optimizely to set the cookies and control test volumes.
  • Self code small design changes without dev help.
  • Quickly adjust test volumes or turn tests on/off.
  • Watching high-level test metrics to know when you have a Stat Sig winner.
  • We have had some issues with using it on Single Page App sites.
  • There is an initial learning curve.
  • Would benefit from improved online courses.
Well suited for teams that don't have dev capacity for developers to build their tests. Well suited for teams that are looking to test quickly and frequently. Generally good for any team to make quick, auto deployed, changes to a site. Not great for enhancing data analysis, you can pull out the data and then need to analyze it somewhere else, but high-level metrics are in it.
I think it is awesome but it is also simple in terms of how we use it. It is a drag and drop editor that works really well and splitting tests really welll. I don't know what the boundary is for advance dev within it.
After the learning the curve, it is very easy to use.
As already mentioned, we have saved countless developer hours with the help of Optimizely. Multiple non-developers here have learned to use it and we can test many more design changes and only pass off to the development team when we have a real winner. This is necessary for fast-growing start ups.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Optimizely robust for large experimentation teams but not as agile or well integrated

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Some of our clients use Optimizely regularly. It's used for A/B testing primarily but usually only for UX teams. Marketing and Analytics teams often do not use Optimizely but are responsible for implementation, as it's primarily leveraged by designers or front end client team members for testing various on-site element changes.
  • Lots of documentation and support articles
  • Optimizely X for server-side experiments is nice, especially with GDPR and ITP etc.
  • Constant updates to the technology
  • Can be overly complex
  • Not the best for personalization
  • Not a lot of auto-integrations with other products like Google Analytics and advertising channels
For a client that has a large experimentation and UX team, with robust and clear processes this can work. As well as a strong technical team for implementation.

For more lean organizations or ones that are just starting and building out their experimentation teams, other tools like Google Optimize may be more fitting or appropriate.
A lot of clients have scaled this across their site, but not many have scaled this cross sites and brands.
Lots of good documentation but can be overly complex at times, given it's robust and has many options.
In working with our clients that have more advanced and larger experimentation or UX teams - it has been helpful to have a lot of the capabilities within one platform, but often times we need enterprise analytics software to do even deeper research or analysis. Optimizely is not auto-integrated or robustly integrated with Google Analytics, for example, which sometimes can be challenging.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Optimizely Web

