Salesforce Service Cloud Reviews

260 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 47)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 04, 2020
Jonathan Tanis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Service Cloud for incoming client support. Every employee in our company has a license to either Service Cloud, Sales Cloud or both. Primarily, clients email a shared email address and this creates cases that we assign and track to make sure our responses are quick. We're a small team, so the focus is really on speed of replies and organizing open cases. Secondarily, we use it to keep client data relevant and updated. We've also intended to use Knowledge Base and Community to engage clients and produce more articles and how-to's, but the users find this overly complicated and tend to not use this as often as I wish we did.
  • Flexibility of data tracked, displayed, reported on, and customized.
  • Single source of truth for support, implementations, sales and management.
  • Ability to integrate through built-in app exchange and easy API.
  • Reporting and emailed reports with direct links to drill down into data.
  • Do virtually whatever you "need" to do.
  • Email case management requires a lot of customization or third-party solutions to get right. i.e. Email to Case Premium.
  • Not a lot works out of the box around dashboards, reports, metric tracking, etc.
  • Price is hard to justify, especially with all the little upgrades and features that aren't included. (CPQ, Lightning Dialer, Einstein, Pardot, Engage, Partner, Community, Inbox, Quip, etc).
  • While it can do anything, it requires someone do it. For example, we integrated Zoom Phones, but call logs show up as tasks, not in the "Call Logs" section.
  • Keeping members cc'd on issues and updates is a bit complicated and not clean. This is hard to describe. They have a Case Team function, but its a bit complicated to get working the way I'd like.
  • Premier Support seemed like a good idea initially, but I've had limited success with the accelerators and it's really only good for troubleshooting something not working, rather than helping build something better.
  • Community licenses are too expensive for us to justify at this time.
I would argue Salesforce is the best CRM option for most companies. However, I'm not sure it's always worth it. I believe you really need a managed partner available, or at least one full-time staff member that knows what they are doing. You can get it working on a shoestring, but not easily, and perhaps not as effectively. Coming from Zendesk, which mostly "just worked" and was about 30% of the cost, it can be a really good option.

We purchased Salesforce to get our data in better shape and have sales, marketing and service in one system, and our data is in far better shape than we ever saw with Zendesk or HubSpot.

It's hard to beat the level of customization available with Salesforce. If I want to do something, you can do it if you have the time or want to pay for something on the App Exchange. I think the larger the organization, the more likely I recommend Salesforce. The smaller, I might recommend HubSpot or Zendesk (which I've used in the past).
Every time I've used their support, they have been exceptional. I admit I don't use it as often as I should with the Premier Support we paid for.
Read Jonathan Tanis's full review
April 24, 2020
Kurt Johansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently being used organization wide. It addresses a uniformed CRM to be used across our Sales and Service departments as well as Warehouse and Administration. It solves a lot of cross-department functionality concerns with multiple programs per department running. This brings everything under 1 roof.
  • Customization for business-based needs.
  • Self-Help/Learning portals are a huge resource.
  • Sell based on possibilities. The promise of POTENTIAL greatness.
  • They do not disclose the extreme costs to a business.
  • 'Out of the Box' functionality is never showcased by SF or any vendor.
  • Very poor support.
If 0 was an option, it would be selected. The exponential cost to get Salesforce instance, in ANY capacity or product, to function as you as a customer were showcased, expected or desired is always hidden from you until after you sign a contract. 3rd Party partners are your reliance for all work and are not accountable for the work they do or DON'T do, contract or otherwise. SF does not hold its contracted partners accountable for their failings.
Garbage. The support staff is fluent in English but illiterate in CONVERSATIONAL English. Nuance and understanding is the first step in helping someone. The turn around time is 24-48 hours. They do not adhere to your business hours and availability when you state them and it generally takes many days to fix an issue, if they can even do it. Most of the time, you are forced to rely on your 3rd party SF partner, who tend to charge an egregious amount for 'help.'
Read Kurt Johansen's full review
August 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We chose to use Service Cloud after Desk.com was purchased by Salesforce and subsequently shuttered. Part of the Desk.com cessation was a push to move customers to Service Cloud. After much internal discussion, we decided it would be nice to have our entire help system within our main business portal.

