TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/wz/3F/XBNT4V9FQ0ES.PNGScreenConnect has made a positive difference, we love it.We use ScreenConnect in the support department, for two purposes - troubleshooting and training. It allows us to speed up the process of troubleshooting when clients call in to the support line with problems or questions that can't easily be answered without seeing what they're actually doing. From a training perspective, it's a useful tool when delivering remote training, as it allows our staff to clearly and easily demonstrate elements of the system without having to spend too long in dry descriptions.,It's quick and simple to get started with a session - there's very little wasted time between acknowledging the requirement for a screen sharing session and getting up and running. From an agent perspective it's incredibly useful to have visibility on which other agents are running sessions, how long sessions have been running and whether users are connected at the other end. Being able to see this level of detail at a glance helps when trying to juggle multiple agents needing access at the same time (and is something our previous supplier didn't offer). We like the ability to brand the tool, so that it's in keeping with our design values. Clients who call in and require screen sharing sessions are often not very technologically savvy and/or anxious for their questions to be answered, so anything that helps them feel comfortable is a bonus.,As with every screen sharing tool which allows agents to take control of clients' computers, there can be problems with clients being able to download the necessary app. A number of our clients belong to local authorities and have to conform to council IT policies, which can be restrictive with things like firewall settings...in which case we're not always able to use ScreenConnect. I've not always found the help centre documentation to be the clearest - some of the customisation tools are quite difficult to understand at first, and it would be helpful for the documentation to be a little clearer. Ideally it would be good to have some simple examples for regular use cases, in case it's not necessary to drill down into the more complex functionality.,8,To be honest, we were already using a rival screen sharing tool before we started using ScreenConnect. We chose to make a change because ScreenConnect has a better feature set, and is actually cheaper than the alternative - so there's been a positive impact in terms of reduced costs. In addition, we've found it to be quicker and more intuitive than our old solution, which has led to efficiency improvements. As mentioned before, being able to monitor who's using each licence and how long each session has been running has allowed us to plan our usage more effectively too.,,Zendesk,,6,Supporting clients with day to day requests Holding external client meetings,We use it for very simple purposes, and as far as I'm aware haven't experimented with it in any unusual ways.,We're happy with how we use it at the moment.,8,Yes,Price Product Features,Honestly I don't think we would. I'm happy with the process we went through, and the solution we hit on in the end.,8,8ConnectWise and Why you should use it!Our ConnectWise Control is used in our IT department, to carry out routine maintenance on core servers with the access mode and we also use it for carrying out remote support sessions with our clients. It allows a very fluid experience for external users and with the ability to brand the landing page, it allows us to grow confidence within our clients as well.,Clean and Great UX Branding Ability Ease of Use Expandable Affordable,Can be quite difficult for the customer to understand A lot of prompts for user permissions (Can scare some customers) No branding on Installer Can not control mobile devices,10,The licensing cost is very good, allows remote support sessions to return the cost very quickly Technician efficiency is doubled due to a simpler design Clients can find it difficult to connect to a session, causing a delay in time - increasing engineers' work times.,ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect),Adobe Photoshop, Remote Desktop Manager, XeroSimply Better...We use it to manage our clients with remote support and un-attended support. It lets us be everywhere at once when our clients call. We use it everywhere from as MSP work to break fixes.,Dynamic bandwidth adjustment to scale with the amount of bandwidth required Easy unattended support Unlimited endpoints!!! MOST IMPORTANT!,Auto power rules to allow for no sleep or hibernate when doing unattended support. No press and hold mouse pop-ups on mobile app, sooooo annoying. Low bandwidth color mode not just black and white.,8,We have been able to serve more clients daily Lower our costs to our clients by removing drive time and gas,TeamViewer and GoToAssist,TeamViewer, GoToAssist, LogMeIn RescueConnectWise Control ReviewWe use it in a support capacity to manage and maintain client systems that require consistent support from us.,Connecting to client systems is easy Managing and tracking what is done to clients systems is available Organizing connected clients and setting user access to specific clients is intuitive and incredibly manageable,Some of the plugins can be hard to use There are endless customization options, but the sheer amount makes it tedious to change logos, colors, ect. as needed for company needs The need to install a third party tool to connect to sessions causes some people to distrust the software,10,There is greatly increased effieciency when having multiple sessions open It completely eliminates the need to make client site visits for 90% of issues The add-on to allow command line interface access from the management console is fantastic for command line use without a need to actually log into the system.,,QuickBooks Online, Google DriveConnectWise Control, a simple way to remotely access machines.I use ConnectWise Control to give me remote access to servers that I manage without opening a port on the firewall for RDP.,ConnectWise Control is super easy to use to get into a computer that I have the agent running on. ConnectWise Control makes setting up help sessions really simple where I can just have a client go to a certain URL, type in a code and allow me to control their screen. ConnectWise Control has a very reasonable price.,The only thing I don't like about ConectWise Control is that it's so integrated into the ConnectWise RMM tool and I can't use it to replace teamviewer with my other RMM.,8,Because I pay so little for Connect Wise Control, I really only need to use it once a month to make it have a positive ROI.,TeamViewer,NinjaRMM
Windows, Linux, Mac
ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect)
673 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

