Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Jira Service Management

Jira Service Management
Formerly Jira Service Desk

Overview

What is Jira Service Management?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Jira Service Desk is a versatile ticketing system that has become the primary solution for managing requests and communication within our …
Continue reading

Beware JIRA ITSM pricing increase.

1 out of 10
December 13, 2023
We were using for helpdesk and some other use cases. It is ok but not great. The pricing listed above is outdated - and we will exit JIRA …
Continue reading

IT Issues Goodbye!

10 out of 10
July 16, 2021
Incentivized
Jira Service Desk is leveraged by my company for IT ticketing purposes. Jira Service Desk makes it very easy to submit a ticket to IT and …
Continue reading

Jira

6 out of 10
March 16, 2020
We use Jira to track incidents and service desk tickets. We also use it for an inventory database.
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features
  • Organize and prioritize service tickets (74)
    8.3
    83%
  • Service-level management (67)
    8.2
    82%
  • Change requests repository (63)
    7.3
    73%
  • Self-service tools (68)
    7.2
    72%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
per month

Standard

$20

Cloud
per agent/per month

Premium

$40

Cloud
per agent/per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.atlassian.com/software/jira…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

Incident and problem management

Streamlining ticketing and service restoration processes

8.2
Avg 8.1

ITSM asset management

Managing all IT assets and enforcing policy rules

10
Avg 8.2

Change management

Ensuring standardized processes for making changes to IT infrastructure

7.3
Avg 8.4
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Jira Service Management?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of-the-box for service request, incident, problem and change management. Jira Service Management integrates seamlessly with Jira Software so that IT and development teams can work better together. Users can connect service desk tickets to Jira Software issues and get to the root cause of problems before they escalate.

Jira Service Management Features

Incident and problem management Features

  • Supported: Organize and prioritize service tickets
  • Supported: Self-service tools
  • Supported: ITSM collaboration and documentation
  • Supported: ITSM reports and dashboards

Change management Features

  • Supported: Change requests repository
  • Supported: Service-level management

Additional Features

  • Supported: Custom reporting
  • Supported: Self-service Help Center
  • Supported: Automation rules
  • Supported: ITIL-certified
  • Supported: Email support
  • Supported: Pre-built workflows
  • Supported: SLA's
  • Supported: CSAT reporting
  • Supported: Asset management integration

Jira Service Management Screenshots

Screenshot of Drive IT best practices with ITIL-ready templates. Get everything your IT teams need out of the box for service request, incident, problem, and change management.Screenshot of Get an ITIL certified service desk. Everything your IT teams need out-of-the-box for service request, incident, problem, and change management. Jira Service Desk is PinkVERIFY™ certified.Screenshot of Deliver a better service experience. Customers or employees can submit requests with an easy-to-use help center and add Confluence to Jira Service Desk to get an integrated knowledge base. Machine learning intelligently recommends the right service and learns from every interaction, so answers are easy to find.Screenshot of Stay in the loop with developers. y linking Jira Service Desk with Jira Software, IT and developer teams can collaborate on one platform to fix incidents faster and push changes with confidence.Screenshot of Deliver on SLA's. Nail your Service Level Agreements, every time. Your agents get a simple queue so they get the important things done first. Configure and get going in minutes.Screenshot of Automate those repetitive tasks. Is your team stuck in gear with repetitive tasks or missing priority requests? Setup automations so your agents can focus on solving the important stuff and help lighten the workload.Screenshot of Gain complete control over your assets. Connect your favorite asset management tool to reference, track, and tie requests with assets directly from Jira Service Desk. Provide end-to-end service with just a few clicks.

Jira Service Management Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, Spanish, German, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Russian, Korean, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Icelandic, Romanian, Slovak, Swedish, Vietnamese

Frequently Asked Questions

ServiceNow IT Service Management, Cherwell Service Management, and Freshdesk are common alternatives for Jira Service Management.

Reviewers rate Organize and prioritize service tickets highest, with a score of 8.3.

The most common users of Jira Service Management are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(624)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Jira Service Desk is a versatile ticketing system that has become the primary solution for managing requests and communication within our organization. It effectively addresses the challenge of handling a large volume of requests and provides a centralized platform for storing and accessing information. Users have found it valuable due to its customizable nature, allowing it to adapt to the specific needs of different departments.

