TrustRadius
Skype for Business (formerly Microsoft Lync), is an IP PBX for messaging and web conferencing.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/9N/xn/FCFVWJ699QTI.PNGRemote communication tool that strengthens the flow of information of an organization.Skype for Business, is being used by the general operations management to strengthen communications with its workers and other professionals involved in the production chain. One of the most common problems has been to achieve an assertive communication with each of the people involved in the production process, considering that it is very complex to achieve communication immediately. With the application of the SKYPE for Business program, communication with staff has been continuously improved, significantly reducing work execution times and, consequently, we are more efficient. In the same way, logistical expenses have been significantly reduced because, thanks to the Skype tools, we no longer need to mobilize to other spaces for the organization of work meetings.,It offers work tools that manage to maintain a stable connection and quality in each individual and group call. Allows sharing the computer screen for excellent communication. It is a tool that adapts to the current business dynamics that requires it to be efficient in communication through rapid and assertive communication with clients or interested parties. Video calls for the organization of work meetings have become a common experience in smart organizations because they understand that in order to adapt to a constantly changing world they must use more effective work tools. You can make individual and group video calls, send images, emoticons, text messages, voice messages, share files, share the screen in two or group with other communication tools.,It requires an excellent connection to the Internet because not all the territory of my country has an adequate Internet connection for the efficient operation of Skype. Being a limitation for the communication by video call with the personnel that is in communities of difficult access. They must improve the coincidence of the audio of the call with the video view, considering that they do not coincide in time, a situation that affects the work. They should improve the process to make a call because it is confusing.,8,The use of Skype has been a tool that has contributed to improve the indices of profitability of the company, considering that it significantly reduced the expenses in logistics and organization of events. The organization has significantly reduced the time of completion of tasks, action that has improved the utility indexes. The departure of personnel was reduced, considering that the organization is more efficient, because it improved the communication with the companies.,Google Hangouts,OneDrive, IBM SPSS, Panda Security for DesktopsIt's Skype we all know, but just for business nothing personal.Skype for Business is being used across the whole organization. We mostly use it for a quick conversation, quick questions, and answers. The whole Idea being connected with everyone from your organization that numbers 10.000+ users is perfect. Team collaboration has never been easier. No matter where you are stationed you can jump into a Quick conversation, meeting or video call to elaborate on hot topics. My team which has around 350+ people use it daily. I, for instance, have 20 separate Chats/Conversations. Some of them are really big chats where we have more than 50+, and some of them are just private e.g. Leadership chat. In those big chats, we have employees asking questions about work, and someone is always available to provide them with an adequate answer, which boosts our team productivity enormously.,Status: Integration with Outlook and Outlook calendar makes it easy for you if you accept a meeting invitation. Skype will read your calendar data and change your status to "In a Meeting" where you won't get disturbed by side chats or notifications. Remote connection: another great tool if you need to connect with someone and show them how something is done. For example, you need to install your company printer on their machine, it is easier to take control than to explain chatting. Video and Audio calls: Skype always had high-quality calls, nothing has changed in that department, you can always call a colleague and have a talk about something that must be explained quickly. Ability to add Skype contacts outside of your organization. It makes Skype for Business also your personal Skype, but you shouldn't share your organization email easily with everyone.,Having multiple Chats/Conversations open, make Skype unresponsive from time to time. Sometimes it has tendencies of crashing even on high-end machines. Grouping chats - Works well, however, there is no option to group appointed meeting conversation with other regular conversations/chats that were not initiated by calendar event. Should be able to have some themes to choose from. Microsoft is going for a dark theme in Windows insider program. Personal Skype already has it why wouldn't Skype for business have it? It is pleasant to the eye, at least in my opinion and for my eyes.,9,I cannot imagine working my day job without Skype for business. When it goes down, we are cut from the communication with the rest of the organization, making it hard to do almost anything. If you depend on collaboration with your colleges, Skype will impact that field of your job in the best possible way.,Slack,Trello, Slack, MS SharePoint,No,Existing Relationship with the Vendor,There is not anything that i would change about my company's decision on having Skype for Business as our main communication tool. Whoever though about which platform we are going to use did a great job and a great research, my whole organization 10.000+ people are satisfied with how Skype for Business under different scenarios performs.Handy with our existing O365 environmentSkype for Business is available across our two campuses but mainly is only used by the IT Services department. We use Skype for Business to quickly and easily see who is in the office, message individuals and groups, and ask coworkers for help while we might be solving an issue out in the field.,IM Tracking Online Indicator,Lots of pop-ups Can't send images from an iOS app Sometimes annoying to use,8,It helps us to communicate between IT Services teams It helps me to communicate with my supervisor when I'm in the field fixing an issue Helps me to send reminders to my supervisor,,Bomgar Remote Support Software, Mitel MiCollab, Cherwell Service ManagementSimply the best and economical conferencing toolSkype is being used by our whole organization for years but our department was using ooVoo instead. When i became the team lead i decided to switch our department to Skype because its the best program for Video calling and conferencing. With the help of Head of our Department my request was acknowledged and this is how we started using Skype two years ago. We use skype for calls and meetings with our international clients.,When it comes to conduct meetings with your clients, Skype is best option. It lets you conduct conference with 250 people at a time. HD video calling feature allows the user to connect with 6 people on a video call and you can enjoy the view of 1080p resolution. You can present your Powerpoint presentation via Skype with high resolution display.,Skype could improve the video calling feature, it lags sometimes. On mobile app, Video calling lags sometime and disconnections are also there. Skype should be designed in a way that it could deliver the best results according to the user's internet connection. On slow or below average internet, video should automatically be switched from HD to SD, keeping the Audio quality best possible.,9,It has reduced the cost of international calls. On go meeting feature allows to attend meetings at any place Can't really think of any negative impact.,,TeamViewer, Golden Frog VyprVPN, JabberRemote meetings becoming easierThe company uses Skype for Business to keep in touch with branches that are located in other states, even in other countries, to hold meetings and make important work decisions as a team through a link and with just a click you can join the meeting, where you can meet more than 250 people, you can make presentations in power point and have a board where you can write all the members of the meeting, Skype for business is being used by the entire company since it has offices in all states from the country,Weekly meetings with all the managers of all the offices to make decisions in the organization The video is clear, just like the sound is perfect They can perform work in real time Write all together on the board in which you can annotate, delete, edit We can make many presentations in power point And there is also instant messaging which is ideal while others talk,You must have a good internet connection so that the image looks good If some of the members may have poor resolution in sound and videos which may cause the call to be cut and lose the thread of the meeting,9,Improvement in work performance Reduce expenses in the organization You can create and collaborate while working on applications that you use every day such as Excel, Word, and Outlook, which is very easy since everyone in the organization uses those tools. You can work on large projects all together and remotely,,Microsoft Yammer
Unspecified
Skype for Business
1226 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Skype for Business Reviews

