Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) Reviews

389 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 73)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 11, 2021
Queennie Jhoy Ventura | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is being used a tracker for our tasks. We are currently using the Agile approach in every sprint and using these service management tools helped a lot in making sure that all of the tasks assigned to us are done on or before the deadline in the sprint.
  • Organized way of assigning tasks.
  • Straightforward UI
  • No downtime so far.
  • Easier way of maneuvering the tasks.
  • There are hidden features which is kind of not seen in the UI.
  • Notifications can be synced in the email like having less than X hours left in the task assigned.
Jira Service Desk is well suited if you are in a development stage in the project or you are in the support team. This is helpful in raising a flag of new tasks or needs to improve in the application under progress. Jira Service Desk is not suited in an environment wherein the employees are not that into technology since it has so many features that are complicated.
Read Queennie Jhoy Ventura's full review
October 05, 2020
Mhatet Ramos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being used by our department. We are using JIRA in creating an ESUP ticket linking to a PR ticket created by our clients (projects) in JIRA customer portal. We use JIRA as our documentation or ticketing tool and tracker for every project we are making. We are receiving incoming issues or requests through JIRA.
  • You can create your own Dashboard and filters using JIRA.
  • You can link multiple related tickets to JIRA.
  • JIRA has its own customer portal so you can easily see the PR tickets created offline and can address it ASAP.
  • Sometimes JIRA is slow to load.
  • JIRA doesn't work well in IE.
  • I can't think of any other area for improvement to be honest. JIRA works as designed.
For us, supporting a P1/P2 level, JIRA makes it easy to find PR tickets so we can address issues quickly. It gives us visibility for updates and it serves as a self-service knowledge base as well. We can also easily pull up reports that we need.
I gave JIRA a 9 rating since for me JIRA works according to its purpose. Since there is a customer portal, our clients can leave a comment or communicate with us using the PR ticket that way it is easier for us to also request any additional information we need for our investigation.
Read Mhatet Ramos's full review
October 28, 2020
ZEESHAN RANA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Jira across the whole team to address all modifications in system like when there is anything we have to add in the page or edit anything. We mentioned all the updates in Backlog and then make a sprint for a week or two to complete it.
  • Task management.
  • Boards.
  • Sprint for a week.
  • Backlog.
  • Connection with Bitbucket.
Would recommend Jira all the way for providing support, any project is well managed by Jira.
Simply, I am satisfied with the services of Jira, that's why I give this rating.
Read ZEESHAN RANA's full review
February 22, 2020
Glenn Burnside | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Jira Service Desk mostly for equipment purchasing requests, but since then, it's grown to be a key mechanism in how our team members ask for support between teams and departments. We have service desks for IT, HR, Accounting, Marketing, Sales, and Service Delivery work requests now. It's become an integral part of how we initiate and track work to completion.
  • Easy Requests for Work
  • Streamlined progress updates and requests for more information.
  • Creating new Request Types is time-consuming and usually requires expert intervention from our IT team for everybody's desk instances.
  • When work items are incomplete for long periods, nothing triggers extra alerts or notifications to management without them polling for it.
Getting internal service desk help interfaces set up quickly. As long as you're willing to opt into the built-in issue types and request types, then set up and usage is straightforward.
Atlassian support is pretty thin and transactional - when we have issues, we know we're just putting our issue in the hopper and hoping it gets looked at. Most support seems to happen in another time zone, so it's typical for us to log an issue with their support team and not hear back until somewhere in the middle of the night.
Read Glenn Burnside's full review
January 22, 2020
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira Service Desk has been for years implemented by various client companies, bringing transparency into and improving the manageability of internal and external client's requests and complaints. It has also been part of several software development projects. The main benefit aside from greater transparency and order, is a significant shortening of resolution time off requests, positively impacting user/customer experience. Also, in the SW development area, the positive impacts comprise saving a LOT of time of developers, testers, etc. and allowing them to focus on their core activities.
  • Easy to use! That's half of the success.
  • Integration with Confluence is a great feature, allowing us to merge tickets with knowledge base. Very useful by software development or when you aim at first-call resolution of user or client requests
  • Further integration with tools such as Enterprise Architect would be nice.
  • Maybe a free to use limited license would be nice for small projects/teams.
Well suited
  • Any service desk or helpdesk process, this is its core business, and it does it very well
  • Great for IT solutions development with tens or more developers, analysts, architects, testers, etc. or even by small isolated software development
