Skype for Business Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1917 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 124)

Emilee Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Skype For Business Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps us communicate with other employees. We use a phone line system so It makes it easy to see who is in a call and who is not. It saves us time and helps us become efficient with handling a high volume of phone calls. It also allows us to see who is here in the office and who is not since we are all located in different parts of the building. Overall a very useful office tool.
  • Lets me know who is here.
  • Lets me know who is in a call.
  • Allows me to quickly talk to my coworkers if they are on the phone but I need to speak with them.
  • The picture icons could be bigger.
  • The Skype tone should be customizable.
  • Should let you know when their line is ringing.

Skype is well suited for when you are in an office and need to know which coworkers are available and which ones are not. It lets you see which ones are on the phone or even away from their desk.

It isn't suitable for an everyday use just to chat. It isn't designed for that. It's to make the work space an easier place to communicate.

Read Emilee Baker's full review
Molly Terbovich-Ridenhour | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Skype Business Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meetings with colleagues who work remote. Issues only involve those that are not technology proficient.
  • User-friendly
  • Clear connection
  • Dependable
  • Skye for dummies (tutorials)
  • Recording sessions
Board or committee meetings are great. However, full staff meetings with a large group in one room don’t always work.
Read Molly Terbovich-Ridenhour's full review
yixiang Shan | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

A very good IM solution for business

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for business was introduced in Fedex around 2 years ago, to replace the old Lync version, as the corporate standard communication and collaboration tool. We majorly use Skype for business to have live chat/IP call/Video call with different colleagues around the world. Sometimes we also use it to organize ad-hoc conferences with small scoped group of colleagues.
  • As it is part of the Microsoft product family, it integrates with Outlook and Office on the Windows platform quite well. For example, it detects when you're idle and sets your status as away automatically, and you can launch the chat directly from your Outlook email address, which is quite handy.
  • The look and feel of Skype for Business is better than the previous version, Lync.
  • The screen sharing feature is well done. We can quickly launch the presentation mode or directly have the control of the remote end, which makes daily work cooperation very efficient, even across the continent.
  • It is not an easy job when we try to connect with outside customers or partners who are not familiar with it, even if they install the same Skype for Business. It requires a lot of time to figure out the tricky set up before the meeting can really start.
  • Skype for Business is separated from the the normal Skype. Maybe they can be somehow be integrated a little bit, otherwise sometimes we have to have both installed and switch between two Skypes.
  • Webinar features are missing in this product.
It is well suited for those in a Microsoft Windows based working environment, with strong and centralized IT Admin team to support it. If you need send big files often (>300M), then Skype for Business is not for you, considering the peer-to-peer approach has been replaced by the client-server-client mode, so file size has limits and also the performance is not so good.
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Gabriel Krahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Microsoft's solution to web calling

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for Business as a way to contact our colleagues in other units of our company overseas, and also our customers outside our network. With the file/image sharing, voice and video calls and the option to share your computer's controls with your chat-partner, Skype is a very good solution to shorten the distance between two continents.
  • Screen sharing.
  • Voice and video calls.
  • Text chatting.
  • It could run better on low-end computers.
  • Notification bugs have been known for a long time for Microsoft.
Skype for Business is really good when you need to set up a way of fast communication between a lot of people at the same time without spending tons of money on cellphone/internal calls. Also a cheaper alternative to other group meeting solutions like Webex or Jabber.
Read Gabriel Krahn's full review
Samantha McMahon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Decent Communication Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business also known as Lync is used in all departments of my company. With this program all employees can see the current status of each employee showing them away, available, in a meeting, etc. This allows for efficiency within the company.
  • Ability to easily instant message an employee.
  • Ability to view statuses of all employees.
  • Ability to create contacts and favorites lists.
  • I don’t care for the fact when you lock your computer it instantly says you’ve been gone for 5 minutes because that is not accurate. It only shows increments of 5 minutes I believe.
  • The emojis are never updated. No new emojis.
  • I wish there was a feature like the regular Skype that allows you to delete a link you previously sent in an instant message.
This isn’t my favorite tool but it helps to be efficient with other co-workers. It’s an easy tool to figure out how to use. I prefer the regular Skype over this product but my company requires me to use this product.
Read Samantha McMahon's full review
Anne Schafroth | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Using Skype