ConnectWise Control Reviews

ConnectWise Control
673 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 673 vetted ConnectWise Control reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 430)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
October 19, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "ScreenConnect has made a positive difference, we love it."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScreenConnect in the support department, for two purposes - troubleshooting and training. It allows us to speed up the process of troubleshooting when clients call in to the support line with problems or questions that can't easily be answered without seeing what they're actually doing. From a training perspective, it's a useful tool when delivering remote training, as it allows our staff to clearly and easily demonstrate elements of the system without having to spend too long in dry descriptions.
  • It's quick and simple to get started with a session - there's very little wasted time between acknowledging the requirement for a screen sharing session and getting up and running.
  • From an agent perspective it's incredibly useful to have visibility on which other agents are running sessions, how long sessions have been running and whether users are connected at the other end. Being able to see this level of detail at a glance helps when trying to juggle multiple agents needing access at the same time (and is something our previous supplier didn't offer).
  • We like the ability to brand the tool, so that it's in keeping with our design values. Clients who call in and require screen sharing sessions are often not very technologically savvy and/or anxious for their questions to be answered, so anything that helps them feel comfortable is a bonus.
  • As with every screen sharing tool which allows agents to take control of clients' computers, there can be problems with clients being able to download the necessary app. A number of our clients belong to local authorities and have to conform to council IT policies, which can be restrictive with things like firewall settings...in which case we're not always able to use ScreenConnect.
  • I've not always found the help centre documentation to be the clearest - some of the customisation tools are quite difficult to understand at first, and it would be helpful for the documentation to be a little clearer. Ideally it would be good to have some simple examples for regular use cases, in case it's not necessary to drill down into the more complex functionality.
From a support perspective, sharing a user's screen is particularly helpful when speaking to someone who isn't entirely familiar with the software they're using as users can demonstrate what they're doing/where they're getting stuck, while agents are able to clearly demonstrate a solution or an explanation. We find ScreenConnect to be useful under these circumstances, extending to being even more helpful with more complex cases as it allows agents to do things like taking screenshots of the user's computer and transferring them without the need for emails etc, or transferring files from one computer to another. We haven't really come across any situations where it's not appropriate to use ScreenConnect.
Read Michael Dodd's full review
October 17, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "ConnectWise and Why you should use it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our ConnectWise Control is used in our IT department, to carry out routine maintenance on core servers with the access mode and we also use it for carrying out remote support sessions with our clients. It allows a very fluid experience for external users and with the ability to brand the landing page, it allows us to grow confidence within our clients as well.
  • Clean and Great UX
  • Branding Ability
  • Ease of Use
  • Expandable
  • Affordable
  • Can be quite difficult for the customer to understand
  • A lot of prompts for user permissions (Can scare some customers)
  • No branding on Installer
  • Can not control mobile devices
ConnectWise, is best suited in any IT support role, where connecting to external sources is required, and where you need access to be able to control the user's PC, and have the ability to move/exchange files between each other. This same reason can also be applied on an internal system, where you have difficulty accessing file structures internally, you can use this to connect to the system and transfer the file directly through the ConnectWise Client. I would have to say ConnectWise wouldn't really suit anyone that is just maintaining internal systems only, due to the ability to have standard RDP. The only other issue is it is not suited for remote control of mobile access.
Read Kyle Holmes's full review
October 17, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "Simply Better..."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage our clients with remote support and un-attended support. It lets us be everywhere at once when our clients call. We use it everywhere from as MSP work to break fixes.
  • Dynamic bandwidth adjustment to scale with the amount of bandwidth required
  • Easy unattended support
  • Unlimited endpoints!!! MOST IMPORTANT!
  • Auto power rules to allow for no sleep or hibernate when doing unattended support.
  • No press and hold mouse pop-ups on mobile app, sooooo annoying.
  • Low bandwidth color mode not just black and white.
  • Best for unattended support because of unlimited endpoints
  • Not as good for businesses to remote in as a remote office
Read Daniel Cauley's full review
October 17, 2018