  • Great tool for team management also in agile, you can check the burndown charts on a mobile device in less than 3 seconds when the project sponsor asks you in the elevator
Less appropriate
  • It does not replace document management or specialized knowledge management tools or even e-learning solutions, as some companies tried.
  • Excellent collaboration tool, incident, and problem management, all essential features well included
  • Nice enhancement for IT development integration in the form of a link to Confluence
  • Great tool for service level management, provides comprehensive service level requirements / SLA fulfillment overview, helps managers to keep a clear overview of priorities
  • Very good automation and integration features
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
January 13, 2020
Irina Danilova | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira Service Desk to track technical issue tickets as well as some brand requests for website changes. It is a great tool to keep all the correspondence in one place and track the progress of the project/ticket. Jira Service Desk is very intuitive and does not take long to master by both technical and non-technical people, thus providing a great management tool.
  • Easy to create and track a ticket
  • Easy to add and tag others
  • UI could be made more intuitive.
  • Learning curve may be a bit steep for non-technical people.
Jira Service Desk is excellent for tracking the progress of specific tickets/issues/requests for both IT and Marketing teams in our organization. Jira Service Desk also is an excellent tool for communication between different branches of our company and IT team localized in another country. It may not be that great to track the overall progress of the company's projects.
I had some problems with Jira Service Desk - especially during the high volume of tickets and correspondence - and the support team was always there to help most professionally and effectively. The issue report I simple, and the turnaround is pretty quick.
Read Irina Danilova's full review
December 17, 2019
Rob Domenico | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira Service Desk in two departments: CS Client services and DevOps IT. This enables technicians and developers to add and track support issues internally (IT DevOps ) and external Client Services usage. Either way the seamless integration with products like Bamboo, for development life-cycles, and Confluence for a portal and Wiki, makes this a good fit for our organizational needs.
  • Easy setup
  • Tight integration
  • Need more wizards
  • Proxy setup for multiple sites on same box
I like the fact that this is offered as a cloud Jira app on Atlassian's site so no worries for maintaining local hardware equipment. Also the fact that you can still choose to run on your own server (local or in cloud). The Jira Service Desk can be completely controlled by placing servers in AWS cloud and bring your own license for control of users/services completely on your own equipment.
Just on ease of setup and how reliable once licensed and setup, the product works quite well. If it's the help report systems it HAS to be up and online. Support is something we purchase along with the license renewal, but luckily I have not had to use it much once up and going.
Read Rob Domenico's full review
December 17, 2019
Matthew Andrien | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was asked to help implement Jira Service Desk for one of my clients that would be used through the entire organization. It was used to resolve any help desk issues that their employees had. It made it easy for them to submit a ticket and track the progress of it. It also made it easy for the IT team to review and delegate the ticket to get it resolved in a timely manner.
  • User Friendly Customer Portal
  • Easy to track tickets
  • Learning Curve
  • Price
I really liked how easy it was for both sides (end user and IT team) to fill out and quickly complete the issue submitted. It definitely makes sense to use at a medium-large size company compared to a small one. For the price and the setup, a smaller company could get away with email tracking.
I really like working to implement this tool for the end users because I have been in the situation where I too have had issues and had no way of knowing the turn-around time, but with this tool the user can easily report their issue, provide as much detail as possible, and have it fixed in a timely manner.
Read Matthew Andrien's full review
December 12, 2019
Elman Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is used in our organization by all of our teams to have effective communication whenever we need assistance with technical issues. It is very easy to use and it has a very friendly interface. Bug reporting is surprisingly simple and effective. The workflow is amazing, customization is a huge plus since it adapts to our company needs. You can also use it for personal tasks since the gadget "Time Sheet" is amazingly effective and provides a good and detailed track of your tasks.
  • Bug Reporting is detailed and useful, easy to report and easy to keep track.
  • Integration with other apps for a better workflow.
  • Too many open requests can make the tool work slow.
  • You will need to invest some time to know every feature and to master the use of it.
The best scenario is bug and issues reporting, we mostly use it for these specific scenarios and it has created an amazing response time and workflow. It has allowed us to keep real-time monitoring in every issue we report. Bulk reply and bulk ticket replying is not an option since this is not possible.
Because it is a great tool and is also easy to use once you have mastered it. You can keep track of your projects and reports in an easy way. The interface is clean. However, sometimes the tool can work slow if there is a high volume of tickets in the queue. This is the reason why it has to be continually worked on.