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it in HR in order to have virtual meetings with our other HRMs in other locations. We also use it to do training on software for HR and payroll. Our whole organization uses it to better facilitate communication with our other locations in the US. It makes it much easier to identify issues and problems with our software.
  • Sharing desktop.
  • Anyone can be a presenter.
  • No real cons I can think of.
We use it for training new features in our software. You have to be careful when sharing your desktop that only the appropriate people have access to highly confidential information. When used to train supervisors, you need to make sure they are only seeing information on teammates that they would normally have access to.
Read Anne Schafroth's full review
Alyssa Kapinus | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Improved communication with Skype

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used within our corporate environment for easy, quick communication.
  • It reduces email traffic over small questions
  • Allows for quicker response times
  • Allows better visibility of availability
  • Easier call set up
  • improved status accuracy
  • Less crashing
It's great for quick questions you need an answer to right away. Not the best for longer communications with high level of detail.
Read Alyssa Kapinus's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

The best for interoffice messaging

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is our internal messaging system. We use this to message between departments as well as between locations across the country. It's easy to use and implement throughout our company. It gives us real-time communication, especially if you are on a call or in a meeting. I would highly recommend it.
  • Communication
  • Communication
  • Have had issues with using the calling feature vs. just the messaging.
Linking Skype for Business (formerly Lync) through add-ins to Outlook allows us to see when others are away or out of the office. So not only can we communicate with all across departments and locations, but we can know who isn't available as well, which is a big plus in my book.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Good and flexible tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is being used across the whole organization and it solves many of our communication issues. Email is helpful however the timing that we receive responses is not so efficient. especially when a quick and short response is needed. Skype is there to help us first by letting us know if the individual or individuals we are trying to contact are available and we get quick responses from them. Also, the call function and screen sharing ability helps us during meetings or even with explaining issues to employees who are unfamiliar with some of our systems it allows us to help them navigate the issue.
  • Fluid and uninterrupted messages.
  • Good call quality.
  • Video quality.
  • Login issues.
  • Differentiation in group conversations.
  • Search function for other users.
Skype for Business is very useful for getting direct contact and immediate answers from other users. From time to time you may be waiting for days on a simple answer that you sent via email, however, you can get it directly with Skype. Also, it lets you know when someone is away or busy during meetings or even presenting. Also, it is useful in sharing your screen if necessary to help someone who is unfamiliar with a particular system some times when looking for users it has its drawbacks because a ton of unnecessary users may appear.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Skype for Business is great for co-located workforce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for Business across the whole organization to have online meetings with people from different time zones and countries. It makes it very convenient when we don't work in the same office. We no longer need to book conference rooms. We just need to look up people's calendars. And we can share screens with each other even though we might be from different parts of the world.
  • Capability to share screens with other people
  • Mobile app
  • Clear sound
  • There used to be a bug where once you muted yourself on the iPhone app, you could not unmute
  • Connection can be unreliable when using the mobile app
  • Some people outside our company complained about not being able to download the app, and can only join the audio
Skype for Business is suitable for multi-national companies that have locations across different parts of the world, and people need to collaborate a lot online.
Skype for Business is less appropriate for local SMEs that do not need virtual communications online.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Skype is the way!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by the whole organization to communicate with one another in a very quick and professional manner. Instead of sending an email, we can chat via Skype for Business with that individual and reach them much faster when trying to get a quick answer. This helps solve the communication issues with others.
  • Quick.
  • Informal.
  • Connection issues.
  • File sharing could be improved.
Skype for Business is well suited when trying to talk to another individual very quickly. Conversations through Skype doesn't have to be as formal and one is able to reach someone in a very quick manner. Sharing some quick files is also handy when utilizing Skype. It is less suited when trying to have a more formal exchange.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