With Jira Service Desk, multiple departments across the organization, such as Client Service, Financial Service, and Tech Engineering, efficiently handle ticketing and tracking tasks. It replaces legacy tools with limited reporting capabilities, facilitating improved processes and workflows. The user-friendly interface makes it easy for both technical and non-technical individuals to navigate and utilize the system effectively.

Jira Service Desk streamlines communication by providing users with an intuitive platform to view and update their tickets easily. It improves transparency among teams by tracking SLA metrics, utilization, incidents, trends, and other key performance indicators. Additionally, Jira Service Desk serves as a documentation tool for projects, enabling the tracking of incoming issues or requests.

By utilizing Jira Service Desk, organizations can streamline internal and external requests and complaints while reducing resolution time. Its efficient helpdesk ticketing system simplifies collaboration between teams and departments. With its customizable workflows and integration with other software tools, Jira enables teams to manage workloads, pre-plan tasks, track progress, assign tickets to team members, and ensure efficient delivery.

Overall, Jira Service Desk is widely used across organizations to improve efficiency in various departments such as IT support, HR, Accounting, Marketing, Sales, and Service Delivery. Its flexibility in customizing workflows allows teams of any size to configure the system according to their specific needs while providing a central location for issue tracking and project management.

Sufficient Communication and Accountability Features: Users have appreciated the tool's sufficient communication and accountability features, which have prevented replication of tasks and decisions. This has eliminated the need to constantly bother the project lead for updates and allowed for easy tracking of completed tasks and discussions.

Versatile Task Management Options: Many users have found the task management options in the tool to be versatile and suitable for a variety of use cases. This feature helps in keeping everyone accountable and ensuring that tasks are completed on time.

Usefulness of BigPicture - Gantt Feature: The BigPicture - Gantt feature has been highly praised by users as it allows them to break down large projects, track multiple phases, and identify where most of their time is spent.

Complicated User Interface: Many users have found the user interface of JIRA Service Management to be complicated, not intuitive, and difficult to navigate. Some users have experienced difficulty in understanding and utilizing certain features of JIRA Service Management, even after using it for an extended period.

Steep Learning Curve: Several reviewers have mentioned a steep learning curve associated with JIRA Service Management. They have expressed that it takes significant time and effort to understand and set up workflows, requiring dedicated administrators which adds to the cost and overhead.

Limited Customization Options: Users have reported limited customization options for the customer portal in JIRA Service Management. This limitation makes it difficult for organizations to meet specific branding and design requirements.

Users have made several recommendations based on their experiences with JIRA. The most common recommendations include considering using JIRA if already using other Atlassian products, trying a free trial or demo before implementing JIRA, and using JIRA for issue tracking and project management.

Many users suggest that if you are already using other Atlassian products, such as Confluence or Bitbucket, it would be beneficial to add JIRA to your toolkit. This recommendation is attributed to users who appreciate the seamless integration between these products.

Users highly recommend taking advantage of the free trial or demo offered by JIRA before committing to its implementation. By doing so, one can get a feel for the product's features and functionalities, helping to determine if it meets their specific needs.

Several users have endorsed JIRA for its capabilities in issue tracking and project management. They mention that JIRA helps them track work, improve team efficiency, monitor tasks, and enhance client visibility. This recommendation is often associated with users who find value in managing Agile workflows and appreciate JIRA's affordability.