Read Elman Martinez's full review
November 20, 2019
Gabriel Krahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA SD to close the gap between the customer and our support team. By converting all emails to JIRA tickets, we can ensure that the customer doesn't need to get involved in the documentation process, which means less re-work to correct fields in the ticket's info.
  • Incident documentation.
  • Incident management.
  • CI management.
  • It is a bit hard to use, unlike Snow.
If you are already using some Atlassian products like Confluence, BitBucket, and Trello, JIRA SD is a really good choice as it integrates well with these products. You can make Trello boards based on incidents (tickets) you have on your queue, or create use cases/troubleshooting guides on Confluence based on a specific incident.
Atlassian doesn't play around when it comes to supporting their users, like us. They have really highly capacitated professionals who can help you in most business hours worldwide.
Read Gabriel Krahn's full review
January 21, 2020
Meenakshi Kartheek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being used by the help desk team as well as a tool by the business team to submit tickets related to the CRM. Specifically by the business team, (end users) who use the CRM to enhance the business and generate revenue. JIRA Service Desk has made communications easy and saves a lot of time when it comes to time lag due to emails.
  • Ease of navigation.
  • Self explanatory.
  • Need to change sprint status manually.
  • Workflow implementation is quite complex.
I have been a user of JIRA software in the past, and also a current user of Service Desk. One of the best uses for it is that it can be used in a team that is collocated and can also be used to plan sprint activity. Business owners/product owners can add their list of backlogs which will be readily available for prioritization during the refinement meeting.
There was not much interaction with the JIRA Service Desk support since most of us knew our way through it. But we did interact on the pricing aspects and also regarding access to users. We have our own internal JIRA support group that adds users with certain accesses when we send them an email.
Read Meenakshi Kartheek's full review
December 12, 2019
Summit Hotwani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used across the company, to track work / progress. Each project was broken down into user stories / feature / task.
It helped manage every project there was in the company.
  • Work tracking
  • Categorizing tasks
  • Could be more customize based on project
  • Doesn't have themes
It has pretty well suited for most orgs, of various sizes.
Never had any issues
Read Summit Hotwani's full review
February 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Jira to help keep track of projects and their progress up until completion/rollout to production. Jira Service Desk is currently used by a couple of our departments mainly Applications Admins (my team) and Project Management and App Dev teams. This tool helps increase visibility into the tasks involved in completing a project so that all teams can see where we are in terms of progress.
  • Big Gantt chart on the dashboard lets you see a project's status, tasks, and progress easily. Dashboards are easily customizable with lots of options.
  • Very easy to create service request templates and modify existing built-in templates to fit your needs.
  • Not a lot of online help available to get going
  • Needs Confluence (additional cost) to be able to add a knowledge base
Jira Service Desk is definitely a very capable and highly customizable tool to use for service requests and project management. It integrates with quite a few applications, unfortunately though, at an additional cost. It is well suited for large and small businesses and for use within a group of departments or company-wide.
I have not used the technical support from Atlassian. In terms of online help and resources, they are a bit limited thus making it more of a challenge to troubleshoot issues and learn more functionality. There aren't a lot of resources available on the Atlassian site besides developer documents. It would be nice to have a blog or forum where users can get the help they need.
Read this authenticated review
January 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Jira Service Desk for issue and request tracking across all departments. The software allows us to centrally manage support, development, and request tickets easily and with minimal confusion. By having a straightforward interface and integrations with other pieces of software, information rarely falls through the cracks, and we feel confident that a strong record is being kept.
  • Simple to create and keep track of tickets
  • Allows easy collaboration between team members
  • Learning curve can be steep for some advanced features
Jira Service Desk is perfectly suited to track the progress and give a complete story to issues, tickets, requests that come into the platform. With its commenting and user tagging features, Jira Service Desk makes collaboration on projects simple and easy to keep track of. We have been able to integrate it with other pieces of software easily, both publicly available and internal only tools.
I haven't personally interacted with their support system but from what I understand it is fantastic.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Jira Service Desk as the front facing solution for customers to report issues and feature requests for our products. As we use other Atlassian products, Jira Service Desk integrates seamlessly with our other processes and functions, such as engineering and documentation (CMS).