Skype for Business
1226 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1230 vetted Skype for Business reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 73)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 13, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "Remote communication tool that strengthens the flow of information of an organization."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business, is being used by the general operations management to strengthen communications with its workers and other professionals involved in the production chain. One of the most common problems has been to achieve an assertive communication with each of the people involved in the production process, considering that it is very complex to achieve communication immediately. With the application of the SKYPE for Business program, communication with staff has been continuously improved, significantly reducing work execution times and, consequently, we are more efficient. In the same way, logistical expenses have been significantly reduced because, thanks to the Skype tools, we no longer need to mobilize to other spaces for the organization of work meetings.
  • It offers work tools that manage to maintain a stable connection and quality in each individual and group call.
  • Allows sharing the computer screen for excellent communication.
  • It is a tool that adapts to the current business dynamics that requires it to be efficient in communication through rapid and assertive communication with clients or interested parties.
  • Video calls for the organization of work meetings have become a common experience in smart organizations because they understand that in order to adapt to a constantly changing world they must use more effective work tools.
  • You can make individual and group video calls, send images, emoticons, text messages, voice messages, share files, share the screen in two or group with other communication tools.
  • It requires an excellent connection to the Internet because not all the territory of my country has an adequate Internet connection for the efficient operation of Skype. Being a limitation for the communication by video call with the personnel that is in communities of difficult access.
  • They must improve the coincidence of the audio of the call with the video view, considering that they do not coincide in time, a situation that affects the work.
  • They should improve the process to make a call because it is confusing.
It is a tool that adapts very well to meetings of a high professional level, being very effective for the transmission of information and the reduction of logistics expenses and the growth of the personnel. Skype adapts well as a tool of communication at a distance with the work teams, since it allows the reduction of the operative expenses and the execution times of the strategic instructions of the organization, guaranteeing the adequate use of the available time for the production of the company.

