TrustRadius
Tableau Server is an enterprise-class business analytics platform that can scale up to hundreds of thousands of users. It allows distributed mobile and browser-based users to interact with Tableau workbooks published to the server from Tableau Desktop. Tableau Server comprises 4 main components: -Application Server - VizQL Server -Data Server -Backgrounder Tableau Server supports both web browser and Tableau Desktop clients.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Dr/DC/B9UT7Z2T8LTT.PNGTableau Server is a great tool for small, medium, and large companiesTableau Server is being used across our entire organization. Every employee at Qualtrics has a Tableau Server user, and we use Tableau Server authentication to display reports and dashboards in our company portal. Tableau Server is used heavily within each department, with dedicated analysts for each team creating and deploying dashboards for all employees to consume. Sales leaders view dashboards regularly to track the progress of their teams, and individual contributors view dashboards frequently to track their own progress.,Tableau Server is extremely well at providing a stabile system for us to host data sources and dashboards Tableau Server is great at managing permissions for users, data sources, workbooks, and dashboards,Tableau Server has had some issue handling some of our larger data sets. Our extract refreshes fail intermittently with no obvious error that we can fix Tableau Server has been hard to work with before they launched their new Rest API, which is also a little tricky to work with,10,Tableau Server has had a huge positive impact. It has allowed us to quickly distribute complex dashboards across the company Tableau Server has allowed us to easily manage our entire employee base at the company and control the dashboards they view and interact with,5,10,6,9,8Getting up and ready with a great data visualization platform in a few days with Tableau ServerTableau is being used mostly by marketing to get a good view of their customer base. It covers the present footprint in terms of product ownership and the trend in usage of services. Tableau is used by data scientists to present data to managers and executive. It has a storytelling approach that facilitates the understanding of data and eases the decision-making process.,Tableau server's portal and general look is really convenient and pretty. Users feel comfortable using it. The learning curve of Tableau Server from an end-user perspective is really short. For the creator of content, it is a little more complex but easy to learn. Tableau has really succeeded in creating a user-friendly software. From an administration point of view, Tableau is great. Installation and housekeeping are really easy and quick. Visuals are really appealing and will help "sell" your presentations. Tableau allows connectivity to a huge selection of data sources and data formats. Online training for software is free and of very good quality.,Tableau doesn't (at least when I used it) have custom widgets or elements in the creation of dashboards. Its main competitor, Power BI, allows this. Because of that, some visualizations are challenging and need the use of advanced tricks that most users don't know about. Tableau logs a lot of information, and sometimes, getting the right information from these logs when something goes wrong is challenging. Tableau support is not the quickest. This sounds bad, but I have to specify that I very rarely had to contact them. However, when I did, the answer took a few more days than with other providers.,9,ROI wasn't really measured but the time to market was really quick. Within a few days, the Tableau server was installed and fully usable by analysts. The installation process of this software is really well documented and easy to perform. An administrator should be appointed to manage the platform. In our case, we went with an existing administrator of a different platform as this was not a full-time job. A few hours a month is generally enough to manage the platform. Tableau creates really dazzling reports and dashboards. I suggest establishing upfront the targeted audience for the consumption of data if you want to keep the license count under control. It is very tough to achieve that if you grant one to anyone who asks for a license.,10,9,10,10,10,100,1,Creating dynamic dashboards on customer buying trends Follow evolution of customer base through time based on several criteria Market share analysis with graphical representations (heat maps),Use of command lines functionalities to allow automated ETL process to prepare data, refresh datasources and Tableau object all without any intervention. Use with mobile for executives,10Tableau Server for Sharing and collaboration of DasboardsYes, we have adopted the Tableau Server in our environment. It has been used by higher authority people who want to get some insights out of their data. And also it has been maintained by the AWS team to manage and control the server. It mainly solves sharing and collaboration problems in Tableau.,Integrating with APIs, and also on webpages. Version controlling of