Information provided via Jira Service Desk can be accessed directly by engineering team (using Jira), and customers can get feedbacks directly from engineers (if appropriate). This process is all built-in and automated, without needing someone to play "go between", significantly increases productivity.

Knowledge base articles can also be easily created via Jira Service Desk and Atlassian Confluence, which enabled customers to have a self-serving portal to look for any existing articles that may help with their problem without having to wait for someone to respond.
  • Integration with other Atlassian products
  • Simplified UI and UX compared to Jira
  • Better integration with CRM
  • More control over the UI/UX
If you are already using Atlassian products, then using Jira Service Desk would be a "no brainer", it integrates very well with the rest of the product family and will be able to fit right in. However, if you are not using other Atlassian products, while Jira Service Desk can be extended to fit (and it usually can do a very decent job) in via 3rd party apps or development, you might want to evaluate other solutions on the market.
Atlassian as a company, has great support for their products, and you get that for free. They do have a premium paid support package which will take it to the next level. Atlassian also has a great ecosystem where you can ask questions on their forum, look for best practices from other customers and Atlassian partners, and people there are always happy to help.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I use and have implemented this product for some years now to support the formal implementation of ITIL v3 and now ITIL v4 in organizations that have technology departments that support more than 500 users.
  • ITIL templates.
  • Task automation.
  • The mobile client is very basic.
  • Very hard to migrate issues between cloud and on-premise.
The product is very useful if you have previously established basic and clear rules for IT management, and if there is an on-site support to facilitate the adoption of Jira Service Desk, otherwise there will be users who prefer to continue using MantisBT or something basic.

The best scenario for companies that develop software is to use the entire Atlassian suite in the cloud or in its own server installation, that is: Jira Software + BitBucket + Confluence + Jira Service Desk + HipChat. It is not possible to use some of these products in the cloud and others on your own server.

