TrustRadius
Marin Software is a very popular cloud-based cross-channel marketing advertising campaign management platform which integrates many tools and functions, and it is the name of the company in San Francisco that issues the software. Marin touts cross-display (including mobile-optimized) advertisement retargeting, social marketing management, and many other tools to manage complex marketing and paid-advertising (PPC) efforts. A free trial of this extensive platform is available. Marin Software maintains a client list with many familiar entitities, like GAP, Macy's, Comcast, Symantec, and many agencies as well.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0B/9h/2TC6E3C1UZ9F.PNGMarin Software - alternative to DoubleClickIt's being used as a data management platform to keep the data from all publishers and data sources within one place, to optimize performance, use bidding strategies and track conversions. Out of 10 clients, we are using it on one significantly big client. Previously i've worked with Marin on another big client. The main reason for clients to choose the platform is that they don't want Google to own their data and also due to lower fees.,Bidding strategies based on position or conversions, or revenue are very helpful for improving the performance of all campaigns and saving money It keeps the data easily accessible within one place. Pulling reports, being able to do a web query report, being able to integrate with many data sources makes the platform very useful. Also Marin reps are very helpful Marin offers a live chat, which is very helpful when you have an urgent question. Tracking templates are easily adjustable,The filters on the columns don't always work properly The platform is sometimes very slow in updating the selected view,6,It had a positive impact, as it is not that expensive, when used across multiple offices (when a client is advertising on international markets) It had positive impact because of the bidding strategies it helps us use,Double Click,BothMarin Software Optimized ReviewMarin was used for one of our larger financial services clients. It was mainly used by our pay per click (PPC) department, which at the time, was just me. Being a smaller agency with limited resources, having Marin helped manage the account optimizations and bidding across both AdWords and Bing. It saved us a ton of time. With the time saved on these such tasks, we were able to create more customized campaigns and pursue more cross-channel initiatives.,The automated bidding features are great and work very well. Automation of tasks such as adding negative keywords or adding long tails via the search terms report saves a ton of time. Being able to make bulk changes across both AdWords and Bing at the same time.,Preferring to make bulk changes with AdWords Editor, it would sometimes not upload correctly, which was frustrating. The reporting features weren't horrible, but I was expecting a little more. It's pretty time consuming to set up initially. A little slow when it comes to integrating new features - seems like it took a very long time to make a transition to final URLs and there was very little support during that time.,8,The improvements to CPA the bidding has made on the clients' accounts, made them comfortable and confident enough to incrementally keep raising budget from 100K to 400K/month over the course of the year. As an agency, the ROI is great. Being able to automate many of the more time consuming tasks makes it far easier to remain within monthly budgeted hours per client. The support could be a little better, there were instances where tags would break and would compromise the quality of data and it was difficult for us to diagnose the root of the problem.,AdWords, Bing Ads and Google AnalyticsMarin is easy to navigate for reporting on larger clients!It is used by our performance media department but only certain clients/teams are using Marin. I think it helps us report and stay organized for the larger clients that are spending $1MM or more a year.,The overview tab is helpful for overall knowledge and quick updates for spend, ROI, etc. Ability to filter in endless ways. Reporting is easy to customize and can be pulled across clients. Adding dimensions makes your life easier and can be customized per client needs.,We have a lot of issues with syncing data from Omniture with our Marin clients. Often times, data will be missing for certain days. Sitelinks are not the easiest to upload and view in Marin. Better download speeds for reporting would help us get more done in a day.,9,It has definitely increased employee efficiency because we run on Yahoo Gemini, Bing, and Google. If we had to optimize/report per engine, it would take hours and hours each week. I think it's made optimizations less of a daunting task in my daily routine. I've been able to pinpoint where our ROI suffers and work from there in a matter of minutes. The customer service has gotten better and could still be improved. Our Marin rep used to be horrible at returning messages but once he got support, we were able to implement a ton more pixels and betas.,DoubleClick,B2CProbably best if you're managing high volume accountsWe use Marin Software as a bid management tool across most clients' paid search accounts. The whole team uses it.,Gives a complete overview across different paid search platforms e.g. it's easy to see how the same ad groups/keywords/ads etc., are working on different platforms. You can create bidding scenarios as a test before rolling them out.,You have to learn to use the platform yourself & there's very little help with this from the customer support team. Account managers are very hands off and refer you back to customer support for everything. Strategic support would be helpful in terms of how to test and implement.,3,Increased account management efficiency. Given some insight that would have not have been easily available via the direct paid search platforms.,Acqusio,BothNewbie ReviewMarin was used at my old job at MediaCom across all paid search teams of my client. It helped us manage the large amount of keywords and bids and easily pull pacing reports to present to the client.,Bid Management Automated Reporting,Implementing new technologies,8,Increased employee efficiency Better bid management and pacing,,B2B
Unspecified
Marin Software
61 Ratings
Score 6.3 out of 101
TRScore

