Salesforce CPQ Reviews

78 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-35 of 35)

Marcus Sandelowsky, CLSSBB | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2015

Great tool that is making everyone's lives a LOT easier!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Steelbrick is being used directly by our sales team and our finance and executive teams are receiving information out of it. We have a very complicated setup in terms of products and pricing. All of my company's contracts have just slightly different terms (i.e. product 3 is 25% of the sum of products 2 and 3 for client one but 30% for client two but 20% with a $5000 minimum for client 3). With some creative problem solving assistance from our implementation team, we were able to make it so that our Sales team only sees the products associated with each client and gets all of the product calculations to function appropriately. What this means is that we have reduced the opportunity for error to virtually zero while also drastically reducing the amount of time sales has to wait for answers about pricing and the amount of time it takes to actually build/calculation costs.

  • Product bundling and pricing flexibility.
  • End user UI.
  • Document generation.
  • Templates can be difficult to build without HTML knowledge.
  • Some features, like Solution Groups, aren't built out yet or there is confusion about how it should be applied.
  • Multi-dimensional quoting needs to be much more robust.
If you have products where the costs are calculated, be as specific as possible. You may have to build custom fields on the product object to drive those calculations.
Read Marcus Sandelowsky, CLSSBB's full review
Christina Rowell | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 08, 2015

Global Quoting with SteelBrick

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a global company that was looking for a universal solution for our quoting process. Steelbrick is currently implemented and being used globally in our customer quoting process. The Salesforce quoting application left a lot of gaps in supporting our process, and SteelBrick was able to fill those gaps and give us a more user friendly and intuitive solution.
  • SteelBrick offers additional functionality with a small learning curve due to the applications development within the Salesforce platform
  • The ability to update information and changes back to the local ERP is amazing.
  • Streamlining the configuration process makes changes and updates seemless.
  • My catalog size and manufacturing requirements do not always fit the Steelbrick platform.
Not all quoting habits will fit this system, be sure you fully understand yours and the requirements. The 80/20 rule applies for me in this case. The application covers 80 percent of my needs - still trying to figure out that other 20.
Read Christina Rowell's full review
Rebecca Piatz | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2015

Easy to Pick Up and Implement

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using SteelBrick internally on our sales operations team for a couple of years, but we are about to roll it out to our entire sales team. Because of this, we've completely overhauled the set up we started with. Since we've been able to add things like product rules and approval processes, we can enable our sales reps to quote with very little assistance.
  • I can easily make field and layout changes to our products and quotes. This has allowed me to customize the tool a lot to fit our special pricing structure.
  • Their support team is amazing. Every question I've had has been answered clearly and quickly.
  • Their online support topics could be clearer. I've relied a lot on their support team because the directions online were not easy to understand.
  • We currently don't have a way to show pricing change year over year on a quote. Though, I hear this is coming on a future update.
We have found it to be very helpful for a straightforward quote; no special terms or changes in cost year over year. Our hope is that the sales team will begin to quote in a more standard way, as we've set everything up in Steelbrick CPQ, and less with special terms.
Read Rebecca Piatz's full review
Mark Gremban | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2015

Steelbrick from a beginner's perspective

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Steelbrick CPQ is being used by the sales department as the primary quoting and configuration tool.
  • The administrative tasks are relatively easy compared to previous CPQs I have been the administrator for. When new product rules or configuration changes are made they are reflected in real time as soon as you are done.
  • Steelbrick is user friendly, and reliable to account for our sales quoting needs.
  • I have been using Steelbrick for less than a year, and it is pretty easy to use. It would be great to have a more expansive knowledge base. I use support which has been great, but it would be good to have more documentation and videos or an admin guide.
  • Its configuration is easy, but there is not much complexity offered for the customization of the tool.
I would recommend Steelbrick for people looking for an easy to use CPQ, but for advanced customization I think Steelbrick has a ways to go.
Read Mark Gremban's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2017

Salesforce CPQ is Great! - With a Few Recommendations for Improvement...

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesforce CPQ is being used as the primary configurator and quote engine for the entire enterprise. We minimally use the pricing functionality. We switched over from Oracle Configurator a little under two years ago. We needed a tool that allowed us to build relatively complex bundle configurations without having to go through our PLM system for Sales BOM structure and have a system that can process a quote and push that data through all downstream documentation to fulfillment.
  • Salesforce CPQ is great for being able to quickly and easily build product bundles in an intuitive and visually appealing way.
  • The product catalog and ability to easily add fields to product records makes setting up products really simple and adds a lot of value to reporting within Salesforce.
  • Basic product and configuration rules are very easy to understand and set up.
  • More complex product and configuration rules seem overly complex. If any math is required in a rule, even simple quantity rules can very complicated.
  • Quote templates while easy to customize are very simple in their layout. We'd like to be able to have more dynamic and visually appealing quote templates.
  • Guided selling is lacking in very basic ways. You can't create questions with dependencies for "if this, then that" or an intuitive questionnaire or guided selling wizard.
Salesforce CPQ is very well suited for straightforward product configuration. Creating bundles is very quick, easy and intuitive, much easier than Oracle Configurator. I would love to see more functionality around guided selling and the ability to create more complex rules without all the complexity. Even creating rules to have the quantity of a product contribute to the quantity of another product is ridiculously complicated.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2018

SteelBricks!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using SteelBrick as our sales and upsells quote creator and processor. This was supposed be robust enough to handle our pricing options for [our] product and in the end, we decided on another solution. SteelBrick just didn't cut it for our needs at the time. I know others have had great experiences with it, but we didn't see the same results.
  • Definitely better than Excel, Word, or Google Docs.
  • The integration with Salesforce with is very nice.
  • Custom pricing options are an added benefit.
  • Customer service is lacking, especially compared to Salesforce.
  • Slow load times.
  • Does a poor job of highlighting when a field is incorrect or missing.
If you do a lot of large complex quotes, they can lag during processing/calculation.

This is not well suited for those who need a billing/quote system right out of the box. A lot of it feels over-complex and lacks structure.

Their support articles and resources are very limited and more often than not, outdated. The only real place to get help is in their forum where you would need to be a developer to understand and use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

Complicated with little support.

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Salesforce CPQ to quote customers on product purchases. We use quotes, quote templates, contracts, subscriptions, products, etc. to handle our ordering process which is quite manual. This is being used by the sales (inside and field reps) teams as well as myself as the Salesforce administrator, in that I have to fix quotes frequently and edit quotes based on our approval process issues.
  • CPQ, when it works properly, works well with approval process configurations. For example, quotes need to run through our approval process when a discount is over 25% on a particular quote.
  • CPQ allows for easy customizations when it comes to changing quotes on the fly - however, you must be using a stable price book in order for your sales team to be happy with this.
  • The Lightning user interface is attractive and looks easy to use for the sales team.
  • CPQ has caused more inconveniences for everyone than any of our other systems. Part of this is that our sales team doesn't have access to adequate training or support and neither do I as the new admin to Salesforce. Support tends to be awful unless you purchase the highest level of support that Salesforce provides, which is very pricey.
  • There are way too many objects and configurations involved in CPQ that I cannot handle this as an admin without training or support, but was tasked to do so; as a result, our system frequently miscalculates renewal pricing, doesn't properly activate contracts, confuses our sales team regarding start dates and end dates.
  • Our CPQ instance has been outdated for two years and as the admin, I haven't received any information about upgrading so I was never in-the-know about the fact that our instance is two years behind. I'm worried to upgrade without proper support because the entire system could be negatively affected.
  • Validation rules that were auto-created by the implementation of CPQ have worked against us. For example, opportunity amounts are based on product sum totals and discounts and terms, but if any one of these records has an error, it's extremely difficult to debug because of the amount of objects and rules and the lack of training.
Salesforce CPQ is well suited for sales teams with operations sub-teams or with organizations with more than one Salesforce admin that has been trained on properly using CPQ. Without training, time and resources are used in ways that prohibit us from moving quickly through the creation of quotes and gaining the customer. I would highly recommend getting trained, purchasing the support product that Salesforce provides, or using an implementation specialist that Salesforce recommends.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2017

Salesforce CPQ Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, CPQ is being utilized by our sales department across all verticals. We primarily use CPQ as our main engine to formulate proposals to our clients. CPQ allows us to address certain business issues such as: Allows for consistent pricing throughout our organization; avoid the need to utilize third party software or Excel pricing sheets; allows for one area to select price book, solutions, dating terms, and/or discounts, and a faster/effective way of creating proposals.
  • Ability to customize proposals base don your organization and products amongst different verticals
  • Configure quotes faster with greater accuracy
  • You don't have to leave your sales cloud to create proposals
  • Fully customize quotes. Currently, we have to rely on sales operations to make these changes, removing control from the sales rep or management team.
Well suited when dealing with different price books, multiple vertical pricing, and multiple products a client might be looking at
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

CPQ

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CPQ is being used throughout the North America sales organization. It was implemented about a year or so ago. We love it.
  • Cloud based
  • Can access this from anywhere and make changes anytime
  • Easy quote to order process
  • I would like to be able to download contracts from CPQ. We only have the functionality now for quotes.
  • Would like there to be an option for international ordering.
Any large sales organization where you need to quote things quickly and can access this from anywhere.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2015

The only quoting tool you'll need...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SteelBrick (QuoteQuickly) is used by my team to build quotes in SFDC. The native program provided did not have all the tools and functionality we needed to we have to look for an app that supported these specializations. It is used by my entire sales team, as well as some in marketing and accounting.
  • Customer Support
  • Customization
  • Price Rules
  • Variable, Custom Built Quote Templates
  • Ease of setup/admin (for those novice coders...)
SteelBrick has helped my sales team immensely. They are now able to build quotes to their specification without having to go to marketing for help. The support of the SteelBrick team is outstanding and they are always willing to help walk you through the processes or troubleshoot when things break. SFDC is great for lead funnels or basic quotes but if you need a more specialized or comprehensive quoting ability, SteelBrick gives you that option.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Quote sharing/sending (26)
8.3
Product configuration (26)
7.6
Configuration options (24)
8.0
Pricing rules (23)
7.5
Price adjustment (25)
7.3
Purchase history and open contracts (18)
8.1
Guided selling/Sales portal (16)
8.0
CPQ reporting & analytics (18)
7.9
CPQ-CRM integration (23)
8.4
Attachments to quotes (25)
8.3
Order capturing (9)
8.0

About Salesforce CPQ

Salesforce CPQ (formerly SteelBrick) is built and delivered on the Salesforce Platform and Salesforce1 Mobile App which enables users to create accurate sales quotes quickly and submit error-free orders on the fly from any device.

Salesforce CPQ Features

Has featurePRICE & QUOTE: Ensure consistent pricing and discounting. Generate customer-friendly quotes easily and accurately.
Has featurePROPOSALS & CONTRACTS: Create professional-looking branded proposals and contracts.
Has featureORDERS & RENEWALS: Automatically generate renewal quotes. Apply existing contracted terms and prices to add-on orders.
Has featurePRODUCT CONFIGURATOR: Configure products and services based on your business rules and logic.
Has featureGUIDED SELLING: Help your sales reps select the right products and services for each customer every time.
Has featureRESELLER CHANNELS: SteelBrick CPQ for Communities is an online selling platform that connects your resellers and distributors to your own sales processes and resources.

Salesforce CPQ Screenshots

Salesforce CPQ Integrations

DocuSign, Zuora, Salesforce CRM, EchoSign, Xactly

Salesforce CPQ Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$30Per User per Month
Professional$50Per User per Month
Enterprise$75Per User per Month

Salesforce CPQ Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Salesforce CPQ Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Salesforce CPQ Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Other: Salesforce1
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English