TrustRadius
Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP (enterprise resource planning) systems that does not focus exclusively on billing.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/xm/gR/PPGPVD6SEELC.JPEGGreat Subscription Management SoftwareZuora is used as our complete end to end billing, payment, and sub-ledger and is currently in one of our regions with the view to expand this product to all regions around the world in a staged rollout. Zuora allows us to focus on building products and solutions for our customers and team by providing a product that is flexible and scalable to meet our needs. Zuora's ability to quickly build products for our customers and release into production allows us to stay relevant in today's business world.,Flexibility with the product catalog. Once you understand the product catalog and its capabilities, the possibilities are endless. You are able to spin up new products quickly and test new ideas with minimal development time. API focus. Zuora API focus allows us to step away from the Zuora UI and build our own platform over the top of Zuora reducing ambiguity for our customers and team Constant upgrades - Zuora is continually adding to its product and listening to its customers to build a product that is leading the way in the subscription economy,User Interface - Zuora's UI is still a weak point, however, this is negated through the use of its API's. Zuora has done a lot of work in releasing new products to limit its UI experience and the addition of Orders allows for more functionality to reduce the UI issue. Complex system - This is both a pro and a con, but in this instance, it is a con because we may not have taken the time to truly understand the implications of all the options that were available. the Flexibility is great however if you do not take the time to understand the product and what problem you are trying to solve, you can make life difficult for yourself later down the track. Take the time to map out your approach end to end and ensure your assumptions at the start are robust. Reporting - reporting is weak as such we have moved away to our own reporting data warehouse.,9,Zuora has a large amount of flexibility and customization, we did not see this at first however as time has gone on we have discovered an endless way to solve our problems. We have both simplified our product catalog to solve complex problems and at the same time leveraged Zuora's flexible charge options to solve other problems. The ability to do both is open to your creativity and the team will be able to guide you on the different ways to use Zuora.,Expand into a new geographic area Change pricing and packaging modelZuora - managing subscriptions and headachesZuora is used to manage Subscriptions of our SaaS offerings. It is used by our Sales, Accounting, Finance & Accounting, and Collections Department. Zuora helps manage our subscriptions and have a lot of features to make management of these subscriptions easy. It integrates well with our SalesForce platform and allows us to make changes to subscriptions with a user-friendly UI. There is an audit log to show the different versions of a subscription.,The implementation of Zuora is very helpful. Their interactive training guides are one of the best I've used. It is very thorough and any salesperson can learn how to use it very quickly. Their subscription management offers many ways to sell a subscription. These subscriptions can be evergreen (renewing every month) or termed subscriptions. The subscriptions can be amended to add/remove products very easily. The ability to quickly pass through large amounts of usage data for our clients is allowing us to perform billing in a time-effective manner. Once usage data is loaded, a few clicks and all of the invoices for our client base can be generated. Invoices are clean and detailed which help us maintain a good customer experience even with our somewhat complex billing model. The reporting is extremely helpful in calculating the end of month commissions, recognizing and deferring revenue, and overall bookkeeping.,Zuora's revenue recognition is no longer in compliance with GAAP ASC606 if you plan on using Zuora to do revenue recognition. They acquired RevPro in which RevPro will be compliant with the new accounting standard. However, RevPro is a separate software and will cost money. To my knowledge, it is not in Zuora's roadmap to configure Zuora's revenue recognition features to be compliant with the new revenue accounting standard. Zuora's reporting needs some improvement to help measure churn. Several reports need to be run and manipulated in excel to see which clients canceled their subscriptions, turned their auto-renew off, or removed a product from their subscription. To us, all of that is considered churn and there is no way for Zuora to measure all 3 in a single report. There are also many clicks I have to make to accomplish a small task. Of all the software I have used for work, it is easily the one that took the most training. I still don't have it figured out a few months in.,9,Compared to the billing system that we were using previously, Zuora has helped solved our Accounts Receivable problem where credit cards that we had on file would hard decline and we had no good way to update client information or send client communication to update their information. Our write off to collections has decreased significantly.,Cross-sell and upsell additional products Reduce churn,QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions and BraintreeGreat tool for short, simple subscriptionsZuora is a point solution for subscription billing. That's all it does, but that makes it a critical part of our business, managing our complex deals with customers, generating and delivering invoices and credits to them.,Consolidated invoicing High-volume, complex subscription management,The user interface is a disaster. There are many things that make no sense, such as clicking on a hyperlinked Subscription number that takes you to an invoice instead of the subscription. Extremely limited customization capability to improve poor UI Searching/reporting is very weak and difficult to use. The format of exported data is at least different than what many other systems tend to use. I find it unintuitive and difficult to manipulate or perform tasks such as vlookups and filtering; perhaps it's really smart and I just don't get it The concept of a credit memo does not exist...yet. They keep promising it but have not delivered. Their solution has been Invoice Adjustments and Invoice Item Adjustments, which at least don't make sense for my business.,6,The packaging functionality in Zuora works well in that it's easy to identify a set of products for a given customer and have them roll up into a custom package on the invoice. The pricing feature is suitable for us, as well, but, for us, requires a lot of touching; hard to blame Zuora for that since our world is simply more complicated.,Cross-sell and upsell additional products,NetSuite and Salesforce CPQ (formerly SteelBrick)Zuora Does A LotOur whole organization is using Zuora from sales to fulfillment. It allows us to effectively bill on a recurring basis.,Products are easy to use and create with Zuora Much customization from email templates to billing to products. Recurring billing and reporting.,They don't have very many out of the box payment plan options so that takes a lot of work to set up. Back end functions and making billing/subscription modifications are complicated. No list price field for products, at least with how we are using it so we had to build a workaround to have a visible list price.,7,We have achieved the flexibility with pricing and packaging but it was quite a big hurdle in our implementation because we do things differently and a lot of our pricing options required a lot of work to set up and get them functioning.,Grow the sales team,Zuora gets the job done, but you'll pay for itWe use Zuora for managing our SaaS-based subscriptions and billing. All departments that interact with the customer have some interaction with Zuora, including Sales, Finance, Accounting, Customer Success, and Information Systems.,Zuora is great for providing structure to subscription management. Zuora is integrated with Salesforce.com, which we use as our CRM. Zuora is great at tracking changes made to a subscription.,The user interface is behind the times. Making change to a subscription is very painful. Finding the information you need can be difficult.,7,The flexibility within the quoting process is a strong reason we went with Zuora, and it has accomplished that.,Grow the sales team Change pricing and packaging model Reduce churn Enable customer success,Salesforce CPQ (formerly SteelBrick)
Unspecified
Zuora
247 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Zuora Reviews