"ConnectWise Control Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in a support capacity to manage and maintain client systems that require consistent support from us.
  • Connecting to client systems is easy
  • Managing and tracking what is done to clients systems is available
  • Organizing connected clients and setting user access to specific clients is intuitive and incredibly manageable
  • Some of the plugins can be hard to use
  • There are endless customization options, but the sheer amount makes it tedious to change logos, colors, ect. as needed for company needs
  • The need to install a third party tool to connect to sessions causes some people to distrust the software
ConnectWise is great when you have multiple client sites in need of remote support and servers in need of consistent remote management. It's great for supporting new clients and temporary systems as well. It's best when you have 10 or more systems that need to be remotely managed and you need to be able to keep multiple sessions open at a time.

It's not well suited for managing only 2 or 3 remote systems.
Read Tyler Despain's full review
October 16, 2018

Review: "ConnectWise Control, a simple way to remotely access machines."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use ConnectWise Control to give me remote access to servers that I manage without opening a port on the firewall for RDP.
  • ConnectWise Control is super easy to use to get into a computer that I have the agent running on.
  • ConnectWise Control makes setting up help sessions really simple where I can just have a client go to a certain URL, type in a code and allow me to control their screen.
  • ConnectWise Control has a very reasonable price.
  • The only thing I don't like about ConectWise Control is that it's so integrated into the ConnectWise RMM tool and I can't use it to replace TeamViewer with my other RMM.
It's really well suited when you need to leave it set up to access machines that you don't want a full RMM deployed on. It's also great for doing one off remote trouble shooting scenarios.
Read Steve Radabaugh's full review
October 16, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "ScreenConnect, the best remote administration software available today"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ConnectWise Control on a daily basis to assist our customers as well as internal staff with PC issues that would normally require a truck roll often resolved within minutes.
  • ScreenConnect is great at remote administration. We can easily connect to machines and provide prompt service.
  • ScreenConnect is secure. We know that when we connect to our clients private servers that everything is encrypted.
  • We would like the ability to control more than Samsung smart phones. We have users who have iOS and other Andriod devices and would like to be able to quickly add e-mail to client phones.
ScreenConnect is great for connecting to a remote machine promptly, effectively, and securely. We also like the fact that ScreenConnect can connect to some phones and we're hoping that they will soon add the ability to connect to more than some Andriod phones and expand into allowing remote connections to Apple devices.
Read Daniel Drago's full review
October 03, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "Important tool for an IT expert"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ConnectWise Control is primarily used by our DevOps and IT infrastructure teams to help diagnose problems in our company issued machines. With the expansion of the company workforce into international countries, we allowed the employees to use operating systems of their own preference. We decided to proceed with ConnectWise due to its compatibility with all commonly used OSs.
  • The remote access sessions are established quickly without the need of exchanging passwords or setting up additional profiles.
  • The remote session is initiated through the browser, so no additional software needs to be pre-installed.
  • The System admin can easily transfer files back and forth making installation and updates more efficient.
  • Termination of remote call after a fixed period of idle time needs to be implemented.
  • The pricing structure needs to be more flexible and they ought to include a longer trial phase.
ConnectWise is ideal for teams of employees working across different remote regions. It allows secure remoting connections and screen shares to assist the IT support staff in helping triage and diagnose issues on client machines.
Read Amanda Gab's full review
July 30, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "A proactive remote solution issue solver. Time to business is less in secure manner."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allows us to remotely help people with their day to day issues. The good part is the performance and the underlying security across it. We use it across the whole organization. It usually gives us a better way of addressing desktop server related issues in no time.

