TrustRadius
Skype for Business is part of Microsoft’s 365 suite offering and provides an IP PBX for online messaging and web conferencing. It includes features such as live streaming, dialing into conference calls, and the ability to make, receive, and transfer calls via computer or mobile device.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/9N/xn/FCFVWJ699QTI.PNGSkype is THE Business!Skype for Business is being used by our organization to link up Board Members and staff during off-times between meetings in order to have productive conversations and drive forward points on our Strategic Plan. We signed up for Skype for Business in order to have an effective communication tool that supported multiple users.,Skype for Business can support large meeting numbers. Skype for Business is newly refreshed and has very little lag time. Skype for Business effectively integrates with existing Skype users.,I think the Skype for Business mobile capabilities could use a few small updates, as we have run across a few glitches that may just be due to connectivity issues. File sharing is slightly clumsy but we have gotten the hang of it as a team. That's it! Skype for Business is pretty great and easy to use.,7,We have used Skype for Business frequently for large group calls, and we have the lower-tier subscription so it's worth it for all of the functionality it provides. I like being able to listen back to recordings of calls and have had challenges with other alternative programs in the past. I'm not positive we will renew for another year as so many new options have come to light, but I'm happy with Skype for Business as it stands now.,BlueJeans,9,BlueJeans, Google Charts, Apple iCloud, Google Ad Manager, Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Illustrator CCA very good IM solution for businessSkype for business was introduced in Fedex around 2 years ago, to replace the old Lync version, as the corporate standard communication and collaboration tool. We majorly use Skype for business to have live chat/IP call/Video call with different colleagues around the world. Sometimes we also use it to organize ad-hoc conferences with small scoped group of colleagues.,As it is part of the Microsoft product family, it integrates with Outlook and Office on the Windows platform quite well. For example, it detects when you're idle and sets your status as away automatically, and you can launch the chat directly from your Outlook email address, which is quite handy. The look and feel of Skype for Business is better than the previous version, Lync. The screen sharing feature is well done. We can quickly launch the presentation mode or directly have the control of the remote end, which makes daily work cooperation very efficient, even across the continent.,It is not an easy job when we try to connect with outside customers or partners who are not familiar with it, even if they install the same Skype for Business. It requires a lot of time to figure out the tricky set up before the meeting can really start. Skype for Business is separated from the the normal Skype. Maybe they can be somehow be integrated a little bit, otherwise sometimes we have to have both installed and switch between two Skypes. Webinar features are missing in this product.,7,In general Skype for Business integrates all communication needs together for daily work, so we can better share information instantly and efficiently, which improves productivity for sure.,Cisco Jabber,Toad for Oracle, EclipseMicrosoft's solution to web callingWe use Skype for Business as a way to contact our colleagues in other units of our company overseas, and also our customers outside our network. With the file/image sharing, voice and video calls and the option to share your computer's controls with your chat-partner, Skype is a very good solution to shorten the distance between two continents.,Screen sharing. Voice and video calls. Text chatting.,It could run better on low-end computers. Notification bugs have been known for a long time for Microsoft.,10,Skype really proves itself when we reached the necessity to talk with people in other countries with low cost.,Jabber and Webex Meetings,10,VMware Horizon (formerly VMware View), Microsoft Office 365, McAfee Endpoint SecuritySkype for Business has grown a lot since Lync, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and ZoomSkype is included with the university's Office 365 subscription, and all Active Directory users can access and be contacted via Skype. We sometimes use it for within-department and between-department communication, especially for quick instant messaging. Skype is, of course, one of the original household names in videoconferencing, etc., but we don't use it much for that on a daily basis.,Skype for Business has grown quite a lot since its days as Microsoft Lync, and is now quite nicely integrated with almost facets of Windows and Office (and other Microsoft stuff). It's nice for inter-office communication when everyone's using Active Directory and has Skype for Business running. Skype for Business works well even on non-Windows and/or non-university machines (e.g. personal computers).,Skype in general, including the Business version, can be pretty clunky, and surprisingly resource-hungry, especially when it's always running, and on machines with lower specs. This resource hungriness can be worth it for quick IMs to other members of the same organization, but I really have a hard time recommending Skype over something like Zoom for videoconferencing. Video communication with others in the same organization just doesn't always seem to work very well, even on the same network.,6,Skype has allowed us to communicate quickly and easily across departments. Unfortunately, has proven to be confusing and unused by some users. Users' non-use of Skype can be pretty detrimental to the performance of some lower-powered machines especially.,Microsoft Teams and Zoom,7,Microsoft Teams, Heroku Platform, Canva, CanvasSkype for Business is a bit overratedWe use it to have meetings with people outside of our company via phone, screen-share and video. The goal is to make it feel like everyone is in the same room and be able to work remotely from one another with much more ease than if we did not have it.,Easy to use screenshare capabilities. The clarity in sound when on the phone. Allows for a nice chat function.,Complicated for external users. Need to download software to use the screen-share technology. Seem to need to redownload fairly often.,4,From a negative standpoint, we have people all the time complain about having to download the software. From a positive standpoint, we can see all the meetings among our team with ease in one calendar. It makes booking with our internal team members much easier.,UberConference, Zoom and Join.me,3,UberConference, Zoom, Join.meSkype for Business keeps getting betterWe use Skype for Business as our online meeting tool quite frequently. All meetings have a Skype invite attached to them, which includes a conference bridge. This enables outside users to dial in with an 800 number, while internal users can use their Skype client for voice/video (or call in over phone if they choose). The flexibility here is key. We also use it for desktop sharing frequently (to help demonstrate an issue, or to troubleshoot an issue). Of course, we also use for IM. Skype (now Teams) is constantly improving. It does, however, need some integration with modern software development tools (Atlassian products, for instance). But I prefer it much more than HipChat or Mattermost. Skype is more intuitive and easier to use.,Online meetings. Desktop sharing.,It needs integration with modern software development tools, even if they are open-source.,9,The desktop