Workplace from Meta

Workplace from Meta

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.9 out of 100
Top Rated
Workplace from Meta

Overview

Recent Reviews

My Workplace by Facebook review

10
September 15, 2021
Workplace by Facebook is used in my organization basically to carry out broadcasts of events, celebrations, announcements, or to provide

Terrific Way to Stay Connected!

9
August 30, 2021
Workplace by Facebook is now pretty much our company's main way of broadcast communication (outside of email, which is still used …

Facebook came for organizations

7
August 25, 2021
My company used to communicate through Facebook Workplace during the last 2 years, every department has its own channel to make the …

Facebook for Work: Distracting or Helpful?

10
December 04, 2020
It is being used across our entire company in order to improve collaboration in the workplace and communication. The overall hope is that …
Read full review

Workplace leads the pack

9
October 09, 2019
Initially, I buried myself into trial overwhelm as I searched for a client communication and review portal. Each one I tried suffered from …

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Workplace from Meta, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Enterprise Live

$2.00

Cloud
per month per user

Enhanced Admin & Support

$2.00

Cloud
per month per user

Workplace Core

$4.00

Cloud
per month per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.workplace.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $4 per month per user

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Workplace from Meta?

Workplace is a business communication tool from Meta that helps teams stay connected in a simple and secure way. With familiar features like Live Video and Groups, users can share information, engage your employees, build culture and connect people anywhere, anytime. It is designed so the user doesn't need to be an IT genius to use it, and so that anyone can pick it up and get started straight away.


Workplace integrates with tools like Office 365, Google Workspace and ServiceNow, or the user can build custom integrations to connect any other tools relied upon. The vendor states that security and privacy are at the heart of Workplace - user data belongs to the user, and it is kept separate from Facebook.


Workplace boasts over 7M users worldwide.

Workplace from Meta Screenshots

Use groups to communicate with a team, region or entire company. Make sure that important updates get to the right people, and listen to feedback through comments and reactions on posNews Feed helps every employee stay up to date with the information they care about, without getting distracted by the rest.The Knowledge Library is a new home for your key resources. It's a single place to create, store and share static content such as HR policies or working from home advice on desktop or mobile, so your company knowledge is accessible and discoverable.Go live from a mobile phone or Portal. It's the perfect way to check in with your team, especially when you can't be together in person. And unlike email, you can get feedback or answer questions in real time through comments, likes and reactions.

Workplace from Meta Integrations

Workplace from Meta Competitors

Workplace from Meta Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesGerman, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish, Vietnamese

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Workplace from Meta?

Facebook at Work allows users to interact with co-workers through the Facebook interface.

How much does Workplace from Meta cost?

Workplace from Meta starts at $4.

What is Workplace from Meta's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.3.

Who uses Workplace from Meta?

The most common users of Workplace from Meta are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (286)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 56)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Kevin McLennan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workplace from Meta is being used in the entire Africa Zone at AB InBev - supporting around 13000 employees. We use this platform to address the issues of employee communication and increase employee engagement across the business. On this platform we run various campaigns to push employee engagement further and tackle issues brought up in surveys run each year by the company.
  • Connect employees who are far apart.
  • Allow users to share informal content in a way that is familiar and comfortable
  • Innovate with live video and questions and answers
  • Track engagement on the platform and what interests the users
  • Analytics can always be worked on
  • Layout can be a little intimidating for a new user who isn't used to platforms of this nature
  • requires a healthy amount of admin and behind the scenes work
Workplace from Meta has been an incredible resource over the shift of hybrid working during the pandemic. Because of the platform, we were able to still connect all our employees together when they could not physically connect in the real world. The platform is a one stop shop for employee communication, meetings, live video and content sharing.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workplace from Meta is used to connect our 15 international offices on one digital platform; helping our people share knowledge and expertise, get to know one another, and collaborate across regions and time zones. It enables us to effectively share globally-relevant news and updates, as well as creating a one-stop-shop for our people to go to for all knowledge related to the business (such as HR policies and training documents).
  • The Knowledge Library is an easy and efficient way of consolidating policies, documents and training materials into one place.
  • The Draft For feature allows comms teams to create posts for senior leaders within the business with ease; cutting down the amount of admin required to launch campaigns.
  • The analytics provided make it really simple to track campaign progress, usage numbers, and high-performing groups in order to measure and report on ROI.
  • It would be helpful if personal information could also be linked with the identity provider, so that all information could be filled out based on the individual volunteering it once
Workplace [from Meta] is particularly useful for global companies or those with dispersed teams, as the social nature of the platform allows for people to review and catch up on content in their own time and for senior leaders to create and publish content in a variety of ways (video, written, etc). It also encourages open discourse, allowing people of all levels throughout the company to engage in conversations and showcase ideas and contributions.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workplace across the whole organization. For us, it is the only place where we can gather all 12000 associates in one place. The focus of this channel is to create a sense of belonging for associates. We evaluate this factor vie quarterly ESAT. The business problem it addresses is increasing the retention rate of our employees to ensure that business continues to grow.