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely is used by a select few teams to quickly test both new product features, as well as tweaks to existing product features. It allows us to optimize customer conversion and retention through iterative changes to the product. Ultimate, Optimizely allows us to obtain valuable information about our product, so that we can continue to improve the customer experience.
  • Easy to use for less technically inclined individuals
  • Ability to target very specific audiences
  • Ability to change traffic allocation of an experiment at any time
  • Limited flexibility for developers (Optimizely Web)
  • Certain usages can result in performance degradation and/or page flickering, which is detrimental to the user experience
  • Lack of support for persistent / longer running experiments in Optimizely Web
Optimizely Web is well suited for individuals or organizations that are interested in improving conversion. A prime example is on a marketing page, where the ultimate goal is to get the user to sign up. Optimizely allows even individuals with less technical knowledge of the product to implement and test changes that can have a large impact on conversion. Optimizely Web is less appropriate for improving retention as long running experiments can be tricky to run. Optimizely Full Stack aims to address this issue and provides a much richer experience for engineers and developers.
Optimizely Web works well at a small scale, but may require extensive coordination amongst many cross-cutting groups to successfully run experiments in a large product.
Optimizely is easy to use for developers and non-developers alike. It provides the ability to quickly and easily iterate, while also allowing more fine grained control for power users.
As an individual contributor, Optimizely has simplified my workflow by allowing me to design, implement, and analyze experiments all in one place. As a global organization, the Optimizely platform has also given us the ability to collaborate on experimentation projects.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Time-Saving Split-Testing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it extensively on the Marketing team for split testing. We often want to test 2 or more options of a designed/developed web page, and using Optimizely to split test is very helpful. It allows us to use data to see how changes to our website affect performance and user behavior.
  • Split Testing. It makes it very clear when one of many options is declared "the winner".
  • Targeting classes and other HTML/CSS elements when making changes.
  • Serving up different digital experiences to different demographics.
  • The preview window is very buggy. Often, tests will break, and something the bugs will cause the website to look wonky and broken as well--when it isn't actually broken. It really needs to be a more seamless experience, because it is sometimes hard to trust the preview window when you're trying to see how the test will look to hundreds of thousands of people.
  • Load times. Sometimes the load times for certain pages in the app are very long.
  • The HTML editor pane when clicking on an element that has a ton of nested HTML can often bug out and only show the first 10 - 20 lines of code before going completely blank. It would be really awesome if we could fully switch the view to HTML view, choose our elements and classes that way, and then switch back to the Visual view.
Optimizely is extremely useful when trying to make an informed decision about a specific change or new direction for a digital product. It takes a lot of the guesswork out of a design or a piece of code and either validates it or disproves it with cold, hard data. It also does a great job of summarizing what the "winner" of a particular test is.
Seems to work well at a department level, but I would worry about scaling the account up to other departments without knowing for sure that we can limit access to certain groups of tests and experiments.
It works well and it looks great, but some major bugs in the preview and HTML editor modes really hold it back when setting up tests.
We have benefited greatly by being able to use Optimizely as our sole data-driven testing platform. However, we do not do the design-side of the experimentation within the platform due to the buggy editor and preview mode.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Optimizely makes testing simple and effective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Optimizely in the marketing department to test variations across our marketing websites. It allows us to test simple and complex variations without requiring developer resources.
  • Customer support.
  • Training.
  • Making testing simple.
  • I would like the ability to force a cache clear on the snippet each time the snippet changes, instead of based on time settings. This may be possible with Optimizely Edge.
  • The ability to see changes made to each test individually (not just all changes made).
Optimizely is what you need it to be; if you need really simple tests, such as a redirect or simple edit, it is very simple to use. If you have very complex tests, such as custom code changes and timing events, it has the ability to handle it. It makes testing as quick and easy as I imagine possible. Plus, their support team is amazing! They have helped me troubleshoot testing issues and get tests up and running more times than I can count.
It is as simple as possible for simple tests, and it has the ability to scale up for complex tests.
It really is a very simple and intuitive program. Testing is complicated, and making complicated edits on a page with specific settings is really complex! So some training is needed -- the more complicated the tests, the more training you need. But, Optimizely's training is excellent, and their support team is very helpful. You can learn what you need quickly, and apply it in the program quickly.
Optimizely has a wide range of metrics that can be created. Because of this, we are able to analyze many aspects of a test. Creating the tests, then running them, and analyzing them within the same tool just makes sense.
Optimizely's support is phenomenal. The staff is awesome and help solve issues and work through them. They have helped me be more empowered/skilled by explaining solutions so I can learn for future projects
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

Great tool for quickly setting AB testing and fixing production UI issues.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Optimizely in our production to implement the AB Testing. Without changing our backend code or production deployment, we can directly make changes in the UI of our web page through Optimizely and can compare the performance of two different versions of the same page.
  • With Optimizely we can make changes in the user interface of any web page. So let's say if you notice any UI related issue of a web page then you can directly fix it through Optimizely with deploying any production build.
  • With Optimizely we can implement AB Testing through which we can compare the different versions of the same web page for performance and for better customer experience.
  • You can easily enable and disable Optimizely on the website through highly configurable Admin panel.
  • Training on the tool for internal business users both on the development and consultancy side.
  • Increase in page load time due to the Optimizely snippet.
This is really good to set up quick experiments for which we don't want to make changes in our code and can directly turn on the production website without any deployment.
Missing some audience stuff, but overall its really powerful, library features let it scale quickly.
Easy to use and implement.
Optimizely has been the perfect fit for us when it comes to all our testing needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