For companies that do not develop software, the formula is Jira Service Desk + Confluence + HipChat.
The support of a subscription is excellent, but not that of the community, much less when it comes to new features. When it comes to Atlassian, it is important to have on-site accompaniment, since the experience of using the products begins to be positive after a duly accompanied induction.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira Service Desk is being used by several organizations across the company including Engineering, Security, IT and HR. It’s leveraged to track “to-do” tickets related to various company processes. It’s helped us streamline our operations and ensure no ball is ever dropped regardless of how much is going on.
  • Track tickets for IT help desk, customer service inquiries, engineering software code changes, HR related tickets and more.
  • Drive accountability by having clear due dates and ownership across the company.
  • More updated/user friendly-user interface.
  • Better integration with other company software.
Well suited for medium to large scale companies who want to manage tickets across various organizations in an efficient and robust manner. Not so great for small scrappy teams as it can add too much overhead that is not worth the investment.
Our company has been happy with Jira support and used them for several years. No issues here.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is being used by all teams to organize projects and tasks in an easy way and to make sure we are able to prioritize and focus on the most pressing issues, but we are not losing track of the rest of the projects we have in the pipeline. It is great to make sure every task has a direct responsible individual and nothing gets lost.
  • The Kanban Board is very clear
  • The ticketing system works really well, notifications are useful.
  • It's a bit pricey
  • Needs to have more integration with Slack and other softwares
Jira is a valid alternative for projects that involve a lot of individuals. It is more complicated and complete than Trello, so it is very important to make sure that you use it for complex projects and not for tasks that can be resolved fairly quick. I recommend it for tech deploys, since the system is best suited on those scenarios.
We have never had any issues with them. Most of the help you need you will be able to find online, but the few times we needed to contact their support team they were helpful, quick to answer and very competent with extensive knowledge about their product. I recommend them.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira to track incidents and service desk tickets. We also use it for an inventory database.
  • It keeps track of all of your inventory.
  • Easy to update statuses of items in inventory.
  • Initially it is hard to use because you don’t know what you are doing. There is a slight learning curve.
It is a great product to use across a large team and for a storage database to keep track of hardware that is in many different data centers around the world.
When we have a question it gets answered.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage all IT support tickets plus small upcoming events or projects that the team needs to communicate on and involve other teams. Users can enter and update the tickets and everyone included on the ticket is updated when the ticket is updated. The main tickets are ERP, EDI and infrastructure related.
  • Ticket Entry.
  • E-mail updates.
  • Project management.
  • Linking tickets.
It does the job but we only use it for ticket management. It meets our needs but does not wow us with functionality. Users sometimes find it clunky but it gets the job done and we don't worry about issues.
We are out of support for the version we are on.
Read this authenticated review
October 24, 2019
Laura Goeb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple departments use JIRA in our Company. It helps us organize our e-mails (tickets) to ensure we are keeping track of and complete all of our projects. Employees are satisfied because they can keep track of the progress or status of their issue or concern. We can assign a certain issue to specific people.
  • Keeps everyone organized, each employee can keep track of their tickets.
  • Running reports to ensure that everyone doesn't miss the SLA.
  • Attaching files can be difficult, as it's hit and miss with employees.
  • External users cannot log in to choose a specific issue.
It is good for a larger company, as we have close to 2,000 employees. It is also good for someone who receives hundreds of emails daily, as it will help keep everyone on track. It is less appropriate for someone who works individually or prefers to work at their own pace.
Easy to get have our IT team to assist us with troubleshooting.
Read Laura Goeb's full review
July 17, 2019
Phillip Holder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used across the whole organization.
  • Project Requirements repository - agile/waterfall.
  • QA tracking during test case resolution.
  • Process improvement.
  • Keeps track of all activities related to the project in question.
  • Documentation of Requirements - serves as the go-to source for all requirements created as a result of the SDS (System Design Specifications) review and sign-off.
  • Process improvement - We used to revamp failing processes and centrally locate all BAU (business as usual) developments tickets through JIRA.
  • Bug tracking - Great source for defect tracking and resolution.
  • Historical repository - we use as a historical reference and document location for all projects.
  • Add-ons - Some things I think should be easier to find and possibly more documentation.
  • Traceability linkage - JIRA has a hierarchy - EPIC/Story/Bugs etc. - They should automatically be linked one to the other once users attach for example a bug to a story - I.E. Cannot close the story until the bug has been resolved.
  • Better linkage to MS office tools - I.E> MS Project/Excel - I find it tricky to drop excel file into JIRA.
  • Best for traceability for large company/projects.
  • Best for historical documentation of requirements.
  • Best for QA bug tracking.
  • Better integration with QA testing tools such as HLM/IBM Rational - used quite a bit in many organizations.