It's important to note that while there are many positive recommendations for JIRA, some users have also mentioned potential drawbacks such as the initial learning curve and complexity of configuration. Therefore, it is crucial to evaluate these recommendations in light of your specific requirements and context.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 76)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We were using for helpdesk and some other use cases. It is ok but not great. The pricing listed above is outdated - and we will exit JIRA entirely soon because the standard version has ceased to be usable for anything other than very simple use cases. Atlassian have imposed a 5000 automation cap irrespective of user count in the standard plan.
  • Nothing. It's average.
  • Pricing is a rip off.
  • UX is ordinary.
  • Support is average.
It is not suited for companies with anything other than very simple use cases.. unless you want to over-pay for the service. Strongly suggest looking at other alternatives. Atlassians treatment of the user community with the recent price increase was plain woeful in my opinion.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Management helps manage multiple teams to collaborate and work together efficiently. The UI is very straight forward and a customizable tool to manage the requests and SLA's. It's cost may be high compared to its competitors although it has customized pricing plans based on the implementation scale. It's automated ticket routing facility stands out.
  • Integration options
  • Automated routing of tickets
  • User Experience
  • Reports Section - Need to have more customizable fields
  • Pricing
  • Performance is slow (sometimes)
Integration with Opsgenie has made the incident management process very seamless. One thing, that I feel they could improve on is the reports section where they could have more customizable options. On the whole, it is a straight-forward tool to manage your requests and their customer support is prompt on the query resolution.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I worked with Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) in different companies. It's very powerful in terms of use cases. It is great to be able to have multiple entries for service desk queues. It is very flexible and allows you to have different entries and queues for partners, customers, users, etc to request actions. Those entries and queues can support different types of requests like for example product changes, product feedback, issues, bugs, operational requests, ... Also, the whole request / issue lifetime is very well tracked and manageable, especially if you are using Jira as your product development platform. The good side is how flexible it is, how many different options in the workflows can be configured when you have different needs and different entry points. The negative side is how much work and knowledge are needed to manage this, if you only need simple workflows, it might be a bit complex tool for your needs.
  • Integration with many of the most common tools companies are using (Slack, MS Teams, Salesforce, ... etc)
  • Natural workflow with Jira (as product development / project management tool) which makes the full fix and follow up of the tickets / issues very easy to follow
  • Allow multiple different entry points and work flows for as many different needs your teams / company have
  • Simplicity in configuration for simple use cases / work flows
  • Out of box reports
Great to manage your issues in a clear and centralised way. If your development teams work with Jira, it will all naturally come together. Great way to manage the issues from end to end. - Very flexible if you have people who understands the set up and is able to configure it for your needs - Maybe not the best if you want something with very easy set up
Matthew Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Jira Service Desk as a corporate service desk. All issues within our company are submitted through the service desk portal and are then triaged to the specific groups that can help with the issue. We have set up multiple service desks for each specific group that are managed by the small teams in our department and that seems to work great.
  • Customizability.
  • Reporting.
  • Easy to use for users.
  • It's a little difficult in terms configuration- you should have someone dedicated to administration.
  • For as customizable as it is, there are some things you can't change. These small issues that don't really effect an individual ticket too much, but when you are dealing with dozens and dozens of tickets a day, small granular things add up.
  • A suggestion for improvement would be to allow a hotkey entry for quickly submitting a comment. You can do that for an internal comment (not seen by the user), but not for a public comment.
Honestly, I think it's great for all situations. You might have some issues if you're a small company that doesn't have someone to set up and manage it in its infancy; you might struggle to get it up and running. But in many other cases, it's suitable. I'd also recommend it if you're already using the Jira suite.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Jira to set up service tickets in the IT department and track inbound calls and requests. Field personnel are also able to open Jira tickets directly in order to request assistance or notify the help desk of issues. We also use Jira to keep track of large projects (equipment rollouts, network upgrades, among others).
  • Allows field personnel to create their own tickets without having to call in to the help desk
  • Allows us to easily send updates to requesting parties.
  • Easy to transfer ownership of the ticket to other staff.
  • Easy to use with other Atlassian products.
  • The search function is REALLY bad! We had to come up with a formulaic filter to search by a certain field and if that field is not filled out on a ticket, it doesn't find it.
  • You have to completely enter a ticket before you close the ticket, even if you resolve the issue right away.
  • The entry process is tedious so it is hard to enter information on a ticket while you are talking to a customer on the phone.
  • No Integrated Knowledge base
  • No customer access through social media channels
  • No on-the-fly field changes allowed by staff
I think it works well for large groups of techs. It also takes a while to set up and the set up can be cumbersome. For example, you will think that you have all the Components added that you need to track and then you have one that hasn't been listed and you cannot add it yourself. It is not quick entry so if you have a really high volume of calls, etc, I could see where it would be hard to keep everything logged. That being said, it is highly customizable so you can really track lots of different things.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used by the whole IT team. It helps us establish a global plan with our main projects (Epic) dissected in smaller blocs (stories).
  • Project management
  • Task prioritization
  • Sprint management
  • Easier UI
  • Setting more accessible
  • More documentation
If you're looking for in-depth project management, then this is the tool you are definitely looking for.
But if you're looking for a more macro version of a project planner than this tool could be the total opposite of a helpful tool as it is easy to lose yourself in its complexity.
July 16, 2021