sharing has really made it easy to collaborate--it saves a ton of walking around the building.,8Skype for Business will Help you hit a home run!We are currently using Skype for Business on our CRM team and with certain vendors. We have used it for the past year to really leverage how we work remotely and with our on-campus team. It is a great tool that allows for a lot of collaboration that we would not otherwise be able to do.,Manages large numbers of users. The ability to share screens and collaborate across multiple desktops. The cost is something that is very affordable.,It's harder to use with some Apple users. It's not as robust when you only have two users. You can't always use the presentation mode as easily as you should.,8,Positive buy-in from execs. Great ROI, as it relates to remote workers. It can be a little stressful for non-tech-savvy users.,Skype, Zoom and GoToMeeting,8,Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Advertising Cloud, Salesforce Einstein Analytics (formerly Wave Analytics)Wonderful product with simple integration and immediate resultsSkype for Business is used across the entire organization to simplify communication across the board. Anyone is able to reach out directly to someone else and that decreases the time for response as emails can take hours some times. It is also useful as an auditing tool to ensure employees are using resources appropriately.,Easy roll out and simple set-up. Almost no learning curve for users, even the least experienced employees can figure out how to contact fellow employees. Simplified licensing.,Need better remotes. I know this is a business software but inner team discussion should be light-hearted. Sometimes there is a delay between password changes on the machine and when Skype for Business recognizes it.,10,Increased productivity by decreasing communication time. Increased morale by allowing employees to stay in touch with each other even in different departments.,HipChat and Google Hangouts,10,Nmap, KeePass, Microsoft Office 365An alternative when communicating with clientsWe're using it for communicating with clients both nationally and abroad. It's used by my department and also by the commercial area, as we are the ones who communicate with clients. It's an alternative for Google Hangouts (our favorite tool for calls) and it helps us to share screens and images with remote clients, especially when making trainings or when we're defining changes in our services.,It's a light app to download. Don't need any special OS specifications. It's easy to share screens. It allows many people to connect.,It's hard sometimes to connect the microphone or audio. It's not that intuitive when audio or microphone problems happen. I had to restart a call several times because I couldn't figure out how to connect my microphone. Sometimes has some delay when establishing the calls.,9,The tool allows me to communicate with clients that don't like Google Hangouts. Sometimes the calls are interrupted because the sound doesn't work and it's not easy to fix the problem.,7,7,Google Hangouts,Asana, Everhour, Google HangoutsSkype for your BusinessWe use Skype for Business at eSilicon in all departments, for 500+ users. We were using it for both instant messaging and conferencing (audio and video) but since last year, we are using it mostly for instant messaging, since we got a better tool for audio/video conferencing. For instant messaging, Skype for Business is still preferred over the new tool.,Instant messaging -- one thing that Skype for Business does well on the desktop application. It's easy to use. Good enough quality for audio and video conferencing. Office integration. Personally, I love the button "Join Meeting" from the popup reminder before a Lync meeting.,The biggest issue in Lync is the screen sharing during conferencing. It disconnects many times, and even when it is working, the delay is annoying. Mobile app and desktop app don't sync up very well. You can end up having parts of the conversation in both places. It is constantly slow in connecting first time when changing network connections, like connect/disconnect to a VPN network.,8,It increased the collaboration inside the teams. Even if team members are inside the same office they may use Lync to talk just to keep the environment quiet. It increased the collaboration across continents -- we have offices around the world and distributed teams. Using Lync made possible the feeling of unified teams. It made it possible to interact more closely with people from other companies -- customers and suppliers that use Lync as well. You can have those users in your colleagues list.,8,1,Skype,Skype, Box, Google Drive, OneDrive, Smartsheet, BasecampAn effective communication softwareCurrently, Skype for Business is being used across the whole organization. Skype for Business helps a lot, in the part of communicating with team workers, you do not need to send emails or to look after someone around the factory, you just need to send them a skype message, that can be via voice, video, or just a normal message.,Helps team workers to communicate. Facilitates the sharing of information. You can present to someone by sharing your screen, even is a conference, where more than two people are presenting. Easily can find anyone on the organization, just by searching for his name.,When you do not have a great network connection, Skype can be very slow, and even freeze the conversation. When sharing screen, sometimes it can bug, and you do not see anything, then you have to reset connection. I think it lacks of customization options.,8,Integration with Microsoft 365. A better decision making process. No need to be physically present in meeting is a great aspect of Skype.,,Microsoft Teams, Symantec Endpoint Protection, Microsoft Office 365Excellent program for communication within the companyIt is very easy to use the software. It has a very friendly interface. With it, it is possible to get in touch with people from other sectors without having to go around. Besides being a very light program, it also is a program that does not require much processing power. The cost to the company is very low.,Very easy to use. Low cost for the company. Provides lectures (audio and video), plus screen and file sharing. Takes up little space and is synchronized via SSO (Single Sing On).,I believe it could be linked with other Skypes, in addition to internally. Needs a good connection to use. If the person is offline, it is not possible to leave a message. I think I could change that.,9,Agility in financial and development processes. End user can easily use. Easy implementation and configuration with Single Sing On (SSO).,Microsoft 365 Business and Oracle Enterprise Single Sign-On,BMC Remedy Asset Management, Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft TeamsSkype for Business: Ideal tool for business communicationSkype is used for communication between users and clients, that is, we use the tool to take requirements of a new demand or a project that is in development, to take questions with the client about what he wants, and the communication between our team of developers. The whole company uses Skype, much of it for the same purpose. As I mentioned before, it addresses all kinds of communication about new demands or something related to each project.,Meetings - The creation of meetings is very important because with it you can schedule with clients that are not from your country and everything in real-time. Screen Sharing - Allows the user to visualize a project together with his client, so that everything becomes simpler. Video Call - We can make audio and video call. Integration with Office 365 applications.,Need a good internet to do video conferencing. Sometimes it happens