Skype for Business Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1964 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 125)

Emiliano Monterubbianesi | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Simple and complete tool for business communication. Great.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Immediate check on the status of colleagues (present, available, in a meeting etc ...)
  • Ability to call, video call and share one or more screens with the ability to grant control
  • It integrates with Outlook to be able to organize meetings with multiple interlocutors
  • The granting of the remote connection can be improved, perhaps automatically using the Remote Desktop rather than the implementation made on Skype for business, since they are both Microsoft software.
  • Video calls could be improved by being able to select any image quality, in order to limit internet traffic.
  • The delegations with which Skype for Business and Outlook interfaces should be improved
Read Emiliano Monterubbianesi's full review
Emilee Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Skype For Business Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lets me know who is here.
  • Lets me know who is in a call.
  • Allows me to quickly talk to my coworkers if they are on the phone but I need to speak with them.
  • The picture icons could be bigger.
  • The Skype tone should be customizable.
  • Should let you know when their line is ringing.
Read Emilee Baker's full review
Samantha McMahon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Decent Communication Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to easily instant message an employee.
  • Ability to view statuses of all employees.
  • Ability to create contacts and favorites lists.
  • I don’t care for the fact when you lock your computer it instantly says you’ve been gone for 5 minutes because that is not accurate. It only shows increments of 5 minutes I believe.
  • The emojis are never updated. No new emojis.
  • I wish there was a feature like the regular Skype that allows you to delete a link you previously sent in an instant message.
Read Samantha McMahon's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Good and flexible tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fluid and uninterrupted messages.
  • Good call quality.
  • Video quality.
  • Login issues.
  • Differentiation in group conversations.
  • Search function for other users.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Bandy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is THE Business!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Skype for Business can support large meeting numbers.
  • Skype for Business is newly refreshed and has very little lag time.
  • Skype for Business effectively integrates with existing Skype users.
  • I think the Skype for Business mobile capabilities could use a few small updates, as we have run across a few glitches that may just be due to connectivity issues.
  • File sharing is slightly clumsy but we have gotten the hang of it as a team.
  • That's it! Skype for Business is pretty great and easy to use.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
yixiang Shan | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

A very good IM solution for business

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • As it is part of the Microsoft product family, it integrates with Outlook and Office on the Windows platform quite well. For example, it detects when you're idle and sets your status as away automatically, and you can launch the chat directly from your Outlook email address, which is quite handy.
  • The look and feel of Skype for Business is better than the previous version, Lync.
  • The screen sharing feature is well done. We can quickly launch the presentation mode or directly have the control of the remote end, which makes daily work cooperation very efficient, even across the continent.
  • It is not an easy job when we try to connect with outside customers or partners who are not familiar with it, even if they install the same Skype for Business. It requires a lot of time to figure out the tricky set up before the meeting can really start.
  • Skype for Business is separated from the the normal Skype. Maybe they can be somehow be integrated a little bit, otherwise sometimes we have to have both installed and switch between two Skypes.
  • Webinar features are missing in this product.
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Skype for Business has grown a lot since Lync, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Skype for Business has grown quite a lot since its days as Microsoft Lync, and is now quite nicely integrated with almost facets of Windows and Office (and other Microsoft stuff).
  • It's nice for inter-office communication when everyone's using Active Directory and has Skype for Business running.
  • Skype for Business works well even on non-Windows and/or non-university machines (e.g. personal computers).
  • Skype in general, including the Business version, can be pretty clunky, and surprisingly resource-hungry, especially when it's always running, and on machines with lower specs.
  • This resource hungriness can be worth it for quick IMs to other members of the same organization, but I really have a hard time recommending Skype over something like Zoom for videoconferencing.
  • Video communication with others in the same organization just doesn't always seem to work very well, even on the same network.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Justin Wiebe | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Skype for Business will Help you hit a home run!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Manages large numbers of users.
  • The ability to share screens and collaborate across multiple desktops.
  • The cost is something that is very affordable.
  • It's harder to use with some Apple users.
  • It's not as robust when you only have two users.
  • You can't always use the presentation mode as easily as you should.
Read Justin Wiebe's full review
Greg Madden, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Wonderful product with simple integration and immediate results