Marin Software Reviews

Marin Software
61 Ratings
Score 6.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 61 vetted Marin Software reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 31)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
February 02, 2018

Review: "Marin Software - alternative to DoubleClick"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used as a data management platform to keep the data from all publishers and data sources within one place, to optimize performance, use bidding strategies and track conversions. Out of 10 clients, we are using it on one significantly big client. Previously i've worked with Marin on another big client. The main reason for clients to choose the platform is that they don't want Google to own their data and also due to lower fees.
  • Bidding strategies based on position or conversions, or revenue are very helpful for improving the performance of all campaigns and saving money
  • It keeps the data easily accessible within one place. Pulling reports, being able to do a web query report, being able to integrate with many data sources makes the platform very useful. Also Marin reps are very helpful
  • Marin offers a live chat, which is very helpful when you have an urgent question.
  • Tracking templates are easily adjustable
  • The filters on the columns don't always work properly
  • The platform is sometimes very slow in updating the selected view
It's well suited when you have to integrate it with another data source, like an FTP for example. The dimensions you can assign to campaigns or ad group levels help for easier performance management and reporting.
What makes it difficult is that everytime you need to update anything on the account, you can't use the publisher but have to do it through Marin. This makes the whole process very time consuming and causes more mistakes. Also if you have paused anything on the publisher and you don't remember to sync marin after, all changes on the publisher will get lost if you make new changes on marin.
Read this authenticated review
Vincent Misiewicz profile photo
October 04, 2016

"Marin Software Optimized Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin was used for one of our larger financial services clients. It was mainly used by our pay per click (PPC) department, which at the time, was just me. Being a smaller agency with limited resources, having Marin helped manage the account optimizations and bidding across both AdWords and Bing. It saved us a ton of time. With the time saved on these such tasks, we were able to create more customized campaigns and pursue more cross-channel initiatives.
  • The automated bidding features are great and work very well.
  • Automation of tasks such as adding negative keywords or adding long tails via the search terms report saves a ton of time.
  • Being able to make bulk changes across both AdWords and Bing at the same time.
  • Preferring to make bulk changes with AdWords Editor, it would sometimes not upload correctly, which was frustrating.
  • The reporting features weren't horrible, but I was expecting a little more. It's pretty time consuming to set up initially.
  • A little slow when it comes to integrating new features - seems like it took a very long time to make a transition to final URLs and there was very little support during that time.
Marin Software is great for large volume accounts ($100K+/month). It is also good with extensive keywords lists and campaigns. The more data and volume the system can use to optimize the bidding the better. Also, if an account is using a CRM such as Salesforce, integrating can allow you to optimize and prioritize around the actual lead disposition, which is very difficult without a tool like this.
Smaller accounts would likely not benefit as much and the fee would probably be used more effectively if put toward the actual spend.
Read Vincent Misiewicz's full review
Nikita Patel profile photo
March 29, 2016