Optimizely is the best tool for on page testing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizely continues to be one of the best tools we use as an organization from an ROI perspective. Testing on websites no longer is optional if you want to compete in today's crowded market and Optimizely makes that possible. One of the most important concepts in testing and growth is testing velocity and that increasing your velocity is really hard without a tool like Optimizely.
  • A/B Testing
  • Testing Reporting
  • User Roles
  • Has become more complex over time for marketers to use without IT support.
  • Tracks conversions really well, but not as strong with testing recurring billing or B2B down funnel when the converter isn't the purchaser.
  • Can add page load time since it's render-blocking.
If you're looking to test anything on your website that results in direct action on your website, Optimzely is a great fit. Does changing a headline cause more conversions on a webinar? Optimizely can help you answer this easily and increase conversions. Does this homepage headline make the product benefits clearer? Not as easy to track in Optimizely, but really important (especially in B2B where people will review your website on a buying committee, but never take an action).
We've used Optimizely on many websites and products. Getting setup in very easy and take minimal effort. You cannot set up in a tag manager, which makes the implementation slightly harder, but still relatively easy. The platform is easy to use but does need IT support for creating most tests outside of the basics. Thankfully, many basic tests can be the most impactful, i.e. headline testing.
Optimizely has become more complex over time, but so have websites in general, so this makes sense. There are three aspects of usability:
  • Creating tests - This is the most complex part of the tool and likely where you will need IT to support unless your marketing team has CSS, Javascript chops.
  • Workflows & approvals - This is when multiple teams use Optimizely and you need checks and balances. I.E. Marketing designs the tests, IT codes and creates the test, and marketing operations targets, QAs, and launches the tests
  • Reporting - Really easy to review and segment test results when the goal is actions taken on your website.
We have not used personalization, but the ability to test and analyze in one tool has created a process that allows us to greatly increase the velocity of testing we do. When testing you're going to have as many misses as hits, so testing velocity is important to get better ROI.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

A Fully Featured Optimization and Personalization Tool that Marketers can Actually Use.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Optimizely for both B2B and B2C marketing. We use it to personalize customer experiences on our eCommerce site, as well as to test new experiences before we implement them.
  • Swapping out content, such as banners or icons.
  • Personalizing a landing page based on URL parameters for non-organic or direct traffic.
  • Testing new site experiences before developing them fully to validate the business case for the change.
  • The integration with Google Analytics is not great.
  • Designing changes for responsive design usually requires building a custom extension.
  • It can slow down page loads if you don't do a good job archiving audiences and experiments when no longer in use.
I would absolutely recommend Optimizely to a colleague because it has proven itself worth the effort of implementing is. Optimizely makes personalization for email segments a breeze, with measurable effects on revenue. In general, the measurability is Optimizely's greatest strength. Every change we implement, we implement as a 50/50 split in Optimizely and make sure we can justify the cost of development.
It's been difficult to implement Optimizely across our pre-production environments and facilitate QA of experiments prior to introducing them to our production environment. As a result, our pipeline for new experiments can be quite long.
It's very usable for a variety of experience levels with technical products. It's good for marketers, good for developers, and everyone in between.
Our department has been able to justify further investment in development resources because we are able to prove the business value of our experimentation track.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Optimizely accelerates my company's innovation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Optimizely for testing our website. It is used across the organization, including marketing and production.
  • Implementing test changes.
  • Managing multiple tests.
  • Understanding statistical significance.
  • Onboarding the tool requires a lot of support.
  • "Offline events" is still in beta.
Best use case: web experimentation for simple metrics, such as CTR.
Less appropriate: testing on offline metrics, such as revenue.
Optimizely is a highly scalable product, which can be used across many different teams. It is easy to manage and schedule tests, and it allows us to create "swim lanes" for different teams to ensure safe accesses. We still need a dedicated experiment team to manage this tool, but they were able to scale this product tremendously across teams.
Onboarding was probably the hardest part of Optimizely -- the product is complicated, and one has to go through trainings to learn how to use it. But once you finish the course, everything becomes straightforward, and the product became an incredible tool. Overall, it is a highly usable product.
We are able to use Optimizely to optimize our website to increase signups. In addition, Optimizely also accelerated our speed in innovation. The teams are all able to design --> test --> iterate a lot more quickly because Optimizely is easy to use. We are definitely impressed by this product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 22, 2019

