Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
133 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 67)

Adam Vogini | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2020

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the company as our primary means of backup for all Office 365 tenants, namely Exchange Online, OneDrive for Business, and Sharepoint sites. Since O365 does not have a built-in backup system, this is filling in that gap, and allowing us to put backups elsewhere than the Azure cloud.
  • Integration with Office 365 is relatively easy to set up
  • Licensing costs make sense and are affordable for SMBs
  • Very easy to find and recover emails and OneDrive files with the built-in tools
  • More detailed reporting of backups
  • Setting up connections when your tenant is using MFA is a bit cumbersome still.
Absolutely would recommend Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 to anyone of any business size. Backups are essential, even if they are in the cloud, and a lot of businesses I feel do not realize that Microsoft is not offering any real backup process or system to protect their data. Also, the initial costs and renewals are extremely affordable for most businesses...and there is even a free version for very small businesses!
Read Adam Vogini's full review
Michael O'Riley | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2020

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 is flexible and reliable

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 is used for our entire organization. It provided us a means of backing up emails, SharePoint, and One Drive.
  • Restoring individual files within OneDrive
  • Restoring mailbox items on Office 365
  • Restoring SharePoint items
  • The lack of status reports.
  • Backup notification emails don't work consistently.
An organization using Microsoft Office 365 that does not have a way to backup OneDrive would benefit greatly from Veeam Backup. Also, it would benefit an organization needing an Office 365 email backup solution. This will not work for on-premise solutions.
Read Michael O'Riley's full review
Chris Reynolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Veeam Backup for O365 keeps your data protected how you choose!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup for Office 365 to backup specific Exchange online mailboxes, as well as a few OneDrive clients and Teams groups. It allows us to address a major concern with Office 365, and that's being in control of our data. With O365, you often don't know where your data is stored and if there's an issue, how you will recover from it. With Backup for O365, we're in charge of making sure our data is protected.
  • Backups of Exchange online mailboxes.
  • Backups of SharePoint online sites.
  • Teams groups are difficult to restore.
  • SharePoint Explorer doesn't have the ability to only restore security on a site.
Anyone who uses Office 365 should have some way to make sure it's kept protected. If you are currently using anything in Office 365, then I would recommend using Veeam Backup for Office 365. It's great for protecting mailboxes, OneDrive, or SharePoint sites. Currently, it's a little limited when it comes to restoring Teams groups, however it is capable, just requires more work to restore.
Read Chris Reynolds's full review
Anthony Petzold | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

Veeam for O365 Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup for Microsoft O365 is being used by our entire organization. We have working to migrate to SharePoint online but had concerns about the best way to backup and restore items in the cloud. We had concerns about restore times and bandwidth usage with other solutions we were evaluating and Veeam's solution blew us away with how quick and easy it was to restore. This solution makes it simple to restore or just recover single documents and send them out to the person who needs them.
  • Backing up content.
  • Restores quickly.
  • Integration with normal Veeam backup.
  • Creating repositories.
We have had situations where a user deleted an item and we were not notified until 2 weeks later. It was easy to navigate to the page and recover the document without having to restore the entire site. I think this is well suited for SharePoint 365 and One Drive but not as an email backup solution as the compression is not built into Veeam.
Read Anthony Petzold's full review
Scott Reeves | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Good Value in Office 365 Backup

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 to backup high-value email accounts for Office 365. We backup email, SharePoint and OneDrive for senior management, tier 2 management, and some clinicians. This allows us to be able to restore individual emails without having to open a ticket with Microsoft. The Veeam backup restore process is a much smoother and quicker solution.
  • Once configured, it seems to run with few errors
  • The Azure "appliance" keeps us from having to purchase new hardware
  • It was a little confusing to get it configured.
  • We had to open tickets with Veeam and Microsoft to connect it.
Any organization running Office 365 could benefit from Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365. It generally works well and backs up without affecting users' access to email and data. The Azure/ Veeam virtual appliance seems well-suited to any organization 1000 accounts or less. I am not sure how it would scale to larger organizations.
Read Scott Reeves's full review
Scott Vogel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 for full backups of Exchange, OneDrive, and SharePoint.
Office 365 maintains minimal retention by default.
  • ORG Backups
  • Restores for archiving
  • Managing jobs that hang gets messy, and the solution doesn't seem polished.
  • Logging is just not conducive to troubleshooting, and 9/10 times you have to open a support ticket.
Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 is a great product for holding onsite backups of O365 services and archiving purposes.
Read Scott Vogel's full review
Jason Tupeck | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

O365 Backup from Veeam - Simple and Flexible

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We performed a trial run with the product and are going to be implementing it on a slightly wider scale in 2020 as we investigate how to further protect our O365 cloud data for Sharepoint, OneDrive, Outlook and ultimately, MS Teams. We have not protected any of this data since deploying O365 and many within the organization are at odds with what to do, if anything. Veeam offers a great solution to address at least the basic needs.
  • Backup
  • Restores
  • Experience is still pretty low, but I think it handles our basic needs just fine.
Well suited for smaller offices with O365 users. It's relatively inexpensive when you take on just a few users, or a few hundred, but once you get into the 1000s of users, it will be a hard sell unless everyone in the organization sees the need and benefits of backup for cloud data. Sadly, this is not always an easy battle to win when budgets tighten.
Read Jason Tupeck's full review
Philip Bubel | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

Great Office 365 Backup Product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup for Office 365 to backup our entire Office 365 environment (E-Mail, SharePoint, OneDrive and Teams). This environment is used by our entire company so it contains mission critical data that we want to have stored in multiple locations. We are able to backup our Office 365 data to multiple on site datacenters and other cloud providers.
  • Backup Office 365 Data to storage we control
  • Easy to use UI
  • Offer public cloud option
  • Add to AWS Marketplace
Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 is a great solution to get your data out of Office 365 onto storage you control. Once you have a copy of your data you can move it around as you like to meet needed DR requirements, from a simple single location backup in your data center to a tied layout including on perm and public cloud options.
Read Philip Bubel's full review
Martin Stacey | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

Review of Veeam Backup for MS Office 365

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Every O365 user's mailbox and One Drive is backed up on a daily basis. The company's Sharepoint groups are also included in this backup schedule. This means we have on-site backups of all the company data stored on the Microsoft Cloud.
  • The backup configuration software easily allows the selection of all users' mailboxes and Sharepoint groups so you can configure the software with confidence and quickly see that all of your data is being protected.
  • The explorer applications allow for flexibility in scope and detail when exploring your backup catalogue.
  • I personally find the licensing protocols, including the logic behind the pricing and the method of installing updated licence files to be rather confusing, we have logged this issue twice already.
  • As all online data is potentially chargeable we did ask if there could a data size total for each user and Sharepoint group but we were told there was not sufficient demand for this.
Perfect if you want to quickly and easily create a local (i.e. on-site) repository for all of your exposed data on Microsoft's servers. You can also retain this data for years to come and create a detailed company data archive. You can also use the explorer applications to dig into this archive and easily retrieve anything from an e-mail to a document. This solution allows you to have complete control over the whole process, without the reliance on any other parties or products, which is quite a relief in this cloud-based age.
Read Martin Stacey's full review
Mike Carpio | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Veeam rocks!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I recently started using Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 when a cloud backup provider failed us. Veeam was very easy to set up, and after the initial seed process, backups are quick. Restore procedures are very simple and could not be any more straightforward to perform. I highly recommend all Veeam products!
  • Veeam Explorers make finding items a breeze.
  • Provides simple access to Microsoft Office 365 tenants.
  • The price could always be lower ;)
I would recommend this to anyone looking to back up their Microsoft Office 365 tenant to on-prem storage. While I know it can be used to perform backups to cloud-based storage providers, I do not have any experience with that.
Read Mike Carpio's full review
Marlon Gutierrez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

O365 data backed up on-premise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 is used to back up our domain and O365 data, which gives us tremendous peace of mind. A lot of Microsoft's backend dashboard for compliance and retention is a little difficult to understand. There's something magical about being able to put your arms around your data that is physically downloaded to a device (like a NAS) on-premise. With detached and isolated backups like this, we have great peace of mind, controlling our environment's data, ensure nothing gets lost or deleted (accidentally or intentionally).
  • Extremely easy setup and configuration
  • Great backup destination options
  • Integrate with Veeam Backup and Replication to keep it all under one roof
I think every organization should back up their cloud data, especially when you have employees and people who may intentionally try to delete information under an audit, or on their way out the door.
Read Marlon Gutierrez's full review
Norman Hazlewood | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Simple Backup Solution for your Cloud Infrastructure

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used as part of the backup procedures for the entire organization as part of our data loss prevention strategy where cloud mailboxes are backed up on a schedule.
  • Connects with Office 365 easily
  • Intuitive interface
  • It doesn't integrate well with network storage
  • Doesn't appear to be an option to delete old data on a schedule
It is suited if you want an added layer or protection to store cloud data offline to prevent data loss. Don't believe it is suitable for large organizations or jobs with 30+ large mailboxes where the data to be pulled down is very large.
Read Norman Hazlewood's full review
Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Veeam is a solid and well-built backup solution for organizations of all sizes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Veeam Backup across the whole organization. It is easy to use and a powerful tool that helps us ensure we have solid backups for DR purposes. We have used the restore functionality numerous times in my 5 years working with it, and it is easy to use and restores quickly with minimal issues.
  • Fast
  • Easy
  • Pricing is slightly higher that other competitors
  • Navigation takes a minute to get used to
If you need to quickly restore something, Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 really shines here. It was a bit of a change for me when I was first learning how to use Veeam, but now that I'm 5 years into using it I don't have a lot of issues. The only thing to remember is to make sure you add appropriate credentials because it won't let you know your credentials are no good until it tries to use them for backup.
Read Josh Rice, MBA, ACSP's full review
Roman Wagner | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Good backup tool for O365 data.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam Backup for O365 to backup all our Sharepoint and OneDrive data to local on-premises file servers. Veeam Backup pulls files from Sharepoint Online every night and it's possible to restore single files or the whole sharepoint. Also the OneDrive folders are backed up.
  • Works independently.
  • Easy handling and setup.
  • Speed and restore time.
  • Flexible license model.
It makes sense to use Veeam for Sharepoint, Exchange and OneDrive online if you want to have the data local on on-premise servers to be independent from the cloud.
Read Roman Wagner's full review
James Bedster | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Does what it says it will!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to back up our entire Exchange 365 (2 TB), Sharepoint and OneDrive for the whole company to the on-prem NAS device. This is to address the fact that Microsoft does not retain backups of this data. Also, it is a way of retaining data for litigation protection.
  • Very easy to interrogate console and retrieve information.
  • Flexibility as to where restored data can be sent.
  • Licensing can be confusing.
  • Not easy to add extra licenses on without setting up multiple renew periods.
It does exactly what is required and backs up Office 365 in a timely manner. It really couldn't be simpler!
Read James Bedster's full review
Sean Zef | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

You can't go wrong!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using this across our organization, as we're very small. However, it still keeps us up and running and able to collaborate when we need to. Backups are easy to set up and restore, though we've only had to do that a time or two.
  • Easy to use / set up
  • Fast!
  • More scheduling options
Once it's set up it's easy to set and forget. Restoration is pretty easy / straightforward as well - and it's nice and granular.
Read Sean Zef's full review
Daniel Garcia | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

What a product! Highly recommended.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 across the whole organization to provide backups where they previously did not exist. We are using it to fill the backup and recovery need for the company as we had experienced the loss of data due to no backup strategy in place.
  • Backup
  • Restore
  • None
We were able recover data that was purposefully deleted by a disgruntled user. As for less appropriate, how can backups be less appropriate?
Read Daniel Garcia's full review
Phillip George | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Satisfied customer!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Backup of all virtual machines across organization and SharePoint 365 data
  • Simple to use
  • Speed of backup
  • Logs could be easier to read.
  • Could use ability to backup other online services, such as Dropbox.
Best suited for companies wanting to archive VM and SharePoint data.
Read Phillip George's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2020

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We back up our entire organization using Veeam. The recovery and search elements have proved time and time again, the value and reliability of Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365. Finding critical information and being able to restore it quickly and efficiently means we chose Veeam over Microsoft tools to find and restore exactly what we need.
  • Easy to configure
  • Great Support team who respond quickly and are friendly
  • Intuitive search features make finding and restoring easy
  • The Explorer features should be as standard out of the box
  • A reporting dashboard would make it easier to investigate any issues
  • Selecting the Office 365 areas to back up could be sorted into specific application areas
I can only comment on the small business market and even with this, it can take some time to set up. Therefore Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 may not be well suited to the large scale or enterprise environments. For us though, even with the setup taking a little time, it was well worth the effort for the ease of use with the search functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2020

Powerful, easy to use Office 365 backup solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam Backup for MS Office 365 to backup all users mailboxes on a daily basis. It has worked extremely well for us. I am able to restore anything from entire mailboxes down to individual emails quickly and easily. This is extremely easy to use and powerful software to backup your 365 data.
  • Performs 365 backups easily and without issue.
  • Interface is easy to understand and use.
  • Restoring is powerful. Can search and restore anything from entire mailboxes to individual emails.
  • A more advanced search might be useful.
Veeam for 365 is well suited for anyone in need of an excellent backup solution for Office 365 mailboxes and information. Since we store our backups for 365 on a local server, our only need is the necessary space to store these backups. As long as we watch that storage for capacity issues, we are good.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2020

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 is a great product!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 by making a local backup of our emails, our SharePoint sites and our One Drive documents. It addresses the business continuity concern by having our data in multiple locations.
  • The software was simple to setup and works seamlessly.
  • The restore process is simple as well.
  • I have not had any issues with the software since installing it.
  • This software only works with a local or external USB drive. It needs to be able to backup to a NAS solution.
The software is well suited for situations where you want added layers of protection for your data by keeping it in multiple places and not just in the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Control your cloud-based data easily with Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Veeam Backup for Office 365 as an on-prem backup for cloud-based data. The largest advantage in this particular scenario is the ability to easily export an Exchange Online mailbox to a PST for archival purposes when an employee leaves the company. The current Exchange Online administrator portal does not easily allow for this. In addition, similar archival actions can be taken with a user's Sharepoint and OneDrive data.
  • Ease of use
  • Detailed reporting of backup successes and failures
  • Supports a wide variety of Office 365 products
  • Exchange Online point in time browsing and export is slow
  • Lack of support for Teams message history
  • Warnings and Errors in reports are vague
Veeam Backup for Office 365 is a great tool if it meets your use case. For many organizations, backing up Office 365 data is likely not a concern. However, in an environment where data needs to be retained for (potentially) years after an employee has left the company, easily being able to export all Office 365 data to local storage is much easier than any other methods that exist and much cheaper than maintaining a license for a user that is no longer with the company.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Very robust Office 365 backup solution!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam O365 Backup to create an on-premise copy of all our O365 data. Given certain situations where we needed to recover long-deleted or misplaced emails and files, we decided to implement Veeam's O365 backup to deal with those issues. We are running an entire organization backup every hour for every user that includes their Exchange Online data, SharePoint, and OneDrive data are all backed up to a RAID drive for redundancy. We are able to browse and restore any of the backup points when needed to pull an email or file if a user deletes it. It also gives us peace of mind in case of a cybersecurity issue where a rouge program deletes or encrypts all a user's files or emails.
  • Great UI and easy to pick up and configure.
  • Backups are seamless and effective.
  • Detailed backup reporting is missing - Only success, error, and failure.
  • Requires Windows to run, no Linux/WebUI support.
It's highly recommendable to any organization with a primarily Office 365 data presence. While Microsoft is in charge of providing a highly available service, they aren't in charge of keeping your data secure. It is free for organizations with under 10 users to backup and up to 1TB of Sharepoint data, so it's more than sufficient for small businesses.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Simple, efficient and effective solution for protecting Office365 data.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Veeam for Office 365 to backup the entire Office 365 environment for all users in the organization. Many people mistakenly assume that Office 365 provides built-in protection for their data, IT DOESN'T! We were already a customer with Veeam Backup and Replication for our VMware environment so the Office 365 backup application was a natural fit for us. The interface is easy to use, integration to O365 was simple and straightforward and we already love the support team at Veeam so we were confident in the support we would receive for this application.
  • User interface: Simple, fast, intuitive, streamlined and just easy to use!
  • Simple Office 365 integration: No VPN needed for Azure, backup of all O365 components out of the box.
  • The biggest thing for me would be if it was integrated into Veeam Backup & Recovery so I didn't have to run 2 pieces of software.
  • Add in backup replication: currently, Veeam for Office 365 doesn't include options for backup replication to other storage or off-site. This means my B&R server has to run a backup of the Veeam for O365 server to get the backups off-site. Integrate with Veeam Backup & Recovery and this would be resolved.
Anyone running an enterprise that relies on Office365 should consider Veeam for O365. Nobody is immune from data loss and this is a simple, easy to implement solution to protect your Office365 data. If you're already a Veeam Backup and Replication customer, it's a no-brainer to add this to your toolbelt. I have never met anyone who regretted having more backups.
Read this authenticated review

About Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365

Veeam® Backup for Microsoft Office 365 eliminates the risk of losing access and control over Office 365 data including Exchange Online, SharePoint Online, OneDrive for Business and Microsoft Teams – so that data is always protected and accessible. Veeam gives the user secure backup of Office 365 to any location, including on premises, a hyperscale cloud, or a service provider and:

  • Protects Office 365 data from accidental deletion, security threats and retention policy gaps
  • Quickly restores individual Office 365 email, files and sites with industry-leading recovery flexibility
  • Meet legal and compliance requirements with efficient eDiscovery of Office 365 items

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Screenshots

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Video

Watch this short demo video to learn how to backup and recover Office 365 Exchange Online, SharePoint Online and OneDrive for Business data with Veeam

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Downloadables

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Integrations

Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Exchange, MS SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, Azure Virtual Machines, Microsoft OneDrive for Business, AWS EC2 Instances

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Veeam sells through channel partners. Contact your partner for detailed pricing and quotes. If you do not have a partner, you can find a reseller or contact sales for assistance: https://www.veeam.com/salesinc.html. For the latest information on pricing, visit https://www.veeam.com/backup-microsoft-office-365-pricing.html

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English