IT Issues Goodbye!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Desk is leveraged by my company for IT ticketing purposes. Jira Service Desk makes it very easy to submit a ticket to IT and have your problem examined and fixed thoroughly. It is used across the entire organization for anything Tech Desk related. It plays well with our existing programs and streamlines the ticketing process into something that everyone can use, with a very minimal learning curve. It works with Okta, so we can have our issues sent with a couple clicks of the mouse.
  • IT issues
  • Computer help
  • Internal problems
  • Quick fixes
  • Troubleshooting
  • Better UI
  • Progress meter
  • Cross talk
As far as ticketing services go, this is by far the best product I have used in the space. Jira makes solving IT issues a no brainer. It is connected to everyones computer, and if there is an issue that needs fixing it can be solved within a couple hours. I really appreciate the way it works with Okta, making issues resolvable with a few clicks. If there is anything wrong with your computer or you need a question answered, Jira is your go-to every time.
Pardeep Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Management is one of the most versatile and agile service management applications available. We use this software to make our organization more agile and efficient. It helps us to track our workload and to pre-plan tasks. Jira gives us the features to assign tasks to the right developers and manage our workflows.
  • It's very easy to track your workload on different parameters.
  • Very easy to assign tasks to the appropriate developer or worker.
  • You can also create user stories and documentation for tasks.
  • You can attach documents and comment on tasks.
  • Tasks can be divided into multiple sprints and can easily manage the workforce.
  • I don’t find any major issues with Jira Service Management.
  • They could increase the maximum size of attachment files.
  • Otherwise, it’s all good.
This service is very useful for large organizations or for those thinking of increasing the scale of their business. It helps to reduce the workload and makes the work more agile. Agile teams can work more efficiently. It helps to differentiate tasks in sprints and plan them properly so the work environment becomes faster and more reliable.
October 28, 2020

Best Service I Ever Used

ZEESHAN RANA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Jira across the whole team to address all modifications in system like when there is anything we have to add in the page or edit anything. We mentioned all the updates in Backlog and then make a sprint for a week or two to complete it.
  • Task management.
  • Boards.
  • Sprint for a week.
  • Backlog.
  • Connection with Bitbucket.
Would recommend Jira all the way for providing support, any project is well managed by Jira.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
JIRA is being used by our department. We are using JIRA in creating an ESUP ticket linking to a PR ticket created by our clients (projects) in JIRA customer portal. We use JIRA as our documentation or ticketing tool and tracker for every project we are making. We are receiving incoming issues or requests through JIRA.
  • You can create your own Dashboard and filters using JIRA.
  • You can link multiple related tickets to JIRA.
  • JIRA has its own customer portal so you can easily see the PR tickets created offline and can address it ASAP.
  • Sometimes JIRA is slow to load.
  • JIRA doesn't work well in IE.
  • I can't think of any other area for improvement to be honest. JIRA works as designed.
For us, supporting a P1/P2 level, JIRA makes it easy to find PR tickets so we can address issues quickly. It gives us visibility for updates and it serves as a self-service knowledge base as well. We can also easily pull up reports that we need.
March 16, 2020

