TrustRadius
Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP (enterprise resource planning) systems that does not focus exclusively on billing.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/xm/gR/PPGPVD6SEELC.JPEGZuora ReviewAt our organization, we use Zuora on our finance and business operations team -- primarily for invoicing customers and keeping track of accounts receivables. We also use Zuora a lot for some of our financial reporting. It is also very helpful during our standard audits, as they'll request a lot of information that is already stored in Zuora.,Invoices. Reports.,For the capacity that I use Zuora in, I have no complaints.,10,Reduce churnRobust product that works well for global businessesOur organization uses Zuora for billing our customers. The billing department uses it to automate billing, send billing email notifications, and update our CRM with billing information. Zuora is a robust tool that allows us to provide certain billing information like renewal dates in our CRM so that our renewals team can make sure our customers have a smooth renewal experience.,Zuora integrates well with our CRM Zuora is built to allow customization which is a must for our products. Zuora allows us to send email notifications to our customers before their renewal date so they are reminded they are up for renewal.,While Zuora allows for billing notifications, the ability to segment who those emails go to is limited. We need to able to breakdown notifications by state/province, language, country, and other traits, but right now those breakdowns are limited to just country. It's nice that Zuora is robust and has so many features, but that also makes it challenging to train new users.,8,Zuora has allowed us to bill customers all over the world with custom invoices, billing messages, and pricing.,Expand into a new geographic area,Great Subscription Management SoftwareZuora is used as our complete end to end billing, payment, and sub-ledger and is currently in one of our regions with the view to expand this product to all regions around the world in a staged rollout. Zuora allows us to focus on building products and solutions for our customers and team by providing a product that is flexible and scalable to meet our needs. Zuora's ability to quickly build products for our customers and release into production allows us to stay relevant in today's business world.,Flexibility with the product catalog. Once you understand the product catalog and its capabilities, the possibilities are endless. You are able to spin up new products quickly and test new ideas with minimal development time. API focus. Zuora API focus allows us to step away from the Zuora UI and build our own platform over the top of Zuora reducing ambiguity for our customers and team Constant upgrades - Zuora is continually adding to its product and listening to its customers to build a product that is leading the way in the subscription economy,User Interface - Zuora's UI is still a weak point, however, this is negated through the use of its API's. Zuora has done a lot of work in releasing new products to limit its UI experience and the addition of Orders allows for more functionality to reduce the UI issue. Complex system - This is both a pro and a con, but in this instance, it is a con because we may not have taken the time to truly understand the implications of all the options that were available. the Flexibility is great however if you do not take the time to understand the product and what problem you are trying to solve, you can make life difficult for yourself later down the track. Take the time to map out your approach end to end and ensure your assumptions at the start are robust. Reporting - reporting is weak as such we have moved away to our own reporting data warehouse.,9,Zuora has a large amount of flexibility and customization, we did not see this at first however as time has gone on we have discovered an endless way to solve our problems. We have both simplified our product catalog to solve complex problems and at the same time leveraged Zuora's flexible charge options to solve other problems. The ability to do both is open to your creativity and the team will be able to guide you on the different ways to use Zuora.,Expand into a new geographic area Change pricing and packaging modelZuora - managing subscriptions and headachesZuora is used to manage Subscriptions of our SaaS offerings. It is used by our Sales, Accounting, Finance & Accounting, and Collections Department. Zuora helps manage our subscriptions and have a lot of features to make management of these subscriptions easy. It integrates well with our SalesForce platform and allows us to make changes to subscriptions with a user-friendly UI. There is an audit log to show the different versions of a subscription.,The implementation of Zuora is very helpful. Their interactive training guides are one of the best I've used. It is very thorough and any salesperson can learn how to use it very quickly. Their subscription management offers many ways to sell a subscription. These subscriptions can be evergreen (renewing every month) or termed subscriptions. The subscriptions can be amended to add/remove products very easily. The ability to quickly pass through large amounts of usage data for our clients is allowing us to perform billing in a time-effective manner. Once usage data is loaded, a few clicks and all of the invoices for our client base can be generated. Invoices are clean and detailed which help us maintain a good customer experience even with our somewhat complex billing model. The reporting is extremely helpful in calculating the end of month commissions, recognizing and deferring revenue, and overall bookkeeping.,Zuora's revenue recognition is no longer in compliance with GAAP ASC606 if you plan on using Zuora to do revenue recognition. They acquired RevPro in which RevPro will be compliant with the new accounting standard. However, RevPro is a separate software and will cost money. To my knowledge, it is not in Zuora's roadmap to configure Zuora's revenue recognition features to be compliant with the new revenue accounting standard. Zuora's reporting needs some improvement to help measure churn. Several reports need to be run and manipulated in excel to see which clients canceled their subscriptions, turned their auto-renew off, or removed a product from their subscription. To us, all of that is considered churn and there is no way for Zuora to measure all 3 in a single report. There are also many clicks I have to make to accomplish a small task. Of all the software I have used for work, it is easily the one that took the most training. I still don't have it figured out a few months in.,9,Compared to the billing system that we were using previously, Zuora has helped solved our Accounts Receivable problem where credit cards that we had on file would hard decline and we had no good way to update client information or send client communication to update their information. Our write off to collections has decreased significantly.,Cross-sell and upsell additional products Reduce churn,QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions and BraintreeGreat tool for short, simple subscriptionsZuora is a point solution for subscription billing. That's all it does, but that makes it a critical part of our business, managing our complex deals with customers, generating and delivering invoices and credits to them.,Consolidated invoicing High-volume, complex subscription management,The user interface is a disaster. There are many things that make no sense, such as clicking on a hyperlinked Subscription number that takes you to an invoice instead of the subscription. Extremely limited customization capability to improve poor UI Searching/reporting is very weak and difficult to use. The format of exported data is at least different than what many other systems tend to use. I find it unintuitive and difficult to manipulate or perform tasks such as vlookups and filtering; perhaps it's really smart and I just don't get it The concept of a credit memo does not exist...yet. They keep promising it but have not delivered. Their solution has been Invoice Adjustments and Invoice Item Adjustments, which at least don't make sense for my business.,6,The packaging functionality in Zuora works well in that it's easy to identify a set of products for a given customer and have them roll up into a custom package on the invoice. The pricing feature is suitable for us, as well, but, for us, requires a lot of touching; hard to blame Zuora for that since our world is simply more complicated.,Cross-sell and upsell additional products,NetSuite and Salesforce CPQ (formerly SteelBrick)
Unspecified
Zuora
249 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Zuora Reviews