It does not adapt very well for the organization of meetings at distances that merit communication with personnel located in communities of difficult access, which do not have an excellent connection to the internet, therefore the tool is more advisable for office activities but not field.
Read Exson Meza's full review
June 12, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "It's Skype we all know, but just for business nothing personal."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is being used across the whole organization. We mostly use it for a quick conversation, quick questions, and answers.
The whole Idea being connected with everyone from your organization that numbers 10.000+ users is perfect. Team collaboration has never been easier. No matter where you are stationed you can jump into a Quick conversation, meeting or video call to elaborate on hot topics.

My team which has around 350+ people use it daily. I, for instance, have 20 separate Chats/Conversations. Some of them are really big chats where we have more than 50+, and some of them are just private e.g. Leadership chat.
In those big chats, we have employees asking questions about work, and someone is always available to provide them with an adequate answer, which boosts our team productivity enormously.
  • Status: Integration with Outlook and Outlook calendar makes it easy for you if you accept a meeting invitation. Skype will read your calendar data and change your status to "In a Meeting" where you won't get disturbed by side chats or notifications.
  • Remote connection: another great tool if you need to connect with someone and show them how something is done. For example, you need to install your company printer on their machine, it is easier to take control than to explain chatting.
  • Video and Audio calls: Skype always had high-quality calls, nothing has changed in that department, you can always call a colleague and have a talk about something that must be explained quickly.
  • Ability to add Skype contacts outside of your organization. It makes Skype for Business also your personal Skype, but you shouldn't share your organization email easily with everyone.
  • Having multiple Chats/Conversations open, make Skype unresponsive from time to time. Sometimes it has tendencies of crashing even on high-end machines.
  • Grouping chats - Works well, however, there is no option to group appointed meeting conversation with other regular conversations/chats that were not initiated by calendar event.
  • Should be able to have some themes to choose from. Microsoft is going for a dark theme in Windows insider program. Personal Skype already has it why wouldn't Skype for business have it? It is pleasant to the eye, at least in my opinion and for my eyes.
Skype for business is literally good for everything no matter if it's a quick conversation, question and answer, or simple file sharing. It can do it all.

It is much better and faster way of communication than email if you want to get fast answer. But its integration with Outlook makes it just easy if you want to shoot a question about some email that you received and you do not completely understand it or you have more questions about your project.