Any impact on a user's machine, actually hampers his work, so we found this solution gives us a no-time solver remotely.
  • I like mostly how we can remotely monitor various services [to see if they] are up/down. For example, whether a user has a firewall on, do a browser check, version check etc. This is really useful for me to remotely monitor the issues and proactively work on the issues before a user reports them.
  • I would say, the product could give us a better monitoring on security updates. Monitoring Microsoft security updates are missing. Mainly focusing on security as well. This [would give] a booster to the software.
  • Log management system has a lot of room for improvement.
  • There small bugs here and there. A small percent of servers and Chrome Books are not well addressed.
Remote mobile management is one of the best features of this product.

The dashboard based on host level or admin level is a really nice one, where you can remotely monitor devices. It's kind of a proactive remote resolution maker rather than a reactive tool, which I feel is really awesome. The product has remote support, meetings, and monitoring, and every enterprise has a need in this area.
Read Jitu Mani Das's full review
July 24, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "Connectwise/ScreenConnect is very user friendly"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScreenConnect was used as a way to provide technical support for external clients. We used this method of screen sharing to monitor servers, quarantine computers, and MacBooks. It helped us update software, configure computer systems, and perform day to day operations. It makes it incredibly easy to help customers as well as send/retrieve files from their computer.
  • Easy to install and easy to use
  • Auditing options are available if you create a server for its storage.
  • Transferring files is easy to use
  • Changing users on a server is easy to easy
  • Categorizing computers in a list makes and having a search feature makes it very user-friendly
  • Adding new employees/changing passwords in ScreenConnect feels more difficult than it should be.
  • Sometimes the screen can make the viewing field way too small and when using the zoom feature in ScreenConnect makes it hard to adjust to the right size.
  • It logs out after being idle for a short amount of time.
If you're looking for an easy way to monitor your client computers and servers then ScreenConnect is perfect. It's easy to use. If you need to log into a server and switch to an active user. Connectwise makes it very easy to manage. I find transferring files from one computer to my computer as being very easy to use.
Read Leonard Johnson's full review
July 13, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "Control over every device you need"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Control (or ScreenConnect) is part of the Automate (LabTech) software package and works extremely well as a remote desktop application into managed servers and workstations. ConnectWise has made significant updates to the software as time has gone on. Control has the ability to reconnect after reboot, initiate safe mode reboots, implement custom scripts, and is very quick to connect. As time has gone on, ConnectWise has slowly integrated more and more features and today, it has all of the features that standalone products dedicated to remote access have.
  • Fast, efficient remote access
  • Automated reconnect upon reboot of workstation or server
  • Transfer of files/documents from host to attendee
  • Quick installation and automated deployment of software via group policy
  • In previous years, a complaint would have been the duration between clicking Remotely Control and the window appearing, but this has been greatly improved!
  • Requires opening Automate application, no standalone application for quicker connections.
It is the primary remote control software in use by my company, and for good reason. It is very efficient and useful. It is less frequently used by other MSPs, so it has the benefit of less interference from other vendors sharing remote access.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
October 17, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "Remote Connect"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use ConnectWise Control to access client's computers and work with them to resolve issues within their accounting software. I also use it as a training tool.
  • It is secure.
  • It has real time speed when working remotely. Does't have a lag or hesitation as with other remote programs.
  • It is difficult to use. Hard to understand how to save a client connection.
  • Difficult to log off a client's computer.
  • Naming of instructions or objective should be rewritten to a simpler, clearly understood command, such as 'To connect to a remote computer', "To save a client connection for future use', "Remote access for others'.......
  • Instructions and help features are difficult to understand.
  • Search engine to find the link to connect is difficult to locate on the web.
Create a more user friendly system and the system itself is great!
Read Colette Perry's full review
October 16, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "Great Remote Tool for Training and Support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ConnectWise to connect to clients for group and private training sessions, along with private executive mentoring and support sessions.
  • Customized Sign In Screen
  • Easy to use for clients
  • Stable environment
  • Sometimes the voice functionality isn't as stable as I'd like it to be
This product is well suited for any business need for group and/or private sessions for training and/or support.
Read Annie Horovitz-Niccum's full review
June 19, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "ConnectWise - Connect it wisely - Great Value for Money"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

ConnectWise Control used mostly in our Client-Server architecture. It is mainly used for reboot and reconnect, drag and drop file transfer, screen recording, safe mode support, multiple monitor, command line access, wake-on-LAN, VOIP, chat, and a custom toolbox for quick deployment of support tools.