Marin Software Review: "Marin is easy to navigate for reporting on larger clients!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our performance media department but only certain clients/teams are using Marin. I think it helps us report and stay organized for the larger clients that are spending $1MM or more a year.
  • The overview tab is helpful for overall knowledge and quick updates for spend, ROI, etc.
  • Ability to filter in endless ways.
  • Reporting is easy to customize and can be pulled across clients.
  • Adding dimensions makes your life easier and can be customized per client needs.
  • We have a lot of issues with syncing data from Omniture with our Marin clients. Often times, data will be missing for certain days.
  • Sitelinks are not the easiest to upload and view in Marin.
  • Better download speeds for reporting would help us get more done in a day.
I think larger clients or clients with multiple initiatives and programs are better suited for Marin. Also, clients who have consistent and reoccurring reports that need to be accessed should use Marin. The web query abilities truly make reporting and bid strategy 100 times easier! The overview is intuitive and customizable according to your liking or your client's needs.
Read Nikita Patel's full review
Lol Lowe profile photo
January 28, 2016

Marin Software Review: "Probably best if you're managing high volume accounts"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marin Software as a bid management tool across most clients' paid search accounts. The whole team uses it.
  • Gives a complete overview across different paid search platforms e.g. it's easy to see how the same ad groups/keywords/ads etc., are working on different platforms.
  • You can create bidding scenarios as a test before rolling them out.
  • You have to learn to use the platform yourself & there's very little help with this from the customer support team.
  • Account managers are very hands off and refer you back to customer support for everything.
  • Strategic support would be helpful in terms of how to test and implement.
Marin Software is probably best if you have really big accounts. The scenarios only work on high volume conversions.
Read Lol Lowe's full review
Danielle White profile photo
November 02, 2015

Marin Software: "Newbie Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin was used at my old job at MediaCom across all paid search teams of my client. It helped us manage the large amount of keywords and bids and easily pull pacing reports to present to the client.
  • Bid Management
  • Automated Reporting
  • Implementing new technologies
Marin Software is great to use for paid search, when there are numerous amounts of keywords.
Read Danielle White's full review
Harini Sridharan profile photo
April 29, 2015

"Marin Software review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Marin while I was with Vistaprint . We used Marin software mainly for optimization and campaign management of Search campaigns.
  • Both the client services and professional services teams were very helpful. Excellent support from account executives, analytics and professional services teams. During the initial integration, the professional services team worked all odd hours to accommodate integration with various countries. They also worked with us to accept all the customization that we requested for the data we were passing to them.
  • Bidding algorithm is robust and the analytics team built us customized bidding monitoring tools . The bidding tool improved our efficiency quite a lot in all countries where the teams utilized the tool completely for bidding.
  • Campaign management tools also vastly decreased the time that the team spent on campaign management. The account executives provided timely inputs on new tools and areas where we could automate further.
  • While this is no reflection on the tool itself, it requires users to have a good understanding of the way the bidding algorithm works . Users cannot expect to be completely hands off in bidding but can expect good support from the client services team
Marketing teams might have to engage a resource from Analytics or BI at least during integration to get maximum benefits. It helps to understand how the folder structure helps .
Read Harini Sridharan's full review
Chad Gardner profile photo
April 12, 2015

Review: "Marin Software - Can't be worse than DoubleClick or Kenshoo, right?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin is being used across the agency per the client's needs. When a client is onbaorded, we walk them through a scorecard of Kenshoo, Doubleclick and Marin and make our recommendation accordingly. We began to see Marin become the leader of the pack and roughly 60% of our clients were running on Marin.
  • Found that Marin was surprisingly good at managing Local accounts within an MCA (anywhere from 50-60 accounts, depending on vertical/scale).
  • Bid optimization was better and easier to setup than other platforms.
  • Customizing and pulling reports was extremely intuitive.
  • I mentioned in the previous answer that Marin was surprisingly good at managing Local accounts to scale, but that is in comparison to other platforms. For a long time, Marin didn't have the capability to make changes across accounts. Let's say you are managing 500 Local Automotive Dealerships. Each MCA has a limit of 2.5 million KWs (recommended). That means you would have to break those dealerships in to 7 or 8 unique MCAs. Managing that at scale can be difficult if you can't make changes across MCAs.
  • They really need more integration with other vendors (ie., call tracking platforms). Yes, there are workarounds, but they are manual unless your agency has internal resources to lessen the pain points.
Marin is well-suited when it comes to managing large-scale accounts or many clients at once. But it falls short when it comes to integrating other vendors; in fact, we would always recommend Kenshoo when there were multiple data sources trying to be connected.
Read Chad Gardner's full review
Ashlee Anderson profile photo
December 09, 2014

