TrustRadius
Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop. Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Dr/DC/B9UT7Z2T8LTT.PNGLaddy's Tableau Server ReviewWe use it to deploy dashboards that help our decision makers across all companies. It helps our sales associates direct their attention to customers for changes in business activity. It helps our MFG department plan and visually see future demands. We use it to analyze our forecasting and on time delivery.,It always available and allows us to make it easy for users outside of the building get their BI info. It's easy to manage and takes very little daily or monthly maintenance. The subscription service really helps users stay on top of things with their alerts.,Doesn't send out PDF versions of the dashboards. Tabcmd is old and needs to be updated to a visual client. It is sometimes slow opening dashboards and the new data methodology hasn't proven the improvement as promised.,8,IBM Cognos and QlikView,9,6,Epicor ERP, Microsoft Office 2016, ADP Workforce NowTableau Server Review from a daily user.We use Tableau for eight lines of business. It gives each department a glance at their activity and compares it to previous quarters. We also provide an agency-wide section that is used for annual stats. It gives each department a way to get data on their own and knowing that the data is coming from one source, and most importantly that the numbers will be consistent.,Quickly get a feeling on how a line of business is performing by looking at a page. Out of the box easy to use, setup and produce visual data. Numerous ways to visually show the same data.,Tabular reports could be expanded. Ability to quickly produce drill-down reports for quick numbers vs. visual displays. The ability for any staff to have access to only view reports at no additional cost.,8,Microsoft SQL Server,10,6,Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Office 365A very cool tool for Data VisualizationWe implemented Tableau in the company several years ago and the main the decision was because at that moment we do not have a COTS data visualization product in place. Previously we only relied on Microsoft Excel and an in-house tool for data visualization and BI. It was not interactive, hard to maintain and not user-friendly. There were many challenges like too much time for preparing the data and report, and many formulas and processes before producing a visualization that were creating a pain point. There was a necessity to create one governed reporting platform and centralized BI for all departments. So, it was a turning point to select Tableau for complimenting the company's purpose and goal.,Ease of use Automatic data visualization Lower cost of ownership Interactive visual exploration Multiple data sources,A license model need to be enhanced to capture small and medium business requirements Capability for data discovery Supporting the cloud functionality,8,SAP Business Objects Data Quality Management and Microsoft Access,9,7,Microsoft Access, SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, PentahoTableau server is a good choice for a healthcare system willing to strengthen analyticsWe are a healthcare system that consists of hospitals, clinics, affiliated providers, and an insurance company. We developed a dashboard and reporting environment to support business intelligence for the two major areas: business and clinical. Business reports are for leadership, management, and finance. Clinical reports are for physicians, clinical champions, clinical departments, medical directors, and clinical researchers. We wanted to automate the data extraction and report development processes with the best productivity since they have been developed with different technologies and toolkits which caused inefficiency in maintaining analyst and computer resources.,Since we're a healthcare organization, we're sensitive to security and privacy of information. Tableau provides delicate control of contents in terms of visibility in dashboards and helped us effectively prevent potential information breach issues. It was easy to integrate Tableau server with our active directory to control delicate privilege of data access depending on clinical specialty and roles. Since we have a variety of data sources from different systems, electronic health records, claim system, patient administrative system, radiology imaging system, etc., harmonizing those sources and building and managing robust data connections in one environment is critical and Tableau is very good at that. Tableau provides great monitoring tools to manage bandwidth, performance, cleaning up unused data extract and report.,Tableau server's computational efficiency of managing metadata is good but it provides very minimum functions from the standpoint of server managers. As we add more data sources such as big data and external systems outside our organization, its importance becomes bigger. The new alert function on Tableau dashboard is promising, but it is only provided at a server level, not at a Desktop level. In addition, it only provides minimum alerting reconfigurability. I understand it is a new function as proof of concept and look forward to seeing it goes advances. Tableau server is good at monitoring usage of existing reports but provides little about monitoring data extracts and their data pipelining status. A new feature of integration with AWS is exciting but need to keep watching how it works well.,9,IBM Cognos and D3.js,9,9,IBM Cognos, D3.js, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform, Cerner HealtheIntentA BI tool that's unlike most others out thereIt was not sufficient for us to create a Tableau file that could be read by the free reader and sent to our customers. We wanted the ability to provide our visualizations online without the data ever leaving our control. The only way to do so was to set up a Tableau Server instance and then provide our model onto the server for access by our customers.,It provided a way for us to host our visualizations and avoid distributing out the data. We could manage external users on this system. We were able to create one model but then limit which users could see various "views" of the data based upon what product was purchased.,The licensing model was very expensive and required us to continually buy more seats all of the time. Long run, it's best for very small teams or when you get over the ~100 user mark, you can buy a server license which avoids the per-seat issue. Keep in mind that you still need to purchase the Tableau Desktop license for each of your data scientists/engineers who will be developing the visualizations ON TOP of these costs. We had to contract with a 3rd party to establish and manage an IIS server since that is the requirement for Tableau Server. It was unlike anything else that we were using. Tableau will tell you that the license grants you the ability to have three instances (dev, staging, prod), but in reality you likely won't use more than dev & prod, as the workflow was rather awkward for us.,7,Looker,7,6,Atlassian Confluence, JIRA Software, Front, Slack, WordPress, WooCommerce
Unspecified
Tableau Server
471 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Tableau Server Reviews