Less appropriate usage would be for chit chats as your employees can lose focus having fun chatting with other employees in their private conversation.
Read Stefan Trbojevic's full review
September 10, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "Handy with our existing O365 environment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is available across our two campuses but mainly is only used by the IT Services department. We use Skype for Business to quickly and easily see who is in the office, message individuals and groups, and ask coworkers for help while we might be solving an issue out in the field.
  • IM
  • Tracking
  • Online Indicator
  • Lots of pop-ups
  • Can't send images from an iOS app
  • Sometimes annoying to use
Skype for Business works well when everyone in the department or company has it open ALL the time. If the user does not have it open, then messages will not be sent as instant messages, thus defeating the purpose of Skype for Business. It also works well if you give employees iOS or other mobile devices, there is simply an app that works just like the computer client.
Read Andrew Breyen's full review
August 17, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "Simply the best and economical conferencing tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is being used by our whole organization for years but our department was using ooVoo instead. When i became the team lead i decided to switch our department to Skype because its the best program for Video calling and conferencing. With the help of Head of our Department my request was acknowledged and this is how we started using Skype two years ago. We use skype for calls and meetings with our international clients.
  • When it comes to conduct meetings with your clients, Skype is best option. It lets you conduct conference with 250 people at a time.
  • HD video calling feature allows the user to connect with 6 people on a video call and you can enjoy the view of 1080p resolution.
  • You can present your Powerpoint presentation via Skype with high resolution display.
  • Skype could improve the video calling feature, it lags sometimes.
  • On mobile app, Video calling lags sometime and disconnections are also there.
  • Skype should be designed in a way that it could deliver the best results according to the user's internet connection. On slow or below average internet, video should automatically be switched from HD to SD, keeping the Audio quality best possible.
I don't find any scenario where Skype for business is less appropriate. It is well suited for all the scenarios. The most thing i like is that it keeps you connected with your colleagues and clients, and you're also close to your family and friends. It wouldn't be wrong to say that Skype for business is a complete package.
Read Oscar Quintanilla's full review
July 17, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "Remote meetings becoming easier"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company uses Skype for Business to keep in touch with branches that are located in other states, even in other countries, to hold meetings and make important work decisions as a team through a link and with just a click you can join the meeting, where you can meet more than 250 people, you can make presentations in power point and have a board where you can write all the members of the meeting, Skype for business is being used by the entire company since it has offices in all states from the country
  • Weekly meetings with all the managers of all the offices to make decisions in the organization
  • The video is clear, just like the sound is perfect
  • They can perform work in real time
  • Write all together on the board in which you can annotate, delete, edit
  • We can make many presentations in power point
  • And there is also instant messaging which is ideal while others talk
  • You must have a good internet connection so that the image looks good
  • If some of the members may have poor resolution in sound and videos which may cause the call to be cut and lose the thread of the meeting
For large companies that have offices in all parts of the world, it adapts perfectly as it reduces expenses such as travel expenses and hotel payments to transfer managers to the main office. It is best to connect via Skype as it can also be used. make from any device such as cell phones, tablets and from your computer, from anywhere in the world, must have a good internet connection which is very important, those companies that do not have a good internet connection do not recommend it as they will have many interruptions
Read Jennifer Lamas's full review
July 02, 2018

User Review: "Microsoft Skype for Business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business by Microsoft was previously known as Microsoft Lync and Microsoft Office Communicator. Today, it’s a popular instant-messaging client that can be used alongside Skype for Business Online or Skype for Business Server – solutions available with Microsoft Office The Skype for Business system was effectively designed to replace the old Windows Messenger solution that ran alongside the Microsoft Exchange Server. Skype for business is allowing us to have online conference calls with colleagues in other locations around the world.
  • Video conferencing
  • Integration with other Microsoft Software, such as a contact list stored on the Microsoft Exchange server,
  • Desktop sharing
  • Whiteboard document collaboration
  • PowerPoint document collaboration
  • Not a full-fledged VoIP platform
  • No integrated dial-in audio conference features
  • Online plans don't work with hardware phones.
The collaboration capabilities are outstanding. Being able to drag people into meetings and share screen content all with full telephony capabilities have been a game changer for our organization. Presence and location setting have given our workers full transparency when working remotely.
Read Juan Vlieg's full review
September 07, 2018

"Skype for Business - User Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for business for our Internal and external communication.
  • Internal communication
  • Screen sharing
  • Video communication
  • Sometimes it takes a bit longer to upload, but that could be my machine. Most of the times it's quick enough.
  • The screen design could be improved a bit to make it more user-friendly.
  • I can't think of another, it really is a user-friendly application
It's good when you need quick answers, instead of sending an E-mail or leaving a phone message, you can connect directly with the person you want and get answers instantly.
Read Mohamed F Hussein's full review
April 24, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "Skype for your communication needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for business is the primary mechanism by which our users across the country stay connected. It is used for chatting, meetings, screen-sharing, and support.
  • Great for screen sharing
  • Excellent for remote meetings
  • Very useful for chat sessions with one or more users
  • It would be nice if a chat session with individual users would remain active for individual users for a business day rather than moving the message to conversation history
  • Otherwise, it works great!
Desktop sharing, remote meetings, chatting with one or more user across multiple platforms including mobile devices.
Read Ken Sparks's full review
July 14, 2018

User Review: "Skype for Business is user friendly"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is being used by the customer service department of the organization. This is a very useful tool, and it is excellent for conducting meetings. This addresses the problem of faster communication. While there are other ways to speak to clients remotely, Skype is generally faster and much more reliable.
  • One strength of Skype is its ease of use. This software is very user friendly, and most people have used it on a personal level, so they know how it works
  • Connectivity is faster. With some software, it takes longer to establish a connection to the other party, but with Skype, it is almost instant
  • There are technical issues when more than 25 people are participating in a meeting.
  • A minor connection issue can cause you to be signed out of the app
It is very well suited for meetings with less than 25 participants. It tends to work better in smaller groups.