Zuora
247 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 247 vetted Zuora reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 127)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Dirk Miller profile photo
July 03, 2018

Zuora Review: "Great Subscription Management Software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used as our complete end to end billing, payment, and sub-ledger and is currently in one of our regions with the view to expand this product to all regions around the world in a staged rollout. Zuora allows us to focus on building products and solutions for our customers and team by providing a product that is flexible and scalable to meet our needs. Zuora's ability to quickly build products for our customers and release into production allows us to stay relevant in today's business world.
  • Flexibility with the product catalog. Once you understand the product catalog and its capabilities, the possibilities are endless. You are able to spin up new products quickly and test new ideas with minimal development time.
  • API focus. Zuora API focus allows us to step away from the Zuora UI and build our own platform over the top of Zuora reducing ambiguity for our customers and team
  • Constant upgrades - Zuora is continually adding to its product and listening to its customers to build a product that is leading the way in the subscription economy
  • User Interface - Zuora's UI is still a weak point, however, this is negated through the use of its API's. Zuora has done a lot of work in releasing new products to limit its UI experience and the addition of Orders allows for more functionality to reduce the UI issue.
  • Complex system - This is both a pro and a con, but in this instance, it is a con because we may not have taken the time to truly understand the implications of all the options that were available. the Flexibility is great however if you do not take the time to understand the product and what problem you are trying to solve, you can make life difficult for yourself later down the track. Take the time to map out your approach end to end and ensure your assumptions at the start are robust.
  • Reporting - reporting is weak as such we have moved away to our own reporting data warehouse.
In terms of managing a subscription business, there is nothing better. For more complex businesses, with multiple locations and multiple products, Zuora can still fit your needs, however, please give consideration to setting up your product catalog first before progressing. This will save you time and money and will allow you to get the most out of Zuora. Zuora has a large amount of flexibility once you understand the product and a sound understanding of the product catalog is crucial to the success of your business. Zuora pushes you to simplify your business and focus on what matters for your customers.
Read Dirk Miller's full review
No photo available
July 12, 2018