User Review: "Marin Software - Money Well Spent"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin Software is being used by the Paid Search department. It is used for two of the largest pay per click clients to manage daily tasks such as bid adjustments and negative keywords. It is also used more in depth to track conversions for the clients and for reporting uses, such as monthly and quarterly.
  • Marin Software provides an in depth analysis of the account across all levels. Users can determine where search metrics came from based on device level, campaign level, keyword level and more. This is a strength for Marin Software because it allows users to find all the data it needs on an easy to use user interface.
  • Marin Software successfully tracks conversions for the account. If the tracking codes are implemented correctly the user can find all the data they need from any conversion point they want. This is a strength for Marin Software because this is a solution that a lot of other paid search software don't offer.
  • Marin Software allows the user to set up alerts based on activity in the account. For example, if the user wants a notification every time revenue drops they can set that up in the user interface. This is a strength for Marin Software because this solution allows the user to be on top of their account at all times.
  • Marin Software could better implement the tracking code notifications so that the user knows they were implemented correctly. However, the user should be double checking on their work so this is a minor need for improvement.
  • Marin Software could better implement pulling reports in the user interface. Sometimes it is hard to pull dates using the reporting tool.
  • Marin Software could create more consistency between the tabs.
It is well suited for a colleague with large clients. I would not recommend it to a colleague who had clients that spent less than $50,000 minimum a month. There is no benefit to having it for smaller clients because it gives a lot of information that would not be relevant to them. Marin Software provides an excellent FAQ so once you start with the software it can answer most of your questions. I'd also highly recommend taking the certification courses to fully understand the software.
Read Ashlee Anderson's full review
Robert Frost profile photo
May 09, 2014

User Review: "Marin Software: Efficiency In A Box"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At ethology, we use Marin Software for our client bid management and reporting platform. All clients are on-boarded to Marin and all reporting is based out of the platform. We also are rolling out bid management to all clients. Currently, the Paid Search department is using it, with account management and finance accessing it for reporting needs.
  • Consolidation of multiple accounts. Google, Bing, other...all in one place. This is why reporting is based out of Marin. One data source vs. many.
  • Bid management for financial goals. Setting a cost-per-conversion goal allows Marin to maximize conversions by adjusting bids up and down. Performance increases are amazing!
  • Reporting. Flexibility of reports is pretty cool.
  • Support. They are addressing this currently, and things seem to have improved lately, but we were experiencing long delays in getting support tickets addressed.
  • New Google Shopping campaigns will not even show in the tool. Old PLA campaigns are fine however.
  • Random missing data. Typically this happens after an update, but we've seen data missing in various clients. Usually logging a support ticket and having Marin Support rerun a backend process resolves the issue.
If you are using Google Shopping campaigns, wait until Q4 to purchase. They are not supported in Marin until then, at the earliest.
Cost: We were able to negotiate a decent % of spend rate, but standard rates can be fairly high, especially when compared to other tools, with the exception of Kenshoo.
Read Robert Frost's full review
Aigerim Kikimova, MBA profile photo
May 30, 2014

Marin Software Review: "Marin is an Excellent Bid Management Tool."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin Software was being used by the Marketing department to manage digital media advertising, including bid management, tracking and account management. It addressed the target cost per acquisition problem with statistical significance.
  • Ease of use - simple interface, user friendly.
  • Data integrity
  • Bidding tool
  • Data/account aggregation
  • Software integration with backend CRM took a bit too long, but it worked in the end.
It is well suited for Adwords, Bing Ads and Facebook integration. I would ask about their reporting and analytics - I haven't used Google Analytics or another tool in conjunction with this, but I feel it would be a tremendous help with decision making, etc.
Read Aigerim Kikimova, MBA's full review
Kelly Wagner profile photo
May 19, 2014