Read Brian Arsenault's full review
May 04, 2018

Review: "Skype for Business is leading the pack!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use video conferencing to connect our doctors to their patients and out of all the product we use, Skype for Business is a definite leader among a plethora of options. We have to use and/or have used most of the products out there due to the different requirements at each location and if asked I'll recommend Skype for Business every time.
  • Great audio / video
  • Easy to deploy and manage
  • Secure
  • Pricey
  • Copy & Paste of screenshots into the IM tends to freeze the program
This is a professional level product so it's best for larger organizations. For small organizations and/or personal use, I'd recommend a different option.
Read Ryan Blodgett's full review
August 17, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "Virtual Meetings"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is being used across the organization globally for virtual meetings and collaboration. It is also used as the telephone system. It addresses the problem of holding meetings with people in different areas and with different suppliers/customers.
  • Skype is great for conference calls with large groups.
  • Skype does well with sharing presentations.
  • Skype also does well with integration into Microsoft Outlook by allowing to schedule meetings and send a link to the meeting conference.
  • The call quality for Skype could be improved. It is sometimes difficult to hear the person on the other end.
  • When sharing your desktop screen, there is lag. I would like to see a smoother quality.
  • Sometimes the Skype system randomly drops calls or refuses to connect and restarts the call.
Skype is well suited in an environment when it is necessary to collaborate with multiple individuals in different areas. It would be less appropriate where clear presentations are needed. Sometimes it is difficult to read text over Skype.
Read this authenticated review
May 31, 2018

Review: "Skype for Business for fast, global communication"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a multinational company, so the need to connect across the globe is great. Skype allows us to hold meetings and conference calls, share screens, or just have a quick chat with coworkers in all locations.
  • Screen sharing
  • IM
  • Multi-user chats
  • Sound quality - international skype calls can be tricky
Skype for Business is great for any business with an office setting where users have access to a computer. It seamlessly integrates with Outlook calendars to update user status (busy/meeting/away).
Read this authenticated review
March 07, 2018

User Review: "Skype for Business is a good option"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Skype for Business to hold meetings with internal and external customers across the whole organization. We are able to connect with people all over the world, we usually share presentations, record meetings and discuss all kinds of topics.
  • It's easy to use since it's integrated with outlook, you can schedule calls and it includes the information to join the meeting automatically.
  • You can easily call or chat co-workers when needed.
  • I like the functionalit to tag for status alerts, to know when someone is online.
  • I would like to be able to record a meeting even if I'm using the phone.
  • It should include a way to raise a hand to ask questions.
  • Sometimes you are kicked out from meetings, without any notice or apparent reason.
It works well in most cases, but I guess that when the server is saturated, then the quality of the call is not good and sometimes is hard to stay on the call for long, since it kicks you out repeteadly.
Read Diana Tejeda's full review
January 23, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "Does not support external phone line/calls"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small start-up and tried to drink the Microsoft Kool-Aid by going with Office 365 for Business, which Skype for Business comes with. We really wanted to use this tool for our phone (VoIP) and team/customer chatting. We spent numerous hours trying to figure out how to get business and individual phone lines. Skype for Business is not set up that way, there was a workaround that we could have implemented but it was very confusing and the time and the expense was not worth the headache.
  • Chatting - very easy to chat with internal teams and external customers that have a Skype account.
  • Outgoing phone calls - worked fine.
  • Screen sharing - worked well internally.
  • No way to receive external phone calls unless they have a Skype account. This was a deal killer for us.
  • No way to schedule meetings with customers and share screen if they are calling in from an external number - they must have Skype and you have to be connected.
If you are a company that doesn't need to receive external phone calls from non-Skype users, this would be a good fit for you.
Read Mechelle Timmons's full review
January 18, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "More powerful than people realize"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our office recently switched to an open 360 format. Skype for Business has helped us manage short person to person or group conversations instead of having loud conversations in an open office or exchanging multiple emails. We also use it to have side conversations or exchange documents when on calls or in meetings. Most of the dialogue is professional in nature but it is also a way to connect privately with a colleague to get a quick opinion or send a meme/emoji.
  • Sending example text or documents quickly without adding to email back-log.
  • Allowing side conversations during meetings and calls.
  • We use it organization-wide so I can contact a colleague when they may be on the phone or in a meeting. (My boss is always in a meeting but will respond to me instantly via Skype...as long as she is actually in front of her computer.
  • More people are working from home or remotely and we can set our contact mode to sync with our Outlook calenders to let people know where we are and when we will be available....and for how long we have been away from our computer.
  • Currently, my "favorite" contacts are organized alphabetically which can lead to contacting the wrong person. I wish it would organize my list by most contacted.
It's ideal for quick, less official, inter-office communication. It is less suitable for conversations outside of our organization where you want an easy record of the conversation, documents exchanged and who was included in the communication. It is also tempting for younger staff to use it to gossip like other social media tools. I've had to council staff on the appropriate uses.
Read Amanda Kraft's full review
January 18, 2018