  • ConnectWise Control server is self-hosted, and runs as a .NET Framework application.
  • On Microsoft Windows it runs as a set of services.
  • On Linux and OS X it runs as a daemon on a bundled fork of the Mono Runtime.
  • It can be integrated in cross platform architecture.
  • Great advantages for SOA(Service Oriented Architecture).
  • WCF SOAP Session Manager service provides a data store for both the Web Server and Relay services.
  • It can be used in any platform .net client with WINDOWS OS, Java with OS X and LINUX, IOS and android clients.
  • The communication between Client-Server always use secure connections using SSH operates on TCP sockets.
  • Since it’s also billed as a collaborative solution for teams to work together where they can have remote sessions, it would have helped if there was a nifty calendar management feature where teams could schedule meetings and collective tasks.
  • Auto notifications can be integrated.it will build team connection and coordination.
  • More Personalization and customizations. Custom dashboard design would be a nice feature
ConnectWise can be highly used for remote client-server systems. Live chat, live meeting, application sharing. It is highly designed for team collaboration, Built for modern remote assistance.

Licensing and extensibility are missing for large organizations. Limitations of cross-domain/platform FTP transfers.No on-demand admin permissions. Active session groups are not very user-friendly. Overall it's a budget product for small to mid-range companies.
Read Rahul Chowdhury's full review
July 18, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "ScreenConnect has helped us"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using other screen sharing applications and this one was one of the easiest to use. We use it to help our customers remotely. We like the ease of giving them a URL or sending them an email and then in a few quick seconds being able to remote into their computers or networks to help solve their problems.
  • Ease of Software
  • Quick and painless when trying to connect with a customer
  • Ability to remote into someone's desktop
  • Depending on your browser, when trying to login it prompts you to download the file again (Firefox)
  • Ability to have multiple users to one session
It is well suited if you need to help customers remotely troubleshoot their network or desktop.
Less appropriate would be to login to a server when you can use RDP for that.
Read this authenticated review
July 09, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "Lightning Fast Remote Control"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ConnectWise Control across our entire tech department. The product has handled remote supporting customers better than any other product or service we have used. Customers find it easy to use and connect with. The product is stable and easy to manage. The price of the product when you look at value and support is very much worth it.
  • Quick remote control, users can connect in seconds.
  • Powerful remote support extras such as file transfer, scripting, remote reboot, saved login passwords, etc.
  • Ability to stay connected for weeks if needed or forever.
  • Mobile phone remote support lacks compared to LogMeIn Rescue
  • Could use an improved remote control app for iOS and Android for controlling PCs & Servers.
I feel this product is the best remote support product on the market and has a wonderful price point. The version I use is intended to be run on your own server so this works well when you have a server to set it up on. However, I believe there is an online version available now too.

Works very well in conjunction with ConnectWise Manage and Automate.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "Solid tool that does the job"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ConnectWise Control to manage 30+ remote and local Mac laptops, Mac servers, Windows servers and Linux servers. Great tool for managing connections.
  • Able to connect to a remote laptop no matter the location
  • Able to group systems into logical workgroups
  • Ability to manage macOS updates
Very good at allowing remote login to systems
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2018

ConnectWise Control Review: "Connectwise Is a Great Solution For Independent Consultants"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

I am a sole proprietor and use the software daily and for my subcontractors as needed. The ability to have a client build their own session and I join it is amazing. The reliability and flexibility of the offerings are second to none in my experience. The fact that the entire solution is cloud-based with a minimal install and support packages is fantastic. I can log in to my admin sole from any device and have full access.

Unattended access and unlimited session time allow clients to simply build and let me know to address an issue. The chat function reduces unnecessary emails.