Marin Software Review: "Marin is a Win for High Spend Paid Search Advertisers"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin Software was being used across the whole organization for tracking and reporting in one place. It allowed account managers to be more efficient in management of paid search and allowed our client facing business strategists to find the information they need. This product filled the gap between the doers and the talkers.
  • Quick, detailed, reoccurring reporting saved our strategists tons of time every week.
  • It provided more more detailed reporting capabilities allowing more in depth analysis and insights.
  • Allowing us to manage various platforms in one interface improved our performance and efficiency significantly.
  • More customization to the reporting output such as allowing multiple logos and changing headers of reports
  • More simplified bid rules - it gets very complicated and intimidating
Ensure your agencies management fees are high enough to cover the cost of the software. Ensure your team is utilizing the Marin on boarding team to the fullest. You will likely need a person just to manage the software for your team, make sure you can afford to have one person dedicated to managing the software.
Read Kelly Wagner's full review
Noah Omri Levin profile photo
May 16, 2014

Marin Software Review: "How Marin is Helping Us Kill It in Media"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've implemented Marin's technologies across the majority of all of our client accounts. As an agency it has helped improve efficiency and reduction of human error allowing our teams to spend less time in reporting, bulk sheet work and QA and more time on strategy, planning and implementation.
  • Automated Bidding let's us use the same logic and formulas we would use to make optimizations while implementing it across every single keyword, something a large team couldn't execute flawlessly at the same frequency.
  • Cross Publisher tracking and optimizations are a huge time saver
  • Dimensions, Reporting and other features call out areas for improvement and allow quick fixes
  • It would be really nice to have a solution to some annoying tracking problems like Bing revenue data and side by side publisher/marin tracker data.
  • Allowing the upload of DSP or other non-supported platform data would let us use Marin as a reporting suite
If you are running Google and Bing or multiple accounts on either, it's a must have
Read Noah Omri Levin's full review
Greg Marta profile photo
May 16, 2014

Marin Software Review: "Marin Helps Us Manage and Launch Complex Campaigns Quickly"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marin software to manage complex paid search campaigns for more than one dozen clients.
  • Unified Google and Bing performance results
  • Fast keyword filtering based on criteria such as impressions, average CPC, rank, etc.
  • Bulk keyword and ad text upload
  • More drag and drop functionality. For example, the ability to copy or move keywords and ad text between ad groups or campaigns.
  • More options to customize charts and graphs to track progress over time.
Marin makes it easy to manage campaigns with massive amounts of keywords. One of our clients has ~70,000 keywords and Marin's filtering, sorting and bulk upload features make it possible for us to make campaign changes quickly.
Read Greg Marta's full review
Zack Schwartz profile photo
May 12, 2014

Marin Software Review: "Excellent for Companies with Large & Complex SEM Programs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin Software is being used by Vistaprint to manage paid search bids across a wide portfolio of products. We have millions of keywords and it would be impossible to manage all of the bids manually. Marin also makes many account maintenance & optimization functions (adding new keywords, ad copy testing, etc.) easier.
  • Adding keywords
  • Running ad copy tests
  • Managing bids across a large portfolio of products
  • Some elements of the interface are confusing.
I would only recommend Marin to advertisers with large and complex paid search programs.
Read Zack Schwartz's full review
Valerie Anderson profile photo
May 01, 2014