Workbooks. Provides high-level security to the dashboards. It is completely isolated with other users who don't have access.,Adoption of AI [Artifical Intelligence]. More options for dashboard management in server. Sharing an interactive dashboard with another environment is the missing factor.,8,Development cost is not very high, and also it provides an ROI within 2-3 months. Adoption of Tableau server in your organization is a much easier process, but it takes time to configure some of the settings. It has many options which are pre-built in it, for example, Version control of workbook. It doesn't require any additional application to integrate with it.,8,9,9,8,8Tableau Server is perfect for real-time visualization and interactive dashboards, not for advanced analyticsTableau Server is used by our organization to implement real-time data visualization and monitoring. The software is used only by certain departments. Tableau Server makes real-time data analytics easy for busy executives who want interactive visualizations and reporting without having to put too much work into what they are doing.,Tableau is perhaps the most aesthetically pleasing software to create beautiful visualizations that get updated in real-time. I wish this software had been around 20 years ago. Tableau Server makes sharing visualizations across the organization seamless. I don't think I could do my job without it. Tableau Server is used to create interactive daily reports, updated automatically and in an interactive style.,Tableau Server is sometimes referred to as simply Microsoft Excel with a power boost. I understand the reason analysts say this. It is because the software is almost exclusively a visualization software. If you're looking for truly advanced analytics combined with cutting-edge visualization, Tableau Server isn't it. Tableau Server limits the type of graphs a user can create. There are numerous workarounds for different graph types, but they are not easy to implement. Tableau Server can sometimes be slow to render graphics with lots of data and calculated fields.,10,Tableau Server has replaced Excel spreadsheets in much of what I do. The software really did save a ton of time and improved the overall work product. I think the ROI has been heavily in the positive. For analysts trying to get others to improve their reporting processes, Tableau Server may at first represent a negative ROI because others are unwilling to change. If you're unable to get others to change their habits, Tableau Server may not be for you. Tableau Server was easy to set up. The required headcount was as little as 1 for report creation. It's very easy to get up and going with Tableau Server.,10,8,10,10,9,The "Show Me" visualization is awesome. The drag and drop is easy. Customizing Tableau is about as easy as it gets.,Making calculations is Tableau Server is sometimes very difficult. Customizing Tableau Server for a very specific graphical display can sometimes be very, very time-consuming. Tableau Server sometimes takes a good deal of time to update.,Yes, but I don't use it,9Intuitive and easy BII used Tableau as another BI tool, by the client where the Tableau server installation was used and most production reports were accessible here. Tableau has proven to be a great tool for the collection of data from multiple data sources, with varying complexity -- we used spreadsheets, SQL tables as well as Google Analytics connection. The tool was a standard platform in a multinational organization and was used for years, so the data was already linked, including the local eDWH solution, providing support for regular as well as ad-hoc reports.,Many available plugins, incl. the one I have used for regional analysis (data enriched with addresses / GPS attributes) Narratives (story building) is a great tool for creating and sharing your analysis with your audience Data visualization is one of the best you can get today Supports mobile usage,Connection to SQL database: by connecting it to a database, one has to employ an SQL specialist to write the script No autosave function No automatized notification feature (e.g. alert based on value out of range, in a report) Very expensive solutions,9,Quick publishing of findings, the reports were easily shared with the target audience (analysts, managers) and any questions could be clarified in an efficient manner Tableau mobile solution is impressive and still brings a WOW effect to the report consumer (especially if the user switches from Excel to mobile interactive Tableau) Instead of sharing Powerpoint slides, one can share Tableau workbooks via its reader -- all the user has to do is to install this free application, then you can easily discuss anything online or on the phone,10,10,10,10,10
Windows, Linux
Tableau Server
624 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Tableau Server Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Tableau Server
624 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 91 of 624 Tableau Server ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 91)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jacob Rasmussen profile photo
March 26, 2019