  • The ability to have a client build their own session is amazing. The reliability and flexibility of the offerings are second to none in my experience. The fact that the entire solution is cloud-based with a minimal install and support packages is fantastic. I can log in to my admin console from any device and have full access.
  • Support contracts are easy to attend to with regard to maintenance and break/fix. Install is very flexible
  • Support for nearly all OS's
  • Promos could be more available or referral benefits.
  • A few issues with support understanding an issue brought forth.
  • None
Maintenance and break-fix issues this is a perfect solution. Dealing with clients on initial calls as they can simply install the small client and I can connect seamlessly. Lightweight and fast. Less so for an end user connecting to a workstation remotely for daily operations like Citrix. Even as an extra option accompanying RDP or terminal.
Read Chad Romanick's full review
March 08, 2018

Review: "ConnectWise Control - In the I.T. Industry"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Connectwise Control to quickly and easily provide remote technical support our client's computers and servers. The software is normally deployed via Group Policy to the devices and is much easier to use than MS Remote Assistance. We also use it to run quick command line tools that do not require disturbing the end user. This is a great plus for us!
  • Easy deployment either by manual installation for a one-off installation or to an entire company via Group Policy.
  • Extremely easy to upgrade the client software as new versions become available. It can either upgrade automatically or you can control the upgrade process with a few clicks.
  • The remote command line tool is a valuable asset to ConnectWise Control; allowing us to run commands without disturbing the end user.
  • Many great add-ons are available to extend the functionality of ConnectWise Control.
  • Remote support functionality for providing technical assistance to a new client or to a user that does not want the software permanently installed on the computer.
  • Meeting functionality to provide screen sharing during a meeting for an impressive presentation.
  • The only thing that I would recommend is a better interface for changing backend options for the software. An add-on interface is provided for making backend changes to the configuration but it can be confusing at times on how it will affect the overall functionality. For companies that may not have technical support on staff to manage the product, they might forgo any enhancements that may be beneficial. For example, turning on remote printing, extending the command line timeout and increasing the thumbnail preview size.
ConnectWise Control is an excellent alternative to using a VPN. A VPN can be slow for older software that needs to transfer large amounts of data. Since ConnectWise Control can be LDAP / Active Directory integrated access to specific computers can be controlled to only allow the end user to access specific computers. This can also be controlled by built-in security but LDAP prevents the user from needing to remember another username/password. If you have an extremely slow Internet connection, using any remote software may be troublesome. Though ConnectWise Control does allow for reducing colors and resolution to help mitigate these issues, it can still be frustrating. This issue is not isolated to ConnectWise Control, but all remote software. If you are running a slow DSL connection, the remote software may not be suited for you or your company.
Read Darin Haysley's full review
March 05, 2018

User Review: "ConnectWise Control - The Best!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using ConnectWise Control only in our information technology department. However, we have installed the software on all of our faculty and staff machines. We have also installed the software on the instructor stations in some of our classrooms. The particular problem that it addresses is time. We have some remote sites and campuses and it can be quite time-consuming to get the department vehicle, drive across town, fix the issue that takes 2 minutes to fix, and then drive back to the main campus. At this point, you've used forty-five minutes on a 2-minute issue. That time is valuable and could always be better spent in a different way.
  • ConnectWise Control allows us to connect to machines that are not necessarily on our domain/network. A user can contact us on the weekend from home and we can log into the web portal and connect directly to their system and resolve their issue.
  • ConnectWise Control allows us to be able to access any machine from the web portal that we have. We can use any computer on campus with internet access, or I can even use a personal computer at home that has internet access. I simply log into the web portal and download the client that allows me to connect to machines.
  • We can deploy the client with group policy and also manually install the client on machines. This allows us a lot of flexability in the way that we implement installations. We can even share the installer file through our company Office365 and have a user install it on their machine that way, so it is super versatile.
  • A feature that could use some improvement and actually has been improving over the past few releases is the create session group functionality. A lot has been done in the past few releases, but there are always new things that could be added to that section that would allow for increased functionality.
  • Not sure if this one would even be possible, but within the run commands section. It would be nice to be able to run any commands in that section, not just commands that cannot be seen by the user or do not require popups. For example, currently I can run commands that gathers system info like ipconfig and wmic commands. It would be nice to be able to execute some other commands that erquire user input or install software from that screen.
  • More training releases would be nice as well.
I would definitely recommend ConnectWise Control 100%. I did a lot of research and when you compare price and functionality, ConnectWise Control is the definite winner! It is well suited for the higher education environment that I work in. We set up a user group in AD and can all access what we need to based on that group. It may be less appropriate to in some smaller businesses where a simple free VNC client may do the trick.
Read Cody Wingler's full review
February 21, 2018