It was our intention to offer customers a place to look up information and submit cases, possibly even communicate with each other in a forum.
  • Cases are highly customizable.
  • Workflows and custom fields can help categorize and target workload.
  • Integration with CRM keeps all information in one portal.
  • Incredibly complex to set up and configure.
  • Multiple points of potential failure.
  • Things Desk.com did out-of-the-box require customized code and components in Service Cloud.
  • Front-facing community is extremely difficult to configure and comes with many limitations.
  • No help is provided by Salesforce without expensive Premiere Support plans.
  • Expensive! Hidden costs and development costs are going to make Service Cloud far more expensive than almost any other Help Desk provider out there.
There are several components to Service Cloud which I will address: Cases, Knowledge, and Community. Each of these has various pros and cons, although the cons far outweigh the pros. It's become an albatross around our company's neck, and I'm requesting our company decision makers to move to a different platform ASAP.
  • Cases
Cases is the basis of Service Cloud, and once you get accustomed to the workflow and interface, it can be quite useful. You can search for knowledge articles, email responses, or use case comments. Out of the box, Service Cloud is terrible, and it will not do what you want. There is a large amount of configuration you will need to do, from setting up email templates, creating workflows to mimic what other platforms do out-of-the-box, and even then you will encounter issues that impede your ability to communicate effectively with your customer. Out-of-the-box email-2-case did not work because we had an Email Service class installed for something else, which rendered the default email-2-case completely useless. So we need to create a custom email handler for cases. This also meant some of the native functionality was no longer going to work. We would end up having to write a ton of customized code, Lightning components, workflows, etc.
  • Knowledge
Knowledge is rather nice at first, until you start using it and discover the limitations imposed by Salesforce. Articles are limited to 131,000 characters, and that includes the HTML markup hidden to the viewer. This means your articles will end up having to be abbreviated or broken up into smaller pieces. We tried to host these articles externally, but there is no option to embed these inside the Article object. You can embed videos hosted on YouTube, Vimeo or DailyMotion, but that's the extent. Anything else will require a fully customized solution for displaying knowledge articles. It's a very basic knowledge solution. Salesforce offers a really strong knowledge base of their own, but it's almost certainly not running using Articles, because Articles is terrible.
  • Community
Communities is where your customers can go to search knowledge articles, communicate with support, and even create records in your org. It is quite customizable, which is laudable and appreciated. The ability to update and manage the community is relatively easy and can be done without much code.

Unfortunately, the issue comes up with Cases. There are components for displaying Cases, but unbelievably, there is no place for discussion of the case with the service agent. This is almost ludicrous. There are Case Comment related lists, but these are handicapped by artificial constraints. Customers can't view the entire case comment, because it is only a related list, and there's no ability to change this without creating your own Lightning component, which means additional development costs.