Review: "Zuora - managing subscriptions and headaches"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used to manage Subscriptions of our SaaS offerings. It is used by our Sales, Accounting, Finance & Accounting, and Collections Department. Zuora helps manage our subscriptions and have a lot of features to make management of these subscriptions easy. It integrates well with our SalesForce platform and allows us to make changes to subscriptions with a user-friendly UI. There is an audit log to show the different versions of a subscription.
  • The implementation of Zuora is very helpful. Their interactive training guides are one of the best I've used. It is very thorough and any salesperson can learn how to use it very quickly.
  • Their subscription management offers many ways to sell a subscription. These subscriptions can be evergreen (renewing every month) or termed subscriptions. The subscriptions can be amended to add/remove products very easily.
  • The ability to quickly pass through large amounts of usage data for our clients is allowing us to perform billing in a time-effective manner. Once usage data is loaded, a few clicks and all of the invoices for our client base can be generated. Invoices are clean and detailed which help us maintain a good customer experience even with our somewhat complex billing model. The reporting is extremely helpful in calculating the end of month commissions, recognizing and deferring revenue, and overall bookkeeping.
  • Zuora's revenue recognition is no longer in compliance with GAAP ASC606 if you plan on using Zuora to do revenue recognition. They acquired RevPro in which RevPro will be compliant with the new accounting standard. However, RevPro is a separate software and will cost money. To my knowledge, it is not in Zuora's roadmap to configure Zuora's revenue recognition features to be compliant with the new revenue accounting standard.
  • Zuora's reporting needs some improvement to help measure churn. Several reports need to be run and manipulated in excel to see which clients canceled their subscriptions, turned their auto-renew off, or removed a product from their subscription. To us, all of that is considered churn and there is no way for Zuora to measure all 3 in a single report.
  • There are also many clicks I have to make to accomplish a small task. Of all the software I have used for work, it is easily the one that took the most training. I still don't have it figured out a few months in.
If your company processes a large volume of transactions, Zuora is well-suited for you. In addition, if you need to make changes to subscriptions to your customers frequently or track usage in order to bill clients, Zuora has the capability to do so. If your company goes through any kind of audits, Zuora's audit log may come in handy. Zuora does cost quite a bit so if your company doesn't process a large volume of transactions or make many changes to subscriptions, it may not be worth the investment.
Read this authenticated review
Joshua Henke profile photo
May 09, 2018

Zuora Review: "Great tool for short, simple subscriptions"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is a point solution for subscription billing. That's all it does, but that makes it a critical part of our business, managing our complex deals with customers, generating and delivering invoices and credits to them.
  • Consolidated invoicing
  • High-volume, complex subscription management
  • The user interface is a disaster. There are many things that make no sense, such as clicking on a hyperlinked Subscription number that takes you to an invoice instead of the subscription.
  • Extremely limited customization capability to improve poor UI
  • Searching/reporting is very weak and difficult to use. The format of exported data is at least different than what many other systems tend to use. I find it unintuitive and difficult to manipulate or perform tasks such as vlookups and filtering; perhaps it's really smart and I just don't get it
  • The concept of a credit memo does not exist...yet. They keep promising it but have not delivered. Their solution has been Invoice Adjustments and Invoice Item Adjustments, which at least don't make sense for my business.
Zuora is a subscription tool. It is very focused and should probably stay that way. I think there is a good reason many businesses are choosing Zuora, but I think they'll be in for a disappointment in many areas, those I've listed in the Cons section of this review. If they make some drastic improvements to the UI, my users will be much more pleased, like removing a little rock out of your shoe.

For a simple subscription business, Zuora is a great tool. If you get into multi-year subscriptions (known to be multi-year from inception), there are challenges, particularly related to revenue recognition, amendments, and, especially, future-dated amendments.
Read Joshua Henke's full review
No photo available
March 07, 2018

User Review: "Zuora Does A Lot"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization is using Zuora from sales to fulfillment. It allows us to effectively bill on a recurring basis.
  • Products are easy to use and create with Zuora
  • Much customization from email templates to billing to products.
  • Recurring billing and reporting.
  • They don't have very many out of the box payment plan options so that takes a lot of work to set up.
  • Back end functions and making billing/subscription modifications are complicated.
  • No list price field for products, at least with how we are using it so we had to build a workaround to have a visible list price.
If you do a lot of recurring billing with little customization then Zuora would probably be a good fit.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