A Game Changer in Communication

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is used by our firm. It is used across the organization. It helps to connect with offsite/onsite teams sitting at any location or working remotely. It helps in communicating over IMs or skype calls audio/video. It supports file sharing over IM. It allows us to record Skype sessions to reference them later.
  • File Sharing Over IM
  • Session recording for future reference
  • Staying connected with Skype audio/video if even you are working from home or remotely
  • Refreshing is an issue. It sometimes needs to restart Lync
  • A virtual drawing board feature is missing which can be of great help during meetings
  • Screenshare lags are big problem
Well Suited:
1. Screen sharing
2. Audio/Video Conference calls while working home/remotely, connecting with people in different locations
3. Connecting with colleagues over IMs without actually visiting a person's desk
5. File Sharing

Less Suited:
1. Lacks a virtual drawing board which can be helpful during Knowledge Transfer Sessions.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Bandy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is THE Business!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is being used by our organization to link up Board Members and staff during off-times between meetings in order to have productive conversations and drive forward points on our Strategic Plan. We signed up for Skype for Business in order to have an effective communication tool that supported multiple users.
  • Skype for Business can support large meeting numbers.
  • Skype for Business is newly refreshed and has very little lag time.
  • Skype for Business effectively integrates with existing Skype users.
  • I think the Skype for Business mobile capabilities could use a few small updates, as we have run across a few glitches that may just be due to connectivity issues.
  • File sharing is slightly clumsy but we have gotten the hang of it as a team.
  • That's it! Skype for Business is pretty great and easy to use.
You may be wondering why to choose Skype for Business and pay for Skype when there is also a free option. The free Skype doesn't come with features that would be helpful to a big group as it only has the capability to connect less than 25 participants in any one meeting. If you have a large group of employees that need to meet, Skype for Business is definitely worth the upgrade.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Skype for Business has grown a lot since Lync, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is included with the university's Office 365 subscription, and all Active Directory users can access and be contacted via Skype. We sometimes use it for within-department and between-department communication, especially for quick instant messaging. Skype is, of course, one of the original household names in videoconferencing, etc., but we don't use it much for that on a daily basis.
  • Skype for Business has grown quite a lot since its days as Microsoft Lync, and is now quite nicely integrated with almost facets of Windows and Office (and other Microsoft stuff).
  • It's nice for inter-office communication when everyone's using Active Directory and has Skype for Business running.
  • Skype for Business works well even on non-Windows and/or non-university machines (e.g. personal computers).
  • Skype in general, including the Business version, can be pretty clunky, and surprisingly resource-hungry, especially when it's always running, and on machines with lower specs.
  • This resource hungriness can be worth it for quick IMs to other members of the same organization, but I really have a hard time recommending Skype over something like Zoom for videoconferencing.
  • Video communication with others in the same organization just doesn't always seem to work very well, even on the same network.
Skype for Business (like its predecessor Lync) is nice for quick inter-office communication, but again, Microsoft Teams seems to be better for that stuff and allows for more collaboration. One of Skype's biggest weaknesses, as mentioned before, is how resource hungry it tends to be, so it's kind of a lot to leave on all the time.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Chris Lesner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Skype for Business is a bit overrated

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to have meetings with people outside of our company via phone, screen-share and video. The goal is to make it feel like everyone is in the same room and be able to work remotely from one another with much more ease than if we did not have it.
  • Easy to use screenshare capabilities.
  • The clarity in sound when on the phone.
  • Allows for a nice chat function.
  • Complicated for external users.
  • Need to download software to use the screen-share technology.
  • Seem to need to redownload fairly often.
If you have meetings that need to bring a lot of people into a conversation via phone or video, it would make sense to use Skype for Business. If you are already a Microsoft user for your email/calendar, the integrations with the calendar are extremely helpful, as every meeting has a default way for people to connect.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
Roger Black | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Skype for Business keeps getting better

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for Business as our online meeting tool quite frequently. All meetings have a Skype invite attached to them, which includes a conference bridge. This enables outside users to dial in with an 800 number, while internal users can use their Skype client for voice/video (or call in over phone if they choose). The flexibility here is key. We also use it for desktop sharing frequently (to help demonstrate an issue, or to troubleshoot an issue). Of course, we also use for IM.
Skype (now Teams) is constantly improving. It does, however, need some integration with modern software development tools (Atlassian products, for instance). But I prefer it much more than HipChat or Mattermost. Skype is more intuitive and easier to use.
  • Online meetings.
  • Desktop sharing.
  • It needs integration with modern software development tools, even if they are open-source.
It is well suited for a Microsoft shop (if you are using Windows desktops. Mac Skype clients tend to lack the functionality of their peer Skype for Windows clients.
Read Roger Black's full review
Justin Wiebe | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Skype for Business will Help you hit a home run!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Skype for Business on our CRM team and with certain vendors. We have used it for the past year to really leverage how we work remotely and with our on-campus team. It is a great tool that allows for a lot of collaboration that we would not otherwise be able to do.
  • Manages large numbers of users.
  • The ability to share screens and collaborate across multiple desktops.
  • The cost is something that is very affordable.
  • It's harder to use with some Apple users.
  • It's not as robust when you only have two users.
  • You can't always use the presentation mode as easily as you should.
From a cost perspective, which we have to account for, it is very good, and I would recommend this to other schools of our size. It would not be as well suited for those only collaborating with a couple of staff/faculty members, as it is a bit over the top for that size. It is very well suited for meetings of 5+ users.
Read Justin Wiebe's full review
Greg Madden, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Wonderful product with simple integration and immediate results

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is used across the entire organization to simplify communication across the board. Anyone is able to reach out directly to someone else and that decreases the time for response as emails can take hours some times. It is also useful as an auditing tool to ensure employees are using resources appropriately.
  • Easy roll out and simple set-up.
  • Almost no learning curve for users, even the least experienced employees can figure out how to contact fellow employees.
  • Simplified licensing.
  • Need better remotes. I know this is a business software but inner team discussion should be light-hearted.
  • Sometimes there is a delay between password changes on the machine and when Skype for Business recognizes it.
Skype for Business is great for all general communication. Even some urgent situations can be handled depending on the amount of information that needs to be relayed. I look at Skype for Business as a sub 10 minute response time whereas email can be an hour or more. It's not always instant depending on how busy the other party is, but it does allow you to instantly reach out and pop up on someone's screen to get their attention rather quickly.
Read Greg Madden, CISSP's full review
María Lucía Santagata | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

An alternative when communicating with clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using it for communicating with clients both nationally and abroad. It's used by my department and also by the commercial area, as we are the ones who communicate with clients. It's an alternative for Google Hangouts (our favorite tool for calls) and it helps us to share screens and images with remote clients, especially when making trainings or when we're defining changes in our services.
  • It's a light app to download.
  • Don't need any special OS specifications.
  • It's easy to share screens.
  • It allows many people to connect.
  • It's hard sometimes to connect the microphone or audio.
  • It's not that intuitive when audio or microphone problems happen. I had to restart a call several times because I couldn't figure out how to connect my microphone.
  • Sometimes has some delay when establishing the calls.
Skype for Business is a useful tool when you have to work with clients/teams abroad or remote, especially if the members of the team are all in different places. Of course, it's not very useful if you don't work remotely, and I think most users nowadays prefer Google Hangouts because it's already integrated with the e-mail services and Google Calendar, where usually people make their appointments.
Read María Lucía Santagata's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2019

