Kayako Reviews

41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Jon Shurtliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Kayako worked great while it lasted

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Kayako was only ok - We switched because there are much better software platforms out there that manage Ticketing and KBs. Also, we feel like we were forced off the On-Prem platform - being pushed to the Cloud software. Not liking this push, we decided to go to another provider instead.
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

A solid, stable, feature-loaded help desk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's without a doubt a great help desk solution. It is perfect for our usage, and have rolled it out company-wide. It's great if you have multiple departments. We have it set up so most items come through a single desk that then hands out tickets to their proper department.

There may be cheaper options for smaller organizations but for one that is as service-driven as ours, we really think Kayako is a great fit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2019

Look nice at first, but don't expect support from Kayako

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Features might work for you, but don't expect any support from them. For them, a trial user is not handled the same as a paying user, at least that is what the sales employee said. Support keeps you waiting forever until your trial period is over.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Pleasant but insufficient. Suitable for small businesses.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For small businesses that do not get a large number of messages, it is very well suited. The main factor would be the price which is quite low in comparison to the competition. There is a mobile app as well with very few features, but it is good for notifications.
Read this authenticated review
Zane Lucas | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2017

Highly Priced Support/Upgrades

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for anyone requiring an easy to set up helpdesk. For existing customers on perpetual licenses, the new charging strategy that Kayako has forced is extremely expensive and results in loss of license if now paid on an annual basis. Perpetual doesn’t mean perpetual at Kayako.
Read Zane Lucas's full review
Joshua Tobiansky | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2016

Kayako is great, but maybe not for the larger enterprise organization.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Kayako is suited for a small company that is just getting started. We are in the web-hosting industry and it was very hard to fully adapt the system the way we would have liked to. Kayako would be very good if you were hosting an ecommerce shop or customer service business where you can look at each customer interaction as separate and not over a long-term period.
Read Joshua Tobiansky's full review
Jericho Fulgencio | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2016

Kayako for Managed Service Providers (MSPs)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're a small to medium managed service provider that is managing multiple client companies, Kayako would likely be a great fit for you. If you need a help desk system that also does network scans to gather information like product keys and device status, you may want to go with another help desk system that also incorporates SNMP scanning like Spiceworks.
Read Jericho Fulgencio's full review
CJ Estel | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Kayako API and direct database access

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Access to the API and to the raw database were the major pro's from my standpoint. Though it is more work to manage your own instance of Kayako, that was preferred for our installation. I wouldn't think you would get the direct database access to script against through their hosted version.
Read CJ Estel's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2018

Kayako is BETTER than you think!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We really like it to manage our customer interactions. It also has a chat feature (which we don't use yet) but understands that it is quite good.
Read this authenticated review
Derrick Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2014

Kayako Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I only have experience with it in tracking software issues, but this is a great system if you are looking for a client centric way to handle support.
Read Derrick Green's full review
Nathaniel Bannister | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2014

Keep customers coming back with Kayako

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • The amount of technical talent you have in house will likely need to be factored into whether or not you buy into the SaaS or Self-hosted packages that they offer.
  • The Self-hosted variant allows a lot more customization but will require at least a familiarity with Linux and the LAMP/LEMP stack to get the application performing the way it needs to.
  • There are multiple editions, Fusion, Engage, and Case. You will need to look carefully at how each offerings features aligns with your needs as you may be able to save money by using one of the two pared down versions.
  • There is no official Kayako Desktop client for OS X or Linux which is unfortunate as it is a much more cohesive experience for the Customer Service Reps to use.
Read Nathaniel Bannister's full review
Anthony Karas | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2014

My review of Kayako Fusion

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is suitable when you want a reliable, fast responding help desk system that doesn't need a lot of customization in order to get it working. It is also helpful when your users are somewhat technically minded or willing to go through a bit of training in order to get up to speed on the product.
Read Anthony Karas's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2016

Kayako knowledge base

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Kayako is best for support ticketing needs as well as knowledge base (self help) documentation. Users can easily enter tickets that are then routed to the appropriate support tech. If users need immediate help they can search the knowledge base for support documentation. The knowledge base is easy to manage with the addition/editing/removal of any documents we have. This enables a 24/7 support hub for those users who wish to follow documentation. Otherwise they can log a ticket for one of our techs to further troubleshoot and resolve issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

Kayako is a Great Product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Kayako has been great for our business. We use this program across the company and find that it's a very efficient tool. The only issue we have with Kayako is the search engine, we find it difficult to use. Overall, it's a great system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2014

"Catchy Title"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ease of use, robustness, and ease of access through mobile are lacking.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (9)
8.3
Expert directory (4)
5.0
Subscription-based notifications (6)
6.3
ITSM collaboration and documentation (6)
7.0
Ticket creation and submission (9)
8.0
Ticket response (9)
6.8
External knowledge base (8)
5.2
Internal knowledge base (7)
6.5
Customer portal (6)
8.0
IVR (1)
8
Social integration (3)
4.9
Email support (8)
8.8
Help Desk CRM integration (5)
8.0

About Kayako

Kayako is a help desk / ticketing product and is available is both SaaS and on-premise configurations. Is is built in PHP and uses my SQL. The product competes with HelpSpot, ZohoSupport, Freshdesk and Zendesk.

The Kayako Engage edition may be deployed as a live chat system without ticketing at a reduced cost, featuring click-to-call and site visitor monitoring for customer targeting and engagement.

Categories:  Live Chat,  Help Desk

Kayako Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Kayako Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No