Zuora
249 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 249 vetted Zuora reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 129)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Andy Chu profile photo
May 09, 2019

"Zuora Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our organization, we use Zuora on our finance and business operations team -- primarily for invoicing customers and keeping track of accounts receivables. We also use Zuora a lot for some of our financial reporting. It is also very helpful during our standard audits, as they'll request a lot of information that is already stored in Zuora.
  • Invoices.
  • Reports.
  • For the capacity that I use Zuora in, I have no complaints.
When I need to know whether a customer has paid or not, I refer to Zuora for the payment status. It's great to have a single source of truth to go to and determine the history of an account (when they were signed, when they were first invoiced, when they first paid, how they pay, etc.).
Read Andy Chu's full review
No photo available
January 09, 2019

Zuora Review: "Robust product that works well for global businesses"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Zuora for billing our customers. The billing department uses it to automate billing, send billing email notifications, and update our CRM with billing information. Zuora is a robust tool that allows us to provide certain billing information like renewal dates in our CRM so that our renewals team can make sure our customers have a smooth renewal experience.
  • Zuora integrates well with our CRM
  • Zuora is built to allow customization which is a must for our products.
  • Zuora allows us to send email notifications to our customers before their renewal date so they are reminded they are up for renewal.
  • While Zuora allows for billing notifications, the ability to segment who those emails go to is limited. We need to able to breakdown notifications by state/province, language, country, and other traits, but right now those breakdowns are limited to just country.
  • It's nice that Zuora is robust and has so many features, but that also makes it challenging to train new users.
Zuora is a great tool for subscription businesses to be able to bill their customers. We have a global business and bill in many currencies and need to notify our customers in many languages. Zuora allows us to be able to bill at different rates and in different currencies. The one challenge we have is we need to be able to break down communications based on specific detailed traits and Zuora is limited in how detailed you can get in segmenting your billing notices.
Read this authenticated review
Dirk Miller profile photo
July 03, 2018