to be with several conversations and the program locks and closes all of them. The case of not being able to trace previous conversations, does not have a function to recover the same.,9,The flexibility of meetings directly. Improvement in decision-making times. The security of the data that the software provides, that is, it avoids the confidential data of the company against cyber attacks.,Microsoft Teams,Microsoft 365 Business, Notepad++, MS SharePointA great communication softwareSkype for Business is being used by the whole organization. We use Skype for Business for all of our communications, whenever someone needs to talk to anyone. This saves a lot of time. For example, you do not need to walk around the factory to reach someone, you can just send a message or even call him on Skype. Furthermore, you can add video and voice to conferences, to share information, share presentations, present them, share files, images, gifs...etc.,Some of its most powerful desktop features include group chat, integration with Outlook, and configurable settings (such as changing the minutes before the status changes to inactive). It's very easy to use, and also works as an IP Phone, so you can't only talk to other Skype users. It is highly popular and almost every organization uses it, so it is quite helpful in reaching out to other organizations, like client stakeholders and project managers, in an informal way that has previous validation, and is already done in terms of account creation and authenticity when it comes to organization email configuration. It is relatively intuitive and easy to roll out enterprise-wide.,It is hard to trace previous conversations. You cannot recover all conversations. When your network connection is not good, Skype will probably freeze. Sometimes the initial message does not pop up for everyone in the chat.,9,Their IT departments can find the deployment process complicated. Skype is a well-established brand which your employees are probably already familiar with. Not only does it work on Windows and Mac computers, but there are also a variety of iOS, Windows Phone, and Android apps available for phones, tablets, and other portable devices. This means your workforce can be switched on to multiple forms of office communication, wherever they may be. With Skype for Business, you can add up to 250 people to an online meeting. It also provides enterprise-grade security, and is integrated with your Microsoft Office apps. A problem that can occur with larger conference rooms is that the speaker’s voice is obscured by noises from other people in the room, particularly by things like spontaneous applause.,,Microsoft Office 365, Visual Studio IDE, Symantec Endpoint ProtectionImproved communication with SkypeIt is currently being used within our corporate environment for easy, quick communication.,It reduces email traffic over small questions Allows for quicker response times Allows better visibility of availability,Easier call set up improved status accuracy Less crashing,9,Quicker turn around time to complete tasks. Ease of seeing everyone's availability for scheduling. Better collaboration with teams.,Microsoft 365 Business,9,Ceridian Dayforce, DocuSign, SmartsheetSkype for Business a secure and robust web communicating softwareSkype for Business is being used as a web communicating software for interaction with other associates and our clients to discuss upon the project status as well as clarifying doubts. we can easily communicate with other team members by simply searching their user name or by using their employee ID number.,It contains messaging services for better communication. We can make audio and video calls. We can share our data and media to other users. The call quality is very great. We can present our screen to other users.,We need to have a secured high-speed broadband connection. The software is not available for free. The chat messages are not saved after some point of time. The size of media files to shared is limited up to 25mb.,8,The software reduces the communication gap between employees and clients. It reduces time and effort by better understanding. It creates a positive impact upon the organization.,Cisco Webex Teams (formerly Cisco Spark),CATIA, PTC Creo, DPS Outlook OfficeGood and reliable tool for instant messengerThe main use of Skype for Business across the organization is instant messaging. With employees all over the world, it was a very easy way to reach out to someone. When our conferencing tool was down, it served as a back up as well. It is used by the entire organization and sped up the process if you need to have a quick answer.,Easy to use Fast Cross-functional,Design Functionalities Stability,8,Fast and easy to use. Qualitative.,Microsoft Teams,8,Showpad, Concur Expense, Symantec VIP Access ManagerAvoid Skype if you Can!!!We no longer use Skype for Business as we have switched to Zoom. In a past job, Skype/Lync was very beneficial and we did not have as many problems. However, with my current company, and Office 365 setup, I was in a constant battle with Skype. Half of the time, audio would fail. The other half, video would fail. Sometimes the phone integration would fail. It was always a battle.,Ability to chat (now taken over by Teams),Connectivity/Quality Issues Not User Friendly Device connection is difficult (external mics, cameras, etc),3,It was costing me a lot of time, and we ended our subscription to Skype and moved to Zoom,Zoom,5,Zoom Video Webinar, Microsoft Office 365, Cvent Event ManagementHidden Gem in Office 365Skype for Business is ideal for hosting large company meetings since it allows for up to 250 participants and can be broadcast to even more people. It has great value as it is included in the Office 365 Suite and integrates with all of the Office applications. Skype for Business is very useful day to day as it is easy to setup a quick call with other members of the organization as you are able to view their schedule and status to see if they are available.,Integrates with Office 365 Suite. Good audio and video Quality. Simple to use interface.,Other video conferencing offers more capability in terms of capacity. Device support for Linux is still lacking. Microsoft is not backing this product and will stop service after a while.,7,Included with Office 365 increases the overall value of the package, and its integration with other Office products increases the value of those products. Ability to organize calls with a few clicks while also being able to quickly view another user's availability saves a lot of time and confusion. Microsoft has declared end of life for this product.,Skype,6,Zoom, Perforce, Sublime TextFantastic communication tool for businessesI quite like Skype for Business as it helps my organization to keep in touch with anyone throughout the whole business, I can see who reports to who in the organization chart and I can use this tool on the go, without going offline even for a second. My company always uses this product for meetings.,Easy to use Great and intuitive interface Stable network connection,You can't setup channels like you can in Slack There could be more customization options,9,It drastically improved the communication and collaboration within my company Much more effective meetings Less need for personal meetings,Slack,Evernote, Google Analytics, Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft SQL ServerSkype for Business ReviewIt is being used by the entire organization, both domestic and internationally.,It integrates with our phone system. Searching and dialing outbound is very streamlined. User-friendly.,Depending on your wifi, Skype can be difficult to log into. We've seen dropped calls if the company has a rolling IPO address.,10,Positive -- it keeps everyone connected.,Lifesize Video Conferencing,9,Lifesize Video Conferencing, Ceridian Dayforce, UltiPro, Lawson (Intentia), ADP Enterprise eTIME, ADP SmartComplianceDecent Communication ToolSkype for Business also known as Lync is used in all departments of my company. With this program all employees can see the current status of each employee showing them away, available, in a meeting, etc. This allows for efficiency within the company.,Ability to easily instant message an employee. Ability to view statuses of all employees. Ability to create contacts and favorites lists.,I don’t care for the fact when you lock your computer it instantly says you’ve been gone for 5 minutes because that is not accurate. It only shows increments of 5 minutes I believe. The emojis are never updated. No new emojis. I wish there was a feature like the regular Skype that allows you to delete a link you previously sent in an instant message.,9,Allows employees to be more efficient knowing the status of others. You usually receive a faster response from an employee by instant messaging them rather than sending an email. Ability to connect and group message makes it easier to communicate within your own department or with other departments.,Skype,Skype, GlobalMeet, iMeetShrinking the WorldSkype for Business is being used as the primary online meeting tool right now. It is used across the organization and even with our outsourced IT. It is mainly used for online meetings and sometimes as a quick chat between colleagues. It addresses the need of physically present in a meeting.,Skype for Business is easy to use. It is flexible in the sense that if you have a mic and earphone then you can use them or else you can receive a call on your phone to be in a meeting. You can watch another person's screen. You can get control to do troubleshooting on other person's computer.,I don't know if Skype for Business can integrate with personal Skype which would give it more flexibility to use as then you can connect to individual users who don't have the business license.,10,Skype for Business has a very positive impact on our business since it allows for having meetings without being present which increases productivity and flexibility.,GoToMeeting and Cisco Webex Room Series (formerly Cisco Spark Room Series),Cisco Webex Room Series (formerly Cisco Spark Room Series), GoToMeetingAn integral part of my daily work that creates an integral headacheSkype for Business is used by my entire organization for web conferencing and intercompany chat and most people use it for voice calls instead of direct phone calls. We formerly used Cisco WebEx and Jabber for these applications.,Saved chat history (Conversation History). This is a useful upgrade vs. our last tool (Jabber) where I'd have to manually save chats as HTML if I wanted to reference the information later. Integration with Outlook. It is convenient having a Skype meeting button built directly into scheduling which inserts the call-in info. I also appreciate that when meetings are scheduled his way, a "join meeting" button pops up in the Outlook meeting reminder. Also, nice that the saved Conversation History on my first point is searchable in Outlook. The emoji of a head banging against a brick wall. It often perfectly encapsulates my feelings about work, especially when Skype for Business is failing. The ability to record meetings is much better than when we used WebEx. It's built-in whereas with WebEx we had to have some special version to be able to capture the audio from the presenter AND the participants, which often meant the presenter would just have to repeat questions (waste of time). That was super annoying for someone like me who does a lot of remote training sessions, so this is a nice improvement over the previous tool.,The stability of Skype for Business (SfB) is terrible. Every single colleague of mine complains about frequent skype problems. The problems are also quite varied, so it's more of a "flavor of the week" problem (or flavor of the day in particularly bad cases). A common ice breaker on a call is a quick anecdote about the latest skype problem someone has experienced. While it has gotten slightly better in the ~2 years we've had SfB, I still experience problems at least on a weekly basis. Video chat using webcam often completely bogs down my PC (which has hardware specs more than capable of handling it and a gigabit fiber internet connection) to the point where I cannot even use other programs. Example: my team was recently on a call where we were all on video and I was editing a PowerPoint in real-time during the call. It got to the point where I would type something in PowerPoint and after a several second delay, the text would slowly scroll out across the screen like the intro text on some 90s spy movie. Several days later, tried the same thing with the same result. I have complained to colleagues about this and they have reported similar experiences. The aforementioned benefit of Outlook integration sometimes becomes a con. Often the Skype meeting plugin will be running so slowly that Outlook will automatically disable it, and I have to manually re-enable the plugin to be able to schedule Skype meetings. On chat, I frequently get an error message paraphrased as "unable to deliver message to [recipient name]" so I'll try again. Half the time the recipient DID receive the message so I'm sending the message multiple times. But I cannot assume that when I get that message it is going through because the other half of the time it doesn't. SUPER annoying. The previous tool, Jabber, could display screen captures directly in Chat. SfB requires downloading the screen cap. Also, there's no screen cap tool. I know the Win+Shift+S shortcut in Windows 10 to grab a screencap, but many people aren't aware of that so they struggle with the lack of the button. It's a Microsoft tool, so maybe they should add a tooltip about how to screencap... Seems minor, but when screen sharing the "stop sharing" button is in a little banner at the top center of the screen that's hidden until you hover over with the cursor. Due to the placement, I and many others frequently click stop sharing when attempting to click something at the top of the screen, such as a browser tab.,6,Overall, even while there are some great features, SfB has had a negative ROI for my business because of all the issues. It's really embarrassing to have constant screen share issues with having customer meetings. It's so bad that for some teams (e.g., tech support) we've had to get additional licenses to some OTHER tool so they can reliably screen share.,6,5,Webex Meetings and JabberSkype for Business is great for co-located workforceWe use Skype for Business across the whole organization to have online meetings with people from different time zones and countries. It makes it very convenient when we don't work in the same office. We no longer need to book conference rooms. We just need to look up people's calendars. And we can share screens with each other even though we might be from different parts of the world.,Capability to share screens with other people Mobile app Clear sound,There used to be a bug where once you muted yourself on the iPhone app, you could not unmute Connection can be unreliable when using the mobile app Some people outside our company complained about not being able to download the app, and can only join the audio,9,Saved the company money as we don't need to be in the same location anymore Saved people's time as we don't need to book meeting rooms More convenient when we can share our screen with others,Zoom and GoToMeeting,9,Zoom, GoToMeeting
Unspecified
Skype for Business (formerly Lync)
1727 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>

Skype for Business Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Skype for Business
1727 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1730 vetted Skype for Business reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 117)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Sarah Bandy profile photo
September 17, 2019

Skype is THE Business!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is being used by our organization to link up Board Members and staff during off-times between meetings in order to have productive conversations and drive forward points on our Strategic Plan. We signed up for Skype for Business in order to have an effective communication tool that supported multiple users.
  • Skype for Business can support large meeting numbers.
  • Skype for Business is newly refreshed and has very little lag time.
  • Skype for Business effectively integrates with existing Skype users.
  • I think the Skype for Business mobile capabilities could use a few small updates, as we have run across a few glitches that may just be due to connectivity issues.
  • File sharing is slightly clumsy but we have gotten the hang of it as a team.
  • That's it! Skype for Business is pretty great and easy to use.
You may be wondering why to choose Skype for Business and pay for Skype when there is also a free option. The free Skype doesn't come with features that would be helpful to a big group as it only has the capability to connect less than 25 participants in any one meeting. If you have a large group of employees that need to meet, Skype for Business is definitely worth the upgrade.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
yixiang Shan profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for business was introduced in Fedex around 2 years ago, to replace the old Lync version, as the corporate standard communication and collaboration tool. We majorly use Skype for business to have live chat/IP call/Video call with different colleagues around the world. Sometimes we also use it to organize ad-hoc conferences with small scoped group of colleagues.
  • As it is part of the Microsoft product family, it integrates with Outlook and Office on the Windows platform quite well. For example, it detects when you're idle and sets your status as away automatically, and you can launch the chat directly from your Outlook email address, which is quite handy.
  • The look and feel of Skype for Business is better than the previous version, Lync.
  • The screen sharing feature is well done. We can quickly launch the presentation mode or directly have the control of the remote end, which makes daily work cooperation very efficient, even across the continent.
  • It is not an easy job when we try to connect with outside customers or partners who are not familiar with it, even if they install the same Skype for Business. It requires a lot of time to figure out the tricky set up before the meeting can really start.
  • Skype for Business is separated from the the normal Skype. Maybe they can be somehow be integrated a little bit, otherwise sometimes we have to have both installed and switch between two Skypes.
  • Webinar features are missing in this product.
It is well suited for those in a Microsoft Windows based working environment, with strong and centralized IT Admin team to support it. If you need send big files often (>300M), then Skype for Business is not for you, considering the peer-to-peer approach has been replaced by the client-server-client mode, so file size has limits and also the performance is not so good.
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Gabriel Krahn profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for Business as a way to contact our colleagues in other units of our company overseas, and also our customers outside our network. With the file/image sharing, voice and video calls and the option to share your computer's controls with your chat-partner, Skype is a very good solution to shorten the distance between two continents.
  • Screen sharing.
  • Voice and video calls.
  • Text chatting.
  • It could run better on low-end computers.
  • Notification bugs have been known for a long time for Microsoft.
Skype for Business is really good when you need to set up a way of fast communication between a lot of people at the same time without spending tons of money on cellphone/internal calls. Also a cheaper alternative to other group meeting solutions like Webex or Jabber.
Read Gabriel Krahn's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton profile photo
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is included with the university's Office 365 subscription, and all Active Directory users can access and be contacted via Skype. We sometimes use it for within-department and between-department communication, especially for quick instant messaging. Skype is, of course, one of the original household names in videoconferencing, etc., but we don't use it much for that on a daily basis.
  • Skype for Business has grown quite a lot since its days as Microsoft Lync, and is now quite nicely integrated with almost facets of Windows and Office (and other Microsoft stuff).
  • It's nice for inter-office communication when everyone's using Active Directory and has Skype for Business running.
  • Skype for Business works well even on non-Windows and/or non-university machines (e.g. personal computers).
  • Skype in general, including the Business version, can be pretty clunky, and surprisingly resource-hungry, especially when it's always running, and on machines with lower specs.
  • This resource hungriness can be worth it for quick IMs to other members of the same organization, but I really have a hard time recommending Skype over something like Zoom for videoconferencing.
  • Video communication with others in the same organization just doesn't always seem to work very well, even on the same network.
Skype for Business (like its predecessor Lync) is nice for quick inter-office communication, but again, Microsoft Teams seems to be better for that stuff and allows for more collaboration. One of Skype's biggest weaknesses, as mentioned before, is how resource hungry it tends to be, so it's kind of a lot to leave on all the time.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Chris Lesner profile photo
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to have meetings with people outside of our company via phone, screen-share and video. The goal is to make it feel like everyone is in the same room and be able to work remotely from one another with much more ease than if we did not have it.
  • Easy to use screenshare capabilities.
  • The clarity in sound when on the phone.
  • Allows for a nice chat function.
  • Complicated for external users.
  • Need to download software to use the screen-share technology.
  • Seem to need to redownload fairly often.
If you have meetings that need to bring a lot of people into a conversation via phone or video, it would make sense to use Skype for Business. If you are already a Microsoft user for your email/calendar, the integrations with the calendar are extremely helpful, as every meeting has a default way for people to connect.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
Roger Black profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for Business as our online meeting tool quite frequently. All meetings have a Skype invite attached to them, which includes a conference bridge. This enables outside users to dial in with an 800 number, while internal users can use their Skype client for voice/video (or call in over phone if they choose). The flexibility here is key. We also use it for desktop sharing frequently (to help demonstrate an issue, or to troubleshoot an issue). Of course, we also use for IM.
Skype (now Teams) is constantly improving. It does, however, need some integration with modern software development tools (Atlassian products, for instance). But I prefer it much more than HipChat or Mattermost. Skype is more intuitive and easier to use.
  • Online meetings.
  • Desktop sharing.
  • It needs integration with modern software development tools, even if they are open-source.
It is well suited for a Microsoft shop (if you are using Windows desktops. Mac Skype clients tend to lack the functionality of their peer Skype for Windows clients.
Read Roger Black's full review
Justin Wiebe profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Skype for Business on our CRM team and with certain vendors. We have used it for the past year to really leverage how we work remotely and with our on-campus team. It is a great tool that allows for a lot of collaboration that we would not otherwise be able to do.
  • Manages large numbers of users.
  • The ability to share screens and collaborate across multiple desktops.
  • The cost is something that is very affordable.
  • It's harder to use with some Apple users.
  • It's not as robust when you only have two users.
  • You can't always use the presentation mode as easily as you should.
From a cost perspective, which we have to account for, it is very good, and I would recommend this to other schools of our size. It would not be as well suited for those only collaborating with a couple of staff/faculty members, as it is a bit over the top for that size. It is very well suited for meetings of 5+ users.
Read Justin Wiebe's full review
Greg Madden, CISSP profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is used across the entire organization to simplify communication across the board. Anyone is able to reach out directly to someone else and that decreases the time for response as emails can take hours some times. It is also useful as an auditing tool to ensure employees are using resources appropriately.
  • Easy roll out and simple set-up.
  • Almost no learning curve for users, even the least experienced employees can figure out how to contact fellow employees.
  • Simplified licensing.
  • Need better remotes. I know this is a business software but inner team discussion should be light-hearted.
  • Sometimes there is a delay between password changes on the machine and when Skype for Business recognizes it.
Skype for Business is great for all general communication. Even some urgent situations can be handled depending on the amount of information that needs to be relayed. I look at Skype for Business as a sub 10 minute response time whereas email can be an hour or more. It's not always instant depending on how busy the other party is, but it does allow you to instantly reach out and pop up on someone's screen to get their attention rather quickly.
Read Greg Madden, CISSP's full review
María Lucía Santagata profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using it for communicating with clients both nationally and abroad. It's used by my department and also by the commercial area, as we are the ones who communicate with clients. It's an alternative for Google Hangouts (our favorite tool for calls) and it helps us to share screens and images with remote clients, especially when making trainings or when we're defining changes in our services.