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy roll out and simple set-up.
  • Almost no learning curve for users, even the least experienced employees can figure out how to contact fellow employees.
  • Simplified licensing.
  • Need better remotes. I know this is a business software but inner team discussion should be light-hearted.
  • Sometimes there is a delay between password changes on the machine and when Skype for Business recognizes it.
Read Greg Madden, CISSP's full review
María Lucía Santagata | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

An alternative when communicating with clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's a light app to download.
  • Don't need any special OS specifications.
  • It's easy to share screens.
  • It allows many people to connect.
  • It's hard sometimes to connect the microphone or audio.
  • It's not that intuitive when audio or microphone problems happen. I had to restart a call several times because I couldn't figure out how to connect my microphone.
  • Sometimes has some delay when establishing the calls.
Read María Lucía Santagata's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2019

Skype for your Business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Instant messaging -- one thing that Skype for Business does well on the desktop application.
  • It's easy to use.
  • Good enough quality for audio and video conferencing.
  • Office integration. Personally, I love the button "Join Meeting" from the popup reminder before a Lync meeting.
  • The biggest issue in Lync is the screen sharing during conferencing. It disconnects many times, and even when it is working, the delay is annoying.
  • Mobile app and desktop app don't sync up very well. You can end up having parts of the conversation in both places.
  • It is constantly slow in connecting first time when changing network connections, like connect/disconnect to a VPN network.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Adriano Reis | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

An effective communication software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Helps team workers to communicate.
  • Facilitates the sharing of information.
  • You can present to someone by sharing your screen, even is a conference, where more than two people are presenting.
  • Easily can find anyone on the organization, just by searching for his name.
  • When you do not have a great network connection, Skype can be very slow, and even freeze the conversation.
  • When sharing screen, sometimes it can bug, and you do not see anything, then you have to reset connection.
  • I think it lacks of customization options.
Read Adriano Reis's full review
Denis Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

Excellent program for communication within the company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to use.
  • Low cost for the company.
  • Provides lectures (audio and video), plus screen and file sharing.
  • Takes up little space and is synchronized via SSO (Single Sing On).
  • I believe it could be linked with other Skypes, in addition to internally.
  • Needs a good connection to use.
  • If the person is offline, it is not possible to leave a message. I think I could change that.
Read Denis Pereira's full review
Gabriel Oliveira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Skype for Business: Ideal tool for business communication

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Meetings - The creation of meetings is very important because with it you can schedule with clients that are not from your country and everything in real-time.
  • Screen Sharing - Allows the user to visualize a project together with his client, so that everything becomes simpler.
  • Video Call - We can make audio and video call.
  • Integration with Office 365 applications.
  • Need a good internet to do video conferencing.
  • Sometimes it happens to be with several conversations and the program locks and closes all of them.
  • The case of not being able to trace previous conversations, does not have a function to recover the same.
Read Gabriel Oliveira's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (120)
8.1
High quality video (115)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (112)
6.7
Mobile support (82)
7.2
Desktop sharing (120)
8.3
Whiteboards (73)
7.7
Calendar integration (109)
8.7
Meeting initiation (116)
8.3
Integrates with social media (52)
7.3
Record meetings / events (90)
7.8
Slideshows (65)
8.4
Live chat (112)
8.4
Audience polling (52)
7.9
Q&A (46)
7.7
User authentication (84)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (92)
7.8
Confidential attendee list (67)
8.0

About Skype for Business

Skype for Business is part of Microsoft’s 365 suite offering and provides an IP PBX for online messaging and web conferencing. It includes features such as live streaming meetings, dialing into conference calls, and the ability to make, receive, and transfer calls via a computer or mobile device. It offers a free version of its service with basic features, and a licensed version that offers its full suite of tools.

Previously, Skype for Business integrated with Skype for Business Server to provide a complete, unified communications offering. However, in 2018, Microsoft announced that Microsoft Teams would eventually replace Skype for Business.

Existing users of Skype for Business can continue to utilize its software, and it is available for download, however, Microsoft itself recommends that potential users looking to work with Skype for Business, should purchase Microsoft Teams instead. Features of Skype for Business are being incorporated into Microsoft Teams, and Microsoft Teams includes many features that Skype for Business does not. However, users of Skype for Business can still use it alongside Microsoft Teams.

Skype for Business’s key features remain, such as its support for PSTN conferencing, video and audio recording of calls, and screen and computer access tool. Its support of PSTN allows for its users to connect their conference calls using their phones. These same calls can support up to 250 users.

Skype for Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No