Marin Software Review: "Marin - Fits the Bill for Search Marketers and the Clients They Support!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin is currently being leveraged across my teams for several clients. We utilize Marin for much of the heavy lifting in launching, managing, optimizing and reporting on paid search accounts across engines. Through Marin we're able to spend less time creating tactical paperwork and more time building strategic and effective search campaigns.
  • Marin does a great job providing an aggregated dashboard for paid search. Through their portal we're able to identify what's working well for our campaigns, weed out elements that are sub par and fine tune each aspect of the account.
  • Marin also takes the heavy lifting out of managing paid search campaigns. Through their tool we're able to bulk upload, schedule, create, augment and optimize. By being able to make changes across many campaigns at one time, my team spends less time navigating different engine UIs and more time optimizing and bringing strategic insights and optimizations to our clients.
  • Through customized views, Marin makes it easy for our teams and clients to see just the right amount of data to answer their question without having to export and manipulate data to arrive at the answer. By creating dimensions for each account we're able to segment performance even further, making optimizations even simpler.
  • The onboarding process with Marin can be a bit clunky. The request to launch a new account is vetted by the Agency Lead which is then queued for the Professional Services team. By potentially getting a new PS team for each onboard, you're potentially working with people not familiar with your business. Once the onboarding is complete, the account is transitioned to the Engagement team. With different teams touching the account at various phases, it creates a disconnect in the transition and often leaves our team explaining the situation on multiple occasions.
  • Custom metrics can be hard to come by in Marin. There are some "custom" features hard-coded into the tool that are generally available, but several that are not, such as converting seconds into hours and minutes.
  • Data tying the date/time stamp of the click to the conversion is a custom report that has to be requested specifically by the team but is something, from a conversion path standpoint, that should be standard in the user interface, regardless of integration type or complexity of account.
Marin integrations work well in most situations. We've had to deal with strict regulatory and security concerns for one client and Marin was able to provide a solution that fit the needs of all parties involved. Additionally, we've needed to integrate Marin with various ad servers and have run into little issues. Marin is constantly improving its list of "preferred partners" whereby creating relationships with the likes of MediaMind and Turn.

Key items to understand:
What type of integration will work best for your overall needs and objectives?
What different tools need to be tied together and what can be automated versus requires manual attention?
Any known custom requests should be stated upfront to ensure the account is built to meet the needs of your campaigns.
Read Valerie Anderson's full review
Michelle Massis profile photo
May 12, 2014

Marin Software: "Review"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin Software was used for the sales strategy to manage the incoming leads. It assisted the communication efforts of all team members within the sales floor to keep up to date with the lead generation on a daily basis. Marin Software was simple and easy to use, which made the system very appealing and efficient.
  • Manage Lead Progression
  • Simplicity
  • Efficiency
  • None
It is well suited to manage leads for the software products.
Read Michelle Massis's full review
No photo available
May 17, 2016

Marin Software Review: "Marin Saves Time and Money"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin is being used by our search team to assist with bidding and reporting. We will soon use Marin to buy FaceBook and Instagram display ads.
  • Budgeting. Marin allows you to easily see budget and manage budget across engines. It is easy to shift budget from google and bing in real time.
  • Bidding. We have found the bidding tool extremely successful across our clients to lower cost per conversions and save money.
  • Marin's customer support could be more responsive.
Marin is great for users who are in both AdWords and Bing. Marin pulls both engines together to easily see performance and optimizations. If are working in a smaller account that is only on one or the other interface, Marin may not be as useful.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 20, 2015

Marin Software Review: "Efficient, User-Friendly Paid Search Management Platform with Tolerable Shortcomings"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin is our company's bid management software. It is used across departments and we strive to integrate Marin tracking into any new platform or product pitched to us. We use it to upload all our campaigns, keywords, ads, manage our bidding, determine our ad positions, set our destinations, and manage our budget. When it's time for reporting, whether ad hoc or monthly, we use Marin numbers as a rule.
  • Marin is a self-serve platform. You can tailor your campaigns per your preference/convenience/needs. You can customize your view, see % changes, create custom columns depending on your Key Performance Indicators, and set any sort of dimensions and labels that will help you filter for your campaigns on a daily basis.
  • Bidding and changes to destination URLs can be done through mass edits within the UI, without having to upload bulk-sheets. You push any changes from Marin to the Engines, and can also pull in your changes from Bing/AdWords engines by syncing your campaigns as well. The system will not publish anything you do not manually post until Midnight PST. You can copy paste straight from your excel bulksheet into the uploading tool (or upload the document through unicode text).
  • The Administrative log keeps track of all changes, and keeps users (through their logins) accountable for any edits. This way, you can filter for your name, and find the edits that you made, just to double check your work, or to make sure you are publishing the correct changes. There is a keyword- group- and campaign-level history/settings log, where you can see the name of the user who created, edited, published, paused, activated, deleted, etc. any item.
  • You can set up alerts that will help you manage accounts: anything from active campaigns with 0 ad copy, to finding keywords in low ad positions.
  • If you push duplicate keywords, the system will reject them, keeping our accounts from getting clouded due to human error. There is no need to download existing keywords or groups and use their keyword or group IDs to make any edits--instead, editing is a breeze because the system detects the new changes automatically. The only need for IDs is when making edits to creative.
  • The Marin (corporate) reps we deal with on a daily basis are atrociously condescending, difficult to deal with, and need to work on their transparency. We encounter attitude when requesting logins for new team members! However, the help desk is staffed by the friendliest professionals willing to help.
  • While the filtering options (filter by account, campaign name, group name, keyword name, destination URL, dimension, strategy, model, etc) are very extensive, you cannot filter for 'either/or'. For example, if I want to filter down to a specific group of campaigns in the same account that contain "A", but do not contain "B", I cannot make this filter in the same area. I would have to find the common denominator between those campaigns on say, the "strategy level", and exclude the ones I do not want on a "model" level.
  • Just like any other platform where corporate paid search accounts are managed, sometimes it takes a while to pull reports. However, I've worked across a few other search management platforms, and Marin speeds are tolerable.
Ask whether your Key Performance Indicators (outcomes/clicks/site actions) can be integrated/tracked within Marin.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2015

Marin Software Review: "Marin is Good Not Great"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paid search primarily uses Marin Software as a bid management tool for SEM campaigns.
  • Easy to learn and use user interface.
  • Very easy to make ad copy changes.
  • Changes all across the board can be made quickly.
  • Account representatives and upper management aren't always the most helpful when dealing with business effecting issues.
  • Some small minor changes require a bulk sheet when they can easily be done in the interface if Marin had that ability.
  • Doesn't seem like there is any progression by the Marin team to make updates to the tool.
Make sure their system can support your daily tasks in other ways beside bulk sheeting. Will save you a lot of time if you don't have to constantly use a bulk sheet. Also make sure you ask them what the process of switching for a new account representative is if the need occurs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 23, 2015

Marin Software Review: "Solid tool, but a lot of room for improvement.."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin Software is being used across the SEM department. It helps streamline management of our clients' SEM campaigns.
  • Bulk editing across engines. Can make large-scale account changes in a flash.
  • Simple, easy-to-use interface. Makes training new employees on the tool a quicker process.
  • Custom dimensions. Allows for flexibility in slicing and dicing your data in a way that's easily viewable directly in the tool.
  • Ad extensions - the process for adding/editing ad extensions is cumbersome and needs to be completed in both the tool and the engines themselves. Not consistently supported between extension type or even engines. Process for editing is not nuanced and not intuitive.
  • Pivoting features - it would be great if there were a pivot table-like functionality where you could look at aggregated data directly in the UI without having to pull a report.
  • Budget pacing - no budget pacing functionality is available which is a key piece of our day-to-day campaign management.
  • Bidding - bidding folders are clunky and do not support more nuanced/advanced calculations.
  • Data by device - the current format is extremely clunky and doesn't easily translate into an Excel or pivot table. This functionality needs to be improved and more consistent with the typical views in the UI.
  • Non-keyword based campaigns - the platform does not support direct UI management of non-KW based campaigns such as YouTube and GDN display.
Key questions to ask:
-White glove service - set up expectations in advance. It's difficult to get a straight answer when reps keep sending you to the generic help section or insist that you dial the customer service line.
-Integration with third-party tracking services - the Marin tracking pixel is not always the answer for clients but certain functionalities will be limited if you don't use their proprietary conversion pixel.
-Expectations around what can/can't be managed in Marin - such as YouTube, GDN banners, dynamic remarketing, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 12, 2014