Zuora Review: "Great Subscription Management Software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used as our complete end to end billing, payment, and sub-ledger and is currently in one of our regions with the view to expand this product to all regions around the world in a staged rollout. Zuora allows us to focus on building products and solutions for our customers and team by providing a product that is flexible and scalable to meet our needs. Zuora's ability to quickly build products for our customers and release into production allows us to stay relevant in today's business world.
  • Flexibility with the product catalog. Once you understand the product catalog and its capabilities, the possibilities are endless. You are able to spin up new products quickly and test new ideas with minimal development time.
  • API focus. Zuora API focus allows us to step away from the Zuora UI and build our own platform over the top of Zuora reducing ambiguity for our customers and team
  • Constant upgrades - Zuora is continually adding to its product and listening to its customers to build a product that is leading the way in the subscription economy
  • User Interface - Zuora's UI is still a weak point, however, this is negated through the use of its API's. Zuora has done a lot of work in releasing new products to limit its UI experience and the addition of Orders allows for more functionality to reduce the UI issue.
  • Complex system - This is both a pro and a con, but in this instance, it is a con because we may not have taken the time to truly understand the implications of all the options that were available. the Flexibility is great however if you do not take the time to understand the product and what problem you are trying to solve, you can make life difficult for yourself later down the track. Take the time to map out your approach end to end and ensure your assumptions at the start are robust.
  • Reporting - reporting is weak as such we have moved away to our own reporting data warehouse.
In terms of managing a subscription business, there is nothing better. For more complex businesses, with multiple locations and multiple products, Zuora can still fit your needs, however, please give consideration to setting up your product catalog first before progressing. This will save you time and money and will allow you to get the most out of Zuora. Zuora has a large amount of flexibility once you understand the product and a sound understanding of the product catalog is crucial to the success of your business. Zuora pushes you to simplify your business and focus on what matters for your customers.
Read Dirk Miller's full review
No photo available
July 12, 2018

Review: "Zuora - managing subscriptions and headaches"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used to manage Subscriptions of our SaaS offerings. It is used by our Sales, Accounting, Finance & Accounting, and Collections Department. Zuora helps manage our subscriptions and have a lot of features to make management of these subscriptions easy. It integrates well with our SalesForce platform and allows us to make changes to subscriptions with a user-friendly UI. There is an audit log to show the different versions of a subscription.
  • The implementation of Zuora is very helpful. Their interactive training guides are one of the best I've used. It is very thorough and any salesperson can learn how to use it very quickly.
  • Their subscription management offers many ways to sell a subscription. These subscriptions can be evergreen (renewing every month) or termed subscriptions. The subscriptions can be amended to add/remove products very easily.
  • The ability to quickly pass through large amounts of usage data for our clients is allowing us to perform billing in a time-effective manner. Once usage data is loaded, a few clicks and all of the invoices for our client base can be generated. Invoices are clean and detailed which help us maintain a good customer experience even with our somewhat complex billing model. The reporting is extremely helpful in calculating the end of month commissions, recognizing and deferring revenue, and overall bookkeeping.
  • Zuora's revenue recognition is no longer in compliance with GAAP ASC606 if you plan on using Zuora to do revenue recognition. They acquired RevPro in which RevPro will be compliant with the new accounting standard. However, RevPro is a separate software and will cost money. To my knowledge, it is not in Zuora's roadmap to configure Zuora's revenue recognition features to be compliant with the new revenue accounting standard.
  • Zuora's reporting needs some improvement to help measure churn. Several reports need to be run and manipulated in excel to see which clients canceled their subscriptions, turned their auto-renew off, or removed a product from their subscription. To us, all of that is considered churn and there is no way for Zuora to measure all 3 in a single report.
  • There are also many clicks I have to make to accomplish a small task. Of all the software I have used for work, it is easily the one that took the most training. I still don't have it figured out a few months in.
If your company processes a large volume of transactions, Zuora is well-suited for you. In addition, if you need to make changes to subscriptions to your customers frequently or track usage in order to bill clients, Zuora has the capability to do so. If your company goes through any kind of audits, Zuora's audit log may come in handy. Zuora does cost quite a bit so if your company doesn't process a large volume of transactions or make many changes to subscriptions, it may not be worth the investment.
Read this authenticated review
Joshua Henke profile photo
May 09, 2018