  • It's a light app to download.
  • Don't need any special OS specifications.
  • It's easy to share screens.
  • It allows many people to connect.
  • It's hard sometimes to connect the microphone or audio.
  • It's not that intuitive when audio or microphone problems happen. I had to restart a call several times because I couldn't figure out how to connect my microphone.
  • Sometimes has some delay when establishing the calls.
Skype for Business is a useful tool when you have to work with clients/teams abroad or remote, especially if the members of the team are all in different places. Of course, it's not very useful if you don't work remotely, and I think most users nowadays prefer Google Hangouts because it's already integrated with the e-mail services and Google Calendar, where usually people make their appointments.
Read María Lucía Santagata's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for Business at eSilicon in all departments, for 500+ users. We were using it for both instant messaging and conferencing (audio and video) but since last year, we are using it mostly for instant messaging, since we got a better tool for audio/video conferencing. For instant messaging, Skype for Business is still preferred over the new tool.
  • Instant messaging -- one thing that Skype for Business does well on the desktop application.
  • It's easy to use.
  • Good enough quality for audio and video conferencing.
  • Office integration. Personally, I love the button "Join Meeting" from the popup reminder before a Lync meeting.
  • The biggest issue in Lync is the screen sharing during conferencing. It disconnects many times, and even when it is working, the delay is annoying.
  • Mobile app and desktop app don't sync up very well. You can end up having parts of the conversation in both places.
  • It is constantly slow in connecting first time when changing network connections, like connect/disconnect to a VPN network.
Skype for Business can be used successfully for instant messaging and audio/video conferencing. Its integration with Office makes it a lot easier to connect to meetings and see the user's status in Outlook emails. While for screen sharing during conferences you can find better tools, you can still pick Skype for Business and be successful with it.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Adriano Reis profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Skype for Business is being used across the whole organization. Skype for Business helps a lot, in the part of communicating with team workers, you do not need to send emails or to look after someone around the factory, you just need to send them a skype message, that can be via voice, video, or just a normal message.
  • Helps team workers to communicate.
  • Facilitates the sharing of information.
  • You can present to someone by sharing your screen, even is a conference, where more than two people are presenting.
  • Easily can find anyone on the organization, just by searching for his name.
  • When you do not have a great network connection, Skype can be very slow, and even freeze the conversation.
  • When sharing screen, sometimes it can bug, and you do not see anything, then you have to reset connection.
  • I think it lacks of customization options.
Skype for Business is really useful whenever you have a meeting that you need to present something, but you cannot be in a meeting room or something like that. Then you use Skype for Business video conferences or just share your screen with one or more people and present them your projects.
Read Adriano Reis's full review
Denis Pereira profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very easy to use the software. It has a very friendly interface. With it, it is possible to get in touch with people from other sectors without having to go around. Besides being a very light program, it also is a program that does not require much processing power. The cost to the company is very low.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Low cost for the company.
  • Provides lectures (audio and video), plus screen and file sharing.
  • Takes up little space and is synchronized via SSO (Single Sing On).
  • I believe it could be linked with other Skypes, in addition to internally.
  • Needs a good connection to use.
  • If the person is offline, it is not possible to leave a message. I think I could change that.
Overall, Skype for Business is an excellent communication tool, delivering speed. Helping to get in touch with people who stay farthest inside the company. I believe that in general, Skype does not have many negative points, I recommend this program to other users. It works perfectly for small and large companies.
Read Denis Pereira's full review
Gabriel Oliveira profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is used for communication between users and clients, that is, we use the tool to take requirements of a new demand or a project that is in development, to take questions with the client about what he wants, and the communication between our team of developers. The whole company uses Skype, much of it for the same purpose. As I mentioned before, it addresses all kinds of communication about new demands or something related to each project.
  • Meetings - The creation of meetings is very important because with it you can schedule with clients that are not from your country and everything in real-time.
  • Screen Sharing - Allows the user to visualize a project together with his client, so that everything becomes simpler.
  • Video Call - We can make audio and video call.
  • Integration with Office 365 applications.
  • Need a good internet to do video conferencing.
  • Sometimes it happens to be with several conversations and the program locks and closes all of them.
  • The case of not being able to trace previous conversations, does not have a function to recover the same.
Skype for Business is a great tool for a company because it is where users will talk about work or something related to it. It can be used via voice, video, and conference. Skype is a simple tool, an interface that is quick to learn how to use.
Currently, the only negative point I have already reported is that Skype for Business has some failures when the conversation is between desktop and a mobile device.
Read Gabriel Oliveira's full review
Adriano Rosa profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is being used by the whole organization. We use Skype for Business for all of our communications, whenever someone needs to talk to anyone. This saves a lot of time. For example, you do not need to walk around the factory to reach someone, you can just send a message or even call him on Skype. Furthermore, you can add video and voice to conferences, to share information, share presentations, present them, share files, images, gifs...etc.
  • Some of its most powerful desktop features include group chat, integration with Outlook, and configurable settings (such as changing the minutes before the status changes to inactive).
  • It's very easy to use, and also works as an IP Phone, so you can't only talk to other Skype users.
  • It is highly popular and almost every organization uses it, so it is quite helpful in reaching out to other organizations, like client stakeholders and project managers, in an informal way that has previous validation, and is already done in terms of account creation and authenticity when it comes to organization email configuration.
  • It is relatively intuitive and easy to roll out enterprise-wide.
  • It is hard to trace previous conversations. You cannot recover all conversations.
  • When your network connection is not good, Skype will probably freeze.
  • Sometimes the initial message does not pop up for everyone in the chat.
Skype For Business is well suited when someone needs to talk with anyone in the company. So you just search for the people's name on your contacts list and start a conversation. It can be via voice, video, or conference.
Skype For Business is less appropriate when communicating between a desktop client and a mobile app. Users have reported synchronization issues.
Read Adriano Rosa's full review
Alyssa Kapinus profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used within our corporate environment for easy, quick communication.
  • It reduces email traffic over small questions
  • Allows for quicker response times
  • Allows better visibility of availability
  • Easier call set up
  • improved status accuracy
  • Less crashing
It's great for quick questions you need an answer to right away. Not the best for longer communications with high level of detail.
Read Alyssa Kapinus's full review
Aravind Dirisipo profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is being used as a web communicating software for interaction with other associates and our clients to discuss upon the project status as well as clarifying doubts. we can easily communicate with other team members by simply searching their user name or by using their employee ID number.
  • It contains messaging services for better communication.
  • We can make audio and video calls.
  • We can share our data and media to other users.
  • The call quality is very great.
  • We can present our screen to other users.
  • We need to have a secured high-speed broadband connection.
  • The software is not available for free.
  • The chat messages are not saved after some point of time.
  • The size of media files to shared is limited up to 25mb.
Skype for Business is very useful for establishing communication with clients and customers. It allows the user to share their screen with other users to discuss upon the ideas and problems occurred. The software is very robust and we can share different formats of data. Connections established are highly secure and accessible only with business emails.
Read Aravind Dirisipo's full review
Renaud Renvoye profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main use of Skype for Business across the organization is instant messaging. With employees all over the world, it was a very easy way to reach out to someone. When our conferencing tool was down, it served as a back up as well. It is used by the entire organization and sped up the process if you need to have a quick answer.
  • Easy to use
  • Fast
  • Cross-functional
  • Design
  • Functionalities
  • Stability
Skype for Business is very well suited when you are in a rush and need an answer right at that moment. If the person you need does not answer your email, then you can reach out to another person via instant messenger and you have good chance to get a response.
Read Renaud Renvoye's full review
Savannah Ehrlich profile photo
September 27, 2019