  • Not suited for small businesses as it may be overkill.
Read Phillip Holder's full review
October 24, 2019
Nekeisha Beaton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Jira as a ticketing system. This is being used by the whole organization. It resolves issues with communication.
  • Notifies us of issues.
  • Seamless.
  • Organizes issues in the order received.
  • Jira has some freezing issues occasionally.
Jira is our service desk project and it allows us to communicate and our customers to communicate with us. This works really well. Jira allows us to communicate efficiently.
Support has been efficient when we need them!
Read Nekeisha Beaton's full review
October 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira as a production management tool for the development of learning products, such as e-learning modules. This tool allows us to design a production workflow for individual products that allow our teams to self-manage the work and communicate right on ticket relating to the product being developed. Additionally, we will have kanban boards showing which stage each product is in which allows developers to work on multiple products at once. By leveraging Jira in this way, we are able to manage a higher volume of development work at a faster pace.
  • Manageable workflow to ensure all users follow the same process.
  • Can ban boards for easy visual of ticket status.
  • Very flexible tool that can adapt to lots of different uses outside of the traditional service desk model.
  • Added communication tools help you get out of e-mail jail.
  • Navigating through issues outside of a kan ban board can be confusing and task heavy.
  • It's easy to clutter up the tool. It could use some easy clean up capabilities.
  • User interface is decent, but could use work to make it more intuitive.
It could work well as a service desk ticketing system. It is great at building out and managing a specific workflow. Using the workflow Jira can be used to manage any number of development type projects. This allows you to be strict on the steps being followed in development while turning over the management of that process to the developers. That allows for fewer hands-on project management and allows for more of an Agile approach where you focus on impediments and removing roadblocks. It's also a great tool for managers to be able to see everything that is going on without reading through hundreds of emails. Additionally, managers can quickly dive into issues and see the full history of what has gone on with a particular ticket.
Support is there when you need it, but not always the most responsive or timely if you are running fast projects.
Read this authenticated review
October 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being used by our whole organization that spans multiple departments and teams. Tasks or issues that span multiple departments or teams are easily managed by JIRA since the people involved can view updates, make comments or upload files and everyone involved will receive a notification of the update. JIRA has helped us organize tasks into projects based on departments or teams which give the ability to search and locate task effortlessly. JIRA allows us to assign and reassign the tasks so we know who needs to address the task next.
  • Enables you to know who needs to work on the task by allowing you to reassign it to people.
  • Notifies you about updates that happen on a task.
  • You can build templates for certain task that occur often.
  • Allow you to estimate work time on a task and then input how much time the task really took and then evaluate the difference to get a better idea for future tasks.
  • Doesn't allow the ability to close multiple tickets at a time.
  • The way they name parts of the project (i.e. epic, story, sprint). Sometimes it can get confusing to how they work together. There is definitely a learning curve.
If you are managing a project and need a way to manage different teams and assignments. JIRA is great because you can set up the project in an "epic" which can have different "stories" to break up the project into different teams or assignments then you can add a task and organize them how best would fit each team.

Another great way to use it is for expense reports like for an on-call stipend. JIRA allows you to create a template and add your upstream managers and the amount and you then can submit it and as each manager approves it the ticket move to the next person. You can use JIRA to integrate into HR systems where when an employee is marked as disabled then it kicks off multiple JIRA tasks to various teams to complete some sort of operation to complete the disable.
When we have had issues and need assistance, we have received the help we needed. There have been a couple of times I felt the person I talked to knew less then myself which was a little frustrating since they should be the expert. But, in the end, issues were escalated when need and issues were resolved in a timely fashion. JIRA also has great online support to help with issues. Most of the time I find I can resolve an issue without even having to contact support.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (72)
8.9
Expert directory (2)
9.0
Service restoration (2)
9.5
Self-service tools (66)
8.3
Subscription-based notifications (1)
10
ITSM collaboration and documentation (59)
8.3
ITSM reports and dashboards (60)
8.6
Configuration mangement (1)
10
Asset management dashboard (1)
10
Policy and contract enforcement (1)
10
Change requests repository (62)
8.1
Change calendar (2)
6.5
Service-level management (66)
8.4

What is Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk)?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of-the-box for service request, incident, problem and change management. Jira Service Management integrates seamlessly with Jira Software so that IT and development teams can work better together. Users can connect service desk tickets to Jira Software issues and get to the root cause of problems before they escalate.

Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) Features

Incident and problem management Features

Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Has featureSelf-service tools
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards

Change management Features

Has featureChange requests repository
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureCustom reporting
Has featureSelf-service Help Center
Has featureAutomation rules
Has featureITIL-certified
Has featureEmail support
Has featurePre-built workflows
Has featureSLA's
Has featureCSAT reporting
Has featureAsset management integration

Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) Screenshots

Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) Video

Jira Service Desk is the only service desk software that IT and service teams actually like to use. Built on the Jira platform, Jira Service Desk delivers an effortless service experience and adapts to your needs, with set up time and pricing at a fraction of competitors. Find out why 20,000+ customers trust Jira Service Desk at http://www.atlassian.com/service-desk

Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) Competitors

Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per month
Standard$20per agent/per month
Premium$40per agent/per month
EnterpriseContact sales team

Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, French, Spanish, German, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Russian, Korean, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Icelandic, Romanian, Slovak, Swedish, Vietnamese

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Organize and prioritize service tickets highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk)?

The most common users of Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.