Zuora Review: "Great tool for short, simple subscriptions"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is a point solution for subscription billing. That's all it does, but that makes it a critical part of our business, managing our complex deals with customers, generating and delivering invoices and credits to them.
  • Consolidated invoicing
  • High-volume, complex subscription management
  • The user interface is a disaster. There are many things that make no sense, such as clicking on a hyperlinked Subscription number that takes you to an invoice instead of the subscription.
  • Extremely limited customization capability to improve poor UI
  • Searching/reporting is very weak and difficult to use. The format of exported data is at least different than what many other systems tend to use. I find it unintuitive and difficult to manipulate or perform tasks such as vlookups and filtering; perhaps it's really smart and I just don't get it
  • The concept of a credit memo does not exist...yet. They keep promising it but have not delivered. Their solution has been Invoice Adjustments and Invoice Item Adjustments, which at least don't make sense for my business.
Zuora is a subscription tool. It is very focused and should probably stay that way. I think there is a good reason many businesses are choosing Zuora, but I think they'll be in for a disappointment in many areas, those I've listed in the Cons section of this review. If they make some drastic improvements to the UI, my users will be much more pleased, like removing a little rock out of your shoe.

For a simple subscription business, Zuora is a great tool. If you get into multi-year subscriptions (known to be multi-year from inception), there are challenges, particularly related to revenue recognition, amendments, and, especially, future-dated amendments.
Read Joshua Henke's full review
Anthony Hewitt profile photo
December 14, 2017

Zuora Review: "Does exactly what it says on the tin!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a SaaS business and use Zuora to manage all our subscriptions. From original quotes in Salesforce, to regular invoicing and payment collections, to feeding back subscription and customer information back to Salesforce to enable our customer success, support and billing departments to have all the information they need to hand. The great thing is once the original subscription is created from the quote input is minimal and it just does its job. Invoices and payment collections just work automatically in the background and we only get involved when there are exceptions to deal with. Its great to know you can rely on it and have your focus on other areas of the business. Recent changes have helped improve the way we use Zuora with multi-currency, CPQ and the Insights reporting being the standout areas. Software is not everything and the team at Zuora are always open and willing to help when change comes around and the annual Subscribed event is a MUST for anyone in the subscription economy. I am always happy to recommend Zuora as its years ahead of any competition.
  • The CPQ quote engine makes our quoting much simpler and allows us to configure quotes quickly. The added advantage is it allows to turn the quotes in to subscriptions at the click of a button when the business is won.
  • One of the great things is the one you least think about. It simply sits in the background and does its job. Each subscription is configured to be invoiced and payments collected on daily schedules. We only know when things aren't right - which is rare.
  • Having the subscription information in Salesforce is a godsend. We have used the power of Salesforce workflows, formulas, reporting etc to make this data work for our customer-facing teams.
  • My only con at this point is the speed of the support in the UK - needs to be quicker.
  • In the past reporting has been an issue but with the Insights addition, that challenge has now gone away.
Any business that has a need to manage subscriptions needs Zuora. Whether they are a start-up subscription business or an existing business looking to change their product or service to a subscription model then Zuora is the one to look at.
Read Anthony Hewitt's full review
Andrew Keith profile photo
December 14, 2017

Review: "Zuora -- The Best Billing System Out There!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ClearCare uses Zuora for our entire quote-to-cash process. We use Z-Quotes for our SalesForce quoting integration, which allows our sales reps to book their orders in SalesForce, and send the subscription to Zuora for invoicing and collection. We also use Zuora for our month-end reporting. Last year we also implemented usage records feeding directly from our API into Zuora, which allows us to bill much easier.

Zuora is used solely by the Finance department. Zuora addresses the problem of manual processes in the finance department. We've been able to automate nearly everything, which saves us a lot of time to work on other priorities. Thank you Zuora!
  • Quote-to-cash
  • Automated billing and payment runs
  • Allows information to feed directly from API integration
  • Payment gateways, payment method updater, etc.
  • Insights are way too expensive. Should not have to spend $250,000/year for dashboard metrics.
  • Add-on products are all too expensive.
  • The platform itself is too expensive. We nearly did not renew last year solely due to the cost.
If your company bills based on subscriptions and/or usage, you should use Zuora. It allows your client data to feed directly from your back-end into Zuora's tiered subscriptions.
Read Andrew Keith's full review
No photo available
March 07, 2018