Skype for your Business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for Business at eSilicon in all departments, for 500+ users. We were using it for both instant messaging and conferencing (audio and video) but since last year, we are using it mostly for instant messaging, since we got a better tool for audio/video conferencing. For instant messaging, Skype for Business is still preferred over the new tool.
  • Instant messaging -- one thing that Skype for Business does well on the desktop application.
  • It's easy to use.
  • Good enough quality for audio and video conferencing.
  • Office integration. Personally, I love the button "Join Meeting" from the popup reminder before a Lync meeting.
  • The biggest issue in Lync is the screen sharing during conferencing. It disconnects many times, and even when it is working, the delay is annoying.
  • Mobile app and desktop app don't sync up very well. You can end up having parts of the conversation in both places.
  • It is constantly slow in connecting first time when changing network connections, like connect/disconnect to a VPN network.
Skype for Business can be used successfully for instant messaging and audio/video conferencing. Its integration with Office makes it a lot easier to connect to meetings and see the user's status in Outlook emails. While for screen sharing during conferences you can find better tools, you can still pick Skype for Business and be successful with it.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Adriano Reis | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

An effective communication software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Skype for Business is being used across the whole organization. Skype for Business helps a lot, in the part of communicating with team workers, you do not need to send emails or to look after someone around the factory, you just need to send them a skype message, that can be via voice, video, or just a normal message.
  • Helps team workers to communicate.
  • Facilitates the sharing of information.
  • You can present to someone by sharing your screen, even is a conference, where more than two people are presenting.
  • Easily can find anyone on the organization, just by searching for his name.
  • When you do not have a great network connection, Skype can be very slow, and even freeze the conversation.
  • When sharing screen, sometimes it can bug, and you do not see anything, then you have to reset connection.
  • I think it lacks of customization options.
Skype for Business is really useful whenever you have a meeting that you need to present something, but you cannot be in a meeting room or something like that. Then you use Skype for Business video conferences or just share your screen with one or more people and present them your projects.
Read Adriano Reis's full review
Denis Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

Excellent program for communication within the company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very easy to use the software. It has a very friendly interface. With it, it is possible to get in touch with people from other sectors without having to go around. Besides being a very light program, it also is a program that does not require much processing power. The cost to the company is very low.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Low cost for the company.
  • Provides lectures (audio and video), plus screen and file sharing.
  • Takes up little space and is synchronized via SSO (Single Sing On).
  • I believe it could be linked with other Skypes, in addition to internally.
  • Needs a good connection to use.
  • If the person is offline, it is not possible to leave a message. I think I could change that.
Overall, Skype for Business is an excellent communication tool, delivering speed. Helping to get in touch with people who stay farthest inside the company. I believe that in general, Skype does not have many negative points, I recommend this program to other users. It works perfectly for small and large companies.
Read Denis Pereira's full review
Gabriel Oliveira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Skype for Business: Ideal tool for business communication

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is used for communication between users and clients, that is, we use the tool to take requirements of a new demand or a project that is in development, to take questions with the client about what he wants, and the communication between our team of developers. The whole company uses Skype, much of it for the same purpose. As I mentioned before, it addresses all kinds of communication about new demands or something related to each project.
  • Meetings - The creation of meetings is very important because with it you can schedule with clients that are not from your country and everything in real-time.
  • Screen Sharing - Allows the user to visualize a project together with his client, so that everything becomes simpler.
  • Video Call - We can make audio and video call.
  • Integration with Office 365 applications.
  • Need a good internet to do video conferencing.
  • Sometimes it happens to be with several conversations and the program locks and closes all of them.
  • The case of not being able to trace previous conversations, does not have a function to recover the same.
Skype for Business is a great tool for a company because it is where users will talk about work or something related to it. It can be used via voice, video, and conference. Skype is a simple tool, an interface that is quick to learn how to use.
Currently, the only negative point I have already reported is that Skype for Business has some failures when the conversation is between desktop and a mobile device.
Read Gabriel Oliveira's full review
Adriano Rosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

