SmartSearch ATS

SmartSearch ATS

Score 6.9 out of 10
SmartSearch ATS

Overview

What is SmartSearch ATS?

SmartSearch is a web-based talent acquisition and staffing management software. Features include job posting to job boards and social media outlets, resume parsing, and automated workflow. SmartSearch advertises robust customer service and implementation assistance.
Read more

Recent Reviews

SmartSearch RULES!!

10 out of 10
October 19, 2020
SmartSearch is used across the entire organization. We use it as a sales/new business/client development tool and also as our candidate …
Continue reading

Great ATS!

7 out of 10
May 10, 2018
We use SmartSearch as an applicant tracking system. SmartSearch also pushes out our job postings to multiple websites, including …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 15 features
  • Company Website Posting (17)
    3.0
    30%
  • Job Requisition Management (17)
    3.0
    30%
  • Resume Management (17)
    1.0
    10%
  • Job Search Site Posting (17)
    1.0
    10%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of SmartSearch ATS, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is SmartSearch ATS?

SmartSearch is a web-based talent acquisition and staffing management software. Features include job posting to job boards and social media outlets, resume parsing, and automated workflow. SmartSearch advertises robust customer service and implementation assistance.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is SmartRecruiters?

SmartRecruiters’ Talent Acquisition Suite is a cloud-based recruitment marketing and collaborative hiring platform. It features an open marketplace for third party recruitment services. SmartRecruiters also offers talent sourcing and screening as add-on features.

N/A
Unavailable
What is ADP Workforce Now?

ADP Workforce Now is a cloud-based HR platform for mid-sized businesses. It features customizable modules of various HR services that businesses can tailor to their specific needs, as well as regulatory monitoring and alerts to help businesses remain compliant.

Return to navigation

Features

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

3.4Avg 8.0
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is SmartSearch ATS?

SmartSearch is the flagship web-based talent acquisition and staffing management software from Advanced Personnel Systems Inc, that, while not as broadly used as some other software suites, is capable of delivering all of the features and capabilities (e.g. integration with outside services like Outlook, direct posting to job boards and sourcing via social networks, data/resume parsing and rich automation features) expected of applicant tracking systems. Live support representatives are available 24/7. Also, Advanced Personnel Systems offers a live, personalized demonstration of the software for those interested, as well as full "concierge" service throughout the implementation process.

SmartSearch ATS Features

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Customized Application Form
  • Supported: Resume Management
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Candidate Search
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Collaboration
  • Supported: Task Creation and Delegation
  • Supported: Email Templates
  • Supported: User Permissions
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts
  • Supported: Reporting

SmartSearch ATS Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

SmartSearch is a web-based talent acquisition and staffing management software. Features include job posting to job boards and social media outlets, resume parsing, and automated workflow. SmartSearch advertises robust customer service and implementation assistance.

Bullhorn ATS & CRM, JobDiva, and iCIMS Talent Cloud are common alternatives for SmartSearch ATS.

Reviewers rate Duplicate Candidate Prevention highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of SmartSearch ATS are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 31)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch was used across a 20 person + staffing agency. It is used as a candidate relationship management tool to track candidates, recruiter who owned each candidate, interview notes, [etc.] It held the open requisitions for each job and would track candidate submittals through each req[uisition], tracking hiring managers, billing information, and client information.
  • Customizable
  • Reporting
  • Analytics
  • Clunky
  • Too many options
  • Needed to customize to make user friendly
I most likely would not recommend SmartSearch. It is a very clunky tool and not overly user friendly. We had to pare it down extensively because it was just overwhelming with options of what you could click through; it needs to be simplified. There was a lot of basic recruiter tools that should have come with the tool, but we had to customize for it.

The developer who developed this was clearly not a recruiter and therefore it was not very intuitive.
October 19, 2020

SmartSearch RULES!!

David Burchette | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch is used across the entire organization. We use it as a sales/new business/client development tool and also as our candidate tracking system. We also use SmartSearch for the onboarding of new hires and ongoing management of our employees. SmartSearch serves all of our needs.
  • Captures the activities during the recruiting process such as emailing as notes in the system.
  • Is integrated to social media such as LinkedIn.
  • Is integrated with MS Outlook.
  • provides excellent reports.
  • customer service is exceptional.
  • Is a trusted partner.
  • I frankly cannot think of any areas of improvement.
  • I am very pleased with all aspects of the software.
The integration with Dice, Monster and LinkedIn is excellent.
SmartSearch tech support and others available to serve have never failed me.
EJ Meier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch is used across our entire business as our applicant tracking system. We do requisition management including: related workflows for approval of all positions for hiring and requisition reporting. We also use it for our offer management and approval for all positions. We are in the process of finalizing data feeds from SMS for use in our Human Capital Analytics capabilities and also for global KPI recruitment performance activities. We are also finalizing the onboarding portal capabilities and front end data feeds to our Oracle HCMS.
  • Job posting integration.
  • Requisition workflow management.
  • Offer workflow management.
  • Candidate search usability.
  • Customer support/partnering.
  • Global development support.
  • Some latency issues in China and India.
  • User interfaces have improved but can always find ease of use improvements.
I think our environment has stretched SmS and their capabilities (positively) but we have grown together and developed an enormously capable system together that is now very well integrated into our business. For doing applicant tracking, requisition management and offer management that has really been strong. I think we can partner together and build some better analytics and reporting capabilities that would be better suited for our business.
I think this is an area where we have helped them grow and they have helped us along as well. Gates did not have any global ATS or requisitioning system or offer approval system...nor did we have a global HCMS 4 years ago. We deployed a number of global systems in a short period of time (with the luxury and curse) of pretty much starting from a clean slate. That created a number of opportunities to do some custom development in a short period of time and blaze some trails that had not existed before. We had to take a few steps forward and a few steps back but we have persevered and managed through it!
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
HR uses SmartSearch as a repository of candidates (candidates apply via our external website and their information is stored in SmartSearch), completing the hiring process (using e-sign and electronic document portal) and capturing offer letters for internal promotions/transfers. In addition, existing employees can apply to a position within our HR intranet and be attached to the position in SmartSearch for further review.
  • Electronic signing of offer letters and additional documents.
  • There is a nice candidate workflow.
  • Daily imports of our ADP tables for job information.
  • Timely response to issues.
  • More than 1 person at the company who understands the client's configuration.
  • Additional focus on non-recruiting clients.
I believe they have a good product, they just need additional resources to keep in touch with their clients.
Once you get the 1 person on the phone they are very knowledgeable and tend to solve the problem. The issue is there are not enough resources to handle all the clients. Their primary clients are "recruiting firms" and I think that is where most of the their support resources go.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch is being used primarily as our candidate intake, recruiting, applicant tracking and onboarding tool. Additionally we use it to track employment and various HR functions and documentation. I solved the problem of obtaining and organizing a lot of information surrounding each candidate. It allowed us to also create a number of procedures in the form of 'traks' to move candidates and customers through our process in a consistent manner.
  • The search functions are outstanding. It is the reason we originally went with SmartSearch many years ago. The ability to do very simple or complex searches gives the recruiting staff great flexibility in how they look for and narrow down candidates.
  • The hire and onboarding traks allow us to create very specific processes we want our staff to follow to insure a consistent and repeatable result. I can create traks that can be very general or traks that literally provide emails and reminders to all of the players (recruiters, managers, candidates, etc...) every step of the way. This is particularly helpful where we have customers who have extremely stringent contractual guidelines that must be followed.
  • Support. Their customer support is second to none. We always joke that they are our favorite vendor to deal with.... Anytime we have an issue or question. They are there to walk us through it. The training is on target and the staff has always been friendly and more than eager to help make us successful with the tool.
  • Would like to see some additional reporting options. There are some very powerful reporting tools in the software but they are not very intuitive for the basic user.
If you have a recruiting organization that needs flexibility and a wide range of options to address an ever changing landscape than this is your system. It does not try to pigeon-hole recruiters into a single recruiting model. It allows you to customize how your organization does things but also allows you to control where you need to control.

We have been using SmartSearch for more than 24 years. We started out on one of the first versions because we liked the company and the direction they were taking. SmartSearch has not always been the tool with the flashiest features.... but it has always had some of the best features. They have always been of the cutting edge of the next technology and have the tools and features that make SmartSearch a complete solution. We have not seen anything else out in the marketplace that has encouraged us to change.
They are great.... Don't really know what else to say. They are always there for us. I enjoy interacting with everyone on their staff. They are knowledgeable about their own product as well as the staffing industry. They are always looking for feedback or suggestions in or to continue improving the product.
Travis Medley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We utilize SmartSearch as our applicant tracking system (ATS) and contact/client tracking. SmartSearch integrates with our back office, so the vast majority of the work our business does in housed within the SmartSearch platform.
  • Customization - the team at SmartSearch always tries to find a solution that works for our company specifically.
  • Customer Care - the team actually cares and is concerned about the well-being of our business. They help us solve issues as if they worked for us and this feeling is felt at every level of the organization beginning with their President.
  • Technology - I have used multiple ATSs and demoed many, many more. SmartSearch has superior technology for staffing firm; the technology that helps us recruit and fill jobs faster.
  • Listening - the team at SmartSearch actually listens to us and our concerns whether it's regarding a feature for an upgrade or simply solving an issue we are facing.
  • Common Sense - there have been many times in our relationship when we have asked about a feature and we hear "that makes sense, we will make that change for all of our customers"...listening is rare and they do it well.
  • With any upgrade, there can be small bugs or glitches. Whenever these pop up, the team at SmartSearch is quick to attack them and fix the issues as soon as possible.
Their technology is great and I have recommended them many, many times and will continue to do so. The emphasis they place on the technology - the core part of their software that helps our company run more smoothly is truly impressive.
The team is quick to respond, answers the phone and dives into an issue. Every person on the support team goes out of their way to make our experience a good one. The result is that we feel very well supported and our needs are handled. We love it!
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SmartSearch as our primary applicant, job and client tracking system.
  • SmartSearch is affordable. Most other systems like this cost more.
  • SmartSearch has great staff, knowledgeable and long-term.
  • SmartSearch automated tasks are very helpful.
  • SmartSearch has a steep learning curve if you want to extensively use the features like automated tasks and the report writer
  • Technical support is spotty and sometimes very frustrating, they don't respond for weeks at a time.
  • SmartSearch user interface is old and has far less ability to customize the interface than other tracking systems
  • SmartSearch has virtually no ability to connect directly with other software and allows now other software to connect in - so no Microsoft Flow, no Zapier, no mail parser, etc. and since Smart Search capabilities are limited, not being able to integrate it with other platforms easily is unfortunate.
SmartSearch is suitable as a mechanism for collecting candidate information online and managing job orders. The fees are low and reasonable for this limited functionality and, at this low level of use, the system works well.

SmartSearch is less suited for an environment in which robust reporting or tracking is required - the built-in reports are limited, the report writer is difficult to use and there are no real capabilities to interface directly with other applications like Microsoft Flow, Zapier, mailparser, etc. Consequently, one cannot take advantage of external tech capabilities to make up for the lack of capabilities in SmartSearch.

The responsiveness of tech support is spotty. Currently, we have been waiting almost three months to receive a resolution on the integration of Zip Recruiter, our job postings are not getting out to Zip Recruiter which, as a recruiting agency, is a death blow. (Their tech support people are great and most have been there a long time, it is the responsiveness that is the weak link.) Sometimes they respond very quickly and then out of the blue you get nothing.
We are currently still waiting for a fix to why our jobs are not getting posted out to Zip Recruiter, it has been eleven weeks. While SmartSearch will respond to many things quickly and I am really appreciative of their tech support people who are lovely and talented, SmartSearch overall responsiveness can be spotty and as a small business that can really hurt. This current example is only one of several times where for some reason out of the blue they just don't respond.
May 10, 2018

Great ATS!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SmartSearch as an applicant tracking system. SmartSearch also pushes out our job postings to multiple websites, including CareerBuilder and our company website. SmartSearch allows us to track applicants all the way from application to hire, including adding candidates that have been sourced externally, through platforms such as LinkedIn Talent, Indeed, etc. Once an offer is extended by a client, we are able to use SmartSearch to initiate onboarding and track items such as AWGP, gross margin, and more.
  • Great for keeping candidates well organized, especially if you have them submitted to multiple job orders. Each job order will create its own "hire track" which makes it easy to keep an eye on where a candidate is in the hiring process.
  • Easily identifies duplicate applicants and candidates through comparison of a number of details and not just name - including the phone number, email, and location - but still affords you the opportunity to double check and ensure a candidate is, in fact, a duplicate entry
  • For larger organizations, SmartSearch is wonderful in helping to identify the appropriate company contacts working on various positions across the US. If I am working with a candidate interested in a posting he saw for a job in Kentucky, I can locate the account manager and recruiter for the position within minutes.
  • No ability to "tag" coworkers. My organization tracks certain metrics such as candidate submittals, interviews, and call connects. If I work with another recruiter on a position, there is no way to tag both recruiters to ensure each gets credit for their work.
  • Job orders can only be assigned to one recruiter, one sourcer, and one account manager. Similar to my other point, this can be very restricting. For example, on my Dashboard, I have a list of "open jobs". If I am not listed as the recruiter or sourcer for the job order, it can be very cumbersome to attach candidates to the hiring track for that position if I do not have the JO# written down elsewhere.
  • Something I wish SmartSearch (and many other platforms) offered is some pre-set tutorials to go through. SmartSearch seems to have a lot of features that I am not taking advantage of, simply because I do not know they exist or how to use them.
Well suited for tracking applicants from start to finish. Being able to use SmartSearch to push job postings out to major job boards is very helpful in attracting active candidates and keeping them well organized.

SmartSearch is less appropriate for sourcing passive candidates. Although it keeps previous applicants and candidates stored internally, their information is typically not current and thus not really ideal for reaching out to passive candidates that would actually be a good fit for any roles you are recruiting on.
Meg White | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
As a recruitment process outsourcing company, we used SmartSearch for both our internal hires and customer candidate tracking. It was a great ATS and easy to use. User-friendly dashboards. As one of the administrators, adding new users and specifying their access requirements was a smooth process. As the scheduler of all internal interviews, it was an easy way to track when a candidate was ready for scheduling, when the interview was complete and great for sharing notes on the candidates.
  • ATS - Tracking applicants across multiple customers and job openings was a piece of cake.
  • Communication among users was so easy.
  • Customer Service. The team at SmartSearch was always available for a quick and painless Q&A.
  • I don't think I have anything to add here.
It's a great ATS!
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SmartSearch ATS for our recruiting services as well as our CRM. It helps us keep our recruiting efforts in line and provides excellent reporting and tracking of activities. As a CRM, its been very helpful with tracking pre-close and post-close clients. We are about to launch our marketing program utilizing the various tools in SmartSearch.
  • Easy to use and very flexible. There are a lot of ways to customize it to your company's needs - both on the ATS and CRM sides.
  • Excellent customer service - every single SmartSearch team member has been professional, friendly and very quick to answer questions and help with solutions. Plus, they do great follow up!
  • They offer wonderful webinars on how to better utilize the product and provide access to some industry experts that are extremely beneficial.
  • There's some room for improvement with candidate status. If you change a status, you have to refresh your screen for that to appear. It's a minor thing.
  • It would be nice to hide certain bits of information on the web posting, but keep that information in the requisition for our records, ie, salary range, etc.
I think the hand off between a CRM and ATS is great. One system - one database. That is a feature we really needed.
September 30, 2015

SmartSearch ATS is SMART!

Bill Humbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch ATS is being used in my company both as an Applicant Tracking System for my RecruiterGuy.com contract recruiter/consulting business and as a Customer Records Management System for my public speaking business SpeakBill.com. It solves my problem of tracking jobs, candidates, managers, posting jobs for Internet Aggregators to scrape, and tracking activity for clients and my businesses.
  • When a company is a new client, SmartSearch ATS does an excellent job of bringing functionality to their client very quickly, usually within a couple of weeks. Their training program is designed so even non-technical users may use their SmartSearch ATS quickly.
  • The Customer Support Team at SmartSearch ATS are off the charts great for jumping on problems quickly and solving them. Sometimes the problems are created by other vendors who link with SmartSearch ATS. Even then SmartSearch resolves the problem. My advice? Expect a happy resolution the rare times you have a problem.
  • The Development Team at SmartSearch ATS have been around for many years. While the fundamentals of the SmartSearch ATS software are mature, the nature of the ATS software business is constant change. SmartSearch ATS does a wonderful job staying up to date. There is no need to bleed at cutting edge. Give me up to date and stability any day! SmartSearch ATS provides both.
  • When you create a new job posting, you are required to pick a field from "miscellaneous export information". Camera Operator and Makeup Artists are choices. Web Developers are not a choice. I don't get that.

Of course, as in any product choice, the product needs to match the company requirements. SmartSearch ATS solves tracking problems very well for small to medium sized companies - a nice broad market in itself. SmartSearch ATS would not be a good enterprise ATS choice. It is not designed to be.

Based on my experience, a strong enterprise ATS does not currently exist. Most do a better job driving away passive candidates than attracting them.

With SmartSearch ATS, it is possible to make it easy for passive candidates to indicate their interest.

How many positions will you need to post over the next year?

How many candidates will you need to track?

How many company employees will need to access SmartSearch ATS to track candidates?

What types of reporting do you require?

What is your budget?

Is the standard SmartSearch ATS fine for your company or will you need to customize?

Would you like your ATS to mirror image your website? SmartSearch ATS does.

I believe that SmartSearch ATS deserves an 11 out of 10. In my experience (and I am technically competent for an English degree and published author), the overall support team at SmartSearch ATS deserves their recognition as a top support team. Even when I manage to find new and exciting technical challenges, the SmartSearch ATS team solves my problems. Their support is truly appreciated.
April 10, 2015

review

Danielle DiPaola | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I am personally using it to create org charts. I just use it in HR.
  • Org charts
  • Searching locations
  • Finding the employees needed for a job
  • I cant think of any at this time.
SmartSearch ATS is well suited for searching candidates. It is also great for creating offer letters and sending onboarding.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Smart Search is being used company-wide where I work. It makes sure we can retain information for qualified job seekers.
  • I like it better than other ATS I have used in the past because it utilizes very little system resources. Unlike other ATS I have used it has never frozen my computer or caused it to crash.
  • It is very customizable. You can easily edit your default view to give you access to any information you may need. This significantly increases productivity.
  • It has a great search function. You can quickly search most aspects of candidates, job orders, or contacts to find the information you need quickly.
  • Once in a blue moon, when searching within the radius of a zip code, I find that the information is lacking in the ATS.
  • The searches can be at times confusing, especially when searching job orders.
SmartSearch is very adaptable and can work well in any environment. It interacts well with Outlook and outside websites. Due to the fact that it is web based, you need not worry about it taking up your hard drive. It works for both large organizations as well as small ones.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
After evaluating several other products in the market, we found SmartSearch to be most flexible one out there. We later on visited their site and met their executive. Their transparency and flexibility were keys to our selection process. The data migration from a totally different platform went VERY smoothly as they had done a great amount of preparation. The product has exceeded our expectation. This product is used by several departments in our firm including both front and back office staff members.
  • Flexible and customizable
  • Robustness of both technology and the product
  • Data Migration., Training, and Customer Service
  • Nothing that I can think of at this point.
It is suited for both single office and multiple office firms.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch is being used across the organization as the primary applicant tracking system. In the staffing industry, an efficient ATS is instrumental in our success. SmartSearch is very user friendly and allows us to effectively streamline our applicant hire process.
  • Search integration with popular job boards such as Monster and CareerBuilder make for simple searches to maximize results.
  • HireTrak allows smooth transition through the hiring process.
  • WIP is great. It makes it easy to efficiently maximize your daily productivity.
  • Adding a contact to a job. The auto-populate feature doesn't always seem to work in accurately identifying the correct business contact to assign an order under
  • When copying and pasting a job description from MS Word to SmartSearch, it often alters the format causing me to reformat.
SmartSearch ATS works well in all aspects in the staffing industry. It doesn't have too many bells and whistles to make it confusing to the average user.
February 25, 2015

Smart Search Review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is used by the whole organization when the client does not posses or does not want us to share their ATS.
  • Multi-database support for a very low price
  • Easy to use
  • Very low maintenance
  • It could be improved by giving less options
  • Minimum drop down menus instead of so many options
  • A more clear and concise dashboard
Normally, recruiters don't have time to get trained in every ATS, so it should be more user friendly, have less options and more logic. The SNI questionnaire is hard to set up, notes and view of emails sent are hidden.
February 21, 2015

SmartSearch Review

Maria Fleischmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch was used as an applicant tracking system. It made our lives easier as recruiters. We were able to create searches based on our defined criteria to find the best suited candidates in a quick fashion.
  • Applicant tracking system
  • Advanced searches
  • Simple user interface
  • Would be nice if the application was in a mobile app
  • Faster results
  • Associate employees with companies and manage that way
SmartSearch ATS is less suited when you are looking for new people who just posted a resume. Monster and CareerBuilder would be better choices.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch was our ATS starting in 1995, we have since retired it as of last fall. The entire Recruitment Dept used it and it was accessible to HR.
  • There are pluses and minuses with all software.
  • It started off as a small company and has expanded over the years.
  • As we grew we realized that customizing the software created issues.
  • The reporting features were not robust and missed the mark for our reporting needs.
  • We outgrew the system for several reasons.
The size of the organization looking to deploy it is important; in my opinion small to mid size organizations would be optimal. [Consider the] level of support needed. Talk to past and current users who are in your industry and outside your industry. Talk to clients all over the country, especially those in your time zone.
February 18, 2015

It does the job....

Alexis Kruse | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
At Novotus, we use SmartSearch ATS as our internal applicant tracking system for hiring internally. We also use SmartSeach for our one-off clients that we hire a couple positions for sporadically. It is not being used across the entire organization. We use a lot of different applicant tracking systems for all of our different clients.
  • SmartSearch ATS is great as an applicant tracking system. It is very easy to use, but could use some tweaking.
  • SmartSearch ATS is really great for easily posting to free job boards.
  • SmartSearch ATS has a lot of applications and allows a lot of template creations for every different point of the process.
  • SmartSearch ATS is VERY temperamental. It is hard to move around from one page to another without losing all data.
  • SmartSearch ATS reporting is awful. There are not a lot of reports that you can pull as cleanly as I have found on other ATSs.
  • SmartSearch ATS is very hard to train new people on. It is confusing and there are different ways of doing things.
I think that there are other applicant tracking systems that are way easier to use and a lot cleaner. The only time that I like SmartSearch ATS is when it generates an email template whenever I move a candidate over in the process. I can set the template I want and it always pops up and fills in the exact data.
Rachel Hamilton Probst | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Different divisions of the company use SmartSearch in different ways. I will explain how my division uses it. In our division, it is only recruiting and HR that uses SmartSearch at this time. I work with the recruiting department and we use it for the gathering, interviewing and hiring process of candidates. All resumes we receive are loaded into SmartSearch. These can then be searched or referenced when looking for qualified candidates for positions. All jobs are also loaded into the program and then posted on our company website and shared with a few others. We then track the progress of the interview process within the program. SmartSearch helps keep the recruiting department organized.
  • It is adaptable/customizable. Our department has a very particular process we move through when interviewing and we were able to customize a hire track. As an individual, you can customize your workspace, showing specifically what you need in your "WIP" (works in progress) and "Dashboard."
  • SmartSearch Outlook Toolbar. This handy little tool has saved me personally hours of work. If a candidate sends me a resume, with the click of one button, I can quickly load him into SmartSearch. You can also easily add emails to the "Notes" section to keep track of communication with the candidate.
  • Web-based, therefore accessible from anywhere. If I am out of the office working, I can still get exactly what I need because it not sitting on my hard drive in my office.
  • The search function is not perfect. Sometimes with a simple search of candidates in my area, I only get three results, even though I know for a fact there are others in the system. I know some of it has to do with what format the resume was loaded into SmartSearch.
  • Candidates can apply for a job without attaching a resume. They have to fill out some basic information, but apparently are not required to submit a resume. It doesn't happen often, but we've had it happen a number of times.
  • There are so many functions/uses for SmartSearch, it can be overwhelming. When I first started using it, there was no training program and I was taught as I went. There were so many things I didn't learn...I am still picking up on new things to this day. I have noticed that recently there have been some more tutorials and webinars added, but when I started, there were not many at all.
  • Some of the export functions could be improved. When jobs are exported to Monster or Careerbuilder, they sometimes mess with the formatting. We always have to double check the posting to make sure that it does not look bad (extra spaces, font changes, etc).
SmartSearch ATS is a good program to track candidates and the hiring process.
December 01, 2014

SmartSearch ATS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch ATS is used by the HR department and by all hiring and project managers. It allows us to control and maintain communications and documentation to the hiring process per candidate, per project, and per manager/recruiter. Additionally, the reporting and dashboard functionality provide a visual for our activity including areas of weakness and strength. The workflow processes allow employees to apply directly online from our site, and the Outlook integration ensures efficiency between systems.
  • Outlook Add-In Capability
  • Multiple Application Options (Company careers page, Job Boards, etc.)
  • Automatic and Custom Workflows
  • Fillable pdf form integration
  • Technical, functional, behavioral skills testing
SmartSearch ATS is well suited for a mid to large size company, or a company experiencing rapid growth where one or more hiring managers are not always available or are located in a separate location from the HR/Recruiting team.
August 21, 2014

SmartSearch Review

Daniel Spioch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Synerfac currently uses SmartSearch throughout the entire company to store, and manage candidate resumes to help ease the process of staffing. It is very helpful in keeping everything organized with candidate contact info, daily scheduling and current or past tasks worked on.
  • Easy flow of candidate processing.
  • Very simple to use, easy to learn.
  • It is aesthetically easy on the eyes with customization options.
  • It is very slow during certain times of the day.
  • The dashboard does not load and it seems like it crashes.
  • When trying to process resumes added to the system, it sometimes just deletes the data, forcing you to start the whole process again.
  • It seriously moves really slow and you have to exit out of the program and restart to try and make it work.
  • Certain links do not load the first time, forcing you to reload and hope they show up on the screen.
It's well suited for keeping candidate contact information for easy access.
August 20, 2014

SS rocks.

Weston Kruse | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is being used by the company that I work for to manage the applicants. It is used across the whole organization.
  • Organization
  • Easy Navigation
  • Well Built
  • More customization in the tool. An easier way to edit and put any box in whatever format on the dashboard.
It is just an all around great ATS.
August 20, 2014

SmartSearch Review

Brady Eagle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SmartSearch to put in our job requisitions we are recruiting for, and our candidates we find on job boards, LinkedIn, referrals, etc., pertaining to that specific job requisition. We use it across our organization from our Recruiters to our Account Executives to ensure that everyone sees all job requisitions and the candidates that have been submitted.
  • Allowing to see candidates from our whole organization
  • Seeing what open job requisitions we have, or which ones that I'm assigned to
  • Matching skill sets of like candidates when a similar job requisition comes out that we have used in the past
  • Can run really slow and get bogged down sometimes.
SmartSearch makes things run very smoothly for our organization. It allows us to attach candidates to specific jobs so you can refer to them at a later date for a similar job. It allows your Account Executives and recruiters be on the same page by attaching candidates, updating job requirements, and keeping them updated if the job has been closed, re-opened, put on hold, etc.
Gregory Talkington, CAPM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SmartSearch is being used by the organization as a whole. Its main purpose is to increase productivity throughout the company. As there are a lot of documents in play at an insurance company, a program like this brings a lot of value. The business problem it addresses is the lag that exists between way-points in the various business processes. With SmartSearch, there is a level of automation that significantly decreases this lag time, and diminishes the possibility of documents falling between the cracks.
  • Organizational Automation - Too often a stack of paperwork on someone's desk takes a long time to process. This decreases the lag time by automatically routing paperwork to the proper party.
  • Business Process Transparency - Along with the lag time mentioned above, other parties down the assembly line from a lag point are usually kept in the dark as far as where they are in a given business process. SmartSearch provides everyone involved in a business process or document workflow a clear view of its status, and who to talk to if there is a lag.
  • IT Skill Needed - Although the basic functions are easy to implement for anyone regardless of their IT skill level, it takes someone with significant IT aptitude to implement the best parts of the software.
SmartSearch is best used in organizations where there is a lot of paperwork in play. This is especially true in Accounts Payable departments that see a large volume of invoices.
Return to navigation