User Review: "Zuora Does A Lot"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization is using Zuora from sales to fulfillment. It allows us to effectively bill on a recurring basis.
  • Products are easy to use and create with Zuora
  • Much customization from email templates to billing to products.
  • Recurring billing and reporting.
  • They don't have very many out of the box payment plan options so that takes a lot of work to set up.
  • Back end functions and making billing/subscription modifications are complicated.
  • No list price field for products, at least with how we are using it so we had to build a workaround to have a visible list price.
If you do a lot of recurring billing with little customization then Zuora would probably be a good fit.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

Review: "Zuora gets the job done, but you'll pay for it"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for managing our SaaS-based subscriptions and billing. All departments that interact with the customer have some interaction with Zuora, including Sales, Finance, Accounting, Customer Success, and Information Systems.
  • Zuora is great for providing structure to subscription management.
  • Zuora is integrated with Salesforce.com, which we use as our CRM.
  • Zuora is great at tracking changes made to a subscription.
  • The user interface is behind the times.
  • Making change to a subscription is very painful.
  • Finding the information you need can be difficult.
Zuora was difficult for us to implement, because we already had a history of SaaS, so we had a moving target in getting up and running. I would recommend having a strong focus on getting it up and running as quickly as possible, as time only makes it more difficult.
Read this authenticated review
Daniela Scarpa profile photo
August 14, 2017

User Review: "Zuora great for global finance team"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have now implemented ZUORA across the globe for our mulit national company.
Good to see the new multi entity option now introduced.
  • ZUORA is brilliant at batch invoicing allowing you to perform an invoice to run for many customers at the one time.
  • ZUORA does not handle corrections/CNs so well and this is often a manual task that could improve.
ZUORA works brilliantly for us where we charge customers based on different usage each month.
Read Daniela Scarpa's full review
Yuri Anischenko profile photo
August 10, 2017

Review: "Zuora is the best subscription management solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used by the billing department. It addresses subscription domain related problems: recurring payments, prorations, subscription solution, discounts on subscription, credits, invoicing, and reporting.
  • Zuora customer support and professional consulting support is really great. They are focused to solve customers problems.
  • Very reliable; they meet SLAs. We had quite a few problems in production and Zuora support was on top of the things during short outage times.
  • Subscription domain model is well designed. REST API is quite easy to understand because of that.
  • Reporting is very UI intensive. There is no way to export a report to some maintainable format.
  • Ability to export/import configurations and product catalog. We maintained multiple zuora environments: DEV, QA, TEST, STAGE, PRODUCTION. Each environment required very UI intensive error-prone manual configuration. It caused us many issues.
  • It was quite painful to incorporate legacy tax engine that wasn't supported by zuora out of the box.
If you need to handle recurring payments and zuora already supports your desired tax and customer support provider then pick zuora as your subscription solution.
Read Yuri Anischenko's full review
Debashis Jena profile photo
July 18, 2017

User Review: "Tha aura of zuora"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used as our core billing system by the whole organization.
  • Excellent subscription system
  • Data quality
  • Payment Options - Cash/Credit Balance
  • Integration with Salesforce needs to be improved a little bit. The zuora to SFDC sync has issues all the time.
  • Few key objects do not get synced to salesforce, example: Invoice Item Adjustment, Credit Balance Adjustment
  • Handling installment payments with single invoice. We had to do custom coding for that.
[Zuora is well suited for] Subscriptions.
Read Debashis Jena's full review
No photo available
June 06, 2017

Review: "Zuora and Salesforce: How we Automated our Billing Process"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zuora for our monthly invoicing as well as revenue reporting. We leverage the Zuora for Salesforce functionality so that our sales people build Zuora quotes within Salesforce which sync to Zuora automatically once a customer becomes billable.