Ultimately, the overall impression of Service Cloud is an extraordinarily half-baked product which is nowhere near enterprise-grade, despite carrying enterprise-level costs.
Salesforce offers support, although it generally gets routed to overseas support teams first, and once they are unable to help, it gets escalated up the chain to higher tiers. Frequently, the answer back from support is that there is no native solution, and we either have to turn to the AppExchange for some solution provided by another developer, or custom build our own solution.
Read this authenticated review
March 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Service Cloud allowed our customer service team to seamlessly integrate multiple tracking and communication methods into one interface to consolidate their efforts to keep track of customer requests.
  • Personalized service from any device has been extremely helpful.
  • Providing a community for our customers was helpful for them find answers and use other customers as resources.
  • Their analytics allowed us to create customer solutions quickly.
  • Occasional glitching or lagging
  • So many features that it feels like we don't use, or rather know how to use it, to its full capacity
  • Structuring of customer requests
Obviously it depends on the colleague and their business needs but for a customer-facing business, Salesforce Service Cloud is extremely helpful and consolidates plenty of lengthy customer service functions.
It's, at the very least, worth a thorough demo from any company that requires customer support and solutions. Its ability to drive customer engagement within customer solution communities was impressive and something we were pleasantly surprised by.
Read this authenticated review
March 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Service Cloud is being used by multiple departments within my company. Especially in the Customer Experience department, it is utilized daily. It addresses the business problem of how to streamline the customer experience by allowing all information to be stored in one place, and utilizing the connection from other departments who also use Service Cloud.
  • Provide new and innovative updates
  • Easy to use yet modernized interface (the two are not always synonymous)
  • Customization is not just available, it's encouraged
  • Inconsistent speed and difficult to figure out where the issue stems from
  • Issues not always addressed in an efficient amount of time
  • Unexpected glitches lead to difficult workarounds
Salesforce Service Cloud is well suited within our Customer Experience department and Supply departments. Customer Experience utilizies Service Cloud for tracking customer contacts and follow ups. Supply uses Service Cloud to manage client accounts. Customer Experience and Supply work together that much better because they can communicate through the prime visibility of Service Cloud.
Salesforce Service Cloud has solid support. I do not expect too much from support teams as many issues that occur are not predictable, and therefore, not easily recognized then fixed. I do think Service Cloud could improve upon the time taken to reply to a support question or issue especially with utilizing options for this within the interface directly.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by a certain department in the organization. It helps let our clients know the phase of their project. They can visibly see and track their reports. When a problem arises, we are able to quickly address it before it goes on to the next phase.
  • Product tracking.
  • Email integration with Outlook, it works flawlessly with our corporate emails.
  • Live video chats with clients.
  • None at the moment.
Our clients have visibility to the production phase and are able to chime in when needed to make corrections.
It does what we need it to do. It is user-friendly and easy to navigate.
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2020
Gavin Bratty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Salesforce as another database to keep track of our clients' progression along with all their contact details. Keeping track of all the modules and access they have purchased within our system makes our lives a whole lot simpler. The dashboard on the front page also gives our team a first great glance to see how sales are progressing for the month.
  • Great for pushing further sales and knowing who is calling in.
  • Knowing details of what clients have signed up for.
  • Keeping track of client purchases.
  • No real comments for me, here. The system does what I need.
Overall very happy with Salesforce. Having a database that stores all the information it does allows me to focus on the task that I get paid to do.
The interactions I have had with the Salesforce team have been great, but what is great is that I haven't really had the need to contact support at all.
Read Gavin Bratty's full review
February 28, 2020
Harry Fischer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Service Cloud is being used by our organization (6 employees) for client information tracking and for case management.
  • Keeps proper track of your client lists. That's all.
  • Has a nice graphical interface.
  • Speed of loading pages/information.
  • Proper communication with customers via email; allow a single dashboard view of your open items/unanswered Items etc.
The only place I can think of it as being well suited is if you have a trunk full of cash ready to spend on customizations. Otherwise, it is a waste of your time and money.
You would need to email and it would take like 48 hours for someone from the other end of the world (in a country with a pay-rate of about 10cents an hour) to get back to you. Then, they provide you with a ridiculous answer that doesn't even make any sense.
Read Harry Fischer's full review
October 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Support team recently made the switch the Salesforce Service Cloud. We manage Support cases out of the system that can be submitted by our customers through a case form on our Knowledge Base, email, live chat or can be created after receiving an inbound call. Prior to using Service Cloud, we had a lack of insightful Support reporting and little visibility for other departments to know which clients were reaching out the most and what topics they were reaching out about. Since most departments were already using Salesforce, it made sense to choose Service Cloud.
  • Reporting and dashboards. These are completely customizable and can be shared across departments. I love being able to see cases by account and also track my team's productivity.
  • Integrations - there is no lack of integration options when it comes to Service Cloud. We are currently using a time tracking add-on and survey add-on that were easy to set up.
  • Support resources - I love how robust the Knowledge Base is for Service Cloud and having access to a community to ask questions to other users outside our company. I also have taken advantage of some of the video tutorials and Trail Blazer lessons to expand my knowledge on our new tool.
  • Since Service Cloud is SO robust it can be a little overwhelming. I'd love to see 'tool tips' added directly into the platform to help guide users. I feel like there are probably a lot of features I am not taking advantage of because I don't know about them yet.
If you are a growing company that uses Salesforce as your source of truth, Service Cloud is a great option to keep Support cases available in one place and to report on the account level. It's also great for Support teams that are tiered, as you can create various tiers to ensure cases are assigned to to appropriate representative. For example, we have a rep who only handles enterprise accounts. These are automatically assigned to her upon case submission.
Read this authenticated review
February 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across multiple support and onboarding teams to support our customers. We use it to answer customer-related incidents and work requests. It's also used to updated and manage customer information based on work requests.
  • The ability to open tickets from emails.
  • Link multiple related tickets.
  • It lacks a global search option.
  • I wish it could structure incoming client requests.
Service Cloud allows users to automate service processes, streamline workflows and find articles, topics, and experts to support the agent.
It's less appropriate when tying up similar cases or even allowing knowledge sharing across tickets.
However, any changes require a lot of effort and usually need to engage consultants which gets expensive.
Very prompt service and tons of material available to come up to speed. The community is very strong.
Read this authenticated review
December 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Salesforce Service Cloud only in our service center. They handle calls and emails that come into our corporation. The users are able to easily navigate to the case records, contact records and activities that the interaction entails all while keeping all these records open on the same screen.
  • Console look and feel.
  • Many records opened at once.
  • Closing tabs with the keyboard shortcuts will sometimes close the browser tab.
Salesforce Service Cloud is suitable for a call center or anyone in the business of being the central contact area. I recommend it for anyone working with multiple clients at once also. This can be a handy tool when dealing with many Salesforce objects at once and servicing the records. Works well for any support role. I would not recommend for sales.
Every feature we have needed to have has, Salesforce Service Cloud was able to provide. We were ready to go out of the box and once we looked for additional features, they were already ready to install or in the build phase. The support was always helpful and able to put us in the right direction for any issues that had come up.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been able to achieve process standardization and automation for the client's service offering.
  • Automation of processes which were done by clients service representative.
  • Integration with other Salesforce products which facilitate that clients have complete customer profiles.
  • Help upsell as now we have better visibility of our customer's profiles.
  • Better customer support would be appreciated.
It's well suited if the client is already using other Salesforce products as it will help them get a better, well-rounded profile of their customer. It may not always work if that is the only Salesforce offering the client is using.
Sometimes support may do a lot of back-and-forth to solve the issue.
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Salesforce Service Cloud, primarily for our sales department. We use it to maintain our sales leads and create pipelines to onboard new clients. It is also used to store the account information of our clients and to make updates to their accounts.
  • It makes it simple to look up the account information of leads and clients.
  • It enables us to keep detailed records on each account to keep account executives on the same page.
  • Allows us to easily make updates to our clients accounts
  • Sometimes the UI could be clunky. But we were using Salesforce Classic, I think Salesforce Lightning would fix most of these problems.
  • Some of the custom apps within Salesforce didn’t work quite right. But I don’t necessarily think that was Salesforce's fault.
I think Salesforce Service Cloud is best suited for sales teams, account management, customer service, or some type of call center.
The support teams always promptly replied to any problems I had.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2019
Rajat Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce Service Cloud is being used to automate service processes, streamline workflows and find key articles, topics, and experts to support the call center agent. In our organization, we are advising companies to implement Salesforce Service Cloud along with solving their complex business processes. It is being used by one of our teams, specifically catering to Salesforce. It caters mostly to retail banks across many geographical locations.
  • It can help call center agents in addressing customer needs within less time due to automated business process flows handled in salesforce service cloud
  • Delivering Smart services such as email alerts, SMS alerts, and notifications to customers based on their application status.
  • It can easily be integrated with a robotic process automation application such as UI Path that aid you in delivering automation on your toes.
  • It can be easily integrated with social platforms such as Facebook for addressing customers inquiry/issues.
  • The cost of implementation and application could be lowered so that it attracts more of a customer base.
  • Lowering support costs.
  • It should be integrated with AI and ML platforms for tracking customer's activity, then channel their queries to agents automatically.
This product is great due to its integration with Salesforce Marketing Cloud, analytics capabilities, integration chat bot capabilities, leveraging AI, ML and NLP capabilities, and reporting capabilities. Integration can become complex as it is code driven instead of driven by components.
Read Rajat Sharma's full review
March 02, 2019
Stephanie Chapman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it across the whole organization...it solves problems because now we don't have to give our individual emails out and everyone in the company can access customers' emails. This was a big problem for our company previously because if a customer called in and the rep was on vacation or sick, we had to have the customer call back.
  • Easy to use
  • Records consolidation
  • User-friendly
  • Creating multiple orders on one case.
  • Have notifications be more user-friendly.
  • Reports should be easier to view.
We use Salesforce so we don't have duplicate consumer accounts and everyone can access the customer's email. it's less appropriate because you have to create a new case every time you want to place an order, which causes more time on the phone with the customers. Once that is fixed t will be amazing.
Read Stephanie Chapman's full review
June 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my function specifically, I use Salesforce as an educational tool through Trailhead by Salesforce, where I learn about it in order to become a more effective marketer and subject matter expert in the technological sector. In my company, we work with companies to implement Salesforce Service Cloud to help them advance their business processes and meet their goals more effectively. It is customized and tailored to meet their needs.
  • Customer Relationships
  • Business Relationships
  • Streamlined Information in a Centralized Datahub
  • None that I can think of
I would recommend others use Salesforce Service Cloud based on my experiences working with a variety of companies within different industries to find success. If your goals are to improve customer relationships, which is likely for most organizations, then implementing the software shouldn't be second-guessed. Salesforce Service Cloud is an innovative product that just keeps evolving—you can trust it to evolve with your own needs as you grow.
Read this authenticated review
March 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Service Cloud is being used by multiple users groups within the hospital I currently work at. We primarily use Cases, but we also have tapped into the Live Agent mobile features. Our customers primarily connect to our Users via mobile, so Service Cloud has allowed us to maintain high integrity when assisting customers.
  • Easy to use
  • Built on a Force.com platform like Sales Cloud
  • Provide customers with world-class customer service
  • Better reporting
  • More training materials
Service Cloud is well suited for any organization trying to leverage its customer relationship management system to provide world-class customer service. All your data will be stored in one centralized area, and your representatives can access, edit, and create that data. The Service Cloud allows your agents to build customer engagement and relationships.
Read this authenticated review
March 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company bought Salesforce as our CRM system, and first implemented Desk before implementing Service Cloud. Now, we've transitioned from Service Cloud to using Salesforce for case management. It was used across two departments in the organization, our support team and our analytics team. The business problems that it tried to address were the high influx of cases being sent in by our customers. Keyword being "try," though--it was a clunky tool that unfortunately didn't integrate with Salesforce directly, causing limited reporting.
  • Like the case resolver in the main Salesforce instance, Service Cloud had great reporting. The dashboards were easy to build and easy to maintain. Far far better than Desk!
  • The breadcrumb tracker really helped keep track of a case in the resolution lifecycle.
  • It was a step up from Desk, in that it stored far more details within the actual body of the case.
  • It was easier to document the details of the resolution than in Desk.
  • The resolution fields did not always auto-populate, because it wasn't tied to the main Salesforce instance. Depending on how your company integrates and implements SVC, the solution will be limited.
  • The reporting tool, the reports, and the dashboards tabs were easier to use. However, the issue was that they did not always save correctly. Therefore, as I built dashboards, I needed to recreate and resave them correctly multiple times. The dashboards needed some work to make them more efficient to use.
  • In Salesforce, you're able to just "post" and you trust it will be internal; it would be defaulted to the first tab, with the second being the email. However, in SVC, you will need to write a "note," four tabs down. It was the smallest inconvenience, but added a few seconds onto the workflow.
Service Cloud is suitable if you do not need to do greater reporting to tie the work of the cases that you complete for your accounts, to the accounts that are listed as opportunities. Of course, this depends on the implementation you choose to pursue. Otherwise, opt for Salesforce if you are able to shell out however much extra it will cost. Because our company first implemented Salesforce, and later Service Cloud, we didn't want to merge the two of them onto the same instance to ensure the integrity of Salesforce. Not doing so caused there to be several limitations in the analysis you could do by accounts. Otherwise, definitely pay for Service Cloud as opposed to Desk; you'll be able to do significantly more with reporting.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2019
Brandon Mitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce is essentially the backbone of our organization -- all projects, assignments, and cases are how we keep things documented and centralized for everyone to access. This keeps our agency all on the same page in terms of progress, reporting, email marketing, and every other marketing effort we run through SF.
  • Easy-to-use, Intuitive UX/UI - I can't speak to the overall setup, but it only takes a few minutes to understand Salesforce as a user.
  • Social Media-like features - by @ing someone, I can easily loop multiple people in on projects in more of a laid-back tone/atmosphere.
  • Notifications sent via email - I never miss a comment or assignment because of this.
  • Difficulty setting up - While I can't speak to this specifically, it seems to be difficult to add to everything this platform has to offer.
While this platform may require someone who has prior knowledge with it to set everything up correctly, this is essential for any company that needs everyone on the same page. This is a great platform to have.
Read Brandon Mitchell's full review
February 28, 2019
Paul Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Salesforce for RMAs, and TAC cases and escalation to R&D for most products. Some products are escalated via email but they are generally low volume older products.
  • It's is highly available down time maybe 3 min every 3 months or so.
  • Ease of use interface doesn't change much stable of the last 4 years.
  • Search and account inventory are very accurate and useful.
  • Advance filtering keyword searching with condition can usually be done but only by power users - make advanced search easier.
  • Attachments size restrictions - could be our implementation not sure if its a product issue.
  • No mandatory mandatory fields. Again this may be implementation dependent
Great for RMAs and cases - bug updates not so much.
Read Paul Murphy's full review
April 13, 2018
Jessie Mead | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Service Cloud is being used by multiple divisions within our umbrella of 12 companies at the national financial firm. We use it as the central help desk for the entire enterprise (~1,000 nationwide employees). Having the ability for a single email to disperse employee requests to the correct regional IT department is extremely helpful in addressing issues quickly. We also use it for other departments (such as compliance, facilities, retail) in a similar aspect, in which there is a single email for the enterprise to submit forms or emails to the correct queue. Great for timeliness and audit tracking!
  • Splitting service processes into the respective channels as needed (helpdesk vs. facilities; Midwest vs. Central regions). It's nice knowing that the issue can be addressed by the correct channel on first try.
  • Communications are extremely effective - the ability to email back and forth and have it tracked on the correct ticket is great for auditing and training.
  • The Console view is great as it helps agents see their work in a single screen, and also having Knowledge and chat integrated adds an extra flare to the quality of service.
  • It would be nice to have inline coloring in list views to know who is changing or taking ownership of specific tickets as they are happening.
  • When posting comments, it would be great to be able to select whether or not to notify the case owner or contact upon save.
  • The emailing from an org-wide address gets a little tricky when people are trying to cc the full case owner. (example: facilities isn't the owner of the ticket, but is the queue - they would like to be notified as a queue any time communication happens to be aware of the current status).
Service Cloud is great for ticketing systems. If you have a form you want to make available to customers or employees, or if you want a general email (support, for example) to be accessed for help and direction - Service Cloud is perfect. You can send an email and know that the routing is what it needs to be, and build out the following process based on any of the criteria thereafter. If you are using Communities or some kind of website, you can set up forms to require certain fields be filled in (type, issue, etc.) - another great way for the ticket to make it exactly where it needs to go (and can even go through approvals if needed before making it to the new owner).
Read Jessie Mead's full review
January 18, 2018
Hans Hong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Salesforce throughout the business as a CRM, sales lead funnel management. The users who use service cloud manage customer support, cases, and use it for knowledge management. It also integrates with our ERP (Oracle) and our phone system (inContact) for intelligent routing and screen pops.
  • Case management and tracking customer interactions.
  • Integrations with other data sources to provide a 360 degree customer view when they contact us.
  • Knowledge management integration into cases is especially useful to make our users more consistent with shared knowledge.
  • Case management and interface is a bit outdated. We do need a lot of information presented but it does not do a good job allowing us to highlight the important things, but still leaving detail available.
  • Performance can fluctuate in a shared environment.
  • Omni channel functionality is buggy and is unreliable. Sometimes cases get stalled in assignment even if agents are available.
I would not recommend this for small companies looking to do support. Too many functions and highly customizable, but requires experts to get the full power out of it. But for medium to large businesses who want to also integrate CRM data with support, it is a great solution.
Read Hans Hong's full review
January 18, 2018
Steve Kim | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Service Cloud is being used by our support teams to manage cases. It has greatly enhanced our ability to increase visibility across the organization and organize and report on our data. The analytics that are now available have greatly elevated our ability to manage our clients and our internal staff.
  • Robust set of features allowing efficient management of support cases.
  • Consolidation of disparate functions onto a single platform (Salesforce).
  • Extensive reporting and analytics.
  • Migration from classic to lighting was especially challenging.
  • Customization is available but not as easy as they make it out to be.
  • Different departments working within the platform requires delicate management so as not to disrupt processes.
Any organization looking to scale and provide world-class support should consider the investment into Salesforce Service Cloud. There are alternatives on the market but many do not allow the integration and availability that Salesforce does. In my opinion, Salesforce has been the gold standard in the industry. They have also been able to provide a high level of support as our company has grown.
Read Steve Kim's full review
September 14, 2017
Patrick Slaven | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Service Cloud was the primary interface for all customer service and support activities with both our internal customer facing teams and external support staff. From there, customer data was managed and all calls, chats, emails, and support activities were tracked. We were attempting to find a single channel to manage these actions and create a queue of actions that need to be taken by the customer service team.
  • My favorite thing about Service Cloud was the auto-assignment rules. It saved us a great deal of time and headaches to know that all tasks were routed to the most available person without management intervention.
  • I appreciated the ability to create and tweak auto-assignment and queue rules. This allowed us to route tasks to the correct team members.
  • Service Cloud was very easy to set up. I was able to get it up and running in a couple of days. Tweaking settings was easy, too - I was able to make changes without having to call an implementation specialist.
  • The one shortfall that we had was with reporting. The customer service team was always asking for more abilities to report on activities.
Salesforce Service Cloud, as its name suggests, is the easiest support and service management system for organizations already using Salesforce. If you have a different CRM, there may be better solutions. We were never able to find a better solution at the price or that matched the native integration with Salesforce's database.
Read Patrick Slaven's full review
December 19, 2017
Jack Pennuto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Service Cloud to organize all of our Aftermarket Service inquiries that come through email or website form submissions. These inquiries become cases, which are assigned and handled by our internal team of aftermarket support personnel. The creation of cases enables us to organize inquiries across all our personnel, so that they can each have visibility into who is working on what, avoid multiple people working on the same request, and have a record of the customer interaction, for follow up, if the initial assistance does not completely solve the customer issue.
The use of Service Cloud by our Aftermarket Service team enables our sales cloud users to assign cases to the service team as they have interactions with customers, and it also gives our sales team visibility into service instances that occur on their customer accounts.
  • Case Creation.
  • Linking cases to accounts and contacts.
  • Utilizing reporting to identify trends in Service Cases (types, accounts, volume).
  • If a case is reopened and then re-closed, you have to update the solution, and this overwrites the previous solution to the case. If a case is closed, reopened, then re-closed, it would be helpful to have multiple solutions for that case, instead of having to create a new case, as the continuity of the original case helps for visibility of the case evolution.
  • Being able to attach files to emails so that they are visible in Classic and Lightning would be helpful, so our users can more easily move between the two.
  • Better notification and identification of new messages on Cases when a user is in Lightning.
It is well suited if you have service support that is tackled by multiple personnel, and personnel that are distributed across multiple locations. This will help in administering of cases and loading of case volume across personnel.
Service Cloud is less suited if your organization has a low volume (a couple a day) of service support inquiries and if the requests are highly redundant or always resolved in a single interaction.
Read Jack Pennuto's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (42)
6.9
Expert directory (29)
5.9
Subscription-based notifications (36)
6.6
ITSM collaboration and documentation (29)
7.0
Ticket creation and submission (42)
7.5
Ticket response (41)
6.7
External knowledge base (35)
7.1
Internal knowledge base (37)
6.9
Customer portal (30)
6.1
IVR (18)
8.5
Social integration (27)
8.5
Email support (41)
7.2
Help Desk CRM integration (36)
7.5

What is Salesforce Service Cloud?

Salesforce Service Cloud provides companies with a call center-like view that enables them to create and track cases coming in, and automatically route and escalate what’s important. The Salesforce CRM-powered customer portal provides customers the ability to track their own cases, includes a social networking plug-in that enables the user to join the conversation about their company on social networking websites, provides analytical tools and other services including email, chat, Google search, and access to customers' entitlement and contracts.


Categories:  Help Desk

Salesforce Service Cloud Features

Has featureLighting Console
Has featureKnowledge Base
Has featureLive Agent
Has featureSocial Customer Service
Has featureIn-App Support
Has featureService Wave Analytics
Has featureMobile Support
Has featureCustomer Communities

Salesforce Service Cloud Screenshots

Salesforce Service Cloud Videos (4)

Salesforce Service Cloud Integrations

Salesforce Service Cloud Competitors

Salesforce Service Cloud Pricing

Starting Price: $65

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Salesforce Service Cloud Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Japan, Korea, India, China, Australia, Brazil, Mexico, Finland, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
Supported Languages: English, French, Portuguese, Japanese, Spanish