Currently, we have 2 main channels of communication where we can cover all company. This is the email and Workplace. With out HR Marketing team, we are doing our best in giving a bigger focus to Workplace because it is a 2-sided channel instead of email. We encourage associates to share reactions, comments (both bad or good). Also, we work on increasing leadership communication in Workplace (TownHalls for all managers from C-level team) to show associates how beneficial this channel can be, compared to others.
  • 2-sided communications - gathering feedback instantly after the communication is released (comments, reactions)
  • recognition (that's the place where we share our top achievements and associates feel appreciated - e.g. it's so cool when CEO can comment that your achievement is important)
  • platform for creative formats to engage associates to our communication (live streams, q&a, achievement posts, etc)
  • providing instant reactions from associates during live stream (we stream a lot and seeing instant reaction from the audience is important. We can comment but we cannot share reactions in the way so that the hosts see this reaction from the other sided. It'd be a perfect improvement)
  • more analytics in groups and admin panel
  • smth like Instagram stories would a cool format to add
  • better design of email notification
Well suited:
- leadership communication. When our CEO posts a video to all company - it always gets the highest engagement
- recognition/achievements posts
- live streams for education, knowledge sharing - we are a company of 12000 associates and there is no other corporate channel for us to gather more than 500 people in one place.

Less appropriate:
- sharing some very targetted messages - it's impossible to do at Workplace without creating a group. So we use email channel for such targetted communications
- instant communication like in a chat (probably it's less appropriate in our specific case because we use MS Teams for such quick communication instead of WP chats)
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Having Workplace from Facebook helps us communicate with the large number of employees we have at our organization. We currently use it across the entire organization in all departments. When the pandemic began, we really ramped up the live streaming capabilities to conduct all-employee town halls to keep our employees abreast of the quickly changing protocols where our front-line employees could ask questions in real-time and receive answers in real-time directly from our leaders. Implementing Workplace from Facebook helps our large organization feel a bit smaller where 1:1 connections are being made every day from our employees across the globe.
  • Livestreaming events
  • Groups
  • Safety Center
  • A more robust video reporting capabilities
  • Additional admin reporting capabilities
Workplace from Facebook is the perfect platform for small and large companies alike. It's all about communication and making connections and transparency where Workplace checks the boxes for each.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the whole organization and different countries. It helps us out in our daily interactions and for our work. With the politic to stay at home, Workplace has been our key tools to keep the best service four our customers. I recommend every company to use Workplace. It's fast and helps to do better performances.
  • Call center use Workplace to have support all the time for our customer
  • Communication between the different countries in our organization are better
  • It help us a lot in project management and agility
  • Less time between Functionalities that are on Facebook to be developed for Workplace
  • Easier way to communicate or to link with other customers
  • More tools for Projects Management, Brainstorming and Creativity
  • Better rooms"salon" for visio like Zoom; right now the quality is lacking
If your business is all about time is money or agility or connecting different coworkers, if it's upgraded with his time and isn't afraid of innovation and try to bring all the coworkers together, Workplace is one of the best tools to use. Especially if your team doesn't work in one building.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
An all-in-one tool for internal communication. We use it in a single department, the Marketing team, it is an internal communication tool, it helps us to support the social media management of our organization. Sometimes it allows us to move the messages according to the hierarchy necessary for the response
  • Unite the working groups
  • Simple interface similar to the use of Facebook
  • Very focused on companies
  • Projects management
  • Task management
  • Monitoring and saving of the most relevant communications
It seems to me a very appropriate tool for large organizations in need of having a single internal communication platform to not abuse the sending of emails. On the other hand, I think it still lacks development to simplify many things, it is also overwhelming for small companies, for few employees it may have a large learning curve
Leonardo Gonzalez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workplace by Facebook is used in my organization basically to carry out broadcasts of events, celebrations, announcements, or to provide information in a massive way to all employees in a simple way by sharing multi-media content without the need to install additional components on the computer. Generally this type of broadcast is aimed at large audiences.
  • No need to install plug in
  • Useful for broadcasting live content to large audiences
  • Extend Webex controls to stream
  • File and whiteboard sharing support while live streaming
  • Support for automatically translate the live streaming
  • In some companies, security and privacy are sensitive issues and this is something to take into account when enabling streaming to a user

