Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
165 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 78)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 02, 2021
Travis Taggart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 does give complete control by backing up all of the major data applications in the service. We use it on the regular to restore OneDrive sync problems due to users deleting files on the desktop and therefore deleting them out of 365.
Read Travis Taggart's full review
December 31, 2020
Kenny McGarrity | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

We have end-users who swear up and down that something was deleted and that it needs to be recovered now. I have confidence in Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 to go back to a point and restore their files/emails without any problems. In the near future, we are also planning on storing our backups in AWS S3 for immutable backups for better protection against malware attacks.
Read Kenny McGarrity's full review
December 20, 2020
Joe Stern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

This is true, to the extent that I've used the product (i.e. to search for data from some old mailboxes of former employees). I used PST files to ingest those e-mails back to their managers.
Read Joe Stern's full review
February 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

In the best case scenario, backups are present for peace of mind. We have had occasion to restore data, however, most recently when a user who had previously left returned to our employment. Their mailbox had already been deleted from Microsoft's online systems, but using Veeam we were able to restore the contents of their now-empty mailbox back to the point where it was when they originally left.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

Other than initial testing, we haven't yet had to do a real life restore. But, we have full confidence that we're well protected.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

We have had executives depart and attempt to delete all of their email records. Nope - restore from backup after their access has been removed.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

Fortunately we didn't need to restore data in production, but we do the test restore periodically and are very happy with the overall performance and stability.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

When data was accidentally deleted or lost (after an employee left the company), the missing data was accessed in a matter of minutes and easily recovered.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

We have used backup and restore functionalities of Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 several times already. The accidental deletions are quite seldom when compared with data loss due to hardware malfunction and ransomware type of attacks, which became very common recently. We were heavily affected by Petya malware attack, but thanks to backups we could successfully mitigate the resulting issues.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2020
Adam Vogini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

We have had issues when users have departed and we deleted their Office 365 accounts, then months later mangers come asking for emails or data from their accounts. Veeam has allowed us to retain this data indefinitely and pull from those backups and archives almost seamlessly to get our users what they need.
Read Adam Vogini's full review
May 29, 2020
Michael O'Riley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

Veeam has allowed IT to recover OneDrive files after deleted or infected. Also, the recovery of email items after users leave the organization is completed faster and more reliably.
Read Michael O'Riley's full review
March 16, 2020
Anthony Petzold | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

On multiple occasions, we have had the need to restore an object that a user has either deleted content, accidentally deleted, or completely removed it from the page. With the way things are going in today's environment with Ransomware and Malware things can get easily corrupted or locked out, Veeam Backup allows for a wonderfully easy way to restore.
Read Anthony Petzold's full review
June 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

We have benefited from the capability of being able to quickly recover data when it is lost. We have recovered a large number of emails for executive level employees who have deleted whole folders in their Inbox and recovered them right back to their Inbox. We have recovered files that had years' worth of work and information in them which prevented major headaches for those users.
Read this authenticated review
June 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

Thankfully we've only had to use this solution to recover individual emails and not entire mailboxes. It has been easy to do that as well, which is a nice benefit when users delete things on accident.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

We had a situation where a user left and we had a dispute with them. They had tried to delete all their email history and using Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365, we were able to retrieve all this information quickly and easily and thus were able to resolve the dispute.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

We have used the search and restore options of Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 several times to restore email whenever a user is missing or accidentally archives or deletes an email. Through the use of the search option, it is easy to quickly locate whatever is needed and do a restore to their existing mailbox or export the email for the user.
Read this authenticated review
May 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

Our primary use case for this product is the ease of export of data for former employees, but being able to point-in-time restore mailboxes in the event of a phishing attack was a consideration when licensing the product. However, accidental deletion is a more common scenario. Easily exporting an Exchange Online mailbox to a PST and having the user identify a particular item and restoring is a common occurrence.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

We had a few emails that were deleted accidentally [one was marked as junk when it was actually important and auto-emptied]. With Veeam's O365 Backup, we could go backward in time on an hourly basis around when the email first came in, extract that, and place it back into the user's inbox in just a few minutes of pulling up the console.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

So far we've had to restore from OneDrive, Mailboxes and Sharepoint Online. Teams have been tested but have not been needed so far. There have been no issues so far, and since it's so easy, even first-line support does this without hesitation. The uses cases have been mostly accidental deleting of files or Sharepoint pages.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

We've done numerous tests and it's very simple to backup user's accounts. The search and retrieval process is also very simple to use too.
Read this authenticated review
April 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Data Access

Data has been mistakenly deleted and is easily recoverable with Veeam Backup. You could say it has saved our bacon more than once. Easy to look back when we may get right to information requests as well. Eases the pain and especially when some of the information we need is from a former employee that is no longer with the company.
Read this authenticated review

What is Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365?

Veeam® Backup for Microsoft Office 365 aims to eliminate the risk of losing access and control over Office 365 data including Exchange Online, SharePoint Online, OneDrive for Business and Microsoft Teams – so that data is always protected and accessible. Veeam gives the user secure backup of Office 365 to any location, including on premises, a hyperscale cloud, or a service provider and:

  • Protects Office 365 data from accidental deletion, security threats and retention policy gaps
  • Quickly restores individual Office 365 email, files and sites with industry-leading recovery flexibility
  • Meet legal and compliance requirements with efficient eDiscovery of Office 365 items
New in version 5 - Purpose-built backup and recovery for Microsoft Teams, to make it easier to find and restore Teams data, including entire teams, specific channels and settings. Version 5 also includes architectural enhancements that the vendor states deliver 5x the scale increase to support larger enterprises and up to 2x faster Office 365 data movement to object storage.

The vendor offers a 30-day trial and a short demo series on Office 365 backup.

Useful resources:

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Screenshots

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Video

Watch this short demo video to learn how to backup and recover Office 365 Exchange Online, SharePoint Online and OneDrive for Business data with Veeam

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Downloadables

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Integrations

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Competitors

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Veeam sells through channel partners. Contact your partner for detailed pricing and quotes. If you do not have a partner, you can find a reseller or contact sales for assistance.

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English