Jira

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Jira to track incidents and service desk tickets. We also use it for an inventory database.
  • It keeps track of all of your inventory.
  • Easy to update statuses of items in inventory.
  • Initially it is hard to use because you don’t know what you are doing. There is a slight learning curve.
It is a great product to use across a large team and for a storage database to keep track of hardware that is in many different data centers around the world.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use Jira to help keep track of projects and their progress up until completion/rollout to production. Jira Service Desk is currently used by a couple of our departments mainly Applications Admins (my team) and Project Management and App Dev teams. This tool helps increase visibility into the tasks involved in completing a project so that all teams can see where we are in terms of progress.
  • Big Gantt chart on the dashboard lets you see a project's status, tasks, and progress easily. Dashboards are easily customizable with lots of options.
  • Very easy to create service request templates and modify existing built-in templates to fit your needs.
  • Not a lot of online help available to get going
  • Needs Confluence (additional cost) to be able to add a knowledge base
Jira Service Desk is definitely a very capable and highly customizable tool to use for service requests and project management. It integrates with quite a few applications, unfortunately though, at an additional cost. It is well suited for large and small businesses and for use within a group of departments or company-wide.
Glenn Burnside | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We started using Jira Service Desk mostly for equipment purchasing requests, but since then, it's grown to be a key mechanism in how our team members ask for support between teams and departments. We have service desks for IT, HR, Accounting, Marketing, Sales, and Service Delivery work requests now. It's become an integral part of how we initiate and track work to completion.
  • Easy Requests for Work
  • Streamlined progress updates and requests for more information.
  • Creating new Request Types is time-consuming and usually requires expert intervention from our IT team for everybody's desk instances.
  • When work items are incomplete for long periods, nothing triggers extra alerts or notifications to management without them polling for it.
Getting internal service desk help interfaces set up quickly. As long as you're willing to opt into the built-in issue types and request types, then set up and usage is straightforward.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Desk has been for years implemented by various client companies, bringing transparency into and improving the manageability of internal and external client's requests and complaints. It has also been part of several software development projects. The main benefit aside from greater transparency and order, is a significant shortening of resolution time off requests, positively impacting user/customer experience. Also, in the SW development area, the positive impacts comprise saving a LOT of time of developers, testers, etc. and allowing them to focus on their core activities.
  • Easy to use! That's half of the success.
  • Integration with Confluence is a great feature, allowing us to merge tickets with knowledge base. Very useful by software development or when you aim at first-call resolution of user or client requests
  • Further integration with tools such as Enterprise Architect would be nice.
  • Maybe a free to use limited license would be nice for small projects/teams.
Well suited
  • Any service desk or helpdesk process, this is its core business, and it does it very well
  • Great for IT solutions development with tens or more developers, analysts, architects, testers, etc. or even by small isolated software development
  • Great tool for team management also in agile, you can check the burndown charts on a mobile device in less than 3 seconds when the project sponsor asks you in the elevator
Less appropriate
  • It does not replace document management or specialized knowledge management tools or even e-learning solutions, as some companies tried.
Meenakshi Kartheek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
JIRA is being used by the help desk team as well as a tool by the business team to submit tickets related to the CRM. Specifically by the business team, (end users) who use the CRM to enhance the business and generate revenue. JIRA Service Desk has made communications easy and saves a lot of time when it comes to time lag due to emails.
  • Ease of navigation.
  • Self explanatory.
  • Need to change sprint status manually.
  • Workflow implementation is quite complex.
I have been a user of JIRA software in the past, and also a current user of Service Desk. One of the best uses for it is that it can be used in a team that is collocated and can also be used to plan sprint activity. Business owners/product owners can add their list of backlogs which will be readily available for prioritization during the refinement meeting.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization uses Jira Service Desk for issue and request tracking across all departments. The software allows us to centrally manage support, development, and request tickets easily and with minimal confusion. By having a straightforward interface and integrations with other pieces of software, information rarely falls through the cracks, and we feel confident that a strong record is being kept.
  • Simple to create and keep track of tickets
  • Allows easy collaboration between team members
  • Learning curve can be steep for some advanced features
Jira Service Desk is perfectly suited to track the progress and give a complete story to issues, tickets, requests that come into the platform. With its commenting and user tagging features, Jira Service Desk makes collaboration on projects simple and easy to keep track of. We have been able to integrate it with other pieces of software easily, both publicly available and internal only tools.
Irina Danilova | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Jira Service Desk to track technical issue tickets as well as some brand requests for website changes. It is a great tool to keep all the correspondence in one place and track the progress of the project/ticket. Jira Service Desk is very intuitive and does not take long to master by both technical and non-technical people, thus providing a great management tool.
  • Easy to create and track a ticket
  • Easy to add and tag others
  • UI could be made more intuitive.
  • Learning curve may be a bit steep for non-technical people.
Jira Service Desk is excellent for tracking the progress of specific tickets/issues/requests for both IT and Marketing teams in our organization. Jira Service Desk also is an excellent tool for communication between different branches of our company and IT team localized in another country. It may not be that great to track the overall progress of the company's projects.
December 17, 2019