User Review: "ConnectWise Control is a Winner"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a one-person IT department, I use ConnectWise control all the time to provide remote access and support for users and devices in over 40 remote locations. Typical of remote control solutions, the biggest issue addressed by this solution is eliminating travel, making it possible for me to do more in less time and with less expense.
  • Performs very well, even over slow T1 and DSL links.
  • Remote client is easy to install, and is unattended and automatically enrolls by default. It's also easy for users to join a support session via URL with no installation necessary.
  • Cloud-based dashboard makes it easy to see all existing clients, tell which ones are online, and control or manage machines with just a couple clicks.
  • It would be nice if the dashboard could provide private IP addresses so that I could see at a glance which devices are at which locations.
  • Automatic updating of client agents would be nice.
Anyone who supports remote users and/or devices can benefit from ConnectWise Control. This is especially true if the devices are accessed over the internet, instead of directly over a LAN/WAN network.
Read Corey Webb's full review
January 31, 2018

User Review: "ConnectWise Control is Awesome"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ConnectWise Control allows me to manage a large number of computers in my organization from a central office. I have unattended access installed on around 50 machines and create several ad-hoc sessions per day. We have 10 offices in my company and 90% of the little problems that pop up on a daily basis I am able to address remotely without the need to drive to my other locations. This is a huge time and resource saver for me.
  • Installation is simple and there are multiple ways to connect.
  • The file transfer utility is fast and straightforward. This is very important for keeping multiple installation files and print drivers centrally located without the need to re-download on the client machines.
  • The ability to group machines by location has been a huge help and the ConnectWise support is top notch.
  • The messaging app seems a little cumbersome, though I do not use it often, I am generally on the phone with the client.
ConnectWise Control works well as an unattended product on the client side and makes me as an IT Specialist much more efficient. It is better and much more cost effective than many other Remote Access programs I have used in the past. The client-side installation has a very small footprint as opposed to some other access. Also, the ability to access MAC OS makes it better than products such as "FixMe.IT"
Read Jim Miller's full review
December 28, 2017

ConnectWise Control Review: "Wonderful product! Highly recommend."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScreenConnect to remotely connect with our customers. We need full remote control of their systems to provide software installation, software support and troubleshooting of issues with our software. ScreenConnect is easy to use because the end user can join the session quickly and easily. The technician then has remote access without having to jump through hoops to be granted. The ability to support multiple monitors and file transfer is very helpful with software installation, updates, and general support.
  • The file transfer is very easy and quick. You can drag and drop.
  • The remote session just becomes another screen to the technician.
  • Ease of connecting the remote user on the fly. You can provide an email link or a simple code. You have your own URL that makes it easy to direct end users to for connecting on the fly.
  • Love all parts of it.
It is well suited for remote support. It makes software updates and installation on client systems easy and a breeze. My company does a lot of on the fly connections to client computers. I love that for on the fly sessions you can easily connect with the client computer via a quick email link or a simple code. We primarily use it for remote support and it works great.
Read Tresha Ivey's full review
December 12, 2017

ConnectWise Control Review: "Screen connect is Linux friendly"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use screen connect for both remote support of our customers and for internal support at our local or branch office. Screen connect makes it easy to support systems behind a vast variety of internet connection and operating systems. I often support customers from my personal Linux desktop on a windows workstation. Other such products by other vendors did not have applications that worked equally as well on all of the support platforms and this made support difficult. Screen connect on the other hand makes cross platform support a breeze! Support would be a lot more complicated without it.
  • Cross platform
  • Multiple access options
  • Easy file transfer
  • Built in vpn connector would make application support easier for devices
  • File transfer source selection does not work well I have to move files all to the screen connect folder
  • It would be nice to have a button to check if the client is online so you don't always have to wait for the system to refresh
Screen connect is best suited for any kind of support/ help desk invitroment cross platform support is excellent. Remote access for work like trying to use office applications for desktop publishing such as Microsoft word I have found is not the best use for screen connect
Read Mitch Sowa's full review
December 07, 2017

ConnectWise Control Review: "Why ScreenConnect is a Sound Choice for All Businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tech Wizard Solutions has provided computer support and a variety of computer and network protection services since 2011. PC Helper 123 was created to focus on providing the computer support and protection to consumer end Computer users. ScreenConnect is the primary portal for the easy process required for computer owners at all knowledge levels.

