Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Microsoft Yammer

Microsoft Yammer

Overview

What is Microsoft Yammer?

Yammer is used for private communication within organizations or between organizational members and pre-designated groups, making it an example of enterprise social software. It originally launched as an enterprise microblogging service and now has applications on several different operating systems…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Thank you!!!!

8 out of 10
December 08, 2022
Our organization uses Yammer for both impromptu meetings and scheduled conference calls. The ease and accountability with which every …
Continue reading

Professional fun place

9 out of 10
September 08, 2022
Our company has been using this product as it encourages employees to not be distracted by other social networks. It keeps the work and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 23 features
  • Discussions (42)
    9.0
    90%
  • Chat (39)
    8.4
    84%
  • Notifications (43)
    8.2
    82%
  • Mobile Access (38)
    7.2
    72%
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Microsoft Yammer?

Yammer is used for private communication within organizations or between organizational members and pre-designated groups, making it an example of enterprise social software. It originally launched as an enterprise microblogging service and now has applications on several different operating…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

13 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Workplace from Meta?

Facebook at Work allows users to interact with co-workers through the Facebook interface.

What is Miro?

Miro provides a visual workspace for innovation that enables distributed teams of any size to dream, design, and build the future together. Today, Miro counts more than 60 million users in 200,000 organizations who use Miro to improve product development collaboration, to speed up time to market,…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

How to create an external group with Microsoft Yammer? (Demo)

YouTube

What is Microsoft Yammer? - Yammer Demo

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Project Management

Project management software provides capabilities to streamline management of complex projects through task management, team collaboration and workflow automation

7.8
Avg 7.8

Communication

Features that allow team members to communicate about collaborative projects and keep each other informed of their opinions and progress.

7.8
Avg 8.0

File Sharing & Management

Features that allow collaborators to view, work on, and organize files.

8.4
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Microsoft Yammer?

Microsoft Yammer Integrations

Microsoft Yammer Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Yammer is used for private communication within organizations or between organizational members and pre-designated groups, making it an example of enterprise social software. It originally launched as an enterprise microblogging service and now has applications on several different operating systems and devices. The company was acquired by Microsoft in 2012.

Atlassian Confluence, Jive, and OpenText Vibe are common alternatives for Microsoft Yammer.

Reviewers rate Discussions and Audio files and Device sync highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Microsoft Yammer are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(327)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 51)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
December 20, 2022

Yammer is great!

Daniel Ryave | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We struggle in a remote posture to get to know each other in a friendly and meaningful way. We use Yammer internally to get to know each other, and share funny pictures, recipes, and other light communications that don't require an email. It's a great way to get to know people in a nice and friendly way!
December 08, 2022

Thank you!!!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our organization uses Yammer for both impromptu meetings and scheduled conference calls. The ease and accountability with which every conversation can be documented and understood are immense. It is a great tool for sharing ideas and information within our organization. We will continue to utilize Yammer for the foreseeable future. Thank you.
September 08, 2022

Professional fun place

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our company has been using this product as it encourages employees to not be distracted by other social networks. It keeps the work and social activities to be going in hand within the organization. It helps the employees to be in a better space. The employees are free to share either professional or personal posts over the network and it brings a more relaxing experience to the employees and team meats. it also helps to have better communication with other teams as well.
Dawn Gartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Yammer has been at Manhattan Associates for over 2 years. It is used across the globe and across all departments so that we can work more effectively and efficiently. Key initiatve to break down silos, help departments work together, find answers when we don't always know who to ask.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
MS Yammer is currently utilized at my organization to ease interdepartmental communications between various users.
The ease of use affords users to keep their respective email inboxes a bit cleaner. Yammer has also been utilized as a social medium to keep users apprised of events and updates in other departments across the country.
Nikhil George | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Yammer as a company bulletin board. We share new employee hires and resignations, company successes, and areas for improvement, process flows, and documents, region or team-specific news and more. The entire company uses Yammer. We have a range of all-company forums based on category and several department-specific forums. Using Yammer allows us to share information with the company without it getting lost in email inboxes. We find it better it a better tool for information that has a long life or needs to be referred back to at a later time, compared to using instant messaging tools like Slack (which we use for briefer announcements).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Microsoft Yammer is being used across our whole organization. Our main use of Yammer is to get people involved with our different employee network groups. We’ve found it to be a great collaborative solution where we can give individuals the opportunity to work and chat with people they may not have the opportunity too on a daily basis.
Erik Ralston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Yammer is our hub for social networking within the company, allowing for sharing of various internal news from sales team wins through to birthdays. We are broken up into various groups from "Product Q&A" to "Animals" ensuring there is an open forum for news and discussion across the company.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used Yammer for departmental communication and collaboration. It helped us organize related project ideas and notify each other of changes. Now Microsoft Teams has mostly replaced the work we used to do in Yammer.
October 09, 2019