Avoid Skype if you Can!!!

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We no longer use Skype for Business as we have switched to Zoom. In a past job, Skype/Lync was very beneficial and we did not have as many problems. However, with my current company, and Office 365 setup, I was in a constant battle with Skype. Half of the time, audio would fail. The other half, video would fail. Sometimes the phone integration would fail. It was always a battle.
  • Ability to chat (now taken over by Teams)
  • Connectivity/Quality Issues
  • Not User Friendly
  • Device connection is difficult (external mics, cameras, etc)
If budget is a severe issue, and a company already has Office 365, it may have a strength, but Zoom is still a better setup.
Read Savannah Ehrlich's full review
Kaleb-John Loo profile photo
September 26, 2019

Hidden Gem in Office 365

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is ideal for hosting large company meetings since it allows for up to 250 participants and can be broadcast to even more people. It has great value as it is included in the Office 365 Suite and integrates with all of the Office applications. Skype for Business is very useful day to day as it is easy to setup a quick call with other members of the organization as you are able to view their schedule and status to see if they are available.
  • Integrates with Office 365 Suite.
  • Good audio and video Quality.
  • Simple to use interface.
  • Other video conferencing offers more capability in terms of capacity.
  • Device support for Linux is still lacking.
  • Microsoft is not backing this product and will stop service after a while.
Skype for Business is very useful if you need video conferencing software and already utilize Office 365. Its ability to integrate with the other Office applications allows for a lot of simplification that is already established from having used programs like Outlook, Powerpoint, Excel, and Word. However, if your business does not utilize Office 365 or would like a specifically dedicated video conferencing software, then there are other options available.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Akos Krommer, CISA, ACDA profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I quite like Skype for Business as it helps my organization to keep in touch with anyone throughout the whole business, I can see who reports to who in the organization chart and I can use this tool on the go, without going offline even for a second. My company always uses this product for meetings.
  • Easy to use
  • Great and intuitive interface
  • Stable network connection
  • You can't setup channels like you can in Slack
  • There could be more customization options
Skype for Business is an amazing communication and collaboration tool, and no wonder why so many companies and businesses chose this product for their operation. It is very well integrated with other MS products, so you can see whoever sent you an email is online or offline, you can see the same thing in Sharepoint as well, and you can always ping them from every MS product.
Read Akos Krommer, CISA, ACDA's full review
Georgette Mucci profile photo
September 15, 2019

Skype for Business Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the entire organization, both domestic and internationally.
  • It integrates with our phone system.
  • Searching and dialing outbound is very streamlined.
  • User-friendly.
  • Depending on your wifi, Skype can be difficult to log into.
  • We've seen dropped calls if the company has a rolling IPO address.
It is well suited in all scenarios. However, the cost may not be justifiable in smaller businesses.
Read Georgette Mucci's full review
Samantha McMahon profile photo
September 14, 2019

Decent Communication Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business also known as Lync is used in all departments of my company. With this program all employees can see the current status of each employee showing them away, available, in a meeting, etc. This allows for efficiency within the company.
  • Ability to easily instant message an employee.
  • Ability to view statuses of all employees.
  • Ability to create contacts and favorites lists.
  • I don’t care for the fact when you lock your computer it instantly says you’ve been gone for 5 minutes because that is not accurate. It only shows increments of 5 minutes I believe.
  • The emojis are never updated. No new emojis.
  • I wish there was a feature like the regular Skype that allows you to delete a link you previously sent in an instant message.
This isn’t my favorite tool but it helps to be efficient with other co-workers. It’s an easy tool to figure out how to use. I prefer the regular Skype over this product but my company requires me to use this product.
Read Samantha McMahon's full review
Naushad Akhtar profile photo
June 14, 2019