ScreenConnect provides the perfect solution for people that only require a single instance of assistance and those that decide to become members and receive ongoing protection and support.
  • ScreenConnect is easy to use for those end users we are attempting to provide help to regardless of their computer experience level.
  • ScreenConnect works for both PC and Apple/Mac computers. The process for initial connection is the same for both system types without requiring special portals or consumer effort.
  • ScreenConnect has multiple ways of allowing support people to help via remote access including through mobile devices.
  • Information on how to use certain aspects of ScreenConnect are difficult to find if exist at all. An example would be the ease of which ScreenConnect supports both PC and Mac. Most require special steps when supporting one type or the other. ScreenConnect uses the same portal and does this automatically yet fails to make this information easily available to those familiar with other systems
  • Lack of or difficulty of finding documentation for simple tasks such as adding a user or using tools in the admin or back end of the system are a problem.
  • The transfer of files to clients can be awkward. Working on a drag drop system that is consistent would be nice.
ScreenConnect is very well suited when the full remote portal is installed on a computer. It is very easy for a support technician to provide support even in the event that a user can not see their own screen or have control. In instances where it is necessary for a computer to be put into safe mode (i.e. Windows 7) the process for creating a connection on the consumer end is difficult to understand.

Once the consumer attempts to start a remote session many are confused by the instant popup of the instructions. A better primary description may be helpful in resolving this issue.
Read Bradley Jones's full review
December 06, 2017

Review: "ConnectWise Control is invaluable to me personally and at work."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While I am primarily a frequent user (for traditional remote support of customers and also remote agents), several other employees also occasionally use it. We also allow a few paid consulting engineers access to provide remote support.
  • 95% success rate in connecting to clients computers even when they have no experience or are generally inept computer users. This is the ONE primary feature that just has to work when using remote support - not connecting is just frustrating for the end user that is already frustrated with something that is wrong.
  • Remote agents work very well, they have been more reliable and reasonable speed compared to other solutions we have used. Firewalls have been no problem.
  • The cross-section of tools is outstanding: remote command line interface, meetings, the 'toolkit', etc. are all great. Just the right mix.
  • I bought a site license when it was a single fee per seat. I like this license model better. In fact, I was going to purchase a full separate $325 seat for my own personal use (supporting Mom, Sister, etc.) but it was no longer available for purchase. So I'm bummed. The lowest cost cloud-based model is $15.00 per month which does not give me many features I would like and am used to at work, such as remote-wake and command line.
  • Automatic or one-click updates on the site-licensed copy; I know this is no longer in development but the manual updates have to be done by our IT department; would be nice to just click "upgrade".
  • For remote installed agents, I would like to see the option to reduce or eliminate the 'is controlled by' message that pops up when connected; and the desktop background change.
  • Cloning a computer with an Agent installed sometimes confuses things even if I rename the computer... I typically have to uninstall and reinstall.
Helping relatives with their computer problems. Assisting customers with computer & software problems. Remotely connecting to my own computer(s). Sharing my screen with others.
Read Scott Hamilton's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (411)
9.1
File transfer (385)
8.6
Instant message (342)
8.4
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (51)
7.8
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (204)
7.0
Over-the-Internet remote session (410)
9.1
Initiate remote control from mobile (258)
7.6
Remote management of servers & workstations (352)
9.0
Remote Active Directory® management (114)
8.2
Centralized management dashboard (329)
8.6
Session record (215)
8.6
Annotations (180)
7.8
Monitoring and Alerts (121)
7.2
Multi-platform remote control (267)
8.5

About ConnectWise Control

ConnectWise Control, formerly ScreenConnect, is a remote support, access and meeting solution. With this solution, you can use remote support and access to repair computers, provide updates, and manage machines. Users can also conduct online seminars and presentations using remote meetings. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution is fast, reliable and includes the same features as competing remote control solutions.

ConnectWise Control Screenshots

ConnectWise Control Video

ConnectWise Control Demo

ConnectWise Control Integrations

ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech), ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech), ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech)

ConnectWise Control Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

ConnectWise Control Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No