Lots to Yammer on about

Erica Mijon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Yammer is used across the enterprise - Both Unum employees, Colonial Life's parent company, and Colonial Life employees use Yammer to engage with one another in a more casual setting. Rather than bombarding inboxes with emails, employees post on Yammer for company events, congratulations and relevant life updates. Groups are also formed for specific committees and resource groups. Yammer is used for a hub of updates and keeping people in the loop without having to read lengthy emails.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Yammer helps me and the rest of my team share and communicate in an efficient and timely manner. We can start topics, share insights, and collaborate easily. With users around the world, we are all often not online at the same time. Yammer lets us share our thoughts and idea, then get feedback from those working around the world.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are in the very early stages of implementation and have yet to decide to do it. Until recently, data for Yammer was only stored in the USA which was a nogo for us as a European company. For the initial testing/proof of concept we are doing the collaboration and communication features are good but we haven't decided on it yet.
September 23, 2019

It’s Yammer Time!

Gabrielle Wayman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
For teams to share successes and recognition, organize company events, and dialogue on best practices across the organization. From entry-level to the executive level, everyone goes to Yammer for help, to help others, and to get the latest company information. We also run remote groups and social events through Yammer.
September 18, 2019

Yammer

Theresa Gingras | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
There are many churches spread across Vermont and when we transitioned to a new database, we used Yammer as a way to communicate questions and information so that all could see. This was more helpful than using email because we could see if our question had already been asked and answered
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Microsoft Yammer is being used to connect grade levels across multiple school buildings within our district. It allows teachers that do not always see each other to share ideas and resources without it being lost in the day to day hustle and bustle.
May 17, 2019

Pretty easy to use

Tim Ryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Used on our internal communications page by all company members to post events, personal updates and whatever else is going on with team members. Framed into our Share Point site as a scroll on the right side. Updates can come from anyone and anyone else can comment on posts made.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My entire organization adopted Microsoft Yammer as a part of our shift to using the new suite of Office 365 applications exclusively. Microsoft Yammer has helped to streamline communication and collaboration across different organizations and serves as one of the primary ways that people connect on a range of projects, programs, and other initiatives. In addition, associates use the tool for discussion around general topics, shared interests, and to ask questions.
Joshua Melder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Yammer is used throughout many (not all) departments within my organization. Our company is considered a printing manufacturer, digital marketing agency, and marketing solutions partner. Yammer is primarily used within our corporate teams - and is primarily used for breaking down communication barriers between departments. My department most often uses Yammer in order to create collaborative content for other employees across different locations in the company. I am a corporate trainee in a rotational role - and I often use Yammer in order to keep myself updated with other members of my team. Yammer offers a way to collaborate within a tool that is modeled strongly after other social networking platforms. For a group of trainees that are in a younger demographic, Yammer works really well for quickly understanding the tool. I often use Yammer in order to message other trainees, respond to polls, and network across our company. I have really enjoyed Yammer and view it more as a communication tool for a smaller to mid-sized group of individuals.
FRANCO PIÑERO | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Microsoft Yammer is used for the general direction of communication, dissemination and information of the company.

It is being used for the fulfillment of the following tasks: issuing of official communications to the staff, establishing communications between the executives of the company, organizing the logistics for the operation of business and personal events, publishing relevant and confidential information. Thanks to Yammer, the company has managed to strengthen the communication among the staff, obtaining favorable results through the optimization of the processes.
Ilya Popovich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a part of Microsoft 365 subscription Yammer is using across the whole organization.
Marketing, HR and some other departments are not into another "team messagers", so through Yammer all departments can be notified with a important / interesting information. Yammer provides an effective way of communication in both small and large groups of people at one time. It's kinda like a company's "Facebook"
August 02, 2018

Yappin on Yammer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used it as a tool to help our department keep up to date with ongoing daily operations. It replaced the daily stand up for us predominately, and also served as a great way to quickly get out information to a large group of people.
Return to navigation