Review: "Tableau Server is a great tool for small, medium, and large companies"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is being used across our entire organization. Every employee at Qualtrics has a Tableau Server user, and we use Tableau Server authentication to display reports and dashboards in our company portal. Tableau Server is used heavily within each department, with dedicated analysts for each team creating and deploying dashboards for all employees to consume. Sales leaders view dashboards regularly to track the progress of their teams, and individual contributors view dashboards frequently to track their own progress.
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
Mathieu Gaouette profile photo
January 24, 2019

Review: "Getting up and ready with a great data visualization platform in a few days with Tableau Server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau is being used mostly by marketing to get a good view of their customer base. It covers the present footprint in terms of product ownership and the trend in usage of services.

Tableau is used by data scientists to present data to managers and executive. It has a storytelling approach that facilitates the understanding of data and eases the decision-making process.
Read Mathieu Gaouette's full review
Kanthesh MALLESH profile photo
May 13, 2019

Review: "Tableau Server for Sharing and collaboration of Dasboards"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Yes, we have adopted the Tableau Server in our environment. It has been used by higher authority people who want to get some insights out of their data. And also it has been maintained by the AWS team to manage and control the server. It mainly solves sharing and collaboration problems in Tableau.
Read Kanthesh MALLESH's full review
Thomas Young profile photo
January 09, 2019

Review: "Tableau Server is perfect for real-time visualization and interactive dashboards, not for advanced analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used by our organization to implement real-time data visualization and monitoring. The software is used only by certain departments. Tableau Server makes real-time data analytics easy for busy executives who want interactive visualizations and reporting without having to put too much work into what they are doing.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Viktor Mulac profile photo
January 02, 2019

Tableau Server Review: "Intuitive and easy BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used Tableau as another BI tool, by the client where the Tableau server installation was used and most production reports were accessible here.
Tableau has proven to be a great tool for the collection of data from multiple data sources, with varying complexity -- we used spreadsheets, SQL tables as well as Google Analytics connection. The tool was a standard platform in a multinational organization and was used for years, so the data was already linked, including the local eDWH solution, providing support for regular as well as ad-hoc reports.
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Cody Kimball profile photo
December 20, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Server: A No-Brainer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is a vital part of our data ecosystem. Without it, our data analytics and general reporting efforts would be greatly impeded if not completely derailed. It hosts a large majority of our internal facing reporting KPIs and metrics, and enables our business leaders to keep a watchful eye on the status of the company and its health.
Read Cody Kimball's full review
Subhadipto Poddar profile photo
November 29, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server - Connecting the visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used by our department to visualize displays. The transportation department uses it to visualize different performance parameters like congestion, delay, and other measures across the state. It is also being used to work in collaboration by different research groups at Iowa State University. Tableau server is also used to visualize different accident hotspots in the state of Iowa.
Read Subhadipto Poddar's full review
No photo available
January 28, 2019

Review: "Tableau Server is an absolute must for getting the most out of the Tableau Platform."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used in my company as our primary method for sharing business insights. We build visualization dashboards in Tableau Desktop, then publish them to project folders in Tableau Server so that the appropriate teams can access their near real-time metrics.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 17, 2019

"Tableau Server Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used by our organization to create and use real-time dashboards and reports. It is used across the entire organization. Tableau Server makes it easy to gather data from multiple sources and easily create dashboards and reports for different users. The data can be updated instantly and allow users to view real-time data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau: Powerful, Flexible, Agile"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau provides agile, easy to use, and effective ways to visualize data. We have used Tableau visualizations to inform decisions regarding our strategic goals. It took very little time for our data analysts to become familiar with the Tableau toolset. We had several data dashboards up on day one of our implementation.
Read this authenticated review
Sachin Basappa profile photo
November 02, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is a gold mine, be the first or last, worth a dig!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau is used by a department and it addresses key issues such as device availability, performance of devices deployed, and enterprise reporting for roadway data. Tableau Server has helped store information and visualize it in a great fashion. We have great leverage over other systems because Tableau Server is standalone. Our future goal is to use it across the whole organization.
Read Sachin Basappa's full review
Shoaib Yari profile photo
October 29, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Amazing product for sharing actionable insights!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is being used at Ellie Mae as a platform for not only sharing enterprise level Tableau dashboards created by our BI developers, but also as a location to host business specific data sources for end users to create their own ad-hoc visualizations.
Read Shoaib Yari's full review
Henry Yennie profile photo
October 19, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Usable Analytics for the Right Price!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is the backbone for emergency preparedness analytics for the Louisiana State Department of Health. As the lead agency for public health and medical services during an emergency, we collect a large amount of near real-time information from over 1,500 healthcare facilities. This data includes operational statuses, power statuses, fuel usage and needs, and census/bed availability. Tableau takes this data stream and transforms it into user-friendly visualizations for staff both in the field and in the State Emergency Operations Center. On a day-to-day basis, Tableau provides tools and interactive maps to our state trauma network so that they can determine the most appropriate facility for high risk patient routing.
Read Henry Yennie's full review
David Vander Leest profile photo
October 12, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - One Stop Shop for Visual Analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is being used across multiple business platforms at Wells Enterprise. We have used it as our primary analytics tool and as our primary catalyst to provide self-service analytics to all business platforms. Our most active departments currently include Revenue Managment, Finance, Sales, Quality Assurance.
Read David Vander Leest's full review
Dan Colbert profile photo
September 28, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau part of the DNA of this OEM."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a Tableau OEM partner. We are a SaaS company with a web application that incorporates Tableau Server in the delivery of analytics for the education space.
Through our web app - and by proxy, Tableau - our clients are able to run comparable analysis against a back-end data warehouse using the visuals we design, create, and maintain.
Read Dan Colbert's full review
Ryan Akana profile photo
September 17, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - The One Stop Shop"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Tableau Server as the main repository for all reporting needs for the entire organization. It is used by all parts of the organization, from IT to Human Resources. About 90% of the data is pulled from our various SQL databases within the organization. With less than 10% of the data coming from external resources such as clients/vendors that are merged into some of our reports.