The recommended scenarios and where Workplace by Facebook fulfills the objective in a wonderful way are those where you want to transmit a message live to large audiences, without the need for the receivers of the transmission to install an application or additional components on their computers. The opposite case applies to events where all participants are required to have the need to interact with the interlocutors or in low-mass events.


Casey Cleary (LION) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workplace by Facebook as a central company messaging tool and project management space where we can post quick updates on projects, create group chats to keep updated on project status, and check-in with each other. We have multiple groups to separate clients and other work and the search function and notification settings help us keep on track.
  • Messaging tool is great for quick check-ins each day or getting a hold of someone quickly in a remote work setting
  • Groups make it easy to separate clients and projects to keep work organized
  • RSS feed connectivity so we can read up on new articles posted by websites we follow
  • Can be glitchy at times, with notifications not working or delayed
  • It's more of a status update place, can't easily work on projects within Workplace
  • A little too much like Facebook, would be nice to have more project management features
Workplace is a great fit for smaller companies like 1-15 employees because it won't get overwhelming if it's your main communication channel. It's great for remote work so you can message someone if you need something or quickly post a status update, comment on project work, tag people if they need to do something, etc. If you need project management software, this wouldn't be a great fit because it would be tough to keep track of everything in its posted as comments without due dates, assigning, timing, etc.
Laura Gillenwater | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workplace by Facebook is now pretty much our company's main way of broadcast communication (outside of email, which is still used especially for very important or time-sensitive info) and for different types of "themed" groups to share updates and info with one another. We have Workplace groups at the all-company level, for various sites, for various areas of work (both by department areas, such as HR, which has groups at both the country and global level, and by interests, such as for our DEI groups), for groups that may share an initiative, such as the Technology Employee Champions, a "secret" group for folks interested in testing and promoting new technology, etc. We also use the companion Workplace Chat as our DM application throughout the company. Workplace has allowed us to drastically decrease the amount of internal email sent, to support and create communities of interest, to stay connected as we all work remotely (we have fun on Workplace, too!), and we use Workplace Live to broadcast and record our large-scale meetings, such as our "town hall" meetings. We use Workplace to share tips with one another, share personal life experiences (creating a Workplace post about one's sabbatical experiences is a requirement of our sabbatical program), and many other things.
  • Bring groups of people together to share info, stories, updates, etc.
  • The chat app is pretty decent.
  • Workplace Live is a good large-group meeting broadcast platform.
  • It's pretty intuitive to use for anyone who's used Facebook.
  • It provides different levels of "security" for groups, allowing you to have open, closed, and "secret" groups.
  • It's easy to paste images into your posts and comments, without having to necessarily go through the process of saving an image as a file, etc.
  • It has search capabilities for finding old information.
  • It's available for both desktop/laptop and mobile devices.
  • It's secured to allow only those within the company to see company-related info (but it also has a few inter-company groups, which can be useful, too).
  • Workplace Chat has the ability to set it to Do Not Disturb.
  • You can set notifications, including email notifications, if you want to be alerted to new activity in your groups, etc.
  • You can use Markdown to format your text
  • Workplace Chat is not reliable in terms of being able to delete a comment you sent...sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.
  • When viewing a Workplace Live event after it's over, the comments don't always show all of them and in order, even when you choose that option.
  • Your "status" (on vacation, in a meeting, whatever) is a bit too subtle and easy for folks not to notice. We've created "badges" to use in place of our profile photo as a workaround for that, but it would be nice if Workplace had provided something like that itself.
I think Workplace by Facebook is a great communication vehicle for any mid-sized to large company. (Since it's more groups-oriented than "regular" Facebook, it might not work well for smaller companies.) I also don't have any idea what the cost is for having it, but that also be a reason that it wouldn't be worth the expense for smaller companies. For larger companies, I think it's a terrific way for folks to communicate with one another and for "the powers that be" to communicate with employees. Facebook Live is only suitable when you have a limited number of people who need to be on screen and it wouldn't really be suitable as a vehicle for instructor-led online training -- it's really most suitable for presentations (although, via the comments area, does allow for questions to be asked in writing).
MOHAMED ATEF | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company used to communicate through Facebook Workplace during the last 2 years, every department has its own channel to make the communication easier and more funny for team. And so on if any urgent updates or news the company used to publish it through the HR channels. One of the major reasons to use it is the Covid-19 Global Pandemic. Suddenly we are forced to stay at home and there're no communications tools.
  • The best thing in my opinion is the awesome UI, because its similar to Facebook and it's very familiar to most employees.
  • The newsfeed is a very good feature to keep track with all company updates and teams news.
  • The ability to create groups/channels for every team to keep the privacy is perfect.
  • watching videos or previewing photos/ videos took too much time
  • The similarity of the Facebook taken as drawback as per the technical teams, because they're not taking the tool seriously