"Marin Software Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin Software allows for easy management across multiple accounts with automation features like scheduling, bid automation, and reporting.
  • Reporting both automated and web query based reporting into excel
  • Campaign management and ad, keyword, campaign scheduling
  • Bid automation
  • KPI reporting
Larger agencies will benefit the most from the enterprise level or those needing to make bulk changes. Also, those in need of data directly imported into Excel for reporting will benefit greatly from the Excel web query function.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 04, 2014

Marin Software Review: "Old search guy's thoughts"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I liked Marin Software at MediaCom as it really help me update and maintain my client accounts and campaigns. As a search specialist, I was charged with bulk uploading and making optimizations with Marin. this really helped me to cut down the time of using multiple interfaces. It is currently being used across the department when the client approves the request.
  • Bulk upload
  • Campaign optimizations
  • Insights
  • Unclear mandatory columns in bulk uplaod feature
It was always appropriate to use this
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 09, 2014

Review: "Marin Software - Powerful Bidding & Optimization at Scale"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Marin Software is being used as our cross-publisher tracking, optimization, and reporting platform. Especially as we continue expanding our paid search globally, having the flexibility to make changes at scale was very important to us. We adopted the app to address the several publishers we work with as well as for its integration features.
  • API feed for importing back-end analytics data into the app
  • Ability to use the filtering function to cross-segment performance data
  • Customized reporting module so reporting can be tailored for specific geographic regions/audiences within the organization
  • Customizable bidding folders to target multiple conversion CPAs
  • Better creative development functionality for Facebook
  • Expansion and development to integrate with other social channels
  • Salesforce/CRM integration
Marin is most effective when search campaigns carry a large budget, have more complex conversion goals, or operate across multiple publishers. As a rule of thumb, Marin and other bid management softwares are best suited for situations where editing with tools like AdWords Editor is no longer time-efficient or where changes need to be made cross-publisher.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 17, 2014

Marin Software Review: "Marin"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Marin at iProspect on many of our large accounts. Personally I used Marin software for daily bid changes and ad creation within both Bing and Google ads. Marin was a huge help to make changes quickly and efficiently within Bing Adcenter and Google AdWords. Marin also provides several steps of checks and balances so you make the correct changes without screwing things up.
  • Bid changes were very easy
  • Creating keywords was seamless as you just uploaded a spreadsheet with all info
  • Ad creation was easy to either create a new ad or duplicate old ads for small changes
  • The color scheme on the dashboard was hard to read
  • Sometimes errors come through without explanation of what went wrong in the uplaod
  • The training was long and not too helpful
Marin software is a good fit for any large client looking to work within Adwords and Bing for digital marketing. Marin allows you to make many bulk changes at once with simple uploads and the reporting is seamless.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 16, 2014

Marin Software Review: "It saves so much time"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Marin Software to manage cross channel campaigns, including Google, Bing and more. The tool helps us to manage all campaigns in one place, and compare different publisher's performance side by side.
  • Bulk upload to edit multiple campaigns, ad groups, keywords...
  • Group campaigns in bidding folders and set your own bidding strategy based on business goals
  • Group campaigns in dimensions to compare performance and implement AB tests
  • Would be greater if Marin can segment out data by device. Eg: compare CTR by desktop and mobile and see trend over time
  • The ability to view different dimensions side by side in the Dimensions tab
  • The ability to view graph for filtered data
If you have a lot of campaigns and/or across multiple publishers, using Marin will help you keep campaigns in one place and watch performance more easily. But if you have a small account, it's not necessary to pay that much for it.
Read this authenticated review

About Marin Software

Marin Software is a very popular cloud-based cross-channel marketing advertising campaign management platform which integrates many tools and functions, and it is the name of the company in San Francisco that issues the software. Marin touts cross-display (including mobile-optimized) advertisement retargeting, social marketing management, and many other tools to manage complex marketing and paid-advertising (PPC) efforts.

A free trial of this extensive platform is available. Marin Software maintains a client list with many familiar entitities, like GAP, Macy's, Comcast, Symantec, and many agencies as well.

Marin Software Integrations

Oracle DMP (Bluekai)

Marin Software Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Marin Software Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No