Jira Service Desk Review

Rob Domenico | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Jira Service Desk in two departments: CS Client services and DevOps IT. This enables technicians and developers to add and track support issues internally (IT DevOps ) and external Client Services usage. Either way the seamless integration with products like Bamboo, for development life-cycles, and Confluence for a portal and Wiki, makes this a good fit for our organizational needs.
  • Easy setup
  • Tight integration
  • Need more wizards
  • Proxy setup for multiple sites on same box
I like the fact that this is offered as a cloud Jira app on Atlassian's site so no worries for maintaining local hardware equipment. Also the fact that you can still choose to run on your own server (local or in cloud). The Jira Service Desk can be completely controlled by placing servers in AWS cloud and bring your own license for control of users/services completely on your own equipment.
Matthew Andrien | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I was asked to help implement Jira Service Desk for one of my clients that would be used through the entire organization. It was used to resolve any help desk issues that their employees had. It made it easy for them to submit a ticket and track the progress of it. It also made it easy for the IT team to review and delegate the ticket to get it resolved in a timely manner.
  • User Friendly Customer Portal
  • Easy to track tickets
  • Learning Curve
  • Price
I really liked how easy it was for both sides (end user and IT team) to fill out and quickly complete the issue submitted. It definitely makes sense to use at a medium-large size company compared to a small one. For the price and the setup, a smaller company could get away with email tracking.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
I use and have implemented this product for some years now to support the formal implementation of ITIL v3 and now ITIL v4 in organizations that have technology departments that support more than 500 users.
  • ITIL templates.
  • Task automation.
  • The mobile client is very basic.
  • Very hard to migrate issues between cloud and on-premise.
The product is very useful if you have previously established basic and clear rules for IT management, and if there is an on-site support to facilitate the adoption of Jira Service Desk, otherwise there will be users who prefer to continue using MantisBT or something basic.

The best scenario for companies that develop software is to use the entire Atlassian suite in the cloud or in its own server installation, that is: Jira Software + BitBucket + Confluence + Jira Service Desk + HipChat. It is not possible to use some of these products in the cloud and others on your own server.

For companies that do not develop software, the formula is Jira Service Desk + Confluence + HipChat.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Desk is being used by several organizations across the company including Engineering, Security, IT and HR. It’s leveraged to track “to-do” tickets related to various company processes. It’s helped us streamline our operations and ensure no ball is ever dropped regardless of how much is going on.
  • Track tickets for IT help desk, customer service inquiries, engineering software code changes, HR related tickets and more.
  • Drive accountability by having clear due dates and ownership across the company.
  • More updated/user friendly-user interface.
  • Better integration with other company software.
Well suited for medium to large scale companies who want to manage tickets across various organizations in an efficient and robust manner. Not so great for small scrappy teams as it can add too much overhead that is not worth the investment.
December 13, 2019

Jira in our workplace

Elman Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira is used in our organization by all of our teams to have effective communication whenever we need assistance with technical issues. It is very easy to use and it has a very friendly interface. Bug reporting is surprisingly simple and effective. The workflow is amazing, customization is a huge plus since it adapts to our company needs. You can also use it for personal tasks since the gadget "Time Sheet" is amazingly effective and provides a good and detailed track of your tasks.
  • Bug Reporting is detailed and useful, easy to report and easy to keep track.
  • Integration with other apps for a better workflow.
  • Too many open requests can make the tool work slow.
  • You will need to invest some time to know every feature and to master the use of it.
The best scenario is bug and issues reporting, we mostly use it for these specific scenarios and it has created an amazing response time and workflow. It has allowed us to keep real-time monitoring in every issue we report. Bulk reply and bulk ticket replying is not an option since this is not possible.
December 12, 2019

PM like a boss

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira is being used by all teams to organize projects and tasks in an easy way and to make sure we are able to prioritize and focus on the most pressing issues, but we are not losing track of the rest of the projects we have in the pipeline. It is great to make sure every task has a direct responsible individual and nothing gets lost.
  • The Kanban Board is very clear
  • The ticketing system works really well, notifications are useful.
  • It's a bit pricey
  • Needs to have more integration with Slack and other softwares
Jira is a valid alternative for projects that involve a lot of individuals. It is more complicated and complete than Trello, so it is very important to make sure that you use it for complex projects and not for tasks that can be resolved fairly quick. I recommend it for tech deploys, since the system is best suited on those scenarios.
December 12, 2019

Be on track with Jira

Summit Hotwani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It was used across the company, to track work / progress. Each project was broken down into user stories / feature / task.
It helped manage every project there was in the company.
  • Work tracking
  • Categorizing tasks
  • Could be more customize based on project
  • Doesn't have themes
It has pretty well suited for most orgs, of various sizes.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to manage all IT support tickets plus small upcoming events or projects that the team needs to communicate on and involve other teams. Users can enter and update the tickets and everyone included on the ticket is updated when the ticket is updated. The main tickets are ERP, EDI and infrastructure related.
  • Ticket Entry.
  • E-mail updates.
  • Project management.
  • Linking tickets.
It does the job but we only use it for ticket management. It meets our needs but does not wow us with functionality. Users sometimes find it clunky but it gets the job done and we don't worry about issues.
Return to navigation