Zuora allows us to automate our billing process as well as provides flexibility to adjust our products and prices, which was much more limited using out of the box Salesforce opportunity products previously.
  • The sync with Salesforce. The ability for Zuora and Salesforce to sync eliminates manual transfer of data and areas of human error.
  • Flexibility of setup. With all the various types of products and different revenue recognition rules, Zuora allows us to set up the rules we need to fit our business model.
  • Ease of use. Creating and posting bill runs is simple and straight forward. With a few clicks of a button you are able to create and post invoices for all customers.
  • The service team. I have had a great experience working alongside the Zuora consultant team. They have been easy to work with and have the ability to suggest effective solutions to ensure Zuora meets our business requirements.
  • The new reporting module is definitely a step in the right direction, but the reporting module could still be better. Mirroring the drag and drop functionality of Salesforce would be great with the ability to create custom dashboards from the data. The 'run detail' vs 'run summary' reporting is a bit confusing. The 'Hide details' functionality in Salesforce would be better. Also, the fact that you can not provide a link directly to a Zuora report is pretty frustrating.
  • Ability to bulk import quotes from the SF side that integrates with Zuora. During our Zuora setup we were very surprised that the ability to bulk create Zuora quotes that sync to Zuora was not possible. This caused a real headache for our setup and it would be great if Zuora allowed for this.
Zuora is made for SaaS. I believe for companies using Salesforce it is highly suitable as it allows integration between sales and finance, which is at other times a black hole. We are still moving forward to use another tool for our general ledger system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 20, 2017

Zuora Review: "All in your hands!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora to manage customer accounts so we can have in one place all the information about account details, billing, invoicing, refunds, payments, cancellations, and discounts. It makes easy for customer support to investigate an account. You can search for customer account information, process cancellations, refunds and make any kind of adjustments.
  • You can manage subscriptions, for instance, really easily and keep your customer updated on any change thanks to the automatic notifications system.
  • Any change done on accounts is updated in real time.
  • It gives a lot of possible inputs to use in order to look for the required information.
  • Probably a nicer graphic layout.
In our specific case, payments, and subscriptions done in the mobile platform cannot be managed in Zuora. In thess cases, you cannot perform everything in Zuora. It is really fine when you can finish all your tasks in Zuora and be sure that it is all clearly recorded and trackable. This is at least in our case.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

Review: "Zuora is an okay product, but only if you have a limited amount of products to sell"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used as our CMS for invoicing and billing customers. Our billing and finance departments are the main users of zuora, however, we utilize the reporting capabilities across the entire organization. Zuora has a robust reports section that allows us to drill down to the product line-item so we can understand the usage of our customers.
  • Reporting is of great use to determine what products a customer is utilizing.
  • Being able to automatically generate invoices and send them out to clients is a main feature we use.
  • Zuora allows us to manage and maintain all aspects of our customer and their usage through a single interface.
  • While reporting is great, generating the reports you need could be a little easier.
  • Invoices can be quite long and confusing based on the services a client is utilizing.
  • Hard to read invoices.
Zuora is well suited if you need to integrate data into SalesForce or do not have many product SKU's. If you have too many product sku's, it can make it more difficult to understand the invoices from the client perspective.

If you need to understand what products your customers are utilizing, the reporting is great. It may just take you a while to get the right report.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2017

Review: "Zuora in a cloud-based subscription model"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora in a cloud-based environment to process online-payments. In the B2C field we support credit cards and PayPal, in B2B also wire transfers can be processed. It is primarily used to collect payments, issue refunds, send invoices and cancel or amend subscriptions. We also use it to search for payments when customers or companies report uncertain transactions.
  • Very good overview on customer-accounts startpage. All relevant information at first sight.
  • Convenient search for payments and customer-accounts.
  • Stable server availability.
  • We have synchronization issues with our database causing delays in payment and subscription statuses.
  • Some processes need to be confirmed too often. I don't want to be asked three times if I want to process a refund. Could save some clicks.
  • We have one annoying unresolved bug that allows Zuora to create more than one active subscription. This causes double-payments.
I'm not sure if it is the best solution for a subscription-based business. Single payments seem to be fine but reoccurring charges seem to cause problems. The search for a credit card by the last numbers, which is often the only information we get, is quite slow.

Overall I'm satisfied with the interface and daily operations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 18, 2017

Zuora Review: "Best for enterprise and complex sales processes"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[We use Zuora to] Capture credit card, select subscription level, integrate with salesforce, create invoices.
  • Integrates well with Salesforce CRM.
  • Allows high levels of flexibility for different payment schedules.
  • zuora is not "fast" and thus not a good solution for transactional sales processes like ours.
  • zuora is hard to understand for its average user, typically an accountant, outsourced cfo, etc.
  • zuora customer support is slow to respond when instant reply is typically desired.
  • zuora reporting is not on par with other start ups in the space and requires considerable learning and customization, leads to poor understanding of data trends.
Less appropriate: smb, transactional sales
More appropriate: enterprise, long cycle sales process that requires a lot of documentation
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2017