Review: "Skype for Business - Quick & Easy with Microsoft Office Suite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Skype for business within my organization and with clients.
  • Quick and easy chat among colleagues.
  • Clear phone and video calls.
  • Easy and fast screen sharing.
  • The main pitfall of Skype for Business is that you cannot chat with employees outside your organization. To do so, you must have an ID with their domain name and log out of your current instance of Skype.
  • If you attempt to use the Skype for Business app and the Lync of Skype for business Windows 10 app together, neither program runs efficiently.
Skype for business makes chatting internally among coworkers very easy. However, if you need to chat with people outside of your organization you will need to find another chat service like Gchat, regular Skype, Facebook messenger, etc.
Read Alena Van Dalen's full review
January 18, 2018

Review: "Skype for Business connects you to your team!"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Skype for Business at the request of a publication client who uses it to communicate with his team which includes me, the designer, editors, authors, marketers, etc. Skype has been essential for our meetings since we are all located all over the United States. People can enter the calls via voice or video and it can recognize who is talking based on the microphone in order to let you know who is speaking in case they are not visible on video.

Another nice thing is it's compatible on Windows and Mac devices, whether it's a computer or PC, tablet or smartphone.
  • Device compatibility is excellent between all the different types of technology we have nowadays. You can patch in via smartphone, PC, Mac, or tablet.
  • Skype is a familiar brand so most people can easily navigate the app whether they've used Skype for personal or business.
  • It's great for people in different time zones so they can all connect at the same time to make plans and follow through.
  • If two people are competing to speak, there can be issues with distinguishing who is talking as it will lower the sound of the quieter voice.
  • If you're using the app on mobile and there are connectivity issues, it sometimes boots you out completely which can be frustrating and difficult to jump back into the call.
  • Because Skype for Business is separate from regular Skype it is a little annoying to have to maintain two accounts. Especially if some of your clients are also personal contacts.
Skype for Business is great for solving the quick issue of communicating with a team, especially if the team can't meet in person. Since the teams I work with are located all over the US, sometimes overseas, it is essential that we are able to get on the same page when planning for our current and future projects. We don't use all the capabilities of Skype for Business to be honest, but that's probably partially because it's not the best program for supporting multiple key features that other apps do better.
Read Mandy Cramer's full review
January 18, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "Just a good tool for collaboration"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for business was used as an instant messaging and audio conferencing tool across the entire organization. It was a great tool for collaboration within geographically distributed teams, users were able to text or call each other whenever they needed without using phone lines, which were a bit expensive for international calls.
  • Good IM tool
  • Good web conferencing
  • Has web application for conferencing with people outside your organization
  • Sound quality could be better
  • VDI integration was not very smooth, IM worked fine but voice was very ugly
  • Having linux desktop client could also be good
If you need to send a short message to your organization which contains some business sensitive information or some business critical files you can do it securely within your enterprise network. So it won`t be transferred across public internet, minimizing the risk of any information leak. Also, you can have an entire team in conference quickly even if people are working from different countries
Read Andrey Perepelitsyn's full review
January 16, 2018

User Review: "Don't sleep on Skype for Business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype is being used across the entire organization as an instant messaging tool and screen share tool. It provides a consistent means of communication for everyone since we are all on the same IM platform. It also shows the status of someone so we know if they are present at their computer or not.
  • Integrates really well with Outlook and our business calendar.
  • Screen sharing is very easy and fast.
  • Easy to set up group chats.
  • They need to make it easy to copy/paste images/gifs/videos in chats. The image paste that exists now is bad.
  • Allow a person to add their personal Skype contacts.
Skype is great for larger companies that have people working in different geographies. I think if you are at a smaller company without the issue of multiple offices then Skype may not be for you. I would go with Slack instead. Also if you don't depend on Outlook, then Skype loses some advantages.
Read Brian Nizinsky's full review
January 16, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "A very good IM solution for business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for business was introduced in Fedex around 2 years ago, to replace the old Lync version, as the corporate standard communication and collaboration tool. We majorly use Skype for business to have live chat/IP call/Video call with different colleagues around the world. Sometimes we also use it to organize ad-hoc conferences with small scoped group of colleagues.
  • As it is part of the Microsoft product family, it integrates with Outlook and Office on the Windows platform quite well. For example, it detects when you're idle and sets your status as away automatically, and you can launch the chat directly from your Outlook email address, which is quite handy.
  • The look and feel of Skype for Business is better than the previous version, Lync.
  • The screen sharing feature is well done. We can quickly launch the presentation mode or directly have the control of the remote end, which makes daily work cooperation very efficient, even across the continent.
  • It is not an easy job when we try to connect with outside customers or partners who are not familiar with it, even if they install the same Skype for Business. It requires a lot of time to figure out the tricky set up before the meeting can really start.
  • Skype for Business is separated from the the normal Skype. Maybe they can be somehow be integrated a little bit, otherwise sometimes we have to have both installed and switch between two Skypes.
  • Webinar features are missing in this product.
It is well suited for those in a Microsoft Windows based working environment, with strong and centralized IT Admin team to support it. If you need send big files often (>300M), then Skype for Business is not for you, considering the peer-to-peer approach has been replaced by the client-server-client mode, so file size has limits and also the performance is not so good.
Read yixiang Shan's full review
January 15, 2018

Review: "Skype for Business bridges gap between chat client and voice/screenshare/video meetings"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for Business is used at my organization to stay in touch with external vendors and clients. It is additionally used for company meetings, client meetings, and vendor meetings when having a reliable connection for voice and video conferencing is required. Additionally, I use it to stay in individual contact/be available to off-site teams. It is excellent for synchronous communication, both text and voice, and provides decent sound quality when used on a broadband connection.
  • Synchronous communication: immediate, instant text chat and video chat.
  • Group chat/meetings: easy to communicate with multiple people at once.
  • Cross-platform: available on Mac, Windows, and on smartphones - great app support across all these platforms, making it straightforward to never miss a message.
  • Automated available/busy time: some kind of integration to automatically snooze Skype (maybe integrated with Outlook calendar or something), or outside of business hours.
  • Screen share can lag a little during larger calls or meetings.
For my purposes, Skype for Business competes directly with GoToMeeting, Uber Meeting, and other business conferencing software. I've had good success using it for video and audio meetings, plus - as originally deployed - for synchronous messaging. Maintaining a contact list means easily reaching out to desired people/clients/vendors, and overall messaging functionality is reliable and useful: send/receive messages, add to contacts, timestamps, etc. Video and screen share can occasionally lag, but overall, it works great.
Read Leah Jakaitis's full review
January 15, 2018

Skype for Business Review: "Company Instant Messaging for Millennials"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently added Skype for Business for all employees in our office (around 125 users). Although picking up the phone to ask a quick question or sending an email and waiting for a response are both common and useful communication methods, I have found that using Skype for Business allows for a quicker turn-around in responses especially when you are already on a call and can't put the customer on hold.
  • Quick and easy communication method with just as quick of a response
  • Allows me to share my screen or specific documents without having to get up from my desk
  • Allows me to keep tabs on who is available at their desk and who is out or on break
  • I'd love to be able to change the format to allow more visible contacts or favorites to be listed instead of having to scroll down or type in a name to find someone.
  • When messaging other users, if they haven't set up properly, my message to them may remain unnoticed in the corner of their screen.
When giving assistance to my employees, I would often have to get up and physically walk over to the desk to show them something on their screen. With Skype for Business, they can now message me their questions and using the show desktop feature I can see their screen and take control of their mouse to show them where to look or what to do. Just like a GoTo meeting but simpler.
Read Amitai Levin's full review
December 05, 2017

Skype for Business: "A must have for corporates"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Skype for business is used across the whole organization and is a must-use for us. It serves as a great alternative to Webex but there is no need of clicking to get a link and start. File share and screen share are the vital functions along with taking control of different user's screen.
  • Group conversation: Very useful to chat with multiple people and be able to talk with them and able to video conference them. We have used it to train our interns who were remote to company's location.
  • Screen Share: this is a major advantage for easy communication and taking the other person's screen control is an excellent function that Skype for Business provides.
  • File Share: Very easy to share files, photos, data etc.. Just drag and drop!
  • Group chat/Voice chat can be improved, sometimes it does not connect or does not have a very easy way to connect.
  • File sharing to group of people at same time causes issue sometimes where certain people not able to view files.
Skype is best for one on one conversation. This also includes file sharing, screen sharing as well as taking screen control of the other person. One can easily work out with different options for skype which is sometimes difficult with group of people conversing. We have particularly used it to troubleshoot multiple problems by taking screen control of other person.
Read Rishi Bavishi, CSSGB, CAPM's full review
January 24, 2018

Review: "Skype for Business should be one tool rather than many"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It used by our whole organization and also with our customers and potential customers. We mainly use Skype for business with Outlook to plan online meetings and also to make online meetings with potential customers. Last month I think we made more than 20 meetings like this and I think that we will have more and more like this.
  • online meetings with customers
  • online meetings with potential customer
  • share screens with customer
  • share videos
  • usability to set up new online meetings
  • usability to [collaborate] and see all my colleagues within my team
  • make group talks
Skype for Business video conferencing is well-suited for all sizes of companies, especially those that are current Microsoft customers. Companies can use Skype for Business video conferencing as a stand-alone tool, installed on a computer or as a web-based solution. As a web-based solution, it is very good to contact customers that don't have Skype for Business.
Read Jakub Wilk's full review
January 17, 2018

User Review: "Skype for Business at a glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization, mainly to solve two issues: - allow multiple participants in restricted meetings - making more frequent (and short) meetings, changing the concept of "meeting" to "communication among colleagues.
  • multiple participants
  • excellent quality of sound
  • management of the different windows for participants
  • video quality could be improved
  • file sharing
  • camera options - allow various captures, zoom
Skype works very well when you need quick and simple communications with colleagues. There are not very fancy options for sharing files online, updating them and similar.
Read Gustavo Porporato Daher's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (69)
7.9
High quality video (65)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (65)
6.6
Mobile support (44)
7.9
Desktop sharing (70)
8.8
Whiteboards (46)
8.0
Calendar integration (63)
8.6
Meeting initiation (70)
8.4
Integrates with social media (32)
6.7
Record meetings / events (54)
8.0
Slideshows (36)
8.1
Live chat (66)
8.8
Audience polling (30)
7.5
Q&A (23)
7.2
User authentication (51)
8.4
Participant roles & permissions (55)
8.2
Confidential attendee list (41)
8.3

About Skype for Business

Skype for Business (formerly Microsoft Lync), is an IP PBX for messaging and web conferencing.
Categories:  Collaboration,  IP PBX,  VoIP,  Web Conferencing

Skype for Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No