Workplace from Facebook is a very cool tool for communication, files sharing, video sharing, and limited collaboration, but it also lacks some basic features that require an organization for proposals and progress tracking. Also it may be a noise tool for the too much notifications in a ordinary working day.
Amr Saad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workplace was being used across the whole organization. We mainly used to communicate with different teams across different departments. It was used also for making announcements. It helped us lead our teams remotely throughout the difficult times of the pandemic to deliver our products to the customers, and the familiar user interface helped us get used to it fast.
  • Very Friendly and Familiar User Interface
  • Great Chat Capabilities
  • Announcements/News sharing is Easy
  • There was No Video Meetings Feature
  • It doesn't integrate with Third Party Apps like your Outlook Calendar, Email, etc.
  • There was No Screen Sharing capability
Workplace is well suited for organizations that need a lightweight and familiar application to use it for their communication as they had the same user experience as Facebook. But I don't think it is the best application when it comes to full remote work as it lacks many key features available at some of its competitors.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across our entire company in order to improve collaboration in the workplace and communication. The overall hope is that it will reduce the amount of emails that are sent throughout the business in total. It addition, it allows you to make groups so that it's easier to collaborate with your business segment, across business segments, or in specialized groups you're doing projects with.
  • Collaboration
  • Communication
  • Lower volume of emails
  • Group capabilities
  • File sharing
  • Older co-workers are less likely to use it.
  • Can be a time sink at work, people get distracted.
  • Only effective as long as the people you need to communicate with are also using it.
It's definitely appropriate if you want to improve your messaging and collaborative abilities within your company. It makes it easier for people to communicate both during and outside of work hours, which is especially important depending on the nature of your work. It has also reduced the volume of emails that people receive and send since now people can just share things in a Facebook group or message someone. If you think your workers will get distracted easily or post things that should only be on a personal social media place then its definitely not appropriate for your workplace. In this case, it will end up just being a platform where your employees will go to pass time.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workplace by Facebook is one of the best products that we use. It is the best tool for internal communication inside the organization, in my opinion. It is being used across the whole organization. It helps us to keep connected with the organization widely and with the team members at the lower level. It's very easy to chat, share, and connect with others in the organization.
  • The best thing is we do not have to send or accept request to connect with others.
  • It's UI is very similar to regular facebook to looks familiar.
  • My focus is on privacy. Sharing confidential documents on this platform is a little bit doubtful.
  • Its timeline is not so much useful as it also inclines to waste time by generating spam content.
Workplace by Facebook is well suited for organizations having a large number of employees or having remote work or multiple offices. It helps all of the users to connect straightforwardly, share various documents or files with other team members, create different groups for different projects, etc.
Workplace by Facebook is an excellent fit in respect of support and documentation. It has excellent tutorials and documentation, as well. The UI and UX are already great as it is developed and maintained by Facebook, so most of the times, there is no need for any support or documentation.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workplace by Facebook among the whole organization. Most of our employees are encouraged to use it on a regular basis. We generally use it on a daily basis to discuss what's going on in which department. We share our documents with others in respective groups. For new projects, every team member is asked to give updates in the project groups, so that every team member knows the latest status. We generally share data and documents with each other via Workplace by Facebook. Most of the time, it's very easy to use instead of other methods of internal communications. Workplace by Facebook, at our organization, helps greatly to keep connected with each other socially and professionally.
  • Its layout is very similar to regular Facebook, so it looks familiar and easy to use. Members do not need to be trained to use it for the first time or later on.
  • We can create different groups for different departments or different projects according to our needs, and share required content over that group only; it's a helpful way to discussions, collaboration, etc.
  • Its pricing is suitable for a small or large organization.
  • It has nice mobile apps, which helps us to keep connected with the organization and project while we are away.
  • The chat feature is inbuilt in Workplace by Facebook, so we don't have to use other apps for that purpose.
  • If they could add some more features to track project statuses or task updates, it could be a great help for most of its users.
  • There could be some way to save us from managing two Facebook accounts, i.e. personal and workplace. Maybe one common portal for both.
  • Sometimes Workplace by Facebook distracts our focus, as its main wall shows endless content shared by other mates, which helps to disturb focus from the work.
Workplace by Facebook is well suited for the day-to-day requirements of internal online communication in an organization. We can keep connected with other colleges in a very easy and familiar way. These needs include: chatting with colleges, documents or data sharing with other team members, posting live updates about projects, etc. Workplace by Facebook is well suited for these scenarios. I think it's less appropriate for posting personal or non-professional updates or content.
Workplace by Facebook has nice pricing, as it gives a free trial to each of the professional users with a work email. It has large documentation available with it, so we can easily resolve various issues if some are there. Most of the time, we do not require any type of support either.
October 09, 2019