User Review: "Zuora is the best of the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for billing and it is used by various departments including: Finance/Accounting, Billing Support, Customer Support, Sales, and Product Dev. We switched from a home grown billing system to Zuora to improve invoicing, revenue recognition and the communication between our provisioning team and billing.
  • Bookings and Churn Reporting
  • Invoicing
  • Subscription tracking by customer
  • Reporting capability - user friendly building of reports
  • Improving invoicing for usage base recurring revenue
Well suited for a recurring revenue business with a large sales force supporting many dynamic customers.
Read this authenticated review
Venessa Harper profile photo
May 12, 2017

User Review: "My job is easier with Zuora!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used only by the finance department but 'feeds' into salesforce which is used company-wide. [It] deals very effectively with subscription businesses.
  • Very good with subscription invoicing - works out all amendments prorated according to but not limited to subscription start dates
  • Also great that with mid-contract cancellations - credits are automatically worked out and invoiced correctly
  • Once default rules are set up everything just runs automatically in the back ground
  • Links well with SalesForce
  • Reporting - I find both the old and the new reporting clumsy but actually preferred the old
  • Lack of Statements - why can I not pull a statement for an account that shows both the invoices and payments on the account?
  • The statement that you can pull individually for the invoices or credit balance on an account, just has way too much info on it to send to the customer - it needs to be simplified
Very good for subscription based business where you need to track recurring revenue.
Read Venessa Harper's full review
Mari Gregori profile photo
May 09, 2017

User Review: "Zuora - Great option!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is utilized by the revenue operations department for volume sales invoicing. Currently, it is implemented for two businesses within volume sales; potentially additional volume businesses will be migrated within this fiscal year. It addresses the need for automatic recurring billing, management of subscriptions and ease of credit card payment processing.
  • Modeling works well and meets any varied business model you need for high volume subscription intake.
  • Automatic recurring billing; reduces manual touch and enables billing team to focus on exception issues.
  • Reporting specifically for billing forecast; utilization of evergreen term with no end date creates a false/inaccurate reporting of monthly or quarterly forecasting.
  • Zoura quotes integration with Salesforce - this simply needs enhancements made to be more user-friendly and provide better details to error issues. It's frustrating at user levels to not be able to resolve more easily.
High volume automatic renewals in Zoura are strong. Multiple company entities are difficult to manage and also multiple Salesforce instances - enabling these to interface into 1 Zoura instance isn't viable currently.
Read Mari Gregori's full review
Mac Kern profile photo
December 07, 2016

User Review: "Subscription airline loves Zuora!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is the primary revenue and subscription management system at Surf Air. Zuora manages 100% of our invoicing and billings and is the primary source of revenue related data. Zuora manages the complexity of subscription management and invoicing that was previously managed through another third party and our home-grown reservation system together. At Surf Air, Zuora is used by the finance, technology, customer service and product strategy teams.
  • Subscription management
  • Customer outreach
  • Thought leadership
  • Order value reporting
  • Pricing structure for service
  • Capability to manage unique or complex subscriptions products
Zuora is very well suited for companies that are wishing to manage subscription based products. Zuora has the capability to act as a company's primary revenue and invoicing system or it is suitable to be one of many revenue generating systems depending on the products provided. Zuora's reporting tools are solid but lack some ease and clarity. A company may find it easier to extract data into a warehouse and then manipulate separately.
Read Mac Kern's full review
Carla Buggs profile photo
February 28, 2017

"Zuora Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for billing and A/R. It was great when we didn't have the volume. Now that we have a larger volume Zuora is not as compatible with our day to day needs. The reporting isn't the best.
  • Zuora is excellent for subscription based services. The AutoPay module works great!
  • Syncs well with Salesforce.
  • The ability to speak with someone would be great!
  • There should be an area for notes.
  • I'd love to be able to give myself a task right in the system instead of using my calendar.
I think Zuora overall is a great system. Since we are now CISCO we require a larger infrastructure. Zuora doesn't capture everything we need so we use it in conjunction with Bill.com and Netsuite. Zuora should allow payables as well. Please add this in the near future. I think it would make a great difference for startups. It would definitely put you in the game. It's a great system for billing.
Read Carla Buggs's full review
Tim Chingos profile photo
November 01, 2016