Tableau Server
471 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 35 of 472 Tableau Server ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 35)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 16, 2018

"Laddy's Tableau Server Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to deploy dashboards that help our decision makers across all companies. It helps our sales associates direct their attention to customers for changes in business activity. It helps our MFG department plan and visually see future demands. We use it to analyze our forecasting and on time delivery.
Read Bob Ladd's full review
July 13, 2018

"Tableau Server Review from a daily user."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau for eight lines of business. It gives each department a glance at their activity and compares it to previous quarters. We also provide an agency-wide section that is used for annual stats. It gives each department a way to get data on their own and knowing that the data is coming from one source, and most importantly that the numbers will be consistent.
Read Michael Downs's full review
January 25, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "A very cool tool for Data Visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented Tableau in the company several years ago and the main the decision was because at that moment we do not have a COTS data visualization product in place. Previously we only relied on Microsoft Excel and an in-house tool for data visualization and BI. It was not interactive, hard to maintain and not user-friendly. There were many challenges like too much time for preparing the data and report, and many formulas and processes before producing a visualization that were creating a pain point. There was a necessity to create one governed reporting platform and centralized BI for all departments. So, it was a turning point to select Tableau for complimenting the company's purpose and goal.
Read Ilham AB's full review
July 13, 2018

Review: "Tableau server is a good choice for a healthcare system willing to strengthen analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a healthcare system that consists of hospitals, clinics, affiliated providers, and an insurance company. We developed a dashboard and reporting environment to support business intelligence for the two major areas: business and clinical. Business reports are for leadership, management, and finance. Clinical reports are for physicians, clinical champions, clinical departments, medical directors, and clinical researchers. We wanted to automate the data extraction and report development processes with the best productivity since they have been developed with different technologies and toolkits which caused inefficiency in maintaining analyst and computer resources.
Read this authenticated review
January 25, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "A BI tool that's unlike most others out there"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It was not sufficient for us to create a Tableau file that could be read by the free reader and sent to our customers. We wanted the ability to provide our visualizations online without the data ever leaving our control. The only way to do so was to set up a Tableau Server instance and then provide our model onto the server for access by our customers.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Show your data with pride!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used within my organization to present users with an easily understandable visualization of our very large data sets. These data sets include web log information, customer information, and transaction information. By using Tableau, we are able to present this data in a number of formats including tabular format as well as various charts and graphs. Because the charts and graphs are interactive, the user experience has been received very well.
Read Ken Sparks's full review
November 14, 2017

User Review: "My Tableau Server "Spiell""

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau Server in our whole Organization as a one-stop shop for all things data. Dashboards and reports are generated, published and subscribed to users including leadership to assist them in making the pertinent decisions with respect to their KPI's, metrics, expenses, and research. We really depend on this system for these and many other initiatives.
Read Siggy Tetteh, CSSGB, MBA, MCP's full review
January 16, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Easy visualisations with Tableau"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Many departments use it - finance, supply chain, IT for better visualisation of key reports and dashboards; also for drill down of data.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2017

Tableau Server Review: "Tabeau the BI-Giant"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau server is the backbone of all BI reporting in my current company and also in my previous company. We have users across the globe using tableau every day to view their KPIs and make effective business decisions. Tableau's ease of use and powerful visualization makes it an obvious choice for our business users to use it as the front end BI application for all major data-driven decisions.
Read Victor Chowdhury's full review
April 10, 2017

User Review: "Tableau Server will Serve you Well"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The University of Kentucky has implemented Tableau server at the enterprise level to deliver operational and analytical reports and visualizations. This includes both public-facing summary reports and secure project folders used by individual colleges, business units and other work teams. There are currently over 1,400 registered users across the university supported by a central IT and analytics team, as well as designated "Superusers" across the institution who manage Tableau project folders and publish their own workbooks.
Read Heidi Hiemstra's full review
June 13, 2017

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - A Program Ahead of its Peers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau is being used across my organization as a primary tool for product management or sales metrics tracking for different business units. Reports are generated quickly and it links fairly nice with SalesForce.
Read Chris Metropulos's full review
April 21, 2017

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is Awesome"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau Server to deliver out of the box dashboard on our hosting software. It's used both in a production scenario and in our SaaS offering. We also use it to showcase custom dashboards for those who already have a site or server license. Our sales teams like it to turn medium sized deals into larger deals.
Read this authenticated review
June 29, 2017

Tableau Server Review: "My Tableau Assessment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used Tableau to extract data from a Google Analytics API to help create dashboards for an ad-hoc analysis to showcase any pinpoints in traffic, average page duration, and segmentation of the data. Tableau worked with the analytics canvas tool to be able to tap into other API software. It is being used by my team, but other organization team members are still trying to get it. It helps to roll-up the data from Excel to something robust.
Read this authenticated review
December 27, 2016

User Review: "Our experience by using Tableau Server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[It is being used] by our purchase department for analyzing major material price. The visualization capability performs well for big data and BI areas. We also use other enterprise BI solutions, but only Tableau Desktop and Server can support our visualization needs. We use Tableau Server to show highly complex and large analyzed data for several purchase staff [members] and executives.
Read Elvin Cheng's full review
October 13, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Data at a Glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is currently used internally by our organization and externally to select clients. It allows us to answer high-level business KPIs related to client data we manage. It has helped reduce many manual efforts to collect data by allowing us to centralize and make it accessible on a recurring/automated schedule.
Read Sergio Martinez's full review
December 02, 2016

User Review: "Tableau Server experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau server is being used across the whole company to produce financial statements, marketing reports and to control productivity.
Read Nhung Nguyen's full review
September 12, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - a great reporting solution!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Tableau as an enterprise reporting tool. We are using Tableau for reporting against our new DW. It will provide one source of truth of our data.
The graphs are easy to create and very attractive. The dashboards help tell a story about our data.
Read this authenticated review
March 01, 2016

Review: "Tableau Server - Enterprise Data Visualization Software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used in conjunction with Tableau Desktop to provide visualization for a clients' CRM system. It sits on top of a data warehouse consisting of SQL Server, Splunk, and Hadoop data stores. The client uses Tableau to provide reports on KPIs such as churn rates, acquisition / bounty, and marketing effectiveness. While Tableau Server is used directly by performance assurance and marketing departments, its data and reports are disseminated throughout the company as the de-facto source of CRM reporting. The biggest challenge that Tableau Server addresses is the need for a robust hub for data visualization and ad hoc analysis.
Read Andrew Porter's full review
February 16, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - A Report in multiple dimensions"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses Tableau as a reporting platform for our customer. We chose Tableau because of its versatility and its amazing ease of use. The later probably the main driver, because it is so easy to create different visual graphs, we use it in ways that we might not otherwise. The result is that we are able to exceed our customers' expectations in terms of reporting with very little maintenance.
Read Craig Rosenblum's full review
May 25, 2016

Review: "Tableau Server - A new way to Visualize data"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau server is being used by data visualization team to create highly visual dashboards and then accessing the dashboards from any location and any device. One need not share heavy Excel based dashboards which take ages to open and access can not even be controlled. With Tableau server one does not need to go back to the development team if they want to see a different view or need more drilled down information. Views can be edited and modified from any location and any device after the dashboard has been published to Tableau server.
Read Rajat Jain's full review
April 08, 2016

Review: "Tableau Server - A wonderful platform when conditions are met"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is being rolled out as a platform to publish corporate (IT-developed) dashboards. It is also used for publishing data sources available for power users to feed into their visualizations. Tableau Server fulfills the need to communicate performance dynamically, as well as fostering the concept of "a single truth" based on information tailored for analyst consumption.
Read Alec Guerenstein's full review
March 29, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Visualise BIG data - Be Realistic Be A Tableauite!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used for the data visualisation in my [current] project. I used to work on data visualisation projects and so I came across Tableau Server and I found it very simple and easy to use and very user friendly. I was impressed by the tool. It took me less time to get acquainted to the tool and I could do my work without any hurdles. There were chunks of data that I had to represent and work on, on a daily basis. I used tableau to generate reports and user readable charts and graphs. It was so easy to make the BIG data visual in no time!!
Read Pooja Takavale's full review
March 16, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - Solution for the BIG data Analytics !!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau server is used by my team, vRealization Operations Management. It is used to analyze the metric data collected from different entities of a data center. Tableau made our life easy in showing the respective entity data in the UI. Tableau is being accepted by my team and department. Sooner it will be accepted across the departments.
Read Sudhakar Kamanboina's full review
February 16, 2016

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - the Gold Standard"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently Tableau Server is used to rapidly develop and distribute ad-hoc reporting to limited to senior level stakeholders, as such it's currently mainly used by finance department users.

It addresses the problem of slow development process of traditional SSRS based reports and lack of flexibility and self-discovery.

Read David Shi's full review
July 07, 2015

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau from a BI consultant view."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a consultant, I work with many organizations, all using Tableau Sever differently. Some implementations are department oriented, and, some are total enterprise installations.
Tableau Server facilitates the secure, controlled, sharing of work done my Tableau Desktop analysts and developers.
Read Charles Hooper's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (24)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (30)
8.4
Report Formatting Templates (27)
8.1
Drill-down analysis (31)
7.6
Formatting capabilities (30)
7.9
Integration with R or other statistical packages (19)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (29)
7.8
Publish to Web (29)
8.8
Publish to PDF (28)
7.9
Report Versioning (22)
7.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (24)
8.1
Delivery to Remote Servers (7)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (28)
8.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (28)
8.7
Predictive Analytics (20)
7.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (28)
8.1
Role-Based Security Model (29)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (29)
8.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (9)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (28)
8.0
Dedicated iOS Application (22)
7.7
Dedicated Android Application (16)
6.9
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (22)
7.9
REST API (8)
8.2
Javascript API (8)
8.0
iFrames (8)
7.8
Java API (7)
7.5
Themeable User Interface (UI) (8)
7.2
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
7.0

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop.

Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder

Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.

Tableau Server Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No