Shrinking the World

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is being used as the primary online meeting tool right now. It is used across the organization and even with our outsourced IT. It is mainly used for online meetings and sometimes as a quick chat between colleagues. It addresses the need of physically present in a meeting.
  • Skype for Business is easy to use. It is flexible in the sense that if you have a mic and earphone then you can use them or else you can receive a call on your phone to be in a meeting.
  • You can watch another person's screen.
  • You can get control to do troubleshooting on other person's computer.
  • I don't know if Skype for Business can integrate with personal Skype which would give it more flexibility to use as then you can connect to individual users who don't have the business license.
It is well suited for meetings and presentations if you are not physically present. You can see who all are present in a meeting, can perform all the functions that you can do in a meeting room like raise hand, ask questions, show your screen, be a presenter or appoint other people as presenters. The application gives an option for which screen you want to show adding privacy.
Read Naushad Akhtar's full review
No photo available
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is used by my entire organization for web conferencing and intercompany chat and most people use it for voice calls instead of direct phone calls. We formerly used Cisco WebEx and Jabber for these applications.
  • Saved chat history (Conversation History). This is a useful upgrade vs. our last tool (Jabber) where I'd have to manually save chats as HTML if I wanted to reference the information later.
  • Integration with Outlook. It is convenient having a Skype meeting button built directly into scheduling which inserts the call-in info. I also appreciate that when meetings are scheduled his way, a "join meeting" button pops up in the Outlook meeting reminder. Also, nice that the saved Conversation History on my first point is searchable in Outlook.
  • The emoji of a head banging against a brick wall. It often perfectly encapsulates my feelings about work, especially when Skype for Business is failing.
  • The ability to record meetings is much better than when we used WebEx. It's built-in whereas with WebEx we had to have some special version to be able to capture the audio from the presenter AND the participants, which often meant the presenter would just have to repeat questions (waste of time). That was super annoying for someone like me who does a lot of remote training sessions, so this is a nice improvement over the previous tool.
  • The stability of Skype for Business (SfB) is terrible. Every single colleague of mine complains about frequent skype problems. The problems are also quite varied, so it's more of a "flavor of the week" problem (or flavor of the day in particularly bad cases). A common ice breaker on a call is a quick anecdote about the latest skype problem someone has experienced. While it has gotten slightly better in the ~2 years we've had SfB, I still experience problems at least on a weekly basis.
  • Video chat using webcam often completely bogs down my PC (which has hardware specs more than capable of handling it and a gigabit fiber internet connection) to the point where I cannot even use other programs. Example: my team was recently on a call where we were all on video and I was editing a PowerPoint in real-time during the call. It got to the point where I would type something in PowerPoint and after a several second delay, the text would slowly scroll out across the screen like the intro text on some 90s spy movie. Several days later, tried the same thing with the same result. I have complained to colleagues about this and they have reported similar experiences.
  • The aforementioned benefit of Outlook integration sometimes becomes a con. Often the Skype meeting plugin will be running so slowly that Outlook will automatically disable it, and I have to manually re-enable the plugin to be able to schedule Skype meetings.
  • On chat, I frequently get an error message paraphrased as "unable to deliver message to [recipient name]" so I'll try again. Half the time the recipient DID receive the message so I'm sending the message multiple times. But I cannot assume that when I get that message it is going through because the other half of the time it doesn't. SUPER annoying.
  • The previous tool, Jabber, could display screen captures directly in Chat. SfB requires downloading the screen cap. Also, there's no screen cap tool. I know the Win+Shift+S shortcut in Windows 10 to grab a screencap, but many people aren't aware of that so they struggle with the lack of the button. It's a Microsoft tool, so maybe they should add a tooltip about how to screencap...
  • Seems minor, but when screen sharing the "stop sharing" button is in a little banner at the top center of the screen that's hidden until you hover over with the cursor. Due to the placement, I and many others frequently click stop sharing when attempting to click something at the top of the screen, such as a browser tab.
SfB has some great features and would be a great tool if there weren't so many of the aforementioned stability issues. I really miss having a tool that could be reliably used for screen sharing meetings without the risk of wasting 5-10 minutes out of a 30 minute meeting just trying to get to a workable state, whether it's one or more recipients having to try multiple audio connection options to find one that works that day, or sharing the screen multiple times just to get it to work for all. SfB is a major source of work frustration for me and many others.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for Business across the whole organization to have online meetings with people from different time zones and countries. It makes it very convenient when we don't work in the same office. We no longer need to book conference rooms. We just need to look up people's calendars. And we can share screens with each other even though we might be from different parts of the world.
  • Capability to share screens with other people
  • Mobile app
  • Clear sound
  • There used to be a bug where once you muted yourself on the iPhone app, you could not unmute
  • Connection can be unreliable when using the mobile app
  • Some people outside our company complained about not being able to download the app, and can only join the audio
Skype for Business is suitable for multi-national companies that have locations across different parts of the world, and people need to collaborate a lot online.
Skype for Business is less appropriate for local SMEs that do not need virtual communications online.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (112)
8.1
High quality video (107)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (104)
6.6
Mobile support (78)
7.3
Desktop sharing (112)
8.3
Whiteboards (70)
7.7
Calendar integration (103)
8.7
Meeting initiation (109)
8.3
Integrates with social media (49)
7.2
Record meetings / events (86)
7.9
Slideshows (60)
8.4
Live chat (105)
8.5
Audience polling (49)
8.0
Q&A (43)
7.9
User authentication (80)
8.2
Participant roles & permissions (85)
7.9
Confidential attendee list (62)
8.2

About Skype for Business

Skype for Business is part of Microsoft’s 365 suite offering and provides an IP PBX for online messaging and web conferencing. It includes features such as live streaming meetings, dialing into conference calls, and the ability to make, receive, and transfer calls via a computer or mobile device. It offers a free version of its service with basic features, and a licensed version that offers its full suite of tools.

Previously, Skype for Business integrated with Skype for Business Server to provide a complete, unified communications offering. However, in 2018, Microsoft announced that Microsoft Teams would eventually replace Skype for Business.

Existing users of Skype for Business can continue to utilize its software, and it is available for download, however, Microsoft itself recommends that potential users looking to work with Skype for Business, should purchase Microsoft Teams instead. Features of Skype for Business are being incorporated into Microsoft Teams, and Microsoft Teams includes many features that Skype for Business does not. However, users of Skype for Business can still use it alongside Microsoft Teams.

Skype for Business’s key features remain, such as its support for PSTN conferencing, video and audio recording of calls, and screen and computer access tool. Its support of PSTN allows for its users to connect their conference calls using their phones. These same calls can support up to 250 users.

Categories:  Collaboration,  IP PBX,  VoIP,  Web Conferencing

Skype for Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No