Review: "Zuora - a flexible billing platform for an ever-changing business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is Branch's billing engine. We're working with the Zuora API and our backend to determine how much and when to charge our customers. We leverage flat rate plans as well as usage based plans. We've integrated Zuora into Salesforce to empower sales reps to generate quotes and quickly close deals. Our billing support team manages customer accounts directly in the Zuora UI. Zuora is an extremely cross-functional product that touches product, sales, operations, and engineering.
  • Zuora makes it easy to set up various billing plans
  • Zuora is powerful enough to meet the demands of most billing models and methods
  • Zuora connects with Salesforce so sales reps never need to log into Zuora ever
  • Zuora has good documentation, allowing the technical team to execute
  • Zuora's basic email support can be very generic and lacking overall
  • The REST API and SOAP API are not comparable, making some development needs very challenging to meet
  • Zuora, like any complex software, requires close oversight and ownership, as there are tons of settings and things to configure
Zuora is built for subscription based sales models. Zuora makes it easy to charge customers on a recurring basis. Zuora is also set up well to calculate usage and charge customers accordingly. Zuora requires deep technical integration with a company's backend.

Zuora offers an out-of-the-box Salesforce integration. However, we needed to heavily customize it to ensure it met our needs.
Read Tim Chingos's full review
Eddie Cianci profile photo
October 12, 2016

"Zuora Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora has been brought on to be the single source of customer billing (across monthly, annual, credit card and manually invoiced subscribers).
  • Flexible product catalog - allows us to experiment with various pricing and packaging models.
  • Payment gateway agnostic - allowed us to port from our current system, while creating opportunities for alternative payment methods.
  • Multiple currencies - gives us the ability to expand internationally with support for local currencies.
  • API callbacks - allowed us to hook into existing transactional programs (CRM, ESP).
  • API is currently a bit of a mixed bag - between very low level SOAP calls and very high level REST calls. Ton of room for improvement here, including streamlining refund process / closing out unpaid invoices / other use-cased based scenarios (all require many steps.)
  • Learning curve - there's a lot to learn & master, some of which may require changing departmental processes.
  • Documentation is bit of a mixed bag - there's lots out there, but sometimes found in Community, sometimes found in Knowledge Center or the self-paced training materials. Would be great to reduce the time needed to arrive at an answer to a problem.
As a SaaS company, the majority of our customers are on evergreen monthly subscriptions. We would love to have seen greater control over hosted payment page fields, values and layouts.
Read Eddie Cianci's full review
Matthew Schmitt profile photo
December 30, 2016

Zuora Review: "Flexible, Effective Billing Platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is mainly used by our finance and billing departments to bill for high volume subscription and perpetual software sales. Our other departments use Zuora mainly for research purposes on customer accounts, especially our sales department.
  • Zuora handles high volume, routine transactions very well.
  • Zuora offers a great deal of flexibility on how a company bills its products.
  • Zuora offers a nice reporting package for finance users.
  • Zuora could use some improvements around billing for non-routine/one-off transactions.
As I said earlier, Zuora is great for high volume routine subscription transactions. I think Zuora is less suited when a company needs to make frequent changes to how they bill their products.
Read Matthew Schmitt's full review

About Zuora

Zuora is software for subscription businesses. The software is designed to provide an end-to-end subscription management solution that includes billing, finance, commerce and insights, helping users establish a subscription business model and establish, nurture, and monetize recurring customer relationships.

Zuora spans across commerce, billing, collections, revenue recognition, and analytics. The vendor says their products aim to help users:

  1. Go to market with their subscription offerings, then grow and retain their customer base across multiple channels
  2. Automate billing, collections, and revenue recognition to scale their business and support their go-to-market strategies
  3. Deeply understand their subscribers and the health of their business at all times

Zuora is headquartered in Foster City, CA with 11 offices around the world. The company services over 800 clients, including HP, Dell, Financial Times, Box, YP.com, Vivint, Hubspot, and Schneider Electric.

Categories:  Recurring Billing

Zuora Features

Has featureProduct Catalog
Has featureSubscriptions & Amendments
Has featureZuora for Salesforce
Has featureBilling & AR Settlement
Has featurePayment Processing
Has featureRevenue Recognition
Has featureGL Integration

Zuora Integrations

Zuora Competitors

Zuora Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No