Review: "Zuora gets the job done, but you'll pay for it"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for managing our SaaS-based subscriptions and billing. All departments that interact with the customer have some interaction with Zuora, including Sales, Finance, Accounting, Customer Success, and Information Systems.
  • Zuora is great for providing structure to subscription management.
  • Zuora is integrated with Salesforce.com, which we use as our CRM.
  • Zuora is great at tracking changes made to a subscription.
  • The user interface is behind the times.
  • Making change to a subscription is very painful.
  • Finding the information you need can be difficult.
Zuora was difficult for us to implement, because we already had a history of SaaS, so we had a moving target in getting up and running. I would recommend having a strong focus on getting it up and running as quickly as possible, as time only makes it more difficult.
Read this authenticated review
Anthony Hewitt profile photo
December 14, 2017

Zuora Review: "Does exactly what it says on the tin!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a SaaS business and use Zuora to manage all our subscriptions. From original quotes in Salesforce, to regular invoicing and payment collections, to feeding back subscription and customer information back to Salesforce to enable our customer success, support and billing departments to have all the information they need to hand. The great thing is once the original subscription is created from the quote input is minimal and it just does its job. Invoices and payment collections just work automatically in the background and we only get involved when there are exceptions to deal with. Its great to know you can rely on it and have your focus on other areas of the business. Recent changes have helped improve the way we use Zuora with multi-currency, CPQ and the Insights reporting being the standout areas. Software is not everything and the team at Zuora are always open and willing to help when change comes around and the annual Subscribed event is a MUST for anyone in the subscription economy. I am always happy to recommend Zuora as its years ahead of any competition.
  • The CPQ quote engine makes our quoting much simpler and allows us to configure quotes quickly. The added advantage is it allows to turn the quotes in to subscriptions at the click of a button when the business is won.
  • One of the great things is the one you least think about. It simply sits in the background and does its job. Each subscription is configured to be invoiced and payments collected on daily schedules. We only know when things aren't right - which is rare.
  • Having the subscription information in Salesforce is a godsend. We have used the power of Salesforce workflows, formulas, reporting etc to make this data work for our customer-facing teams.
  • My only con at this point is the speed of the support in the UK - needs to be quicker.
  • In the past reporting has been an issue but with the Insights addition, that challenge has now gone away.
Any business that has a need to manage subscriptions needs Zuora. Whether they are a start-up subscription business or an existing business looking to change their product or service to a subscription model then Zuora is the one to look at.
Read Anthony Hewitt's full review
Andrew Keith profile photo
December 14, 2017

Review: "Zuora -- The Best Billing System Out There!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ClearCare uses Zuora for our entire quote-to-cash process. We use Z-Quotes for our SalesForce quoting integration, which allows our sales reps to book their orders in SalesForce, and send the subscription to Zuora for invoicing and collection. We also use Zuora for our month-end reporting. Last year we also implemented usage records feeding directly from our API into Zuora, which allows us to bill much easier.

Zuora is used solely by the Finance department. Zuora addresses the problem of manual processes in the finance department. We've been able to automate nearly everything, which saves us a lot of time to work on other priorities. Thank you Zuora!
  • Quote-to-cash
  • Automated billing and payment runs
  • Allows information to feed directly from API integration
  • Payment gateways, payment method updater, etc.
  • Insights are way too expensive. Should not have to spend $250,000/year for dashboard metrics.
  • Add-on products are all too expensive.
  • The platform itself is too expensive. We nearly did not renew last year solely due to the cost.
If your company bills based on subscriptions and/or usage, you should use Zuora. It allows your client data to feed directly from your back-end into Zuora's tiered subscriptions.
Read Andrew Keith's full review
Daniela Scarpa profile photo
August 14, 2017

User Review: "Zuora great for global finance team"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have now implemented ZUORA across the globe for our mulit national company.
Good to see the new multi entity option now introduced.
  • ZUORA is brilliant at batch invoicing allowing you to perform an invoice to run for many customers at the one time.
  • ZUORA does not handle corrections/CNs so well and this is often a manual task that could improve.
ZUORA works brilliantly for us where we charge customers based on different usage each month.
Read Daniela Scarpa's full review
Yuri Anischenko profile photo
August 10, 2017