Great for novice and advanced users, and for small and large teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently launched a newly designed website, and at first, we relied on Optimizely to implement "hotfixes" for issues until we could deploy the next code release. Recently, we've been focused on testing the optimization of the checkout flow. We've also been using it to test new features on the site before spending the time and resources on a fully developed solution. Our team is very lean, so Optimizely is primarily used by our agency partner responsible for web analytics, but a few of my colleagues and I use it as well.
  • A user-friendly (usability) interface for day to day experience setup and monitoring.
  • A novice can easily set up simple experiments, but an advanced user can set up more complex experiments with code/etc.
  • Customer service, customer support, and support architects are impressively responsive and knowledgable.
  • I just received an auto-generated notification that we've used 80% of our impressions in the first three months of our contract (yikes!!!!). I had mistakenly been going off visitors and thought we were ok. I had to dig for a while to even find where these this logged, and even then I'm not sure which experiments are burning through the impressions. I had to negotiate (internally) to get the budget for the expanded contract to the higher tier with more impressions, so I'm not sure whether I'll be able to talk my way into a mid-year budget review to further expand/extend my contract. Otherwise, I'm guessing I'll have to shut down Optimizely for the next nine months. Bottom line: I felt entirely blindsided by the lack of visibility for how many impressions we were burning through.
Great for hotfixes, and both simple and complex experiments. Apparently (per my early comment about being blindsided about the impressions we were burning through), it's not well suited for any experiments that run across multiple pages, such as global navigation.
Because our optimization "team" is generally two people, we don't use the program management functionality that came with our subscription. I could see how this would be a great function if I needed to scale to more teams.
Sometimes it's quite difficult to share a test with stakeholders to give feedback before going live. I'm also not able to see how many impressions we're burning through (which caused significant negative consequences). Otherwise, it's easy to use.
We were about to dig into these advanced functionalities (we've only been running basic a/b tests) with our customer success lead, and I was excited to take our optimization program to the next level, but I just realized we're basically out of impressions after only three months of our contract, so I'll likely have to shut it down and wait nine more months (or at least until 2020) when I can secure additional budget for this.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

Good product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to develop and test iterations for all our 28 web-based services together with analytics, user research and design professionals in the agile environment.
  • A/B testing
  • 1 too many tests
  • Hypothesis testing
  • Export function
  • Freedom to implement
  • Can be used to make bad decisions
Web-based basic design changes like buttons are fine but bigger changes are difficult.
It's scalable.
Useable
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Optimizely helped me find a optimal purchase plan

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used to use it when doing A/B tests on different price plans. Also, UX with and without ads.
  • Enables personalization
  • Split testing
  • Not take a toll on page speed.
It was great when testing different subscription plans.
Not sure.
Very user-friendly.
It helped provide a better user experience.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

a/b experiment testing (46)
8.0
Split URL testing (36)
7.7
Multivariate testing (35)
7.7
Multi-page/funnel testing (51)
7.4
Cross-browser testing (26)
7.2
Mobile app testing (18)
6.4
Test significance (40)
7.0
Visual / WYSIWYG editor (38)
7.1
Advanced code editor (37)
6.6
Page surveys (11)
6.4
Visitor recordings (14)
7.2
Preview mode (43)
6.7
Test duration calculator (23)
6.3
Experiment scheduler (28)
7.9
Experiment workflow and approval (19)
7.0
Dynamic experiment activation (18)
7.4
Client-side tests (30)
7.4
Server-side tests (10)
6.8
Mutually exclusive tests (20)
6.5
Standard visitor segmentation (42)
7.7
Behavioral visitor segmentation (31)
7.3
Traffic allocation control (40)
8.1
Website personalization (23)
6.8
Heatmap tool (8)
6.7
Click analytics (21)
7.4
Scroll maps (11)
7.1
Form fill analysis (9)
6.5
Conversion tracking (33)
7.5
Goal tracking (38)
7.5
Test reporting (40)
7.6
Results segmentation (35)
7.1
CSV export (25)
6.5
Experiments results dashboard (35)
7.2

About Optimizely

Optimizely is one of the leaders in digital experience optimization, and aims to allow businesses to dramatically drive up the value of their digital products, commerce and campaigns through its experimentation software platform.

According the the vendor, by replacing digital guesswork with evidence-based results, Optimizely enables product and marketing professionals to accelerate innovation, lower the risk of new features, and drive up the return on investment from digital by up to 10X.

The vendor states that currently over 26 of the Fortune 100 companies choose Optimizely to power their global digital experiences, including eBay, FOX, IBM, The New York Times and many more global enterprises.

Optimizely Integrations

SessionCam, AdBasis, Oracle DMP (Bluekai)

Optimizely Competitors

Optimizely Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No