We also use Tableau to pull data for some of our third-party applications, since Tableau provides so many options for connecting to different data sources. We also use Tableau to create reports for data that resides in Microsoft SharePoint. It has basically become the one stop shop for all our reporting needs. We are looking forward to Tableau adding a scheduling feature to produce extracts from their application someday soon, wink, wink! =-)

I will also say that the software, from an administrator level, is very simple and easy to maintain. There are a few maintenance items that must be completed such as running tab admin - cleanup, since there is so much information that is stored in the cache of the Tableau Server, but you can schedule that to run on its own. It easily integrates with Active Directory, making it easy for us to manage user permissions to the various projects in Tableau. We manage all permissions at the project level and we do not go below that as it becomes a nightmare if you were to do that at the report level. Save yourself some time and headache by managing it at the project level.

Tableau allows you to set up a PROD, QA and DEV environment under one license, which is nice. When we perform an upgrade we will normally copy our PROD server and rename it to a QA server to perform the upgrade. Once the QA environment is upgraded we have a few of our analysts from different parts of the organization perform rigorous testing to ensure reports, functionality, processes, and so on, are working correctly in order to avoid any interruption to the business. Once everything has been signed off by the testers, we perform a back up of our PROD server, and after that we perform the upgrade. We haven't had any issues with our Tableau Servers ever, and we are always on the latest releases for Tableau. We perform two to three upgrades in a year in order to take advantage of all the latest and greatest that Tableau has to offer in order to give you an idea of how easy it is to upgrade to Tableau.
Read Ryan Akana's full review
Sandeep Munagala profile photo
September 07, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Experience with Tableau"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

When I started with GOGO, Tableau was one of the BI tools used across the company, where we have distributed usernames to multiple people for their development or usage. I played a key role to enable Tableau as an Enterprise tool with AD Authentication (OKTA Integration,) which helped hugely increase traffic to the Tableau Server.

Most of the departments like Finance, Supply Chain, Airline customers, etc., use Tableau. The only department that I see we are lagging in is HR. HR is looking forward to automating the dashboards, but due to connectivity issues with Workday (as Tableau doesn't have a Workday connector,) we are unable to automate the dashboards.

The Supply Chain department is very much impressed with the tool, as they have had a lot of work reduced at their end. Also, they have better tracking of the vendor details & gap analysis of the stock purchase, which saves a good amount of money for the company by avoiding penalties for late delivery.
Read Sandeep Munagala's full review
Brett Mendes profile photo
September 07, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "An essential part of our service offering."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as a part of an Analytics-as-a-Service offering for our clients. Clients purchase the service and we create an analytic database that brings together a number of source systems supporting customer service operations, from that database analyses are run based on various hypotheses and visualized using Tableau Server, which clients have purchased seat licenses to log in to and interact with. The administration is handled by myself and my team. The business problem being addressed is not specific to customer service operations, but we utilize it exclusively within that environment; namely, that 5-6 source systems (Automated Call Distributor, Workforce Management System, Quality Assurance System, Customer Satisfaction Surveys, Customer Relationship Management, etc.) are interdependent and yet exist in silos. While all of them are required to operate a CX operation, one can only look at the effectiveness of an operation through the lens of the individual systems. We design a data model to allow querying of data across systems in order to create a full "customer journey" so that the customer experience can be seen from start to finish.
Read Brett Mendes's full review
Satish Dharmarajan profile photo
September 04, 2018

Review: "If you have the budget, Tableau Server is the way to go!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At Rollins, the Tableau Server is used within the Marketing area and primarily with the intent of sharing dashboards/ analyses with the Marketing Leadership Team and at times with leadership outside Marketing. It allows us to share analyses, with the option to dive deeper where necessary and based on the audience/ questions of interest.
Read Satish Dharmarajan's full review
Charles Bryan profile photo
August 23, 2018

Tableau Server: "Big Fan Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is used today as our BI system of choice, primarily for analytical purposes. That is, our healthcare analysts use Tableau for ad-hoc analysis purposes. However, we likely will be converting our standard BI solution to Tableau in the near future.
Read Charles Bryan's full review
Don Babcock profile photo
August 10, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau is the centerpiece of our Business Analytics."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Tableau Server is being used across our entire enterprise as the primary vehicle for the dissemination of business analytics (BA). In particular, it enables end-user/department "self-service" in terms of reporting. It also works very well for embedding BA in mobile enterprise applications (iPhone-iPad.)
Read Don Babcock's full review
Matt Fette profile photo
August 10, 2018

Review: "Tableau Server Makes Serving Up Data Visualizations Fast and Easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have 55 licenses for Tableau Server. The licenses are dispersed across the organization . . . Executive Suite, Finance, Sales, Marketing, Supply Chain, Operations, QC, etc. We collect much more data in our DW than we are currently asked to report or visualize via Tableau. That being said, we have Tableau workbooks with dashboards that allow our data consumers to analyze customer profitability, product, brand & category performance, overall state of the business, fulfillment performance, etc. Our operations group uses Tableau workbooks and dashboards to forecast SKU demand and adjust pick location designations, etc. The product is very ingrained in our organization.
Read Matt Fette's full review
Michael Tam profile photo
November 01, 2018

Tableau Server Review: "Tableau - A world of visualizations at your fingertips."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used to help our clients visualize their usage data from different angles. It is being used by a handful of people across the organization. It helps expose our big data hosted on Cloudera clusters to display them in a unique way.
Read Michael Tam's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (29)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (85)
8.9
Report Formatting Templates (72)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (86)
8.2
Formatting capabilities (84)
8.3
Integration with R or other statistical packages (54)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (81)
8.5
Publish to Web (77)
9.2
Publish to PDF (76)
8.1
Report Versioning (63)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (70)
8.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (9)
6.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (78)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (77)
8.6
Predictive Analytics (59)
7.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (84)
8.4
Role-Based Security Model (82)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (83)
8.5
Single Sign-On (SSO) (53)
8.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (69)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (56)
8.1
Dedicated Android Application (47)
7.9
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (61)
8.1
REST API (35)
8.3
Javascript API (32)
8.1
iFrames (36)
7.6
Java API (7)
6.9
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (7)
6.1

About Tableau Server

Tableau Server is an enterprise analytics platform that aims to be easy to deploy and scale and help enable data-driven decision making throughout the user's organization.

Customers can deploy the way that makes the most sense for their organization - on-premises or in the cloud, on Windows or Linux, while integrating with their existing security and authentication protocols. Customers can provide governed data access while promoting sharing and collaboration with data, dashboards and insights. Customers can automate processes and workflows, manage content, define access for individual users and groups, and ensure accurate insights. Tableau Server gives customers visibility, security and controls that aim to help them empower their people with data.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.

Tableau Server Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Tableau Server Screenshots

Tableau Server Video

Learn more about Tableau Server: https://www.tableau.com/products/server Tableau Server is true enterprise-scale analytics your business will love. Share insights and collaborate with data sources, interactive dashboards, and ad hoc analyses in a trusted and secure

Tableau Server Downloadables

Tableau Server Integrations

Tableau Server Competitors

Domo, IBM Cognos, Looker, MicroStrategy Analytics, QlikView, Qlik Sense, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Tableau Server Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Tableau Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese