TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gv/rb/XI7SESF1B71F.JPEGTwo Thumbs up for Birst!Birst allows for greater visibility of data / reports. You are no longer limited to viewing critical reports only inside the firewall. Birst is able to easily integrate with data sources. We can quickly aggregate the data from multiple locations and build the reports we need for our business and our customers. Birst reports are highly scalable and agile. This makes the solution a prime BI solution that is maintained in the cloud.,Their support staff needs to mature. If it's a minor issue, the support staff is quick to resolve it. Anything a bit more complicated seems to take a prolonged period of time. The help functions within the application need to be expanded upon. The details are extremely limited. If expanded upon, it may help cut back on the amount of tickets opened up with support.,The ability to quickly see location of our leads by area (down to zip code) on a map. We are now able to see our leads on a map which provides us greater insight into areas we should provide greater focus.,10,10BirstEasy Integration with Salesforce.com Wide reporting and dashboard capability Easy to use,User Front-end. Product Support.,Corporate dashboards for Management,7,7An OEM ViewWe are an OEM for the product... Compared to some other alternatives we explored, it does what it is supposed to do VERY WELL. Specifically, we tried working with GoodData dynamic schemas and run analytics on that. We had to build the schemas through an API. GoodData did not work for us either on the API side or the dynamic schema side. Easy to integrate, API for creating and managing spaces works as advertised. It could be improved and I understand they are making some changes. It would be great to have a more advanced API like a REST API that supports more functions, but they are working on adding what we need.,It doesn't look as "sexy" as some of the other competitors in the space but it generates professional dashboards and reports. For example, the GoodData look and feel is more modern and appealing, and is better at exploiting advanced browser features, but Birst is just as functional.,As an OEM our ROI assesment is different... How easy is to integrate, how easy is to support, etc... So far our business case benefits are holding true.,8,10Birst: Even brightest solutions cast shadowsBirst is used accross the whole organization. The main project involves sales&orders data but there are another projects for Customer Care analysis.,Dashboard design are pretty easy Predefined Geo-Reports (maps) for US Zip Codes.,BirstConnect could be more assisted. Visualization limits (ie rows shown) cannot be modified. Lack of advanced security configuration to compose advanced security architectures.,8,Made the "self-service" report creation easier for end-users. Improved use and navigation through map-based reports.,OBIEE, Tableau Desktop and Tableau Server,6,6Plug and Play BI ToolWe have implemented Birst for Fortune 500 company for providing powerful and dynamic insights.,Birst has inbuilt application connectors for most common purposes - ERP/CRM etc. It comes as a single suite module from ETL to reporting and dashboards. The most important is Birst is a cloud based BI and can be accessed from anywhere anytime from mobiles/iPods/tablets and PCs.,Have to provide functions to apply color palettes and themes based on individual users/clients,9,Its single suite environment helps us to merge all our business divisions into one single space and gives leverage in setting up security while pulling out data by different people for their own analysis purposes. It helps us in delivering reports and dashboard reviews along with insight recommendations in scheduled notifications on a daily/weekly/monthly basis.,QlikView,9,8
Windows, Mac
Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
TRScore

Birst Reviews

Birst
178 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 178 vetted Birst reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (76-95 of 95)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Scott LeFante profile photo
November 22, 2013

User Review: "Two Thumbs up for Birst!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Birst allows for greater visibility of data / reports. You are no longer limited to viewing critical reports only inside the firewall.
  • Birst is able to easily integrate with data sources. We can quickly aggregate the data from multiple locations and build the reports we need for our business and our customers.
  • Birst reports are highly scalable and agile. This makes the solution a prime BI solution that is maintained in the cloud.
  • Their support staff needs to mature. If it's a minor issue, the support staff is quick to resolve it. Anything a bit more complicated seems to take a prolonged period of time.
  • The help functions within the application need to be expanded upon. The details are extremely limited. If expanded upon, it may help cut back on the amount of tickets opened up with support.
You need to have several trained BI professional on-hand to administer your instance and create the reports. Take the time to learn Birst and become certified. It is well worth the time and investment. Work with the vendor - provide suggestions for how they too can better assist their customers - better support, documentation, enhancements, etc.
Read Scott LeFante's full review
Pankaj Nimje profile photo
November 21, 2013

User Review: "Birst"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy Integration with Salesforce.com
  • Wide reporting and dashboard capability
  • Easy to use
  • User Front-end.
  • Product Support.
ETL process - Does it cover end to end ETL?
Read Pankaj Nimje's full review
Alvaro Pombo profile photo
September 05, 2013

Birst Review: "An OEM View"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We are an OEM for the product... Compared to some other alternatives we explored, it does what it is supposed to do VERY WELL. Specifically, we tried working with GoodData dynamic schemas and run analytics on that. We had to build the schemas through an API. GoodData did not work for us either on the API side or the dynamic schema side.
  • Easy to integrate, API for creating and managing spaces works as advertised. It could be improved and I understand they are making some changes. It would be great to have a more advanced API like a REST API that supports more functions, but they are working on adding what we need.
  • It doesn't look as "sexy" as some of the other competitors in the space but it generates professional dashboards and reports. For example, the GoodData look and feel is more modern and appealing, and is better at exploiting advanced browser features, but Birst is just as functional.
Good company, good management, good guys... they promised things to us and they have delivered. The product definitely worked as advertised and met our particular use case.
Read Alvaro Pombo's full review
No photo available
July 28, 2016

Review: "Birst: Even brightest solutions cast shadows"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst is used accross the whole organization. The main project involves sales&orders data but there are another projects for Customer Care analysis.
  • Dashboard design are pretty easy
  • Predefined Geo-Reports (maps) for US Zip Codes.
  • BirstConnect could be more assisted.
  • Visualization limits (ie rows shown) cannot be modified.
  • Lack of advanced security configuration to compose advanced security architectures.
Birst's Designer works great if you have vivacious users who like to create report by themselves.

It could not fit well if you have a complex security architecture in your organization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2016

Birst Review: "Plug and Play BI Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented Birst for Fortune 500 company for providing powerful and dynamic insights.
  • Birst has inbuilt application connectors for most common purposes - ERP/CRM etc.
  • It comes as a single suite module from ETL to reporting and dashboards.
  • The most important is Birst is a cloud based BI and can be accessed from anywhere anytime from mobiles/iPods/tablets and PCs.
  • Have to provide functions to apply color palettes and themes based on individual users/clients
It will be very helpful for clients who like to avoid expenses on infrastructure and man power, since Birst is based on a Cloud platform and a highly secured environment.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 24, 2016

Review: "Birst... The BI tool you wish you had but didn't realize you could afford it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our organization is a Platinum Partner with Birst and we help companies realize the benefits of using Birst for their reporting needs. We help them understand the value of using cloud based technology to leverage cost savings and speed of development. Our clients really like the ease of use of the new visualizer tool and how it has helped them to create stunning reports within minutes after the data-set is imported and processed by Birst. Another advantage that we highlight is that Birst has the ability to automatically take your data and build the fact and dim tables into a star schema warehouse; taking most of the headaches out of Business Intelligence design.
  • Cloud based platform means lower cost and faster development.
  • The visualizer tool is great for quickly producing visually stunning reports out of the box.
  • Birst can build your BI warehouse for you which allows more time for designer and delivering reports.
  • The layout tools in designer are hard to use if you try to modify the layout after you have already added content to the report.
Birst is not suited for situations where you want to generate mailing lists. It can drill down to an individual grain but that is not an efficient use of its resources. Birst is perfect for a start up organization with immediate reporting needs but a conservative budget.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 23, 2015

User Review: "Birst Analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We embed Birst into our product to extend the analytical capability of our product
  • Very easy to quickly iterate
  • Great support team
  • Wonderful user community
  • Part of the old Flash based components need to be updated
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 30, 2015

Birst Review: "Pre-implementation assessment and expectations."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst will be used by the whole organization as our enterprise data warehouse tool.
  • We will begin training on Birst next week and begin Blueprint the following week.
  • Birst Support will be our SI on the project.
  • Expect the major advantage will be one source of the Truth and getting organization to understand visualization.
  • Majority of our users are in China. We need to ensure that the speed is acceptable so the users do not get discouraged about the application.
  • Importing Excel data and combining it with data in the Master Space will be very powerful and hopefully will be rolled out soon.
We will start with marketing and sales data, then move to operations, and finally finance.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 30, 2015

Birst Review: "Dazed and confused Newbie"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small start up company that needs to collect data from various sources to compile and analyze to prove the effectiveness of our product.
  • Data Modeling
  • User Interface
  • Mid-level training resources
What resources are available to implement Birst and how long does it take for internal employees to get up to speed on the product
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 01, 2015

User Review: "Birst"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using birst to create a data model and centralize our data marts. Also creating dashboards and transistion off from Tableau
  • Cloud based
  • Ease of use
  • Drill down on dashboards
  • Data modeling is not user friendly
  • Lack of support
  • Interface freeze from time to time
To able to access the data and dashboards at the same time is very convienent
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 06, 2015

Review: "Birst is a great way to initially engage with BI"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst is being implemented in to help consolidate nearly 100 different customer reporting packages that all have independent sourced data models. With the creation of a new data warehouse we can move to a single center of data and help to limit the number of delivery outlets used by our analysts.
  • Birst has one of the most robust data modeling capabilities in the industry.
  • The visualization engine is among the best in the industry from ease of use and in look and quality.
  • Getting up to speed takes weeks and not months like other BI offerings.
  • Visualizer and Designer offerings need to merge into one product. We shouldn't have to go to 2 different visualization tools to get things into a dashboard.
  • I haven't been impressed with the "major" releases. With each release there are too many bugs that keep the new features from working the way they are promised.
I think Birst is ideal for a smaller company who is new to a BI department. A company needs to be focused on their long term plan before they choose to go forward with any BI product. I would suggest they look to decide between full on site vs. cloud offerings.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 06, 2015

Birst Review: "Needs improvement, but getting better, moving in the right direction"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We embed Birst into our own web based SAAS product, as well as using it for internal and customer facing reporting. The biggest gain is allowing us to store our data which allows for easy visualization and analysis.
  • Data blending
  • Embedding
  • Ease of creating the schemas
  • UI and flexibility for creating visualization
  • Does not support traditional (paper based) reporting anywhere near as well as promised or advertised
  • Access to the data in the warehouse is much needed. This can be achieved though API or ODBC
If the recommendation was for dashboarding and reporting only, and they already had warehouse solution, Birst would not be a good choice. I would stear towards Tableau or custom development for charting (e.g. D3). If they had scattered data or only transactional databases then Birst is a good choice for being able to rein in that data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 12, 2015

User Review: "Birstastic!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst is used to display customer analytics on usage of our products.
  • Data visualization that is consumer friendly.
  • Listening to their customer base.
  • Effective prioritization of roadmap
  • More focus on the developer experience.
  • Flexibility for automated event notification and customization
Determine what key metrics you need and what questions you are trying to answer is pivotal to success. Birst allows a lot of flexibility but you need to know what you are trying to answer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 05, 2015

User Review: "Birst Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Birst on top of our Salesforce database. We'll soon be integrating Marketo and Google Analytics data.
  • Embedding into SFDC
  • Automated Datawarehouse
  • Performance
  • Professional Services / Implementation
Good product if you're needing a full suite of BI
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 25, 2014

Birst Review: "First product ever purchased where promise was fully delivered."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
across a division within a larger organization. External clients also utilize interactive dashboards and visualizations. We utilize Birst to present internal administrative and service metrics, external reach and effectiveness metrics and comparative metrics across our large syndication network.
  • Birst is best at implementing and validating data warehouse models. I have been able to prototype multiple models in under 4 hours of effort - this is really amazing. As a past user of a big-3 reporting stack, these same tasks would have taken days. It is also extremely easy to publish dashboard of reports for users to view and interact with.
  • Birst supports both our internal analytics needs related to usage as well as external partner metrics utilized by our customers to determine efficiency of our products within their websites.
  • Birst's interface can be slow at times. On dashboards, I regularly see 3-5 second load times BEFORE the data begins being loaded (interface load time for the Adobe Flex framework). In addition, I have had numerous occurrences where I have to back out of the report designer and come back in due to failed refresh of the design palette.
What was promised was delivered. Amazing that point is so surprising, but as those of us who procure enterprise software know, salespeople can be very good at promising things that are "possible" but not necessarily workable. Birst delivered across every aspect; software, services and support.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 10, 2013

Birst Review: "Perfect tool for data visualization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Report visualization - data can be visualized in many different ways with interactive charts and graphs
  • Data detail - Birst provides drill downs that can show a lot of detail in the data
  • Ease of use - reports are intuitive to drill down into, even for non-technical people, as long as you have some excel experience
  • Column mapping, make it easier to remap changed column names
  • Allow data input through Birst - Birst is only a data viewing tool. It would be nice to allow users to input data, e.g. let users select accounts out of a list inside the tool and save that information directly to the data behind the view for other users to see.
Birst is excellent for visualizing data, but not for data interaction. If data input is required, Birst is not recommended.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 07, 2013

Birst Review: "Easy to use BI tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Birst is a useful tool to organize data into graphs, charts, etc to easily visualize and analyze data and results. I used this tool to show customers how they performed throughout the year. We took their sales data and applied them to graphs, charts, meters, etc which allowed us to easily explain metrics and performance to our customers.
  • Birst allows us to create custom dashboards which can be updated anytime which is also great. Our inhouse Birst administrator had access to make changes to the solution/ dashboards at anytime. We could schedule a meeting and work on updating the dashboards together on our own time.
  • Birst is a secure network..we feel good knowing our data is safe and private and that our users/ customers who access Birst with a username and password will only see the data that is intended for them.
  • Birst could work on new ways to help us present data to customers... some of the meters, charts were limited in how we could arrange and present the data and we would have to come up with ways to make it work.
We have our own internal Birst administrator. Birst is very easy to use and intuitive.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 21, 2013

Birst Review: "Simple and Quick BI Implementation"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Quick Implementation.
  • Pixel Perfect Reporting.
  • Cloud BI.
  • Security.
  • Lot of new features in dashboard and reports.
  • Administration needs lot of new features.
The tools which we are selecting for the business intelligence project implementation should have pixel perfect reporting feature. It should be quick to implement the data warehouse and supports Extraction , transformation and Loading process. It should have robust security and administration modules which can help developers in creating robust BI platform for end users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 13, 2014

Birst: "My Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It allows me to better understand our business.
  • It allows for analysis of trending within our business functions.
  • Provides a more intuitive solution compared to some of the other BI tools the company provides.
  • Would like to see more options for customization.
Would suggest some options for obtaining the data they are requesting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 10, 2013

User Review: "Birst 2013"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Visual representations of data
  • Dynamic filters
  • Strategic analysis
  • Better mapping/geo capabilities
  • Easier to manage users/permissions
What is the best value for your money
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (67)
6.7
Customizable dashboards (76)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (59)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (77)
7.4
Formatting capabilities (76)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.4
Report sharing and collaboration (67)
7.3
Publish to Web (51)
7.8
Publish to PDF (66)
8.0
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (65)
7.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (70)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (56)
7.0
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (68)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (67)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (67)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (51)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.6
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.4

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos (3)

Watch Birst Networked BI - no more silos.

Watch The VP of Supply Chain at Citrix Systems on their Birst-architected digital supply chain

Watch CIO of CPG Reckitt Benckiser on Birst

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish