MeisterTask Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Stella Olsson | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Manage my work in an orderly and simple way.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The learning curve is really short compared to other software that is related to this.
  • It is very easy to manage several projects at the same time, thus saving time in the work process.
  • Managing the elements of the list is very comfortable since its interface allows everything to work in an orderly manner based on what I want to put as important for me.
  • It has versions that are adapted to any type of company or if you want to give a personal use because it also has an option based on what you want to do with MeisterTask.
  • Based on the prices offered there is a large gap between these since each version has different characteristics with respect to the other, sometimes it is a bit difficult to choose.
  • After loading a file into a task it cannot be downloaded immediately, this happens since MeisterTask is not really optimized since it must process very slowly the file inside the cloud storage it has.
  • It would be nice if there was a calendar that shows in detail when a task has been scheduled and visually appealing when the task is finished.
Read Stella Olsson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Easy workflow and task management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Setting up projects and resources are quite easy.
  • Free version has a lot features.
  • Communication between team members is quite easy, asking and answering questions, assignment to other members, and submitting progress are some quick and painless operations.
  • Friendly user interface and easy learning curve.
  • Some detailed task definitions may be difficult to implement.
  • Those using traditional project tools may find MeisterTask a little bit superficial and scattered.
  • Often you may need additional tools to complete the inefficiencies of Kanban board (no analytics for team performance, lack of time planning, etc.).
  • Reports and analytics are limited.
Read this authenticated review
Tyler Grudowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

MeisterTask -- project management has never been easier (or cheaper)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I really like how MeisterTask organizes things. It is a fantastic layout, making it super simple to track who is in charge of what items/deliverables and how complete each task is.
  • The privacy features on each project are great. MeisterTask lets you add people to certain parts of each project and not others. This is very helpful because a lot of our projects need to be kept under NDA, and we can avoid ever contractor having to sign one by just giving them access to the exact parts they need and not others.
  • MeisterTask is extremely user-friendly. Everyone that I have added to our project boards has been able to understand how to use the program right away. That is extremely important, since I do not want to have a learning curve for the project management software when onboarding someone for a project.
  • I really wish there was a tab to create a Gantt Chart on MeisterTask. This would be extremely helpful to track the progress of a project as a whole.
  • Some of the controls are not intuitive. For instance, you can select an individual person to see only their respective tasks, which is super helpful. But, to unselect that person and go back to the overview, you have to refresh the page and then hit the back button. This is super inconvenient to do every time.
  • One other feature I wish was included it a "percentage complete" tracker that showed what percentage is done with each task people are on.
Read Tyler Grudowski's full review
Daniel Cruz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 29, 2017

MeisterTask is a great way to coordinate projects

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Have the multiple columns that you can name and customize is really cool.
  • I love how it is web-based and ready for users of all experience levels
  • Really good free version, a fair pricing structure in general for what you get.
  • Would be nice to have a timeline view of the tasks that are either to do or pending.
  • Sometimes has been buggy, but nothing that hinders the user experience. For example, the background on the home screen often does not load on slow network connections and makes it impossible to read project names, forcing the user to reload the page.
  • There is no offline access
Read Daniel Cruz's full review
Amy Beth Byrd | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2017

MeisterTask is what I've been looking for

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One of the best features is the main dashboard. From there, you have your list of projects, each of which take you to their own separate pages. You can subdivide your projects into groups. Tasks can be added from within a project's own separate page, but you also have the option to add tasks from the main dashboard, with a drop-down box to choose which project it belongs to. Any task from any project can be starred for importance, and the starred tasks will be visible in a prominent place on the dashboard, so that's one way the dashboard ties the boards together. The projects are similar to Trello's boards, but Trello falls short because there's no main dashboard to tie them all together into one big picture. There are tabs for the notifications and time tracking. The dashboard has a gorgeous interface, and the buttons are nicely spaced out. In the settings, it gives you the option to choose a compact interface if you prefer.
  • MeisterTask has an attractive and user-friendly interface. For example, some other apps that offer some of the same features, such as Todoist, require more tedious steps to access those features. One example is, if you save a web link as a task, you can click on that web link from the task's description without having to actually open up that task into its own separate window first, and it will open up the webpage right from there, saving you an extra step, whereas with Todoist, Toodledo, and several others like it, you had to go through several extra clicks and drop-down boxes to accomplish a lot of simple tasks like tagging or accessing saved web links, or else hunt around for tiny buttons with the mouse, because everything was crammed together too tightly. It also gives you a lot more options to customize the colors and appearance than most apps out there. If you save a photo as an attachment, it shows a preview of the photo, instead of just a paperclip icon, which makes it easier to tell at a glance what the attachment actually is.
  • MeisterTask has the right balance of complexity and simplicity. Every other solution I've tried is either so complicated that it adds more work or doesn't offer enough features to manage much complication.
  • Integrations. MeisterTask offers more integrations than any other solution I've seen so far. GitHub, Zendesk, Dropbox, Box, etc., not to mention their own MindMeister. Even more are possible through the use of Zapier and IFTTT.
  • Easy learning curve. You can get started using MeisterTask in five minutes. Many other solutions with comparable features require watching video tutorials just to get started.
  • I'd like to see a Chrome extension where you can save a webpage as a task with one click.
  • I wish you could edit the names of lists within projects once they're created, as opposed to having to create a new list and migrate the tasks to the new one and delete the old.
  • I wish the dashboard had the option to show only the starred tasks in the task list, as opposed to only having them go to the top of the list of all tasks. My list of tasks from different projects is so long that there's no need to list them all in one place, as the list becomes too overwhelming, so I have no use for that feature.
Read Amy Beth Byrd's full review
Christian Clément | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2017

Go to the essential

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Manage tasks from the app
  • Apply rules from Kanban board
  • Share tasks with a team
  • Keep the overview about the progress of the projects
  • Tasks ordering accdoring to date
  • Show the year in the date
Read Christian Clément's full review
Bernie J Mitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2016

Catchy and fun to use

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Both the iOS and Android app were GREAT from the beginning. Also you can easily open a mind map in the iOS app from the task app. AND it works off line - so far I have not had an issue with re-syncing.
  • Built in time tracking. I only use this for myself, not for tracking how other people work - it gives me a concrete idea of my own productivity. (Mobile and Online sync in real time.)
  • It is really fun to use! I know this sounds simple, but the bright and colourful design of this app makes it fun and positive to use! It is at the opposite end of the path to some 'dark corporate' UXs.
  • It only "talks to" to Slack and MS 365 - Of course there is a Zapier connector - but I'd like to be able to easily move tasks out of here to other programs like Trello that I use with other teams.
  • A full view calendar would be very welcome!
Read Bernie J Mitchell's full review
Mihály Gerstmajer | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2016

Planning and task management: Master of none? Might be. But with MindMeister together they definitely are jacks of all trades

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Kanban-like approach. The lists, cards and checklists are great when it comes to micro-management of tasks and their details.
  • Time tracking. This one is a must and it is done well.
  • Task relations. It's good to be able to put some connections between the tasks, regardless of the nature of the relation (simply being related, marking blocks or duplicates).
  • Comments and attachments are the base of task-focused communication between team members. Alas, no benefit from that for me right now. I'm only making notes to myself.
  • Calendar integration. Due date should be visible on a calendar. And they are.
  • Pro version enables workflow management by adding actions to lists. Nothing too complicated. But in turn, that makes it efficient.
  • Using together with MindMeister (a bit limited) project-wide overview is possible.
  • Support. Its quick to respond and it does a terrific job at answering questions, regarding both speed and detail.
  • Exporting data about time tracked. It'd be awesome if its detail level could be user-configured. Then again, I need that for importing the data into another system, hence it might not be that important for others.
  • Due dates are there. Estimates for time requirements are missing, therefore nothing Gantt-like either. And I miss those dearly.
  • Quick access to some features could be achieved using context menu items or clicking deails without having to open the actual task (setting priority, tags, due dates, etc.)
Read Mihály Gerstmajer's full review
Terri Harmon | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2016

Track and don't forget another task

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Checklists can be set up and then added as necessary
  • Notes added so easily
  • Your whole agenda can be on one screen so nothing is left to chance.
  • Add any attachments.
  • Use for everything in your life that you would like to track. Great for tracking and keeping things top of mind
  • Use with other programs. I use with Meister Mind Mapping. Mindmeister
  • Due dates can be added.
  • The training isn't available on the app, but they have been exceptional to work with. They do have a training website. But the moment I ask a question, they have an answer back to me. Honestly, I feel I have a relationship with them and it has just been in the communication efforts they have given.
Read Terri Harmon's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (13)
8.8
Workflow Automation (13)
7.9
Team Collaboration (13)
8.7
Support for Agile Methodology (11)
7.8
Email integration (11)
8.3
Mobile Access (13)
7.1
Timesheet Tracking (10)
9.5

About MeisterTask

MeisterTask is a task management and collaboration tool. It aims to let teams manage tasks in a beautifully designed and customizable environment, which is designed to be intuitive. The vendor says MeisterTask's project boards adapt to any team’s workflow, making it suitable for managing everything from software sprints to editorial calendars. According to the vendor, while other task management apps often only visualize work, MeisterTask takes it one step further by automating recurring steps in users' workflows to help them work more efficiently and consistently.

MeisterTask is developed by Meister, the company behind the online mind mapping tool MindMeister. An integration between MindMeister and MeisterTask enables users to turn their brainstorms directly into agile project boards and their ideas into actionable tasks.

MeisterTask is available as a web app and offers apps for Mac, Windows, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Android devices. The mobile apps come with offline functionality so users can stay on top of their to-dos even when not connected to the internet.

Categories:  Project Management

MeisterTask Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Does not have featureResource Management
Does not have featureGantt Charts
Does not have featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Has featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Does not have featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Does not have featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Does not have featureChange request and Case Management
Does not have featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Does not have featureQuotes/estimates
Does not have featureInvoicing
Does not have featureProject & financial reporting
Does not have featureIntegration with accounting software
Additional Features
Has featureBulk actions
Has featureTask relationships
Has featureKanban workflow
Has featureMultiple checklists
Has featureCustom fields
Has featureRoles and permissions

MeisterTask Screenshots

MeisterTask Integrations

MeisterTask Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
MeisterTask Pro8.25per user/per month
Business20.75per user/per month

Discounts are available for education and non-profit organisations.

MeisterTask Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
15%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
25%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

MeisterTask Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

MeisterTask Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: German, English, French, Japanese, Italian, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish