VNC Connect

VNC Connect

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.4 out of 100
VNC Connect

Overview

Recent Reviews

VNC Connect: Simple and Useful

8 out of 10
October 11, 2021
VNC Connect application is available at user points with [a] windows-based operating system that we use in payment systems. It allows us …
Continue reading

VNC Connect Review

8 out of 10
December 06, 2019
VNC Connect is a solid remote support tool used by my staff. Since our team is small and we support many users we utilize remote support …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 13 features

Screen sharing (26)

9.6
96%

Instant message (17)

9.4
94%

Initiate remote control from mobile (17)

9.3
93%

Over-the-Internet remote session (29)

9.0
90%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of VNC Connect, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Professional - Device Access

$3.39

Cloud
per remote computer per month

Enterprise - Device Access

$4.59

Cloud
per remote computer per month

Professional - Instant Support

$16.99

Cloud
per named technician per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.realvnc.com/en/connect/pric…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Remote Administration

7.9
79%

Product Details

What is VNC Connect?

VNC® Connect is presented as a secure, simple remote desktop solution. It enables users to remotely access and control their devices wherever they are in the world, whenever they need to.
VNC® Connect covers a wide range of remote access use cases with a single subscription, from remote working to IT support.

VNC Connect Features

Remote Administration Features

  • Supported: Screen sharing
  • Supported: File transfer
  • Supported: Instant message
  • Supported: Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication
  • Supported: Over-the-Internet remote session
  • Supported: Initiate remote control from mobile
  • Supported: Centralized management dashboard
  • Supported: Multi-platform remote control

VNC Connect Video

VNC Connect - Overview

VNC Connect Competitors

VNC Connect Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is VNC Connect's best feature?

Reviewers rate Screen sharing highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses VNC Connect?

The most common users of VNC Connect are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 36)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The VNC Connect is used within certain departments, especially the IT department. With the tool, it can allow anyone to remotely support anyone anywhere. This helps to increase the support level and user satisfaction. As the pandemic is not going anywhere, screen sharing and remote support tools have been giving a lot of convenience and happiness to corporate users.
  • Screen sharing
  • Remote desktop
  • File transfer
  • File sharing
  • Mobile support.
  • Able to remote desktop using smart devices.
  • For connection support.
There were times where I was traveling to other countries before the pandemic, I was outdoor and not in the office, I did not know VNC was used by the support team at another country, I was guided over the phone to install the tool and once the support team able to gain access to my laptop, just a few clicks and the issue has been resolved and I'm a happy man to meet the customer. All these only took about 5 minutes to set up the tool remotely.
Rajat Kapoor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it personally to connect my laptop to my workstation, while on travel away from my office
  • Very easy to connect
  • Graphics very smooth during connectivity
  • Nothing that I can think of. Very pleased about using it.
[VNC Connect] is very easy to implement, install and use. I have now used it for over 5 years and it is my preferred software for remote desktop connections.
November 01, 2021

Gets the job done

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VNC Connect is used as a simple bare bones method to remotely access office PCs and for Sales to print documents locally when on the road. Controlling machines remotely using the iOS apps from iPhone or an iPad is very convenient. This program is quick, lightweight, and easy to use.
  • Connects to other computers to perform a task remotely
  • Remote access via mobile device
  • Fast connection
  • A fast internet connection is required for VNC to work smoothly
  • Initial setup is a little complex
  • Connecting to a machine with multiple connected monitors is difficult to scale
VNC Connect is a great choice when you need a lightweight and simple tool for remote connectivity. It doesn't have all the features of some other remote access tools, but for simplicity VNC Connect is a solid connectivity tool that is easy to deploy. The ability to connect to workstations from mobile devices is a great feature.
Josh Collier, Website Designer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used VNC at two different businesses. It was recommended by our IT guy. We were looking for a solution to have me and another employee work from home. We were able to access our work computers from anywhere including home and allowed us to be able to get work done from home and access the server. My other company I use it at is my web design company. It is a home business and sometimes I want to access my main computer from other locations to easily make site or hosting changes.
  • Remote Work from Computer
  • Always be able to connect as long as the computer is on even if it is in the login screen
  • Mobile viewing of the computer
  • Printing from the main computer to another device in the remote area you are at.
  • Sometimes when printing an invoice it would look semi correct but the letters would be incorrect and sometimes symbols
  • Sometimes there is lag but it is probably more on the internet and service I have
I think it is great to go onto my computer and do quick tasks. If you needed to print something from your computer it is a great way to do that remotely. Also if I don't want to login to my google chrome account on someone's computer it can be better to quickly install VNC and then access my computer and then just delete the account and the program after. If the task requires quick movements and other things that lag is a problem with then I wouldn't use it for that. A quick-paced video game that requires low lag would be a no go.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a sole proprietor I use VNC connect to manage all aspects of my business from Home and when away from the office. I use VNC to process payroll, accounting, and review of documents for business decisions. VNC connect makes if very easy to connect to office computers to manage everyday items without having employees sending and receiving emails and instructions. I can print documents to printers for employees to give to customers, this helps to continue a secure office for personal information and forms not accessed by employees. I would recommend using VNC connect for anyone that needs to access your computer when you're away from your office.
  • I can check for documents scanned by employees
  • I can perform computer updates when not in the office
  • Local programs are easy to use
  • File transfer between computers is still difficult.
  • New computer set up is a little difficult.
VNC connect is great for out of office connections. Connecting while traveling is easy. Vacationing for extended periods of time make VNC connect a very good choice to stay connected to the office computer.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VNC Connect application is available at user points with [a] windows-based operating system that we use in payment systems. It allows us to connect with the VNC [Connect] application, which is pre-installed on our systems, with the viewer to solve the problems there or to intervene and support. It is very useful in terms of being simple and easy.
  • Easy to manage and setup
  • Good at remote management
  • It simply does its job
  • The user interface looks old compared to today's interfaces
  • We do not use the mobile side much
  • We would like an MFA in security
[In] the scenario where VNC Connect application is very suitable for us, we can work with applications that are built on it stably and easily manage systems that do not require regular development or structural changes. The issue we want to be better is that we cannot use it in structures such as the old Microsoft Windows CE.
October 08, 2021

Great teaching tool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VNC Connect in our IT department to remotely access branch computers in a way that allows the remote user to see what we are doing and therefore learn how to do it for themselves. We have found it to be a better tool than RDP connections for this reason.
  • Multi-platform support
  • Easy to use
  • Inexpensive. Free for personal use.
  • No drag and drop transfer between viewer app and remote desktop
  • Need server version to be installed on the remote device
  • No sending one-time invitation emails from the remote machine
It is very easy to use if the remote device is already set up to receive connections, so if you are setting up devices before deploying them, it is a great tool to have. It is well-suited to use when shadowing users or using it as a teaching tool. There are other products that are better if you are trying to help someone on a one-use basis.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used to remote into students' and users' accounts along with our other tools. It is a great tool to use when you would rather do a quick and stealthy view and remote in. It is extremely powerful and offers users plenty of options for all levels of users. I've also used to manage home servers while I've been away from the house and need to troubleshoot or change settings.
  • Stealth Mode
  • Ease of Use
  • Quick and Easy Learning Curve
  • Tools and settings for advanced users
  • More intuitive GUI
  • Streamlined user guides
  • Smaller Install Package
We had a user that flagged for unusual activity and our teams were able to analyze and see what the user was doing. After the machine was quarantined a security expert was able to seamlessly and easily remote in and see what this user had installed. It's a great way to quickly view and gather evidence to make decisions on a case-by-case basis.
December 06, 2019

VNC Connect Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VNC Connect is a solid remote support tool used by my staff. Since our team is small and we support many users we utilize remote support options as much as possible. We use it for remote troubleshooting, in-house and offsite and the product works reliably. We also use it during our audiovisual events to control presentation laptops. This enables us to remain out of sight and assist presenters with their presentations remotely from the back of the room.
  • Remote connections in-house work flawlessly.
  • Remote connections offsite work well - dependent on internet connections.
  • Works extremely well with assisting remote presentations - no lag time.
  • Its a pretty straight forward product - I would like to see more tools with a "wow" factor.
  • Panel colors are blah - I would like more eye-catching colors.
  • A more consistent look with all platforms - like Mac & PC.
VNC Connect works really well in-house, via a wireless and hard-wired connection. This comes in handy when we are assisting presenters in board meetings or connecting to a desktop for remote support. The product is simply reliable. We have used it for major events in large rooms with hundreds of people and had no issues. Like any remote support tool, it also depends on the network connectivity.
VNC Connect is a reliable product that has been around for a long time. It is reasonably priced and works well in the Mac & PC environment. When you have a small team that supports many users we need tools that we can rely upon and that will get the job done on the first try. Many customers appreciate the quick assistance and can multi-task while our team works on their computer issues remotely. From a customer service point of view, this tool gives us transparency and efficient effectiveness.
Cory Brester | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VNC is being used across the entire company. Our organization is currently expanding into two locations with multiple remote home workers. With a small IT staff, VNC saves time and makes it easy troubleshoot. Previously, I tried to make video/screen conferencing solutions work and it just wasn't the right product. That is why I turned to VNC. We deployed VNC with the cloud brokering feature across all of our networks.
  • Ease of implementation
  • Ease of use and simplicity
  • Cost
  • Can't think of one, this served my needs.
We are a small organization trying to scale, this allows us to do that at a very low cost and get all the functionality we needed. The sales representatives and their support team were very helpful through the trial and implementation period. The only hiccup I had during the trial was that I accidentally created two trials. They were able to clear that up right away. The cost, for 200 machines made it so easy to get approval from the executive team.
William Waks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am quite frequently requested to provide support to my clients regarding their accounting system. In many instances it is much more convenient to connect to their computer and visually guide them. VNC Connect provides this with little effort allowing me to see their computer screens, understand what they have done in their software and help them properly record their transactions or prepared meaningful reports.
  • Visually see their computer screens and the information needed to properly respond to their questions.
  • Transfer files that I might need to work on their financial statements and corporation income tax returns or other reports that they may require. Also to upload files from my computer to update their records.
  • Help train clients to use their own accounting software appropriately while having them see first hand on their screens the use of the software interface and how the data is entered and processed by their software.
  • It would be helpful to have the ability to see multiple screens as opposed to scrolling over to a second screen.
  • There have been times when the client's computer was requiring supervisor authorization to proceed and during this time, my screen was blacked out awaiting the client's computer to get past this authorization. It would be helpful to continue to see the screen and possibly be able to enter the supervisor password remotely.

Assistance with existing software works well.

I have been asked to update software on a client's computer which requires a supervisor intervention and have not been able to install the software remotely without user intervention as my screen blacks out whenever the requirement of supervisor intervention is required by the remote computer. If there is a reboot required as part of the installation, the connection has to be re-established.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses VNC to connect to remote PCs in the field. We can connect to multiple PCs from one control room and monitor/operate machinery in real time. This machinery is spread across a large area and this one remote station allows for the monitoring and operation of each from one centralized location.
  • VNC connections are very easy to understand and use.
  • Ease of operation for less computer savvy staff makes for a good software to deploy on many different levels of PCs and laptops.
  • The cost of VNC is not prohibitive.
  • Some of the confusion of VNC upon installation is you need to be connected to the internet for it to function. This is not the case, but is unclear upon installation.
  • The licensing model is not ideal for locations that do not use the internet and function off of the grid.
Ease of use.
Cole Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a professional photographer and travel the world. I conduct all of my business remotely by using VNC Connect. Most of my remote access is done using an iOS device to connect to a PC. This allows me to keep Running my business when I'm traveling.
  • Remote access
  • Remote printing
  • Once in a while when using an iOS device to connect to my Windows 7/10 computer, there are odd behaviors when using Microsoft office.
I run my business remotely with VNC connect. I use it to prepare images for customers, to upload and download files, to correspond with my customers and to manage my accounting system. There is little I cannot do with VNC.
August 14, 2018

VNC Connect is GREAT!

Dr. Jim Bidlack | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VNC Connect is GREAT! It is the only program on my college campus that can be used to access computers using different operating systems. VNC can be used on systems as old as Windows XP and all the way up through the most modern systems. It is fast, easy-to-use, and secure. I use it every day and it allows me to access my office computer during evenings and weekends when students need help ASAP. VNC Connect simply makes my job easier and more fun to do. Hooray for VNC Connect!
  • VNC Connect can be used with many operating systems.
  • VNC Connect is fast.
  • VNC Connect is secure.
  • VNC Connect could be faster, but still very good.
  • VNC Connect needs to be used at more college campuses.
  • VNC Connect could benefit from more TV advertisement.
VNC Connect is great for connecting to computers using different operating systems.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been users of RealVNC for over 8 years. During that time, it has allowed us to remotely connect to 1000 desktops and servers to resolve issues, install software, printers, etc., saving us many hours of driving time between sites and gives us a quicker response time to resolve issues. Without it, we would have had to hire at least one other technician. Now with VNC Connect, we can connect to desktops and servers that are not interconnected on our WAN. The software is very stable, easy to use and has many features that make remote support a snap. I also use it at home for after-hours support as well. The sales and support departments, when needed, has been exceptional. Great product with a great team behind it!
  • Allow remote connection to pc and servers that are located within our WAN. The connection is stable with fast response (no lag)
  • Allow remote connection to pc and servers that are located outside. The connection is stable with fast response (no lag)
  • It allows chat function with the user, and pasting capability from local desktop and mapped a drive to the remote system.
  • There is nothing I can think of that I really dislike about the product.
Remote support of desktops with a LAN/WAN environment. Saves valuable time going from desktop to desktop or traveling from site to site. It does run in the background and does not utilize too many system resources. It does alert the remote system that you are connecting to the system, so users know you have attached to the system remotely. It allows you to assist users with application issues, as they can see the screen while you are connected, unlike the remote desktop.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used VNC Connect to remote access to some of our servers and workstations. It's a great tool for remote troubleshooting for my users.
  • Simple and easy to deploy and use.
  • I can have the remote users to show me their issue while I am looking at their screen remotely, just like I am sitting in front of them.
  • Simple clean interface that is very easy to pick up and learn.
  • Reliable, fast, and relatively easy to use.
  • Very fast response, it connects to the VNC clients very fast.
  • Push out client update from a central management server.
  • VNC mobile app needs improvements, it crashes all the time.
VNC Connect is a great remote support tools that I have been using for over 10 years. It works great and very easy to install and manage. I can work on my servers and workstation troubleshooting from my office desk or at home just like I am sitting in front of the physical machines.
Nicholas Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VNC is being used to allow company-wide and remote access to support our computer systems. It is an important tool for our IT department exclusively. It allows for the support of our remote users and every site our company owns across the United States.
  • Allows remote access without the need for a pre-installed agent. Since our company has 4 sites located in Ohio, CA, and TX and outside sales that are always traveling, this means I can provide support right away instead of requiring a coordinated installation of an agent software.
  • Allows connection with users on or off the network. Some of the people that require support often travel and require support wherever they are. VNC makes this available.
  • Easy to use. The simple website and installer make remote support very simple to coordinate.
  • Some support requires the installation of software. This is restricted in our organization to personnel with administrative privileges. VNC is unable to show the prompts that require the entry of credentials. This is a major hold-back.
VNC is a full featured and low-cost way for organizations to provide world-class support. I can't think of a scenario in my field where it isn't useful!
Samuel Dickinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organisation initially considered VNC Connect by RealVNC to facilitate remote access and control of some of our remote (unmanned) systems. As these systems are not normally manned, we needed a reliable way to access, monitor, control and update these systems as part of our Research & Development activities.
  • Great User Interface (UI): Compared to some its competitors, VNC Connect's UI is excellent. It is clean, simple and responsive and yet provides full access to all the required functionality.
  • Security & Encryption: VNC Connect provides password protection to prevent unauthorized users from attempting to remotely access your computer.
  • Easy Team Management: It is extremely quick and simple to add or remove devices to the VNC Connect service.
  • Billing/Licence Model: For some users the per device billing model may not be ideal.
  • Mobile Application: The mobile app can be a little clunky and unintuitive.
I would not hesitate to recommend VNC Connect for most remote access and control applications. I would have slight reservations if the application could potentially involve large numbers of remote devices due to the billing model.
Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We tried VNC Connect for our organization and found really good features offered within the product. We even experimented with using it to remotely connect to a computer from our Los Angeles office to a computer in our Amsterdam office. VNC Connect really solves the problem of troubleshooting issues as if you're sitting right in front of the computer at that remote location.
  • VNC Connect does an excellent job in remotely connecting to a computer through either your local area network or even another computer on the internet. As long as the VNC Connect services is installed and the client is running in the background.
  • VNC Connect provides password protection to prevent unauthorized users from attempting to remotely access your computer. There's an option to have a separate password to remotely view vs view & access a computer. You can even add an additional level of security by turning on the feature to require Windows login credentials.
  • VNC Connect provides an additional set of controls after a remote connection has been established with another computer. You can have special keystrokes like Ctrl+Alt+Del sent as a command sequence to the other computer as well as access more than a single screen when in use at the remote computer location.
  • It would be nice for VNC Connect to add a feature to see multiple screens all in a single view. Then you can select which screen to look at to open as a second window. Currently, the multiple screen support only works by increasing the single window size.
  • VNC Connect should provide a feature at the connection window to list a set of computers that it can detect with the agent running. This could be an auto scan feature with a setting where it can be turned on or off. Also, there can be an option to select an IP address range for the scan to occur. Then you can visually see a set of computers to select from to perform a remote access.
  • VNC Connect should add a feature to remotely wake up/turn on computers that have the agent installed. It would be nice to be presented with a window showing a list of previously accessed computers with the agent. Computers that are on and running should have a different kind of icon compared to computers that are turned off. Then you can select the computer that is off and invoke a command to wake it up so you can remotely connect to it.
VNC Connect works really well on computers connected both within the same local area network and when located outside the office connected via the internet. With VNC Connect, you can remotely access a computer and perform all functions as if you're sitting right in front of it. It also can be used as a training tool to show the person sitting at the computer the steps to take to execute and perform a task. I would not use VNC Connect to remotely access a computer that has the screen left on to perform confidential tasks on it that I don't want others to visually see. Unfortunately, there isn't a method like when you are using Windows Remote Desktop Services where the screen is blanked out to prevent others from viewing your connection.
November 28, 2017

The only VNC you need.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VNC Connect is used across our entire organization, by a variety of different personnel. Our IT department personnel uses the software to remotely access local computers on our network, computer related problems are easily taken care of, therefore, saving costs and time spent dealing with computer issues. Our engineers use the software to connect to other people's computers to collaborate on different engineering tasks.
  • What I like best about this software is the ability for our "remote" IT department to take control of my local computer to diagnose computer related issues.
  • The software also supports encryption so I know the remote connection is secure.
  • There is also a chat feature so we can talk to each other.
  • I also like the file transfer capabilities of this software.
  • I wish the software supported sound.
  • I wish you see a list of all computers on the network instead of having to type in the IP address of a specific computer.
  • The licensing model recently changed (and is much more complicated).
Depending on what you need, RealVNC may not be the best fit - it's the does-it-all Enterprise ready version produced by the original manufacturers. Installation's pretty simple, it's deployable if needed and it sports a lot of party tricks. However, TightVNC, UltraVNC or even TeamViewer may be what you need depending on your circumstances, requirements and budget.
Rob Hamlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use VNC connect to keep track and connected to my servers. I find the tool to be very useful in being very easy to deploy and the connect feature makes it easy to maintain.
  • Easy to add and remove machines from Connect
  • Very easy to add machines of server OS versions to connect
  • Online portal for management of account is easily accessed with two factor authentication
  • There is nothing I do not love about RealVNC Connect.
I have recommended RealVNC Connect to several colleagues. The ease of use partnered with the team concept is exceptional.
September 27, 2017

VNC - good in its day

Steve Hooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VNC as the remote access tool of last resort, preferring to use either Avast/AVG's Cloudcare remote access tool or ScreenConnect (ConnectWise), which we have found to be an excellent alternative.
  • Simple to install and administer
  • Minimal end user intervention
  • Robust
  • Slow response times
  • Occasional issues with screen handling
  • Major problems with UAC (but not alone there!)
VNC is ideal where you don't want the end user to have to initiate any connection, although you will have to have either a presence on the LAN (possibly by PPTP login) or some port forwards (not recommended). It's probably best suited for internal support of a company, rather than external.
Kurt Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RealVNC frequently. We have it installed on every single virtual desktop we have, which is approximately 600. We also have it installed on all company desktops and laptops as our primary means of doing remote support on machines while on our network. It makes remoting into both VDIs and physical machines very simple and easy. We use it every single day.
  • Fast, easy remote access - The footprint of VNC Server is very small, and so does not impose any performance or resource impact on the machines we run it on.
  • Robust console-level access - Unlike many remote support programs like LogMeIn or WebEx, VNC gives you console-level access to a machine, enabling you to do anything you can do if you are physically at the machine or logged into VMWare VSphere directly.
  • Low cost - VNC is extremely inexpensive for the level of access it offers, especially coupled with the awesome level of access it gives you.
  • File transfer - It would be nice if the software made transfer files from the viewer machine to the server machine more easily.
  • Modern UI - The UI of RealVNC is somewhat dated, so a refresh would certainly make the product look more modern.
  • Easier remote access - If it were easier to access machines with VNC Server installed when they are outside of your network without some kind of proxy/DMZ server, that would also be great.
If you need console-level access to the various machines in your enterprise, especially end-user machines, there are few better products for the job. RealVNC is robust, lightweight, and effective. If you're looking for a product that's also beautiful to look at, RealVNC may not be your kind of software. That's not really what it excels at.
David Whittaker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VNC Connect was being used to support other departments and remote users when IT support was required. Being able to view a user's screen in real-time was a huge advantage when troubleshooting a wide assortment of day to day problems. This would save time, money and the mental health of both parties.
  • Remotely accessing workstations.
  • It's lightweight and easy to navigate.
  • Mobile access of other workstations allowed both parties to be away from the office and still get the IT support they needed.
  • License requirements may not be ideal for some parties.
  • VNC support hours aren't the best based on the requester's geographical location.
  • Upgrading end users is a little clunky.
Remote access to end users if support is needed.
Angel Swalve | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses VNC to remotely connect with our campuses and administration offices. [This] allows us to work more efficiently by providing support to end users without having to travel to each location. VNC is being used across the whole organization. VNC addresses the problem of having enough technicians and support personnel to travel to each location to provide troubleshooting assistance. Our district is too large to physically go to each location every time an employee needs assistance. VNC allows us the opportunity to provide fast and efficient service.
  • VNC works wonderfully for remote access for troubleshooting an end user's computer.
  • VNC allows seamless file transfers.
  • Can be used in the classroom to allow students to view what a teacher is doing on their computer.
  • Depending on the strength of the network, VNC does have an issue that it may run slow.
  • Some users have had concerns about security on VNC. If one end user has a virus, then it could cause a transfer, but our district has put in to place additional security procedures to prevent this issue.
  • Clipboard transfers don't always translate properly. It is better to transfer a file instead of copying and pasting between computers while using VNC.
VNC is well suited to provide remote troubleshooting to another employee. Sometimes a phone call or email description of a problem an employee is having isn't enough to allow us as technicians to provide a solution. With VNC, we can remote into that computer and see for ourselves what the issue is that is causing the employee problems. This is great to provide quick, and efficient support without having to wait for a technician to arrive at the location to put their hands on the computer. VNC is less appropriate when we have to transfer files. This works best by using the cloud to save and transfer files, then through VNC do the repairs needed on the employee's computer.