Workplace leads the pack

David Faustina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially, I buried myself into trial overwhelm as I searched for a client communication and review portal. Each one I tried suffered from one or more of the following:
  • Having almost everything but one specific element being left out.
  • The cost was prohibitive.
  • Time to learn and then deploy and teach was not an efficient use of resources.
  • Segmenting the communication and levels of access not achievable.
After about 5 trials, I was connected to an offer to try Facebook Workplace. It stepped into a perfect role for us and we use it from time to time with clients, depending on the client. I continue to recommend it to clients and a few are now using the platform. We continue to use it as an intraoffice communication tool and it is a great tool for us.
  • It provides a user interface that is familiar and proven to assist in engaging people to use the platform. The layout is clean and minimal and pleasing and that helps staff become comfortable with interacting with one another.
  • Group insights are a fantastic feature that allows you to see how a certain topic, discussion or file is performing with the staff or audience. If you are seeking feedback on a particular memo, for instance, the insights will catalog who has viewed, how many comments, questions or interactions, etc. It helps to see in real-time, the things staff or clients are excited about and then the items where no one comments.
  • Cataloging of historical information is a real benefit. The dashboard has a notes section where I will keep a lot of private and or personal reflections that I can reference at a later time. I may jot a few notes about a project so I can recall them at a later point. Many programs do this, but again, this is all within the same house and for time and memory sake, this really works well.
  • Segmenting is very easy to do. We have set up Groups for various projects, teams, clients or cohorts. You can segment as much as you want and one person may be in more than one group but maybe not all groups. Basic segmenting that works well. Notifications are sent when new posts or news is released.
  • The platform is not the same portal as Facebook so there is no chance that posts get put on the wrong timeline. With this said, what I like most is the ease of onboarding and no one has had any trouble getting up and going on Workplace. It is like Facebook, easy and something most if not all will have familiarity in navigation.
  • It would be helpful if a review confirmation checkbox was able to be placed by files that needed to be read or reviewed. Along the same line, approve, review again, etc. would be helpful checkboxes to add by files, proposals.
  • The layout is clean but suffers a bit from the center column width with two sidebars and a lot of empty space. It almost looks like a going out of business sale retail store where you notice the empty shelves. Workplace feels a bit bare at times. I think some good design modifications can help. Now on mobile, it is a great layout. I am addressing specifically the desktop browser login.
  • An admin control dashboard would be really effective and even more so with more users on the platform.
Workplace is great as a team collaboration and communication tool that is easy to deploy and eliminates friction. I would also recommend it to small agencies who need a client communication portal as it does a great job filling the need. It is also a great tool for associations, community teams, and specialty groups like a club or employee group. As long as guidelines are set and you do not have a predisposition towards paranoia, I would think any group that has a need for communication that needs to be centralized, this can serve you well.
Never had an issue and they are very responsive when needed.
October 08, 2019

Love Workplace!

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edelman leverages Workplace to deliver corporate communications and updates to a global workforce. We receive updates about PTO policy, HR benefits, handbooks, learning opportunities, training, and additionally use it as a document manager for global IT information as well as local wifi password information. Finally, we receive local communications as well monthly with the office calendar and wifi password.
  • Document storage.
  • Notifications and alerts.
  • Single sign-on.
  • Mobile sign-on.
  • Mobile user-experience.
Workplace is well suited for global communications updates. It is not suited for chat.
I haven't had any issues so far.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to inform staff of daily events and new projects. We also put out PDFs, photos, and forms for easy access for staff. HR and building events keep staff updated as much as possible of all the work that is being done with departments and building renovations, etc. All staff have access to Workplace. So far it's been a very helpful tool. I do wish it had some type of form building section.
  • Passing information to all staff
  • It's free
  • Chat feature
  • You can view it on your mobile device
  • Maybe finding a way to create forms other than surveys.
  • Great place for the HR department to post policies, forms, hiring.
  • Good way for departments to work together on simple events.
  • Good way to post daily events and get feedback from staff ongoing projects.
  • It should be only for work-related items. No personal information should be posted.
Katelyn Rylee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work under a really big brokerage. We are almost completely worldwide. My company uses Workplace by Facebook across the whole organization as a means to have all the other realtors and workers together in one place, have specific groups, have documents that people need readily available, and to give answers to questions that people have. We also use it as a referral place where people in any state can pick up a referral that someone needs.
  • It provides a place where you can interact with your fellow coworkers.
  • It helps get questions answered fast and it may be helpful to others as well to see your questions and answers.
  • It provides a place where I can always be updated about whats going on in my business, new items that my company releases, and videos or documents on people explaining how to use the new items.
  • It is difficult to get the hang of at first because there is so many different components to it. Recently, I realized that I can even see my organization chart of everyones ranks in the company! I just realized this a year later so, it can be overwhelming at times.
  • With there being so many different components to it, I sometimes can't find my notifications and who is responding to what post that I posted.
  • I'm not a fan that there can be so many different groups within the Workplace by Facebook app because its already a whole different program than Facebook. Then you add groups into that and I feel like it just leaves room for a lot of confusion.
It has helped me lots when I need a referral or when I have a specific question. I can find information or get my questions answered almost immediately. I don't think it's appropriate for a company to use it as its number one means of communication because when you have so many people that are a part of it, a lot of things get lost in communication.
I've honestly never had to actually use the support for Workplace by Facebook so that's good, but it also provides support for my personal business which helps me immensely! I would imagine if I ever had a problem with Workplace by Facebook that they would hopefully get it solved better than Facebook actually does.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Workplace by Facebook as a central location for company communications. The whole company uses it, not just the software developers. We use it for internal chats, company announcements, and wiki's. Before we started using Workplace, we used several disparate technologies to meet each of these needs, so having everything under one roof has been incredibly efficient and successful.
  • One point of connection for all communication needs.
  • The layout is very similar to Facebook, so it has very little learning curve.
  • The mobile app is well made and easy to use, so we're not tied to just our laptops for communication.
  • Perhaps because it is a new offering, some of the features are a little buggy at times.
  • Currently, you cannot share your screen in a group call.
  • You can't add people outside your organization to video calls on Workplace Chat.
Workplace by Facebook works well when you have a hard time managing many technologies for chats, company information, etc. Our company had many technologies we were using, and some were used just by a single department. By switching everyone in the company to Workplace by Facebook, we lost most of the headaches that came from having everyone using different technologies for communication. If your company effectively manages its disparate communication methods already, then Workplace by Facebook will be less valuable.
I have never had to contact customer support about Workplace nor Workplace Chat, but since we started using it about a year ago there have been several updates that have been pushed out to make the product better. I don't know if Facebook will continue to support long-term, but for now, they seem to be looking for ways to improve the product.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Workplace by Facebook on a daily basis to coordinate the work with our clients and inside the organization. We left Slack for Workplace because it feels tidier as we can talk about one topic on a publication and about another topic in another publication and the channels never cross.
  • Tidy work
  • Almost no problem to implement (Everybody knows how to use Facebook)
  • Great chat system
  • We are still using we transfer to move big size elements.
  • No bother setup might be easier.
Workplace is great and is greater if you work with young people, the interface is similar to Facebook, so the people feel relaxed to work there. It is funny to use because time to time people respond to serious topics with a meme or a GIF that helps to relax the conversation and be happier at work.
10 because I never need it. Workplace is easy to setup.
October 07, 2019

A new way to collaborate

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For us, Workplace has gone beyond communication. It’s actually helping us solve problems. This is a way better tool when comparing to others to deal with professional conferences. Apart from that Workplace is used to quickly find co-workers and all relevant details, post details about work activities, set up groups, follow a work feed and watch live video projects from even our CFO they are closer than ever been.
  • Live-streaming and video capabilities.
  • No training at all is needed - friendly interface.
  • Replace all the social tools of our digital workplace like Yammer or Twitter.
  • Targets younger employees like millennials.
  • Our IT teams need to put in extra hours of coding for integrations to go live.
  • Workplace doesn’t support group video chats. It’s a deal-breaker for a platform that claims to make team collaborations efficient.
  • Problems with work-life balance.
If you have Office 365 with Skype Sharepoint Yammer and HR tools like MySuccess there is no need to replace them with Workplace. If you are on the way to implementing a new global tool it is worth it to consider, especially when you have a lot of young employees who may see the benefits of using that tool.
They respond quickly and have good dedicated support.
João Almeida | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workplace by Facebook is being used to inform colleagues about daily events and new projects. It also serves as a place to put out pdf files, photos, and forms for easy access for staff. HR and Building Events keep staff updated as much as possible of all the work that is being done with departments and building renovations, etc.
  • A very quick platform for sharing insights and following any on going discussion.
  • Chat feature and mobile device support.
  • Inform other people about relevant events.
  • The groups are not well organized IMHO.
  • It would be great to have Workplace by Facebook as a part of my personal Facebook social network account.
  • Not possible to control what information you want to see in groups, as the quantity of information can become quickly overwhelming.
Workplace by Facebook is a very good and intuitive way to have efficient conversations with groups or individuals. It is perfect when you need to post an item for review and have a real-time conversation with other team members. It is best suited in small organizations and in big organizations, Workplace by Facebook can be used in between departments for communication between team members and team leaders.
Never required customer support for anything, works perfectly well. Facebook is very well disseminated across the world so almost everyone knows how to use it. Therefore, there was no need to ask for any support. And if this is capable of handling specific workplace requirements, then it is a perfect competitor for anything in the market.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workplace by Facebook provides a relatively easy solution for group collaboration efforts in a company or organization. It helps provide a streamlined approach to project management, meeting assistance, and can be integrated with applications like Office 365. It also has a robust set of calling and communication options that can fit in with users utilizing different hardware systems.
  • It has a relatively easy to use interface and makes meeting management tasks less stressful.
  • The software can also help streamline general employee interactions, meetings, and communications in one environment.
  • The newsfeed can become too cluttered if highly utilized.
  • Depending on one's hardware specs, the video conferencing tools can be limited. However, that is the same with similar products.
  • Some of its features may lack data privacy transparency rights.
  • Some of the functions are not as streamlined resulting in more tedious interactions with the program.
It works very well in a company or organization that doesn't already have integrated HR style systems in place. It's not perfect and some features can be more tedious to use than others. Many do seem to like its easy to use interface and find it more approachable than other products.
The company does a fairly good job of providing assistance and support for the product. It's not perfect but solid. For advanced users with large employee pools, gaining the right support could be trickier. However, the program still has some glitches which could be fixed with new updates that they may well be working on.
ASHOK GOYAL | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ours is a small organization and we use it across the whole organization. It saves time and it allows better co-ordination amongst team members.
  • Better coordination.
  • Time-saving.
  • Secured.
  • User-friendly.
  • Calling could be improved.
It is best suited in small organizations. In big organizations, Workplace can be used in between departments for communication between team members and team leaders.
Responses have been very helpful and timely.
October 04, 2019

Hmmmmm.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I reviewed Workplace by Facebook and tested it by using it on a small team. It ended up being slightly wonky in our workflow as some of the team were uneasy with sharing private information with Facebook because of all the things with that. I like the concept, but it just didn’t work well for my team.
  • A way to communicate with a team.
  • Commenting on visuals.
  • Private channels.
  • Privacy issues.
  • We weren’t ready to pay for the additional features of a brand new tool.
If your team is brand new and not paranoid about sharing super-sensitive information, Workplace by Facebook is worth checking out!
I did not contact support.