A great communication software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is being used by the whole organization. We use Skype for Business for all of our communications, whenever someone needs to talk to anyone. This saves a lot of time. For example, you do not need to walk around the factory to reach someone, you can just send a message or even call him on Skype. Furthermore, you can add video and voice to conferences, to share information, share presentations, present them, share files, images, gifs...etc.
  • Some of its most powerful desktop features include group chat, integration with Outlook, and configurable settings (such as changing the minutes before the status changes to inactive).
  • It's very easy to use, and also works as an IP Phone, so you can't only talk to other Skype users.
  • It is highly popular and almost every organization uses it, so it is quite helpful in reaching out to other organizations, like client stakeholders and project managers, in an informal way that has previous validation, and is already done in terms of account creation and authenticity when it comes to organization email configuration.
  • It is relatively intuitive and easy to roll out enterprise-wide.
  • It is hard to trace previous conversations. You cannot recover all conversations.
  • When your network connection is not good, Skype will probably freeze.
  • Sometimes the initial message does not pop up for everyone in the chat.
Skype For Business is well suited when someone needs to talk with anyone in the company. So you just search for the people's name on your contacts list and start a conversation. It can be via voice, video, or conference.
Skype For Business is less appropriate when communicating between a desktop client and a mobile app. Users have reported synchronization issues.
Read Adriano Rosa's full review
Aravind Dirisipo | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Skype for Business a secure and robust web communicating software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is being used as a web communicating software for interaction with other associates and our clients to discuss upon the project status as well as clarifying doubts. we can easily communicate with other team members by simply searching their user name or by using their employee ID number.
  • It contains messaging services for better communication.
  • We can make audio and video calls.
  • We can share our data and media to other users.
  • The call quality is very great.
  • We can present our screen to other users.
  • We need to have a secured high-speed broadband connection.
  • The software is not available for free.
  • The chat messages are not saved after some point of time.
  • The size of media files to shared is limited up to 25mb.
Skype for Business is very useful for establishing communication with clients and customers. It allows the user to share their screen with other users to discuss upon the ideas and problems occurred. The software is very robust and we can share different formats of data. Connections established are highly secure and accessible only with business emails.
Read Aravind Dirisipo's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (119)
8.2
High quality video (114)
8.0
Low bandwidth requirements (111)
6.7
Mobile support (82)
7.4
Desktop sharing (119)
8.3
Whiteboards (72)
7.8
Calendar integration (109)
8.8
Meeting initiation (116)
8.4
Integrates with social media (51)
7.4
Record meetings / events (90)
8.0
Slideshows (64)
8.5
Live chat (111)
8.5
Audience polling (51)
8.0
Q&A (45)
7.9
User authentication (84)
8.3
Participant roles & permissions (90)
7.9
Confidential attendee list (67)
8.2

About Skype for Business

Skype for Business is part of Microsoft’s 365 suite offering and provides an IP PBX for online messaging and web conferencing. It includes features such as live streaming meetings, dialing into conference calls, and the ability to make, receive, and transfer calls via a computer or mobile device. It offers a free version of its service with basic features, and a licensed version that offers its full suite of tools.

Previously, Skype for Business integrated with Skype for Business Server to provide a complete, unified communications offering. However, in 2018, Microsoft announced that Microsoft Teams would eventually replace Skype for Business.

Existing users of Skype for Business can continue to utilize its software, and it is available for download, however, Microsoft itself recommends that potential users looking to work with Skype for Business, should purchase Microsoft Teams instead. Features of Skype for Business are being incorporated into Microsoft Teams, and Microsoft Teams includes many features that Skype for Business does not. However, users of Skype for Business can still use it alongside Microsoft Teams.

Skype for Business’s key features remain, such as its support for PSTN conferencing, video and audio recording of calls, and screen and computer access tool. Its support of PSTN allows for its users to connect their conference calls using their phones. These same calls can support up to 250 users.

Categories:  Collaboration,  VoIP,  Web Conferencing

Skype for Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No