Review: "Zuora is the best subscription management solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used by the billing department. It addresses subscription domain related problems: recurring payments, prorations, subscription solution, discounts on subscription, credits, invoicing, and reporting.
  • Zuora customer support and professional consulting support is really great. They are focused to solve customers problems.
  • Very reliable; they meet SLAs. We had quite a few problems in production and Zuora support was on top of the things during short outage times.
  • Subscription domain model is well designed. REST API is quite easy to understand because of that.
  • Reporting is very UI intensive. There is no way to export a report to some maintainable format.
  • Ability to export/import configurations and product catalog. We maintained multiple zuora environments: DEV, QA, TEST, STAGE, PRODUCTION. Each environment required very UI intensive error-prone manual configuration. It caused us many issues.
  • It was quite painful to incorporate legacy tax engine that wasn't supported by zuora out of the box.
If you need to handle recurring payments and zuora already supports your desired tax and customer support provider then pick zuora as your subscription solution.
Read Yuri Anischenko's full review
Debashis Jena profile photo
July 18, 2017

User Review: "Tha aura of zuora"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used as our core billing system by the whole organization.
  • Excellent subscription system
  • Data quality
  • Payment Options - Cash/Credit Balance
  • Integration with Salesforce needs to be improved a little bit. The zuora to SFDC sync has issues all the time.
  • Few key objects do not get synced to salesforce, example: Invoice Item Adjustment, Credit Balance Adjustment
  • Handling installment payments with single invoice. We had to do custom coding for that.
[Zuora is well suited for] Subscriptions.
Read Debashis Jena's full review
No photo available
August 20, 2017

Zuora Review: "All in your hands!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora to manage customer accounts so we can have in one place all the information about account details, billing, invoicing, refunds, payments, cancellations, and discounts. It makes easy for customer support to investigate an account. You can search for customer account information, process cancellations, refunds and make any kind of adjustments.
  • You can manage subscriptions, for instance, really easily and keep your customer updated on any change thanks to the automatic notifications system.
  • Any change done on accounts is updated in real time.
  • It gives a lot of possible inputs to use in order to look for the required information.
  • Probably a nicer graphic layout.
In our specific case, payments, and subscriptions done in the mobile platform cannot be managed in Zuora. In thess cases, you cannot perform everything in Zuora. It is really fine when you can finish all your tasks in Zuora and be sure that it is all clearly recorded and trackable. This is at least in our case.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 28, 2017

Review: "Zuora is an okay product, but only if you have a limited amount of products to sell"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used as our CMS for invoicing and billing customers. Our billing and finance departments are the main users of zuora, however, we utilize the reporting capabilities across the entire organization. Zuora has a robust reports section that allows us to drill down to the product line-item so we can understand the usage of our customers.
  • Reporting is of great use to determine what products a customer is utilizing.
  • Being able to automatically generate invoices and send them out to clients is a main feature we use.
  • Zuora allows us to manage and maintain all aspects of our customer and their usage through a single interface.
  • While reporting is great, generating the reports you need could be a little easier.
  • Invoices can be quite long and confusing based on the services a client is utilizing.
  • Hard to read invoices.
Zuora is well suited if you need to integrate data into SalesForce or do not have many product SKU's. If you have too many product sku's, it can make it more difficult to understand the invoices from the client perspective.

If you need to understand what products your customers are utilizing, the reporting is great. It may just take you a while to get the right report.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2017

Review: "Zuora in a cloud-based subscription model"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora in a cloud-based environment to process online-payments. In the B2C field we support credit cards and PayPal, in B2B also wire transfers can be processed. It is primarily used to collect payments, issue refunds, send invoices and cancel or amend subscriptions. We also use it to search for payments when customers or companies report uncertain transactions.
  • Very good overview on customer-accounts startpage. All relevant information at first sight.
  • Convenient search for payments and customer-accounts.
  • Stable server availability.
  • We have synchronization issues with our database causing delays in payment and subscription statuses.
  • Some processes need to be confirmed too often. I don't want to be asked three times if I want to process a refund. Could save some clicks.
  • We have one annoying unresolved bug that allows Zuora to create more than one active subscription. This causes double-payments.
I'm not sure if it is the best solution for a subscription-based business. Single payments seem to be fine but reoccurring charges seem to cause problems. The search for a credit card by the last numbers, which is often the only information we get, is quite slow.

Overall I'm satisfied with the interface and daily operations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 18, 2017

Zuora Review: "Best for enterprise and complex sales processes"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[We use Zuora to] Capture credit card, select subscription level, integrate with salesforce, create invoices.
  • Integrates well with Salesforce CRM.
  • Allows high levels of flexibility for different payment schedules.
  • zuora is not "fast" and thus not a good solution for transactional sales processes like ours.
  • zuora is hard to understand for its average user, typically an accountant, outsourced cfo, etc.
  • zuora customer support is slow to respond when instant reply is typically desired.
  • zuora reporting is not on par with other start ups in the space and requires considerable learning and customization, leads to poor understanding of data trends.
Less appropriate: smb, transactional sales
More appropriate: enterprise, long cycle sales process that requires a lot of documentation
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2017

User Review: "Zuora is the best of the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for billing and it is used by various departments including: Finance/Accounting, Billing Support, Customer Support, Sales, and Product Dev. We switched from a home grown billing system to Zuora to improve invoicing, revenue recognition and the communication between our provisioning team and billing.
  • Bookings and Churn Reporting
  • Invoicing
  • Subscription tracking by customer
  • Reporting capability - user friendly building of reports
  • Improving invoicing for usage base recurring revenue
Well suited for a recurring revenue business with a large sales force supporting many dynamic customers.
Read this authenticated review
Venessa Harper profile photo
May 12, 2017

User Review: "My job is easier with Zuora!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used only by the finance department but 'feeds' into salesforce which is used company-wide. [It] deals very effectively with subscription businesses.
  • Very good with subscription invoicing - works out all amendments prorated according to but not limited to subscription start dates
  • Also great that with mid-contract cancellations - credits are automatically worked out and invoiced correctly
  • Once default rules are set up everything just runs automatically in the back ground
  • Links well with SalesForce
  • Reporting - I find both the old and the new reporting clumsy but actually preferred the old
  • Lack of Statements - why can I not pull a statement for an account that shows both the invoices and payments on the account?
  • The statement that you can pull individually for the invoices or credit balance on an account, just has way too much info on it to send to the customer - it needs to be simplified
Very good for subscription based business where you need to track recurring revenue.
Read Venessa Harper's full review
Mari Gregori profile photo
May 09, 2017

User Review: "Zuora - Great option!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is utilized by the revenue operations department for volume sales invoicing. Currently, it is implemented for two businesses within volume sales; potentially additional volume businesses will be migrated within this fiscal year. It addresses the need for automatic recurring billing, management of subscriptions and ease of credit card payment processing.
  • Modeling works well and meets any varied business model you need for high volume subscription intake.
  • Automatic recurring billing; reduces manual touch and enables billing team to focus on exception issues.
  • Reporting specifically for billing forecast; utilization of evergreen term with no end date creates a false/inaccurate reporting of monthly or quarterly forecasting.
  • Zoura quotes integration with Salesforce - this simply needs enhancements made to be more user-friendly and provide better details to error issues. It's frustrating at user levels to not be able to resolve more easily.
High volume automatic renewals in Zoura are strong. Multiple company entities are difficult to manage and also multiple Salesforce instances - enabling these to interface into 1 Zoura instance isn't viable currently.
Read Mari Gregori's full review
Carla Buggs profile photo
February 28, 2017

"Zuora Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for billing and A/R. It was great when we didn't have the volume. Now that we have a larger volume Zuora is not as compatible with our day to day needs. The reporting isn't the best.
  • Zuora is excellent for subscription based services. The AutoPay module works great!
  • Syncs well with Salesforce.
  • The ability to speak with someone would be great!
  • There should be an area for notes.
  • I'd love to be able to give myself a task right in the system instead of using my calendar.
I think Zuora overall is a great system. Since we are now CISCO we require a larger infrastructure. Zuora doesn't capture everything we need so we use it in conjunction with Bill.com and Netsuite. Zuora should allow payables as well. Please add this in the near future. I think it would make a great difference for startups. It would definitely put you in the game. It's a great system for billing.
Read Carla Buggs's full review
Matthew Schmitt profile photo
December 30, 2016

Zuora Review: "Flexible, Effective Billing Platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is mainly used by our finance and billing departments to bill for high volume subscription and perpetual software sales. Our other departments use Zuora mainly for research purposes on customer accounts, especially our sales department.
  • Zuora handles high volume, routine transactions very well.
  • Zuora offers a great deal of flexibility on how a company bills its products.
  • Zuora offers a nice reporting package for finance users.
  • Zuora could use some improvements around billing for non-routine/one-off transactions.
As I said earlier, Zuora is great for high volume routine subscription transactions. I think Zuora is less suited when a company needs to make frequent changes to how they bill their products.
Read Matthew Schmitt's full review
selina zhang profile photo
December 15, 2016

Review: "Zuora is a great, while you do need internal IT resource to support it (able to code!)"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With the business expansion, we need to address the below issues:
1. Consolidate our billing from 3 different billing accounts from Freshbooks to 1 account, which Zuora allows.
2. Avoid reconciled deferred revenue/monthly recoginised revenue manually outside the billing system, which Zuora could help with.
3. Strong needs to show billing and payment information to other users in the business, not only the billing operation team. Zuora could sync back the billing information to Salesforce, and allow support team and sales team members to have access.
  • The Zuora consultants who I worked with during the implementation stages were extremely helpful. The system was chosen and the initial design was done before I was involved in the whole project of implementation process (with Zuora third party consultant which was not very competent); then we engaged Zuora consultant directly to customise more to suit our business, which turned out to be very helpful and efficient.
  • Highly recommended the feature of revenue recognition, saving us the pain to recognised deferred revenue for advance payment manually.
  • It is integrated to Salesforce and you could view the billing and payment information in salesforce.
  • Reports can be improved. We tried to report on customer number and net Monthly recurring revenue movement from month to month. We could not get all criteria in one report. We have to download the data (a few reports) to our data warehouse and put logics in to work it out. Before the data warehouse automation, we have to do it in Excel manually which is time-consuming.
  • Making amendments to subscriptions/accounts is time-consuming, it took a few step to perform one simple function. e.g. 1. currency change on the account requires cancellation of one account in one currency and set up a new account from scratch. 2. Changing the discount on the subscriptions need to remove the product and add the product back.
  • The product catalog flat fee one is designed based on $/unit, and not catering well for tiered pricing. e.g. property room between 21 to 50 having the same price for the product, but due to the room number difference, the unit price is different, and having rounding issue when we tried to show monthly fee.
  • Product catalog is not flexible enough. We offer monthly, quarterly, semi-annual and annual payment plan, and it is not a simple multiple your monthly fee by # of month. Billing frequency other than monthly is a different rateplan, and calculation has to be done manually outside before importing back to the system.
It suits straightforward product types without too much customisation. If you have a lot of customised products (same product, but different pricing structure for different suppliers), then the product catalog is harder to maintain.

It suits a business which has internal resources to do a bit of coding work. A lot of feature enhancement requests take too long to come, and a company needs alternatives to solve the issue, and internal IT resources are almost a must-have. Or you can engage a Zuora consultant to make the customisation for you, with a cost.
Read selina zhang's full review
Francesca Facio profile photo
December 21, 2016

User Review: "Subscription friendly Zuora"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for the whole organization, to handle all financial transactions with our customers. It's especially helpful for managing subscriptions.
  • Fantastic reports
  • Organized way to manage subscriptions
  • It's confusing when there are two items to one same order
  • It's not that user-friendly as smaller platforms [are]. Maybe provide training or videos on how-to would help?
It works very well for companies that handle subscriptions, but it's more challenging to handle orders with multiple items.
Read Francesca Facio's full review
Philip Kirkland profile photo
December 16, 2016

User Review: "Zuora"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is one of our main billing sources. I use it to pull reports for tax purposes and to look at a customer's history. I like it.
  • They are very user friendly.
  • The reporting system was easy to use.
  • All the data was accurate that was pulled.
  • If you didn't know the name of columns it was harder to find.
  • Had to go to several links to get to there I wanted.
[Zuora is well suited] if you need to pull a lot of data for billing purposes.
Read Philip Kirkland's full review
No photo available
June 06, 2017

Review: "Zuora and Salesforce: How we Automated our Billing Process"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zuora for our monthly invoicing as well as revenue reporting. We leverage the Zuora for Salesforce functionality so that our sales people build Zuora quotes within Salesforce which sync to Zuora automatically once a customer becomes billable.

Zuora allows us to automate our billing process as well as provides flexibility to adjust our products and prices, which was much more limited using out of the box Salesforce opportunity products previously.
  • The sync with Salesforce. The ability for Zuora and Salesforce to sync eliminates manual transfer of data and areas of human error.
  • Flexibility of setup. With all the various types of products and different revenue recognition rules, Zuora allows us to set up the rules we need to fit our business model.
  • Ease of use. Creating and posting bill runs is simple and straight forward. With a few clicks of a button you are able to create and post invoices for all customers.
  • The service team. I have had a great experience working alongside the Zuora consultant team. They have been easy to work with and have the ability to suggest effective solutions to ensure Zuora meets our business requirements.
  • The new reporting module is definitely a step in the right direction, but the reporting module could still be better. Mirroring the drag and drop functionality of Salesforce would be great with the ability to create custom dashboards from the data. The 'run detail' vs 'run summary' reporting is a bit confusing. The 'Hide details' functionality in Salesforce would be better. Also, the fact that you can not provide a link directly to a Zuora report is pretty frustrating.
  • Ability to bulk import quotes from the SF side that integrates with Zuora. During our Zuora setup we were very surprised that the ability to bulk create Zuora quotes that sync to Zuora was not possible. This caused a real headache for our setup and it would be great if Zuora allowed for this.
Zuora is made for SaaS. I believe for companies using Salesforce it is highly suitable as it allows integration between sales and finance, which is at other times a black hole. We are still moving forward to use another tool for our general ledger system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 10, 2017

Zuora Review: "Simple integration: built into our everyday workflow"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora to manage billing and subscription for our products and services for the whole company. It controls the subscription level of each customer which in turn drives how much we bill and what features we make available. We also use Zuora for credit card capture for our self-service subscriptions.
  • Credit card capture. Very easy to integrate with our web portal; we've had zero issues with it.
  • Notification of issues on the Zuora side. The team is very proactive about any problems they're encountering; I feel like I always know what's going on.
  • API access. The Zuora API is relatively easy to use and we have notifications integrated into our product.
  • The API can be a little obtuse. Customization of fields sent during a notification would be nice. As it stands, we get a notification that something has changed and then we call back into Zuora to get the specifics. It'd be nice to avoid that second call.
We've really had very few problems with Zuora. I can't actually think of one offhand that caused us any real strife. Most of the integration issues were on our side. We have integrated Zuora with Salesforce where our sales team manages their process. Once they make a sale, they generate an order from the quote and that gets sent to Zuora via the Zuora SalesForce connector, which works well. Can't really think of a situation where it's not suited for use within this business flow.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 20, 2017

User Review: "Zuora First Impressions"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used by finance to provide billing and accounting support. When integrated with Salesforce, it allows tracking of campaigns based on invoiced totals. It addresses subscription and usage based customer invoicing needs. Additionally, the new reporting interface, allows for more personalized reports that can be used on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
  • Subscription modifications through amendments. Allows for tracking the life of a campaign and changes through each amendment
  • Reporting. The new reporting interface allows to build out custom reports that meets the needs of different departments.
  • Ease of account/subscription set up. Its fairly easy to create and set up accounts as needed in order to keep up with new business.
  • Usage based subscriptions for advertising is particularly difficult to navigate as there is minimal flexibility.
  • No statement of account reporting, which would be highly valuable in order to provide detailed list of transactions to customers YTD.
  • Credit memos/debit memos would be helpful, as the revision process is extremely time consuming. Especially, when involving salesforce integrations.
Zuora is well suited for basic flat fee subscriptions that are 1x or reoccurring. Usage subscriptions with multiple line items and integrations, such as with billing for advertising- impression data etc., is less suited for Zuora because the subscriptions aren't flexible to meet the needs of our billing structure for these customers.
Read this authenticated review

About Zuora

Zuora is software for subscription businesses. The software is designed to provide an end-to-end subscription management solution that includes billing, finance, commerce and insights, helping users establish a subscription business model and establish, nurture, and monetize recurring customer relationships.

Zuora spans across commerce, billing, collections, revenue recognition, and analytics. The vendor says their products aim to help users:

  1. Go to market with their subscription offerings, then grow and retain their customer base across multiple channels
  2. Automate billing, collections, and revenue recognition to scale their business and support their go-to-market strategies
  3. Deeply understand their subscribers and the health of their business at all times

Zuora is headquartered in Foster City, CA with 11 offices around the world. The company services over 800 clients, including HP, Dell, Financial Times, Box, YP.com, Vivint, Hubspot, and Schneider Electric.

Categories:  Recurring Billing

Zuora Features

Has featureProduct Catalog
Has featureSubscriptions & Amendments
Has featureZuora for Salesforce
Has featureBilling & AR Settlement
Has featurePayment Processing
Has featureRevenue Recognition
Has featureGL Integration

Zuora Integrations

Zuora Competitors

Zuora Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No